لماذا الدافع الربح في الغالب فشل في التعليم

لماذا الدافع الربح في الغالب فشل في التعليم تحتوي التجربة الكارثية للتعليم والتدريب المهني في أستراليا على العديد من الدروس حول محاولة جعل التعليم في نموذج سوقي ربحي. www.shutterstock.com

تنازل حكومة موريسون عن ما يقرب من 500 مليون دولار أسترالي في ديون التعليم والتدريب المهني المراوغة يحمل العديد من الدروس حول طبيعة التعليم والخدمات العامة التي تقدمها المؤسسات الهادفة للربح.

تم جمع الديون من قِبل حوالي 38,000 طالب مقيد عن غير قصد في قروض VET FEE-HELP الفيدرالية من قبل مقدمي خدمات التعليم المراوغين من أجل الربح. الآلاف من الشكاوى التي تسعى إلى التنازل عن الديون لم تتم معالجتها بعد.

أحد الدروس المستفادة من المزيج الكارثي من التمويل العام والأرباح الخاصة في قطاع التعليم والتدريب المهني هو أن صانعي السياسة مفتونين بعقيدة "الإصلاح" غير قادرين على التعلم من التجربة.

هذا صحيح من كلا جانبي السياسة.

الإصلاحات الفيكتورية

نبذة تاريخية عنالأكثر فظاعة التعليم كارثة في تاريخ أستراليا"يوضح النقطة.

تبدأ القصة في عام 2008 تقريبًا.

تاريخيا ، كان التعليم والتدريب المهني مجالًا لكليات التعليم التقني والتعليم الإضافي التي تديرها الحكومة. لإنشاء قطاع موسع يحركه الطلب ، قامت حكومة حزب العمال جون برومبي في فيكتوريا بإجراء "إصلاحين" رئيسيين.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


كان أحدها فتح نظام TAFE أمام منافسة القطاع الخاص. وكان الآخر لتحويل التكاليف الى الطلابمن خلال نظام قروض مقابل رسوم مماثل لخطة العمل الفيدرالية المقدمة لتمويل التوسع في التعليم الجامعي.

تم تبني هذه الإصلاحات من قبل خليفة برومبي الليبرالي تيد بايليو خفضت بشدة تمويل TAFE، ومن قبل كل من الحكومة الفيدرالية الليبرالية والحزب العمل

كيف لا للإصلاح

لكن ما قدمته فيكتوريا ، على حد تعبير باحثة السياسة التعليمية ليزا ويلاهان ، كان "نموذجًا رائعًا في ذلك كيف لا لإصلاح التدريب المهني".

كما أشار ويلاهان في عام 2012 ، ظهرت المشكلات على الفور تقريبًا. يستحوذ مقدمو الخدمات الربحية على الطلاب (وبالتالي الأموال المتدفقة من الحكومة) بمواد التحلية مثل أجهزة iPad "المجانية". تم منح الشهادات التي تتطلب 600 ساعة من العمل على أساس 60 ساعة. وهكذا.

In مقال لقد نشرت في عام 2013: "إن محاولات الشركات الربحية لدخول (ما تعتبره) أسواق التعليم قد انتهت بشكل شبه دائم إما بالفشل أو في الاستغلال الاحتيالي للإعانات العامة."

لكن القالب الفيكتوري تبنته الحكومة الفدرالية أولاً جون هوارد، الذي مدد برنامج قرض التعليم العالي إلى التعليم والتدريب المهني ، ثم تلك كيفن رود وجوليا جيلارد.

نمت أكثر في ظل توني أبوت ، حيث ارتفعت بمعدل ثلاثة أرقام بين 2012 و2015، حتى اضطر مشاكل واضحة عمل الحكومة. المكتب الوطني الاسترالي لتدقيق الحسابات تقييم هائل من المخطط في عام 2016 أدى إلى ذلك يجري ألغيت.

أمثلة على الفشل

كان بإمكان صانعي السياسة أن يتعلموا ليس فقط من الإخفاقات الأولية لإصلاح التعليم والتدريب المهني ولكن من أمثلة التعليم الهادف للربح على جميع المستويات.

انخرطت الجامعات الأسترالية دون جدوى مع نموذج التعليم العالي الربحي الذي تمثله جامعة فينيكس. وقد اتهمت والجامعات الأخرى الهادفة للربح بتمزيق تمويل التعليم الفيدرالي المقدم للمحاربين القدامى من خلال الإنفاق 15 ٪ أو أقل من الرسوم المستلمة بناء على التعليمات.

