وإليك لماذا تُجبر الكليات على إغلاق أبوابها

وإليك لماذا تُجبر الكليات على إغلاق أبوابها
تخطط كلية مارلبورو لإغلاق حرمها الجامعي في فيرمونت بعد العام الدراسي 2019-2020 ونقل برامجها إلى كلية إيمرسون في بوسطن. ويكيميديا ​​كومنز, CC BY-NC-SA

عندما أصبحت جامعة سينسيناتي كريستيان على دراية بانخفاض معدل الالتحاق بها وتراجع إيرادات التعليم في 2015 ، حققت الجامعة "سلسلة من الرهانات الجريئة"للبقاء واقفا على قدميه.

لكن التحركات الجريئة انتهت بكونها سلسلة من الأخطاء الاستراتيجية. بدأت المدرسة فريقًا لكرة القدم ، ونقحت مهمتها وطردت أعضاء هيئة التدريس والموظفين لخفض التكاليف. أنفقت معظم أوقافها البالغة 4 مليون دولار ، لكنها كانت لا تزال 6 مليون دولار في الدين في 2018. هذا الفصل الخريف سيكون آخر مدرسة.

Cincinnati Christian College هي واحدة من عدد متزايد من الكليات والجامعات - كليات 21 الخاصة منذ 2016 - أجبروا على إغلاق أبوابهم لأسباب مالية. وقد أثر هذا الاتجاه على القطاع العام أيضا. على الأقل كليات 33 العامة - بما في ذلك كليات المجتمع - دمجت ضمن أنظمة الولاية الخاصة بها أو اندمجت مع مؤسسات أخرى منذ 2016.

وإليك لماذا تُجبر الكليات على إغلاق أبوابها
من المقرر أن تغلق جامعة سينسيناتي المسيحية في نهاية 2019.
ويكيميديا ​​كومنز, CC BY-NC-SA

وتنبؤات زوال الكليات الأخرى في المستقبل كثيرة. أستاذ هارفارد للأعمال كلايتون كريستنسن وقد قال أن نصف جميع الكليات والجامعات ستغلق في العقد المقبل. في حين أن هذا الرأي قد يكون متشائما بشكل مفرط ، دراسة واحدة وجدت أن حوالي 800 من تقريبا 2,300 أظهرت كليات القطاعين العام والخاص التي لا تهدف للربح في الولايات المتحدة لمدة أربع سنوات خصائص تعرضها للمخاطر المالية: كان لديها أقل من طلاب 1,000 ، وليس لديهم برامج عبر الإنترنت ، وفرض زيادات سنوية في التعليم بنسبة 8٪ على الأقل واعتمدت على الرسوم الدراسية مقابل 85 بالمائة أو أكثر من عائداتهم. كما قاموا بخصم الرسوم الدراسية بنسبة 35 في المئة أو أكثر.

هذه الإغلاقات الكلية تعطل الحياة الأكاديمية للطلاب ، وتجبر أعضاء هيئة التدريس والموظفين على العثور على عمل في مكان آخر ، ويمكن أن تضر الاقتصاد المحلي.

ك أستاذ التربية الذي شغل منصب كبير موظفي التسجيل في العديد من الجامعات لسنوات 30 ، إليك أربعة أسباب أعتقد أنها وراء الإغلاقات.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


1. ارتفاع الأسعار والشكوك حول القيمة

تحدث إلى أي والد لطالب في مدرسة ثانوية مقيدة بالكلية وسوف يعرب عن قلقه بشأن تكلفة الكلية. عندما أجريت بحثًا كمستشار لكلية صغيرة ، وجدت أن السعر كان إلى حد بعيد العامل الأكبر في كيفية اختيار كل من الآباء والطلاب للكلية.

في تلك الدراسة غير المنشورة التي أجراها 2019 ، كان سعر الملصقات هو الاعتبار الأول لدى 51 من الآباء عند اختيار الكلية. هذا هو ثلاثة أضعاف نسبة 17 التي قالت إن السمعة الأكاديمية - على النحو الذي تحدده تصنيفات الكلية التي تنشرها المجلات المختلفة - كانت عاملًا رئيسيًا.

