تاريخيا الكليات السوداء تعطي الخريجين دفعة من الأجور

في 2010 ، ادعى اثنان من الاقتصاديين أن خريجي الكليات والجامعات السوداء تاريخيا ، أو HBCUs ، يعانون من "عقوبة الأجور" - أي أنهم يكسبون أقل نسبيا مما لو كانوا قد ذهبوا إلى غير HBCU.
يتعارض البحث حول كيفية تخريج خريجي الكليات السوداء تاريخياً في سوق العمل. sirtravelalot / Shutterstock.com

في 2010 ، ادعى اثنان من الاقتصاديين أن خريجي الكليات والجامعات السوداء تاريخيا ، أو HBCUs ، يعانون من "عقوبة الأجر"- أي أنهم يكسبون أقل نسبياً مما لو كانوا قد ذهبوا إلى غير HBCU.

في مسودة مبكرة للورقة ، جادل الاقتصاديون - أحدهم من جامعة هارفارد والآخر من معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا - بأنه في حين أن HBCUs قد خدمت غرضًا مفيدًا في 1970s ، إلا أنهم كانوا الآن ، من خلال بعض التدابير ، يعملون على "تؤخر التقدم الأسود"السبب وراء ذلك ، اقترحوا ، هو أن المؤسسات البيضاء التقليدية ربما تكون أفضل في تعليم الطلاب السود وأنه قد تكون هناك قيمة في" العلاقات بين الأعراق "عندما حان الوقت للحصول على وظيفة.

ولدت الورقة ، التي اعتمدت على بيانات من 1950s من خلال 2000s في وقت مبكر ، عناوين الأخبار السلبية ل HBCUs. على سبيل المثال ، سميت صحيفة وول ستريت جورنال HBCUs "أقل أكاديمياحذرت صحيفة نيويورك تايمز القراء من "انخفاض العائد من الكليات السوداء".

ك الباحث الذي بحث HBCUs، لقد وجدت أنا وزملائي دليلًا مخالفًا: الطلاب الذين ذهبوا إلى HBCU لا يعانون من رواتب نسبية. في الواقع ، وجدنا أنهم عادة ما يكسبون في المتوسط ​​أكثر من الطلاب المماثلين الذين ذهبوا إلى غير HBCUs. تستند النتائج التي توصلنا إليها إلى مقارنة HBCUs مع المدارس الأخرى مع عدد كبير من الطلاب السود.

منتجي الأطباء السود والمهندسين

أنشئت إلى حد كبير لخدمة السود بعد الحرب الأهلية وفي عصر جيم كرو الفصل العنصري ، كانت HBCUs خيار التعليم العالي فقط للعديد من الأميركيين السود حتى منتصف 1960s خلال الضغط من أجل التكامل. منذ ذلك الحين ، خدمت HBCUs حصة متناقصة من الطلاب السود. على سبيل المثال ، خدمت HBCUs 17.3٪ من طلاب الجامعات السود في 1980 ، ولكن بواسطة 2015 انخفض إلى 8.5٪.

تم HBCUs في ثابت النضال من أجل بقائهم المالي بسبب انخفاض التسجيل ، من بين أمور أخرى. في الواقع ، بعض خبراء المالية الكلية توقع أن العديد من HBCUs سوف تختفي في السنوات 20 القادمة.

HBCUs تخدم حاليا حول 298,000 الطلاب و المرتبة بين أعلى منتجي الأطباء السود. HBCUs أيضا أن تلعب دور كبير في إنتاج الخريجين السود في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضياتأو STEM.

علاوة الأجر

شملت دراستنا كليات وجامعات 1,364 غير الربحية ، العامة والخاصة ، التي تمنح درجة البكالوريا على الأقل.

زيادة الأجور كانت الأقوى بالنسبة لنخبة HBCUs: هامبتون ، هاوارد ، مورهاوس ، سبيلمان و كزافييه. لكن التأثير استمر 10 سنوات بعد التخرج لخريجي جميع 59 HBCUs - أكثر من نصف 100 أو نحو ذلك HBCUs في الأمة - التي تم تضمينها في العينة. لم يتم تضمين HBCUs الأخرى بسبب نقص البيانات.