ربما يكون من الجيد أن الجامعات الأسترالية المتجذرة في تقاليد التعليم العام قد فشلت بشكل روتيني في مشاريع هادفة للربح مثل جامعة ملبورن الخاصة. تم إغلاقه في عام 2005 بعد خسارته تقديرية ألف دولار 20 مليون على مدى السنوات السبع الماضية.

على مستوى التعليم المدرسي ، لدى الولايات المتحدة الكثير من التجارب الفاشلة. واحد هو مدارس اديسون، والتي في ذروتها في أوائل 2000s كان مئات العقود المدرسية. لقد فقدت الغالبية العظمى منذ ذلك الحين بسبب لا الوفاء بالوعود.

في مجال التعليم المبكر للأطفال ، يتمتع مشغلو رعاية الأطفال في أستراليا الذين يعملون على تحقيق الربح والذين تمولهم الإعانات الحكومية بسجل إشكالي مماثل. تشمل أوجه التشابه استخدام أنواع السحر التي يقودها المشغلون غير المهرة في قطاع التعليم والتدريب المهني - الآباء المغريين (ودعمهم الفيدرالي) مع عروض "مجانية" آي باد وبطاقات الهدايا.

حدود ليبرالية السوق

تعكس إخفاقات التعليم الهادفة للربح كلاً من الخصائص المحددة للتعليم التي تجعل نموذج السوق غير مناسب وإخفاقات أكثر ليبرالية للسوق.

الطلاب ، بحكم تعريفهم ، لا يعرفون ما يكفي ليكونوا على اطلاع بالمستهلكين. سواء كانت الدورة جيدة أو سيئة ، فمن غير المرجح أن يكرروا العملاء. في هذه الظروف ، يعد الاعتماد على اختيار المستهلك والمنافسة بين مقدمي الخدمات وصفة لدورات تدريبية واستغلال سطحية منخفضة الجودة.

وكما أظهرت قرون من الخبرة ، فإن التفاني والأخلاقيات المهنية للمعلمين هي وحدها القادرة على ضمان جودة التعليم. الاعتماد على الحوافز والأسواق لا يتماشى مع تلك الروح.

تكمن المشكلة الأوسع نطاقاً في أجندة الإصلاح في أن الشركات التي تهدف إلى الربح والمدفوعة لتوفير الخدمات العامة تميل أكثر إلى جني الأرباح من خلال استغلال الثغرات في نظام التمويل بدلاً من الابتكار أو تقديم خدمات أفضل.

يبدو أن هذه النقطة لم تغرق بعد في وكالات مثل لجنة الإنتاجية ، التي لا تزال متحمسة لتطبيق "زيادة المنافسة والقدرة على المنافسة واختيار المستخدم الواعي"للخدمات البشرية" لتحسين النتائج للمستخدمين ، والمجتمع ككل ".المحادثة

عن المؤلف

جون كويجين ، أستاذ في كلية الاقتصاد ، جامعة كوينزلاند

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

وأوصت الكتب:

رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين
توماس بيكيتي. (ترجمه آرثر غولدهامر)

رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين غلاف فني من قبل توماس Piketty.In رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين ، يحلل توماس بيكيتي مجموعة فريدة من البيانات من عشرين دولة ، تراوحت في القرن الثامن عشر ، لتكشف عن الأنماط الاقتصادية والاجتماعية الرئيسية. لكن الاتجاهات الاقتصادية ليست أعمال الله. يقول توماس بيكيتي: لقد أدى العمل السياسي إلى الحد من التفاوتات الخطيرة في الماضي ، وقد يفعل ذلك مرة أخرى. عمل طموح غير عادي ، أصالة ، ودقة ، رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين يعيد فهمنا للتاريخ الاقتصادي ويواجهنا بدروس واقعية اليوم. وستغير نتائجه النقاش وتحدد جدول الأعمال للجيل القادم من التفكير في الثروة وعدم المساواة.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


ثروة الطبيعة: كيف تزدهر الأعمال والمجتمع من خلال الاستثمار في الطبيعة
بقلم مارك ر. تيرسيك وجوناثان س. آدمز.

