كما تطلبت موجات الطاعون في أوروبا في العصور الوسطى خطة عمل اقتصادية

كما تطلبت موجات الطاعون في أوروبا في العصور الوسطى خطة عمل اقتصادية تشهد ساحات المدن الأوروبية في العصور الوسطى على إعادة فتح الاقتصادات بعد الضربات. (صراع الأسهم)

الموت الأسود (1347-51) المجتمع الأوروبي المدمر. بعد أربعة عقود من الحدث ، لاحظ الراهب الإنجليزي والمؤرخ توماس فالسينغهام أن "يتبع الكثير من البؤس هذه العلل التي لم يعد بإمكان العالم بعدها العودة إلى حالته السابقة".

يعكس هذا التعليق في العصور الوسطى واقعًا معاشًا: عالم انقلب رأساً على عقب بسبب الخوف الجماعي والعدوى والموت.

بعد تعافى المجتمع. استمرت الحياة على الرغم من عدم اليقين. ولكن لم يكن "العمل كالمعتاد" في أعقاب ذلك - بقي خطر الطاعون.

كما تطلبت موجات الطاعون في أوروبا في العصور الوسطى خطة عمل اقتصادية يظهر انتصار الموت بواسطة بيتر بروغل الأكبر مناظر طبيعية مدمرة حيث يأخذ الموت الناس بشكل عشوائي كما بدا أثناء موجة من الطاعون. (متحف ديل برادو)

انتعاش بطيء ومؤلم

كان لعالم ما بعد الموت الأسود "لم يتم تحسينه بعد تجديده. " رثى الراهب الفرنسي غيوم دي نانغيس أن الرجال كانوا أكثر "بؤسًا وإدراكًا" و "جشعين ومُشاكلين" وأكثر تورطًا في "مشاجرات وخلافات ودعاوى قضائية".

كان النقص في العمال في أعقاب ذلك حادًا. المعاصر هيستوريا روفينسيس تلاحظ أن مساحات من الأراضي في إنجلترا "ظلت غير مزروعة"في عالم يعتمد على الإنتاج الزراعي.

تبع ذلك ندرة السلع ، مما اضطر بعض الملاك في المملكة إلى إيجارات أقل أو العفو من أجل الحفاظ على المستأجرين. قال الواعظ الإنجليزي توماس ويمبلدون: "إذا لم يعمل العمال ،"يجب أن يصبح الكهنة والفرسان مزارعين ورعاة ، وإلا يموتون بسبب قوتهم الجسدية".


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


في بعض الأحيان ، جاء التحفيز بالقوة. في عام 1349 ، أصدرت الحكومة الإنجليزية قانون العمال، التي تشريع الرجال والنساء القادرين على العمل ، يتم دفع رواتبهم وأجورهم بمعدل ما قبل الطاعون 1346.

في أوقات أخرى ، كان الانتعاش أكثر عضوية. وفقا للراهب الكرملي الفرنسي جان دي فينيت ، "في كل مكان تصور المرأة بسهولة أكبر من المعتاد؛ " لم يكن هناك أي جرداء وتكثر النساء الحوامل. ولدت عدة توائم وثلاثة توائم ، مما يشير إلى عصر جديد في أعقاب هذه الوفيات الكبيرة.

عدو مشترك ومألوف

ثم عاد الطاعون. أ الوباء الثاني ضربت إنجلترا عام 1361. أثرت موجة ثالثة على عدة دول أخرى عام 1369. وتبعها موجة رابعة وخامسة في 1374-79 و1390-93 على التوالي.

كما تطلبت موجات الطاعون في أوروبا في العصور الوسطى خطة عمل اقتصادية تصور لوحة رسمها دومينيكو جارجيلو من نابولي موجة من الأمراض التي دمرت المدينة في منتصف القرن السادس عشر.

كان الطاعون سمة ثابتة في أواخر العصور الوسطى والحياة الحديثة المبكرة. بين عامي 1348 و 1670 ، كتب المؤرخان أندرو كانينجهام وأولي بيتر جريل ، كان حدثًا منتظمًا ومتكررًا:

"... أحيانًا عبر مناطق شاسعة ، وأحيانًا في مناطق قليلة فقط ، ولكن دون حذف رابط سنوي واحد في هذه السلسلة الطويلة والحزينة".

