كيفية جعل الكلية أكثر بأسعار معقولة في الولايات المتحدة

كيفية جعل الكلية أكثر بأسعار معقولة في الولايات المتحدة
هل وضعت تكلفة التعليم العالي في الولايات المتحدة كلية خارج نطاق الوصول المالي؟ DRogatnev / www.shutterstock.com

عندما يتعلق الأمر بتكلفة التعليم العالي في الولايات المتحدة ، تكثر علامات المشاكل.

على سبيل المثال ، الدول الآن الاعتماد بشكل كبير على الرسوم الدراسية لتمويل كلياتهم العامة والجامعات منهم على التمويل الحكومي.

الكليات والجامعات الخاصة تكافح من أجل تلبية احتياجاتهم ، توجيه مبلغ قياسي من إيرادات الرسوم الدراسية نحو منح المعونة للطلاب المحتاجين اقتصاديا.

في نفس الوقت ، عدد الطلاب المقترضين الذين تخلفوا عن سداد قروض الطلاب ارتفع في العام الماضي كما فعلت سعر التعليم العالي نفسه.

لذلك سألنا فريق الرؤساء لدينا - من جامعة كزافييه في لويزيانا ، كلية كولورادو وولاية بن: بالنظر إلى هذا الواقع ، ما هي أهم شيئين أو ثلاثة تعتقد أنه يجب أن يحدث لجعل الكلية أكثر بأسعار معقولة - خاصة للطلاب ذوي الدخل المنخفض وطلاب اللون والطبقة العاملة؟

أكثر من واحد من الممولين يجب أن يتقدم

جيل Tiefenthaler ، رئيس كلية كولورادو

التعليم الجامعي لديه العديد من الممولين. توفر الحكومات الفيدرالية وحكومات الولايات الدعم ، كما تفعل مؤسسات التعليم العالي نفسها. ومن ثم ، بالطبع ، هناك الأموال التي تدفعها عائلات الطلاب. سيحتاج تحسين الوصول إلى دعم إضافي من واحد أو أكثر من هذه المصادر.

للبدء على المستوى المحلي ، فإن الزيادة في تمويل الدولة من شأنه أن يجعل الكلية أكثر بأسعار معقولة. بعد كل ذلك أكثر من 70 في المئة من جميع الطلاب الجامعيين حضور المؤسسات العامة ، وكانت الدول تاريخياً المصدر الرئيسي للتمويل لمؤسسات عامة لمدة عامين وأربعة أعوام.

ومع ذلك ، فإن الدول لديها خفض دعمهم في السنوات الأخيرة ونتيجة لذلك ، وقع العبء على الطلاب وأسرهم. ال "كلية مجانية" خطط في نيويورك و بعض الدول الأخرى هي أمثلة لالتزامات لتحسين الوصول. ومع ذلك ، ونظراً للضغط على الميزانيات الناتجة عن معاشات التقاعد غير الممولة ، وميديكيد ، و K-12 ، فأنا لست متفائلاً بأن الطلاب يمكنهم الاعتماد على الدعم المتزايد من الدول. بالإضافة الى، التغييرات الضريبية الأخيرة هذا الحد من الاستقطاعات الفيدرالية لضرائب الدولة سيزيد الضغط للحفاظ على دخل الدولة ومعدلات ضريبة الأملاك ، مما يعيق تمويل الدولة.

دعم إضافي من الحكومة الفيدرالية ، عن طريق زيادة بيل غرانت البرنامج ، يمكن أن تحدث فرقا كبيرا. الحد الأقصى لمنحة Pell للعام الدراسي 2018-19 هو $ 6,095. هذا يكفي لتغطية الرسوم الدراسية السنوية في معظم الكليات الأهلية. على سبيل المثال ، متوسط ​​الرسوم الدراسية في كلية المجتمع في مدينتي هو $ 4,651. ومع ذلك ، لا يتأهل إلا الطلاب ذوي الدخول العائلية الأقل من $ 60,000 ويتناقص مقدار المنحة بشكل ملحوظ مع زيادة دخل الأسرة. زيادة خفض الدخل وتوفير 6,095 $ كاملة لجميع المؤهلين من شأنه أن يجعل كلية أكثر سهولة للوصول إلى الطلاب ذوي الدخل المنخفض والمتوسط.

