تسلط الحدود الكندية الأمريكية المعزولة الضوء على مقاربات مختلفة للوباء - والاختلافات بين البلدين

تسلط الحدود الكندية الأمريكية المعزولة الضوء على مقاربات مختلفة للوباء - والاختلافات بين البلدين ضباط الجمارك الأمريكيون يقفون بجانب لافتة على الحدود بين الولايات المتحدة وكندا في لانسداون ، أونتاريو ، في 22 مارس 2020. لارس هاجبرج / وكالة الصحافة الفرنسية عبر صور غيتي

تمتعت الولايات المتحدة وكندا منذ فترة طويلة بعلاقة مستقرة. الدول تتقاسم التاريخ أطول حدود دولية غير عسكرية في العالم، وعلاقات اقتصادية قوية.

معلومات عنا 90٪ من سكان كندا يعيشون على مسافة ساعة واحدة بالسيارة من الحدود. أكثر من 2 مليون شخص يجتازون 119 نقطة عبور حدودية كل شهر.

جزء من أكبر المدن العملاقة في العالم ، ما يسمى "منطقة الحصان الذهبي "في نيويورك وأونتاريو تطوق بحيرة أونتاريو وتمثل أكبر عدد من المتسوقين عبر الحدود بين البلدين.

المدن الرئيسية في الحصان الذهبي - بافالو ، شلالات نياغارا ، هاميلتون وتورنتو - لها روابط اقتصادية قوية وتمثل ما يصل إلى 10 مليار دولار كندي عبر الحدود مبيعات التجزئة التي يستمر في الزيادة سنويا.

لكن الإغلاق الأخير للحدود بين الولايات المتحدة وكندا بسبب الفيروس التاجي يؤكد أ تزايد الانقسام بين البلدين.

تسلط الحدود الكندية الأمريكية المعزولة الضوء على مقاربات مختلفة للوباء - والاختلافات بين البلدين تعاني شركات السياحة في شلالات نياغارا لأن السفر عبر الحدود بين كندا والولايات المتحدة يقتصر فقط على الموظفين الأساسيين. وكالة سترينجر / الأناضول عبر صور غيتي

التشابه يصبح اختلافات

في أدوارنا كأساتذة التخطيط الحضري ومنظمة الأغذية هندسة معمارية، لقد درسنا المواقف والسياسات التي توحد وتقسم الولايات المتحدة وكندا.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


على مدى القرنين الماضيين ، كانت كندا والولايات المتحدة متحالفة بشكل وثيق. وقفت الدولتان كتفا الى كتف خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية للنبات و أزمة الرهائن في إيران (شائعة في فيلم "أرغو").

في 11 سبتمبر 2001 ، ساعدت كندا عندما تم إغلاق المجال الجوي الأمريكي فجأة ، عن طريق وضع مطار عائم في غاندر ، نيوفاوندلاند ، في الخدمة. و 10,000 مواطن من غاندر تطوعت لإيواء وإطعام أكثر من 7,000 راكب وارد الذين لم يتمكنوا من الوصول إلى الولايات المتحدة فعل الصداقة الدولية تم الاحتفال به في مسرحية برودواي الموسيقية الشعبية "تعال بعيدا".

لكن الخلافات بدأت في الظهور بين البلدين. كانت كندا أول من شرع زواج المثليينقبل عشر سنوات من الولايات المتحدة. البلد لديها سن شرب أقل من الولايات المتحدة و مفتوحة ومرحبة سياسة الهجرة. دافع الكندي واحد خطة التأمين الصحي الوطنية, أنشئت في 1984 ومتاح مجانًا وعالميًا ، يعكس اختلافًا صارخًا عن نهج الولايات المتحدة تجاه التأمين الصحي.

وضعت هذه التغييرات كندا على مسار أكثر شمولاً اجتماعياً من جارتها الجنوبية.

الآن ، ظهر فرق آخر: لقد توترت الآراء الشعبية في كندا حول نهج الولايات المتحدة للتخفيف من فيروس التاجي.

