المعتقدات الحديثة عن الاقتصاد مقابل اتباع قوانين الطبيعة

المعتقدات الحديثة عن الاقتصاد مقابل اتباع قوانين الطبيعة
الصورة عن طريق ejaugsburg

يتبنى الناس اليوم بعض المعتقدات الغريبة حول حالة اقتصادنا الحديث. كثيرا ما نسمع أشياء مثل: لم يعد بإمكاننا تحمل نفقات تعليم أطفالنا ، وتوفير الرعاية الصحية الشاملة ، وتنظيف البيئة الملوثة لدينا ، والابتكار حول موارد الطاقة المتجددة ، وتوفير الغذاء والماء والمأوى الأساسي للجميع ، ومشاركة مواردنا الحكيمة وموارد الكواكب مع دول أخرى ، وحماية النظم الإيكولوجية لدينا أو استكشاف أبعد المراحل من الكون. السؤال الواقعي الذي يجب أن نطرحه على أنفسنا هو: هل ستعيش البشرية كنوع إذا فشلنا في القيام بأي أو كل ما سبق؟

بمجرد أن نحول وجهة نظرنا ، قد نشعر بالصدمة لإدراك أن الشيء الوحيد الذي يمنعنا من القيام بكل ما نأمل أن نحققه هو تمسكنا العقلي بفكرة المال كقائد ومكافأة على ما نقوم به. أصبحت المال ، وهي أداة ابتكرها الناس للمساعدة في تبادل إنتاجنا الإبداعي والإنتاجي ، بمرور الوقت ، عائقنا الرئيسي أمام حرية التعبير وتبادل الإبداع. نحن نمنح إيمانًا جماعيًا - وهم مجموعة حول قوة المال وقدرته على تحديد مصيرنا - الأسبقية على فورية احتياجات الحياة في هنا والآن.

اختيارنا...

لدينا خيار الانهيار كحضارة أو الانقراض كنوع لأننا نعتقد أننا لا نستطيع تحمل خلق طريقة حياة أكثر حبًا واستدامة للجميع. يمكننا أن نتجاوز أصابعنا ونأمل أن يكتشف شخص ما في مكان ما كيف يمكننا جميعًا "التغلغل" في هذه الأزمات الحالية حتى لا نضطر إلى ضرب زوارق الإيمان لدينا إلى درجة الانزعاج الشخصي. أو يمكننا ترك الأمر لأطفالنا لتنظيف فوضى العالم التي نمتلكها باستمرار على أمل أن يكتشفها الجيل القادم قبل أن تنمو المشكلات التي نخلقها بشكل كبير للغاية.

هذه الاختيارات لا تتحمل الكثير من المسؤولية عن ما نحن فيه الآن. إذا كنا نريد أن نتحمل المسؤولية عن أنفسنا ، فعلينا أولاً أن ننظر إلى العالم كما هو - ليس من خلال عدسة المعتقدات الطفولية التي قبلناها على أنها صحيحة دون سؤال ، ولكن من خلال عيون البالغين الناضجة والمميزة. تبدأ العودة الجماعية من جنون أي وهم جماعي في اللحظة التي نعترف فيها أننا في الواقع مجنونون ؛ أننا تركنا الواقع وراءنا كثيرًا لصالح ما تخيلنا أنه حقيقي.

المعتقدات التي فرضتها على نفسها عن المال والإبداع

بمجرد أن نعترف بأن معتقداتنا مفروضة ذاتياً ، وأننا تعلمنا "الإيمان" بأهمية وقوة المال بدلاً من القدرة الإبداعية الحقيقية للإنسانية ، يمكننا أن نرى حاجة لإعادة النظر في الاقتصاد في ضوء جديد تمامًا. . نحتاج إلى ألا نأخذ أيًا من مبادئ وممارسات نظامنا كأمر مسلم به ، ولا نفترض أن أيًا من قيمه المزعومة هي حقائق مطلقة.