أثر المرض على المجتمعات والقرى والبلدات مخاطر أكبر على المراكز الحضرية. مع كثافتها السكانية ، كانت لندن بالكاد خالية من الأمراض مع تفشي كبير 1603 ، 1625 ، 1636 و "الطاعون العظيم" لعام 1665الذي ادعى 15 في المائة من سكان المدينة.

لم يهرب جيل من غضبه.

السيطرة على الكارثة

لم تكن الحكومات خجولة في ردودها. في حين أن خبرتهم لا يمكن أن تمنع حدوث تفشي المرض أبدًا ، حاولت إدارتهم للأمراض التخفيف من الكوارث المستقبلية.

الملكة اليزابيث الأولى أمر الطاعون من 1578 نفذت سلسلة من الضوابط لدعم المصابين وأسرهم. في جميع أنحاء إنجلترا ، ضمنت مبادرة حكومية أن الأشخاص المصابين لم يغادروا منازلهم بحثًا عن الطعام أو العمل.

كما تم بناء البيوت لإيواء المرضى وحماية الأصحاء. في عام 1666 ، أمر الملك تشارلز الثاني كل مدينة ومدينة "لتكون على أهبة الاستعداد في حالة حدوث أي عدوى. " إذا تم اكتشاف شخص مصاب ، فسيتم إزالته من المنزل والمدينة بينما كان الأول مغلقًا لمدة 40 يومًا ، بصليب أحمر ورسالة "يا رب ارحمنا"الملصقة على الباب.

في بعض الحالات ، الحواجز ، أو تطويقات، تم بناؤها حول المجتمعات المصابة. لكنهم أساءوا في بعض الأحيان أكثر من نفعهم. وفقًا لمؤرخ عصر التنوير جان بيير بابون ، مُنع سكان بلدة ديني البروفنسية عام 1629 من المغادرة ودفن موتاهم ومن البناء كابينة حيث قد يكونون قد عزلوا بأمان من المرض.

الدولة والسلطة الأخلاقية

الخبرة والتدابير التنظيمية لم تكن دائما فعالة.

قتل الطاعون الكبير الذي ضرب مدينة مرسيليا جنوب فرنسا بين 1720 و 1722 م يقدر ب 100,000 شخص. بعد وصول غراند سانت أنطوان ، سفينة تجارية عائدة من بلاد الشام ، "الرعاية المناسبة والعلاجات"لمنع العواقب الوخيمة لهذا المرض تم تأخيرها وتجاهلها. انتشر المرض في جميع أنحاء المدينة.

كما تطلبت موجات الطاعون في أوروبا في العصور الوسطى خطة عمل اقتصادية يُظهر عمل الفنان الفرنسي ميشيل سير عام 1721 منظرًا لقاعة المدينة في مرسيليا خلال تفشي وباء المدينة في العام السابق. (متحف مرسيليا للفنون الجميلة)

بدأ الطاعون يستعر هناك في غضون أسابيع. ساهم الطبيب الفاسد ، وفواتير الصحة الكاذبة ، والضغوط السياسية والاقتصادية لتفريغ بضائع السفينة ، والمسؤولين الفاسدين الذين يحققون في الانتشار الأولي للمرض ، في كارثة بالكاد يمكن احتواؤها في جنوب فرنسا.

كانت المستشفيات مشبعة ، غير قادرة على "استقبال العدد الكبير من المرضى الذين أتوا إليهم في الحشود". بممارسة "الاجتهاد المزدوج" ، قامت السلطات ببناء مستشفيات جديدة في الأزقة ، "قامت بتركيب خيام كبيرة" في ضواحي المدينة ، وملئها بـ "أكبر عدد ممكن من أسرة القش يمكن أن تبقى هناك".

خوفا من انتقال المرض على شواطئها ، قامت الحكومة الإنجليزية بسرعة بتحديث تدابير الحماية الخاصة بها. ال قانون الحجر الصحي لعام 1721 هدد بالعنف أو السجن أو الموت على أي شخص يحاول الهرب من الحبس القسري ، أو أولئك الذين يرفضون الامتثال للقيود الجديدة.