يمكننا أن نتوقع أن نرى المزيد من الكليات تواجه انخفاض معدلات الالتحاق مع استمرار ارتفاع الأسعار. تقارير مجلس الكلية أن متوسط ​​الرسوم الدراسية والرسوم تضاعفت ثلاث مرات في الكليات الحكومية لمدة أربع سنوات وأكثر من الضعف في الكليات الخاصة غير الربحية من العام الدراسي 1989 إلى 2019 - بعد حساب التضخم.

مع استمرار ارتفاع أسعار الكلية ، يتساءل المزيد من الناس عما إذا كانت الكلية تستحق الثمن أم لا.

ووفقا ل 2019 المسح من 1,389 American ، فقط 58٪ يعتقدون أن الكليات تقوم بعمل "جيد" أو "جيد جدًا" في توفير عائد على استثمارات الطلاب. على الرغم من أن الاستطلاع وجد أن 69 بالمائة لديهم آراء إيجابية بالنسبة للكليات التي تدوم أربع سنوات ، فإن المشاركين أرادوا أيضًا من الكليات أن تساعد الطلاب على اكتساب المهارات اللازمة للحصول على وظيفة بأجر جيد.

عندما يتم التشكيك في قيمة الكلية ، فإن أول المدارس التي تعاني من انخفاض معدلات الالتحاق هي المدارس غير المعروفة جيدًا ، وليست انتقائية للغاية ، وتعتمد بشكل كبير على التعليم وتقدم خصومات كبيرة لجذب الطلاب والحفاظ عليهم.

2. التحولات الديموغرافية

وسط ارتفاع تكاليف الكلية ، تزداد فجوة الدخل بين الأغنياء والفقراء. من 1988 إلى 2018 ، شهدت القاع 20٪ من الأمريكيين ، من حيث الدخل ، زيادة بنسبة 12 في المئة في دخلهم ، في حين تمتع أولئك الموجودون في أعلى 20٪ بزيادة 51٪ ، وفقا لمجلس الكلية.

هذا صحيح بشكل خاص للعائلات الأمريكية والإفريقية. في كتابه 2015 ، "توقف"، يشير جون ماكجي إلى أن متوسط ​​دخل العائلات الأمريكية من أصل أفريقي وذوي الأصول الأسبانية يمثل نصف دخل البيض والآسيويين.

كتاب ناثان غراوي 2018 ، "التركيبة السكانية والطلب على التعليم العالي"، يوضح أنه في حين أن عدد خريجي المدارس الثانوية في جميع أنحاء البلاد سيزداد قليلاً بين الآن و 2025 ، فإن هذا العدد سينخفض ​​فعليًا بنسبة 15-20٪ في الشمال الشرقي ، حيث توجد العديد من الكليات الخاصة غير الربحية. تحدث الزيادة في الجنوب والجنوب الغربي ، خاصة في أوساط السكان ذوي الأصول الأسبانية ، مع انخفاض متوسط ​​الدخل. يقدر غراو أن نسبة الطلاب اللاتينيين الذين سيذهبون إلى الكلية ستزداد بحوالي 5 نقطة مئوية بحلول 2029 ، في حين سينخفض ​​إجمالي تسجيل الطلاب بنسبة 8 تقريبًا بين 2025 و 2029.

لذلك ، في حين يُتوقع من الكليات والجامعات الأمريكية أن تسجل هيئة طلابية أكثر تنوعًا في السنوات القادمة ، فإنها ستواجه أيضًا ضغوطًا مالية بسبب قلة عدد الطلاب المسجلين وعدم كفاية عدد الأسر التي تفتقر إلى الوسائل اللازمة لدفع الرسوم الدراسية.

3. الكليات كمنافسين

كان من المعتاد أن تقوم الكليات بمشاركة معلومات الطالب مع بعضها البعض للتأكد من قدرتها على تقديم سعر يتماشى مع احتياجات أسرة الطالب.

كل هذا تغير في أوائل 1990s ، عندما وزارة العدل بدأت تحقيقا لمكافحة الاحتكار من كليات وجامعات 57 الخاصة غير الربحية بسبب تحديد السعر المزعوم. نص قرار الموافقة على أنه لم يعد مسموحًا للكليات بمشاركة بيانات المساعدات المالية للطلاب الذين تقدموا بطلبات إلى مؤسسات مختلفة.

