ما هي النظرية النقدية الحديثة؟

ما هي النظرية النقدية الحديثة؟

هناك مدرسة فكرية بين الاقتصاديين الذين لا يشعرون بالقلق من ما يسمى بـ "الثقب الأسود للميزانية" ، حيث طُلبت خيارات صعبة للحد من الإنفاق الحكومي. أنصار النظرية النقدية الحديثة ، مثل بيرني ساندرز كبير المستشارين الاقتصاديين البروفيسور ستيفاني كيلتون، وادعوا أن الحكومة الأسترالية لا تحتاج إلى موازنة ميزانيتها وبدلاً من ذلك تطالب الحكومة بموازنة الاقتصاد ، وهو الأمر الذي يجادلون بأنه شيء مختلف تمامًا.

النظرية النقدية الحديثة هي نهج للإدارة الاقتصادية تم تطويره منذ التسعينات البروفيسور بيل ميتشلإلى جانب الأكاديميين الأمريكيين مثل البروفيسور راندال راي وستيفاني كيلتون ومصرفيي الاستثمار ومديري الصناديق مثل وارن موسلر. إنه يبني على أفكار جيل سابق من الاقتصاديين ، مثل هيمان مينسكي ، ووين جودلي ، وأبا ليرنر ، الذي كان تفسيره لعمل الاقتصادي الشهير JMKeynes مختلفًا تمامًا عن ذلك الذي ساد في الثمانينيات.

بحلول الثمانينيات ، كان معظم الناس ينظرون إلى كينز كمدافع عن عجز الميزانية فقط خلال فترات البطالة المرتفعة. ليرنر ، في وقت مبكر من عام 1980 ، في ورقة بعنوان التمويل الوظيفي والدين الاتحادي، قد جادل بأن الاقتصاد الكينزي ينطوي على إدارة أي عجز حكومي ضروري للحفاظ على العمالة الكاملة ، وأن العجز يجب أن يُنظر إليه على أنه القاعدة. كينز ، في رسالة إلى زميله الاقتصادي قال جيمس ميد كتب في أبريل 1943 عن ليرنر ، "حجته لا تشوبها شائبة. لكن الجنة تساعد أي شخص يحاول أن يضعها في مكانها.

بينما اجتذبت النظرية الخاصة بها تفسيرات ونقد كما أنها تكتسب زخما في بيئة اقتصادية عالمية تستمر في تحدي جهود صناع السياسات لاستعادة النمو الاقتصادي المستدام.

هناك ثلاثة عبارات أساسية في قلب النظرية النقدية الحديثة. الأولين هم:

1) لا تواجه الحكومات ذات السيادة النقدية أي قيود مالية بحتة.

2) تواجه جميع الاقتصادات وجميع الحكومات حدودًا حقيقية وبيئية تتعلق بما يمكن إنتاجه واستهلاكه.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


البيان الأول هو البيان الذي يساء فهمه على نطاق واسع. إن الحكومة ذات السيادة النقدية هي حكومة بعملة خاصة بها وبنك مركزي ، وسعر صرف عائم ، ولا يوجد ديون كبيرة بالعملة الأجنبية. لدى أستراليا حكومة ذات سيادة نقدية. وكذلك المملكة المتحدة والولايات المتحدة واليابان. دول منطقة اليورو ليست دول ذات سيادة نقدية ، حيث لا تملك عملاتها الخاصة.

يؤكد البيان الثاني من هذه التصريحات الحقيقة الواضحة القائلة بأن الحكومات يمكنها أن تسبب التضخم ، إذا اختارت ذلك ، من خلال الإنفاق أكثر من اللازم ، أو عدم فرض ضرائب كافية. عندما يحدث ذلك ، يتجاوز المستوى الإجمالي للإنفاق في الاقتصاد ما يمكن إنتاجه من قبل جميع العمالة والمهارات ورأس المال المادي والتكنولوجيا والموارد الطبيعية المتاحة. يمكننا أيضًا تدمير نظامنا البيئي الطبيعي إذا أنتجنا الكثير من الأشياء الخاطئة ، أو استخدمنا العمليات الخاطئة لإنتاج ما نريد استهلاكه.

الحكومة الأسترالية هي حكومة مركزية لإصدار العملات. لا يمكن أن ينفد من الدولار الأسترالي. فهي لا تضطر أبدًا إلى اقتراض الدولارات الأسترالية ، على الرغم من أنها تستطيع فعل ذلك وتختار القيام بذلك ، وتلعب أوراق الدين الخاصة بها دورًا مفيدًا في نظامنا المالي.

