هناك حل نقدي لأزمة المناخ

هل نتعثر بينما يحترق العالم والفيضانات ويموت؟

الفكرة التي نقلها معظم قادة وممثلي الحكومة المحافظة والليبرالية هي أنه لا يمكن عمل الكثير من أجل الشعب لأن "المال" غير متاح. استنتاجهم: إذا كنا سننفق المزيد هنا ، فعلينا أن نأخذها هناك. صحيح أن المال محدود ولكن ليس مثلنا اعتادنا على التفكير.

غالبًا ما تتم مقارنة عرض النقود في الدولة بميزانية شخصية أو عائلية ولا يمكن أن يكون هناك شيء أبعد من الواقع. السبب البسيط هو أن الحكومات يمكن أن تخلق أموالاً من الهواء الخفيف وأنت وأنا لا أستطيع ذلك. هذه المقارنة تستخدم فقط لخداعنا.

نتيجة الصورة للذهب في حصن نوكسكان المال مدعومًا بالذهب. لماذا الذهب؟ لأنه يحد من كمية الأموال التي يمكن أن تصدرها أي دولة ويعتقد أنه "دائمًا" سيكون شيئًا جيدًا. ولكن في النهاية ، كان هذا هو السبب وراء إلغاء المعيار الذهبي. لقد أبقى المال في حالة نقص شديد في العرض وتوقف النمو الاقتصادي بسبب ندرته. كانت الأموال المدعومة بالذهب محدودة للغاية في حين أن الطاقة الإنتاجية لم تكن كذلك.

حسنًا ، ها نحن بعد بعض سنوات 50 ، وما زلنا نتصرف وكأننا مقيدون بحجم الذهب الذي لم يعد يقيد عرض النقود. ومع ذلك ، فإن عدم وجود معيار "ذهبي" لا يعني أن بإمكان أي بلد طباعة مبالغ نقدية غير محدودة. لا تزال البلدان محدودة بسبب "إيمانها وائتمانها الكاملين" ، وقدرتها على إصدار العملات ذات القيمة المستقبلية المعروفة والمتوقعة والدفع بها. وهذا هو السبب في أن توقع التضخم الحقيقي أو الحد الفعلي له هو القيد الطبيعي الوحيد لكمية الأموال التي يمكن أن تنتجها أي دولة.

قيمة المال المتوازن بين الإيمان والحاجة

نتيجة صورة لعربة من الماللذلك استقرنا على النقود الورقية ، مدعومة بالإيمان والائتمان الكاملين لحكومتنا. انتهى المقياس القديم للذهب الذي يخلق قيمة النقود الورقية والحد من عرض النقود برينتون وودز في 1971 - تمامًا مثل تداول الطماطم (البندورة) الخاصة بي للذرة أو الجيب المليئة بالأصداف أو التي تحمل حوالي 50 رطل من الذهب أو الفضة قد انتهى في أوقات سابقة.

مبلغ المال الذي تستطيع الحكومة طباعته ليس بلا حدود. يجب موازنة المبلغ بين الإيمان بالحكومة التي تصدر الأموال وحاجة الأشخاص الذين تخدمهم الحكومة. قم بطباعة الكثير من الأموال لمطاردة عدد قليل جدًا من السلع والخدمات ، وارتفع سعر تلك السلع والخدمات. قم بطباعة القليل جدًا وسقوط أسعار هذه السلع والخدمات نفسها مع عرقلة الطلب.

لذا فإن التمويل الحكومي والحفاظ على عرض النقود ليس هو نفسه التمويل الشخصي أو الأسري. وأي شخص يبيعها على هذا النحو هو إما جاهل أو أنه خادع ، أو كليهما.

اليوم يتم استبدال "الراحة" من النقود الورقية. حاول دفع الأمازون عبر الإنترنت بالنقد. إن أموال اليوم ليست في الغالب أكثر من أرقام في حسابك المصرفي متاحة لك فورًا عبر الهاتف أو الكمبيوتر.

