تعرف على المزارعين الذين يستردون التاريخ الزراعي لبورتوريكو

تعرف على المزارعين الذين يستردون التاريخ الزراعي لبورتوريكو

يقوم السكان في مجتمع ريفي من بورتوريكو بإحياء حديقة نباتية تاريخية لتكون مثالاً للزراعة المحلية والمستدامة.

في ظل مدينة Monte Pirucho ، التي كانت ذات يوم مكانًا للعبادة لقبيلة Taino ، تسحب Tara Rodríguez Besosa نباتًا طويلًا شائكًا من سرير حديقة مجتمع صغيرة ويبدأ في اقتلاع أوراقه.

تسمى "la ruda" (شارع) ، النبات ، الذي يطلق رائحة عشبية قوية ، لديه تاريخ طوابق كجزء من تجارب تحديد النسل مرة واحدة أجريت سرا في بورتوريكو من قبل الباحثين الطبي البر الرئيسي. لكن القوى العشبية الأصلية قد استخدمت في الأصل من أجل الخير.

يقول كارمن فيغيلا ، وهو مزارع محلي يدير حديقة المجتمع: "هذا ما نسميه مصنعًا ساخنًا". "يمكن استخدامه بفعالية لأشياء مثل القلق وتشنجات الحيض أو لدرء الأرواح السيئة ، لكن عليك احترام وفهم الغرض منها."

فيغيلا وسكان سان سلفادور ، مجتمع زراعي صغير 30 ميلا إلى الجنوب من سان خوان ، يزرع الرودا وغيرها من النباتات والأعشاب الطبية المستوطنة في الجزيرة الكاريبية. إنها محور El Jardin Ecológico del San Salvador, تجدد شباب المجتمع بعد إعصار ماريا ، وكان بمثابة مثال للزراعة المحلية والمستدامة.

يقع El Jardin Ecológico خلف كنيسة مهجورة وبجانب ريو غراندي دي لا لويزا. على الرغم من وجودها لسنوات عديدة - لا يمكن للسكان تذكر تأسيسها الدقيق - إلا أنها تكتسب أهمية جديدة كنموذج لكيفية استعادة صغار المزارعين في جميع أنحاء الجزيرة لتراثهم الزراعي.

تعرف على المزارعين الذين يستردون التاريخ الزراعي لبورتوريكو

كرمز لماضي بورتوريكو ورؤية لمستقبل الجزيرة ، تقع حديقة المجتمع بجوار كنيسة قديمة عند سفح أحد أهم الجبال في ثقافة تاينو. الصورة بواسطة كارلي جراف.

لقد عملت عقود من الاعتماد الاقتصادي والثقافي على الولايات المتحدة أكثر من إعادة تشكيل اقتصاد بورتوريكو المعتمد على الزراعة. فمثلا، تشغيل Bootstrap، التي بدأت في 1947 ، حولت بالكامل الاعتماد الاقتصادي لبورتوريكو من الزراعة إلى التصنيع في أقل من 20 سنوات.

قال كثير من الناس إن هذا التحول بالإكراه من نظام زراعي إلى نظام صناعي يؤدي إلى تآكل الممارسات الثقافية التقليدية وحتى ما يعنيه أن يكون بورتوريكو.

وأحدث ثورة في النظام الغذائي البورتوريكي. لقد ولت الخضروات الطازجة والفواكه الاستوائية والأعشاب الأصلية ذات يوم على مدار السنة في مناخ الجزيرة الاستوائي. حتى العناصر الثقافية الأساسية مثل الأرز والفاصوليا لم تعد تزرع هناك.

نتيجة لذلك ، بورتوريكو انخفضت مبيعات المزارع بما يقرب من الثلثين بين 1959 و 1964 ، وفقًا لوزارة الزراعة الأمريكية.

وقال رودريغيز بيسوسا ، وهو ناشط مهندس معماري في وسط هذا الإحياء الزراعي: "لقد علمنا أن زراعة الطعام في الفناء الخلفي لم يكن متحضراً". "وقيل لنا إن تناول الطعام المعلب جعلنا مواطنين من الدرجة الأولى."