لا تحتاج بالضبط إلى فرض ضرائب علينا لدفع نفقاتها أيضًا. توجد الضرائب للحد من التضخم. من الضروري بالنسبة لنا أن ندفع الضرائب للحفاظ على إجمالي الإنفاق - الحكومي والخاص - عند مستوى لن يكون تضخميًا.

هذا لا يعني أن الإنفاق الحكومي والضرائب يجب أن يكونا متساويين ، وفي دول مثل أستراليا نادرًا ما يحدث هذا في الممارسة. وهذا يؤدي إلى المبدأ الثالث للنظرية النقدية الحديثة:

3) العجز المالي للحكومة هو الفائض المالي لأي شخص آخر.

لكل مقرض ، يجب أن يكون هناك مقترض. وهذا يعني أن الفوائض والعجز في نظامنا المالي يزيد دائمًا من الصفر.

ويتضح ذلك في الرسم البياني التالي الذي يوضح الموازين المالية للقطاع الخاص الأسترالي وبقية العالم والقطاع الحكومي الأسترالي منذ عام 1994.

ما هي النظرية النقدية الحديثة؟ تم توفير ABS / المؤلف, مؤلف المنصوص

مقابل كل مدخر يكسب أكثر مما ينفق ، يجب أن يكون هناك شخص أو مؤسسة تنفق أكثر مما تتطلبه. إذا أردنا للقطاع الخاص ككل أن يدخر بدلاً من الخوض في الديون ، فمن المحتمل أن تضطر الحكومة إلى إنفاق المزيد من الضرائب (اعتمادًا على ما يفعله بقية العالم).

إنها تعمل في الاتجاه الآخر أيضًا. كانت حكومة هوارد قادرة فقط على إدارة الفوائض المالية لأن القطاع الخاص كان يعاني من عجز كبير.

تضاعف ديون الأسر ثلاث مرات خلال سنوات هوارد. منذ ذلك الحين ، كنا على علاقة مع دولتين أخريين للحصول على أعلى نسبة ديون للأسر المعيشية إلى نسب الدخل في العالم.

ما هي النظرية النقدية الحديثة؟ تقديم بنك التسويات الدولية / المؤلف, مؤلف المنصوص

لذا ، لا يمكن للحكومة أن تنفد من الدولارات. هذا لا يعني أن الحكومة يجب أن "تنفق مثل البحار المخمور" أو أنه لا يتعين علينا دفع الضرائب ؛ هذا يعني أن الميزانيات المتوازنة غير ضرورية. وهذا يعني أيضًا أن العجز الحكومي يمكن أن يلعب دورًا داعمًا ، مما يسمح للقطاع الخاص بزيادة مدخراته.

تعاني الحكومات الأسترالية دائمًا من حالات العجز على أي حال. لا يجب أن يكون أي مما سبق صادمًا. في المتوسط ​​، عانت حكومات اليسار واليمين من العجز ، منذ الاتحاد. قد يكون مجرد أنك قد ضللت ذلك استعارة الحكومة كأسرة.

في بلد يعاني من نقص استخدام العمالة بنسبة 15٪ تقريبًا ، وأكثر من 30٪ من نقص استخدام الشباب ، وميزانيات الميزانية الخاصة الهشة ، والحاجة المتزايدة للاستثمارات الخضراء وغيرها من البنية التحتية ، فإن ذلك يعني أن إصلاح الميزانية هو رنانة حمراء. وهذا يعني أن الحكومة يمكنها وينبغي لها أن تستخدم دورها كمصدر للعملة لتعزيز العمالة الكاملة ، والإدماج الاجتماعي ، والإصلاح البيئي ، والميزانيات الصحية للقطاع الخاص.

ما هي النظرية النقدية الحديثة؟ عضلات المعده, مؤلف المنصوص

السياسيون ، وفقًا لمنظري النقد النقدي الحديث ، مهووسون حاليًا بشيء غير مهم (موازنة ميزانيتهم) ، ويتجاهلون العديد من الأشياء التي تهم كثيرًا لمستقبل البلاد.

هذا هو المنظور الذي تحصل عليه عندما تبدأ في رؤية أستراليا والعالم من خلال منظور النظرية النقدية الحديثة. إنها لا تستند إلى أكثر من فهم لكيفية عمل الأنظمة المالية الحديثة بالفعل ، وبهذا المعنى ، ربما لا ينبغي أن تكون مثيرة للجدل على الإطلاق.

