هل حان الوقت لوضع أسبوع العمل 15 ساعة العودة على جدول الأعمال

اقتصاد

هل حان الوقت لوضع أسبوع العمل 15 ساعة العودة على جدول الأعمالفي 1930 ، توقع John Maynard Keynes أسبوع عمل 15-hour - يعمل ثلاث ساعات يوميًا - خلال بضعة أجيال. شترستوك

حدث شيء غريب في الطريق إلى مجتمع الترفيه.

كان من المتوقع على نطاق واسع أن تستمر العملية التي شهدت أسبوع العمل القياسي من 60 إلى 40 ساعة في الدول الغنية خلال النصف الأول من القرن 20th.

كما نعلم الآن ، لم يحدث هذا. لم ينخفض ​​أسبوع العمل الرسمي بشكل ملحوظ خلال عدة عقود. ارتفع متوسط ​​ساعات العمل لكل أسرة. التأثير هو أن الكثيرين يشعرون بأن الحياة الآن أقل ترفًا مما كانت عليه في الماضي.

لكن لماذا يجب أن يكون؟

كان ينظر إلى عدد أقل من ساعات العمل كمؤشر أساسي للتقدم الاقتصادي والاجتماعي. أستكشف هذا التاريخ في كتابي ماذا حدث لجمعية الترفيه؟

لقد حان الوقت لإعادة تخفيض ساعات العمل على جدول الأعمال السياسي والصناعي.

هناك حجج قوية للعمل ساعات أقل. بعضها اقتصادي. البعض الآخر حول الاستدامة البيئية. ومع ذلك ، على الآخرين أن يتعاملوا مع الإنصاف والمساواة.

الاقتصاديون على متن الطائرة

في 1930 ، توقع الخبير الاقتصادي جون ماينارد كينز أن التغيير التكنولوجي وتحسين الإنتاجية سيحققان ذلك أسبوع عمل 15 ساعة احتمال اقتصادي في غضون بضعة أجيال.

سيرة حياة كينز ، المؤرخ الاقتصادي روبرت سكيدلسكي ، أعاد النظر في تلك التوقعات في كتابه 2012 How Much Is Enough؟ اقترح تشريع أقصى ساعات العمل في معظم المهن ، دون أي تخفيض في الإنتاج أو الأجور ، كوسيلة لتحقيق اقتصاد أكثر استدامة.

هو ليس وحيداً. وفقا لتقرير من مؤسسة الاقتصادات الجديدةوهي مؤسسة فكرية مقرها لندن ، مما يجعل أسبوع العمل العادي ٢٤ ساعة يمكن أن تساعد في معالجة مجموعة من المشاكل المترابطة: "تشمل هذه العوامل الإفراط في العمل ، والبطالة ، والإفراط في الاستهلاك ، والانبعاثات الكربونية العالية ، والرفاهية المنخفضة ، وعدم المساواة الراسخة وعدم توفر الوقت للعيش المستدام ، والرعاية لبعضنا البعض ، وببساطة استمتع بالحياة."

وفي الآونة الأخيرة ، جادل المؤرخ البلجيكي روتجر بريجمان في كتابه 2017 الأكثر مبيعاً يوتوبيا للواقعيين أن أسبوع العمل 15-hour يمكن تحقيقه بواسطة 2030 ، الذكرى المئوية لتنبؤ كينز.

دوافع أوسع

اتجهت النسوية الثانية والثالثة إلى التركيز على وصول المرأة إلى سوق العمل ، والمساواة في الأجر عن العمل المتساوي ، وخدمات رعاية الأطفال ، وإجازة الوالدين والمرونة ، والرجال الذين يقومون بنصيب أكبر من العمل المنزلي غير المدفوع الأجر.

في الآونة الأخيرة ، والكتاب مثل نيكول ماري شيبن, سينثيا نيغري و كاثي ويكس جادل بأن جودة الحياة ستتحسن بشكل عام إذا تم تخفيض ساعات العمل للجميع.