كما تطلبت موجات الطاعون في أوروبا في العصور الوسطى خطة عمل اقتصادية صورة لإدموند جيبسون ، أسقف لندن ، منسوبة إلى الرسام الإنجليزي جون فاندربانك. (مكتبة بودليان ، جامعة أكسفورد)

اعتبر البعض هذه التدابير غير ضرورية. كتب أحد المؤلفين المجهولين: "ربما تكون العدوى قد قتلت الآلاف ،"لكن اغلاقه قتل عشرة آلاف ..."

ولم يوافق إدموند جيبسون ، أسقف لندن والمدافع عن الحكومة. وكتب "حيثما يكون المرض يائسًا ، يجب أن يكون العلاج كذلك". على هذا النحو ، كتب ، لم يكن هناك جدوى من المسكن "على الحقوق والحريات ، وسهولة وراحة البشرية ، عندما كان هناك طاعون معلق فوق رؤوسنا".

كان التفكك الاجتماعي نتيجة حتمية - شر ضروري. ولكن كما تذكرنا التجارب الحديثة في العصور الوسطى والمبكرة بالطاعون ، فهي ليست أداة دائمة.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

كريستون ر. ريني ، زميل زائر في المعهد البابوي لدراسات العصور الوسطى ، تورنتو ، وأستاذ مشارك في تاريخ العصور الوسطى ، جامعة كوينزلاند

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

وأوصت الكتب:

رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين
توماس بيكيتي. (ترجمه آرثر غولدهامر)

رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين غلاف فني من قبل توماس Piketty.In رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين ، يحلل توماس بيكيتي مجموعة فريدة من البيانات من عشرين دولة ، تراوحت في القرن الثامن عشر ، لتكشف عن الأنماط الاقتصادية والاجتماعية الرئيسية. لكن الاتجاهات الاقتصادية ليست أعمال الله. يقول توماس بيكيتي: لقد أدى العمل السياسي إلى الحد من التفاوتات الخطيرة في الماضي ، وقد يفعل ذلك مرة أخرى. عمل طموح غير عادي ، أصالة ، ودقة ، رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين يعيد فهمنا للتاريخ الاقتصادي ويواجهنا بدروس واقعية اليوم. وستغير نتائجه النقاش وتحدد جدول الأعمال للجيل القادم من التفكير في الثروة وعدم المساواة.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


ثروة الطبيعة: كيف تزدهر الأعمال والمجتمع من خلال الاستثمار في الطبيعة
بقلم مارك ر. تيرسيك وجوناثان س. آدمز.

ثروة الطبيعة: كيف تزدهر الأعمال والمجتمع من خلال الاستثمار في الطبيعة بقلـم مارك ر. تيرسيك وجوناثان س. آدامز.ما هي طبيعة يستحق؟ الإجابة على تقليديا مؤطرة في البيئة هذه التي سؤال حيث هو ثورة في الطريقة التي نؤدي بها أعمالنا. في فورتشن الطبيعةيقول مارك تيرسيك ، الرئيس التنفيذي لـ The Nature Conservancy and bank of banker السابق ، والكاتب جوناثان آدامز ، إن الطبيعة ليست فقط أساس رفاهية الإنسان ، بل هي أيضا أذكى استثمار تجاري يمكن أن تقوم به أي شركة أو حكومة. الغابات ، والسهول الفيضية ، وشعاب المحار التي غالبا ما ينظر إليها ببساطة على أنها مواد خام أو عوائق يجب تطهيرها باسم التقدم ، هي في الواقع مهمة بالنسبة لرفاهنا المستقبلي مثل التكنولوجيا أو القانون أو الابتكار في الأعمال. فورتشن الطبيعة يقدم دليلا أساسيا للرفاهية الاقتصادية والبيئية في العالم.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


ما بعد الغضب: قد ذهب ما الخطأ في اقتصادنا وديمقراطيتنا، وكيفية اصلاحها -- بواسطة الرايخ روبرت ب.

