Wie man College erschwinglicher in den USA macht

Wie man College erschwinglicher in den USA macht
Haben die Kosten der Hochschulbildung in den USA die Universität finanziell außer Reichweite gebracht? DRogatnev / www.shutterstock.com

Wenn es um die Kosten der Hochschulbildung in den USA geht, gibt es Anzeichen von Ärger.

Zum Beispiel, Staaten jetzt verlassen sich stärker auf den Unterricht um ihre öffentlichen Colleges und Universitäten zu finanzieren, als über staatliche Finanzierung.

Private Hochschulen und Universitäten kämpfen auch, um über die Runden zu kommen, Lenkung einer Rekordmenge an Studieneinnahmen zur Gewährung von Beihilfen für wirtschaftlich bedürftige Studierende.

In der Zwischenzeit die Anzahl der Studenten Kreditnehmer, die ihre Studienkredite in Verzug waren eingerändert letztes Jahr wie die Preis der Hochschulbildung selbst.

Also haben wir unsere Präsidentengruppe - von der Xavier-Universität von Louisiana, Colorado College und Penn State - gefragt: Angesichts dieser Realität, was sind die zwei oder drei wichtigsten Dinge, die Sie glauben machen müssen, um das College erschwinglicher zu machen - besonders für einkommensschwache Studenten , Studenten der Farbe und der Arbeiterklasse?

Mehr als ein Geldgeber muss aufsteigen

Jill Tiefenthaler, Präsidentin des Colorado College

Eine College-Ausbildung hat viele Geldgeber. Bund und Länder unterstützen ebenso wie die Hochschulen selbst. Und dann gibt es natürlich das Geld, das von den Familien der Studenten bezahlt wird. Die Verbesserung des Zugangs erfordert zusätzliche Unterstützung durch eine oder mehrere dieser Quellen.

Um auf lokaler Ebene zu beginnen, würde eine Erhöhung der staatlichen Finanzierung das College erschwinglicher machen. Letztendlich über 70 Prozent aller Studenten öffentliche Einrichtungen besuchen, und historisch gesehen waren Staaten die Hauptfinanzierungsquelle sowohl für zwei- als auch für vierjährige öffentliche Einrichtungen.

Staaten haben jedoch ihre Unterstützung in den letzten Jahren reduziert und infolgedessen ist die Last auf die Studenten und ihre Familien gefallen. Das "Freie Hochschule" Pläne in New York und a wenige andere Staaten sind Beispiele für Verpflichtungen zur Verbesserung des Zugangs. Angesichts des Druckes auf die Budgets, die sich aus unterfinanzierten Renten, Medicaid und K-12 ergeben, bin ich jedoch nicht optimistisch, dass die Studenten auf eine verstärkte Unterstützung durch die Staaten zählen können. In Ergänzung, jüngste Steueränderungen Die Begrenzung der staatlichen Abzüge für staatliche Steuern wird den Druck erhöhen, die staatlichen Einkommens- und Vermögenssteuersätze niedrig zu halten, was die staatliche Finanzierung weiter behindert.

Zusätzliche Unterstützung der Bundesregierung durch Erhöhung der Pell Grant Programm, könnte einen großen Unterschied machen. Die maximale Pell Grant für das akademische Jahr 2018-19 ist $ 6,095. Dies reicht aus, um den jährlichen Unterricht an den meisten Volkshochschulen abzudecken. Zum Beispiel, der durchschnittliche Unterricht bei das Community College in meiner Stadt ist $ 4,651. Allerdings qualifizieren sich nur Studenten mit einem Familieneinkommen von weniger als $ 60,000, und die Höhe des Zuschusses sinkt signifikant, wenn das Familieneinkommen steigt. Die Erhöhung der Einkommensgrenze und die Bereitstellung des vollen $ 6,095 für alle, die sich qualifizieren, würde das College für Studenten mit niedrigem und mittlerem Einkommen viel leichter zugänglich machen.

Private Nonprofit-Colleges und Universitäten bilden aus über 20 Prozent aller Studenten. Der "Aufkleberpreis" bei diesen Institutionen vermittelt den Eindruck, dass sie für Studierende mit niedrigem und mittlerem Einkommen nicht zugänglich sind. Privaten bieten jedoch erhebliche institutionelle Hilfe.

