لماذا تبذل الجهود لخصخصة النظام الصحي VA هي عملية احتيال

لماذا الجهود الرامية إلى خصخصة نظام VA الصحية هو عملية احتيال

هناك عدد قليل من المناطق التي يوجد فيها دعم من الحزبين أكثر من الحاجة إلى توفير الرعاية الصحية الكافية للمحاربين القدامى في البلاد. وبينما عارض الكثير منا الحرب في العراق والمغامرات العسكرية الأخيرة ، ما زلنا نعترف بالحاجة إلى توفير الخدمات الطبية للأشخاص الذين يعرضون حياتهم للخطر.

هذا هو السبب في أنه من المزعج بشكل خاص أن نرى الجماعات اليمينية تخترع الفضائح حول مستشفيات إدارة المحاربين القدامى من أجل المضي قدمًا في أجندة خصخصة النظام. إذا كان هناك سبب حقيقي للاعتقاد بأن النظام الحالي يؤذي محاربينا القدامى بشكل سيء ، وأنه سيكون من الأفضل رعايةهم في ظل نظام مخصخص ، سيكون من المعقول دعم عملية الانتقال.

لكن هذا عكس الحقيقة. كل الدلائل تشير إلى أن النظام المخصخصي سيؤدي إلى تفاقم أي مشاكل يواجهها المحاربون القدامى الآن في الحصول على الرعاية - ومن المرجح أن يكلف المزيد من المال.

للدعم خطوة ، لدينا في الواقع قدر كبير من الأدلة على جودة الرعاية المقدمة من نظام VA. في كتاب رائع ، أفضل رعاية في أي مكانيوثق المحرر الشهري في واشنطن فيليب لونجمان كيفية تفوق نظام الرعاية التكاملية الذي يقدمه نظام VA للنماذج المستخدمة من قبل شركات التأمين الخاصة. كانت النقطة الرئيسية هي أن نظام VA يتتبع بشكل فعال المرضى من خلال اتصالاتهم المتنوعة مع الأطباء وغيرهم من أخصائيي الرعاية الصحية.

هذا يقلل من احتمال حصولهم على علاج غير ضروري ، ولكن الأهم من ذلك ، يضمن أن أطباء المريض على دراية بالعلاجات الأخرى التي يتلقاها المريض. مشكلة رئيسية للمرضى الذين يرون عدة أطباء هي أن أيا منهم قد يكون لديه معرفة كاملة بمجموعة من الحالات التي تصيب المريض أو الأدوية التي يتناولها. من خلال الحفاظ على نظام مركزي وتعيين طبيب عام للإشراف على رعاية المريض ، فإن نظام VA يقلل من مصدر الأخطاء هذا. في الواقع ، هذا النموذج ناجح للغاية حيث حاول معظم مقدمي الخدمات التحرك في نفس الاتجاه في السنوات الأخيرة.

كان لونجمان يكتب عن نظام VA الخاص بـ 1990s ، والذي خضع لتحول ملحوظ في ظل قيادة كينيث كيزر الذي عينه الرئيس كلينتون لرئاسة نظام الرعاية الصحية بوصفه وكيل وزارة شؤون المحاربين القدامى. تدهورت نوعية الرعاية التي وضعتها Kizer إلى حد ما في عهد الرئيس بوش. كان هذا جزئيا نتيجة للتدفق الكبير للمحاربين القدامى الجدد المرتبطين بحروب الإدارة. كما يرجع ذلك جزئيا إلى حقيقة أن السياسيين المعينين من قبل بوش أظهروا نوعا من الالتزام بصحة المحاربين القدامى كما فعل تعيينه في الوكالة الفيدرالية لإدارة الطوارئ للإعداد للكوارث مثل إعصار كاترينا.

ومع ذلك ، كما تشير اليشيا موندي في واشنطن شهريا مؤخرا قطعة، نظام VA لا يزال جيدا جدا من قبل معظم التدابير. ل تحليل ووجدت الدراسة التي أعدتها وزارة شؤون المحاربين القدامى في 2010 أن جميع الدراسات تقارن جودة الرعاية مع نظرائها في القطاعين العام والخاص وجدت أن وزارة شؤون المحاربين القدامى قدمت الرعاية التي كانت جيدة أو أفضل مما كانت متوفرة في منافسيها.