أصبحت الأطعمة المقلية والمستوردة جيدة مع مكونات عالية في السكر أو الصوديوم ، أو كليهما ، بالضرورة ، جزء منتظم من النظام الغذائي المحلي. كاسا دي ووبر (برجر كنج) واجهات كنتاكي فرايد تشيكن تصطف في الشوارع حتى في المناطق الريفية ، ومعدلات الحالات التي يمكن الوقاية منها مثل السمنة ومرض السكري وارتفاع ضغط الدم أكثر بكثير من المعدل الوطني ، وجدت دراسة حديثة.

تعرف على المزارعين الذين يستردون التاريخ الزراعي لبورتوريكو

إلى اليسار ، تشرح كارمن فيغيلا كيف استخدم السكان الأصليون النباتات المزروعة في حديقة المجتمع. الصورة بواسطة كارلي جراف.

صحيح ، فيغيلا يعلم الطلاب حول النباتات والحيوانات في الحديقة ، وكيف يمكن استخدامها اليوم. الصورة كاتي رايس.

البورتوريكيون هم أربعة أضعاف ما يحتمل كخبراء من البر الرئيسيين لتجربة انعدام الأمن الغذائي ، وهذا يعني أنهم لا يستطيعون الوصول بشكل موثوق إلى ما يكفي من الأطعمة الصحية لتلبية الاحتياجات الغذائية الأساسية ، وفقا ل Bread for the World ، وهي منظمة غير ربحية تركز على الحد من الجوع في العالم. حول 43 في المئة من السكان تلقي طوابع الغذاء ، وفقا لوزارة الزراعة الأمريكية.

قبل أن يضرب الإعصار ماريا 2017 ، بدأ ظهور مشهد مزرع إلى أرضه في الجزيرة. وكانت مجموعة صغيرة ولكنها مزدهرة من المزارعين بدأت الدعوة لحقوقهم إلى الأرض وحرية لإطعام أنفسهم.

إذا تمكن البورتوريكيون من زراعة طعامهم ، فقد ذهب التفكير ، ويمكنهم أخيرًا استعادة الهوية الفريدة للجزيرة والتحرك أكثر على الطريق نحو تقرير المصير السياسي.

أصبح رودريغيز بيسوسا صوتًا رائدًا في هذا الجهد. في 2010 ، بدأت تشغيل El Departamento de la Comida ، وهي عملية مدعومة من المجتمع على غرار الزراعة - ومطعم لاحقًا - كانت بمثابة مركز توزيع لصغار المزارعين الذين يتطلعون إلى بيع منتجاتهم.

كان الهدف هو إعادة إنتاج المنتجات المحلية إلى البورتوريكيين. قال رودريغيز بيسوزا: "نريد أن نأكل الحمية الأصلية لبورتوريكو". "لكننا نريد أيضًا استخدام الطعام لخلق فهم أفضل على نطاق واسع لما يجعلنا جميعًا بورتوريكو حقًا".

كانت في طور شراء مزرعة 8 فدان في سان سلفادور عندما ضرب إعصار ماريا في 2017. الفئة 5 العاصفة دمرت ما يقدر 80 في المئة من المحاصيل بورتوريكو والأراضي الزراعية. في أعقابها ، أصبحت ثورة الزراعة أكثر إلحاحًا.

تعرف على المزارعين الذين يستردون التاريخ الزراعي لبورتوريكو

اشترت تارا رودريغيز بيسوسا مزرعة ومزرعة مهجورة بمساحة 8 في سان سلفادور عبر الشارع من الحديقة. وهي تستضيف اليوم الجيران لتناول وجبات الطعام المطبوخة في المنزل باستخدام المنتجات والنباتات التي يزرعونها محليًا. الصورة بواسطة كارلي جراف.

كانت الجزيرة تستورد 85 في المئة من طعامها قبل العاصفة. هذا التوازن يعني أن قدرتها على إدارة تعافيها كانت مشلولة عندما فشلت الحكومة الفيدرالية. في أسوأ حالاتها ، بعد ماريا ، كانت الجزيرة استيراد 95 في المئة من طعامها.

دمرت ماريا أيضًا El Departamento de la Comida ، وبدلاً من محاولة إعادة بنائها ، قرر رودريغيز بيسوسا التركيز على إعادة البناء الزراعي للجزيرة.

ما تلا ذلك كان ضجة إعلامية بسبب الناشطة المتمردة ذات الطاقة العالية والتآزر الطبيعي بين خططها الخاصة ومشروع حديقة المجتمع الموجودة في سان سلفادور.