Die Hauptquelle dieser Unterstützung ist die Philanthropie, die aus Einnahmen aus Stiftungen und jährlichen Geschenken besteht. Private Einrichtungen mit kleineren Stiftungen bieten auch Hilfe bei Studiengebühren an, indem sie die Einnahmen einiger Studenten dafür verwenden, anderen Studenten finanzielle Unterstützung zu gewähren. Eine Erhöhung der institutionellen Hilfe durch die Verwendung von Studiengebühren ist jedoch nicht nachhaltig. Daher ist der Schlüssel, um private Institutionen erschwinglicher zu machen, die Förderung von Stiftungen durch Philanthropie. Obwohl es stimmt, dass das neue "Stiftungssteuer" bei großen Stiftungen und Änderungen des Steuerabzugs bei gemeinnützigen Spenden verringern sich die für die finanzielle Unterstützung zur Verfügung stehenden Mittel. Darüber hinaus könnten private Einrichtungen "Verdiensthilfe" - Beihilfen, die auf der Grundlage akademischer, sportlicher oder künstlerischer Verdienste gewährt werden - reduzieren und diese Mittel einer bedarfsorientierten finanziellen Unterstützung zuweisen.

Natürlich manche mögen streiten Statt neue Einnahmequellen zu finden, könnten die Hochschulen ihre Kosten senken und die Studiengebühren senken. Dies würde das College erschwinglicher machen, aber es würde auch die Qualität der angebotenen Bildung verringern.

Hochschulbildung ist ein sehr wettbewerbsintensiver Markt, und Studenten und ihre Familien verlangen Qualität - so wie sie es sollten. Wir müssen unser Bestes geben, um Studenten in einem globalen Umfeld zu schulen, mit technologischen Innovationen Schritt zu halten, kritisches Denken zu vermitteln, Komfort mit Ambiguität zu fördern und flinke Führungskräfte auszubilden, die in einer sich schnell verändernden Ära erfolgreich sein werden.

Was diskutiert werden muss, sind die Gesamtkosten eines Abschlusses

Eric Barron, Präsident der Pennsylvania State University

Das hohe Niveau der Studiengebühren in US-Universitäten kann auf viele Faktoren zurückgeführt werden. Auf schrumpfende staatliche Mittel es gibt mehr technologieintensive Abschlüsse in jedem Bereich; ein alternde Campus-Infrastruktur; ein starker Anstieg der Compliance und Vorschriften Berichterstattung; und steigende Gesundheitskosten.

Universitätsadministratoren sollten tief besorgt sein, dass unser Preis den Zugang zu einer Ausbildung einschränkt, die Aufwärtsmobilität ermöglicht. Interessanterweise scheint das Gespräch über Zugang und Erschwinglichkeit darauf ausgerichtet zu sein, in erster Linie die Zunahme des Unterrichts zu kontrollieren. Wir müssen den Rahmen dieser Diskussion erheblich erweitern.

Der erste Schritt besteht darin, das Gespräch auf einen der Gesamtkosten eines Abschlusses zu ändern. Die einfache Tatsache ist, dass der rechtzeitige Abschluss eines Abschlusses ein kritischer Mechanismus zur Kontrolle der Gesamtkosten ist. Ein Studiennachweis verblasst im Vergleich zum Schulbesuch für ein weiteres Jahr.

Der zweite Schritt ist zu erkennen, dass das einzige, was schlechter als fünf und sechs Jahre zu absolvieren, um zu akkumulieren, Schulden anhäufen und vor dem Abschluss abbrechen.

Universitäten wie Penn State sind zu Recht stolz auf ihre hohe Abschlussquoten. Wenn Sie jedoch tiefer graben, entdecken Sie, dass die erste Generation von bedürfnisorientierten Schülern hat eine dramatisch niedrigere Abschlussrate als die meisten ihrer Kollegen. Bei Penn State schneiden sie 22 Prozentpunkte unter dem Durchschnitt ab. Wir können auf viele Faktoren hinweisen, die [diese Graduierungslücke] verursachen, aber es ist eindeutig nicht mangelnder Ehrgeiz.

Zweiundsechzig Prozent dieser Studenten arbeiten im Durchschnitt an 22-Stunden pro Woche, normalerweise bei Mindestlohnjobs, so dass sie keine volle Kreditlast aufnehmen können. Es ist unmöglich, in vier Jahren zu absolvieren. Sie geben Klassen häufiger ab als andere Schüler und haben aufgrund ihrer Arbeitsbelastung tendenziell niedrigere Noten. Leider haben sie auch keine Zeit, an vorteilhaften Aktivitäten wie Forschung oder Praktika teilzunehmen. Sie werden entmutigt. Sie geben entweder auf oder besuchen ein fünftes oder sechstes Jahr zu einem erheblichen Preis. Wenn sie ihren Abschluss machen, haben sie mehr bezahlt und weniger von der Erfahrung als andere Studenten.