ثروة الطبيعة: كيف تزدهر الأعمال والمجتمع من خلال الاستثمار في الطبيعة بقلـم مارك ر. تيرسيك وجوناثان س. آدامز.ما هي طبيعة يستحق؟ الإجابة على تقليديا مؤطرة في البيئة هذه التي سؤال حيث هو ثورة في الطريقة التي نؤدي بها أعمالنا. في فورتشن الطبيعةيقول مارك تيرسيك ، الرئيس التنفيذي لـ The Nature Conservancy and bank of banker السابق ، والكاتب جوناثان آدامز ، إن الطبيعة ليست فقط أساس رفاهية الإنسان ، بل هي أيضا أذكى استثمار تجاري يمكن أن تقوم به أي شركة أو حكومة. الغابات ، والسهول الفيضية ، وشعاب المحار التي غالبا ما ينظر إليها ببساطة على أنها مواد خام أو عوائق يجب تطهيرها باسم التقدم ، هي في الواقع مهمة بالنسبة لرفاهنا المستقبلي مثل التكنولوجيا أو القانون أو الابتكار في الأعمال. فورتشن الطبيعة يقدم دليلا أساسيا للرفاهية الاقتصادية والبيئية في العالم.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


ما بعد الغضب: قد ذهب ما الخطأ في اقتصادنا وديمقراطيتنا، وكيفية اصلاحها -- بواسطة الرايخ روبرت ب.

ما بعد الغضبفي هذا الكتاب في الوقت المناسب، روبرت ب. رايخ يقول أن لا شيء جيد يحدث في واشنطن ما لم يتم تنشيط المنظمة والمواطنين للتأكد من أفعال واشنطن في الصالح العام. الخطوة الأولى هي أن نرى الصورة الكبيرة. ما بعد الغضب يربط بين النقاط، والتي تبين لماذا حصة متزايدة من الدخل والثروة الذهاب إلى الأعلى قد اعاقه فرص العمل والنمو لشخص آخر، مما يقوض ديمقراطيتنا؛ تسبب الأميركيين أن تصبح ساخرة على نحو متزايد بشأن الحياة العامة، وتحول كثير من الأمريكيين ضد بعضها البعض. وهو ما يفسر أيضا لماذا مقترحات "الحق رجعية" على خطأ القتلى ويشكل خريطة طريق واضحة لما يجب القيام به بدلا من ذلك. وهنا خطة للعمل لكل من يهتم بمستقبل الأمريكية.

انقر هنا للمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


هذه التغييرات كل شيء: تحتل وول ستريت وحركة 99٪
بواسطة سارة فان جيلدر وموظفي YES! مجلة.

هذه التغييرات كل شيء: تحتل وول ستريت وحركة 99٪ من سارة فان جيلدر وموظفي YES! مجلة.هذا يغير كل شيء يوضح كيف أن حركة "الإحتلال" تغير الطريقة التي ينظر بها الناس إلى أنفسهم والعالم ، نوع المجتمع الذي يعتقدون أنه ممكن ، ومشاركتهم في خلق مجتمع يعمل لـ 99٪ بدلاً من 1٪ فقط. وقد أدت محاولات صراع هذه الحركة اللامركزية السريعة التطور إلى الارتباك وسوء الفهم. في هذا المجلد ، محرري نعم فعلا! مجلة جمع الأصوات من داخل وخارج الاحتجاجات لنقل القضايا والإمكانيات والشخصيات المرتبطة بحركة احتلوا وول ستريت. يقدم هذا الكتاب مساهمات من نعومي كلاين ، وديفيد كورتين ، وريبيكا سولنيت ، ورالف نادر ، وآخرين ، بالإضافة إلى نشطاء احتلوا هناك منذ البداية.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.



enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

لماذا لن تحل مناعة القطيع مشكلة COVID-19
لماذا لن تحل مناعة القطيع مشكلة COVID-19
by جوانا وارز وسارة كريبي