تسلط الحدود الكندية الأمريكية المعزولة الضوء على مقاربات مختلفة للوباء - والاختلافات بين البلدين كندا أكثر تقدمية اجتماعيا من الولايات المتحدة ، تقنين الزواج من نفس الجنس قبل عشر سنوات من الولايات المتحدة جيف روبينز // وكالة الصحافة الفرنسية عبر صور غيتي

تضخيم التوترات

ردا على جائحة الفيروس التاجي ، أغلقت الولايات المتحدة حدودها مع كندا للمرة الأولى منذ حرب عام 1812.

يوقف الإغلاق حركة المرور الترفيهية ويمنع دخول غير المواطنين ، ويعوق الإغلاق المستهلكين الذين يرغبون في عبور الحدود للتسوق والاستفادة من أسعار الصرف المواتية ، وانخفاض الأسعار أو اختيار أكبر للمنتجات. ال إغلاق أيضا بشكل فعال يوقف السياحة ويوقف التنقل اليومي للعمال عبر الحدود وأصحاب العقارات ، حتى يونيو على الأقل 21.

ترامب أعلنت الإدارة خططت لنشر القوات العسكرية إلى الحدود بين الولايات المتحدة وكندا أيضًا ، وهي خطوة لم نشهدها منذ عام 1812. في النهاية ، بناء على دعوة من الحكومة الكندية، ال الولايات المتحدة رضخت ولم تقم بتثبيت قوات على الحدود.

الآن، كندا هي التي تريد تمديد الإغلاق حتى منتصف الصيف مع زيادة الفحص على الحدود.

هذه الأفعال الشائكة بمناسبة التحول في العلاقات الودية بين الدول.

سلوك غير ودي بين الدول واصلت تكثيفها عندما أنتجت شركة 3M ومقرها الولايات المتحدة مؤخرا أقنعة N95 للتصدير الروتيني إلى كندا ، ولكن استهدفت إدارة ترامب الشركة وحظرت تصدير هذه السلع إلى كندا.

هذا عمل غير عادي يبدو أنها تستهدف بشكل خاص شركة 3M وصادراتها من معدات الحماية الشخصية.

وردا على الخطوة الأمريكية ، قال رئيس وزراء أونتاريو ، دوج فورد ، "عندما تنخفض البطاقات ، ترى من هم أصدقاؤك." تم استنكار العمل بشكل قاطع على أنه غير عادل وغير لطيف in تقرير الاخبار حول العالم. وانتقدت شركة 3M أمر الحكومة الأمريكية باعتباره أمرًا قصير النظر كان يمكن أن يفعله الآثار الإنسانية وربما أثار الانتقام من الحلفاء.

الاختلاف لديه بعض الكنديين يدعو إلى صياغة مسار أكثر استقلالية في ما أشير إليه باسم أكبر أزمة في العلاقات بين البلدين منذ عام 1945 عندما جاء نزاع تجاري بسيط وخلافات حول مساعدة بريطانيا على إعادة البناء بعد الحرب العالمية الثانية.

لقد انضم إليهم في فزعهم مع الولايات المتحدة من قبل الكنديين الآخرين. الرأي العام تحول على أرض الواقع - يشعر الكنديون الآن بالقلق إزاء الاتجاه المستقبلي للعلاقة بين البلدين.

تسلط الحدود الكندية الأمريكية المعزولة الضوء على مقاربات مختلفة للوباء - والاختلافات بين البلدين علق رئيس مقاطعة أونتاريو ، دوج فورد ، على الإجراءات الأمريكية تجاه كندا خلال الوباء ، قائلاً: "عندما تنخفض البطاقات ، ترى من هم أصدقاؤك". ريتشارد لوتنس / تورونتو ستار عبر Getty Images

كيف تفعل كندا ذلك

إن الفيروس التاجي الحالي ليس أول مواجهة لكندا مع جائحة.