الكليات والجامعات غير الربحية الخاصة تثقف حول 20 في المئة من جميع الطلاب الجامعيين. ويعطي "سعر الملصق" في هذه المؤسسات الانطباع بأنه لا يمكن للطلاب ذوي الدخل المنخفض والمتوسط ​​الوصول إليهم. ومع ذلك ، يوفر أفراد الخدمة المدنية مساعدة مؤسسية كبيرة.

المصدر الرئيسي لهذا الدعم هو العمل الخيري ، الذي يتألف من مكاسب على الأوقاف والهدايا السنوية. تقدم المؤسسات الخاصة ذات المنح الصغيرة أيضًا مساعدات من إيرادات الرسوم الدراسية باستخدام عائدات بعض الطلاب لتقديم المساعدات المالية للطلاب الآخرين. ومع ذلك ، فإن زيادة المعونة المؤسسية باستخدام إيرادات الرسوم الدراسية غير مستدامة. ولذلك ، فإن المفتاح لجعل المؤسسات الخاصة أكثر بأسعار معقولة هو زيادة الأوقاف من خلال العمل الخيري. على الرغم من أنه صحيح أن الجديد "ضريبة الهبات" على الأوقاف الكبيرة وأي تغييرات في الخصم الضريبي للتبرعات الخيرية تقلل من الأموال المتاحة للمساعدات المالية. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يمكن للمؤسسات الخاصة أن تقلل "مساعدات الجدارة" - وهي المعونة التي تُمنح على أساس الجدارة الأكاديمية أو الرياضية أو الفنية - وإعادة توزيع هذه الأموال على المساعدات المالية القائمة على الحاجة.

بالطبع، قد يجادل البعض وبدلاً من البحث عن مصادر جديدة للإيرادات ، يمكن للكلية ببساطة تخفيض تكاليفها وتقليل الرسوم الدراسية. وهذا من شأنه أن يجعل الدراسة في متناول الجميع ، ولكنه سيقلل أيضًا من جودة التعليم المقدم.

التعليم العالي هو سوق تنافسية للغاية ، ويطلب الطلاب وعائلاتهم الجودة - كما ينبغي. يجب أن نبذل قصارى جهدنا لتثقيف الطلاب في بيئة عالمية ، ومواكبة الابتكارات التكنولوجية ، وتعليم التفكير الناقد ، وتعزيز الراحة مع الغموض ، وتخريج قادة ذكاء الذين سوف يزدهرون في عصر سريع التغير.

ما يحتاج إلى مناقشة هو التكلفة الإجمالية للدرجة

إريك بارون ، رئيس جامعة ولاية بنسلفانيا

يمكن إلقاء اللوم على ارتفاع مستوى التعليم في الجامعات الأمريكية على العديد من العوامل. في قمة ال تقلص مخصصات الدولة هناك المزيد من الشهادات ذات الكثافة التكنولوجية في كل مجال ؛ ل البنية التحتية للحرم القديم زيادة حادة في الامتثال و قوانين الإبلاغ؛ وارتفاع تكاليف الرعاية الصحية.

يجب أن يشعر مديرو الجامعة بالقلق العميق من أن السعر لدينا يحد من الوصول إلى التعليم الذي يتيح التنقل الصعودي. ومن المثير للاهتمام ، يبدو أن المحادثة حول إمكانية الوصول والقدرة على تحمل التكاليف تركز على التحكم ، أولاً وقبل كل شيء ، في الزيادة في الرسوم الدراسية. نحتاج إلى توسيع إطار هذه المناقشة بشكل كبير.