من المحررين

Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: كيف يتم تدريس العنصرية
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في حلقة أوبرا شو عام 1992 ، علّمت الناشطة والمناهضة للعنصرية جين إيليوت الحائزة على جوائز الجمهور درساً قاسياً حول العنصرية من خلال إظهار مدى سهولة تعلم التحيز.
تغير سوف يأتي...
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
(30 مايو 2020) بينما أشاهد الأخبار عن الأحداث في فيلادلفيا والمدن الأخرى في البلاد ، فإن قلبي يتألم لما يحدث. أعلم أن هذا جزء من التغيير الأكبر الذي يحدث ...
أغنية يمكن أن ترفع القلب والروح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لدي العديد من الطرق التي أستخدمها لمسح الظلام من ذهني عندما أجد أنه تسلل إلى الداخل. أحدهما هو البستنة ، أو قضاء الوقت في الطبيعة. والآخر هو الصمت. طريقة أخرى هي القراءة. وواحد ...
لماذا يمكن أن يكون دونالد ترامب أكبر الخاسرين في التاريخ
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
يكلف جائحة الفيروس التاجي بأكمله ثروة ، ربما 2 أو 3 أو 4 ثروة ، كلها ذات حجم غير معروف. أوه نعم ، ومئات الآلاف ، وربما مليون شخص سيموتون قبل الأوان بشكل مباشر ...
التميمة للوباء والأغنية موضوع للتمييز الاجتماعي والعزلة
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لقد صادفت أغنية مؤخرًا ، وبينما كنت أستمع إلى كلمات الأغاني ، اعتقدت أنها ستكون أغنية مثالية كـ "أغنية موضوعية" في أوقات العزلة الاجتماعية هذه. (كلمات تحت الفيديو.)

Why The Profit Motive Mostly Fails In Education

Why The Profit Motive Mostly Fails In Education The disastrous experience of vocational education and training in Australia holds many lessons about trying to fit education into a for-profit market model. www.shutterstock.com

The Morrison government’s waiving of almost A$500 million in dodgy vocational education and training debts holds many lessons about the nature of education and public services being provided by for-profit enterprises.

The debts were collected by about 38,000 students unwittingly locked into federal VET FEE-HELP loans by dodgy for-profit education providers. Thousands more complaints seeking to have debts waived have yet to be processed.

One of the lessons from the disastrous mix of public funding and private profits in the VET sector is that policymakers infatuated with the dogma of “reform” are incapable of learning from experience.

That’s true of both sides of politics.

Victorian reforms

A brief history of the “most disastrous education rort in Australia’s history” illustrates the point.

The story begins in about 2008.

Historically, vocational education and training was the domain of the government-run Technical and Further Education (TAFE) colleges. To create an expanded demand-driven sector, the Labor government of John Brumby in Victoria made two key “reforms”.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


One was to open up the TAFE system to private-sector competition. The other was to shift costs to students, through a fee loans scheme similar to the one federal Labor introduced to fund university education expansion.

These reforms were embraced by Brumby’s Liberal successor, Ted Baillieu, who severely cut TAFE funding, and by both Liberal and Labor federal governments.

How not to reform

But what Victoria provided, in the words of education policy researcher Leesa Wheelahan, was “a great template in how not to reform vocational training”.

As Wheelahan noted in 2012, problems emerged almost immediately. For-profit providers enticed students (and therefore the money flowing from the government) with sweeteners such as “free” iPads. Diplomas requiring 600 hours of work were granted on the basis of 60 hours. And so on.

In an essay published in 2013, I wrote: “Attempts by for-profit firms to enter (what they perceive as) education markets have almost invariably ended either in failure or in fraudulent exploitation of public subsidies.”

But the Victorian template was embraced federally first by the government of John Howard, which extended the Higher Education Loan Program to VET, and then those of Kevin Rudd and Julia Gillard.

It grew even more under Tony Abbott, increasing at triple-digit rates between 2012 and 2015, until evident problems forced government action. The Australian National Audit Office’s scathing assessment of the scheme in 2016 led to it being scrapped.

Examples of failure

Policymakers could have learned not only from the initial failures of VET reform but from examples of for-profit education at all levels.

Australian universities have dabbled unsuccessfully with the for-profit tertiary model exemplified by the University of Phoenix. It and other for-profit universities have been accused of rorting federal education funding provided for military veterans, by spending 15% or less of the fees received on instruction.

It’s perhaps a good thing that Australian universities rooted in the traditions of public education have routinely failed with for-profit ventures such as as Melbourne University Private. It closed in 2005 after losing an estimated A$20 million over the previous seven years.

At the level of school education, the US has plenty of failed experiments. One is Edison Schools, which at its peak in the early 2000s had hundreds of school contracts. It has since lost the great majority due to not delivering on promises.