Unsere Universitäten benötigen eine laserähnliche Fokussierung auf alle Faktoren, die die Zeit bis zum Abschluss eines Abschlusses verlangsamen. Jeder Student sollte Zugang zu Finanzkompetenzberatern und Tools haben, die den Studenten helfen, den kosteneffizientesten Weg zum Abschluss zu finden. Wir brauchen "Abschluss" -Programme, um eine Priorität zu sein und Studenten nicht aus finanziellen oder anderen Schwierigkeiten zu entgleiten.

Wir können unsere Mission der Aufwärtsmobilität erfüllen und Studenten Millionen von Kosten und Schulden ersparen, wenn wir jedem Studenten unabhängig von seiner finanziellen Leistungsfähigkeit helfen, seinen Abschluss zu machen und seinen Abschluss zu machen.

Die Bedeutung der präkollegialen Vorbereitung

Reynold Verret, Präsident der Xavier-Universität von Louisiana

Von 2020 fast zwei Drittel von Arbeitsplätzen wird postsekundäre Bildung erfordern. Aber weniger als 45 Prozent der erwachsenen Amerikaner haben derzeit einen Associate Degree oder höher, wie in nationalen Daten berichtet.

Die Kosten für die Hochschulbildung und ihre Auswirkungen auf den Zugang und die Chancen sind ein Haupthindernis für mehr Studenten, die einen akademischen Grad erwerben. Talent und Fähigkeit sind nicht auf höhere Mittel beschränkt. Unsere gegenwärtige Herausforderung besteht darin, Bildung und Möglichkeiten für Studenten mit unterschiedlichem Hintergrund zu gewährleisten. Leider haben wir uns als Nation mit sehr guten Schulen für die Wohltaten und weniger als guten für die Habenichtse wohlgefühlt.

Auf Bundesebene, Pell Preise sollte erhöht und die Förderfähigkeit für Schüler mit dem größten Bedarf erweitert werden. Pell-Preise sollten auch weiterhin während der Sommerzeit gelten, so dass die Schüler hartnäckig bleiben und rechtzeitig ihren Abschluss machen.

Im Durchschnitt nimmt ein amerikanischer Student 5.1 Jahre, um den Bachelor-Abschluss zu erwerben. Zeit bis zum Abschluss hat in den letzten Jahrzehnten aufgrund einer Reihe von Faktoren, wie der Notwendigkeit zu arbeiten und unzureichenden Vor-College-Schulbildung zugenommen. Jedes weitere Jahr erhöht die Kosten für den Bachelor-Abschluss um 25 Prozent. Die Zeit, die man braucht, um einen Bachelor-Abschluss zu erwerben, könnte reduziert werden, wenn die Studenten keine Kurse belegen müssten, um Mathematik- und Sprachkenntnisse zu erwerben, die normalerweise in der Highschool gemeistert werden.

Fett Schritte sind erforderlich. Dazu gehört der Aufbau einer gleichberechtigten K-12-Bildungspipeline, die allen Studenten Amerikas eine bessere College-Bereitschaft bietet. Qualität K-12 erfordert große Lehrer, die in diesem Beruf bleiben und in Schulen mit dem größten Bedarf unterrichten. Der Lehrerberuf muss erhöht werden und die besten Schüler der Nation sollten ermutigt werden, Lehrer zu werden. Für ihren Dienst sollten Schuldarlehen vergeben oder zurückbezahlt werden. Hochschulen und Universitäten sollten auch postsekundäre Zertifikate und Referenzen erstellen, die den Bedürfnissen von Studenten entsprechen, die eine Karriere anstreben, für die kein Hochschulabschluss erforderlich ist.

Der HBCU wo ich als Präsident, Xavier Universität von Louisiana, führe die Nation in der Ausbildung Afro-Amerikaner, die medizinische Grade erreichen. Die Schule ist auch hervorragend in der Vorbereitung von Studenten, die PhDs in den MINT-Bereichen zu erreichen. Eine 2017-Studie hat die Universität bewertet 6th in der Nation für soziale Mobilität, wobei Studierende aus dem unteren 40-Prozent der US-Einkommensverteilung die oberen 40 Prozent eingeben. Unser Erfolg und die Erfolg anderer HBCUs sollte jegliche Vorstellung zerstreuen, dass Talent mit sozioökonomischem Status assoziiert ist.