ما بعد الغضبفي هذا الكتاب في الوقت المناسب، روبرت ب. رايخ يقول أن لا شيء جيد يحدث في واشنطن ما لم يتم تنشيط المنظمة والمواطنين للتأكد من أفعال واشنطن في الصالح العام. الخطوة الأولى هي أن نرى الصورة الكبيرة. ما بعد الغضب يربط بين النقاط، والتي تبين لماذا حصة متزايدة من الدخل والثروة الذهاب إلى الأعلى قد اعاقه فرص العمل والنمو لشخص آخر، مما يقوض ديمقراطيتنا؛ تسبب الأميركيين أن تصبح ساخرة على نحو متزايد بشأن الحياة العامة، وتحول كثير من الأمريكيين ضد بعضها البعض. وهو ما يفسر أيضا لماذا مقترحات "الحق رجعية" على خطأ القتلى ويشكل خريطة طريق واضحة لما يجب القيام به بدلا من ذلك. وهنا خطة للعمل لكل من يهتم بمستقبل الأمريكية.

انقر هنا للمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


هذه التغييرات كل شيء: تحتل وول ستريت وحركة 99٪
بواسطة سارة فان جيلدر وموظفي YES! مجلة.

هذه التغييرات كل شيء: تحتل وول ستريت وحركة 99٪ من سارة فان جيلدر وموظفي YES! مجلة.هذا يغير كل شيء يوضح كيف أن حركة "الإحتلال" تغير الطريقة التي ينظر بها الناس إلى أنفسهم والعالم ، نوع المجتمع الذي يعتقدون أنه ممكن ، ومشاركتهم في خلق مجتمع يعمل لـ 99٪ بدلاً من 1٪ فقط. وقد أدت محاولات صراع هذه الحركة اللامركزية السريعة التطور إلى الارتباك وسوء الفهم. في هذا المجلد ، محرري نعم فعلا! مجلة جمع الأصوات من داخل وخارج الاحتجاجات لنقل القضايا والإمكانيات والشخصيات المرتبطة بحركة احتلوا وول ستريت. يقدم هذا الكتاب مساهمات من نعومي كلاين ، وديفيد كورتين ، وريبيكا سولنيت ، ورالف نادر ، وآخرين ، بالإضافة إلى نشطاء احتلوا هناك منذ البداية.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.



enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

التباطؤ والاستيقاظ على الأرض
التباطؤ والاستيقاظ على الأرض
by إليزابيث إي ميتشام ، دكتوراه

من المحررين

التميمة للوباء والأغنية موضوع للعزلة الاجتماعية
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لقد صادفت أغنية مؤخرًا ، وبينما كنت أستمع إلى كلمات الأغاني ، اعتقدت أنها ستكون أغنية مثالية كـ "أغنية موضوعية" في أوقات العزلة الاجتماعية هذه. (كلمات تحت الفيديو.)
ترك راندي قمع غضبي
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
(تم التحديث في 4-26) لم أتمكن من كتابة شيء أرغب في نشره في الشهر الماضي ، ترى أنني غاضب. انا فقط اريد انتقاد.
إعلان خدمة بلوتو
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
(تم التحديث في 4/15/2020) الآن بما أن كل شخص لديه الوقت الكافي للإبداع ، لا يوجد ما يقوله عن الترفيه عن نفسك الداخلية.
الجانب الخفيف من التحليل النفسي لأرنب عيد الفصح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في InnerSelf ، نشجع الاستبطان ، وبالتالي كان من دواعي سرورنا أن نرى أنه حتى أرنب عيد الفصح قد طلب المساعدة في فهم عاداته وإكراهاته.
ماريان ويليامسون تعكس جائحة فيروس كورونا
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
تأملات ماريان ويليامسون حول جائحة فيروس كورونا الحالي في 31 مارس 2020.

Medieval Europe's Waves Of Plague Also Required An Economic Action Plan

Medieval Europe's Waves Of Plague Also Required An Economic Action Plan The squares of medieval European cities bore witness to the reopening of economies after plagues. (Shutterstock)

The Black Death (1347-51) devastated European society. Writing four decades after the event, the English monk and chronicler, Thomas Walsingham, remarked that “so much wretchedness followed these ills that afterwards the world could never return to its former state.”

This medieval commentary reflects a lived reality: a world turned upside down by mass fear, contagion and death.

Yet society recovered. Life continued despite the uncertainty. But it was not “business-as-usual” in the aftermath — the threat of plague remained.

