7 طرق دفع التوسع ميديكايد ميتشيغان قبالة ماليا

7 طرق دفع التوسع ميديكايد ميتشيغان قبالة ماليا

عندما التحق سكان ولاية ميشيغان ذوي الدخل المنخفض في برنامج ميديكايد الموسعة ، حصل العديد منهم على أكثر من مجرد تغطية لاحتياجاتهم الصحية - كما حصلوا على دعم لمحافظهم ، وفقا لدراسة جديدة.

لقد عانى الأشخاص الذين التحقوا بخطة الرعاية الصحية الجديدة في الولاية من مشكلات أقل في الديون ، وإفلاس ، وعمليات إخلاء ، وقضايا مالية أخرى مما كانوا عليه قبل التسجيل ، وهو تحليل جديد لآلاف الأشخاص.

من يشعرون بأكبر المشاكل الصحية شعروا بالإعانة المالية بعد تسجيلهم في خطة Healthy Michigan Plan ، التي تغطي الآن أكثر من 650,000 في الولاية ، وفقًا ورقةالتي تظهر على موقع المكتب الوطني للبحوث الاقتصادية.

تظهر الدراسة انخفاضات في الديون غير المسددة - وخاصة الديون الطبية وبطاقات الائتمان المكشوفة - بعد تسجيل الأشخاص. وفي الوقت نفسه ، ارتفعت عشرات الائتمان المسجل وقروض السيارات. وشهد أولئك الذين يعانون من أمراض مزمنة ، أو الذين كانوا يقيمون في المستشفى أو قسم الطوارئ بعد أن التحقوا ، أكبر المنافع المالية.

تحسين في جميع المجالات

عمل الباحثون مع وزارة الصحة والخدمات الإنسانية في ولاية ميشيغان ، والتي تدير خطة Healthy Michigan Plan ، للحصول على معلومات حول أكثر من 322,000 دون أن يتمكن الباحثون من الوصول إلى بيانات أي فرد يمكن التعرف عليها. باستخدام إجراء مطابقة مزدوجة التعمية ، قاموا بعد ذلك بمطابقة البيانات مع التقارير الائتمانية للمسجلين ودراستها كمجموعة.

ركز الفريق على الأشخاص الذين التحقوا بالسنة الأولى من البرنامج ، بدءًا من شهر أبريل 2014 ، ولم يكن لديهم تأمين صحي قبل انضمامهم ، وكانوا ينظرون إلى المعلومات المالية على مستوى الأفراد من عدة سنوات قبل كل سنة ، وبعد عام على الأقل ، المقيدين.

تقول سارة ميلر ، أستاذة مساعدة: "رأينا تأثيرًا كبيرًا جدًا ، ليس فقط على الفواتير الطبية غير المدفوعة ، ولكن أيضًا على فواتير بطاقات الائتمان غير المسددة ، وعلى السجلات العامة لعمليات الإخلاء ، والإفلاس ، والزينة بالأجور ، وغيرها من الإجراءات". الاقتصاد التجاري والسياسة العامة في جامعة ميتشيغان.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


يبدو أن الرفاهية المالية للريسيين تتحسن عندما يحصلون على الرعاية الطبية التي يحتاجونها دون الحاجة إلى وضعها على بطاقة الائتمان. وأكبر التأثيرات هي من بين أكثر المسجلين شراباً.

انخفاض حاد في المخاوف المالية

يشير ميلر إلى أن أحد الأهداف الرئيسية للتأمين الصحي من جميع الأنواع هو حماية الأشخاص من الخسائر المالية عند مرضهم أو إصابتهم. ولكن لم تنظر أي دراسات في التأثيرات المالية للتغطية عبر مجموعة كبيرة من مسجلات التوسع الطبية ، أو سمحت للباحثين بمقارنة أعضاء مجموعات فرعية مختلفة من المسجلات.

ولأن الدراسة الجديدة مطابقة لسجلات Medicaid مع تقارير ائتمان فردية ، فإنها تعطي صورة مفصلة للغاية لما يحدث في الحياة المالية للمجموعات كمجموعة ، وتسمح بتحليل المجموعات الفرعية والأحداث المالية النادرة نسبياً التي تؤدي إلى السجلات العامة.

كما يسمح للباحثين بالاطلاع على التراجع الحاد والفوري في القضايا المالية بعد تاريخ التحاق الفرد ، مما يوحي بأن الالتحاق - وليس تحسنا تدريجيا - كان العامل الرئيسي.

