استرجاع الأجهزة الطبية والعقاقير

استرجاع الأجهزة الطبية والعقاقير يتم إصدار جميع عمليات سحب المنتجات الطبية تقريبًا من قِبل الشركات ، بدلاً من إصدارها من قِبل FDA. wavebreakmedia / shutterstock.com

XNUMX. من قائمة تلوث المخدرات ضغط الدم valsartan أن تعرض الآلاف من المرضى إلى الشوائب المسببة للسرطان ، ل تذكر جهاز تنظيم ضربات القلب الضخمة نظرًا لإصلاح خلل برنامج خطير في أجهزة القلب التي يبلغ عددها نصف مليون ، فإن مشكلات جودة منتجات الرعاية الصحية موجودة دائمًا وخطيرة للغاية.

في الواقع، يستدعي المنتج الطبي - على وجه الخصوص شديدة ، تهدد الحياة المخدرات الصيدلانية و جهاز طبي يتذكر - ديك زيادة مطردة خلال العقد الماضي.

استرجاع الأجهزة الطبية والعقاقير

ليس من المستغرب أن تذكر المنتجات الطبية بأنها أحداث سلبية على مستوى العالم. تسعى الشركات إلى تجنبها ، والزبائن يحتقرونهم ، ويضطر المنظمون الفيدراليون إلى الإشراف عليهم. ترتبط مع ملايين الدولارات من تكاليف الشركات غير المرغوب فيها وانخفاض أسعار الأسهم, جنبا إلى جنب مع الرقابة التنظيمية كبيرة ومكلفة كل عام.

قضيت أكثر من عقد من الزمان كمدير تصنيع في شركات الأجهزة الطبية Fortune 500 ، وأتخذ عشرات من قرارات وتوصيات الاستدعاء - بعض القرارات الجيدة ، وبعضها أقل من ذلك - والأعوام القليلة الماضية باحث أكاديمي ملتزم فقط باستدعاء البحث. لقد درست أنا وزملائي عن كثب أسباب العيوب التي تؤدي إلى التذكر ، وكذلك التحيزات الموجودة في قرارات المديرين للتذكر.

منافسة التكلفة المفرطة

في الأسواق الرأسمالية ، يُنظر إلى المنافسة كقوة للخير. المنافسة يمكن أن تخفض التكاليف ، وزيادة الوصول ، ونأمل تحسين الجودة. هذه الفوائد التي تعزى إلى المنافسة تفسر الدعوة المستمرة لزيادة فرص الحصول على الأدوية الجنيسة.

على الرغم من أنه نادراً ما يتم مناقشته في النقاش المزدحم حول تكاليف الرعاية الصحية ، فقد يكون هناك جانب سلبي للدعوة التي لا تنتهي أبدًا للحصول على أدوية جنيسة أرخص ورعاية أكثر بأسعار معقولة.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


البحوث التي أجريت مع زملائي راتشنا شاه من جامعة مينيسوتا و كايتلين واواك من جامعة نوتردام يدل على أن المنافسة الشديدة للمخدرات العامة تؤدي إلى زيادة عمليات استدعاء الأدوية ذات الخطورة الشديدة المتعلقة بالتصنيع.

دراستنا، الذي نُشر في مايو 2018 ، يُظهر أن المنافسة الدوائية العامة تجعل الشركات تتخلى عن ممارساتها في مراقبة جودة التصنيع في محاولة للحفاظ على الربح ، مما يؤدي إلى زيادة في عيوب الأدوية المهددة للحياة التي تتطلب استدعاء.

أحد الأمثلة العديدة لهذا النوع من المشاكل هو الأخير أذكر رانباكسي أتورفاستاتين. أدت الثغرات في نظام مراقبة جودة التصنيع إلى تلوث المواد الخام غير الموافق عليها. وافقت الشركة المصنعة للأدوية العامة على: غرامة مالية بقيمة 500 مليون دولار أمريكي.