تقع San Salvador خلف سلسلة من الممرات الجبلية المتعرجة ، وهي أقل منطقة مأهولة بالسكان في مدينة Caguas ، التي تقع بين التلال الخضراء المورقة التي كانت تضم يومًا ما أغنى تنوع بيئي في الجزيرة. كان أيضًا في السابق موطنًا للمجتمعات القبلية المزدهرة ، التي تميزت بالرسومات الصخرية الموجودة على الصخور القريبة التي تدوم طويلاً تقريبا كل الناس تاينو.

"الزراعة هي ممارسة للحفظ الثقافي والتاريخي."

عزز الدليل الملموس لهذا الماضي ارتباطًا عميقًا بالتاريخ وتقاليده بين سكان سان سلفادور ، وأبلغهم عن حبهم وتفانيهم في الأرض.

يقول فيغيلا: "الزراعة هي ممارسة للحفظ الثقافي والتاريخي" ، موضحة سبب اختيار السكان لزراعة النباتات والحيوانات المحلية في حديقة المجتمع ، بما في ذلك حيوانات الرودا والنباتات مثل الكركم والأناناس والأعشاب الطبية الأخرى.

سان سلفادور هو مجتمع معتاد على إنجاز الأمور بمفرده.

بعد أن ضربت ماريا ، عاش أشخاص من 19 في فصول المدارس الابتدائية المغلقة. سيدات الغداء المحلية أطعمهم. دفعت نفس روح المجتمع إلى إعادة استثمار وترميم الحديقة النباتية ، والتي يقول فيغيلا إنها توفر وسيلة للجيران وغيرهم من المهتمين بالتعلم والمساعدة في الحفاظ على الثقافة والتقاليد المحلية من خلال الأنواع المستوطنة فيه.

هي ورودريغيز بيسوسا يقودان ورش العمل في جاردان بوتانيكو لأطفال المدارس في بورتوريكو وجلب المتطوعين ، المحليين والزائرين ، لمعرفة المزيد عن الزراعة والمساعدة في الحفاظ على الحديقة.

وبعد نهايات هناك ، غالباً ما يتناول الجيران الطعام معاً في مؤامرة رودريغيز بيسوسا عبر الشارع ، حيث تأتي العديد من المكونات مباشرة من الحديقتين.

تعرف على المزارعين الذين يستردون التاريخ الزراعي لبورتوريكو

تشيد حديقة المجتمع بتاريخ بورتوريكو فيما وراء النباتات والحيوانات. بنى المجتمع "Taino swing set" لأطفال الحي ، على غرار المباني التي يعتقد أن Tainos بناؤها واستخدامها للتسلية. الصورة كاتي رايس.

نمت فيغيلا ، من جانبها ، وهي تعمل في الأرض في هذا المجتمع مع أسرتها وتعيش من فضله. ولكن كما هو الحال مع التأثيرات الأخرى لسياسة الولايات المتحدة ، لم تعد الممارسات الزراعية الشائعة والتقاليد الزراعية الموروثة ، كتلك التي تتبعها عائلة فيغيلا ، شائعة.

بأعينها اللطيفة وابتسامة سريعة ، تتجول بسرعة في المزرعة ، وتبحر في النباتات الخشن وتخرج من الأرض. تقول: "قرأت بعض الكتب ، لكنني تعلمت معظم ذلك من خلال أسلافي وبعد مشاهدة ما فعلته جدتي وأمي بالنسبة لي".

في هذا اليوم ، بينما يتغذى الجيران على هريس الخضروات الجذرية وخضروات الباذنجان وسلطة حبوب الموز ، لا يوجد شيء من الأشياء المعلبة. تعد السبريد وجبة نموذجية في المزرعة ، أعدها Vero Quiles ، الشيف السابق وشريك الأعمال في El Departamento de la Comida.

كما أن الوجبة هي رمز لما كان يأكله البورتوريكيون تاريخيا قبل أن يتغير نظام الأغذية ليصبح معتمدا على الواردات. وهذا ما يمكن أن يتخيله رودريغيز بيسوسا وآخرون في جميع أنحاء الجزيرة في حال تحقق رؤيتهم للزراعة المحلية والمستدامة.