مؤيد النظرية النقدية الحديثة ، البروفيسور بيل ميتشل ، يدعو الحكومات إلى استخدام حيز السياسة الذي توفره لها السيادة النقدية لتقديم ضمان وظيفي والسعي للعودة إلى معدلات البطالة بنسبة 2 ٪ أو أقل. تم تحقيق هذه المعدلات في أستراليا عبر الستينيات وأوائل السبعينيات. يقترح العودة إلى العمالة الكاملة من خلال ممول اتحاديًا ومدارًا محليًا برنامج التوظيف العام. وهو لا يعتقد أن هذا الأمر يحتاج إلى تضخم - بل إن ضمان العمل هو جزء أساسي من إطار النظرية النقدية الحديثة لتحقيق الاستقرار في الاقتصاد وتجنب التضخم.

في أستراليا ، لم تولي الأحزاب السياسية الرئيسية الثلاثة حتى الآن سوى القليل من الاهتمام لأفكاره. لكن زملائه من أصحاب النظريات النقدية الحديثة اقتربوا من الحكومة في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية (مع السناتور بيرني ساندرز) وتم إنشاء حزبين صغيرين في العام الماضي بهدف صريح لتعزيز النظرية النقدية الحديثة كإطار لفهم القضايا الاقتصادية. لذا يمكنك أن تتوقع أن تسمع الكثير من مؤيدي ونقاد النظرية النقدية الحديثة.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

ستيفن حائل ، محاضر في الاقتصاد ، جامعة أديلايد

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

وأوصت الكتب:

رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين
توماس بيكيتي. (ترجمه آرثر غولدهامر)

رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين غلاف فني من قبل توماس Piketty.In رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين ، يحلل توماس بيكيتي مجموعة فريدة من البيانات من عشرين دولة ، تراوحت في القرن الثامن عشر ، لتكشف عن الأنماط الاقتصادية والاجتماعية الرئيسية. لكن الاتجاهات الاقتصادية ليست أعمال الله. يقول توماس بيكيتي: لقد أدى العمل السياسي إلى الحد من التفاوتات الخطيرة في الماضي ، وقد يفعل ذلك مرة أخرى. عمل طموح غير عادي ، أصالة ، ودقة ، رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين يعيد فهمنا للتاريخ الاقتصادي ويواجهنا بدروس واقعية اليوم. وستغير نتائجه النقاش وتحدد جدول الأعمال للجيل القادم من التفكير في الثروة وعدم المساواة.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


ثروة الطبيعة: كيف تزدهر الأعمال والمجتمع من خلال الاستثمار في الطبيعة
بقلم مارك ر. تيرسيك وجوناثان س. آدمز.

ثروة الطبيعة: كيف تزدهر الأعمال والمجتمع من خلال الاستثمار في الطبيعة بقلـم مارك ر. تيرسيك وجوناثان س. آدامز.ما هي طبيعة يستحق؟ الإجابة على تقليديا مؤطرة في البيئة هذه التي سؤال حيث هو ثورة في الطريقة التي نؤدي بها أعمالنا. في فورتشن الطبيعةيقول مارك تيرسيك ، الرئيس التنفيذي لـ The Nature Conservancy and bank of banker السابق ، والكاتب جوناثان آدامز ، إن الطبيعة ليست فقط أساس رفاهية الإنسان ، بل هي أيضا أذكى استثمار تجاري يمكن أن تقوم به أي شركة أو حكومة. الغابات ، والسهول الفيضية ، وشعاب المحار التي غالبا ما ينظر إليها ببساطة على أنها مواد خام أو عوائق يجب تطهيرها باسم التقدم ، هي في الواقع مهمة بالنسبة لرفاهنا المستقبلي مثل التكنولوجيا أو القانون أو الابتكار في الأعمال. فورتشن الطبيعة يقدم دليلا أساسيا للرفاهية الاقتصادية والبيئية في العالم.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


ما بعد الغضب: قد ذهب ما الخطأ في اقتصادنا وديمقراطيتنا، وكيفية اصلاحها -- بواسطة الرايخ روبرت ب.