في ظل هذه الحقيقة ، كان على مؤيدي الخصخصة أن يختروا فضيحة لدفع قضيتهم ، وأنهم حصلوا على واحدة. ووجدوا أدلة على وجود قوائم انتظار كبيرة في مستشفى فيرجينيا في فينيكس. وفقا للحسابات التي روجت في وسائل الإعلام ، مات المرضى 40 بينما كانوا ينتظرون لرؤية الطبيب. هذا بالطبع يبدو مروعا.

في الواقع ، أ تقرير من قبل المفتش العام في ولاية فيرجينيا وجدت أن ستة ، وليس مرضى 40 قد توفي أثناء انتظار التعيينات. ولم يكن من الواضح أن الوفاة في أي من هذه الحالات كانت مرتبطة بنقص العلاج. لكن الحقيقة لم تكن مهمة ، فالحق كان له قصتهم وكانوا مصممين على دفعه في كل مكان يستطيعون.

قام الأخوان كوخ بتمويل منظمة قدامى المحاربين الجدد ، وهم قدامى المحاربين الأمريكيين المعنيين ، الذين جعلوا من الهجوم على نظام الرعاية الصحية في فرجينيا الهدف الرئيسي لعمله. في حين أن الخصخصة الكاملة من الواضح أنها خطوة بعيدة جدا في هذه المرحلة (معظم المحاربين القدامى يقدرون حقا الرعاية الصحية التي يحصلون عليها من خلال نظام VA) ، هدفهم هو تجزئة الخصخصة من خلال عملية الاستعانة بمصادر خارجية تدريجيا المزيد والمزيد من الخدمات.

ومع اكتساب هذه العملية زخماً ، قد تبدو الخصخصة واسعة النطاق أقل من المصعد. من المرجح أن يؤدي إسناد الأعمال إلى تقويض جودة الرعاية ، والأهم من ذلك جعل ممارسة نظام الرعاية المتكاملة (VA) للرعاية المتكاملة أكثر صعوبة. ومن المرجح أيضا أن تزيد التكاليف ، لأن الخدمات التي تمت خصخصتها تكلف دائما تقريبا أكثر من الخدمات المقدمة من خلال وزارة شؤون المحاربين القدامى.

وباختصار ، فإن ممارسة الاستعانة بمصادر خارجية لمزيد من الخدمات من وزارة شؤون المحاربين القدامى ، وفي نهاية المطاف خصخصتها ، من المرجح أن تكون صفقة سيئة للغاية من وجهة نظر قدامى المحاربين في البلاد. ومن المرجح أيضا أن يكون صفقة سيئة من وجهة نظر دافعي الضرائب ، الذين سيحصلون على فاتورة أكبر للرعاية أقل جودة. ولكن من المرجح أن تكون صفقة جيدة للغاية بالنسبة للمقاولين الذين يحققون أرباحًا على أعمال VA ، ولهذا السبب فإن خصخصة VA تشكل تهديدًا حقيقيًا.

انظر المادة على الموقع الاصلي

عن المؤلف

خباز عميددين بيكر هو المدير المشارك لمركز البحوث الاقتصادية والسياسة في واشنطن العاصمة. وكثيرا ما يستشهد في التقارير الاقتصاد في وسائل الإعلام الرئيسية، بما في ذلك نيويورك تايمز, واشنطن بوستو CNN و CNBC و National Public Radio. يكتب عمود أسبوعي لل الجارديان غير محدود (المملكة المتحدة)، و هافينغتون بوست, TruthOutوبلوق، فاز الصحافةميزات التعليق على التقارير الاقتصادية. وقد ظهرت تحليلاته في العديد من المنشورات الرئيسية ، بما في ذلك الأطلسي شهري، ال واشنطن بوست، ال لندن فاينانشال تايمز، و ال نيويورك ديلي نيوز. حصل على درجة الدكتوراه في الاقتصاد من جامعة ميتشيغان.