ما يجعل هذه العملية صعبة هو: لقد ولدنا جميعًا في النظام النقدي وكاننا ملتزمين بقبولها دون سؤال ، لذا فإن تحدي معتقداتنا قد يسبب لنا بعض الانزعاج. خذ قلبي في ذلك. يسير النمو الشخصي وعدم الراحة جنبًا إلى جنب - فقط أسأل أي شخص كان في مرحلة المراهقة. إضافة إلى ذلك ، فإن القلق الذي نشعر به بالفعل بسبب مشاكلنا الاقتصادية الحالية يجب أن يكون كل التشجيع الذي نحتاج إليه للتغلب على هذا القلق واكتشاف حلول جديدة.

لا يمكننا أن ننظر إلى عالمنا على ما هو عليه إذا كنا خائفين من الاعتراف بأننا ربما تجاوزنا معتقداتنا حول كيفية عمله. والخبر السار هو أنه إذا وجدنا الشجاعة لدراسة واقتحام الأساطير الجماعية التي كنا نعمل جميعًا بموجبها ، فقد أصبحنا أحرارًا في إعادة إنشاء عالمنا بالطريقة التي نريدها: أن تكون انعكاسًا حيًا لمن نحن حقًا ل.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


مستوى الوعي لدينا: رؤية عالمية للفصل أم للتواصل؟

قال أينشتاين: "لا يمكنك أن تحل مشاكل الإنسانية بالوعي الذي أوجدها". في الوقت الحالي ، فإن مستوى الوعي الذي كنا نعمل فيه جميعًا لفترة طويلة هو رؤية عالمية للفصل: "يجب أن حماية والحفاظ على ما هو لي ، حتى لو فعلت ذلك على نفقتك الخاصة. "

لقد نظرنا إلى معظم "الآخرين" على أنهم كسالى وغير جديرين بالثقة ويحتاجون إلى إشراف وسيطرة دائمين ، ولهذا السبب نعيش في عالم يختلط فيه الجشع والشك والخوف والتمرد. لماذا نعزو للآخرين كل أسوأ الصفات التي لدينا في أنفسنا ، وفشلنا في الاعتراف بالأفضل الجماعي في كل واحد منا ، قد يكون له علاقة مع حقيقة أننا أصبحنا منفصلين عن بعضنا البعض ومن معنوياتنا.

الاعتقاد بأننا مستقلان ، وأن ما أفعله لا يؤثر عليك وعلى العكس ، هو الذي خذلنا لقرون عديدة الآن. إن التاريخ مليء بأمثلة لم تنجح فيها الانعزالية ، ولهذا السبب أصبحت الحروب خطيرة بشكل متزايد.

إن عالمنا الحديث يعكس حقيقة حقيقة ترابطنا من خلال مسيرته الحثيثة نحو العولمة الإنسانية. يمكننا الاستمرار في التشبث بإيماننا بانفصالنا المطلق وتشجيع هياكلنا الاجتماعية على عكس هذا الاعتقاد حتى تنهار تحت وطأة زيفها الكامن ، أو يمكننا تبني ترابطنا وتعلم العمل معًا حتى نتمكن جميعًا من الازدهار.

اتباع قوانين الطبيعة

إن النظر إلى الإنسانية من منظور أعلى ، والاعتراف بأننا نرغب في وضع حد للمعاناة وأننا جميعًا مترابطون برغبتنا المشتركة في الحب والسعادة يمكن أن تلهمنا على تطوير هياكلنا الاجتماعية حتى تعكس هذا أعلى ثقة في البشرية. هذا هو المستوى الجديد من الوعي اللازم لحل المشكلات التي تنشأ عن طريقة التفكير القديمة.

يمكننا البدء في إجراء هذه التغييرات من خلال التخلي عن المعتقدات التي لم تعد تخدمنا. ولكن بعد ذلك ، ما الذي يجب أن نستخدمه في نموذجنا الاجتماعي الجديد إذا كان نظامنا بالكامل مصمماً على اعتقاد خاطئ بالفصل؟ أقترح أن نحاول تطبيق النماذج الناجحة للأنظمة الحية المترابطة التي تعمل من حولنا ، والتي قدمت لنا الطبيعة بسخاء مخططات لها. في أي مكان في الطبيعة لا يوجد نظام - أي نظام - يعيش بشكل مستقل عن أي شيء آخر. لا شيء في عالم الطبيعة يعمل أو ينجح بمفرده.