وصف عالم البيئة البريطاني جوناثان بوريت مجتمع الترفيه بأنه "فانتازيا" في كتابه 1984 رؤية خضراء. وافق العديد من دعاة حماية البيئة. كما لاحظ أندرو دوبسون في كتابه 1990 الفكر السياسي الأخضرنظروا إلى الطبيعة الصناعية الضارة بالصديقة والمستهلكة لصناعة الترفيه ، ورأوا لعنة مستقبلية للمثل الأخضر للإنتاج المعتمد على الذات والمستدام.

لكن وجهات النظر تغيرت داخل الدوائر البيئية. الكندي اندرس هايدن جادل في كتابه 1999 تقاسم العمل ، تجنيب الكوكب أن العمل أقل يعني انخفاض استهلاك الموارد وبالتالي ضغط أقل على البيئة.

لقد رأى بعض الكتاب الناقدين والماركسيين الجدد أن العمل المتدني في الاقتصاد الرأسمالي الرسمي هو وسيلة لتغييره جذريًا ، حتى تسريع زواله. عالم الاجتماع الفرنسي / النمساوي الراحل أندريه جورز، تقدمت الفكرة لأول مرة في 1980s.

In عالم جديد شجاع من العمل (2000) ، عالم الاجتماع الألماني أولريتش بيك يدعو الحركات التقدمية للحملة من أجل "نموذج مضاد لمجتمع العمل" حيث يتم تقليل العمل في الاقتصاد الرسمي. في ال أساطير العمل (2015) ، عالم الاجتماع البريطاني بيتر فليمنج (الموجود الآن في أستراليا) يقترح "استراتيجية ما بعد العمل" ، بما في ذلك أسبوع عمل لمدة ثلاثة أيام.

الفترة الزمنية الافتراضية خذ رجوع وقتك منظمة مقرها في سياتل ، تجادل بأن "وباء الإفراط في العمل ، والإفراط في الجدولة ، والمجاعة الزمنية" يهدد "صحتنا وعلاقاتنا ومجتمعاتنا وبيئتنا". ويدعو إلى تقليل عدد ساعات العمل السنوية من خلال تعزيز أهمية أوقات العطلات وغيرها من استحقاقات الإجازات ، بما في ذلك الحق في رفض الاضطرار إلى العمل لساعات إضافية.

لاوقت كالحاضر

وعلى الرغم من هذه الحجج ، فإن احتمالات العمل لساعات أقل دون أي تخفيض في الأجور تبدو غير محتملة. الأجور ثابتة. الضغط من جانب أرباب العمل هو ، إذا كان هناك أي شيء ، لتوقع ساعات أكثر.

في أستراليا ، كان آخر نجاح كبير في تخفيض ساعات العمل هو 35 منذ سنوات ، في 1983 ، عندما أقرت لجنة التوفيق والتحكيم الأسترالية أسبوع عمل لساعة 38. فالحد الآن من الساعات ليس على جدول أعمال حركة نقابية أضعفتها عقود من تناقص العضوية.

لكن القرن 20th لم يبدأ بحركة نقابية قوية. كان هناك الكثير من الأعذار لعدم خفض ساعات العمل ، بما في ذلك الكساد الكبير والحرمان الاقتصادي من حربين عالميتين.

دعم عدد قليل من أصحاب العمل ساعات العمل المنخفضة. بالنسبة للجزء الأكبر قاوموا حملات النقابات بمرارة لمدة عشر ساعات ثم ثماني ساعات في اليوم (وخمسة أيام في الأسبوع).

ومن بين الاستثناءات القليلة ، كان ويليام هيسكيث ليفر (المؤسس المشارك لشركة ليفر براذرز ، الذي أصبح فيما بعد يونيفير) وهنري فورد ، اللذان رأيا إمكانات لزيادة الإنتاجية من قوة عاملة أقل إرهاقاً. الآن تظهر دول مثل ألمانيا والدنمارك ذلك تعمل ساعات أقل متوافق تماما مع الازدهار الاقتصادي.