في 2003 و 2004 ، كانت كندا يتأثر بمتلازمة الالتهاب الرئوي الحاد. السارس هو فيروس ابن عم للفيروس المسؤول عن جائحة COVID-19 الحالي.

تفشي السارس 2003-04 أصيب أكثر من 400 بقليل وقتل 44 شخصًا في جميع أنحاء كندا. وقعت العديد من الوفيات في جميع أنحاء منطقة تورونتو المترامية الأطراف.

خلال تلك الفاشية الأولية ، طورت كندا إجراءات الاختبار والتتبع والتتبع وبعد ذلك وضع خطط وبروتوكولات إضافية للتصدي لعدوى الوباء فى المستقبل.

وباء السارس الأولي محنك الدفاع عن الصحة العامة المركزية في كندا ورصد الأمراض بدرجة أكثر مهارة في التعامل مع الوباء من النظام اللامركزي في الولايات المتحدة.

وبناء على ذلك، النتائج من جائحة COVID-19 تختلف بشكل ملحوظ في البلدين.

من خلال الحصول على مزيد من القيادة والسيطرة على نظام المستشفى ، الكندي أبطأت السلطات الصحية الانتشار الأولي للفيروس التاجي. كنتيجة ل، معدل الوفيات للفرد أقل بكثير في كندا ، 182 حالة وفاة لكل مليون نسمة, مما كانت عليه في الولايات المتحدة في 302 حالة وفاة لكل مليون نسمة. الولايات المتحدة يبلغ معدل الإصابة بالفيروس التاجي 5,235 حالة لكل مليون نسمة وهو أكثر من ضعف معدل الإصابة في كندا البالغ 1 حالات لكل مليون نسمة.

هذا المعدل العالي للعدوى والوفيات في الولايات المتحدة مروّع للعديد من الكنديين. للتعبير عن الدعم الشعبي للأمريكيين وأصحاب الأعمال الخاصة ومديري البناء في المدن الحدودية الكندية مثل شلالات نياغارا وزينت وندسور ، أونتاريو ، نوافذ أبراج المكاتب والفنادق الطويلة بقلوب مضاءة ، رمز الأمل.

الأضواء غير مرئية للمواطنين الكنديين ، ولكن وأشار في اتجاه الحدود الأمريكية. تقدم رسالة التشجيع ذات الاتجاه الواحد هذه رمزًا للنوايا الحسنة التي تبقى في كندا للولايات المتحدة - بالإضافة إلى تذكير بعواقب الإجراءات الحكومية المختلفة على جانبي الحدود.

نبذة عن الكاتب

دانيال بالدوين هيس ، أستاذ التخطيط الحضري والإقليمي ، جامعة بوفالو ، جامعة ولاية نيويورك وأليكس بيترمان ، أستاذ الهندسة المعمارية والتصميم ، كلية ألفريد ستيت للتكنولوجيا ، جامعة ولاية نيويورك

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

وأوصت الكتب:

رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين
توماس بيكيتي. (ترجمه آرثر غولدهامر)

رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين غلاف فني من قبل توماس Piketty.In رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين ، يحلل توماس بيكيتي مجموعة فريدة من البيانات من عشرين دولة ، تراوحت في القرن الثامن عشر ، لتكشف عن الأنماط الاقتصادية والاجتماعية الرئيسية. لكن الاتجاهات الاقتصادية ليست أعمال الله. يقول توماس بيكيتي: لقد أدى العمل السياسي إلى الحد من التفاوتات الخطيرة في الماضي ، وقد يفعل ذلك مرة أخرى. عمل طموح غير عادي ، أصالة ، ودقة ، رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين يعيد فهمنا للتاريخ الاقتصادي ويواجهنا بدروس واقعية اليوم. وستغير نتائجه النقاش وتحدد جدول الأعمال للجيل القادم من التفكير في الثروة وعدم المساواة.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


ثروة الطبيعة: كيف تزدهر الأعمال والمجتمع من خلال الاستثمار في الطبيعة
بقلم مارك ر. تيرسيك وجوناثان س. آدمز.

