إن مشاركة الأرباح والملكية مع العمال لا تجعلهم أكثر سعادة فحسب ، بل إنه يفيد في النهاية

إن مشاركة الأرباح والملكية مع العمال لا تجعلهم أكثر سعادة فحسب ، بل إنه يفيد في النهاية هناك الكثير ليرحل. Papamoon / Shutterstock.com

البطالة شبه منخفضة قياسية لديها شركات التحسس للعثور عليها أفضل الطرق لتوظيف العمال والاحتفاظ بهم. أبحاثنا يقترح طريقة مؤكدة لإطلاق النار للقيام بذلك: منحهم مصلحة حقيقية.

من خلال ذلك نعني ببساطة مشاركة بعض الأرباح وحتى الملكية مع الرجال والنساء الذين يعدون أساسيين لنجاح شركاتهم.

معظم الأميركيين يقولون إنهم يريدون ذلك. ا مسح حكومي حديث وجدت أن الغالبية العظمى من المستطلعين عبر الطيف السياسي يفضلون العمل لدى شركة مملوكة للموظف بدلاً من العمل الخاضع لسيطرة المستثمر أو الدولة.

ربما هذا هو أحد الأسباب وراء اكتساب الفكرة قوة في الكابيتول هيل وعلى درب الحملة ، مع طرح العديد من الخطط - بما في ذلك من قبل السناتور بيرني ساندرز و السناتور إليزابيث وارن - مشاركة المزيد من السيطرة على الشركات والأرباح مع العمال.

بعد إجراء دراسة ضخمة متعددة السنوات للرأسمالية المشتركة ، وجدنا أنه ليس فقط مفيدًا للعمال ، بل إنه جيدًا أيضًا.

تقاسم الأرباح 101

لدى الشركات الأمريكية مجموعة متنوعة من الطرق لمشاركة أرباحها مع العمال ، بدءًا من عرض الأرباح النقدية إلى منحهم الفرصة لشراء الأسهم بخصم كبير. اللجوء الآخر هو خطة ملكية أسهم الموظف، والمعروفة باسم ESOP ، والذي يسمح للشركات باستخدام الائتمان لشراء الأسهم التي يتم توزيعها في وقت لاحق مجانا للموظفين.

وقد أظهرت الأبحاث السابقة الفوائد للعمال. وجدت دراسة استقصائية تتعقب الرجال والنساء الأصغر سنا 5,504 منذ 1997 - عندما كانوا في المدرسة الثانوية - وجدت أن المشاركين الذين عملوا في الشركات التي أعطت الموظفين بعض الملكية ذكرت ارتفاع الأجور والثروة وفوائد أفضل وجودة الوظيفة من أقرانهم ، بغض النظر عن الصناعة أو التركيبة السكانية للشخص.

عندما تمت مقابلتهم في 2013 - عندما كان العمال تتراوح أعمارهم بين 28 و 34 - كانت أجورهم أعلى بثلاثة أضعاف وكان متوسط ​​ثروتهم المنزلية حوالي الضعف. ا دراسة متابعة في 2018 أظهر أن أصحاب الأسهم الموظفون استمروا في الحصول على وظائف وفوائد وأرباح وثروة أفضل.

و تم العثور على مسح 2018 من قبل المركز الوطني لملكية الموظفين أفاد العمال في ESOP أن متوسط ​​الرصيد التقاعدي يبلغ 170,326 من دولارات الولايات المتحدة ، أي أكثر من ضعف المعدل الوطني البالغ 80,339 $.

تغطي الشركات التي يمتلكها غالبية الموظفين أو جزء منها مجموعة واسعة من الصناعات ، مثل محلات السوبر ماركت مثل بابلمثل صانعي الملابس نطح وشركة السلع الاستهلاكية شركة بروكتر أند غامبل. الآخرين ، مثل صناعة السيارات فورد وشركات الطيران دلتا و جنوب غربي، تقدم برامج سخية تقاسم الأرباح.

حكومة الولايات المتحدة المسح الاجتماعي العام ذكرت أن 38٪ من الموظفين قالوا أنهم حصلوا على حصة من أرباح comany في 2018. على الرغم من أن هذا يبدو كثيرًا ، إلا أن متوسط ​​العائد هو 2,000 دولار فقط. والشركات الأصغر حجماً - التي تشكل غالبية الشركات الأمريكية - هي أقل عرضة للانخراط في مشاركة الأرباح أو الأسهم مع الموظفين.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، عدد ESOPs في الواقع قد انخفض في السنوات الأخيرة إلى 6,660 في 2016 من 7,100 في 2010.