Medieval Europe's Waves Of Plague Also Required An Economic Action Plan The Triumph of Death by Pieter Bruegel the Elder shows a devastated landscape where death is taking people indiscriminately as it appeared to during a wave of plague. (Museo del Prado)

Slow and painful recovery

The post-Black Death world had “not been made any better by its renewal.” The French monk, Guillaume de Nangis, lamented that men were more “miserly and grasping,” “greedy and quarrelsome” and involved in more “brawls, disputes and lawsuits.”

The shortage of workers in the aftermath was acute. The contemporary Historia Roffensis notes that swaths of land in England “remained uncultivated,” in a world dependent on agricultural production.

A scarcity of goods soon followed, forcing some landlords in the realm to lower or pardon rents in order to keep their tenants. “If labourers work not,” quipped the English preacher, Thomas Wimbledon, “priests and knights must become cultivators and herdsmen, or else die for want of bodily sustenance.”


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Sometimes, the stimulus came by force. In 1349, the English government issued its Ordinance of Laborers, which legislated able-bodied men and women be paid salaries and wages at the pre-plague 1346 rate.

Other times, the recovery was more organic. According to the French Carmelite friar, Jean de Venette, “everywhere women conceived more readily than usual;” none was barren and pregnant women abounded. Several gave birth to twins and triplets, signalling a new age in the aftermath of such a great mortality.

A common and familiar enemy

Then the plague returned. A second pestilence struck England in 1361. A third wave affected several other countries in 1369. A fourth and fifth wave followed in 1374-79 and 1390-93 respectively.

Medieval Europe's Waves Of Plague Also Required An Economic Action Plan A painting by Domenico Gargiulo of Naples depicts a wave of disease that ravaged the city in the mid-1500s.

Plague was a constant feature in late medieval and early modern life. Between 1348 and 1670, wrote historians Andrew Cunningham and Ole Peter Grell, it was a regular and recurring event:

… sometimes across vast regions, sometimes only in a few localities, but without omitting a single annual link in this long and mournful chain.”

The disease impacted communities, villages and towns with greater risks to urban centres. With its dense population, London was scarcely free from disease with large outbreaks in 1603, 1625, 1636 and the “Great Plague” of 1665, which claimed 15 per cent of the city’s population.

No generation escaped its wrath.

Controlling the disaster

Governments were not shy in their responses. While their experience could never prevent an outbreak, their management of disease tried to mitigate future disasters.

Queen Elizabeth I’s Plague Order of 1578 implemented a series of controls to support the infected and their families. Throughout England, a government initiative ensured that infected people did not leave their homes for food or work.

Pesthouses were also built to house the sick and protect the healthy. In 1666, King Charles II ordered each town and city “to be in readiness in case any infection should break out.” If an infected person was discovered, he or she would be removed from the house and city while the former was closed for 40 days, with a red cross and the message “Lord have mercy upon us” affixed to the door.

In some cases, barriers, or cordons sanitaires, were built around infected communities. But they sometimes did more harm than good. According to the Enlightenment historian Jean-Pierre Papon, residents of the Provençal town of Digne in 1629 were prevented from leaving, from burying their dead and from constructing cabanes where they might have otherwise safely isolated from the disease.

State and moral authority

Experience and regulatory measures weren’t always effective.

The great plague that struck the southern French city of Marseille between 1720 and 1722 killed an estimated 100,000 people. Following the arrival of the Grand Saint-Antoine, a merchant ship returning from the Levant, “proper care and remedies” to prevent the fatal consequences of this disease were delayed and ignored. The disease spread to all parts of the city.

Medieval Europe's Waves Of Plague Also Required An Economic Action Plan French artist Michel Serre’s 1721 work shows a view of the town hall in Marseilles during the city’s outbreak of plague the previous year. (Marseille Museum of Fine Arts)

The plague began to rage there within a matter of weeks. A corrupt doctor, false bills of health, political and economic pressures to unload the ship’s merchandise, and corrupt officials investigating the initial spread of the disease, all contributed to a disaster that could scarcely be contained in southern France.

Hospitals were saturated, unable to “receive the vast quantity of sick which came to them in throngs.” Exercising “double diligence,” authorities built new hospitals in the alleys, “fitted up large tents” on the city’s outskirts, filling them with “as many straw beds as possibly could remain there.”

Fearful of transmission on its shores, the English government quickly updated its protective measures. The Quarantine Act of 1721 threatened violence, imprisonment or death on anyone endeavouring to escape the enforced confinement, or those refusing to obey the new restrictions.