ثروة الطبيعة: كيف تزدهر الأعمال والمجتمع من خلال الاستثمار في الطبيعة بقلـم مارك ر. تيرسيك وجوناثان س. آدامز.ما هي طبيعة يستحق؟ الإجابة على تقليديا مؤطرة في البيئة هذه التي سؤال حيث هو ثورة في الطريقة التي نؤدي بها أعمالنا. في فورتشن الطبيعةيقول مارك تيرسيك ، الرئيس التنفيذي لـ The Nature Conservancy and bank of banker السابق ، والكاتب جوناثان آدامز ، إن الطبيعة ليست فقط أساس رفاهية الإنسان ، بل هي أيضا أذكى استثمار تجاري يمكن أن تقوم به أي شركة أو حكومة. الغابات ، والسهول الفيضية ، وشعاب المحار التي غالبا ما ينظر إليها ببساطة على أنها مواد خام أو عوائق يجب تطهيرها باسم التقدم ، هي في الواقع مهمة بالنسبة لرفاهنا المستقبلي مثل التكنولوجيا أو القانون أو الابتكار في الأعمال. فورتشن الطبيعة يقدم دليلا أساسيا للرفاهية الاقتصادية والبيئية في العالم.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


ما بعد الغضب: قد ذهب ما الخطأ في اقتصادنا وديمقراطيتنا، وكيفية اصلاحها -- بواسطة الرايخ روبرت ب.

ما بعد الغضبفي هذا الكتاب في الوقت المناسب، روبرت ب. رايخ يقول أن لا شيء جيد يحدث في واشنطن ما لم يتم تنشيط المنظمة والمواطنين للتأكد من أفعال واشنطن في الصالح العام. الخطوة الأولى هي أن نرى الصورة الكبيرة. ما بعد الغضب يربط بين النقاط، والتي تبين لماذا حصة متزايدة من الدخل والثروة الذهاب إلى الأعلى قد اعاقه فرص العمل والنمو لشخص آخر، مما يقوض ديمقراطيتنا؛ تسبب الأميركيين أن تصبح ساخرة على نحو متزايد بشأن الحياة العامة، وتحول كثير من الأمريكيين ضد بعضها البعض. وهو ما يفسر أيضا لماذا مقترحات "الحق رجعية" على خطأ القتلى ويشكل خريطة طريق واضحة لما يجب القيام به بدلا من ذلك. وهنا خطة للعمل لكل من يهتم بمستقبل الأمريكية.

انقر هنا للمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


هذه التغييرات كل شيء: تحتل وول ستريت وحركة 99٪
بواسطة سارة فان جيلدر وموظفي YES! مجلة.

هذه التغييرات كل شيء: تحتل وول ستريت وحركة 99٪ من سارة فان جيلدر وموظفي YES! مجلة.هذا يغير كل شيء يوضح كيف أن حركة "الإحتلال" تغير الطريقة التي ينظر بها الناس إلى أنفسهم والعالم ، نوع المجتمع الذي يعتقدون أنه ممكن ، ومشاركتهم في خلق مجتمع يعمل لـ 99٪ بدلاً من 1٪ فقط. وقد أدت محاولات صراع هذه الحركة اللامركزية السريعة التطور إلى الارتباك وسوء الفهم. في هذا المجلد ، محرري نعم فعلا! مجلة جمع الأصوات من داخل وخارج الاحتجاجات لنقل القضايا والإمكانيات والشخصيات المرتبطة بحركة احتلوا وول ستريت. يقدم هذا الكتاب مساهمات من نعومي كلاين ، وديفيد كورتين ، وريبيكا سولنيت ، ورالف نادر ، وآخرين ، بالإضافة إلى نشطاء احتلوا هناك منذ البداية.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.



enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ما هو معروف عن الفيروس التاجي والأطفال
ما هو معروف عن الفيروس التاجي والأطفال
by كاثرين موفيت برادفورد وآخرون
هل يجب أن يرسلك طبيبك للتنزه في الحديقة؟
هل يجب أن يرسلك طبيبك للتنزه في الحديقة؟
by آنا يورجنسن وجيك م. روبنسون

من المحررين

لقد حان يوم الحساب لل GOP
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
لم يعد الحزب الجمهوري حزبا سياسيا مواليا لأمريكا. إنه حزب سياسي زائف غير شرعي ومليء بالراديكاليين والرجعيين هدفه المعلن هو زعزعة الاستقرار وزعزعة الاستقرار و ...
لماذا يمكن أن يكون دونالد ترامب أكبر الخاسرين في التاريخ
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
تحديث 2 يوليو ، 20020 - يكلف جائحة فيروس كورونا هذا ثروة ، ربما 2 أو 3 أو 4 ثروات ، كلها ذات حجم غير معروف. أوه نعم ، ومئات الآلاف ، وربما مليون شخص سيموتون ...
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: كيف يتم تدريس العنصرية
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في حلقة أوبرا شو عام 1992 ، علّمت الناشطة والمناهضة للعنصرية جين إيليوت الحائزة على جوائز الجمهور درساً قاسياً حول العنصرية من خلال إظهار مدى سهولة تعلم التحيز.
تغير سوف يأتي...
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
(30 مايو 2020) بينما أشاهد الأخبار عن الأحداث في فيلادلفيا والمدن الأخرى في البلاد ، فإن قلبي يتألم لما يحدث. أعلم أن هذا جزء من التغيير الأكبر الذي يحدث ...
أغنية يمكن أن ترفع القلب والروح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لدي العديد من الطرق التي أستخدمها لمسح الظلام من ذهني عندما أجد أنه تسلل إلى الداخل. أحدهما هو البستنة ، أو قضاء الوقت في الطبيعة. والآخر هو الصمت. طريقة أخرى هي القراءة. وواحد ...

Shuttered Canada-US Border Highlights Different Approaches To The Pandemic – And Differences Between The 2 Countries

Shuttered Canada-US Border Highlights Different Approaches To The Pandemic – And Differences Between The 2 Countries U.S. Customs officers stand beside a sign at the US/Canada border in Lansdowne, Ontario, on March 22, 2020. Lars Hagberg / AFP via Getty Images

The United States and Canada have long enjoyed a stable relationship. The countries share history, the longest nonmilitarized international border in the world, and strong economic ties.

About 90% of the Canadian population lives within a one-hour drive of the border. More than 2 million people traverse the countries’ 119 border crossings each month.

Part of the largest international megalopolis in the world, what’s called the “Golden Horseshoe” region of New York and Ontario encircles Lake Ontario and accounts for the greatest number of cross-border shoppers between the two countries.

Key cities in the Golden Horseshoe – Buffalo, Niagara Falls, Hamilton and Toronto – have strong economic connections and account for as much as CAD $10 billion in cross-border retail sales which continues to increase annually.

But the recent closure of the U.S.-Canada border because of the coronavirus underscores a growing divide between the two countries.

Shuttered Canada-US Border Highlights Different Approaches To The Pandemic – And Differences Between The 2 Countries Niagara Falls tourism businesses are suffering since border travel between Canada and the U.S. was limited only to essential personnel. Stringer/Anadolu Agency via Getty Images

Similarities becoming differences

In our roles as professors of urban planning and architecture, we have studied the attitudes and policies that unite and divide the U.S. and Canada.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Over the past two centuries, Canada and the United States were closely aligned. The two countries stood shoulder to shoulder during World War II and the Iran hostage crisis (popularized in the film “Argo”).