موازنة التضخم والانكماش

لقد عاش معظمنا مع التضخم. معظمنا لم يعيش مع الانكماش. كلاهما مدمر بنفس القدر. يتعين على المرء فقط أن ينظر إلى الوضع في فنزويلا أو أن يقرأ عن ألمانيا ما بعد الحرب العالمية الأولى لفهم مدى تدمير التضخم. أو اقرأ عن أو تحدث مع شخص عاش خلال فترة الكساد الكبير في 1930s للتعرف على الانكماش.

كما هو الحال مع معظم الأشياء في الحياة ، يجب تحقيق التوازن. هذه النسبة المناسبة ، بين المال والسلع والخدمات المتاحة ، هي التي تبقي الأمور في حالة توازن. إذا أرادت الحكومة إنشاء المزيد من الأموال للإنفاق ، فعليها أن تشجع اقتصادها على زيادة قدرتها على إنتاج السلع والخدمات. إن هذه القدرة الزائدة على إنتاج السلع والخدمات هي التي تحكم حقًا مقدار الأموال التي يمكن أن توجد ومقدار ما تستطيع الحكومات فعله من أجل رفاهية شعبها.

مواجهة أزمة المناخ وجها لوجه مع المال

سواء كنا صغارا وكبارا ، أغنياء أم فقراء ، فإننا جميعا نواجه أزمة وجودية. ما نفعله الآن سيحدد ما إذا كان هذا هو الفصل الأخير للبشرية. في ثمانين سنة فقط ، قد لا يكون جزء كبير من الأرض صالحًا للسكن. ثمانون سنة ليست طويلة. كثير من الناس يعيشون هذا الوقت الطويل. انها مجرد أربعة أجيال. مثل الضفدع المثل في وعاء الماء البارد الذي يصل تدريجيا إلى درجة الغليان ، فقد نموت دون أن نلاحظ.

يدرك العديد من العلماء أن الكوكب قد يسخن بقدر درجة 5 درجة مئوية في سنوات 80 القادمة. لا يبدو كثيرًا ولكن المناخ تباين أقل من درجة 2 في تاريخ البشرية. لن يظهر الاحترار ونتائجه المدمرة فقط في سنوات 80 ، ولكن سيستمر التدمير تدريجيًا كل عام.

سوف يتألف مستقبل الإنسان ، على المدى القصير ، من التخفيف من أضرار تغير المناخ ، والتكيف مع الظروف الجوية القاسية ، وزيادة المعاناة البشرية.

ومع ذلك ، فإنه ليس ميئوسا منه. سوف يستغرق الأمر بعض المال لمكافحة أزمة المناخ لدينا وسيستغرق الأمر أموالًا للتغلب على الدمار. إنها حقًا حالة دفع لي الآن أو الدفع لاحقًا. وأولئك الذين من شأنه أن يفوزوا بأيديهم وأنفسهم أنه لا يوجد مال ليسوا أصدقاء لنا ولا يمكن الوثوق بهم في حياة أبنائنا وبناتنا وأحفادنا وأحفادهم.

لدينا قدرة انتاجية كبيرة. ليس هذا هو الوقت المناسب للحكومات لقرص البنسات وخفض الإنفاق. هذا هو الوقت المناسب لقضاء كل ما هو ضروري لتجنب الكوارث التي تسير في طريقنا ، ولمنع الضرر المتزايد على ما يبدو الذي أحدثناه في عالمنا.

الخيار بسيط: العبث بينما نحرق ونغرق ونموت مقابل قليل من التضخم إذا تجاوزنا الإنفاق. بالتأكيد لا التفكير. تبين لنا المال!

التحذير من التضخم

شرع الرئيس الأمريكي الحالي ، والإدارة ، والعناصر التمكينية السياسية في اتباع سياسات واضحة ومتهورة ومندفعة تؤدي إلى تضخم في التكاليف. من خلال الحد من الهجرة وتخويف المهاجرين الشرعيين وغير الشرعيين ، فقد شددوا سوق العمل الضيق بالفعل. تكلفة السلع والخدمات للجمهور سوف ترتفع أكثر.