يصادف هذا الشهر الذكرى السنوية العاشرة للإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان. وتنص المادة 70 من الإعلان على ما يلي: "لكل شخص الحق في الراحة وأوقات الفراغ ، بما في ذلك تحديد معقول لساعات العمل والعطلات الدورية المدفوعة الأجر". وقد أيد جميع أعضاء الأمم المتحدة الذين أيدوا الإعلان رسمياً ، من بين أمور أخرى ، الترفيه باعتباره حق من حقوق الانسان.

منذ وقت ليس ببعيد كانت الرغبة القديمة في المزيد من أوقات الفراغ والعمل الأقل جزءًا أساسيًا من الأجندة الصناعية والاجتماعية. هل نحن الآن راضين فقط عن الشكوى من ضيق الوقت؟ أم هل نسعى إلى القيام بشيء حيال ذلك؟المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

أنتوني فلو ، أستاذ مساعد ، كلية إدارة الأعمال ، جامعة التكنولوجيا في سيدني

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

يوتوبيا للواقعيين: القضية للحصول على دخل أساسي عالمي ، حدود مفتوحة ، و 15 ساعة عمل أسبوعية

اقتصادمؤلف: روتجر بريجمان
ملزم: كتاب ورقي الغلاف
الخالق (ق):
  • إليزابيث مانتون

الاستوديو: مراسلة
التسمية: مراسلة
الناشر: مراسلة
الصانع: مراسلة

اشتر الآن
مراجعة تحريرية: From a universal basic income to a 15-hour workweek, from a world without borders to a world without poverty – it’s time to return to utopian thinking.

Rutger Bregman takes us on a journey through history, beyond the traditional left-right divides, as he introduces ideas whose time has come. Utopia for Realists is one of those rare books that takes you by surprise and challenges what you think you know. In the words of leading social theorist بومان Zygmunt, it is “brilliant, truly enlightening, and eminently readable.” This original Dutch bestseller sparked a national movement for basic income experiments that soon made international headlines.




The 4-Hour Workweek: Escape 9-5، Live Anywhere، and Join the New Rich by Timothy Ferriss (2009-12-15)

اقتصادمؤلف: تيموثي Ferriss
ملزم: غلاف فني
ميزات:
  • لجميع كتبنا سيتم تسليم البضائع في الوقت المطلوب. 100٪ الارتياح مضمون!

الاستوديو: الانسجام
التسمية: الانسجام
الناشر: الانسجام
الصانع: الانسجام

اشتر الآن
مراجعة تحريرية: سيتم شحنها من الولايات المتحدة. لا يجوز أن تشتمل الكتب المستخدمة على مواد مرفقة ، أو قد يكون لها بعض ارتداء الرف ، أو قد تحتوي على تسليط الضوء / الملاحظات ، وقد لا تتضمن أقراص مضغوطة أو رموز وصول. 100٪ ضمان استعادة الاموال.




Resumen De "La Semana Laboral de 4 Horas (The 4-Hour Work Week) - De Timothy Ferriss" (Spanish Edition)

اقتصادمؤلف: Libros Para Cambiar de Vida
ملزم: أوقد الطبعة
شكل: أوقد الكتاب الاليكترونى
الاستوديو: Libros Para Cambiar de Vida
التسمية: Libros Para Cambiar de Vida
الناشر: Libros Para Cambiar de Vida
الصانع: Libros Para Cambiar de Vida

اشتر الآن
مراجعة تحريرية: Descripción del libro:
Olvídate de la jubilación y deja de aplazar tu vida: no hay ninguna necesidad de esperar y sí un montón de razones para no hacerlo, sobre todo en momentos económicamente imprevisibles. Si tu sueño es dejar de depender de un sueldo, viajar por el mundo a todo tren, ingresar más de 10.000 euros al mes, o simplemente vivir más y trabajar menos, este libro es la brújula que necesitas.

----
Sobre Libros Para Cambiar de Vida:
Libros Para Cambiar de Vida nació en el verano de 2017 como un blog de libros de no ficción. Tras un año y medio publicando reseñas y listas de libros de desarrollo personal, el blog da el salto a la publicación de resúmenes en profunidad.