قبل أن تتجمع الذرات الأولى في عالمنا ، قبل مليارات من السنين قبل ظهور الوعي الإنساني ، بدا الخلق وكأنه يتساءل عما إذا كان هذا العالم سيعمل بشكل أفضل إذا كانت الأشياء تتفق مع النظام والنية ، أو تنطلق من تلقاء نفسها دون أي اعتبار لأي شيء آخر. بالنسبة إلى الدهرات ، اكتشف عالمنا جرب ربط الذرات المختلفة وتجربتها معًا لتشكيل مجموعة متنوعة مذهلة من الجزيئات ، كل منها قادر على أن يكون أكثر ويجلب إلى العالم أكثر مما تستطيع أي ذرة أو تجلبه بنفسها. تعاونت هذه الجزيئات في نهاية المطاف لتصبح اللبنات الأساسية للهياكل أكثر وأكثر تعقيدا ، بما في ذلك لنا.

لذلك ، يبدو أن هذا الخلق قد طرح بالفعل السؤال عن العزلة والقيود المفروضة علينا. يبدو أنه يسعد في إجراء اتصالات جديدة متعددة بقدر ما يحب الترابط الذي تعززه هذه الروابط.

تعلم التعاون: الخلايا البشرية والإنسانية

في الطبيعة ، يكون أي نظام كامل دائمًا أكبر من مجموع أجزائه البسيطة. الشجرة ، على سبيل المثال ، ليست مجرد مزيج بسيط من الخلايا الجذرية والخلايا الجذعية والشعيرات الدموية والأوراق والفروع. إنها لقمة العيش ، قابلة للتكيف للغاية مشروع، قادرة على تكاثر نفسها ، وإيواء كائنات أخرى ، والمساهمة في الأكسجين في الغلاف الجوي ، وإيداع النيتروجين في التربة ، والغش في المناخ وإضافة جمال مدهش والاستقرار إلى المناظر الطبيعية. ليس ذلك فحسب ، ولكن وجودها ذاته يمكّن جميع الخلايا التي تتألف منها من تنشيط نفسها بأعلى إمكاناتها ، وأن تكون جزءًا من شيء أكبر من نفسها.

كذلك ، الإنسان أيضًا أكثر من مجرد مجموعة من الخلايا. قد لا تعرف الخلايا الموجودة في أصابع قدرتنا أنها جزء من التفكير والشعور بأن قدرتها على الحب وتجربة الحياة أكثر بكثير من نتاج خلاياها العديدة ، ولكنها مع ذلك تستمر في القيام بعمل أساسي هو أن تكون أصابع قدميك و ، لأننا هي التفكير والشعور ، لدينا القدرة على حماية أصابع قدرتنا ونقدرها ، حتى لو لم يدركوا أنهم محميون.

نحن البشر يمكن أن نواصل بعناد الإصرار على أننا أفضل حالاً من عدم الاعتماد على بعضنا البعض. يمكننا رفض تصديق ما تعلمناه عن كوننا ، لكن الحقيقة لن تتغير بغض النظر عن مدى إنكارنا له. في عالمنا ، فإن أي نظام حي لا تتعلم أجزائه المتنوعة التعاون من أجل تكوين شيء أكبر من مجموعة عشوائية من الوحدات يفشل في النهاية.

إن ما ندعو إليه في أي تصميم للأنظمة بالكامل هو ميزة شاملة يمكن لكل فرد الاستمتاع بها مقابل استعداده للعمل من أجل رفاه الكل. من الواضح إذن أنه لا يمكن للبشرية أن تدوم طويلًا نظامًا اقتصاديًا يستفيد منه عدد قليل منا عن طريق استغلال قدرات الكثيرين.