أفضل الشركات للعمل من أجل

أراد فريقنا البحثي في ​​روتجرز ، بالتعاون مع مؤسسة سلون وخبير الاقتصاد بجامعة هارفارد ريتشارد فريمان ، أن يتعمق في البيانات حول ما يكسبه كل من العمال والشركات من مشاركة الأرباح وكيف تتراكم هذه الفوائد مع مرور الوقت.

للقيام بذلك، درسنا شركات 800 التي تقدمت بطلب لمجلة Fortune 100 أفضل الشركات للعمل من أجل المنافسة من 2005 إلى 2007. في المجموع ، كانت هذه الشركات مسؤولة عن 10٪ من جميع المبيعات وفرص العمل في الولايات المتحدة في ذلك الوقت. حوالي خمس لديهم خطط ملكية الأسهم الموظف أو أي شكل آخر من أشكال تقاسم الأرباح.

للتعرف على كيفية أداء هذه الشركات ماليًا ، نظرنا في عائد بيانات الأسهم التي جمعتها شركة ستاندرد آند بورز. العائد على الأسهم هو مقياس شائع للأداء المالي يقسم صافي الدخل على حقوق المساهمين.

كجزء من عملية التقديم ، أجرى معهد Great Place to Work دراسات استقصائية مستقلة لأكثر من 230,000 من الموظفين في جميع المتقدمين خلال فترة الثلاث سنوات.

بعد تجميع البيانات من جميع هذه الاستطلاعات ، وجدنا أن الشركات التي قدمت للعمال على حد سواء تعويضات الأسهم ومشاركة الأرباح كانت أفضل من الناحية الإحصائية عن الشركات الأخرى في مجموعة متنوعة من التدابير. على سبيل المثال ، كان من المرجح بدرجة أكبر أن يقول عمالهم أن لشركتهم ثقافة إدارة تعاونية ، وأنهم حصلوا على حصة عادلة من التعويض وأن شركتهم كانت "مكانًا ممتازًا للعمل". كانوا يعتزمون البقاء "لفترة طويلة".

كل هذا ترجم إلى نتائج أفضل للشركات كذلك. على وجه التحديد ، وجدنا أن الشركات التي تقدم هذه المزايا كان معدل دورانها الطوعي أقل بكثير - كان عدد العمال الذين يحتمل أن يغادروا النصف - وعائد على الأسهم أعلى بنسبة 12٪ من نظرائهم.

فوز واضح

خلاصة القول: إن مشاركة ثمار نجاح أي شركة مع العمال تجعل الأخيرة أكثر سعادة بينما تساعد - أو على الأقل لا تؤذي - على ربحيتها السابقة. وفوق كل هذا ، هذه الأنواع من الرأسمالية المشتركة يمكن أن تقلل من عدم المساواة.

لهذا السبب نعتقد أنه يمكن للحكومة أن تفعل المزيد لتشجيعها من خلال النظر في تقديم حوافز ضريبية لكل من الشركات العامة الكبيرة والشركات الصغيرة لتبادل الأرباح أو وضع خطط لمشاركة الموظفين. مثال على ذلك أ مشروع قانون من الحزبين وقّع في أغسطس هذا يتيح للحكومة تقديم قروض للموظفين الذين يرغبون في شراء أصحاب الأعمال الصغيرة المتقاعدين.

إذا لم يكن هذا فوزًا واضحًا لجميع المشاركين ، فلا نعرف ما هو.المحادثة

عن المؤلفين

جوزيف بلاسي ، مدير معهد دراسة ملكية الموظفين وتقاسم الأرباح ، جامعة روتجرز. دوجلاس ل. كروس ، أستاذ متميز وعميد مشارك للشؤون الأكاديمية ، جامعة روتجرز، ومورين كونواي ، زميل تنفيذي ، معهد دراسة ملكية الموظفين ومشاركة الأرباح ، جامعة روتجرز

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Sharing Profits And Ownership With Workers Not Only Make Them Happier, It Benefits The Bottom Line Too

Sharing Profits And Ownership With Workers Not Only Make Them Happier, It Benefits The Bottom Line Too There’s plenty to go around. Papamoon/Shutterstock.com

Near-record low unemployment has companies fumbling to find the best ways to recruit and retain workers. Our research suggests a sure-fire way to do just that: give them a real stake.