غيّر هذا الإجراء المشهد التنافسي إلى الأبد ، مما دفع العديد من الكليات إلى تقديم "منح دراسية" أكثر تنافسية ، والتي في كثير من الحالات هي في الواقع خصومات غير قائمة على الاحتياجات. مع تصاعد هذه الممارسة في السنوات الأخيرة ، تقدم الكليات عطاء ضد بعضها البعض للطلاب من خلال تقديم منح دراسية أكثر سخاء. وهذا يخلق ضغطًا ماليًا كبيرًا لأن المؤسسات تنفق أموالًا ليس لديها حقًا وتتخلى عن الإيرادات التي تحتاجها.

4. الكليات تتحرك ببطء شديد

الكليات والجامعات غير معروفة بسلوكها الذكي. تلك المؤسسات التي تتحرك بسرعة ، مثل جنوب نيو هامبشايروجامعات ولاية أريزونا وويسترن غفرنرز ، تستفيد من الحصول على برامج جديدة للتسويق قبل غيرها.

ولكن هذا ليس صحيحا بالنسبة لمعظم. براين ميتشل، الرئيس السابق لجامعة Bucknell ومستشار التعليم العالي الآن ، يدعي أن العديد من أمناء الكلية "غير مستعدين للأسف" لمواجهة التحديات التي تواجه مؤسساتهم. تعالج معظم الكليات انخفاض الالتحاق والإيرادات عن طريق زيادة معدل الخصم لتسجيل المزيد من الطلاب. يقول ميتشل إن هذا يوضح "سوء فهم أساسي للحالة العامة للتعليم العالي" ويجعل من الصعب تحقيق تغيير ذي معنى.

خذ كلية نيو روشيل في نيويورك ، على سبيل المثال. اكتشف المسؤولون هناك "ميزانيات ملفقة" في 2016 ، بعد ثلاث سنوات على الأقل من إغلاق هذه الميزانيات. في وقت لاحق ، كشفت مراجعة داخلية 31.2 مليون دولار في الفواتير غير المسددة ، بما في ذلك ضرائب الرواتب في الدولة والفدرالية. لم تغلق الكلية حتى 2019. لم يكن مجلس الأمناء على علم بالديون ، ولم يكن الدين مدرجًا في تدقيقه السنوي. تسببت أخطاء العمل والإدارة في تأخير هذه المؤسسة التي كانت نابضة بالحياة فعليًا.

ما يلزم للبقاء على قيد الحياة

في أوقات الركود الاقتصادي والديمغرافي ، ستواجه أصغر وأضعف الكليات والجامعات تحديًا للبقاء على قيد الحياة. ومع ذلك ، إذا كانت المؤسسات واضحة بشأن مهامها ولكنها ترغب في توسيعها ؛ إذا رحبوا بالتغيير في من هم طلابهم ، وما هي البرامج التي يقدمونها وكيف يقدمون هذه البرامج ؛ وإذا توقعوا تأثير الرياح المعاكسة السلبية أثناء التحرك بسرعة وبذكاء ، فيجب أن يكونوا قادرين على التنقل في المياه المتقلبة الموجودة أمامهم والبقاء على قيد الحياة.

عن المؤلف

روبرت ماسا ، أستاذ مساعد ، مدرسة روسير للتربية ، جامعة جنوب كاليفورنيا ، جامعة جنوب كاليفورنيا

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

وأوصت الكتب:

رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين
توماس بيكيتي. (ترجمه آرثر غولدهامر)

رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين غلاف فني من قبل توماس Piketty.In رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين ، يحلل توماس بيكيتي مجموعة فريدة من البيانات من عشرين دولة ، تراوحت في القرن الثامن عشر ، لتكشف عن الأنماط الاقتصادية والاجتماعية الرئيسية. لكن الاتجاهات الاقتصادية ليست أعمال الله. يقول توماس بيكيتي: لقد أدى العمل السياسي إلى الحد من التفاوتات الخطيرة في الماضي ، وقد يفعل ذلك مرة أخرى. عمل طموح غير عادي ، أصالة ، ودقة ، رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين يعيد فهمنا للتاريخ الاقتصادي ويواجهنا بدروس واقعية اليوم. وستغير نتائجه النقاش وتحدد جدول الأعمال للجيل القادم من التفكير في الثروة وعدم المساواة.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


ثروة الطبيعة: كيف تزدهر الأعمال والمجتمع من خلال الاستثمار في الطبيعة
بقلم مارك ر. تيرسيك وجوناثان س. آدمز.