In the realm of early child education, Australia’s for-profit child-care operators funded by government subsidies have a similarly problematic record. The similarities include using the types of lures pioneered by shonky operators in the VET sector – enticing parents (and their federal subsidies) with offers of “free” iPads and gift cards.

The limits of market liberalism

The failures of for-profit education reflect both the specific characteristics of education that make a market model inappropriate and more fundamental failings of market liberalism.

Students, by definition, don’t know enough to be informed consumers. Whether the course is good or bad, they are unlikely to be repeat customers. In these circumstances, relying on consumer choice and competition between providers is a recipe for superficial, low-quality courses and exploitation.

As centuries of experience has shown, only the dedication and professional ethos of teachers can ensure high-quality education. Reliance on incentives and markets is inconsistent with that ethos.

The broader problem with the reform agenda is that for-profit businesses paid to provide public services are more tempted to make profits by exploiting loopholes in the funding system than by innovating or providing better services.

This point is apparently yet to sink in with agencies such as the Productivity Commission, which remains enthusiastic about applying “increased competition, contestability and informed user choice” to human services “to improve outcomes for users, and the community as a whole”.The Conversation

About the Author

John Quiggin, Professor, School of Economics, The University of Queensland

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Recommended books:

Capital in the Twenty-First Century
by Thomas Piketty. (Translated by Arthur Goldhammer)

Capital in the Twenty-First Century Hardcover by Thomas Piketty.In Capital in the Twenty-First Century, Thomas Piketty analyzes a unique collection of data from twenty countries, ranging as far back as the eighteenth century, to uncover key economic and social patterns. But economic trends are not acts of God. Political action has curbed dangerous inequalities in the past, says Thomas Piketty, and may do so again. A work of extraordinary ambition, originality, and rigor, Capital in the Twenty-First Century reorients our understanding of economic history and confronts us with sobering lessons for today. His findings will transform debate and set the agenda for the next generation of thought about wealth and inequality.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


Nature's Fortune: How Business and Society Thrive by Investing in Nature
by Mark R. Tercek and Jonathan S. Adams.

Nature's Fortune: How Business and Society Thrive by Investing in Nature by Mark R. Tercek and Jonathan S. Adams.What is nature worth? The answer to this question—which traditionally has been framed in environmental terms—is revolutionizing the way we do business. In Nature’s Fortune, Mark Tercek, CEO of The Nature Conservancy and former investment banker, and science writer Jonathan Adams argue that nature is not only the foundation of human well-being, but also the smartest commercial investment any business or government can make. The forests, floodplains, and oyster reefs often seen simply as raw materials or as obstacles to be cleared in the name of progress are, in fact as important to our future prosperity as technology or law or business innovation. Nature’s Fortune offers an essential guide to the world’s economic—and environmental—well-being.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


Beyond Outrage: What has gone wrong with our economy and our democracy, and how to fix it -- by Robert B. Reich

Beyond OutrageIn this timely book, Robert B. Reich argues that nothing good happens in Washington unless citizens are energized and organized to make sure Washington acts in the public good. The first step is to see the big picture. Beyond Outrage connects the dots, showing why the increasing share of income and wealth going to the top has hobbled jobs and growth for everyone else, undermining our democracy; caused Americans to become increasingly cynical about public life; and turned many Americans against one another. He also explains why the proposals of the “regressive right” are dead wrong and provides a clear roadmap of what must be done instead. Here’s a plan for action for everyone who cares about the future of America.

Click here for more info or to order this book on Amazon.


This Changes Everything: Occupy Wall Street and the 99% Movement
by Sarah van Gelder and staff of YES! Magazine.

This Changes Everything: Occupy Wall Street and the 99% Movement by Sarah van Gelder and staff of YES! Magazine.This Changes Everything shows how the Occupy movement is shifting the way people view themselves and the world, the kind of society they believe is possible, and their own involvement in creating a society that works for the 99% rather than just the 1%. Attempts to pigeonhole this decentralized, fast-evolving movement have led to confusion and misperception. In this volume, the editors of YES! Magazine bring together voices from inside and outside the protests to convey the issues, possibilities, and personalities associated with the Occupy Wall Street movement. This book features contributions from Naomi Klein, David Korten, Rebecca Solnit, Ralph Nader, and others, as well as Occupy activists who were there from the beginning.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.



enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)