هل يمكن للضمانات الوظيفية والدخل الأساسي إنقاذنا من الكساد الاقتصادي؟

هل يمكن للضمانات الوظيفية والدخل الأساسي إنقاذنا من الكساد الاقتصادي؟ يعد الدخل الأساسي الشامل وضمان الوظيفة من الطرق الحاسمة لمساعدتنا على تجاوز العاصفة الاقتصادية لوباء الفيروس التاجي. (صراع الأسهم)

COVID-19 هي أزمة صحة عامة وأزمة اقتصادية. إن التدابير المتخذة للتعامل مع أزمة الصحة العامة تهدد رفاهنا الاقتصادي.

هناك شبه إجماع بين الاقتصاديين على أن الاستجابة للركود الناجم عن الفيروس التاجي يجب أن تكون عدوانية. كما جاء في العنوان الفرعي لكتاب إلكتروني جديد حول كيفية الاستجابة للركود COVID-19:تصرف بسرعة وافعل ما تريد".

إن التنفيذ الفوري للدخل الأساسي الشامل مع ضمان العمل من شأنه أن يساعد في معالجة مشاكلنا الاقتصادية الحالية وأزمة الصحة العامة. يمكن أن يساعدنا مزيج السياسات أيضًا في التعامل مع تغير المناخ ، الذي يمثل أزمة بيئية واقتصادية.

رد الحكومة الحالية

في الوقت الحالي ، اختارت حكومة كندا الاعتماد على توسيع البرامج الحالية مثل تأمين العمل وإعانة الطفل الكندية. لكن هذه البرامج لديها أوجه قصور موجودة مسبقًا ، مثل لاحظته شيلا بلوككبير الاقتصاديين في المركز الكندي لبدائل السياسة.

ليس كل العاملين في ما يسمى اقتصاد الحفلة مؤهلين للحصول على الذكاء العاطفي. وفقد العديد من هؤلاء العمال جميع العربات التي أبقتهم طافيا ماليا.

يمكن للدخل الأساسي العالمي أن يزود الأشخاص الذين يعانون من المخاطر المالية بالأموال التي يحتاجونها. وستبقي الأموال تتدفق عبر النظام المالي.

دروس من ركود 2008

أظهرت الأزمة المالية العالمية لعام 2008 ما يحدث عندما تتوقف الأموال عن التدفق. المؤسسات المالية المترابطة بشدة تنهال وتهدد بالانهيار.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


استغرق الأمر تدخل هائل من قبل الاحتياطي الفيدرالي للولايات المتحدة لمنع سلسلة من فشل البنوك. أنقذت إجراءات مجلس الاحتياطي الفيدرالي المؤسسات المالية التي خلقت المشكلة ولكنها لم تفعل شيئًا للأشخاص الذين فقدوا منازلهم ووظائفهم. يمكن أن تكون خطة الدخل الأساسية جزءًا من تصحيح هذا الخطأ.

تأتي الدعوات للحصول على دخل أساسي عالمي من جهات متنوعة. كين Boessenkool ، ناشط محافظ ، يطلب ذلك معا في ماكلين و ال جلوب اند ميلرغم أنه نص على أنها "فكرة سيئة" في "الأوقات العادية".

العرائض يطالبون بدخل أساسي يتم تداولها على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي.

سوق حرة؟

دعوة بعض المحافظين للحصول على دخل أساسي ليست مفاجئة في الواقع.

يجادل بعض المناصرين بأنها سياسة السوق المؤيدة للحرية لأنها تعطي الأولوية للاختيار الفردي. هذا هو السبب في أن السوق الحرة البارزة ميلتون فريدمان دعا إلى ضريبة دخل سلبيةوهو شكل من أشكال الدخل الشامل.

بعض يجادل منتقدو الدخل الأساسيومع ذلك ، فإنه يبرر القضاء على المؤسسات العامة لصالح الشركات. على سبيل المثال ، يمكن لمعارضي الإنفاق الحكومي استهداف التعليم الممول من القطاع العام لأنه لم يعد ضروريًا لأن الأفراد يمكنهم استخدام دخلهم الأساسي للاختيار من بين الخيارات الخاصة.