تُظهر الدراسة أن التسجيل في برنامج Healthy Michigan Plan:

  • خفض مقدار الفواتير الطبية في المجموعات التي كان متوسط ​​المنتسب لها بنسبة 57 في المائة أو حوالي 515 دولارًا.
  • تقليل حجم الديون التي فات موعد استحقاقها ولكن لم يتم إرسالها بعد إلى وكالة تحصيل بنسبة 28 في المائة أو حوالي $ 233.
  • أدى إلى انخفاض 16 في المئة في السجلات العامة للأحداث المالية مثل عمليات الإخلاء ، والإفلاس ، والزينة للأجور ؛ الإفلاس وحده انخفض بنسبة 10 في المئة.
  • نتج في عدد المسجلين في 16 نسبة أقل من احتمال سحب بطاقاتهم الائتمانية.
  • أدى إلى ارتفاع درجات الائتمان الفردي ، بما في ذلك العدد الذي يحمل تصنيف "عميق الرهن العقاري" الذي ينخفض ​​بنسبة 18 في المائة ، والرقم المدرج كـ "subprime" الذي يهبط بنسبة 3 بالمائة.
  • المسجلون المسموح لهم بالمزيد من الاقتراض لشراء السيارات أو السلع والخدمات الأخرى ، وهو ما يتسق مع درجات ائتمانية أفضل. وشهد المسجلون زيادة بنسبة 21 في قروض السيارات. وقد وجدت دراسات أخرى أن التوسع في برنامج مديكيد قلل من استخدام قروض يوم الدفع وخفض أسعار الفائدة لذوي الدخل المحدود.
  • ساعد الأشخاص المصابين بأمراض مزمنة ، وأولئك الذين قاموا بزيارة المستشفى أو قسم الطوارئ خلال فترة الدراسة ، مع تخفيضات أكبر في فواتيرهم أرسلت إلى جمع والزيادات الأكبر في درجات الائتمان الخاصة بهم.

يقتصر التسجيل في برنامج توسيع برنامج Medicaid على البالغين الذين لديهم دخل للأسرة في إطار 133 في المائة من مستوى الفقر الفيدرالي. كان متوسط ​​دخل الأسرة للمغنيين في الدراسة هو 4,400 دولار للفرد و 7,500 مقابل عائلة مكونة من ثلاثة أفراد.

سبعون في المئة كان لديهم مرض مزمن ، وكانوا في المتوسط ​​، إلى قسم الطوارئ مرة واحدة في العام الماضي. أكثر من 80 في المئة لديها درجات الائتمان في نطاق الرهن العقاري أو نطاق الرهن العقاري. وكان الدين الكلي في مجموعات ، والديون الطبية في مجموعات والمبلغ المستحق الماضي أعلى من عينة عشوائية من التقارير الائتمانية على الصعيد الوطني.

"هذه الدراسة تشير أيضا إلى أن الأشخاص المعرضين لخطر فقدان ميديكيد لأنهم لا يستكملون متطلبات العمل أو الأوراق يمكن أن يكونوا في خطر مالي كبير ، حتى لو لم يكن لديهم مرض مزمن أو قضية طبية كبيرة ،" يقول ميلر. "إنهم الأشخاص المعرضين لخطر فقدان تغطيتهم ، وهذا لا يعني أنهم لا يستطيعون الذهاب إلى الطبيب."

وتستند نتائج الدراسة على تلك من ولاية أوريغون ، والتي وسعت ميديكير قبل أن تتمكن بقية البلاد ، بموجب قانون الرعاية بأسعار معقولة. كما أظهر تقييم آثار ذلك البرنامج آثارًا مالية إيجابية.

يواصل ميلر وزملاؤه عملهم لتحديد التأثيرات المالية للتوسع في البيانات الطبية. قاموا مؤخرا بنشر دراسة وطنية واحدة في مجلة الاقتصاد العام تستخدم البيانات المجمعة ، وليس الفردية ، لإظهار التأثير الإيجابي للتغطية الطبية على الديون في المجموعات بين الأشخاص الذين يعيشون في المناطق الأكثر فقراً مع تواريخ عالية من عدم التأمين.

الباحثون الإضافيون هم من بنك الاحتياطي الفيدرالي في شيكاغو ، وجامعة إلينوي-شيكاغو ، وجامعة نورث وسترن.

مصدر: جامعة ميشيغان

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = الكتب ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = فوائد توسيع المعونة الطبية ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
by فرانك باسكيوتي ، دكتوراه
كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
by آري تراختنبرغ وجيانلوكا سترينجيني وران كانيتي

7 Ways Michigan’s Medicaid Expansion Paid Off Financially

7 Ways Michigan’s Medicaid Expansion Paid Off Financially

When low-income Michigan residents enrolled in an expanded Medicaid program, many got more than just coverage for their health needs—they also got a boost to their wallets, according to a new study.

