200 من العمر مراجعة: جمعيات أكثر ثراء ولكن ليس أفضل دائما معطلة

مراجعة 200-year يجد المجتمعات أكثر ثراء ، أكثر صحة ولكن ليس بالضرورة أفضل حالا

على الرغم من النمو الاقتصادي الهائل على مدى السنوات الماضية 200 ، فشلت البلدان المتقدمة والنامية على حد سواء في معالجة مشاكل الجريمة والبيئة ، تقرير رئيسي من منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية وقد اختتم.

يقدم التقرير نظرة ثاقبة عن كيفية تحسين جودة الحياة على مدار السنوات الماضية 200 في بلدان 25. ويبين أنه في الوقت الذي ارتفع فيه الناتج المحلي الإجمالي ، فإن جودة البيئة قد انخفضت ولم تنحسر الجريمة.

وتحذر منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية من أن معدلات القتل في الولايات المتحدة ظلت عالية ، في حين أن جرائم العنف لا تزال متوطنة بشكل عام في أمريكا اللاتينية والاتحاد السوفيتي السابق.

في أمريكا اللاتينية ، كان متوسط ​​معدل جرائم القتل لكل شخص 100,000 هو 20.8 في 2000s ، ارتفاعًا من 12.4 في 1960s. في أوروبا الغربية ، يكون المعدل أقل بكثير - حالات 1.2 لعموم الأشخاص 100,000 في 2000s - تم تحريك الرقم حول نفس المستوى منذ 1930s.

وفي الوقت نفسه ، CO2 ارتفعت الانبعاثات بشكل كبير خلال الثورة الصناعية ، واستمرت على نفس الطريق منذ ذلك الحين.

من المؤكد أن النتائج ستثير الجدل حول كيفية قياس الحكومات في جميع أنحاء العالم لرفاهية شعوبها. ولكن على الرغم من الاتجاهات المخيبة للآمال في العديد من المجالات ، فإن التقرير يظهر أن التعليم والصحة قد تحسنا إلى جانب نمو الناتج المحلي الإجمالي.

في القرن 19th ، كانت نسبة 20٪ فقط من العالم متعلمة - التي ارتفعت إلى 80٪ في 2000s. وشهد متوسط ​​العمر المتوقع تحسناً هائلاً مماثلاً: ففي سنوات 120 بين 1880 و 2000 ، ارتفع متوسط ​​العمر المتوقع في جميع أنحاء العالم من 30 إلى 70 سنوات.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


تفكير جديد

على مدى العقد الماضي ، منظمات مثل EUو OECD و UN شجعت على إجراء فحص أوسع لكيفية قياس جودة الحياة. وعادة ما يعني هذا دعوة الحكومات للتفكير خارج الناتج المحلي الإجمالي - أو النمو الاقتصادي - كطريقة لتقييم التحسينات في حياة الناس. الحجة تقول: الصحة والتعليم والجريمة وتوزيع الموارد هي تدابير أخرى قيّمة.

هذا أحدث تقرير لمنظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية - جزء من المنظمة مبادرة الحياة الأفضل - يعطينا الطعام للتفكير في هذا الصدد. وهو يبين أننا قد نمت بالفعل أكثر ثراءً على مدار السنوات الماضية 200 ، ويبدو أن بعض العوامل التي نقدرها أكثر أهمية - مثل التعليم والصحة - ترتبط بهذا النمو. لكن الآخرين ، بما في ذلك سلامتنا والبيئة ، لا يفعلون ذلك.

يبدو أن عدم المساواة في الدخل لها علاقة متناقضة بشكل خاص مع الناتج المحلي الإجمالي. كما توماس بيكيتي وتقترحوانخفض التفاوت في الدخل بشكل كبير في العديد من البلدان الغربية وفي أوروبا الشرقية خلال معظم القرن العاشر. لكن تقرير منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية يشير إلى أنه قد أخذ في الارتفاع مرة أخرى منذ 20s في البلدان الغنية والفقيرة.

الرسالة الأساسية من هذا التقرير واضحة. من خلال الابتعاد عن التقييم الاقتصادي البحت لرفاهنا وإلقاء نظرة أكثر شمولية على نوعية الحياة في المجتمعات البشرية ، نرى صورة مختلفة تمامًا. فالمجتمعات أصبحت أكثر ثراءً وصحة وتعليماً أفضل من أي وقت مضى ، لكن العديد منها ما زال غير متساوٍ بشكل كبير ومضر بالبيئة ، وفي بعض الحالات ، شديد العنف. النمو الاقتصادي وحده لم يحل جميع مشاكلنا: وفي بعض الحالات ، تزداد هذه المشاكل سوءًا.

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة
قراءة المقال الأصلي.


عن المؤلف

حكيم دانيالدانيال سايج حالياً باحث دكتوراه في السنة النهائية بجامعة ستيرلنغ ، يبحث في العلاقة بين البطالة والرفاهية. حصل على درجة الماجستير في البحث الاجتماعي التطبيقي (ستيرلنغ) ، وماجستير في السياسة الاجتماعية ، وبكالوريوس في التاريخ.
بيان الإفصاح عن المعلومات: دانيال سيج يتلقى التمويل من ESRC.