تصبح واعية من جانبنا في الكمال

على عكس الخلايا ، لدينا قوة التفكير المنطقي. من خلال التفكير تم منحنا القدرة على تغيير أساليبنا في التفكير والتفكير والتفاعل من خلال تعلم كيفية الموازنة بنجاح بين احتياجاتنا الشخصية والاحتياجات الشاملة للكل. إذا كنا نريد حقًا شفاء البشرية - وكذلك الجسم الكوكبي الحي الأكبر الذي كان يعاني من جهلنا لفترة طويلة - يجب علينا أن نغير بشكل جماعي المعتقدات الخاطئة التي تسبب إزعاجنا ... خلية بشرية فردية في زمن.

لقد تم منذ فترة طويلة شحذ قدرتنا على تطبيق موهبة التفكير الإبداعي والمبدع على العالم من حولنا. شيء واحد نعرفه عن العقل البشري هو أنه يمنحنا القدرة على التعلم. يمكّننا تطور التفكير من صياغة فهمنا للعالم بوعي وصبر وبعناية ، استنادًا إلى المعلومات والأفكار الجديدة. أن نفهم الآن أن نشاط البركان لا تسببه الآلهة الغاضبة هو أحد هذه التطورات. هذا لا يعني أن أي شيء كان "خطأ" مع معتقداتنا القديمة أو طرق التفاعل.

لقد فعلنا دائمًا أفضل ما في وسعنا بالمعلومات التي كانت لدينا تحت تصرفنا في ذلك الوقت ، لذلك فإن الحكم على أولئك الذين كانوا يعملون بمعلومات أقل مما لدينا الآن هو تمرين لا معنى له. من الغباء أن نعلن أن الأشخاص الذين اقترحوا تلك الأفكار المفضوحة الآن كانوا سيئين أو شريرين. ما يهم هو أننا نتعلم التصرف بطرق أكثر تنسيقًا وداعمة مع تطورنا في الوعي. هذا بالضبط كما تم تصميم عالمنا لتتكشف.

بدلاً من التشكيك في معتقداتنا مع من لا نتفق معه - والذي كان منهجنا التاريخي - فإننا نكتسب تدريجياً النضج لنتخذ خطوة عاطفية إلى الوراء لدراسة الأسباب التي تجعلنا لا نتفق. في النقاش السياسي ، على سبيل المثال ، بدأنا نسمع المزيد من الحجج المنطقية حول ما إذا كان من الأفضل لنا أن نمارس التقشف المالي وخفض الضرائب ، أو ما إذا كان من المهم بالنسبة لنا أن نحفز الاقتصاد من خلال الإنفاق الحكومي في شكل ضرائب أعلى .

الفشل التجريبي يضعنا في التوسع في الوعي الإنساني

الأمر المثير للاهتمام حقًا هو أنه - بينما نستمر في إجراء التجارب المؤيدة والخداعية - ما نتعلمه حقًا هو أنه لا يبدو أنهما يوفران الإجابة ، وأن المطلوب هو شيء مختلف تمامًا. الفشل التجريبي ، المحبط رغم أنه قد يكون ، يهيئ لنا للتوسع في الوعي الإنساني. نظرًا لأننا نحاول باستمرار ونفشل في تحقيق أهدافنا المنشودة من خلال نفس الوسائل المتعبة ، فإننا في النهاية نرغم على الارتفاع فوق معتقداتنا المقيدة ونقبل شيئًا جديدًا - فكرة تدفعنا أقرب إلى الحقيقة.

لأن كل شخص يجلب مجموعة فريدة من تجارب الحياة إلى واقع عالمنا المشترك ، سيكون هناك دائمًا وجهات نظر متعددة حول أي موقف معين. ومع ذلك ، يبدو أنه يمكن تعلم فن الاتفاق الجيد ، كما يتضح من وجود أنظمة حية منسقة في كل مكان حولنا. إذا ما يقرب من مائة تريليون خلايا بلا عقول* يمكن أن نتعلم التعاون في نظام معقد مثل جسم الإنسان ، لماذا لا نستطيع؟

* اسحاق اسيموف، جسم الإنسان، مراجعة جديدة. ed.، Plume، 1996، p. 79. سي فان أميروجين ، طريقة عمل الأشياء كتاب الجسد، سيمون وشوستر، 1979، ص. 13.