ولم يكن مبلغ صغير من المال أيضا. في دراستنا ، وجدنا أن طلاب HBCU من جامعات النخبة يكسبون 32٪ أكثر بعد ست سنوات من الحضور من الطلاب ذوي الخصائص المتشابهة الذين التحقوا بالكليات والجامعات الأخرى.

ولكن قبل أن يحتفل أي شخص بالنتائج التي توصلنا إليها باعتبارها انتصارًا واضحًا لجامعات HBCU ، فإن بعض التحذيرات في محله.

العقوبات موجودة

أولاً ، لا يكسب جميع خريجي جامعة HBCU أكثر من جميع خريجي جامعة HBCU طوال الوقت. في الواقع ، مثلما فعل فراير وغرينستون قبل عقد من الزمن ، وجدنا أنه في وقت مبكر من حياتهم المهنية - يمتد إلى ست سنوات بعد التخرج - يعاني خريجو جامعة HBCU النموذجية في الواقع من رواتبهم.

وجدت دراسة HBCU في 2010 أن الخريجين حصلوا على 20٪ أقل من أقرانهم من الكليات الأخرى في 1990s ، على الرغم من أنه من غير المعروف كم من الوقت بعد التخرج حدث هذا.

وجدنا أن هناك عقوبة 11٪ للأجور بعد ست سنوات ولكن بعد ذلك تختفي بعد 10 سنوات ، وتتحول في الواقع إلى ميزة. لذا ، في حين أن خريجي HBCU النموذجيين قد يكسبون أموالًا أقل من خريجي HBCU في أواخر 20s ، بحلول أوائل 30s ، فإنهم يكسبون أكثر.

وجدنا أيضا أن ميزة الأجور ل HBCUs ظلت بغض النظر عن الرئيسية. في رأيي كخبير اقتصادي ، تشير المكاسب النسبية للحاضرين في جامعة HBCU إلى أن خريجي جامعة HBCU في المتوسط ​​، في المتوسط ​​، يكونون أكثر قدرة على إيجاد وظائف تتناسب مع مهاراتهم وقدراتهم.

عوامل ديموغرافية

ما الذي يجعل HBCUs أكثر فاعلية كمصاعد للأرباح في سوق العمل وحركة الدخل؟ في وقت سابق من البحث وجدنا أنا وزملائي في جامعة هاورد أن نسبة عالية من الطلاب السود في كلية أو جامعة تعمل بمثابة دفعة للهوية السوداء واحترام الذات. وجدنا أن هذا التعزيز يترجم إلى اكتساب مهارات سوق العمل يؤدي إلى ميزة الأرباح.

بالنظر إلى تاريخ تلقي HBCUs موارد غير متكافئة، تشير نتائجنا إلى أن الحكومة والعمل الخيري يمكن أن يفكروا في المزيد من التمويل لجامعة HBCU. قد يمكّنهم ذلك من أن يكونوا أكثر نجاحًا فيما يقومون به ، لا سيما عندما يتعلق الأمر بتمكين الطلاب من الأسر كسب أقل من المال للانتقال اقتصاديا.

عن المؤلف

غريغوري نأستاذ الاقتصاد جامعة نيو اورليانز

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

وأوصت الكتب:

رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين
توماس بيكيتي. (ترجمه آرثر غولدهامر)

رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين غلاف فني من قبل توماس Piketty.In رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين ، يحلل توماس بيكيتي مجموعة فريدة من البيانات من عشرين دولة ، تراوحت في القرن الثامن عشر ، لتكشف عن الأنماط الاقتصادية والاجتماعية الرئيسية. لكن الاتجاهات الاقتصادية ليست أعمال الله. يقول توماس بيكيتي: لقد أدى العمل السياسي إلى الحد من التفاوتات الخطيرة في الماضي ، وقد يفعل ذلك مرة أخرى. عمل طموح غير عادي ، أصالة ، ودقة ، رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين يعيد فهمنا للتاريخ الاقتصادي ويواجهنا بدروس واقعية اليوم. وستغير نتائجه النقاش وتحدد جدول الأعمال للجيل القادم من التفكير في الثروة وعدم المساواة.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


ثروة الطبيعة: كيف تزدهر الأعمال والمجتمع من خلال الاستثمار في الطبيعة
بقلم مارك ر. تيرسيك وجوناثان س. آدمز.