ما بعد الغضبفي هذا الكتاب في الوقت المناسب، روبرت ب. رايخ يقول أن لا شيء جيد يحدث في واشنطن ما لم يتم تنشيط المنظمة والمواطنين للتأكد من أفعال واشنطن في الصالح العام. الخطوة الأولى هي أن نرى الصورة الكبيرة. ما بعد الغضب يربط بين النقاط، والتي تبين لماذا حصة متزايدة من الدخل والثروة الذهاب إلى الأعلى قد اعاقه فرص العمل والنمو لشخص آخر، مما يقوض ديمقراطيتنا؛ تسبب الأميركيين أن تصبح ساخرة على نحو متزايد بشأن الحياة العامة، وتحول كثير من الأمريكيين ضد بعضها البعض. وهو ما يفسر أيضا لماذا مقترحات "الحق رجعية" على خطأ القتلى ويشكل خريطة طريق واضحة لما يجب القيام به بدلا من ذلك. وهنا خطة للعمل لكل من يهتم بمستقبل الأمريكية.

انقر هنا للمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


هذه التغييرات كل شيء: تحتل وول ستريت وحركة 99٪
بواسطة سارة فان جيلدر وموظفي YES! مجلة.

هذه التغييرات كل شيء: تحتل وول ستريت وحركة 99٪ من سارة فان جيلدر وموظفي YES! مجلة.هذا يغير كل شيء يوضح كيف أن حركة "الإحتلال" تغير الطريقة التي ينظر بها الناس إلى أنفسهم والعالم ، نوع المجتمع الذي يعتقدون أنه ممكن ، ومشاركتهم في خلق مجتمع يعمل لـ 99٪ بدلاً من 1٪ فقط. وقد أدت محاولات صراع هذه الحركة اللامركزية السريعة التطور إلى الارتباك وسوء الفهم. في هذا المجلد ، محرري نعم فعلا! مجلة جمع الأصوات من داخل وخارج الاحتجاجات لنقل القضايا والإمكانيات والشخصيات المرتبطة بحركة احتلوا وول ستريت. يقدم هذا الكتاب مساهمات من نعومي كلاين ، وديفيد كورتين ، وريبيكا سولنيت ، ورالف نادر ، وآخرين ، بالإضافة إلى نشطاء احتلوا هناك منذ البداية.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.



enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ثمانية أفخاخ تحيز وتحيز ضد
ثمانية أفخاخ تحيز وتحيز ضد
by الدكتور بول نابر ، Psy.D. والدكتور أنتوني راو ، دكتوراه
هل يتقلص الطب النفسي ما هو طبيعي؟
هل يتقلص الطب النفسي ما هو طبيعي؟
by نيك حسلم وفابيان فابيانو
كيف تحاول البنوك التقاط التحول الأخضر
كيف تحاول البنوك التقاط التحول الأخضر
by توماسو فيراند ، ودانيال تيشير

من المحررين

لقد حان يوم الحساب لل GOP
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
لم يعد الحزب الجمهوري حزبا سياسيا مواليا لأمريكا. إنه حزب سياسي زائف غير شرعي ومليء بالراديكاليين والرجعيين هدفه المعلن هو زعزعة الاستقرار وزعزعة الاستقرار و ...
لماذا يمكن أن يكون دونالد ترامب أكبر الخاسرين في التاريخ
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
تحديث 2 يوليو ، 20020 - يكلف جائحة فيروس كورونا هذا ثروة ، ربما 2 أو 3 أو 4 ثروات ، كلها ذات حجم غير معروف. أوه نعم ، ومئات الآلاف ، وربما مليون شخص سيموتون ...
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: كيف يتم تدريس العنصرية
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في حلقة أوبرا شو عام 1992 ، علّمت الناشطة والمناهضة للعنصرية جين إيليوت الحائزة على جوائز الجمهور درساً قاسياً حول العنصرية من خلال إظهار مدى سهولة تعلم التحيز.
تغير سوف يأتي...
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
(30 مايو 2020) بينما أشاهد الأخبار عن الأحداث في فيلادلفيا والمدن الأخرى في البلاد ، فإن قلبي يتألم لما يحدث. أعلم أن هذا جزء من التغيير الأكبر الذي يحدث ...
أغنية يمكن أن ترفع القلب والروح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لدي العديد من الطرق التي أستخدمها لمسح الظلام من ذهني عندما أجد أنه تسلل إلى الداخل. أحدهما هو البستنة ، أو قضاء الوقت في الطبيعة. والآخر هو الصمت. طريقة أخرى هي القراءة. وواحد ...

What Is Modern Monetary Theory?

