كيف تعلم الصين أطفالها الرياضيات جيدا

الطلاب الصينييننجوم الرياضيات في الصين. كيف هوى يونغ / وكالة حماية البيئة

كان هناك الكثير من الدعاية في السنوات الأخيرة حول الصين ومدرسيها. بعد الأحدث النتائج من البرنامج الدولي لتقييم الطلبة (PISA) نشرت في 2013، ركزت مناقشات مستفيضة بشأن الأسباب نتائج اختبار الطلاب الصينيين أكثر من 100 نقاط أعلى من المتوسط ​​PISA.

على الرغم من بعض الجدل على النتائج في شنغهاي، فإنه لا يزال من غير الواضح لماذا فعلت الصين على ما يرام. لقد تم إجراء دراسة على نطاق صغير للنظر في التفسيرات المحتملة. قدمنا ​​مؤخرا نتائجنا الأولية في مؤسسة البحوث التربوية البريطانية مؤتمر.

نانجينغ عالية Fliers

أولاً ، قمنا باختبار 562 تسع سنوات وعمر 10 سنوات في فصول دراسية في ساوثهامبتون في إنجلترا ونانجينغ في الصين ، وهي مدن ذات مركز اجتماعي اقتصادي مرتفع بين المدن الكبرى في كل بلد. سجل التلاميذ الصينيون 83٪ في أول اختبارين ، مقارنة بـ 56٪ بين الأطفال الإنجليز. كان الاختبار المستخدم هو نفسه المستخدم في 2003 اتجاهات في دراسة الرياضيات والعلوم الدولية.

في اختبار آخر ، أعطى للتلاميذ بعد عشرة أسابيع ، تحسن التلاميذ الإنجليز ليحرزوا 66٪ في المتوسط ​​، لكن هذا كان لا يزال أقل من الرقم بالنسبة للأطفال الصينيين من 87٪.

استخدمنا أيضًا تحليل الفيديو لما كان يحدث في الدروس في الفصول الدراسية في كلا البلدين للتحقيق في أنواع التدريس المستخدمة. وجدنا أنه في الفصول الدراسية الصينية تم استخدام التعليم التفاعلي من الدرجة الكاملة 72٪ من الوقت ، مقارنة بـ 24٪ في إنجلترا فقط. على النقيض من ذلك ، أنفقت الطبقات في إنجلترا ما يقرب من نصف - 47 ٪ - من وقتهم في العمل الفردي أو الجماعي ، مقارنة مع 28 ٪ في الصين.

يمكن بالطبع أن تكون العوامل الثقافية في الصين هي التي تفسر نتائج الاختبارات العالية. ولكن إذا كنت تجمع كل فصول اللغة الإنجليزية والصفوف الصينية ، ثم تحلل البيانات في كلا البلدين ، فإن تلك الدروس التي تتضمن الكثير من التفاعل من الطبقة الكاملة ترتبط بارتفاع درجات الاختبار ، بينما ترتبط تلك التي تحتوي على نسبة عالية من العمل الفردي والجماعي. كانت مرتبطة مع درجات أقل.

التعلم من الدرجة الكاملة معا

النتائج التي توصلنا إليها تتماشى مع عقود من البحث والتي خلصت إلى أن التدريس التفاعلي من الدرجة الكاملة مع المعلم الذي يستكشف معرفة التلاميذ من خلال الاستجواب والتظاهر أكثر فعالية من عمل المقعد الذي يعمل فيه الأطفال من خلال التمارين بأنفسهم.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


من المحتمل أن تكون أهمية هذا التعليم التفاعلي من الدرجة الكاملة مميزة بشكل خاص في الرياضيات ، بسبب الطبيعة الهرمية للموضوع. إذا عمل الأطفال بمفردهم ، فقد يصبحون عالقين ويتعين عليهم الانتظار لفترة طويلة حتى يتمكن المعلم من توفير المعرفة التي يحتاجونها.

في إعداد الطبقة الكاملة ، فإن استخدام تقنيات مثل بطاقات الأرقام ، حيث يطلب من الفصل بأكمله الاحتفاظ ببطاقة مع الإجابة على مبلغ رياضي ، يمكن أن يساعد المعلمين على تحديد التلاميذ الذين يحتاجون إلى المساعدة على الفور. ويمكن توفير ذلك لهم وللفصل بأكمله بسرعة وفعالية دون تأخير.

اللغة الإنجليزية تركز على الطفل الفرد

وبالنظر إلى أن الأبحاث الحالية والنتائج الجديدة لدينا تشير في نفس الاتجاه، فإنه لا يبدو مثيرا للدهشة أن حوالي نصف خبرة التلميذ في اللغة الإنجليزية الرياضيات دروس في دراستنا لا يزال العمل الفردي أو الجماعي. لا يزال يبدو هذا الرقم مرتفع بشكل ملحوظ.

ما هي أسباب ذلك؟ العديد من المعلمين الأساسيين لديهم مستويات منخفضة من المعرفة الرياضية الموضوعية والثقة. في ضوء ذلك ، ليس من المستغرب أن يفضلوا أن يوضع عبء التعلم في أيدي التلاميذ بدلاً من أن يكونوا في يدهم.

قد يكون مدرس اللغة الإنجليزية متشبثًا بالتركيز على طفل فردي بدلاً من الفصل بأكمله. أيا كان السبب ، يبدو من غير المحتمل - أن يتواءم المثل الصيني - الأطفال سيتعلمون عندما لا يعلم المدرسون.

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة
قراءة المقال الأصلي.