ترجمات أضيفت من قبل InnerSelf

حقوق الطبع والنشر 2012 من ايلين العامل. كل الحقوق محفوظة.
أعيد طبعها بإذن من "الاقتصاد المقدس: عملة الحياة".

المادة المصدر

الاقتصاد المقدس: عملة الحياة
بواسطة ايلين وركمان

الاقتصاد المقدس: عملة الحياة إيلين العامل"ما يقلل من واحد منا يقلل منا جميعا ، في حين أن ما يعزز واحد منا يعزز لنا جميعا." هذه الفلسفة للتفاعل مع بعضها البعض لخلق رؤية جديدة وأعلى لمستقبل البشرية تضع حجر الأساس ل الاقتصاد المقدسة، الذي يستكشف التاريخ والتطور والحالة المختلة لاقتصادنا العالمي من منظور جديد. بتشجيعنا على التوقف عن مشاهدة عالمنا من خلال إطار نقدي ، الاقتصاد المقدسة يدعونا إلى تكريم الواقع بدلاً من استغلاله كوسيلة للربح المالي على المدى القصير. الاقتصاد المقدسة لا يلوم الرأسمالية على المشكلات التي نواجهها ؛ وهذا يفسر لماذا تجاوزنا محرك النمو القوي الذي يدفع اقتصادنا العالمي. كنوع من النضج ، نحن بحاجة إلى أنظمة اجتماعية جديدة تعكس بشكل أفضل وضع حياتنا الحديثة. من خلال تفكيك معتقداتنا المشتركة (وغير المفحوصة في كثير من الأحيان) حول كيفية عمل اقتصادنا ، الاقتصاد المقدسة يخلق فرصة يمكن من خلالها إعادة تصور المجتمع البشري وإعادة تعريفه.

انقر هنا للحصول على معلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب الورقي. متاح أيضا كنسخة أوقد.

المزيد من الكتب من قبل هذا المؤلف

عن المؤلف

ايلين وركمانتخرج إيلين وركمان من كلية ويتير مع درجة البكالوريوس في العلوم السياسية والقاصرين في الاقتصاد والتاريخ والبيولوجيا. بدأت العمل لدى شركة زيروكس ، ثم قضت سنوات 16 في الخدمات المالية لـ Smith Barney. بعد تجربة الصحوة الروحية في 2007 ، كرست السيدة وركمان نفسها للكتابة "الاقتصاد المقدس: عملة الحياة"كوسيلة لدعوتنا إلى التشكيك في افتراضاتنا الطويلة حول طبيعة فوائد الرأسمالية وفوائدها وتكاليفها الحقيقية. يركز كتابها على الكيفية التي يمكن أن ينتقل بها المجتمع البشري بنجاح من خلال الجوانب الأكثر تدميرا لمؤسسة مرحلة متأخرة. زيارة موقعها على الانترنت في www.eileenworkman.com

فيديو / مقابلة مع إيلين ووركمان: كن واعياً الآن


تذكر مستقبلك
في الثالث من نوفمبر

أسلوب العم سام Smokey Bear Only You.jpg

تعرف على القضايا وما هو على المحك في الانتخابات الرئاسية الأمريكية في 3 نوفمبر 2020.

قريبا جدا؟ لا تراهن على ذلك. القوى تتحد لمنعك من أن يكون لك رأي في مستقبلك.

هذا هو الكبير وهذه الانتخابات قد تكون لجميع الرخام. الابتعاد في خطر الخاص بك.