Die Bildung unserer Bürger ist nicht nur ein individueller, sondern auch ein kollektiver Vorteil: Amerika gedeiht, wenn es all sein Talent entwickelt.Das Gespräch

Über den Autor

Jill Tiefenthaler, Präsidentin, Colorado College; Eric J. Barron, Präsident, Pennsylvania State Universityund Reynold Verret, Präsident, Xavier University of Louisiana, Xavier-Universität von Louisiana

Dieser Artikel wurde ursprünglich veröffentlicht am Das Gespräch.. Lies das Original Artikel.

Bücher zum Thema

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books; Keywords = erschwingliche Hochschulausbildung; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

How To Make College More Affordable In The US

 How To Make College More Affordable In The US
Has the cost of higher education in the U.S. put college out of financial reach? DRogatnev/www.shutterstock.com

When it comes to the cost of higher education in the U.S., signs of trouble abound.

For instance, states now rely more heavily on tuition to finance their public colleges and universities than on government funding.

Private colleges and universities are also struggling to make ends meet, steering a record amount of tuition revenue toward grant aid for economically needy students.

Meanwhile, the number of student borrowers who defaulted on their student loans edged up last year as did the price of higher education itself.

So we asked our panel of presidents – from Xavier University of Louisiana, Colorado College and Penn State: Given this reality, what are the top two or three things that you believe need to happen to make college more affordable – particularly for low-income students, students of color and the working class?

More than one funder has to step up

Jill Tiefenthaler, President of Colorado College

A college education has many funders. Federal and state governments provide support, as do the institutions of higher education themselves. And then, of course, there is the money paid by the students’ families. Improving access will require additional support from one or more of these sources.

To start at the local level, an increase in state funding would make college more affordable. After all over 70 percent of all undergraduates attend public institutions, and historically, states have been the primary source of funding for both two- and four-year public institutions.

However, states have reduced their support in recent years and, as a result, the burden has fallen on students and their families. The “free college” plans in New York and a few other states are examples of commitments to improve access. However, given the pressure on budgets resulting from underfunded pensions, Medicaid and K-12, I am not optimistic that students can count on increased support from states. In addition, recent tax changes that limit federal deductions for state taxes will increase pressure to keep state income and property tax rates down, further hindering state funding.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Additional support from the federal government, by increasing the Pell Grant program, could make a big difference. The maximum Pell Grant for the 2018-19 academic year is $6,095. This is sufficient to cover the annual tuition at most community colleges. For example, the average tuition at the community college in my city is $4,651. However, only students with family incomes of less than $60,000 qualify and the amount of the grant declines significantly as family income increases. Increasing the income cut-off and providing the full $6,095 to all who qualify would make college much more accessible for low- and middle-income students.

Private nonprofit colleges and universities educate about 20 percent of all undergraduates. The “sticker price” at these institutions gives the impression that they are not accessible to low- and middle-income students. However, privates provide significant institutional aid.

The major source of this support is philanthropy, made up of earnings on endowments and annual gifts. Private institutions with smaller endowments also provide aid from tuition revenue by using the revenue from some students to provide financial aid to other students. However, increasing institutional aid by using tuition revenue is not sustainable. Therefore, the key to making private institutions more affordable is increasing endowments through philanthropy. Although it is true that the new “endowment tax” on large endowments and any changes to the tax deduction for charitable giving reduce the funds available for financial aid. In addition, private institutions could reduce “merit aid” – aid that is awarded on the basis of academic, athletic or artistic merit – and reallocate those funds to need-based financial aid.

Of course, some may argue that rather than finding new sources of revenue, colleges could simply cut their costs and reduce tuition. This would make college more affordable but it would also reduce the quality of the education provided.

Higher education is a very competitive market, and students and their families demand quality – as they should. We must do our best to educate students in a global environment, keeping pace with technological innovations, teaching critical thinking, fostering comfort with ambiguity, and graduating nimble leaders who will thrive in a rapidly changing era.

What needs discussing is the total cost of a degree

Eric Barron, President of Pennsylvania State University

The high level of tuition in U.S. universities can be blamed on many factors. On top of shrinking state appropriations there are more technology-intensive degrees in every field; an aging campus infrastructure; a sharp increase in compliance and regulations reporting; and soaring health care costs.