Porque no a todo el mundo le gusta leer y porque los resúmenes son una forma de quedarse con los puntos importantes de cada libro. Reducimos los títulos y los presentamos de una forma sencilla y accesible.




اقتصاد
enafarزكية-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Is It Time To Put The 15 Hour Work Week Back On The Agenda

economy

 Is It Time To Put The 15 Hour Work Week Back On The AgendaIn 1930, John Maynard Keynes predicted a 15-hour work week – working three hours a day – within a few generations. Shutterstock

A strange thing happened on the way to the leisure society.

It was once widely anticipated that the process which saw the standard working week fall from 60 to 40 hours in wealthy nations over the first half of the 20th century would continue.

As we now know, this did not happen. The official working week has not fallen significantly in several decades. Average working hours per household have increased. The effect is that many feel that life is now less leisured than in the past.

But why should it be?

Working fewer hours was once seen as an essential indicator of economic and social progress. I explore this history in my book Whatever Happened to the Leisure Society?

It’s time to put reduced working hours back on the political and industrial agenda.

There are strong arguments for working fewer hours. Some are economic. Others are about environmental sustainability. Yet others have to do with equity and equality.

Economists on board

In 1930 the economist John Maynard Keynes speculated that technological change and productivity improvements would make a 15-hour work week an economic possibility within a couple of generations.

A biographer of Keynes, the economic historian Robert Skidelsky, revisited those predictions in his 2012 book How Much Is Enough? He proposed legislating maximum hours of work in most occupations, without any reduction in output or wages, as a way to to achieve a more sustainable economy.

He is not alone. According to a report by the New Economics Foundation, a London-based think-tank, making the normal working week 21 hours could help to address a range of interlinked problems: “These include overwork, unemployment, over-consumption, high carbon emissions, low well-being, entrenched inequalities and the lack of time to live sustainably, to care for each other, and simply to enjoy life.”

More recently, Belgian historian Rutger Bregman has argued in his best-selling 2017 book Utopia for Realists that a 15-hour work week is achievable by 2030, the centenary of Keynes’ prediction.

Broader motivations

Second and third-wave feminism tended to concentrate on women’s access to the labour market, equal pay for equal work, child care services, parental leave and flexibility, and men doing a greater share of unpaid domestic work.

More recently, writers such as Nichole Marie Shippen, Cynthia Negrey and Kathi Weeks have argued that the quality of life would be generally improved if working hours were reduced for all.

British ecologist Jonathon Porritt described the leisure society as a “mega-fantasy” in his 1984 book Seeing Green. Many environmentalists agreed. As Andrew Dobson noted in his 1990 book Green Political Thought, they looked at the consumer-orientated, environmentally damaging, industrialised nature of the leisure industry and saw a future anathema to the green ideal of self-reliant and sustainable production.

But views have changed within environmental circles. Canadian Anders Hayden argued in his 1999 book Sharing the Work, Sparing the Planet that working less would mean lower resource consumption and therefore less pressure on the environment.

Some critical and neo-Marxist writers have viewed reduced working in the formal capitalist economy as a means of fundamentally changing it, even hastening its demise. The late French/Austrian sociologist André Gorz, first advanced the idea in the 1980s.

In The Brave New World of Work (2000), German sociologist Ulrich Beck calls on progressive movements to campaign for a “counter-model to the work society” in which work in the formal economy is reduced. In the Mythology of Work (2015), British sociologist Peter Fleming (now based in Australia) proposes a “post-labour strategy”, including a three-day work-week.

The Take Back Your Time organisation based in Seattle, argues the “epidemic of overwork, over-scheduling and time famine” threatens “our health, our relationships, our communities, and our environment”. It advocates for fewer annual working hours by promoting the importance of holiday times and other leave entitlements, including the right to refuse having to work overtime.

No time like the present

Despite these arguments, current prospects of working fewer hours without any reduction in wages seem unlikely. Wages are static. The pressure from employers is, if anything, to expect more hours.