ثروة الطبيعة: كيف تزدهر الأعمال والمجتمع من خلال الاستثمار في الطبيعة بقلـم مارك ر. تيرسيك وجوناثان س. آدامز.ما هي طبيعة يستحق؟ الإجابة على تقليديا مؤطرة في البيئة هذه التي سؤال حيث هو ثورة في الطريقة التي نؤدي بها أعمالنا. في فورتشن الطبيعةيقول مارك تيرسيك ، الرئيس التنفيذي لـ The Nature Conservancy and bank of banker السابق ، والكاتب جوناثان آدامز ، إن الطبيعة ليست فقط أساس رفاهية الإنسان ، بل هي أيضا أذكى استثمار تجاري يمكن أن تقوم به أي شركة أو حكومة. الغابات ، والسهول الفيضية ، وشعاب المحار التي غالبا ما ينظر إليها ببساطة على أنها مواد خام أو عوائق يجب تطهيرها باسم التقدم ، هي في الواقع مهمة بالنسبة لرفاهنا المستقبلي مثل التكنولوجيا أو القانون أو الابتكار في الأعمال. فورتشن الطبيعة يقدم دليلا أساسيا للرفاهية الاقتصادية والبيئية في العالم.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


ما بعد الغضب: قد ذهب ما الخطأ في اقتصادنا وديمقراطيتنا، وكيفية اصلاحها -- بواسطة الرايخ روبرت ب.

ما بعد الغضبفي هذا الكتاب في الوقت المناسب، روبرت ب. رايخ يقول أن لا شيء جيد يحدث في واشنطن ما لم يتم تنشيط المنظمة والمواطنين للتأكد من أفعال واشنطن في الصالح العام. الخطوة الأولى هي أن نرى الصورة الكبيرة. ما بعد الغضب يربط بين النقاط، والتي تبين لماذا حصة متزايدة من الدخل والثروة الذهاب إلى الأعلى قد اعاقه فرص العمل والنمو لشخص آخر، مما يقوض ديمقراطيتنا؛ تسبب الأميركيين أن تصبح ساخرة على نحو متزايد بشأن الحياة العامة، وتحول كثير من الأمريكيين ضد بعضها البعض. وهو ما يفسر أيضا لماذا مقترحات "الحق رجعية" على خطأ القتلى ويشكل خريطة طريق واضحة لما يجب القيام به بدلا من ذلك. وهنا خطة للعمل لكل من يهتم بمستقبل الأمريكية.

انقر هنا للمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


هذه التغييرات كل شيء: تحتل وول ستريت وحركة 99٪
بواسطة سارة فان جيلدر وموظفي YES! مجلة.

هذه التغييرات كل شيء: تحتل وول ستريت وحركة 99٪ من سارة فان جيلدر وموظفي YES! مجلة.هذا يغير كل شيء يوضح كيف أن حركة "الإحتلال" تغير الطريقة التي ينظر بها الناس إلى أنفسهم والعالم ، نوع المجتمع الذي يعتقدون أنه ممكن ، ومشاركتهم في خلق مجتمع يعمل لـ 99٪ بدلاً من 1٪ فقط. وقد أدت محاولات صراع هذه الحركة اللامركزية السريعة التطور إلى الارتباك وسوء الفهم. في هذا المجلد ، محرري نعم فعلا! مجلة جمع الأصوات من داخل وخارج الاحتجاجات لنقل القضايا والإمكانيات والشخصيات المرتبطة بحركة احتلوا وول ستريت. يقدم هذا الكتاب مساهمات من نعومي كلاين ، وديفيد كورتين ، وريبيكا سولنيت ، ورالف نادر ، وآخرين ، بالإضافة إلى نشطاء احتلوا هناك منذ البداية.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.



enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Here's Why Colleges Are Being Forced To Close Their Doors

Here's Why Colleges Are Being Forced To Close Their Doors
Marlboro College plans to close its Vermont campus after the 2019-2020 school year and move its programs to Emerson College in Boston. Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-NC-SA

When Cincinnati Christian University became aware of its declining enrollment and dwindling tuition revenue in 2015, the university made a “series of bold bets” to stay afloat.

But the bold moves ended up being a series of strategic mistakes. The school started a football team, revised its mission and laid off faculty and staff to cut costs. It spent most of its $4 million endowment but was still $6 million in debt in 2018. This fall semester will be the school’s last.