University administrators should be deeply concerned that our price is limiting access to an education that enables upward mobility. Interestingly, the conversation on access and affordability seems to be fixated on controlling, first and foremost, the increase in tuition. We need to broaden the framing of this discussion considerably.

The first step is to change the conversation to one of the total cost of a degree. The simple fact is that timely completion of a degree is a critical mechanism to control total cost. A tuition increase pales in comparison to going to school for another year.

The second step is to recognize that the only thing worse than going five and six years in order to graduate, is to accumulate debt and drop out before graduation.

Universities like Penn State are justifiably proud of their high graduation rates. However, when you dig deeper, you discover that first-generation, need-based students have a dramatically lower graduation rate than most of their peers. At Penn State, they graduate 22 percentage points below the average. We can point to many factors that cause [this graduation gap], but it’s clearly not due to lack of ambition.

Sixty-two percent of these students work an average of 22 hours a week, usually at minimum wage jobs, so they can’t take a full credit load. It is impossible to graduate in four years. They drop classes more frequently than other students and tend to have lower grades because of their work load. Sadly, they also don’t have time to participate in advantageous activities, such as research or internships. They get discouraged. They either give up or end up attending a fifth or sixth year at a significant cost. If they graduate, they have paid more and gotten less from the experience than other students.

Our universities need a laser-like focus on mitigating all factors that slow the time to the completion of a degree. Every student should have access to financial literacy advisers and tools that help students take the most cost-efficient way to achieve a degree. We need “completion” programs to be a priority and not allow students to slip away because of finances or other hardships.

We can serve our mission of upward mobility and save students millions in costs and debt if we help every student, regardless of financial capability, to graduate, and graduate on time.

The importance of pre-collegiate preparation

Reynold Verret, President of Xavier University of Louisiana

By 2020, nearly two-thirds of jobs will require postsecondary education. Yet, fewer than 45 percent of adult Americans currently have earned an associate degree or higher, as reported in national data.

The cost of higher education and its impact on access and opportunity is a major barrier to more students earning degrees. Talent and ability are not relegated to those of higher means. Our present challenge is to assure education and opportunity for students from all backgrounds. Sadly, we as a nation have been comfortable with very good schools for the haves and less than good ones for the have-nots.

On the federal level, Pell awards should be increased and eligibility expanded for students with the greatest need. Pell awards should also be allowed to continue to apply during the summer terms so that students persist and graduate on time.

On average, an American student takes 5.1 years to earn the bachelor’s degree. Time to degree completion has increased over the past decades due to a number of factors, such as the need to work and inadequate pre-collegiate schooling. Each extra year increases the cost of the bachelor’s degree by 25 percent. The time it takes to earn a bachelor’s degree could be reduced if students didn’t have to take courses to acquire math and language skills that are normally mastered in high school.

Bold steps are needed. This includes building an equitable K-12 educational pipeline that provides better college readiness for all of America’s students. Quality K-12 requires great teachers who remain in the profession and teach in schools with the greatest need. The teaching profession must be elevated and the nation’s best students should be encouraged to become teachers. For their service, school loans should be forgiven or repaid. Colleges and universities should also create postsecondary certificates and credentials meeting the needs of students entering careers that do not require college degrees.

The HBCU where I serve as president, Xavier University of Louisiana, has been leading the nation in educating African-Americans who go on to achieve medical degrees. The school also excels in preparing students who achieve Ph.D.s in the STEM fields. A 2017 study has ranked the university 6th in the nation for social mobility, whereby students from the lower 40 percent of the U.S. income distribution enter the upper 40 percent. Our success and the success of other HBCUs should dispel any notion that talent is associated with socioeconomic status.

The education of our citizens is not only an individual but a collective benefit: America thrives if it develops all of its talent.The Conversation

About The Authors

Jill Tiefenthaler, President, Colorado College; Eric J. Barron, President, Pennsylvania State University, and Reynold Verret, President, Xavier University of Louisiana, Xavier University of Louisiana

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=affordable college education;maxresults=3}

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Marie T. Russell's Daily Inspiration
 