عضو الكونجرس الأمريكي الإسكندرية أوكاسيو كورتيز غردت قلقها أن الدخل الأساسي غير الطارئ قد يضر بالسكان الضعفاء من خلال إلغاء البرامج الحكومية الهامة الأخرى. أضافت أوكاسيو كورتيز دعوتها لضمانات العمل التي تروج لها جزء من صفقة خضراء جديدة.

ضمان العمل ليس فكرة جديدة. كان الحق في العمل جزءًا من حق الرئيس الأمريكي فرانكلين روزفلت شرعة الحقوق الاقتصادية. أدرج الحزب الديمقراطي العمالة الكاملة في حزبه 1980 منصة رئاسية.

العمالة الكاملة لا تغذي التضخم

تم دفع السعي وراء العمالة الكاملة للخروج من التيار السياسي الرئيسي وفي الهوامش الاقتصادية من قبل الاقتصاديين الذين جادلوا أنه إذا تم دفع البطالة منخفضة للغاية ، فسوف يتسبب في ارتفاع التضخم عن السيطرة.

في العقد الذي تلا الأزمة المالية العالمية ، انخفض معدل البطالة في كل من كندا والولايات المتحدة بشكل مطرد. حتى الركود الحالي الناجم عن COVID-19 ، كانت البطالة عند مستوى تاريخي منخفض. ومع ذلك ، لم يحدث تضخم جامح متوقع.

لعقود قبل الأزمة المالية ، لم تتدخل الحكومة لزيادة التوظيف. بالاعتماد على نصيحة الاقتصاديين ، أدانوا بلا داع ملايين الأشخاص لبؤس البطالة.

هل يمكن للضمانات الوظيفية والدخل الأساسي إنقاذنا من الكساد الاقتصادي؟ في هذه الصورة في مارس 2009 ، ينضم الباحثون عن عمل إلى مجموعة من مئات الأشخاص في معرض للوظائف برعاية Monster.com في نيويورك في خضم الأزمة المالية. AP Photo / Mark Lennihan

مع انخفاض معدل البطالة والتضخم المستقر ، أثار المدافعون عن العمالة الكاملة المصلحة العامة في ضمان الوظيفة. باحثة معهد ليفي بافلينا تشيرنيفا هي على وجه الخصوص مؤيد بارز. كما أنها مكون رئيسي في النظرية النقدية الحديثة الذي حصل على الكثير من الاهتمام في المناقشات حول تمويل صفقة خضراء جديدة.

تسوية منحنى فقدان الوظيفة

إن الاحتياطات التي اتخذت "لتسوية منحنى" COVID-19 دفعت الملايين من الناس إلى العمل. ومع ذلك ، هناك عدد لا يحصى من المهام التي يتعين إنجازها للحفاظ على عمل المجتمع.

ماذا لو وظفنا فنانين لجعل الملصقات تشيد بفضائل غسل اليدين؟ أو المصورين لإنتاج لقطات ساحرة لبقالينا الأبطال؟ ماذا لو استأجرنا مضيفات المسرحين المسرحين للمساعدة في إدارة الحشود في مراكز اختبار COVID-19؟ أو استأجرت عمال السيارات المسرحين تسليم البقالة إلى الحجر الصحي؟

هل يمكن للضمانات الوظيفية والدخل الأساسي إنقاذنا من الكساد الاقتصادي؟ ملصق لمجلس الأغذية الكندي من عام 1918 يحذر الناس من التوقف عن تخزين السلع خلال الحرب العالمية الأولى. (مكتبة الكونجرس)

يضمن الدخل الأساسي الشامل ألا يشعر أحد بالإكراه على العمل. لكن معظم الناس يريدون المساهمة في المجتمع بطريقة مفيدة. يضمن ضمان الوظيفة أن كل من يريد وظيفة لديه وظيفة.

العمل المناخي

يتطلب التعامل مع ركود COVID-19 أن نخلق وظائف لن يفعلها القطاع الخاص المدفوع بالربح. وينطبق الشيء نفسه على أزمة المناخ.