وتقول: "يجب أن تملي المياه وغيرها من النظم البيئية الطبيعية ما يحدث في الجزيرة ، وليس على الأشخاص الذين لم يعيشوا قط هنا".

نبذة عن الكاتب

كارلي جراف كتب هذا المقال ل نعم فعلا! مجلة. كارلي صحفية طالبة دراسات عليا في جامعة نورث وسترن ، حيث تركز على تقارير العدالة الاجتماعية. عاشت سابقا في سانتا في ، نيو مكسيكو ، حيث عملت في مجلة Outside. إذا لم تكن تقوم بالإبلاغ ، فستجد لها الركض أو المشي لمسافات طويلة أو التخطيط لرحلتها الكبيرة التالية. اتبعها carlykgraf.

ظهر هذا المقال أصلا على نعم فعلا! مجلة

وأوصت الكتب:

رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين
توماس بيكيتي. (ترجمه آرثر غولدهامر)

رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين غلاف فني من قبل توماس Piketty.In رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين ، يحلل توماس بيكيتي مجموعة فريدة من البيانات من عشرين دولة ، تراوحت في القرن الثامن عشر ، لتكشف عن الأنماط الاقتصادية والاجتماعية الرئيسية. لكن الاتجاهات الاقتصادية ليست أعمال الله. يقول توماس بيكيتي: لقد أدى العمل السياسي إلى الحد من التفاوتات الخطيرة في الماضي ، وقد يفعل ذلك مرة أخرى. عمل طموح غير عادي ، أصالة ، ودقة ، رأس المال في القرن الحادي والعشرين يعيد فهمنا للتاريخ الاقتصادي ويواجهنا بدروس واقعية اليوم. وستغير نتائجه النقاش وتحدد جدول الأعمال للجيل القادم من التفكير في الثروة وعدم المساواة.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


ثروة الطبيعة: كيف تزدهر الأعمال والمجتمع من خلال الاستثمار في الطبيعة
بقلم مارك ر. تيرسيك وجوناثان س. آدمز.

ثروة الطبيعة: كيف تزدهر الأعمال والمجتمع من خلال الاستثمار في الطبيعة بقلـم مارك ر. تيرسيك وجوناثان س. آدامز.ما هي طبيعة يستحق؟ الإجابة على تقليديا مؤطرة في البيئة هذه التي سؤال حيث هو ثورة في الطريقة التي نؤدي بها أعمالنا. في فورتشن الطبيعةيقول مارك تيرسيك ، الرئيس التنفيذي لـ The Nature Conservancy and bank of banker السابق ، والكاتب جوناثان آدامز ، إن الطبيعة ليست فقط أساس رفاهية الإنسان ، بل هي أيضا أذكى استثمار تجاري يمكن أن تقوم به أي شركة أو حكومة. الغابات ، والسهول الفيضية ، وشعاب المحار التي غالبا ما ينظر إليها ببساطة على أنها مواد خام أو عوائق يجب تطهيرها باسم التقدم ، هي في الواقع مهمة بالنسبة لرفاهنا المستقبلي مثل التكنولوجيا أو القانون أو الابتكار في الأعمال. فورتشن الطبيعة يقدم دليلا أساسيا للرفاهية الاقتصادية والبيئية في العالم.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


ما بعد الغضب: قد ذهب ما الخطأ في اقتصادنا وديمقراطيتنا، وكيفية اصلاحها -- بواسطة الرايخ روبرت ب.

ما بعد الغضبفي هذا الكتاب في الوقت المناسب، روبرت ب. رايخ يقول أن لا شيء جيد يحدث في واشنطن ما لم يتم تنشيط المنظمة والمواطنين للتأكد من أفعال واشنطن في الصالح العام. الخطوة الأولى هي أن نرى الصورة الكبيرة. ما بعد الغضب يربط بين النقاط، والتي تبين لماذا حصة متزايدة من الدخل والثروة الذهاب إلى الأعلى قد اعاقه فرص العمل والنمو لشخص آخر، مما يقوض ديمقراطيتنا؛ تسبب الأميركيين أن تصبح ساخرة على نحو متزايد بشأن الحياة العامة، وتحول كثير من الأمريكيين ضد بعضها البعض. وهو ما يفسر أيضا لماذا مقترحات "الحق رجعية" على خطأ القتلى ويشكل خريطة طريق واضحة لما يجب القيام به بدلا من ذلك. وهنا خطة للعمل لكل من يهتم بمستقبل الأمريكية.