What Is Modern Monetary Theory? 

There is a school of thought among economists who aren’t worried about the so called “budget black hole”, where tough choices have been called for to reduce government spending. Proponents of modern monetary theory, like Bernie Sanders’ chief economic adviser Professor Stephanie Kelton, claim the Australian government need not balance its budget and are instead calling for the government to balance the economy, which they argue is a different thing entirely.

Modern monetary theory is an approach to economic management developed since the 1990s by Professor Bill Mitchell, alongside American academics like Professor Randall Wray, Stephanie Kelton, and investment bankers and fund managers like Warren Mosler. It builds on the ideas of a previous generation of economists, such as Hyman Minsky, Wynne Godley and Abba Lerner, whose interpretation of the work of the famous economist J.M.Keynes was very different from that which became dominant by the 1980s.

By the 1980s, most people saw Keynes as an advocate of budget deficits only during periods of high unemployment. Lerner, as early as 1943, in a paper entitled Functional Finance and the Federal Debt, had argued that Keynesian economics involved running whatever government deficit was necessary to maintain full employment, and that deficits should be seen as the norm. Keynes, in a letter to fellow economist James Meade written in April 1943, said of Lerner, “His argument is impeccable. But heaven help anyone who tries to put it across”.

While the theory has attracted its own interpretations and criticism it’s also gaining traction in a global economic environment that continues to defy the efforts of policymakers to restore sustained economic growth.

There are three core statements at the heart of modern monetary theory. The first two are:

1) Monetary sovereign governments face no purely financial budget constraints.

2) All economies, and all governments, face real and ecological limits relating to what can be produced and consumed.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


The first statement is the one which is widely misunderstood. A monetary sovereign government is one with its own currency and central bank, a floating exchange rate, and no significant foreign currency debt. Australia has a monetary sovereign government. So does the UK, the US and Japan. The Eurozone countries are not monetary sovereigns, as they do not have their own currencies.

The second of these statements confirms the obvious fact that governments can cause inflation, if they choose, by spending too much themselves, or not taxing enough. When this happens, the total level of spending in the economy exceeds what can be produced by all the labour, skills, physical capital, technology and natural resources which are available. We can also destroy our natural ecosystem if produce too many of the wrong things, or use the wrong processes to produce what we want to consume.

The Australian government is a currency-issuing central government. It cannot run out of Australian dollars. It’s never forced to borrow Australian dollars, although it can and does choose to do so, and its debt securities play a useful role in our financial system.

It doesn’t exactly need to tax us to pay for its spending either. Taxes exist to limit inflation. It’s necessary for us to pay taxes to keep total spending – government and private – at a level which will not be inflationary.

This doesn’t mean government spending and taxation have to equal each other, and in countries like Australia this rarely happens in practice. This leads to the third principle of modern monetary theory:

3) The government’s financial deficit is everybody else’s financial surplus.

For every lender, there must be a borrower. That means that across our financial system, surpluses and deficits always add up to zero.

This is clear in the following chart, which shows the financial balances of the Australian private sector, the rest of the world, and the Australian government sector, since 1994.

What Is Modern Monetary Theory? ABS/Author Provided, Author provided

For every saver who earns more than they spend, there must somebody or some institution which spends more than it takes in. If we want the private sector as a whole to save rather than go further into debt, the government will probably have to spend more than it taxes (depending on what the rest of the world is doing).

It works the other way around too. The Howard government was only able to run fiscal surpluses because the private sector went heavily into deficit.

Household debt trebled during the Howard years. Since then, we have been in a tie with a couple of other countries for the highest household debt to income ratios in the world.

What Is Modern Monetary Theory? Bank of International Settlements/Author Provided, Author provided

So, the government cannot run out of dollars; that doesn’t mean the government should “spend like a drunken sailor” or that we don’t have to pay taxes; it does mean balanced budgets are unnecessary. It also means government deficits can play a supportive role, allowing the private sector to build up its saving.

Australian governments have nearly always run deficits anyway. None of the above ought to be shocking. On average, governments of both left and right have run deficits, ever since federation. It just might be that you have been misled by that metaphor of the government as a household.

In a country with nearly 15% underutilisation of labour, over 30% youth underutilisation, fragile private balance sheets, and a growing need for green and other infrastructural investments, it does imply that budget repair is a red herring. This means the government could and should be using its role as the currency issuer to promote full employment, social inclusion, ecological repair, and healthy private sector balance sheets.