إن الكثير مما يجب القيام به للانتقال من اقتصادنا الحالي إلى اقتصاد مستدام لن يكون مربحًا. وهذا يعني أن القطاع الخاص لن يتعامل معه من تلقاء نفسه. ستحتاج الحكومة إلى تمويل الانتقال وعدد لا يصدق من الوظائف اللازمة لإنجاز المهمة.

ووصف ديفيد أندولفاتو ، نائب الرئيس في الاحتياطي الفيدرالي الأمريكي ، الآثار الاقتصادية لاستجابات COVID-19 بأنها "الركود المخطط".

عرف صانعو القرار أن الإجراءات المتخذة للتعامل مع COVID-19 ستؤدي إلى الركود. بالنظر إلى التخطيط للتسبب في الركود ، فمن المعقول استخدام التخطيط للتخفيف من أضراره. سيسمح لنا هذا التخفيف ببدء التحول الاقتصادي الذي سنحتاجه أيضًا لمعالجة أزمة المناخ.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

د ت كوكران ، باحث اقتصادي ، جامعة يورك ، كندا

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

وأوصت الكتب:

رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين
توماس بيكيتي. (ترجمه آرثر غولدهامر)

رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين غلاف فني من قبل توماس Piketty.In رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين ، يحلل توماس بيكيتي مجموعة فريدة من البيانات من عشرين دولة ، تراوحت في القرن الثامن عشر ، لتكشف عن الأنماط الاقتصادية والاجتماعية الرئيسية. لكن الاتجاهات الاقتصادية ليست أعمال الله. يقول توماس بيكيتي: لقد أدى العمل السياسي إلى الحد من التفاوتات الخطيرة في الماضي ، وقد يفعل ذلك مرة أخرى. عمل طموح غير عادي ، أصالة ، ودقة ، رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين يعيد فهمنا للتاريخ الاقتصادي ويواجهنا بدروس واقعية اليوم. وستغير نتائجه النقاش وتحدد جدول الأعمال للجيل القادم من التفكير في الثروة وعدم المساواة.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


ثروة الطبيعة: كيف تزدهر الأعمال والمجتمع من خلال الاستثمار في الطبيعة
بقلم مارك ر. تيرسيك وجوناثان س. آدمز.

ثروة الطبيعة: كيف تزدهر الأعمال والمجتمع من خلال الاستثمار في الطبيعة بقلـم مارك ر. تيرسيك وجوناثان س. آدامز.ما هي طبيعة يستحق؟ الإجابة على تقليديا مؤطرة في البيئة هذه التي سؤال حيث هو ثورة في الطريقة التي نؤدي بها أعمالنا. في فورتشن الطبيعةيقول مارك تيرسيك ، الرئيس التنفيذي لـ The Nature Conservancy and bank of banker السابق ، والكاتب جوناثان آدامز ، إن الطبيعة ليست فقط أساس رفاهية الإنسان ، بل هي أيضا أذكى استثمار تجاري يمكن أن تقوم به أي شركة أو حكومة. الغابات ، والسهول الفيضية ، وشعاب المحار التي غالبا ما ينظر إليها ببساطة على أنها مواد خام أو عوائق يجب تطهيرها باسم التقدم ، هي في الواقع مهمة بالنسبة لرفاهنا المستقبلي مثل التكنولوجيا أو القانون أو الابتكار في الأعمال. فورتشن الطبيعة يقدم دليلا أساسيا للرفاهية الاقتصادية والبيئية في العالم.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


ما بعد الغضب: قد ذهب ما الخطأ في اقتصادنا وديمقراطيتنا، وكيفية اصلاحها -- بواسطة الرايخ روبرت ب.