انقر هنا للمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


هذه التغييرات كل شيء: تحتل وول ستريت وحركة 99٪
بواسطة سارة فان جيلدر وموظفي YES! مجلة.

هذه التغييرات كل شيء: تحتل وول ستريت وحركة 99٪ من سارة فان جيلدر وموظفي YES! مجلة.هذا يغير كل شيء يوضح كيف أن حركة "الإحتلال" تغير الطريقة التي ينظر بها الناس إلى أنفسهم والعالم ، نوع المجتمع الذي يعتقدون أنه ممكن ، ومشاركتهم في خلق مجتمع يعمل لـ 99٪ بدلاً من 1٪ فقط. وقد أدت محاولات صراع هذه الحركة اللامركزية السريعة التطور إلى الارتباك وسوء الفهم. في هذا المجلد ، محرري نعم فعلا! مجلة جمع الأصوات من داخل وخارج الاحتجاجات لنقل القضايا والإمكانيات والشخصيات المرتبطة بحركة احتلوا وول ستريت. يقدم هذا الكتاب مساهمات من نعومي كلاين ، وديفيد كورتين ، وريبيكا سولنيت ، ورالف نادر ، وآخرين ، بالإضافة إلى نشطاء احتلوا هناك منذ البداية.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.



enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Meet the Farmers Reclaiming Puerto Rico’s Agricultural History

Meet the Farmers Reclaiming Puerto Rico’s Agricultural History

Residents in a rural Puerto Rican community are reviving a historic botanical garden to serve as an example of local and sustainable farming.

In the shadow of Monte Pirucho, once a place of worship for the Taino tribe, Tara Rodríguez Besosa pulls a long, spiny plant from the bed of a small community garden and begins plucking its leaves.

Called “la ruda” (rue), the plant, which releases a strong herbaceous scent, has a storied history as part of birth control trials once covertly conducted in Puerto Rico by mainland medical researchers. But the indigenous herb’s powers had originally been used for good.

“That’s what we call a hot plant,” says Carmen Veguilla, a local farmer who runs the community garden. “It can be used effectively for things like anxiety, menstrual cramps or to ward off bad spirits, but you have to respect and understand its purpose.”

Veguilla and other residents of San Salvador, a small agrarian community 30 miles south of San Juan, grow la ruda and other plants and medicinal herbs endemic to the Caribbean island. They are the centerpiece of El Jardin Ecológico del San Salvador, a community garden rejuvenated after Hurricane Maria, and serving as an example of local and sustainable farming.

El Jardin Ecológico sits behind an abandoned church and alongside the Rio Grande de La Loiza. Though it has existed many years—residents can’t recall its exact founding—it’s taken on new significance as a model for how small farmers across the island can reclaim their agricultural heritage.

Meet the Farmers Reclaiming Puerto Rico’s Agricultural History

As a symbol of Puerto Rico’s past and a vision for the island’s future, the community garden sits next to an old church at the foot of one of the most important mountains in the Taino culture. Photo by Carly Graf.

Decades of economic and cultural dependence on the United States did more than reshape Puerto Rico’s agricultural-dependent economy. For example, Operation Bootstrap, which began in 1947, completely shifted Puerto Rico’s economic dependence from agriculture to manufacturing in less than 20 years.

Many people said this coerced metamorphosis from an agrarian system to an industrialized one eroded traditional cultural practices and even what it meant to be Puerto Rican.

And it revolutionized the Puerto Rican diet. Gone were fresh vegetables, tropical fruits, and native herbs once grown year-round in the island’s tropical climate. Even staple cultural items like rice and beans were no longer grown there.

As a result, Puerto Rican farm sales decreased by almost two-thirds between 1959 and 1964, according to the USDA.

“We were taught that growing food in your backyard was uncivilized,” said Rodríguez Besosa, an architect-turned activist at the center of this agricultural revival. “And we were told that having canned food made us first-class citizens.”

Fried foods and imported canned good with ingredients high in sugar, sodium, or both became, by necessity, a regular part of the local diet. Casa de Whopper (Burger King) and KFC storefronts line the streets even in rural areas, and rates of preventable conditions like obesity, diabetes, and hypertension are well over the national average, a recent study found.