ثروة الطبيعة: كيف تزدهر الأعمال والمجتمع من خلال الاستثمار في الطبيعة بقلـم مارك ر. تيرسيك وجوناثان س. آدامز.ما هي طبيعة يستحق؟ الإجابة على تقليديا مؤطرة في البيئة هذه التي سؤال حيث هو ثورة في الطريقة التي نؤدي بها أعمالنا. في فورتشن الطبيعةيقول مارك تيرسيك ، الرئيس التنفيذي لـ The Nature Conservancy and bank of banker السابق ، والكاتب جوناثان آدامز ، إن الطبيعة ليست فقط أساس رفاهية الإنسان ، بل هي أيضا أذكى استثمار تجاري يمكن أن تقوم به أي شركة أو حكومة. الغابات ، والسهول الفيضية ، وشعاب المحار التي غالبا ما ينظر إليها ببساطة على أنها مواد خام أو عوائق يجب تطهيرها باسم التقدم ، هي في الواقع مهمة بالنسبة لرفاهنا المستقبلي مثل التكنولوجيا أو القانون أو الابتكار في الأعمال. فورتشن الطبيعة يقدم دليلا أساسيا للرفاهية الاقتصادية والبيئية في العالم.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


ما بعد الغضب: قد ذهب ما الخطأ في اقتصادنا وديمقراطيتنا، وكيفية اصلاحها -- بواسطة الرايخ روبرت ب.

ما بعد الغضبفي هذا الكتاب في الوقت المناسب، روبرت ب. رايخ يقول أن لا شيء جيد يحدث في واشنطن ما لم يتم تنشيط المنظمة والمواطنين للتأكد من أفعال واشنطن في الصالح العام. الخطوة الأولى هي أن نرى الصورة الكبيرة. ما بعد الغضب يربط بين النقاط، والتي تبين لماذا حصة متزايدة من الدخل والثروة الذهاب إلى الأعلى قد اعاقه فرص العمل والنمو لشخص آخر، مما يقوض ديمقراطيتنا؛ تسبب الأميركيين أن تصبح ساخرة على نحو متزايد بشأن الحياة العامة، وتحول كثير من الأمريكيين ضد بعضها البعض. وهو ما يفسر أيضا لماذا مقترحات "الحق رجعية" على خطأ القتلى ويشكل خريطة طريق واضحة لما يجب القيام به بدلا من ذلك. وهنا خطة للعمل لكل من يهتم بمستقبل الأمريكية.

انقر هنا للمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


هذه التغييرات كل شيء: تحتل وول ستريت وحركة 99٪
بواسطة سارة فان جيلدر وموظفي YES! مجلة.

هذه التغييرات كل شيء: تحتل وول ستريت وحركة 99٪ من سارة فان جيلدر وموظفي YES! مجلة.هذا يغير كل شيء يوضح كيف أن حركة "الإحتلال" تغير الطريقة التي ينظر بها الناس إلى أنفسهم والعالم ، نوع المجتمع الذي يعتقدون أنه ممكن ، ومشاركتهم في خلق مجتمع يعمل لـ 99٪ بدلاً من 1٪ فقط. وقد أدت محاولات صراع هذه الحركة اللامركزية السريعة التطور إلى الارتباك وسوء الفهم. في هذا المجلد ، محرري نعم فعلا! مجلة جمع الأصوات من داخل وخارج الاحتجاجات لنقل القضايا والإمكانيات والشخصيات المرتبطة بحركة احتلوا وول ستريت. يقدم هذا الكتاب مساهمات من نعومي كلاين ، وديفيد كورتين ، وريبيكا سولنيت ، ورالف نادر ، وآخرين ، بالإضافة إلى نشطاء احتلوا هناك منذ البداية.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.



enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ما هو الحب؟ أن تكون لطيفًا مع جارك ونفسك
ما هو الحب: لطف مع الآخرين ونفسك
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
هل كارثة المناخ أقرب مما نعتقد؟
هل كارثة المناخ أقرب مما نعتقد؟
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
في نهاية الصداقة
في نهاية الصداقة
by كيفن جون بروفي

Historically Black Colleges Give Graduates A Wage Boost

In 2010, two economists claimed that graduates of historically black colleges and universities, or HBCUs, suffer a “wage penalty” – that is, they earn relatively less than they would had they gone to a non-HBCU.
Research conflicts over how graduates of historically black colleges fare in the job market. sirtravelalot/Shutterstock.com

In 2010, two economists claimed that graduates of historically black colleges and universities, or HBCUs, suffer a “wage penalty” – that is, they earn relatively less than they would had they gone to a non-HBCU.

In an early draft of the paper, the economists – one from Harvard and the other from MIT - argued that while HBCUs may have served a useful purpose back in the 1970s, they were now, by some measures, serving to “retard black progress.” The reason why, they suggested, is that traditionally white institutions may have gotten better at educating black students and that there might be value in “cross-racial connections” when it came time to get a job.

The paper, which relied on data from the 1950s through the early 2000s, generated negative headlines for HBCUs. For instance, The Wall Street Journal called HBCUs “academically inferior.” The New York Times warned readers about the “declining payoff from black colleges.”

As a scholar who has researched HBCUs, my colleagues and I have found contrary evidence: Students who went to HBCUs do not suffer a relative wage penalty. In fact, we found that they typically and on average earn more than similar students who went to non-HBCUs. Our findings are based on comparing HBCUs to other schools with a sizable black student population.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Producers of black doctors, engineers

Largely established to serve black people after the Civil War and in the Jim Crow era of racial segregation, HBCUs were the only higher education option for many black Americans up through the mid-1960s during the push for integration. Since then, HBCUs have served a declining share of black students. For instance, HBCUs served 17.3% of black college students in 1980, but by 2015 the figure had fallen to 8.5%.

HBCUs have been in a constant struggle for their financial survival because of declining enrollment, among other things. In fact, some college finance experts predict that many HBCUs will disappear in the next 20 years.

HBCUs currently serve about 298,000 students and rank among the highest producers of black doctors. HBCUs also play an outsized role in the production of black graduates in science, technology, engineering and mathematics, or STEM.

A wage premium

Our study included 1,364 nonprofit colleges and universities, both public and private, that award at least a baccalaureate degree.

Increased wages were strongest for the elite HBCUs: Hampton, Howard, Morehouse, Spelman and Xavier. But the effect persisted 10 years after graduation for graduates of all 59 HBCUs – more than half of the 100 or so HBCUs in the nation – that were included in the sample. Other HBCUs were not included because of lack of data.

And it wasn’t a small amount of money, either. In our study, we found that HBCU students from the elite universities earn 32% more six years after attendance than students with similar characteristics who attended other colleges and universities.

But before anyone celebrates our findings as a clear victory for HBCUs, a few caveats are in order.

Penalties exist

First, all HBCU graduates don’t earn more than all non-HBCU graduates all the time. In fact, much like Freyer and Greenstone did a decade ago, we found that early in their careers – extending to six years after graduation – typical HBCU graduates do in fact suffer a wage penalty.

The HBCU study in 2010 found grads earned 20% less than peers from other colleges in the 1990s, although it’s not known how long after graduation this occurred.

We found that there’s an 11% wage penalty after six years but then it disappears after 10 years, and in fact turns into an advantage. So while typical HBCU graduates may be earning less money than non-HBCU graduates in their late 20s, by their early 30s, they are earning more.