حول المؤلف

zhenzhen مياوZhenzhen مياو هو طالب دكتوراه في جامعة ساوثامبتون. لديها خلفية في التعليم والترجمة وعملت لمدة 11 عامًا قبل مجيئها إلى مدرسة ساوثامبتون التعليمية. في الصين ، تدربت كمدرسة ثانوية للغة الإنجليزية في كلية لويانغ للمعلمين (الآن جامعة لويانغ للمعلمين).

رينولدز ديفيدديفيد Reynoldsis أستاذ في التعليم في جامعة ساوثامبتون. قام بإدارة دورات التعليم الجامعي في جامعات كارديف ، إكسيتر ونيوكاسل ولديه سمعة دولية لعمله في فعالية المدرسة وتحسين المدرسة وفعالية المعلم وعسر القراءة.

بيان الإفصاح عن المعلومات: لا يعمل المؤلفون أو يتشاورون أو يمتلكون أسهماً أو يتلقون تمويلاً من أي شركة أو مؤسسة تستفيد من هذه المقالة. ليس لديهم أي ارتباطات ذات صلة.


أوصى كتاب

درجات عدم المساواة: كيف تخثرت سياسات التعليم العالي في الحلم الأمريكي
سوزان متلر.

درجات عدم المساواة سوزان ميتلرفشل نظام التعليم العالي في أمريكا طلابها. في فضاء جيل ، انتقلنا من كوننا أفضل مجتمع تعليما في العالم إلى مجتمع تجاوزته إحدى عشرة دولة أخرى في معدلات التخرج من الكلية. يتطور التعليم العالي إلى نظام طبقي مع طبقات منفصلة وغير متساوية تأخذ الطلاب من خلفيات اجتماعية واقتصادية مختلفة وتتركهم أكثر عدم تكافؤ مما كانوا عليه عند التحاقهم لأول مرة.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

How China Teaches Her Children Math So Well

parenting

chinese studentsChina’s math stars.  How Hwee Young/EPA

There has been much publicity in recent years about China and its teachers. After the most recent results from the Program for International Student Assessment (PISA) were published in 2013, considerable discussion has focused on the reasons why Chinese students’ test results are more than 100 points above the PISA average.

Despite some controversy over the results in Shanghai, it is still not clear why China has done so well. We have been undertaking a small-scale study to look at possible explanations. We recently presented our initial findings at the British Educational Research Foundation conference.

Nanjing’s High Fliers

First, we tested 562 nine and ten year-olds in classrooms in Southampton in England and Nanjing in China, cities that are of medium to high socioeconomic status among major cities in each country. The Chinese pupils scored 83% in the first of two tests, compared to 56% among the English children. The test used was the same used in the 2003 Trends in International Mathematics and Science Study.

In a second test, given to the pupils ten weeks later, the English pupils improved to score 66% on average, but this was still well short of the figure for the Chinese children of 87%.

We also used video analysis of what was going on in lessons in both countries’ classrooms to investigate the types of teaching being used. We found that in the Chinese classrooms whole-class interactive teaching was being used 72% of the time, compared to only 24% in England. By contrast, the classes in England spent nearly half – 47% – of their time in individual or group work, compared to 28% in China.

It could be of course that it is cultural factors in China which explain the high test scores. But if you pool all the English classes and the Chinese classes, and then analyse the data across both countries, those lessons with a lot of whole-class interaction were associated with higher test scores, while those with a high proportion of individual and group work were associated with lower scores.

Whole Class Learning Together

Our findings are in line with decades of research which has concluded that whole-class interactive teaching with the teacher exploring pupils’ knowledge through questioning and demonstration is more effective than seat work where children work through exercises themselves.

The importance of this whole-class interactive teaching is probably particularly marked in mathematics, because of the hierarchical nature of the subject. If children work on their own, they may become stuck and have to wait a considerable time for the teacher to provide the knowledge that they need.

In the whole-class setting, using techniques such as number cards, where the whole class are asked to hold up a card with the answer to a mathematical sum, can help teachers to identify immediately which pupils need help. This could be provided to both them and the whole class quickly and effectively without delay.

English Focus On Individual Child

Given the fact that existing research and our new findings point in the same direction, it does seem rather surprising that about half the pupil experience in English maths lessons in our study is still individual or group work. This figure does still seem remarkably high.

What are the reasons for it? Many primary teachers have rather low levels of mathematical subject knowledge and confidence. Given this, it is not surprising that they prefer the burden of learning to be placed in the hands of pupils rather than having it in their own.

It may be that English teachers are wedded to a focus on an individual child rather than the whole class. Whatever the reason, it does seem rather unlikely that – to adapt the Chinese proverb – children will learn when the teachers don’t teach.

This article was originally published on The Conversation
Read the original article.


About the Authors

zhenzhen miaoZhenzhen Miao is a PhD candidate at University of Southampton. She has a background in both education and translation and has worked for eleven years before coming to Southampton Education School. In China, she trained as a secondary English teacher at Luoyang Teachers' College (now Luoyang Normal University).

reynolds davidDavid Reynoldsis a Professor in Education at University of Southampton. has run undergraduate academic education courses in Cardiff, Exeter and Newcastle Universities and has an international reputation for his work on school effectiveness, school improvement, teacher effectiveness and dyslexia.

Disclosure Statement: The authors do not work for, consult to, own shares in or receive funding from any company or organisation that would benefit from this article. They also have no relevant affiliations.


Recommended Book

Degrees of Inequality: How the Politics of Higher Education Sabotaged the American Dream
by Suzanne Mettler.

Degrees of Inequality by Suzanne MettlerAmerica’s higher education system is failing its students. In the space of a generation, we have gone from being the best-educated society in the world to one surpassed by eleven other nations in college graduation rates. Higher education is evolving into a caste system with separate and unequal tiers that take in students from different socio-economic backgrounds and leave them more unequal than when they first enrolled.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


parenting
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}