Meet the Farmers Reclaiming Puerto Rico’s Agricultural History

Left, Carmen Veguilla explains how the plants grown in the community garden were used by Indigenous people. Photo by Carly Graf.

Right, Veguilla teaches students about the garden’s flora and fauna, and how it can be used today. Photo by Katie Rice.

Puerto Ricans are four times as likely as mainlanders to experience food insecurity, meaning they don’t have reliable access to enough healthy foods to meet basic nutrition requirements, according to Bread for the World, a nonprofit focused on reducing global hunger. About 43 percent of residents receive food stamps, according to USDA.

Before Hurricane Maria hit in 2017, a budding farm-to-table scene had started to emerge on the island. A small but burgeoning group of farmers had started advocating for their right to land and the freedom to feed themselves.

If Puerto Ricans could grow their own food, the thinking went, they could finally reclaim the island’s unique identity and move further down the path toward political self-determination.

Rodríguez Besosa became a leading voice in that effort. In 2010, she had started El Departamento de la Comida, a community-supported agriculture-style operation—and later restaurant—that served as a distribution center for small farmers looking to sell their products.

The goal was to reintroduce native produce to Puerto Ricans. “We want to eat the original Puerto Rican diet,” Rodríguez Besosa said. “But we also want to use food to create a better widespread understanding of what truly makes us all Puerto Rican.”

She was in the process of buying an 8-acre farm in San Salvador when Hurricane Maria hit in 2017. The category 5 storm destroyed an estimated 80 percent of Puerto Rico’s crops and farmland. In its wake, the farming revolution became more urgent.

Meet the Farmers Reclaiming Puerto Rico’s Agricultural History

Tara Rodriguez Besosa bought an abandoned 8-acre farm and farmhouse in San Salvador across the street from the garden. Today, she hosts neighbors for home-cooked meals using produce and plants they grow locally. Photo by Carly Graf. 

The island was importing 85 percent of its food before the storm. That balance meant its ability to manage its own recovery was crippled when the federal government fell short. At its worst, after Maria, the island was importing 95 percent of its food.

Maria also destroyed El Departamento de la Comida, and rather than trying to rebuild it, Rodríguez Besosa decided to focus on the island’s agricultural reconstruction.

What ensued was a media frenzy over the high-energy, rebellious activist and a natural synergy between her own plans and the existing community garden project in San Salvador.

Tucked away behind a series of winding mountain passes, San Salvador is the least populated barrio in the city of Caguas, which sits among lush green hills that once housed some of the island’s richest ecological diversity. It was also once home to thriving tribal communities, marked by the petroglyphs found on nearby rocks that have outlasted nearly all Taino people.

“Farming is a practice of cultural and historical preservation.”

The tangible proof of this past has fostered a deep connection to history and its traditions among San Salvador residents, and it has informed their love and dedication to the land.

“Farming is a practice of cultural and historical preservation,” Veguilla says, explaining why residents chose to cultivate indigenous flora and fauna at the community garden, including la ruda and plants like turmeric, pineapples, and other medicinal herbs.

San Salvador is a community accustomed to getting things done on its own.

After Maria hit, 19 people lived in the shuttered elementary school classrooms; local lunch ladies fed them. That same community spirit drove the reinvestment and restoration of the botanical garden, which Veguilla says provides a way for neighbors and others interested in learning about and helping preserve local culture and tradition through its endemic species.

She and Rodríguez Besosa lead workshops at El Jardin Botanico for Puerto Rican school kids and bring volunteers, both local and visitors, to learn about farming and help maintain the garden.

And after shifts there end, neighbors will often dine together at Rodríguez Besosa’s plot across the street, with many of the ingredients coming straight from the two gardens.

Meet the Farmers Reclaiming Puerto Rico’s Agricultural History

The community garden pays tribute to Puerto Rico’s history beyond just flora and fauna. The community built a “Taino swing set” for the neighborhood children, modeled after the structures believed to have been built by the Tainos and used for recreation. Photo by Katie Rice.

Veguilla, for her part, grew up working the land in this community with her family and living off its bounty. But as with other impacts of U.S. policy, common agricultural practices and inherited farming tradition, like those of Veguilla’s family, are no longer commonplace.