ما بعد الغضبفي هذا الكتاب في الوقت المناسب، روبرت ب. رايخ يقول أن لا شيء جيد يحدث في واشنطن ما لم يتم تنشيط المنظمة والمواطنين للتأكد من أفعال واشنطن في الصالح العام. الخطوة الأولى هي أن نرى الصورة الكبيرة. ما بعد الغضب يربط بين النقاط، والتي تبين لماذا حصة متزايدة من الدخل والثروة الذهاب إلى الأعلى قد اعاقه فرص العمل والنمو لشخص آخر، مما يقوض ديمقراطيتنا؛ تسبب الأميركيين أن تصبح ساخرة على نحو متزايد بشأن الحياة العامة، وتحول كثير من الأمريكيين ضد بعضها البعض. وهو ما يفسر أيضا لماذا مقترحات "الحق رجعية" على خطأ القتلى ويشكل خريطة طريق واضحة لما يجب القيام به بدلا من ذلك. وهنا خطة للعمل لكل من يهتم بمستقبل الأمريكية.

انقر هنا للمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


هذه التغييرات كل شيء: تحتل وول ستريت وحركة 99٪
بواسطة سارة فان جيلدر وموظفي YES! مجلة.

هذه التغييرات كل شيء: تحتل وول ستريت وحركة 99٪ من سارة فان جيلدر وموظفي YES! مجلة.هذا يغير كل شيء يوضح كيف أن حركة "الإحتلال" تغير الطريقة التي ينظر بها الناس إلى أنفسهم والعالم ، نوع المجتمع الذي يعتقدون أنه ممكن ، ومشاركتهم في خلق مجتمع يعمل لـ 99٪ بدلاً من 1٪ فقط. وقد أدت محاولات صراع هذه الحركة اللامركزية السريعة التطور إلى الارتباك وسوء الفهم. في هذا المجلد ، محرري نعم فعلا! مجلة جمع الأصوات من داخل وخارج الاحتجاجات لنقل القضايا والإمكانيات والشخصيات المرتبطة بحركة احتلوا وول ستريت. يقدم هذا الكتاب مساهمات من نعومي كلاين ، وديفيد كورتين ، وريبيكا سولنيت ، ورالف نادر ، وآخرين ، بالإضافة إلى نشطاء احتلوا هناك منذ البداية.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.



enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

بديل حقيقي للطب البديل: الأيورفيدا
بديل حقيقي للطب البديل: الأيورفيدا
by ماريان تيتلبوم ، العاصمة

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 6 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نرى الحياة من خلال عدسات إدراكنا. كتب ستيفن آر كوفي: "نحن نرى العالم ، ليس كما هو ، ولكن كما نحن ، أو كما نحن مشروطون برؤيته". لذلك هذا الأسبوع ، نلقي نظرة على بعض ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 30 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الطرق التي نسلكها هذه الأيام قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها جديدة بالنسبة لنا. التجارب التي نمر بها قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها أيضًا جديدة بالنسبة لنا. الشيء نفسه ينطبق على ...
عندما تكون الحقيقة فظيعة للغاية ومؤلمة ، اتخذ إجراءً
by ماري T. راسل، InnerSelf.com
وسط كل الأهوال التي تحدث هذه الأيام ، ألهمني شعاع الأمل الذي يسطع من خلاله. الناس العاديون يدافعون عن الصواب (وضد ما هو خطأ). لاعبي البيسبول،…
عندما يكون ظهرك مقابل الحائط
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
احب الانترنت. الآن أعرف أن الكثير من الناس لديهم الكثير من الأشياء السيئة ليقولوها عن ذلك ، لكني أحب ذلك. مثلما أحب الناس في حياتي - فهم ليسوا مثاليين ، لكني أحبهم على أي حال.
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 23 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
ربما يتفق الجميع على أننا نعيش في أوقات غريبة ... تجارب جديدة ، مواقف جديدة ، تحديات جديدة. ولكن يمكن أن نشجع على تذكر أن كل شيء في حالة تغير مستمر ، ...

Can Job Guarantees And Basic Income Save Us From An Economic Depression?

Can Job Guarantees And Basic Income Save Us From An Economic Depression? A universal basic income and a job guarantee are critical ways to help us weather the economic storm of the coronavirus pandemic. (Shutterstock)

COVID-19 is both a public health crisis and an economic crisis. The measures taken to deal with the public health crisis threaten our economic well-being.

There is near unanimity among economists that the response to the coronavirus-induced recession must be aggressive. As stated by the subtitle of a new e-book on how to respond to the COVID-19 recession: “Act Fast and Do Whatever It Takes.”