What Is Modern Monetary Theory? ABS, Author provided

Politicians are, according to modern monetary theorists, currently obsessed with something which doesn’t matter (balancing their budget), and are ignoring many things which do matter a great deal for the future of the country.

This is the perspective you get when you start to see Australia and the world through the prism of modern monetary theory. It’s based on nothing more than a comprehension of how modern financial systems actually work, and in that sense, perhaps it should not be controversial at all.

Modern monetary theory proponent, Professor Bill Mitchell, advocates for governments to use the policy space provided for them by monetary sovereignty to introduce a job guarantee and pursue a return to unemployment rates of 2% or less. These rates were achieved in Australian across the 1960s and early 1970s. He proposes a return to full employment through a federally funded and locally managed program of public employment. He does not believe that this need be inflationary - indeed the job guarantee is an essential part of the modern monetary theory framework for stabilising the economy and avoiding inflation.

In Australia, the three major political parties have as yet paid little attention to his ideas. But his fellow modern monetary theorists got close to government in the USA (with Senator Bernie Sanders) and two micro-parties have been set up in the last year with the express intention of promoting modern monetary theory as a frame for understanding economic issues. So you can expect to hear a lot more from both the proponents and the critics of modern monetary theory.The Conversation

About The Author

Steven Hail, Lecturer in Economics, University of Adelaide

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Recommended books:

Capital in the Twenty-First Century
by Thomas Piketty. (Translated by Arthur Goldhammer)

Capital in the Twenty-First Century Hardcover by Thomas Piketty.In Capital in the Twenty-First Century, Thomas Piketty analyzes a unique collection of data from twenty countries, ranging as far back as the eighteenth century, to uncover key economic and social patterns. But economic trends are not acts of God. Political action has curbed dangerous inequalities in the past, says Thomas Piketty, and may do so again. A work of extraordinary ambition, originality, and rigor, Capital in the Twenty-First Century reorients our understanding of economic history and confronts us with sobering lessons for today. His findings will transform debate and set the agenda for the next generation of thought about wealth and inequality.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


Nature's Fortune: How Business and Society Thrive by Investing in Nature
by Mark R. Tercek and Jonathan S. Adams.

Nature's Fortune: How Business and Society Thrive by Investing in Nature by Mark R. Tercek and Jonathan S. Adams.What is nature worth? The answer to this question—which traditionally has been framed in environmental terms—is revolutionizing the way we do business. In Nature’s Fortune, Mark Tercek, CEO of The Nature Conservancy and former investment banker, and science writer Jonathan Adams argue that nature is not only the foundation of human well-being, but also the smartest commercial investment any business or government can make. The forests, floodplains, and oyster reefs often seen simply as raw materials or as obstacles to be cleared in the name of progress are, in fact as important to our future prosperity as technology or law or business innovation. Nature’s Fortune offers an essential guide to the world’s economic—and environmental—well-being.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


Beyond Outrage: What has gone wrong with our economy and our democracy, and how to fix it -- by Robert B. Reich

Beyond OutrageIn this timely book, Robert B. Reich argues that nothing good happens in Washington unless citizens are energized and organized to make sure Washington acts in the public good. The first step is to see the big picture. Beyond Outrage connects the dots, showing why the increasing share of income and wealth going to the top has hobbled jobs and growth for everyone else, undermining our democracy; caused Americans to become increasingly cynical about public life; and turned many Americans against one another. He also explains why the proposals of the “regressive right” are dead wrong and provides a clear roadmap of what must be done instead. Here’s a plan for action for everyone who cares about the future of America.

Click here for more info or to order this book on Amazon.


This Changes Everything: Occupy Wall Street and the 99% Movement
by Sarah van Gelder and staff of YES! Magazine.

This Changes Everything: Occupy Wall Street and the 99% Movement by Sarah van Gelder and staff of YES! Magazine.This Changes Everything shows how the Occupy movement is shifting the way people view themselves and the world, the kind of society they believe is possible, and their own involvement in creating a society that works for the 99% rather than just the 1%. Attempts to pigeonhole this decentralized, fast-evolving movement have led to confusion and misperception. In this volume, the editors of YES! Magazine bring together voices from inside and outside the protests to convey the issues, possibilities, and personalities associated with the Occupy Wall Street movement. This book features contributions from Naomi Klein, David Korten, Rebecca Solnit, Ralph Nader, and others, as well as Occupy activists who were there from the beginning.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.



enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…