Cincinnati Christian College is one of a growing number of colleges and universities – 21 private colleges since 2016 – forced to close their doors for financial reasons. The trend has affected the public sector, too. At least 33 public colleges – including community colleges – have consolidated within their state systems or merged with other institutions since 2016.

Here's Why Colleges Are Being Forced To Close Their Doors
Cincinnati Christian University is set to close at the end of 2019.
Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-NC-SA

And predictions of the future demise of other colleges abound. Harvard Business School professor Clayton Christensen has said that half of all colleges and universities will close in the next decade. While that view may be overly pessimistic, one study found that about 800 of the approximately 2,300 four-year public and nonprofit private colleges in the nation exhibited characteristics that put them at financial risk: They had fewer than 1,000 students, had no online programs, imposed annual tuition increases of at least 8% and relied on tuition for 85 percent or more of their revenue. They also discounted their tuition by 35 percent or more.

These college closures disrupt the academic lives of students, force faculty and staff to find work elsewhere and can hurt a local economy.

As an education professor who has served as the chief enrollment officer at several universities for 30 years, here are four reasons I believe are behind the closures.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


1. Rising prices and doubts about value

Talk to any parent of a college-bound high school student and they will express concern about the cost of college. When I conducted research as a consultant for a small college, I found that price was by far the biggest factor in how both parents and students chose a college.

In that 2019 unpublished study, sticker price was the top consideration for 51 percent of parents when making a college choice. That’s three times the 17 percent who said academic reputation – as determined by college rankings published by various magazines – was a top factor.

We can expect to see more colleges face declining enrollment as prices continue to increase. The College Board reports that average tuition and fees tripled at public four-year colleges and more than doubled at nonprofit private colleges from academic year 1989 to 2019 – after accounting for inflation.

As college prices continue to rise, more people are questioning whether college is worth the price.

According to a 2019 survey of 1,389 Americans, only 58% think colleges are doing a “good” or “very good” job of providing students a return on their investment. Although the survey found that 69 percent had favorable views of four-year colleges, respondents also wanted colleges to help students acquire the skills needed to get a good-paying job.

When the value of college is questioned, the first schools that experience enrollment declines are those that aren’t very well known, aren’t very selective, rely heavily on tuition and offer large discounts to attract and keep students.

2. Demographic shifts

Amid rising college costs, the income gap between rich and poor is also getting wider. From 1988 to 2018, the bottom 20% of Americans, in terms of income, saw a 12 percent increase in their income, while those in the top 20% enjoyed a 51% increase, according to The College Board.

This is particularly true for African American and Hispanic families. In his 2015 book, “Breakpoint,” Jon McGee notes that average incomes of African American and Hispanic families are half those of whites and Asians.

Nathan Grawe’s 2018 book, “Demographics and the Demand for Higher Education,” shows that while the number of high school graduates nationwide will increase slightly between now and 2025, that number will actually decrease by 15-20% in the Northeast, which is where many nonprofit, private colleges are located. The increase occurs in the South and Southwest, primarily in the Hispanic population, with lower average incomes. Grawe estimates that the share of Hispanics going to college will increase by about 5 percentage points by 2029, while total student enrollment will decrease by almost 8 percent between 2025 and 2029.

So, while America’s colleges and universities are expected to enroll a more diverse student body in the coming years, they will also face financial strain as fewer students enroll and more families lack the means to pay tuition.

3. Colleges as competitors

It used to be that colleges could share student information with one another to make sure they were able to offer a price that was in line with the needs of a student’s family.

All that changed in the early 1990s, when the Department of Justice initiated an antitrust investigation of 57 private, nonprofit colleges and universities for alleged price fixing. A consent decree stipulated that colleges were no longer permitted to share financial aid data of students who had applied to different institutions.

That one action changed the competitive landscape forever, leading many colleges to offer more competitive “scholarships,” which in many cases are actually non-need-based discounts. As this practice escalated in recent years, colleges bid against each other for students by offering more generous scholarships. This creates a major financial strain as institutions spend money that they don’t really have and forgo revenue they need.

4. Colleges move too slowly

Colleges and universities are not known for nimble behavior. Those institutions that move fast, such as Southern New Hampshire, Arizona State and Western Governors universities, benefit by getting new programs to market ahead of others.