الصحة استرجعت المنتجات الطبية على مدى العقد الماضي. أتسوشي هيراو / shutterstock.com

مفتشو إدارة الأغذية والعقاقير المألوفون

طريقة واحدة للمساعدة في تخفيف هذه الآثار الجانبية المؤسفة للمنافسة هي من خلال لوائح إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية وممارسات مراقبة الجودة.

أداة التفتيش الرئيسية هي الأداة الرئيسية التي تستخدمها إدارة الأغذية والعقاقير لتحسين جودة المنتج. يزور مفتشو مصنع FDA المصانع في دورة تدوم عامين. يمكن أن تكون تقييمات نتائج الفحص هذه بمثابة تحذير مبكر لعمليات الاسترداد المستقبلية من المصنع - إذا كان مفتش FDA يلتقط بدقة المخاطر ذات الصلة.

في دراسة شنومكس مع شاه و اينو سيمسن من جامعة ويسكونسن ماديسون، وجدنا أن تصنيفات نتائج مصنع FDA يمكن استخدامها للتنبؤ بعمليات الاسترجاع المستقبلية من المنتجات المصنوعة في هذا المصنع. ومع ذلك ، هذا صحيح فقط عندما لم يزر المفتش المصنع من قبل.

إن الإلمام غير المبرر بين مفتشي إدارة الأغذية والعقاقير وإدارة المصنع يضعف دقة التصنيفات ، حتى بعد فحص تكرار واحد فقط. يصبح المفتشون راضين لأنهم أصبحوا أكثر دراية بالنبات والأشخاص الذين يعملون هناك.

لقد وجدنا أن التناوب في مفتش جديد لكل عملية تفتيش لمصانع FDA من شأنه أن يحسن بشكل كبير من قيمة عمليات التفتيش هذه ويكلف FDA أقل من 1 مليون دولار سنويًا. سعر صغير لدفع ثمن سلامة الجهاز الطبي.

التحيزات الإدارية

في حين أن الرقابة التنظيمية قد تساعد في تقليل المنتجات المعيبة التي تتطلب استدعاء ، إلا أن البعد المهم الآخر لظاهرة الاستدعاء هو المديرون الذين قرروا استدعاء المنتج.

ومن المثير للاهتمام ، أن ما يقرب من جميع عمليات سحب المنتجات الطبية يتم إصدارها طوعًا من قبل الشركات ، بدلاً من أن تطلبها إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية. إن الطبيعة التطوعية لهذه الاستدعاءات تمنح المديرين درجة عالية من التقدير في قرار الاسترجاع.

عملت مع شاه و كارين دونوهو في جامعة مينيسوتا إلى دراسة التحيزات الإدارية في استدعاء القرارات التي اتخذها مديري الصناعة الحقيقية.

يتعلق أحد التحيزات بالأطباء الذين يشترون الأجهزة الطبية نيابة عن المرضى. إذا علم المديرون أنه من المحتمل أن يكتشف عملاء الطبيب العيب في الجهاز قبل استخدام المنتج على المريض ، فمن غير المرجح أن يتذكر المديرون. إنهم يثقون في الطبيب دون وعي للكشف عن العيوب القابلة للكشف ، مما يتجنب الحاجة إلى الاستعادة.

كان هذا التحيز غير معروف للمديرين الذين شاركوا في هذه الدراسة. استخدمت الشركات التي عملنا معها هذه النتائج لتدريب صناع القرار على إدراك هذا التحيز غير المرغوب فيه.

في نفس الدراسة ، أجرينا اختبار الإدراك السلوكي على المديرين قبل أن يتخذوا قرار السحب. يقيس اختبار الأسئلة الثلاثة هذا ما إذا كان الشخص يتخذ قرارات بناءً على الحدس أو التفكير.