By that we simply mean sharing some of the profits and even ownership with the men and women who are fundamental to their companies’ success.

Most Americans say they want it. A recent government survey found that vast majorities of respondents across the political spectrum prefer to work for an employee-owned company than an investor- or state-controlled business.

Perhaps that’s one reason why the idea is gaining steam on Capitol Hill and on the campaign trail, with several plans being floated – including ones by Sen. Bernie Sanders and Sen. Elizabeth Warren – to share more corporate control and profits with workers.

After conducting a massive, multi-year study of shared capitalism, we found that not only is it good for workers, it’s good for the bottom line too.

Profit sharing 101

U.S. businesses have a variety of ways to share their gains with workers, from offering cash profit sharing to giving them the opportunity to purchase stock at a large discount. Another recourse is the Employee Stock Ownership Plan, known as an ESOP, which allows companies to use credit to buy shares that are later distributed for free to employees.

Past research has shown the benefits for workers. A survey that has tracked 5,504 younger men and women since 1997 – when they were in high school – found that participants who worked at companies that gave employees some ownership reported higher wages and wealth and better benefits and job quality than their peers, regardless of industry or the person’s demographics.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


When interviewed in 2013 – when the workers were aged 28 to 34 – their wages were a third higher and their median household wealth was about double. A followup study in 2018 showed that the employee shareowners continued to have better jobs, benefits, earnings and wealth.

And a 2018 survey by the National Center for Employee Ownership found that workers in ESOPs reported an average retirement balance of US$170,326, more than twice the national average of $80,339.

Businesses that are majority- or part-owned by employees cover a wide range of industries, such as supermarkets like Publix, clothing makers like Gore and consumer goods company Procter & Gamble. Others, such as automaker Ford and airlines Delta and Southwest, offer generous profit sharing programs.

The U.S. government’s General Social Survey reported that 38% of employees said they received a share of their comany’s profits in 2018. Although that seems like a lot, the average payout is just $2,000. And smaller businesses – which make up the majority of U.S. enterprises – are much less likely to engage in profit or equity sharing with employees.

In addition, the number of ESOPs actually has fallen in recent years to 6,660 in 2016 from 7,100 in 2010.

Best companies to work for

Our research team at Rutgers, in collaboration with the Sloan Foundation and Harvard economist Richard Freeman, wanted to delve deeper into the data on what both workers and companies gain from profit sharing and how those benefits accrue over time.

To do so, we studied the 800 companies that applied for Fortune Magazine’s 100 Best Companies to Work For competition from 2005 to 2007. In total, these companies were responsible for 10% of all sales and employment in the U.S. at the time. About one-fifth had Employee Stock Ownership Plans or another form of profit sharing.

To get a sense of how these companies performed financially, we looked at return on equity data compiled by Standard & Poor’s. Return on equity is a common measure of financial performance that divides net income by shareholder equity.

As part of the application process, the Great Place to Work Institute conducted independent surveys of more than 230,000 employees at all the applicants over the three-year period.

After compiling the data from all these surveys, we found that companies that offered workers both equity compensation and profit sharing performed statistically better than the others on a variety of measures. For example, their workers were substantially more likely to say that their company had a collaborative management culture, that they were getting a fair share of compensation and that their company was an “excellent place to work.” They were also much more likely to say they intended to stay for a “long time.”

All of this translated into better results for the companies as well. Specifically, we found that businesses offering these benefits had a much lower voluntary turnover rate – workers were half as likely to leave – and a return on equity 12% higher than their peers.

A clear win-win

Bottom line: Sharing the fruits of a company’s success with workers makes the latter happier while helping – or at the very least not hurting – the former’s profitability. On top of all this, these kinds of shared capitalism can reduce inequality.

That’s why we believe the government could do more to encourage it by considering offering tax incentives to both large public companies and small businesses to share profits or create employee share ownership plans. An example of this is a bipartisan bill signed into law in August that lets the government make loans employees who want to buy our retiring small business owners.

If that’s not a clear win-win for all involved, we don’t know what is.The Conversation

About The Authors

Joseph Blasi, Director of the Institute for the Study of Employee Ownership and Profit Sharing, Rutgers University; Douglas L. Kruse, Distinguished Professor and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Rutgers University, and Maureen Conway, Executive Fellow, Institute for the Study of Employee Ownership and Profit Sharing, Rutgers University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}