With kind eyes and a quick smile, she moves around the farm swiftly, navigating bristly plants and yanking roots from the ground. “I read some books, but really I learned most of this through my ancestors and after watching what my grandmother and mother did for me,” she says.

On this day, as neighbors feast on root vegetable mash, eggplant stew and plantain-bean salad, there’s none of the canned stuff. The spread is a typical meal on the farm, prepared by Vero Quiles, former chef and business partner at El Departamento de la Comida.

The meal is also emblematic of what many Puerto Ricans historically ate before the food system changed to become reliant on imports. And it’s what Rodríguez Besosa and others envision tables across the island could look like should their vision of local and sustainable farming be realized.

“The water and other natural ecosystems should dictate what happens on the island, not people who have never even lived here,” she says.

About The Author

Carly Graf wrote this article for YES! Magazine. Carly is a graduate student journalist at Northwestern University, where she focuses on social justice reporting. She previously lived in Santa Fe, New Mexico, where she worked for Outside magazine. If she’s not reporting, you’ll find her running, hiking, or planning her next big trip. Follow her @carlykgraf

This article originally appeared on YES! Magazine

Recommended books:

Capital in the Twenty-First Century
by Thomas Piketty. (Translated by Arthur Goldhammer)

Capital in the Twenty-First Century Hardcover by Thomas Piketty.In Capital in the Twenty-First Century, Thomas Piketty analyzes a unique collection of data from twenty countries, ranging as far back as the eighteenth century, to uncover key economic and social patterns. But economic trends are not acts of God. Political action has curbed dangerous inequalities in the past, says Thomas Piketty, and may do so again. A work of extraordinary ambition, originality, and rigor, Capital in the Twenty-First Century reorients our understanding of economic history and confronts us with sobering lessons for today. His findings will transform debate and set the agenda for the next generation of thought about wealth and inequality.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


Nature's Fortune: How Business and Society Thrive by Investing in Nature
by Mark R. Tercek and Jonathan S. Adams.

Nature's Fortune: How Business and Society Thrive by Investing in Nature by Mark R. Tercek and Jonathan S. Adams.What is nature worth? The answer to this question—which traditionally has been framed in environmental terms—is revolutionizing the way we do business. In Nature’s Fortune, Mark Tercek, CEO of The Nature Conservancy and former investment banker, and science writer Jonathan Adams argue that nature is not only the foundation of human well-being, but also the smartest commercial investment any business or government can make. The forests, floodplains, and oyster reefs often seen simply as raw materials or as obstacles to be cleared in the name of progress are, in fact as important to our future prosperity as technology or law or business innovation. Nature’s Fortune offers an essential guide to the world’s economic—and environmental—well-being.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


Beyond Outrage: What has gone wrong with our economy and our democracy, and how to fix it -- by Robert B. Reich

Beyond OutrageIn this timely book, Robert B. Reich argues that nothing good happens in Washington unless citizens are energized and organized to make sure Washington acts in the public good. The first step is to see the big picture. Beyond Outrage connects the dots, showing why the increasing share of income and wealth going to the top has hobbled jobs and growth for everyone else, undermining our democracy; caused Americans to become increasingly cynical about public life; and turned many Americans against one another. He also explains why the proposals of the “regressive right” are dead wrong and provides a clear roadmap of what must be done instead. Here’s a plan for action for everyone who cares about the future of America.

Click here for more info or to order this book on Amazon.


This Changes Everything: Occupy Wall Street and the 99% Movement
by Sarah van Gelder and staff of YES! Magazine.

This Changes Everything: Occupy Wall Street and the 99% Movement by Sarah van Gelder and staff of YES! Magazine.This Changes Everything shows how the Occupy movement is shifting the way people view themselves and the world, the kind of society they believe is possible, and their own involvement in creating a society that works for the 99% rather than just the 1%. Attempts to pigeonhole this decentralized, fast-evolving movement have led to confusion and misperception. In this volume, the editors of YES! Magazine bring together voices from inside and outside the protests to convey the issues, possibilities, and personalities associated with the Occupy Wall Street movement. This book features contributions from Naomi Klein, David Korten, Rebecca Solnit, Ralph Nader, and others, as well as Occupy activists who were there from the beginning.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.



enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}