Medieval Europe's Waves Of Plague Also Required An Economic Action Plan A portrait of Edmund Gibson, the bishop of London, attributed to English portraitist John Vanderbank. (Bodleian Library, University of Oxford)

Some deemed these measures unnecessary. “Infection may have killed its thousands,” wrote one anonymous author, “but shutting up hath killed its ten thousands …

Edmund Gibson, the bishop of London and an apologist for the government, disagreed. “Where the disease is desperate,” he wrote, “the remedy must be so too.” As such, he wrote, there was no point dwelling “upon rights and liberties, and the ease and convenience of mankind, when there was plague hanging over our heads.”

Social dislocation was an inevitable result — a necessary evil. But as medieval and early modern experiences with plague remind us, it is not a permanent fixture.The Conversation

About The Author

Kriston R. Rennie, Visiting Fellow at the Pontifical Institute of Mediaeval Studies, Toronto, and Associate Professor in Medieval History, The University of Queensland

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Recommended books:

Capital in the Twenty-First Century
by Thomas Piketty. (Translated by Arthur Goldhammer)

Capital in the Twenty-First Century Hardcover by Thomas Piketty.In Capital in the Twenty-First Century, Thomas Piketty analyzes a unique collection of data from twenty countries, ranging as far back as the eighteenth century, to uncover key economic and social patterns. But economic trends are not acts of God. Political action has curbed dangerous inequalities in the past, says Thomas Piketty, and may do so again. A work of extraordinary ambition, originality, and rigor, Capital in the Twenty-First Century reorients our understanding of economic history and confronts us with sobering lessons for today. His findings will transform debate and set the agenda for the next generation of thought about wealth and inequality.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


Nature's Fortune: How Business and Society Thrive by Investing in Nature
by Mark R. Tercek and Jonathan S. Adams.

Nature's Fortune: How Business and Society Thrive by Investing in Nature by Mark R. Tercek and Jonathan S. Adams.What is nature worth? The answer to this question—which traditionally has been framed in environmental terms—is revolutionizing the way we do business. In Nature’s Fortune, Mark Tercek, CEO of The Nature Conservancy and former investment banker, and science writer Jonathan Adams argue that nature is not only the foundation of human well-being, but also the smartest commercial investment any business or government can make. The forests, floodplains, and oyster reefs often seen simply as raw materials or as obstacles to be cleared in the name of progress are, in fact as important to our future prosperity as technology or law or business innovation. Nature’s Fortune offers an essential guide to the world’s economic—and environmental—well-being.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


Beyond Outrage: What has gone wrong with our economy and our democracy, and how to fix it -- by Robert B. Reich

Beyond OutrageIn this timely book, Robert B. Reich argues that nothing good happens in Washington unless citizens are energized and organized to make sure Washington acts in the public good. The first step is to see the big picture. Beyond Outrage connects the dots, showing why the increasing share of income and wealth going to the top has hobbled jobs and growth for everyone else, undermining our democracy; caused Americans to become increasingly cynical about public life; and turned many Americans against one another. He also explains why the proposals of the “regressive right” are dead wrong and provides a clear roadmap of what must be done instead. Here’s a plan for action for everyone who cares about the future of America.

Click here for more info or to order this book on Amazon.


This Changes Everything: Occupy Wall Street and the 99% Movement
by Sarah van Gelder and staff of YES! Magazine.

This Changes Everything: Occupy Wall Street and the 99% Movement by Sarah van Gelder and staff of YES! Magazine.This Changes Everything shows how the Occupy movement is shifting the way people view themselves and the world, the kind of society they believe is possible, and their own involvement in creating a society that works for the 99% rather than just the 1%. Attempts to pigeonhole this decentralized, fast-evolving movement have led to confusion and misperception. In this volume, the editors of YES! Magazine bring together voices from inside and outside the protests to convey the issues, possibilities, and personalities associated with the Occupy Wall Street movement. This book features contributions from Naomi Klein, David Korten, Rebecca Solnit, Ralph Nader, and others, as well as Occupy activists who were there from the beginning.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.



enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die prematurely as a direct…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)
Letting Randy Funnel My Furiousness
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
(Updated 4-26) I have not been able to right-write a thing I am willing to publish this last month, You see I am furious. I just want to lash out.