On Sept. 11, 2001, Canada assisted when U.S. airspace was abruptly closed, by putting a mothballed airport in Gander, Newfoundland, into service. And 10,000 citizens of Gander volunteered to house and feed more than 7,000 inbound passengers who couldn’t get to the U.S. This act of international friendship was celebrated in the popular Broadway musical “Come From Away.”

But differences have begun to emerge between the two countries. Canada was first to legalize same-sex marriage, ten years before the United States. The country has a lower drinking age than the U.S. and an open and welcoming immigration policy. The Canadian single-payer national health insurance plan, established in 1984 and available free and universally, reflects a stark difference from the U.S. approach to health insurance.

These changes have placed Canada on a more socially inclusive trajectory than its southern neighbor.

Now, a further difference has emerged: Popular opinion in Canada has soured on the U.S. approach to mitigating the coronavirus.

Shuttered Canada-US Border Highlights Different Approaches To The Pandemic – And Differences Between The 2 Countries Canada is more socially progressive than the U.S., legalizing same-sex marriage ten years before the U.S. Geoff Robins//AFP via Getty Images

Amplifying tensions

In response to the coronavirus pandemic, the U.S. closed its border to Canada for the first time since the War of 1812.

Halting leisure traffic and barring entry to noncitizens, the closure impedes consumers who want to cross the border to shop and take advantage of favorable exchange rates, lower prices or greater product selection. The closure also effectively suspends tourism and blocks the daily commute for cross-border workers and property owners, until at least June 21.

The Trump administration announced it planned to deploy military troops to the U.S.-Canada border, too, also a move not seen since 1812. Ultimately, at the urging of the Canadian government, the U.S. relented and did not install troops at the border.

Now, it is Canada that wants to extend the closure until midsummer with increased screening at the border.

These thorny actions mark a shift in the normally friendly relationship between the countries.

Unfriendly behavior between the countries continued to ramp up when U.S.-based 3M corporation recently produced N95 masks for routine export to Canada, but the Trump administration targeted the company and barred exportation of these goods to Canada.

This unusual action appeared to be specifically targeted at 3M and its exports of personal protective equipment.

Responding to the U.S. move, Ontario provincial premier Doug Ford said, “When the cards are down, you see who your friends are.” The action has been roundly decried as unfair and unkind in news reports around the world. And 3M blasted the U.S. government order as a shortsighted one that would have humanitarian implications and possibly spark retaliation from allies.

The divergence has some Canadians calling for forging a more independent path in what has been referred to as the greatest crisis in relations between the two countries since 1945 when a minor trade dispute and disagreements over helping Britain to rebuild followed World War II.

They’re joined in their dismay with the U.S. by other Canadians. Public opinion has shifted on the ground – Canadians now feel anxious about the future direction of the relationship between the two countries.

Shuttered Canada-US Border Highlights Different Approaches To The Pandemic – And Differences Between The 2 Countries Ontario Provincial Premier Doug Ford commented on U.S. actions toward Canada during the pandemic, saying, ‘When the cards are down, you see who your friends are.’ Richard Lautens/Toronto Star via Getty Images

How Canada does it

The current coronavirus is not Canada’s first encounter with a pandemic.

In 2003 and 2004, Canada was impacted by Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome. SARS is a cousin virus to the virus responsible for the current COVID-19 pandemic.

The 2003-04 SARS outbreak infected just over 400 and killed 44 people across Canada. Many of the deaths occurred throughout the sprawling Toronto region.

During that initial outbreak, Canada developed test, track and trace procedures and subsequently developed further plans and protocols for responding to pandemic contagion in the future.

The initial SARS epidemic seasoned Canada’s centralized public health defense and disease monitoring to a degree that is more adept at dealing with a pandemic than the decentralized system in the United States.

Consequently, outcomes of the COVID-19 pandemic are notably different in the two countries.

By having greater command and control over the hospital system, Canadian health authorities slowed the initial spread of coronavirus. As a result, the death rate per capita is substantially lower in Canada, 182 deaths per 1 million population, than in the U.S. at 302 deaths per 1 million population. The U.S. coronavirus infection rate of 5,235 cases per 1 million population is more than double the infection rate in Canada of 2,305 cases per 1 million population.