الأمر الأكثر ضررًا بالتسعير المستقر بالطبع هو "الحرب التجارية" التي أثارها الرئيس من خلال التعريفات الجمركية. التعريفة ليست أكثر من ضريبة فيدرالية على مواطنيها لتشجيعهم على عدم شراء منتج أو خدمة. يؤدي هذا إلى رفع الأسعار على المواد الأساسية إلى أن تتمكن سلسلة التوريد من الاستقرار عادة عند مستوى أعلى من ذي قبل بسبب زيادة التكلفة وانخفاض المنافسة.

لا تخطئ أحد في أن هناك ثورًا في المثل الصيني في متجر الصين الأمريكي ، والشيء الوحيد الذي لم يتم تحديده بعد هو مدى تكلفة الضرر ، وهل يمكننا إجراء الإصلاحات اللازمة في الوقت المناسب.

الدكتور ستيفاني كيلتون في النظرية النقدية الحديثة

تكتسب نظرية النقد الحديثة (MMT) قوة دافعة في السياسة الأمريكية ، مما ينشط صقور العجز التقدمي اليساري والعصبي. ستيفاني كيلتون تشرح الأساسيات. تتحدث أيضًا عن 2020 ، قائلة إن المرشحين الديمقراطيين للرئاسة يتأرجحون للأسوار بمقترحات سياسية طموحة بينما يبدو أن ترامب قد غير رأيه بشأن العجز والديون منذ خوض 2016 له.

عن المؤلف

جينينغزروبرت جننغز ناشر مشارك في InnerSelf.com مع زوجته ماري تي راسل. يكرس InnerSelf لتبادل المعلومات التي تسمح للناس بإجراء اختيارات متعمقة وثاقبة في حياتهم الشخصية ، من أجل خير المشاعات ، ورفاهية الكوكب. مجلة InnerSelf في عام 30 + من النشر في أي من المطبوعات (1984-1995) أو عبر الإنترنت باسم InnerSelf.com. يرجى دعم عملنا.

المشاع الإبداعي 3.0

تم ترخيص هذا المقال بموجب ترخيص Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0. صف المؤلف روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com. رابط العودة إلى المادة ظهر هذا المقال أصلا على InnerSelf.com

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الأساسية = نظرية النقد الحديثة ؛ maxresults = 3}

ربما يعجبك أيضا

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

الرقص والروحانية: يحب الله عندما نرقص
الرقص والروحانية: يحب الله عندما نرقص
by يوهانا ليسيو ، دكتوراه

There Is A Monetary Solution To The Climate Crisis

Are We Fiddling While The World Burns, Floods, And Dies?

The idea that has been passed around by most conservative and liberal government leaders and representatives is that little can be done for the people because "money" is in short supply. Their conclusion: if we are going to spend more over here, then we have to take it away over there. It is true that money is limited but not like most of us are accustomed to thinking.

A nation's money supply is often compared to a personal or household budget and nothing could be further from reality. The simple reason is that governments can create money out of thin air and you and I can't. That comparison is just used to deceive us. 

Image result for gold in fort KnoxMoney was once backed by gold. Why gold? Because it limited the amount of money a country could issue and it was thought to "always" be a good thing. But in the end, that was the reason that the gold standard was done away with. It kept money in too short a supply and stymied economic development with its scarcity. Money backed by gold was too limited while productive capacity was not.

Well, here we are, some 50 years later, and we are still acting like we are restrained by the amount of gold that no longer restrains the money supply. However, a lack of "gold" standard doesn't mean a country can print unlimited amounts of cash. Countries are still limited by their "full faith and credit", the ability to issue and pay with currency of known and anticipated future value. And that is why the anticipation of, or actual inflation is the only natural restriction of how much money a country can create.

Value Of Money Balanced Between Faith And Need

Image result for wheelbarrow of moneySo we settled on paper money, backed by the full faith and credit of our government. The archaic measure of gold creating paper money value and limiting money supply  was ended at Brenton Woods in 1971 -- just like trading my tomatoes for your corn or pocket full of shells or carrying around 50 lbs of gold or silver was ended in earlier times.