الخطوة الأولى هي تغيير المحادثة إلى واحدة من التكلفة الإجمالية للدرجة. والحقيقة البسيطة هي أن إكمال درجة في الوقت المناسب هو آلية حاسمة للسيطرة على التكلفة الإجمالية. زيادة الرسوم تتضاءل مقارنة بالذهاب إلى المدرسة لمدة عام آخر.

الخطوة الثانية هي إدراك أن الشيء الوحيد الأسوأ من الذهاب لخمس وست سنوات من أجل التخرج هو تجميع الديون والتسرب قبل التخرج.

جامعات مثل ولاية بنسلفانيا تفخر به على نحو مبرر معدلات التخرج العالية. ومع ذلك ، عند التعمق أكثر ، تكتشف أن الطلاب من الجيل الأول والذين يعتمدون على الحاجة لديهم انخفاض معدل التخرج بشكل كبير من معظم أقرانهم. في ولاية بنسلفانيا ، يتخرجون نقاط مئوية 22 أقل من المتوسط. يمكننا أن نشير إلى العديد من العوامل التي تسبب [فجوة التخرج هذه] ، ولكن من الواضح أنها ليست بسبب نقص الطموح.

يعمل اثنان وستون في المائة من هؤلاء الطلاب بمعدل 22 ساعة في الأسبوع ، وعادة ما يكون ذلك في وظائف الحد الأدنى للأجور ، بحيث لا يستطيعون الحصول على حمولة ائتمانية كاملة. من المستحيل التخرج في أربع سنوات. إنهم يسقطون الصفوف بشكل متكرر أكثر من الطلاب الآخرين ويميلون إلى الحصول على درجات أقل بسبب عبء عملهم. للأسف ، ليس لديهم الوقت للمشاركة في الأنشطة المفيدة ، مثل البحث أو التدريب. انهم بالاحباط. انهم إما التخلي عن أو ينتهي بها الأمر في السنة الخامسة أو السادسة بتكلفة كبيرة. إذا تخرجوا ، فقد دفعوا أكثر وأقل من الخبرة من الطلاب الآخرين.

تحتاج جامعاتنا إلى تركيز شبيه بالليزر على التخفيف من جميع العوامل التي تبطئ الوقت اللازم لإتمام درجة. يجب أن يتمكن كل طالب من الوصول إلى المستشارين الماليين وأدوات التوعية المالية التي تساعد الطلاب على اتباع الطريقة الأكثر فعالية من حيث التكلفة للحصول على درجة علمية. نحتاج إلى أن تكون برامج "الإكمال" أولوية وأن لا تسمح للطلاب بالانصراف بسبب الموارد المالية أو المصاعب الأخرى.

يمكننا أن نخدم مهمتنا في الحركة الصاعدة ونوفر للطلاب الملايين من التكاليف والديون إذا ساعدنا كل طالب ، بغض النظر عن قدرته المالية ، على التخرج والتخرج في الوقت المناسب.

أهمية إعداد ما قبل الجامعة

رينولد فيريت ، رئيس جامعة كزافييه في لويزيانا

بواسطة 2020 ، ما يقرب من الثلثين من الوظائف تتطلب التعليم ما بعد الثانوي. ومع ذلك ، أقل من 45 نسبة من الأمريكيين البالغين حصل حاليًا على درجة زميلة أو أعلى ، كما هو مذكور في البيانات الوطنية.

تمثل تكلفة التعليم العالي وأثره على الوصول والفرصة عائقاً كبيراً أمام المزيد من الطلاب الذين يحصلون على درجات. لا يتم هبوط الموهبة والقدرة لذوي الوسائل العليا. التحدي الذي يواجهنا هو ضمان التعليم والفرصة للطلاب من جميع الخلفيات. للأسف ، كنا كأمة مرتاحين للمدارس الجيدة جدا للذين يملكون ، وأقل من جيد للمدرسين.