People who enrolled in the state’s new health plan have experienced fewer debt problems, bankruptcies, evictions, and other financial issues than they had before enrollment, a new analysis of thousands of people shows.

Those who had the most health problems felt the most financial relief after enrolling in the Healthy Michigan Plan, which now covers more than 650,000 people in the state, according to the paper, which appears on the National Bureau of Economic Research site.

The study shows drops in unpaid debts—especially medical debts and overdrawn credit cards—after people enrolled. Meanwhile, enrollees’ credit scores and car loans rose. Those with chronic illnesses, or who had a hospital stay or emergency department visit after they enrolled, saw the largest financial benefits.

Improvement across the board

Researchers worked with the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, which runs the Healthy Michigan Plan, to obtain information about more than 322,000 enrollees without the researchers’ having access to any individual’s identifiable data. Using a double-blind matching procedure, they then matched the data with enrollees’ credit reports and studied them as a group.

The team focused on people who enrolled in the program’s first year, starting in April 2014, and hadn’t had health insurance before they joined, looking at individual-level financial information from several years before, and at least a year after, each person enrolled.

“Across the board, we saw a pretty sizable effect, not just on unpaid medical bills, but also unpaid credit card bills, and on public records for evictions, bankruptcies, wage garnishments, and other actions,” says Sarah Miller, an assistant professor of business economics and public policy at the University of Michigan.

“Enrollees’ financial well-being seems to improve when they can get the medical care they need without having to put it on a credit card. And the largest effects are among the sickest enrollees.”

Sharp drop in financial worries

Miller notes that one of the main goals of health insurance of all kinds is to protect people from financial losses when they get sick or injured. But no studies have looked at the financial impacts of coverage across such a large population of Medicaid expansion enrollees, or allowed researchers to compare members of different subgroups of enrollees.

Because the new study matched Medicaid records with individual credit reports, it gives a highly detailed picture of what was going on in enrollees’ financial lives as a group, and allows for analysis of subgroups and relatively rare financial events that lead to public records.

It also allows the researchers to see the sharp and immediate drop in financial issues after the individual’s enrollment date, which suggests that enrollment—not a gradually improving economy—was the key factor.

The study shows that enrollment in the Healthy Michigan Plan:

  • Reduced the amount of medical bills in collections that the average enrollee had by 57 percent, or about $515.
  • Reduced the amount of debt past due but not yet sent to a collection agency by 28 percent, or about $233.
  • Led to a 16-percent drop in public records for financial events such as evictions, bankruptcies, and wage garnishments; bankruptcies alone fell by 10 percent.
  • Resulted in enrollees’ being 16 percent less likely to overdraw their credit cards.
  • Led to a rise in individual credit scores, including the number with a “deep subprime” rating falling by 18 percent, and the number listed as “subprime” falling by 3 percent.
  • Allowed enrollees to engage in more borrowing to buy cars or other goods and services, which is consistent with better credit scores. Enrollees experienced a 21-percent rise in automotive loans. Other studies have found that Medicaid expansion reduced use of payday loans and reduced interest rates for low-income people.
  • Helped people with chronic illnesses, and those who had a hospitalization or emergency department visit during the study period, with bigger reductions in their bills sent to collection and bigger increases in their credit scores.

Enrollment in the Medicaid expansion program is limited to adults with household incomes under 133 percent of the federal poverty level. The average household income for enrollees in the study was $4,400 for an individual and $7,500 for a family of three.

Seventy percent had a chronic illness, and, on average, they had been to an emergency department once in the past year. More than 80 percent had credit scores in the subprime or deep subprime range. Their total debt in collections, medical debt in collections and past-due amount was higher than a random sample of credit reports nationally.

“This study also suggests that people at risk of losing Medicaid because they don’t complete a work requirement or paperwork could be at a great financial risk, even if they do not have a chronic illness or a major medical issue,” Miller says. “They’re the ones at risk of losing their coverage, and it won’t just mean they can’t go to the doctor.”

The study’s results build on those from Oregon, which expanded Medicaid before the rest of the nation was able to, under the Affordable Care Act. An evaluation of that program’s effects also showed positive financial impacts.

Miller and colleagues are continuing their work to quantify the financial impacts of Medicaid expansion in national data. They recently published one national study in the Journal of Public Economics that uses aggregate, not individual, data to show a positive impact of Medicaid coverage on debt in collections among people living in poorer areas with histories of high rates of uninsurance.

Additional researchers are from the Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago, University of Illinois-Chicago, and Northwestern University.

Source: University of Michigan

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=medicaid expansion benefits ;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}