Immediate implementation of a universal basic income combined with a job guarantee would help address our current economic problems and the public health crisis. The policy combination could also help us deal with climate change, which is both an ecological and economic crisis.

Current government response

For now, the government of Canada has chosen to rely on expanding existing programs such as Employment Insurance and the Canada Child Benefit. But these programs have pre-existing shortcomings, as noted by Sheila Block, senior economist with the Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives.

Not all workers in the so-called gig economy qualify for EI. And many of these workers have lost all of the gigs that kept them financially afloat.

A universal basic income could provide financially precarious people with the money they need. And it would keep money flowing through the financial system.

Lessons from 2008 recession

The 2008 global financial crisis showed what happens when the money stops flowing. Deeply interconnected financial institutions seize up and threaten to collapse.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


It took massive intervention by the United States Federal Reserve to prevent a cascade of bank failures. The Fed’s actions saved the financial institutions that created the problem but did nothing for the people losing houses and jobs. A basic income plan can be part of rectifying that mistake.

Calls for a universal basic income are coming from diverse quarters. Ken Boessenkool, a Conservative activist, demands it in both Maclean’s and the Globe and Mail, although he stipulated it’s “a bad idea” in “normal times.”

Petitions demanding a basic income are circulating on social media.

Pro-free market?

The call by some conservatives for a basic income isn’t actually surprising.

Some advocates argue that it’s pro-free market policy because it prioritizes individual choice. That’s why prominent free marketeer Milton Friedman advocated a negative income tax, which is a form of universal income.

Some basic income critics argue, however, that it would justify eliminating public institutions in favour of corporations. For example, opponents of government spending could target publicly funded education as no longer necessary because individuals can use their basic income to choose among private options.

U.S. Congresswoman Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez tweeted her concern that a non-emergency basic income could harm vulnerable populations by eliminating other important government programs. Ocasio-Cortez added her advocacy for job guarantees, which she promotes as part of a Green New Deal.

A job guarantee is not a new idea. A right to employment was part of U.S. President Franklin D. Roosevelt’s economic bill of rights. The Democratic Party included full employment in its 1980 presidential platform.

Full employment doesn’t fuel inflation

The pursuit of full employment was pushed out of the political mainstream and into the economic margins by economists who argued that if unemployment was pushed too low it would cause inflation to rise out of control.

In the decade since the global financial crisis, the unemployment rate in both Canada and the U.S. has steadily decreased. Until the current COVID-19-induced recession, unemployment was at a historical low. And yet, forecasted runaway inflation did not occur.

For decades before the financial crisis, the government did not intervene to increase employment. Relying on the advice of economists, they unnecessarily condemned millions of people to the misery of unemployment.

Can Job Guarantees And Basic Income Save Us From An Economic Depression? In this March 2009 photo, job seekers join a line of hundreds of people at a job fair sponsored by Monster.com in New York in the midst of the financial crisis. AP Photo/Mark Lennihan

With low unemployment and stable inflation, advocates of full employment have spurred public interest in a job guarantee. Levy Institute researcher Pavlina Tcherneva is a particularly prominent proponent. It’s also a key component of the Modern Monetary Theory that’s earned a lot of attention in debates about funding a Green New Deal.

Flattening the job loss curve

The precautions taken to “flatten the curve” of COVID-19 have pushed millions of people out of work. Yet there is an untold number of tasks that need to be accomplished to keep society functioning.

What if we hired artists to make posters extolling the virtues of hand-washing? Or photographers to produce glamour shots of our heroic grocers? What if we hired laid-off flight attendants to help manage crowds at COVID-19 testing centres? Or hired laid-off autoworkers to deliver groceries to the quarantined?

Can Job Guarantees And Basic Income Save Us From An Economic Depression? A Canada Food Board poster from 1918 warning people to stop hoarding goods during the First World War. (Library of Congress)

A universal basic income ensures that no one feels forced into work. But most people want to contribute to society in a useful way. A job guarantee ensures that everyone who wants a job has one.

Climate action

Dealing with the COVID-19 recession requires us to create jobs that the profit-driven private sector will not. The same is true of the climate crisis.