على المستوى الفيدرالي ، جوائز بيل ينبغي زيادة وتوسيع الأهلية للطلاب الأكثر حاجة. كما يجب السماح للجوائز Pell بمواصلة تطبيقها خلال فصل الصيف بحيث يستمر الطلاب ويتخرجون في الوقت المحدد.

في المتوسط ​​، يأخذ طالب أمريكي سنوات 5.1 للحصول على درجة البكالوريوس. الوقت حتى إتمام الشهادة زيادة على مدى العقود الماضية بسبب عدد من العوامل ، مثل الحاجة إلى العمل وعدم كفاية التعليم ما قبل الجامعي. كل سنة إضافية يزيد من تكلفة درجة البكالوريوس بنسبة 25 في المئة. يمكن تقليل الوقت المستغرق للحصول على درجة البكالوريوس إذا لم يكن الطلاب مضطرين إلى أخذ دورات للحصول على مهارات الرياضيات واللغة التي عادة ما تتقن في المدرسة الثانوية.

هناك حاجة إلى خطوات جريئة. وهذا يشمل بناء خط أنابيب تعليمي K-12 عدل يوفر أفضل استعداد للكلية لجميع طلاب أمريكا. تتطلب جودة K-12 معلمين متميزين يظلون في المهنة ويتدربون في المدارس التي هي في أمس الحاجة إليها. يجب أن تكون مهنة التدريس مرتفعة ويجب تشجيع أفضل الطلاب في البلاد ليصبحوا معلمين. لخدمتهم ، ينبغي أن تكون معفاة القروض المدرسية أو سدادها. يجب على الكليات والجامعات أيضًا إنشاء شهادات اعتماد ثانوية وأوراق اعتماد تلبي احتياجات الطلاب الذين يدخلون وظائف لا تتطلب شهادات جامعية.

الـ HBCU حيث أعمل كرئيس ، جامعة Xavier في لويزيانا ، كانت تقود الأمة في التعليم الأمريكيون الأفارقة الذين يواصلون الحصول على شهادات طبية. كما تتفوق المدرسة في إعداد الطلاب الذين يحصلون على الدكتوراه في حقول العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات. وقد صنفت دراسة 2017 الجامعة 6th في الأمة للتنقل الاجتماعي ، حيث يدخل الطلاب من 40 الأدنى من توزيع دخل الولايات المتحدة إلى النسبة العليا 40. نجاحنا و نجاح HBCUs أخرى يجب تبديد أي فكرة ترتبط الموهبة بالحالة الاجتماعية الاقتصادية.

إن تعليم مواطنينا ليس مجرد منفعة فردية بل هو ميزة جماعية: فأميركا تزدهر إذا طورت كل مواهبها.المحادثة

عن المؤلفين

جيل Tiefenthaler ، الرئيس ، كلية كولورادو. اريك بارون ، رئيس ، جامعة ولاية بنسلفانيا، ورينولد فيريت ، رئيس جامعة كزافييه في لويزيانا ، جامعة كزافييه في لويزيانا

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = college college education؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

فقدان الروح واستعادة الروح في العصر الحديث
فقدان الروح واستعادة الروح في العصر الحديث
by إريكا بوينافلور ، ماجستير ، دينار
تعلم الحياة من الفطر وبرك المد
تعلم الحياة من الفطر وبرك المد
by ستيفن ناتشمانوفيتش

How To Make College More Affordable In The US

 How To Make College More Affordable In The US
Has the cost of higher education in the U.S. put college out of financial reach? DRogatnev/www.shutterstock.com

When it comes to the cost of higher education in the U.S., signs of trouble abound.

For instance, states now rely more heavily on tuition to finance their public colleges and universities than on government funding.

Private colleges and universities are also struggling to make ends meet, steering a record amount of tuition revenue toward grant aid for economically needy students.

Meanwhile, the number of student borrowers who defaulted on their student loans edged up last year as did the price of higher education itself.