كتب موصى بها

العودة إلى التوظيف الكامل: صفقة أفضل للعاملين
من قبل جاريد بيرنشتاين ودين بيكر.

B00GOJ9GWOهذا الكتاب هو متابعة لكتاب كتبه قبل عقد من الزمن مؤلفو كتاب "فوائد التوظيف الكامل" (معهد السياسة الاقتصادية ، 2003). وهو يعتمد على الأدلة المقدمة في هذا الكتاب ، والتي تبين أن النمو الحقيقي للأجور للعمال في النصف السفلي من مقياس الدخل يعتمد بشكل كبير على معدل البطالة الإجمالي. في أواخر 1990s ، عندما شهدت الولايات المتحدة أول فترة مستمرة من انخفاض معدل البطالة في أكثر من ربع قرن ، تمكن العمال في منتصف وتوزيع الأجور من الحصول على مكاسب كبيرة في الأجور الحقيقية.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.

نهاية الخاسر الليبرالية: جعل الأسواق تقدمية
من قبل دين بيكر.

0615533639التقدميين في حاجة إلى نهج جديد جذريا في السياسة. لقد تم فقدان ليس فقط لأن المحافظين يكون أكثر من ذلك بكثير المال والسلطة، ولكن أيضا لأنها قبلت تأطير المحافظين من المناقشات السياسية. قبلت لديهم تأطير حيث يريد المحافظون نتائج السوق في حين الليبراليين يريدون من الحكومة أن تتدخل لتحقيق النتائج التي يعتبرونها عادلة. هذا يضع الليبراليين في موقف يبدو أنها تريد فرض ضرائب على الفائزين لمساعدة الخاسرين. هذه "الليبرالية الخاسر" هي سياسة سيئة والسياسة الرهيبة. أن التقدميين أن معارك أفضل حالا القتال على هيكل الأسواق بحيث لا إعادة توزيع الدخل الأعلى. يصف هذا الكتاب بعض المجالات الرئيسية حيث يمكن التقدميين تركز جهودها في إعادة هيكلة السوق بحيث يتدفق المزيد من الدخل على الجزء الأكبر من السكان القادرين على العمل بدلا من مجرد نخبة صغيرة.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.

* هذه الكتب متوفرة أيضًا بتنسيق رقمي لـ "مجانًا" على موقع دين بيكر ، فاز الصحافة. نعم!



enafarزكية-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Why Efforts to Privatize The VA Health System Are A Scam

Why Efforts to Privatize The VA Health System Is A Scam

There are few areas where there is more bipartisan support than the need to provide adequate health care for the country's veterans. While many of us opposed the war in Iraq and other recent military adventures, we still recognize the need to provide medical services for the people who put their lives at risk.

This is why it is especially annoying to see right-wing groups invent scandals around the Veteran Administration's (VA) hospitals in order to advance an agenda of privatizing the system. If there was a real reason to believe that the current system is badly hurting our veterans, and that they would be better cared for under a privatized system, then it would be reasonable to support the transition.

But this is the opposite of the reality. All the evidence suggests that a privatized system would make worse any problems veterans now face in getting care -- and it is likely to cost more money.

To back up a step, we actually have a great deal of evidence on the quality of care provided by the VA system. In an outstanding book, The Best Care Anywhere, Washington Monthly editor Phillip Longman documents how the VA's system of integrative care outperforms the models used by private insurers. The key point was that the VA system effectively tracks patients through their various contacts with doctors and other health care professionals.

This reduces the likelihood that they will get unneeded treatment, but more importantly, ensures that the patient's doctors are aware of the other treatments their patient is receiving. A major problem for patients seeing multiple doctors is that none of them may have full knowledge of the set of conditions afflicting the patient or the drugs they might be taking. By keeping a central system and having a general practitioner assigned to oversee the patient's care, the VA system minimizes this source of mistakes. In fact, this model is so successful that most providers have tried to move in the same direction in recent years.