In Australia the last great success in reducing working hours was 35 years ago, in 1983, when the Australia Conciliation and Arbitration Commission endorsed a 38-hour working week. Now reducing hours is not on the agenda of a union movement weakened by decades of declining membership.

But the 20th century did not begin with a strong union movement either. There were plenty of excuses not to reduce working hours, including the Great Depression and the economic deprivations of two world wars.

Few employers supported reduced working hours. For the most part they bitterly resisted union campaigns first for a ten-hour and then an eight-hour day (and five-day week).

Among the few exceptions were William Hesketh Lever (co-founder of Lever Brothers, later to become Unilever) and Henry Ford, who saw the potential for increasing productivity from a less fatigued workforce. Now countries such as Germany and Denmark demonstrate that working fewer hours is quite compatible with economic prosperity.

This month marks the 70th anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. Article 24 of the declaration states: “Everyone has the right to rest and leisure, including reasonable limitation of working hours and periodic holidays with pay.” All members of the United Nations that have formally endorsed the declaration have, inter alia, endorsed leisure as a human right.

Not so long ago the age-old desire for more leisure and less work was a key part of the industrial and social agenda. Are we now content just to complain about lack of time? Or should we be seeking to do something about it?The Conversation

About The Author

Anthony Veal, Adjunct Professor, Business School, University of Technology Sydney

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Utopia for Realists: The Case for a Universal Basic Income, Open Borders, and a 15-hour Workweek

economyAuthor: Rutger Bregman
Binding: Paperback
Creator(s):
  • Elizabeth Manton

Studio: The Correspondent
Label: The Correspondent
Publisher: The Correspondent
Manufacturer: The Correspondent

Buy Now
Editorial Review: From a universal basic income to a 15-hour workweek, from a world without borders to a world without poverty – it’s time to return to utopian thinking.

Rutger Bregman takes us on a journey through history, beyond the traditional left-right divides, as he introduces ideas whose time has come. Utopia for Realists is one of those rare books that takes you by surprise and challenges what you think you know. In the words of leading social theorist Zygmunt Bauman, it is “brilliant, truly enlightening, and eminently readable.” This original Dutch bestseller sparked a national movement for basic income experiments that soon made international headlines.




The 4-Hour Workweek: Escape 9-5, Live Anywhere, and Join the New Rich by Timothy Ferriss (2009-12-15)

economyAuthor: Timothy Ferriss
Binding: Hardcover
Studio: Harmony
Label: Harmony
Publisher: Harmony
Manufacturer: Harmony

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Will be shipped from US. Used books may not include companion materials, may have some shelf wear, may contain highlighting/notes, may not include CDs or access codes. 100% money back guarantee.




Resumen De "La Semana Laboral de 4 Horas (The 4-Hour Work Week) - De Timothy Ferriss" (Spanish Edition)

economyAuthor: Libros Para Cambiar de Vida
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Studio: Libros Para Cambiar de Vida
Label: Libros Para Cambiar de Vida
Publisher: Libros Para Cambiar de Vida
Manufacturer: Libros Para Cambiar de Vida

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Descripción del libro:
Olvídate de la jubilación y deja de aplazar tu vida: no hay ninguna necesidad de esperar y sí un montón de razones para no hacerlo, sobre todo en momentos económicamente imprevisibles. Si tu sueño es dejar de depender de un sueldo, viajar por el mundo a todo tren, ingresar más de 10.000 euros al mes, o simplemente vivir más y trabajar menos, este libro es la brújula que necesitas.

----
Sobre Libros Para Cambiar de Vida:
Libros Para Cambiar de Vida nació en el verano de 2017 como un blog de libros de no ficción. Tras un año y medio publicando reseñas y listas de libros de desarrollo personal, el blog da el salto a la publicación de resúmenes en profunidad.

Porque no a todo el mundo le gusta leer y porque los resúmenes son una forma de quedarse con los puntos importantes de cada libro. Reducimos los títulos y los presentamos de una forma sencilla y accesible.




economy
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

Support A Good Job!