يمكنك فقط منع سرقة "المستقبل"

اتبع InnerSelf.com
"تذكر مستقبلك" تغطية


enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

8 أشياء نفعلها بالفعل تخلط بين كلابنا
8 أشياء نفعلها بالفعل تخلط بين كلابنا
by ميليسا ستارلينغ وبول ماكجريفي
الشركة التي تحتفظ بها: تعلم الارتباط بشكل انتقائي
الشركة التي تحتفظ بها: تعلم الارتباط بشكل انتقائي
by الدكتور بول نابر ، Psy.D. والدكتور أنتوني راو ، دكتوراه
5 أساطير عن القمر
5 أساطير عن القمر
by دانيال براون

Modern Beliefs About Economics vs. Following The Laws Of Nature

Modern Beliefs About Economics vs. Following The Laws Of Nature
Image by ejaugsburg

People today are espousing some very strange beliefs about the state of our modern economy. We frequently hear things like: We can no longer afford to educate our children, provide universal health care, clean up our polluted environment, innovate around renewable energy resources, provide food, water and basic shelter for all, share our wisdom and planetary resources with other nations, protect our ecosystems or explore the farthest reaches of our universe. The reality-check question we must therefore ask ourselves is this: Will humanity survive as a species if we fail to do any or all of the above?

Once we shift perspective we may be shocked to realize the only thing preventing us from doing everything we hope to achieve is our mental attachment to the idea of money as both the driver and the reward for what we do. Money, a tool invented by people to aid in the exchange of our creative and productive output, has, over time, become our main barrier to the free expression and exchange of creativity. We’re granting a collective belief—a group delusion about the power of money and its ability to determine our destiny—precedence over the immediacy of life’s needs in the here and now.

Our Choice...

We have the option to collapse as a civilization or go extinct as a species because we believe we can’t afford to create a more loving, more sustainable way of life for all. We can cross our fingers and hope somebody somewhere figures out how we can all “muddle through” these current crises so we don’t have to rock our belief boats to the point of personal discomfort. Or we could just leave it to our children to clean up our ever-expanding world mess in the hope the next generation will figure it out before the problems we’re creating grow too vast to fix.

Those choices don’t assume much responsibility for where we are right now. If we want to take responsibility for ourselves we must first look at the world as it is—not through the lens of the childlike beliefs we’ve accepted as true without question, but through the open and discerning eyes of mature adults. The collective way back from the insanity of any group delusion begins the moment we admit we are, in fact, insane; that we’ve left reality far behind in favor of what we’ve imagined to be true.

Self-Imposed Beliefs About Money and Creativity

Once we acknowledge that our beliefs are self-imposed, that we’ve been taught to “believe in” the significance and power of money instead of the true creative capacity of humanity, we can see a need to reexamine economics in a whole new light. We need take none of our system’s principles and practices for granted, nor assume any of its so-called values are absolute truths.

What makes that process hard is this: we’ve all been born into the monetary system and were entrained to accept it without question, so challenging our beliefs may cause us some discomfort. Take heart in that. Personal growth and discomfort go hand in hand—just ask anyone who’s been through adolescence. Besides, the anxiety we’re already feeling due to our current economic problems should be all the encouragement we need to push through that angst and discover new solutions.

We can’t view our world for what it is if we’re afraid to acknowledge we may have outgrown our beliefs about how it works. The good news is that if we find the courage to examine and burst the collective myths under which we’ve all been operating, we become free to recreate our world in the way we want it to be: as a living reflection of who we truly are.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Our Level of Consciousness: A Worldview Of Separation or Of Connectivity?

Einstein said, “You can’t solve the problems of humanity with the consciousness that created them.” At the moment, the level of consciousness under which we’ve all been operating for a long time is a worldview of separation: “I must protect and preserve what’s mine, even if I do so at your expense.”

We’ve come to view most “others” as lazy, untrustworthy and in need of constant supervision and control, which is why we live in a world choked by greed, suspicion, fear and insurrection. Why we attribute to others all the worst qualities we have in ourselves, and fail to acknowledge the collective best in all of us, might have something to do with the fact we’ve become deeply disconnected from each other and from our own spirits.