So we asked our panel of presidents – from Xavier University of Louisiana, Colorado College and Penn State: Given this reality, what are the top two or three things that you believe need to happen to make college more affordable – particularly for low-income students, students of color and the working class?

More than one funder has to step up

Jill Tiefenthaler, President of Colorado College

A college education has many funders. Federal and state governments provide support, as do the institutions of higher education themselves. And then, of course, there is the money paid by the students’ families. Improving access will require additional support from one or more of these sources.

To start at the local level, an increase in state funding would make college more affordable. After all over 70 percent of all undergraduates attend public institutions, and historically, states have been the primary source of funding for both two- and four-year public institutions.

However, states have reduced their support in recent years and, as a result, the burden has fallen on students and their families. The “free college” plans in New York and a few other states are examples of commitments to improve access. However, given the pressure on budgets resulting from underfunded pensions, Medicaid and K-12, I am not optimistic that students can count on increased support from states. In addition, recent tax changes that limit federal deductions for state taxes will increase pressure to keep state income and property tax rates down, further hindering state funding.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Additional support from the federal government, by increasing the Pell Grant program, could make a big difference. The maximum Pell Grant for the 2018-19 academic year is $6,095. This is sufficient to cover the annual tuition at most community colleges. For example, the average tuition at the community college in my city is $4,651. However, only students with family incomes of less than $60,000 qualify and the amount of the grant declines significantly as family income increases. Increasing the income cut-off and providing the full $6,095 to all who qualify would make college much more accessible for low- and middle-income students.

Private nonprofit colleges and universities educate about 20 percent of all undergraduates. The “sticker price” at these institutions gives the impression that they are not accessible to low- and middle-income students. However, privates provide significant institutional aid.

The major source of this support is philanthropy, made up of earnings on endowments and annual gifts. Private institutions with smaller endowments also provide aid from tuition revenue by using the revenue from some students to provide financial aid to other students. However, increasing institutional aid by using tuition revenue is not sustainable. Therefore, the key to making private institutions more affordable is increasing endowments through philanthropy. Although it is true that the new “endowment tax” on large endowments and any changes to the tax deduction for charitable giving reduce the funds available for financial aid. In addition, private institutions could reduce “merit aid” – aid that is awarded on the basis of academic, athletic or artistic merit – and reallocate those funds to need-based financial aid.

Of course, some may argue that rather than finding new sources of revenue, colleges could simply cut their costs and reduce tuition. This would make college more affordable but it would also reduce the quality of the education provided.

Higher education is a very competitive market, and students and their families demand quality – as they should. We must do our best to educate students in a global environment, keeping pace with technological innovations, teaching critical thinking, fostering comfort with ambiguity, and graduating nimble leaders who will thrive in a rapidly changing era.

What needs discussing is the total cost of a degree

Eric Barron, President of Pennsylvania State University

The high level of tuition in U.S. universities can be blamed on many factors. On top of shrinking state appropriations there are more technology-intensive degrees in every field; an aging campus infrastructure; a sharp increase in compliance and regulations reporting; and soaring health care costs.

University administrators should be deeply concerned that our price is limiting access to an education that enables upward mobility. Interestingly, the conversation on access and affordability seems to be fixated on controlling, first and foremost, the increase in tuition. We need to broaden the framing of this discussion considerably.

The first step is to change the conversation to one of the total cost of a degree. The simple fact is that timely completion of a degree is a critical mechanism to control total cost. A tuition increase pales in comparison to going to school for another year.

The second step is to recognize that the only thing worse than going five and six years in order to graduate, is to accumulate debt and drop out before graduation.

Universities like Penn State are justifiably proud of their high graduation rates. However, when you dig deeper, you discover that first-generation, need-based students have a dramatically lower graduation rate than most of their peers. At Penn State, they graduate 22 percentage points below the average. We can point to many factors that cause [this graduation gap], but it’s clearly not due to lack of ambition.