كان هذا الاختبار موضحًا بدرجة عالية لكيفية اتخاذ المدير قرار الاسترجاع. يتذكر المديرون العاكسون بشكل أقل تواترا ، حيث قد يميلون إلى "شلل التحليل" ، الذين يبحثون عن كميات زائدة من البيانات قبل اختيار التذكير. قد يفسر هذا السبب ، في الإعدادات التي يتخذ فيها المديرون العاكسون قرارات الاسترجاع ، يبدو أن الشركات تؤخر عمليات الاستدعاء ، حتى عندما يؤدي ذلك إلى تعريض العملاء لخطر متزايد من الأذى.

الصحة يصاب الأطباء أحيانًا بعيب في الجهاز مبكرًا ، قبل استخدامه على مريض. بيتر Porrini / shutterstock.com

أسباب أخرى

لدي عدة مؤلفين مشاركين مختلفين ولدينا دراسات استدعاء أخرى جارية تسعى إلى مواصلة تشريح هذه المشكلة المهمة ، لا سيما من منظور التحيزات الإدارية.

على سبيل المثال ، وجدت ورقة عمل واحدة أن شركات المنتجات الطبية ذات مجالس الإدارة التي تضم امرأة واحدة على الأقل في مجلس الإدارة تجعل قرارات الاسترجاع أكثر فاعلية وأسرع بكثير من الشركات التي تضم جميع أعضاء مجالس الإدارة.

وجدت ورقة عمل أخرى أن كبار المديرين التنفيذيين الجدد في شركات المنتجات الاستهلاكية يبدو أنهم كبش فداء للمدير التنفيذي السابق. يميل الرؤساء التنفيذيون الجدد إلى الإعلان عن العديد من عمليات الاسترداد في وقت مبكر من فترة ولايتهم ، حيث من المحتمل أن يتم إلقاء اللوم على الرئيس التنفيذي السابق في مشاكل جودة المنتج.

نظرًا لأن عمليات سحب المنتجات منتشرة وغالبًا ما ترتبط بأذى للمستهلكين ، آمل مخلصًا أن يستمر البحث الدقيق في كشف هذه الألغاز المعقدة في محاولة لمساعدة الشركات والجهات التنظيمية والمستهلكين.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

جورج بول ، أستاذ مساعد للعمليات وتقنيات القرار ، كلية كيلي لإدارة الأعمال ، جامعة إنديانا

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = تكاليف الرعاية الصحية ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Recalls Of Medical Devices And Drugs Are Up

Recalls Of Medical Devices And Drugs Are Up Nearly all medical product recalls are voluntarily issued by firms, instead of mandated by the FDA. wavebreakmedia / shutterstock.com

From the valsartan blood pressure drug contamination that exposed thousands of patients to cancer-causing impurities, to a massive pacemaker recall undertaken to fix a hazardous software bug in half-a-million cardiac devices, health care product quality problems are ever-present and highly dangerous.

In fact, medical product recalls – in particular severe, life-threatening pharmaceutical drug and medical device recalls – have increased steadily over the last decade.

Recalls Of Medical Devices And Drugs Are Up

It is no surprise that medical product recalls are universally negative events. Firms seek to avoid them, customers despise them, and federal regulators are forced to oversee them. They are associated with millions of dollars of unwanted corporate costs and stock price declines, along with substantial and costly regulatory oversight each year.

I spent over a decade as a manufacturing manager in Fortune 500 medical device firms, making scores of recall decisions and recommendations – some good decisions, some less so – and the last several years as an academic researcher committed solely to recall research. My colleagues and I have closely studied what causes defects that lead to recalls, as well as biases that exist in managers’ decisions to recall.

Excessive cost competition

In capitalistic markets, competition is viewed as a force for good. Competition can lower costs, increase access, and hopefully improve quality. These benefits attributed to competition explain the steady call for greater access to generic drugs.