This high infection and death rate in the U.S. is shocking to many Canadians. To express grassroots support for Americans, private business owners and building managers in Canadian border cities like Niagara Falls and Windsor, Ontario, have decorated the windows of tall office towers and hotels with lighted hearts, a symbol of hope.

The lights are not visible to Canadian citizens, but are pointed in the direction of the American border. That one-way message of encouragement provides a symbol of the goodwill that remains in Canada for the U.S. – as well as a reminder of the consequences of different government actions on either side of the border.

About The Author

Daniel Baldwin Hess, Professor of Urban and Regional Planning, University at Buffalo, The State University of New York and Alex Bitterman, Professor of Architecture and Design, Alfred State College of Technology, The State University of New York

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Recommended books:

Capital in the Twenty-First Century
by Thomas Piketty. (Translated by Arthur Goldhammer)

Capital in the Twenty-First Century Hardcover by Thomas Piketty.In Capital in the Twenty-First Century, Thomas Piketty analyzes a unique collection of data from twenty countries, ranging as far back as the eighteenth century, to uncover key economic and social patterns. But economic trends are not acts of God. Political action has curbed dangerous inequalities in the past, says Thomas Piketty, and may do so again. A work of extraordinary ambition, originality, and rigor, Capital in the Twenty-First Century reorients our understanding of economic history and confronts us with sobering lessons for today. His findings will transform debate and set the agenda for the next generation of thought about wealth and inequality.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


Nature's Fortune: How Business and Society Thrive by Investing in Nature
by Mark R. Tercek and Jonathan S. Adams.

Nature's Fortune: How Business and Society Thrive by Investing in Nature by Mark R. Tercek and Jonathan S. Adams.What is nature worth? The answer to this question—which traditionally has been framed in environmental terms—is revolutionizing the way we do business. In Nature’s Fortune, Mark Tercek, CEO of The Nature Conservancy and former investment banker, and science writer Jonathan Adams argue that nature is not only the foundation of human well-being, but also the smartest commercial investment any business or government can make. The forests, floodplains, and oyster reefs often seen simply as raw materials or as obstacles to be cleared in the name of progress are, in fact as important to our future prosperity as technology or law or business innovation. Nature’s Fortune offers an essential guide to the world’s economic—and environmental—well-being.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


Beyond Outrage: What has gone wrong with our economy and our democracy, and how to fix it -- by Robert B. Reich

Beyond OutrageIn this timely book, Robert B. Reich argues that nothing good happens in Washington unless citizens are energized and organized to make sure Washington acts in the public good. The first step is to see the big picture. Beyond Outrage connects the dots, showing why the increasing share of income and wealth going to the top has hobbled jobs and growth for everyone else, undermining our democracy; caused Americans to become increasingly cynical about public life; and turned many Americans against one another. He also explains why the proposals of the “regressive right” are dead wrong and provides a clear roadmap of what must be done instead. Here’s a plan for action for everyone who cares about the future of America.

Click here for more info or to order this book on Amazon.


This Changes Everything: Occupy Wall Street and the 99% Movement
by Sarah van Gelder and staff of YES! Magazine.

This Changes Everything: Occupy Wall Street and the 99% Movement by Sarah van Gelder and staff of YES! Magazine.This Changes Everything shows how the Occupy movement is shifting the way people view themselves and the world, the kind of society they believe is possible, and their own involvement in creating a society that works for the 99% rather than just the 1%. Attempts to pigeonhole this decentralized, fast-evolving movement have led to confusion and misperception. In this volume, the editors of YES! Magazine bring together voices from inside and outside the protests to convey the issues, possibilities, and personalities associated with the Occupy Wall Street movement. This book features contributions from Naomi Klein, David Korten, Rebecca Solnit, Ralph Nader, and others, as well as Occupy activists who were there from the beginning.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.



enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)