أوصى الكتاب:

المال والجنس والحرب، السمعة: ملاحظات من أجل ثورة البوذية
ديفيد ر لوي.

المال والجنس والحرب، السمعة: ملاحظات من أجل ثورة البوذية التي كتبها ديفيد ر. لوي.أصبح ديفيد لوي واحدا من أقوى المدافعين عن وجهة نظر البوذية ، موضحا أنه لا أحد غيره من قدرته على تحويل المشهد الاجتماعي والسياسي للعالم الحديث. في المال ، الجنس ، الحرب ، الكرمةيقدم عروضا حادة وواضحة بشكل مثير للصدمة من المواد الغذائية البوذية التي لا يساء فهمها - عمل الكارما ، طبيعة الذات ، أسباب المشاكل على المستويين الفردي والمجتمعي - والأسباب الحقيقية وراء إحساسنا الجماعي "لا يكفي أبدا "سواء كان الوقت ، المال ، الجنس ، الأمن ... حتى الحرب. إن "الثورة البوذية" لداوود ليست أقل من تغيير جذري في الطرق التي يمكننا بها الاقتراب من حياتنا ، كوكبنا ، أوهامنا الجماعية التي تتخلل لغتنا ، وثقافتنا ، وحتى روحانيتنا.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

200-year Review: Societies Are Richer But Not Always Better Off

200-year Review Finds Societies Are Richer, Healthier But Not Necessarily Better Off

Despite enormous economic growth over the past 200 years, developed and developing countries alike are failing to tackle crime and environmental problems, a major report from the OECD has concluded.

The report offers an insight into how quality of life has really improved over the past 200 years in 25 countries. It shows that while GDP has climbed, the quality of the environment has declined and crime has not abated.

The OECD cautions that murder rates in the US have remained high, while violent crime more generally remains endemic across Latin America and the former Soviet Union.

In Latin America, the average homicide rate per 100,000 people was 20.8 in the 2000s, up from 12.4 in the 1960s. In Western Europe the rate is considerably lower – 1.2 homicides per 100,000 people in the 2000s – a figure has hovered around the same level since the 1930s.

Meanwhile, CO2 emissions rose dramatically during the industrial revolution, and have continued on the same path ever since.

The results are sure to fuel debate about how governments across the world measure the well-being of their people. But despite disappointing trends in several areas, the report does show that education and health have improved alongside GDP growth.

In the 19th century, only around 20% of the world was literate – that has climbed to 80% in the 2000s. And life expectancy has seen a similarly huge improvement: in the 120 years between 1880 and 2000, average life expectancy across the world increased from 30 to 70 years.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Fresh Thinking

Over the past decade, organisations like the EU, the OECD and the UN have encouraged a broader examination of how to measure the quality of life. Typically, this has meant calling on governments to think beyond GDP – or economic growth – as a way to assess improvements in people’s lives. Health, education, crime and the distribution of resources are other valuable measures, the argument goes.

This latest OECD report – part of the organisation’s Better Life Initiative – gives us food for thought in this respect. It shows that we have indeed grown richer over the past 200 years and some of the factors we value most – such as education and health – do seem to be correlated with that growth. But others, including our safety and the environment, do not.

Income inequality appears to have a particularly contradictory relationship with GDP. As Thomas Piketty suggests, income inequality declined dramatically in many Western countries and in eastern Europe throughout most of the 20th century. But the OECD report shows that it has been on the rise again since the 1980s in both rich and poor countries.

The underlying message from this report is clear. By turning away from a purely economic assessment of our well-being and taking a more holistic look at the quality of life in human societies, we see a very different picture. Societies are richer, healthier and better educated than ever before but many remain hugely unequal, environmentally damaging and, in some instances, highly violent. Economic growth alone has not solved all our problems: and in some instances, those problems are only getting worse.

This article was originally published on The Conversation
Read the original article.


About the Author

sage danielDaniel Sage is currently a final year doctoral researcher at the University of Stirling, researching the relationship between unemployment and well-being. He has an MSc in Applied Social Research (Stirling), MSc in Social Policy and BA in History.
Disclosure Statement: Daniel Sage receives funding from the ESRC.


Recommended Book:

Money, Sex, War, Karma: Notes for a Buddhist Revolution
by David R. Loy.

Money, Sex, War, Karma: Notes for a Buddhist Revolution by David R. Loy.David Loy has become one of the most powerful advocates of the Buddhist worldview, explaining like no one else its ability to transform the sociopolitical landscape of the modern world. In Money, Sex, War, Karma, he offers sharp and even shockingly clear presentations of oft-misunderstood Buddhist staples - the working of karma, the nature of self, the causes of trouble on both the individual and societal levels-and the real reasons behind our collective sense of "never enough," whether it's time, money, sex, security... even war. David's "Buddhist Revolution" is nothing less than a radical change in the ways we can approach our lives, our planet, the collective delusions that pervade our language, culture, and even our spirituality.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}