INNERSELF VOICES

What Does Our Authority Rest Upon?
What Does Our Authority Rest Upon?
by Pierre Pradervand
For thousands of years, ever since mankind started settling in cities, we evolved in rigid,…
The Birthing of A New World Which Is Struggling to be Born
The Birthing of A New World Which Is Struggling to be Born
by Ervin Laszlo
Talk of fundamental change in the world around us is often met with skepticism. Change in society,…
Win the Battle In Your Head: Perspective Matters
Win the Battle In Your Head: Perspective Matters
by Peter Ruppert
We all experience positive and negative self-talk on a regular basis. Whether you realize it or…
Horoscope Current Week: April 19 - 25, 2021
Horoscope Current Week: April 19 - 25, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
If You’ve Contracted COVID: Healing and Moving Forward
If You’ve Contracted COVID: Healing and Moving Forward
by Stacee L. Reicherzer PhD
If you’ve contracted COVID, you not only had health problems that may have been life-threatening,…
Awakening to the Dream of the Earth and Loving the World
Awakening to the Dream of the Earth and Loving the World
by Bill Plotkin, Ph.D.
The most important question is not how to survive biodiversity loss, climate disruption, ecological…
4 Ways to Build Your Tolerance of Ambiguity—and Your Global Career 
4 Ways to Build Your Tolerance of Ambiguity—and Your Global Career
by Paula Caligiuri, Ph.D.
Even if your tolerance of ambiguity is lower, there are proven ways to build this important…
How To Use Family Stories To Build Young People's Resilience
How To Use Family Stories To Build Young People's Resilience
by Mary J. Cronin, Ph.D.
One approach that addresses the challenges families face today comes down to a familiar but often…

MOST READ

Is Your Bedroom Sacred?
Is Your Bedroom Sacred? Honoring Your Personal Sanctuary
by Jon Robertson
The bedroom is home to our prayers and dreams, our solitude and sexuality. In this inner sanctum,…
Win the Battle In Your Head: Perspective Matters
Win the Battle In Your Head: Perspective Matters
by Peter Ruppert
We all experience positive and negative self-talk on a regular basis. Whether you realize it or…
How To Use Family Stories To Build Young People's Resilience
How To Use Family Stories To Build Young People's Resilience
by Mary J. Cronin, Ph.D.
One approach that addresses the challenges families face today comes down to a familiar but often…
How To Stop Psychopaths and Narcissists From Winning Positions of Power
How To Stop Psychopaths and Narcissists From Winning Positions of Power
by Steve Taylor, Leeds Beckett University
In the past, this was mostly due to hereditary systems which assigned power to kings and lords and…
Enlightenment Is Not a Goal -- It Is A Great Acceptance
Enlightenment Is Not a Goal -- It Is A Great Acceptance
by Osho
Don't think about enlightenment as a goal, it is not. It is not a goal; it is not something that…
Prosperity and Being of Service to Others vs. Vanity and Pride
Prosperity and Being of Service to Others vs. Vanity and Pride
by James Dillehay
Vanity means pride or self-worship, which is different from self-love. In the effervescence of…
Reducing the Influence of the Ego... For Our Highest Good
Reducing the Influence of the Ego... For Our Highest Good
by Lawrence Doochin
We each have a choice, and let's be clear what that choice is. Martin Luther King Jr. told us that…
If You’ve Contracted COVID: Healing and Moving Forward
If You’ve Contracted COVID: Healing and Moving Forward
by Stacee L. Reicherzer PhD
If you’ve contracted COVID, you not only had health problems that may have been life-threatening,…
4 Ways to Build Your Tolerance of Ambiguity—and Your Global Career 
4 Ways to Build Your Tolerance of Ambiguity—and Your Global Career
by Paula Caligiuri, Ph.D.
Even if your tolerance of ambiguity is lower, there are proven ways to build this important…
At What Age Are People Usually Happiest? New Research Offers Surprising Clues
At What Age Are People Usually Happiest? New Research Offers Surprising Clues
by Clare Mehta, Emmanuel College
If you could be one age for the rest of your life, what would it be? Would you choose to be nine…
What Makes A Job Meaningful and Why That Matters
What Makes A Job Meaningful and Why That Matters
by Andrew Bryce, University of Sheffield
Work provides many things over and above the monthly pay cheque: status and identity, community and…
3 Ways Music Educators Can Help Students With Autism Develop Their Emotions
3 Ways Music Educators Can Help Students With Autism Develop Their Emotions
by Dawn R. Mitchell White, University of South Florida
Many children with autism struggle to find the words to express how they feel. But when it comes to…
The Healing Power of Imaginative Play
The Healing Power of Imaginative Play
by Carmen Viktoria Gamper
Just as adults benefit from talking about their challenges with friends or a therapist, many…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.