Longman was writing about the VA system of the 1990s, which had undergone a remarkable turnaround under the leadership of Kenneth Kizer who President Clinton had appointed to head up the health care system as under secretary of veterans affairs. The quality of care established by Kizer deteriorated somewhat under President Bush. This was partly a result of the large inflow of new veterans associated with the administration's wars. It was also partly due to the fact that Bush's political appointees showed the same sort of commitment to veterans' health as his appointees to the Federal Emergency Management Agency did to preparing for disasters like Hurricane Katrina.

Nonetheless, as Alicia Mundy points out in a recent Washington Monthly piece, the VA system still did quite well by most measures. An analysis done for the VA in 2010 found that nearly all the studies comparing the quality of VA care with its counterparts in the private and public sector found that the VA provided care that was as good or better than what was available in its competitors.  

Given this reality, the proponents of privatization had to invent a scandal to push their case, and they got one. They found evidence of substantial waiting lists at the VA hospital in Phoenix. According to accounts promoted in the media, 40 patients died while they were waiting to see a doctor. This of course sounds horrible.

In reality, a report by the VA's Inspector General found that six, not 40 patients had died while waiting for appointments. And it wasn't clear that in any of these cases the death was related to lack of treatment. But the reality didn't matter, the right had their story and they were determined to push it everywhere they could.

The Koch brothers funded a new veterans organization, Concerned Veterans of America, which made attacking the VA health care system the major goal of its work. While full-fledged privatization is clearly a step too far at this point (most veterans really value the health care they get through the VA system), their goal is to piecemeal privatization through a process of gradually outsourcing more and more services.

As this process gains momentum, full-scale privatization may look like less of a lift. The outsourcing is likely to undermine the quality of care, most importantly by making the VA system's practice of integrative care more difficult. It is also likely to increase costs, since the privatized services will almost invariably cost more than the services provided through the VA.

In short, the practice of outsourcing more services from the VA and eventually privatizing it is likely to be a really bad deal from the standpoint of the country's veterans. It is also likely to be a bad deal from the standpoint of taxpayers, who will be getting a larger bill for lower quality care. But, it is likely to be a very good deal for the contractors making profits on VA business, and for that reason privatization of the VA is a very real threat.

See article on original website

About the Author

baker deanDean Baker is co-director of the Center for Economic and Policy Research in Washington, DC. He is frequently cited in economics reporting in major media outlets, including the New York Times, Washington Post, CNN, CNBC, and National Public Radio. He writes a weekly column for the Guardian Unlimited (UK), the Huffington Post, TruthOut, and his blog, Beat the Press, features commentary on economic reporting. His analyses have appeared in many major publications, including the Atlantic Monthly, the Washington Post, the London Financial Times, and the New York Daily News. He received his Ph.D in economics from the University of Michigan.


Recommended Books

Getting Back to Full Employment: A Better Bargain for Working People
by Jared Bernstein and Dean Baker.

B00GOJ9GWOThis book is a follow-up to a book written a decade ago by the authors, The Benefits of Full Employment (Economic Policy Institute, 2003). It builds on the evidence presented in that book, showing that real wage growth for workers in the bottom half of the income scale is highly dependent on the overall rate of unemployment. In the late 1990s, when the United States saw its first sustained period of low unemployment in more than a quarter century, workers at the middle and bottom of the wage distribution were able to secure substantial gains in real wages.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

The End of Loser Liberalism: Making Markets Progressive
by Dean Baker.

0615533639Progressives need a fundamentally new approach to politics. They have been losing not just because conservatives have so much more money and power, but also because they have accepted the conservatives' framing of political debates. They have accepted a framing where conservatives want market outcomes whereas liberals want the government to intervene to bring about outcomes that they consider fair. This puts liberals in the position of seeming to want to tax the winners to help the losers. This "loser liberalism" is bad policy and horrible politics. Progressives would be better off fighting battles over the structure of markets so that they don't redistribute income upward. This book describes some of the key areas where progressives can focus their efforts in restructuring the market so that more income flows to the bulk of the working population rather than just a small elite.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

*These books are also available in digital format for "free" on Dean Baker's website, Beat the Press. Yea!