Sixty-two percent of these students work an average of 22 hours a week, usually at minimum wage jobs, so they can’t take a full credit load. It is impossible to graduate in four years. They drop classes more frequently than other students and tend to have lower grades because of their work load. Sadly, they also don’t have time to participate in advantageous activities, such as research or internships. They get discouraged. They either give up or end up attending a fifth or sixth year at a significant cost. If they graduate, they have paid more and gotten less from the experience than other students.

Our universities need a laser-like focus on mitigating all factors that slow the time to the completion of a degree. Every student should have access to financial literacy advisers and tools that help students take the most cost-efficient way to achieve a degree. We need “completion” programs to be a priority and not allow students to slip away because of finances or other hardships.

We can serve our mission of upward mobility and save students millions in costs and debt if we help every student, regardless of financial capability, to graduate, and graduate on time.

The importance of pre-collegiate preparation

Reynold Verret, President of Xavier University of Louisiana

By 2020, nearly two-thirds of jobs will require postsecondary education. Yet, fewer than 45 percent of adult Americans currently have earned an associate degree or higher, as reported in national data.

The cost of higher education and its impact on access and opportunity is a major barrier to more students earning degrees. Talent and ability are not relegated to those of higher means. Our present challenge is to assure education and opportunity for students from all backgrounds. Sadly, we as a nation have been comfortable with very good schools for the haves and less than good ones for the have-nots.

On the federal level, Pell awards should be increased and eligibility expanded for students with the greatest need. Pell awards should also be allowed to continue to apply during the summer terms so that students persist and graduate on time.

On average, an American student takes 5.1 years to earn the bachelor’s degree. Time to degree completion has increased over the past decades due to a number of factors, such as the need to work and inadequate pre-collegiate schooling. Each extra year increases the cost of the bachelor’s degree by 25 percent. The time it takes to earn a bachelor’s degree could be reduced if students didn’t have to take courses to acquire math and language skills that are normally mastered in high school.

Bold steps are needed. This includes building an equitable K-12 educational pipeline that provides better college readiness for all of America’s students. Quality K-12 requires great teachers who remain in the profession and teach in schools with the greatest need. The teaching profession must be elevated and the nation’s best students should be encouraged to become teachers. For their service, school loans should be forgiven or repaid. Colleges and universities should also create postsecondary certificates and credentials meeting the needs of students entering careers that do not require college degrees.

The HBCU where I serve as president, Xavier University of Louisiana, has been leading the nation in educating African-Americans who go on to achieve medical degrees. The school also excels in preparing students who achieve Ph.D.s in the STEM fields. A 2017 study has ranked the university 6th in the nation for social mobility, whereby students from the lower 40 percent of the U.S. income distribution enter the upper 40 percent. Our success and the success of other HBCUs should dispel any notion that talent is associated with socioeconomic status.

The education of our citizens is not only an individual but a collective benefit: America thrives if it develops all of its talent.The Conversation

About The Authors

Jill Tiefenthaler, President, Colorado College; Eric J. Barron, President, Pennsylvania State University, and Reynold Verret, President, Xavier University of Louisiana, Xavier University of Louisiana

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=affordable college education;maxresults=3}

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Marie T. Russell's Daily Inspiration
 