Much of what needs to be done to transition from our current economy to a sustainable economy will not be profitable. That means the private sector will not take it on of its own accord. Government will need to fund the transition and the incredible number of jobs needed to accomplish the task.

David Andolfatto, a vice-president at the U.S. Federal Reserve, described the economic effects of COVID-19 responses as a “planned recession.”

Decision-makers knew actions taken to deal with COVID-19 would produce a recession. Given the planning to cause the recession, it is reasonable to use planning to mitigate its harms. That mitigation will allow us to begin the economic transformation we’ll also need to address the climate crisis.The Conversation

About The Author

D.T. Cochrane, Economic Researcher, York University, Canada

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Recommended books:

Capital in the Twenty-First Century
by Thomas Piketty. (Translated by Arthur Goldhammer)

Capital in the Twenty-First Century Hardcover by Thomas Piketty.In Capital in the Twenty-First Century, Thomas Piketty analyzes a unique collection of data from twenty countries, ranging as far back as the eighteenth century, to uncover key economic and social patterns. But economic trends are not acts of God. Political action has curbed dangerous inequalities in the past, says Thomas Piketty, and may do so again. A work of extraordinary ambition, originality, and rigor, Capital in the Twenty-First Century reorients our understanding of economic history and confronts us with sobering lessons for today. His findings will transform debate and set the agenda for the next generation of thought about wealth and inequality.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


Nature's Fortune: How Business and Society Thrive by Investing in Nature
by Mark R. Tercek and Jonathan S. Adams.

Nature's Fortune: How Business and Society Thrive by Investing in Nature by Mark R. Tercek and Jonathan S. Adams.What is nature worth? The answer to this question—which traditionally has been framed in environmental terms—is revolutionizing the way we do business. In Nature’s Fortune, Mark Tercek, CEO of The Nature Conservancy and former investment banker, and science writer Jonathan Adams argue that nature is not only the foundation of human well-being, but also the smartest commercial investment any business or government can make. The forests, floodplains, and oyster reefs often seen simply as raw materials or as obstacles to be cleared in the name of progress are, in fact as important to our future prosperity as technology or law or business innovation. Nature’s Fortune offers an essential guide to the world’s economic—and environmental—well-being.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


Beyond Outrage: What has gone wrong with our economy and our democracy, and how to fix it -- by Robert B. Reich

Beyond OutrageIn this timely book, Robert B. Reich argues that nothing good happens in Washington unless citizens are energized and organized to make sure Washington acts in the public good. The first step is to see the big picture. Beyond Outrage connects the dots, showing why the increasing share of income and wealth going to the top has hobbled jobs and growth for everyone else, undermining our democracy; caused Americans to become increasingly cynical about public life; and turned many Americans against one another. He also explains why the proposals of the “regressive right” are dead wrong and provides a clear roadmap of what must be done instead. Here’s a plan for action for everyone who cares about the future of America.

Click here for more info or to order this book on Amazon.


This Changes Everything: Occupy Wall Street and the 99% Movement
by Sarah van Gelder and staff of YES! Magazine.

This Changes Everything: Occupy Wall Street and the 99% Movement by Sarah van Gelder and staff of YES! Magazine.This Changes Everything shows how the Occupy movement is shifting the way people view themselves and the world, the kind of society they believe is possible, and their own involvement in creating a society that works for the 99% rather than just the 1%. Attempts to pigeonhole this decentralized, fast-evolving movement have led to confusion and misperception. In this volume, the editors of YES! Magazine bring together voices from inside and outside the protests to convey the issues, possibilities, and personalities associated with the Occupy Wall Street movement. This book features contributions from Naomi Klein, David Korten, Rebecca Solnit, Ralph Nader, and others, as well as Occupy activists who were there from the beginning.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.



enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die prematurely as a direct…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)
Letting Randy Funnel My Furiousness
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
(Updated 4-26) I have not been able to right-write a thing I am willing to publish this last month, You see I am furious. I just want to lash out.
Pluto Service Announcement
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
(updated 4/15/2020) Now that everybody has the time to be creative, there's no telling what you will find to entertain your inner self.