We also found that the wage advantage for HBCUs remained no matter what the major. In my view as an economist, the relative gains for HBCU attendees after six years suggest, that on average, HBCU graduates are better able to find jobs that match their skill and capabilities.

Demographic factors

Just what is it that makes HBCUs more effective as escalators for labor market earnings and income mobility? Earlier research my colleagues and I conducted at Howard University found that a high proportion of black students in a college or university serves as a boost to black identity and self-esteem. That boost, we found, translates into labor market skill acquisition that results in an earnings advantage.

Given the history of HBCUs receiving unequal resources, our results suggest that government and philanthropy could consider more funding for HBCUs. That could enable them to be even more successful at what they do, particularly when it comes to enabling students from households that earn the least money to move up economically.

About the Author

Gregory N. Price, Professor, Economics, University of New Orleans

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Recommended books:

Capital in the Twenty-First Century
by Thomas Piketty. (Translated by Arthur Goldhammer)

Capital in the Twenty-First Century Hardcover by Thomas Piketty.In Capital in the Twenty-First Century, Thomas Piketty analyzes a unique collection of data from twenty countries, ranging as far back as the eighteenth century, to uncover key economic and social patterns. But economic trends are not acts of God. Political action has curbed dangerous inequalities in the past, says Thomas Piketty, and may do so again. A work of extraordinary ambition, originality, and rigor, Capital in the Twenty-First Century reorients our understanding of economic history and confronts us with sobering lessons for today. His findings will transform debate and set the agenda for the next generation of thought about wealth and inequality.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


Nature's Fortune: How Business and Society Thrive by Investing in Nature
by Mark R. Tercek and Jonathan S. Adams.

Nature's Fortune: How Business and Society Thrive by Investing in Nature by Mark R. Tercek and Jonathan S. Adams.What is nature worth? The answer to this question—which traditionally has been framed in environmental terms—is revolutionizing the way we do business. In Nature’s Fortune, Mark Tercek, CEO of The Nature Conservancy and former investment banker, and science writer Jonathan Adams argue that nature is not only the foundation of human well-being, but also the smartest commercial investment any business or government can make. The forests, floodplains, and oyster reefs often seen simply as raw materials or as obstacles to be cleared in the name of progress are, in fact as important to our future prosperity as technology or law or business innovation. Nature’s Fortune offers an essential guide to the world’s economic—and environmental—well-being.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


Beyond Outrage: What has gone wrong with our economy and our democracy, and how to fix it -- by Robert B. Reich

Beyond OutrageIn this timely book, Robert B. Reich argues that nothing good happens in Washington unless citizens are energized and organized to make sure Washington acts in the public good. The first step is to see the big picture. Beyond Outrage connects the dots, showing why the increasing share of income and wealth going to the top has hobbled jobs and growth for everyone else, undermining our democracy; caused Americans to become increasingly cynical about public life; and turned many Americans against one another. He also explains why the proposals of the “regressive right” are dead wrong and provides a clear roadmap of what must be done instead. Here’s a plan for action for everyone who cares about the future of America.

Click here for more info or to order this book on Amazon.


This Changes Everything: Occupy Wall Street and the 99% Movement
by Sarah van Gelder and staff of YES! Magazine.

This Changes Everything: Occupy Wall Street and the 99% Movement by Sarah van Gelder and staff of YES! Magazine.This Changes Everything shows how the Occupy movement is shifting the way people view themselves and the world, the kind of society they believe is possible, and their own involvement in creating a society that works for the 99% rather than just the 1%. Attempts to pigeonhole this decentralized, fast-evolving movement have led to confusion and misperception. In this volume, the editors of YES! Magazine bring together voices from inside and outside the protests to convey the issues, possibilities, and personalities associated with the Occupy Wall Street movement. This book features contributions from Naomi Klein, David Korten, Rebecca Solnit, Ralph Nader, and others, as well as Occupy activists who were there from the beginning.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.



enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}