INNERSELF VOICES

What Does Our Authority Rest Upon?
What Does Our Authority Rest Upon?
by Pierre Pradervand
For thousands of years, ever since mankind started settling in cities, we evolved in rigid,…
The Birthing of A New World Which Is Struggling to be Born
The Birthing of A New World Which Is Struggling to be Born
by Ervin Laszlo
Talk of fundamental change in the world around us is often met with skepticism. Change in society,…
Win the Battle In Your Head: Perspective Matters
Win the Battle In Your Head: Perspective Matters
by Peter Ruppert
We all experience positive and negative self-talk on a regular basis. Whether you realize it or…
Horoscope Current Week: April 19 - 25, 2021
Horoscope Current Week: April 19 - 25, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
If You’ve Contracted COVID: Healing and Moving Forward
If You’ve Contracted COVID: Healing and Moving Forward
by Stacee L. Reicherzer PhD
If you’ve contracted COVID, you not only had health problems that may have been life-threatening,…
Awakening to the Dream of the Earth and Loving the World
Awakening to the Dream of the Earth and Loving the World
by Bill Plotkin, Ph.D.
The most important question is not how to survive biodiversity loss, climate disruption, ecological…
4 Ways to Build Your Tolerance of Ambiguity—and Your Global Career 
4 Ways to Build Your Tolerance of Ambiguity—and Your Global Career
by Paula Caligiuri, Ph.D.
Even if your tolerance of ambiguity is lower, there are proven ways to build this important…
How To Use Family Stories To Build Young People's Resilience
How To Use Family Stories To Build Young People's Resilience
by Mary J. Cronin, Ph.D.
One approach that addresses the challenges families face today comes down to a familiar but often…

MOST READ

Is Your Bedroom Sacred?
Is Your Bedroom Sacred? Honoring Your Personal Sanctuary
by Jon Robertson
The bedroom is home to our prayers and dreams, our solitude and sexuality. In this inner sanctum,…
Win the Battle In Your Head: Perspective Matters
Win the Battle In Your Head: Perspective Matters
by Peter Ruppert
We all experience positive and negative self-talk on a regular basis. Whether you realize it or…
How To Use Family Stories To Build Young People's Resilience
How To Use Family Stories To Build Young People's Resilience
by Mary J. Cronin, Ph.D.
One approach that addresses the challenges families face today comes down to a familiar but often…
How To Stop Psychopaths and Narcissists From Winning Positions of Power
How To Stop Psychopaths and Narcissists From Winning Positions of Power
by Steve Taylor, Leeds Beckett University
In the past, this was mostly due to hereditary systems which assigned power to kings and lords and…
Enlightenment Is Not a Goal -- It Is A Great Acceptance
Enlightenment Is Not a Goal -- It Is A Great Acceptance
by Osho
Don't think about enlightenment as a goal, it is not. It is not a goal; it is not something that…
Prosperity and Being of Service to Others vs. Vanity and Pride
Prosperity and Being of Service to Others vs. Vanity and Pride
by James Dillehay
Vanity means pride or self-worship, which is different from self-love. In the effervescence of…
Reducing the Influence of the Ego... For Our Highest Good
Reducing the Influence of the Ego... For Our Highest Good
by Lawrence Doochin
We each have a choice, and let's be clear what that choice is. Martin Luther King Jr. told us that…
If You’ve Contracted COVID: Healing and Moving Forward
If You’ve Contracted COVID: Healing and Moving Forward
by Stacee L. Reicherzer PhD
If you’ve contracted COVID, you not only had health problems that may have been life-threatening,…
4 Ways to Build Your Tolerance of Ambiguity—and Your Global Career 
4 Ways to Build Your Tolerance of Ambiguity—and Your Global Career
by Paula Caligiuri, Ph.D.
Even if your tolerance of ambiguity is lower, there are proven ways to build this important…
At What Age Are People Usually Happiest? New Research Offers Surprising Clues
At What Age Are People Usually Happiest? New Research Offers Surprising Clues
by Clare Mehta, Emmanuel College
If you could be one age for the rest of your life, what would it be? Would you choose to be nine…
What Makes A Job Meaningful and Why That Matters
What Makes A Job Meaningful and Why That Matters
by Andrew Bryce, University of Sheffield
Work provides many things over and above the monthly pay cheque: status and identity, community and…
3 Ways Music Educators Can Help Students With Autism Develop Their Emotions
3 Ways Music Educators Can Help Students With Autism Develop Their Emotions
by Dawn R. Mitchell White, University of South Florida
Many children with autism struggle to find the words to express how they feel. But when it comes to…
The Healing Power of Imaginative Play
The Healing Power of Imaginative Play
by Carmen Viktoria Gamper
Just as adults benefit from talking about their challenges with friends or a therapist, many…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.