But that’s not true for most. Brian Mitchell, a former president of Bucknell University and now a higher education consultant, claims that many college trustees are “woefully unprepared” to meet the challenges facing their institutions. Most colleges address enrollment and revenue declines by simply increasing the discount rate to enroll more students. This, Mitchell says, demonstrates a fundamental “misunderstanding of the overall state of higher education” and makes it difficult to achieve meaningful change.

Take the College of New Rochelle in New York, for example. Administrators there discovered “fabricated budgets” in 2016, at least three years after those budgets were closed. Subsequently, an internal audit uncovered $31.2 million in unpaid bills, including state and federal payroll taxes. The college did not close until 2019. The board of trustees was not aware of the debt, nor was the debt listed in its annual audit. Delayed action and management errors effectively killed this once-vibrant institution.

What it takes to survive

In times of economic and demographic downturns, the smallest and weakest of colleges and universities will be challenged to survive. However, if institutions are clear about their missions but willing to expand them; if they welcome change in who their students are, which programs they offer and how they deliver those programs; and if they anticipate the impact of negative headwinds while moving quickly and smartly, they should be able to navigate the choppy waters ahead of them and survive.

About the Author

Robert Massa, Adjunct Professor, Rossier School of Education, USC, University of Southern California

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Recommended books:

Capital in the Twenty-First Century
by Thomas Piketty. (Translated by Arthur Goldhammer)

Capital in the Twenty-First Century Hardcover by Thomas Piketty.In Capital in the Twenty-First Century, Thomas Piketty analyzes a unique collection of data from twenty countries, ranging as far back as the eighteenth century, to uncover key economic and social patterns. But economic trends are not acts of God. Political action has curbed dangerous inequalities in the past, says Thomas Piketty, and may do so again. A work of extraordinary ambition, originality, and rigor, Capital in the Twenty-First Century reorients our understanding of economic history and confronts us with sobering lessons for today. His findings will transform debate and set the agenda for the next generation of thought about wealth and inequality.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


Nature's Fortune: How Business and Society Thrive by Investing in Nature
by Mark R. Tercek and Jonathan S. Adams.

Nature's Fortune: How Business and Society Thrive by Investing in Nature by Mark R. Tercek and Jonathan S. Adams.What is nature worth? The answer to this question—which traditionally has been framed in environmental terms—is revolutionizing the way we do business. In Nature’s Fortune, Mark Tercek, CEO of The Nature Conservancy and former investment banker, and science writer Jonathan Adams argue that nature is not only the foundation of human well-being, but also the smartest commercial investment any business or government can make. The forests, floodplains, and oyster reefs often seen simply as raw materials or as obstacles to be cleared in the name of progress are, in fact as important to our future prosperity as technology or law or business innovation. Nature’s Fortune offers an essential guide to the world’s economic—and environmental—well-being.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


Beyond Outrage: What has gone wrong with our economy and our democracy, and how to fix it -- by Robert B. Reich

Beyond OutrageIn this timely book, Robert B. Reich argues that nothing good happens in Washington unless citizens are energized and organized to make sure Washington acts in the public good. The first step is to see the big picture. Beyond Outrage connects the dots, showing why the increasing share of income and wealth going to the top has hobbled jobs and growth for everyone else, undermining our democracy; caused Americans to become increasingly cynical about public life; and turned many Americans against one another. He also explains why the proposals of the “regressive right” are dead wrong and provides a clear roadmap of what must be done instead. Here’s a plan for action for everyone who cares about the future of America.

Click here for more info or to order this book on Amazon.


This Changes Everything: Occupy Wall Street and the 99% Movement
by Sarah van Gelder and staff of YES! Magazine.

This Changes Everything: Occupy Wall Street and the 99% Movement by Sarah van Gelder and staff of YES! Magazine.This Changes Everything shows how the Occupy movement is shifting the way people view themselves and the world, the kind of society they believe is possible, and their own involvement in creating a society that works for the 99% rather than just the 1%. Attempts to pigeonhole this decentralized, fast-evolving movement have led to confusion and misperception. In this volume, the editors of YES! Magazine bring together voices from inside and outside the protests to convey the issues, possibilities, and personalities associated with the Occupy Wall Street movement. This book features contributions from Naomi Klein, David Korten, Rebecca Solnit, Ralph Nader, and others, as well as Occupy activists who were there from the beginning.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.



enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}