The belief that we’re each independent, that what I do doesn’t affect you and vice versa, is one that has failed us for many centuries now. History is replete with examples where isolationism hasn’t worked, which is why wars have become increasingly dangerous.

Our modern world actually reflects the truth of our interconnectivity through its relentless march toward human globalization. We can continue to cling to a belief in our absolute separateness and encourage our social structures to reflect that belief until they crumble beneath the weight of its inherent falsehood, or we can embrace our connectivity and learn to work together so we all can thrive.

Following The Laws Of Nature

To view humanity from a higher perspective, to recognize that we each want to put an end to suffering and that at heart we are all connected by our shared desire for love and happiness can inspire us to evolve our social structures until they reflect this new and higher faith in humankind. That’s the new level of consciousness necessary to resolve the problems created by the old way of thinking.

We can begin making these changes by letting go of the beliefs that no longer serve us. But then what should we use for our new social model if our entire system was modeled on a false belief in separation? I suggest we try applying the successful models for interconnected living systems that are functioning all around us, and for which nature has so generously offered us blueprints. Nowhere in nature does a system—any system— survive independently of everything else. Nothing in the realm of nature works or succeeds alone.

Before the very first atoms in our universe coalesced, many billions of years before the emergence of human consciousness, creation apparently wondered whether this world would work better if things came together with order and intent, or went flying off on their own without regard for anything else. For eons our cosmos has explored and experienced the joy of binding different atoms together to form an amazing variety of molecules, each capable of being more and bringing more into the world than any atom could be or bring by itself. Those molecules eventually collaborated to become the building blocks for more and more complex structures, including us.

It seems, therefore, that creation has already asked and answered the question about isolation and its limitations for us. It seems to delight in making multiple novel connections as much as it loves the interdependence such connections foster.

Learning to Collaborate: Human Cells and Humanity

In nature, any whole system is always greater than the simple sum of its parts. A tree, for instance, isn’t just a simple combination of root cells, trunk cells, capillaries, leaves and branches. It is a living, highly adaptable enterprise, capable of reproducing itself, sheltering other creatures, contributing oxygen to the atmosphere, depositing nitrogen into the soil, adulterating the climate and adding amazing beauty and stability to the landscape. Not only that, but its very existence enables all the cells that comprise it to activate themselves to their highest potential, and to be part of something greater than themselves.

So, too, is a human being more than just a mere collection of cells. The cells in our toes may not know they’re part of a thinking, feeling person whose capacity to love and experience life is so much more than the product of its many cells, but they nevertheless go on, doing the essential work of being toes—and, because we are thinking and feeling, we have the power to protect our toes and appreciate them, even if they don’t realize they’re being protected.

We humans can stubbornly continue to insist we’re better off not relying on each other. We can refuse to believe what we’ve learned about our own universe, but the truth won’t change no matter how firmly we deny it. In our universe, any living system whose diverse parts don’t learn to collaborate in order to form something greater than a random collection of units eventually fails.

What’s called for in any whole-systems design is an overarching benefit that every single part can enjoy in exchange for its willingness to work for the well being of the whole. Clearly then, humanity can’t long sustain an economic system that benefits just a few of us by exploiting the capacities of the many.

Becoming Conscious Of Our Part In The Wholeness

Unlike cells, we do have the power of reasoned thought. With thought we’ve been granted the ability to consciously change our ways of being, thinking and interacting through learning how to successfully balance our personal needs with the overarching needs of the whole. If we truly want to heal humanity—as well as the larger living planetary body that has been suffering under our ignorance for so long—we must collectively change the false beliefs that are causing our dis-ease...one individual human cell at a time.

We’ve long been honing our ability to apply the gift of reasoned, creative thinking to the world around us. One thing we know about the human mind is it grants us the power to learn. The evolution of thinking enables us to craft our understanding of the world consciously, patiently and carefully, based on new information and insights. That we now understand volcano activity isn’t caused by angry gods is one such an advancement. That doesn’t mean anything was “wrong” with our old beliefs or ways of interacting.