The amount of money a government can print is not infinite. The amount must be balanced between faith in the government that issues the money and the need of the people that government serves. Print too much money to chase too few goods and services, and the price of those goods and services go up. Print too little and the price of these same goods and services fall as demand is stymied.

So government finance and maintenance of its money supply is not the same as personal or household finance. And anyone who sells it as such is either ignorant or is being deceptive, or both.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Today the "convenience" of paper money is being replaced. Try paying  Amazon online with cash. Today's money is mostly nothing more than digits in your bank account available instantly to you via your phone or computer.

Balancing Inflation And Deflation

Most of us have lived with inflation. Most of us have not lived with deflation. Both are equally destructive. One only has to look at the situation in Venezuela or read about post World War I Germany to understand the destructiveness of inflation. Or read about or talk with someone who lived through the great depression of the 1930s to get an understanding of deflation.

As with most things in life, balance must be achieved. This proper ratio, between money and goods and services available, is what keeps things in balance. If a government wants to create more money to spend then it must encourage its economy to increase its capacity to produce goods and services. It is this excess capacity to produce goods and services that really governs how much money there can be and how much governments can do for the welfare of its people.

Facing the Climate Crisis Head On With Money

Be we young or old, rich or poor, we all face an existential crisis. What we do now will determine if this is mankind's final chapter. In just eighty years, much of the earth may not be habitable. Eighty years is not a long time. Many people live that long. It's just four generations. Like the proverbial frog in the pot of cold water gradually reaching boiling point, we may die without noticing.

Many scientists recognize that the planet may warm by as much as 5 degrees centigrade in the next 80 years. Doesn't sound like much but the climate has varied less than 2 degrees in the history of mankind. The warming and its destructive outcomes will not just appear in 80 years, but will gradually continue  the destruction every year.

The future of man, in the short run, will consist of the mitigation of the damage of climate change, adaptation to extreme weather, and increased human suffering.

However, it is not hopeless. It will take money to combat our climate crisis and it will take money to overcome the destruction. It truly is a case of pay me now or pay more later. And those that would wring their hands and whine that there is no money are not our friends and can't be trusted with the lives of our sons, daughters, grandchildren, and their descendants.

We have great productive capacity.  This is not the time for governments to pinch pennies and cut spending. This is the time to spend whatever is needed to avert the disasters heading our way, and to stop the seemingly ever-increasing damage we have created in our world. 

The choice is simple: fiddle while we burn, drown, and die versus a bit of inflation if we overspend. Definitely a no brainer. Show us the money!

An Inflation Caveat

The current US president, administration, and political enablers have embarked on explicit, reckless, and impulsive policies that lead to cost-push inflation. By limiting immigration and by scaring both legal and illegal immigrants, they have further tightened the already tight labor market. The cost of goods and services to the public will rise further.

Even more damaging to stable pricing of course is the "trade war" the president has evoked via tariffs. A tariff is nothing more than a federal tax to its citizens to encourage them not buy a product or service. This pushes up prices on essentials until the supply chain can stabilize usually at a higher level than before due to increased cost and less competition.

Make no mistake there is a proverbial bull in the American china shop and the only thing yet to be determined is how expensive the damage will be and can we make the necessary repairs in time.

Dr. Stephanie Kelton On Modern Monetary Theory

Modern Monetary Theory (MMT) is gaining traction in American politics, energizing the progressive left and roiling deficit hawks. Stephanie Kelton explains the basics. She also talks about 2020, saying Democrat presidential hopefuls are swinging for the fences with ambitious policy proposals while Trump appears to have changed his thinking on the deficit and debt since his 2016 run.

About the Author

jenningsRobert Jennings is co-publisher of InnerSelf.com with his wife Marie T Russell. InnerSelf is dedicated to sharing information that allows people to make educated and insightful choices in their personal life, for the good of the commons, and for the well-being of the planet. InnerSelf Magazine is in its 30+year of publication in either print (1984-1995) or online as InnerSelf.com. Please support our work.

 Creative Commons 3.0

This article is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 License. Attribute the author Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com. Link back to the article This article originally appeared on InnerSelf.com

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=Modern Monetary Theory;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}