While it is seldom discussed in the crowded debate on health care costs, there may be a downside to the never-ending call for cheaper generic drugs and more affordable care.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Research conducted with my colleagues Rachna Shah from the University of Minnesota and Kaitlin Wowak from the University of Notre Dame shows that intense generic drug competition leads to an increase in severely hazardous manufacturing-related drug recalls.

Our study, published in May 2018, shows that generic drug competition causes firms to cut corners in their manufacturing quality control practices in an effort to remain profitable, leading to an increase in life-threatening drug defects requiring a recall.

One of many examples of this type of problem is the recent Ranbaxy atorvastatin recall. Lapses in the manufacturing quality control system led to contamination from unapproved raw materials. The generic drug manufacturer agreed to a US$500 million government fine.

health Medical product recalls are up over the last decade. Atsushi Hirao/shutterstock.com

Familiar FDA inspectors

One way to help mitigate such unfortunate side effects of competition is through U.S. Food and Drug Administration regulations and quality control practices.

A key tool used by the FDA to improve product quality are plant inspections. FDA plant inspectors visit plants on a two-year rotating cycle. These inspection outcome ratings can be an early warning of future recalls from the plant – if the FDA inspector accurately captures the relevant risks.

In a 2017 study with Shah and Enno Siemsen from the University of Wisconsin-Madison, we found that FDA plant outcome ratings can be used to predict future recalls from products made at that plant. However, this is only true when the inspector has never visited the plant before.

Undue familiarity between the FDA inspectors and plant management weakens the accuracy of the ratings, even after just one repeat inspection. Inspectors become complacent as they become more familiar with the plant and the people who work there.

We found that rotating in a new inspector for each FDA plant inspection would significantly improve the value of these inspections and cost the FDA less than $1 million annually. A small price to pay for medical device safety.

Managerial biases

While regulatory oversight may help reduce defective products requiring a recall, another important dimension to the recall phenomenon are the managers who decide to recall a product.

Intriguingly, nearly all medical product recalls are voluntarily issued by firms, instead of mandated by the FDA. The voluntary nature of these recalls gives managers a high level of discretion in the recall decision.

I worked with Shah and Karen Donohue at the University of Minnesota to study managerial biases in recall decisions made by real industry managers.

One bias relates to the physicians who purchase medical devices on behalf of patients. If managers know that their physician customers are likely to detect the defect in the device before using the product on the patient, then managers are surprisingly less likely to recall. They unconsciously trust the physician to screen out detectable defects, obviating the need for a recall.

This bias was unknown to the managers who participated in this study. The firms that we worked with used these results to train decision-makers to be aware of this unwanted bias.

In the same study, we conducted a behavioral cognition test on managers before they made their recall decision. This three-question test measures whether a person makes decisions based upon either intuition or reflection.

This test was highly explanatory of how a manager made the recall decision. Reflective managers recall much less frequently, as they may tend towards “analysis-paralysis,” seeking excessive amounts of data before choosing to recall. This may explain why, in settings where reflective managers are making recall decisions, firms appear to delay recalls, even when doing so puts customers at an increased risk of harm.

health Physicians sometimes catch a defect in the device early on, before it’s ever used on a patient. Peter Porrini/shutterstock.com

Other causes

Several different co-authors and I have other exciting recall studies underway that seek to continue to dissect this important problem, particularly from the perspective of managerial biases.

For example, one working paper finds that medical product firms with boards of directors that have at least one woman on the board make recall decisions much more effectively and faster than firms with all-male boards.

Another working paper finds that new CEOs at consumer products firms appear to scapegoat the previous CEO. New CEOs tend to announce several recalls early in their tenure, when the previous CEO is likely to be blamed for the product quality problems.

Because product recalls are pervasive and often associated with consumer harm, I sincerely hope that rigorous research continues to unravel this complex enigma in an effort to help firms, regulators and consumers.The Conversation

About The Author

George Ball, Assistant Professor of Operations and Decision Technologies, Kelley School of Business, Indiana University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=healthcare costs;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}