We’ve always done the best we could with the information we had at our disposal at that time, so judging those who were working with less information than we now have is a pointless exercise. It’s foolish to declare that the people who proposed those now-debunked ideas were bad or evil. What matters is that we’re learning to behave in more coordinated and supportive ways as we evolve in consciousness. That’s exactly as our world was designed to unfold.

Rather than warring over our beliefs with whomever we don’t agree—which has been our historic approach—we’re gradually gaining the maturity to take an emotional step back to examine the reasons why we don’t agree. In political debate, for example, we’re beginning to hear more rational arguments around whether it’s better for us to practice fiscal austerity and reduce taxation, or whether it’s more important for us to stimulate the economy through government spending in the form of higher taxes.

Experimental Failure Sets Us Up For An Expansion In Human Consciousness

What’s really interesting is that—as we continue to run the experiments pro and con—what we’re really learning is that neither seems to provide the answer, and that what’s needed may be something entirely different. Experimental failure, frustrating though it may be, sets us up for an expansion in human consciousness. As we continually try and fail to achieve our desired objectives through the same tired means, ultimately we’re forced to rise above our limiting beliefs and embrace something new—an idea that propels us closer to the truth.

Because each person brings a unique set of life experiences to our shared world reality, there will always be multiple points of view on any given situation. Still, it seems the fine art of agreement can be learned, as evidenced by the existence of coordinated living systems all around us. If nearly a hundred trillion brainless cells* can learn to cooperate in a system as complex as the human body, why can’t we?

* Isaac Asimov, The Human Body, New rev. ed., Plume, 1996, p. 79; C. Van Amerogen, The Way Things Work Book of the Body, Simon and Schuster, 1979, p. 13.

subtitles added by InnerSelf

Copyright 2012 by Eileen Workman. All rights reserved.
Reprinted with permission from "Sacred Economics: The Currency of Life".

Article Source

Sacred Economics: The Currency of Life
by Eileen Workman

Sacred Economics: The Currency of Life by Eileen Workman“What diminishes one of us diminishes us all, while what enhances one of us enhances us all.” This philosophy for engaging with each other to create a new and higher vision for humanity’s future lays the cornerstone for Sacred Economics, which explores the history, evolution and dysfunctional state of our global economy from a new perspective. By encouraging us to stop viewing our world through a monetary framework, Sacred Economics invites us to honor reality rather than exploit it as a means for short-term financial profiteering. Sacred Economics doesn’t blame capitalism for the problems we’re facing; it explains why we’ve outgrown the aggressive growth engine that drives our global economy. As a maturing species, we’re in need of new social systems that better reflect our modern life situation. By deconstructing our shared (and often unexamined) beliefs about how our economy works, Sacred Economics creates an opening through which to reimagine and redefine human society.

Click here for info and/or to order this paperback book. Also available as a Kindle edition.

More Books by this Author

About the Author

Eileen WorkmanEileen Workman graduated from Whittier College with a bachelor’s degree in Political Science and minors in economics, history, and biology. She began working for Xerox Corporation, then spent 16 years in financial services for Smith Barney. After experiencing a spiritual awakening in 2007, Ms. Workman dedicated herself to writing “Sacred Economics: The Currency of Life” as a means for inviting us to question our longstanding assumptions about the nature, benefits, and genuine costs of capitalism. Her book focuses on how human society might move successfully through the more destructive aspects of late-stage corporatism. Visit her website at www.eileenworkman.com

Video/Interview with Eileen Workman: Get Conscious Now


Remember Your Future
on the 3rd of November

Uncle Sam style Smokey Bear Only You.jpg

Learn about the issues and what's at stake in the November 3, 2020 US Presidential election.

Too soon? Don't bet on it. Forces are conniving to stop you from having a say in your future.

This is the big one and this election may be for ALL the marbles. Turn away at your peril.

Only You Can Prevent 'Future' Theft

Follow InnerSelf.com's
"Remember Your Future" coverage


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)