Ist es Zeit, die 15-Stundenarbeitswoche wieder auf die Tagesordnung zu setzen

Ist es Zeit, die 15-Stundenarbeitswoche wieder auf die Tagesordnung zu setzenIn 1930 prognostizierte John Maynard Keynes innerhalb weniger Generationen eine 15-Wochenarbeitszeit - drei Stunden pro Tag -. Shutterstock

Auf dem Weg zur Freizeitgesellschaft passierte etwas Seltsames.

Es wurde einmal allgemein erwartet, dass der Prozess, in dem die Standardarbeitswoche in den wohlhabenden Ländern in der ersten Hälfte des 60. Jahrhunderts von 40 auf 20 fiel, fortschreiten würde.

Wie wir jetzt wissen, ist dies nicht geschehen. Die offizielle Arbeitswoche ist in mehreren Jahrzehnten nicht wesentlich gesunken. Die durchschnittliche Arbeitszeit pro Haushalt ist gestiegen. Der Effekt ist, dass viele das Gefühl haben, dass das Leben jetzt weniger langweilig ist als in der Vergangenheit.

Aber warum sollte es so sein?

Das Arbeiten mit weniger Stunden wurde einst als wesentlicher Indikator für den wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Fortschritt angesehen. Ich untersuche diese Geschichte in meinem Buch Was ist mit der Freizeitgesellschaft passiert?

Es ist an der Zeit, die reduzierte Arbeitszeit wieder auf die politische und industrielle Agenda zu setzen.

Es gibt starke Argumente, um weniger Stunden zu arbeiten. Einige sind wirtschaftlich. Bei anderen geht es um ökologische Nachhaltigkeit. Wieder andere haben mit Gerechtigkeit und Gleichheit zu tun.

Ökonomen an Bord

In 1930 spekulierte der Ökonom John Maynard Keynes, dass sich technologischer Wandel und Produktivitätssteigerungen ergeben würden eine 15-Stundenarbeitswoche eine wirtschaftliche Möglichkeit innerhalb einiger Generationen.

Ein Biograph von Keynes, der Wirtschaftshistoriker Robert Skidelsky, revidierte diese Vorhersagen in seinem 2012-Buch "Wie viel ist genug"? Er schlug vor, in den meisten Berufen die Höchstarbeitszeit zu regeln, ohne die Produktion oder die Löhne zu reduzieren, um eine möglichst hohe Arbeitsleistung zu erzielen nachhaltigere Wirtschaft.

Er ist nicht alleine. Nach einem Bericht des New Economics Foundation, ein in London ansässiger Think-Tank, der die normale Arbeitswoche macht 21 Stunden könnte dazu beitragen, eine Reihe miteinander verknüpfter Probleme anzugehen: „Dazu gehören Überarbeitungen, Arbeitslosigkeit, Überkonsum, hohe CO2-Emissionen, geringes Wohlbefinden, verschärfte Ungleichheiten und Zeitmangel, um nachhaltig zu leben, sich umeinander zu kümmern und einfach zu helfen genieße das Leben."

In letzter Zeit hat der belgische Historiker Rutger Bregman in seinem Bestseller-Buch 2017 argumentiert Utopie für Realisten dass 15, die Hundertjahrfeier von Keynes 'Vorhersage, eine 2030-Stundenarbeitswoche erreichen kann.

Breitere Motivationen

Der Feminismus der zweiten und dritten Welle konzentrierte sich in der Regel auf den Zugang von Frauen zum Arbeitsmarkt, gleiches Entgelt für gleiche Arbeit, Kinderbetreuung, Elternurlaub und Flexibilität sowie auf Männer, die einen größeren Anteil unbezahlter Hausarbeit verrichten.

In jüngerer Zeit haben Schriftsteller wie Nichole Marie Shippen, Cynthia Negrey und Kathi-Wochen Ich habe argumentiert, dass die Lebensqualität im Allgemeinen verbessert würde, wenn die Arbeitszeit für alle reduziert würde.

Der britische Ökologe Jonathon Porritt beschrieb die Freizeitgesellschaft in seinem 1984-Buch als "Mega-Fantasie" Grün sehen. Viele Umweltschützer stimmten zu. Wie Andrew Dobson in seinem 1990-Buch vermerkte Grüner politischer GedankeSie betrachteten die verbraucherorientierte, umweltschädliche, industrialisierte Natur der Freizeitindustrie und sahen ein zukünftiges Anathema für das grüne Ideal der eigenständigen und nachhaltigen Produktion.

Aber die Sichtweise hat sich innerhalb von Umweltkreisen geändert. Der Kanadier Anders Hayden argumentierte in seinem 1999-Buch Die Arbeit teilen, den Planeten schonen Weniger zu arbeiten bedeutet weniger Ressourcenverbrauch und damit weniger Umweltbelastung.

Einige kritische und neo-marxistische Schriftsteller haben eingeschränkte Arbeit in der formellen kapitalistischen Wirtschaft als ein Mittel gesehen, um sie grundlegend zu verändern und sogar ihren Untergang zu beschleunigen. Der spätfranzösische / österreichische Soziologe André Gorz, brachte die Idee zuerst in den 1980s vor.

In Die schöne neue Arbeitswelt (2000), der deutsche Soziologe Ulrich Beck fordert progressive Bewegungen auf, sich für ein "Gegenmodell zur Arbeitsgesellschaft" einzusetzen, in dem die Arbeit in der formellen Wirtschaft reduziert wird. In dem Mythologie der Arbeit (2015), der britische Soziologe Peter Fleming (jetzt in Australien ansässig), schlägt eine "Nacharbeitsstrategie" vor, die eine dreitägige Arbeitswoche umfasst.

Die Nimm deine Zeit zurück Die in Seattle ansässige Organisation argumentiert, dass "die Epidemie von Überarbeitung, Überplanung und Hungersnot" "unsere Gesundheit, unsere Beziehungen, unsere Gemeinschaften und unsere Umwelt" bedroht. Es tritt für weniger Jahresarbeitszeit ein, indem es die Bedeutung von Urlaubszeiten und anderen Urlaubsansprüchen fördert, einschließlich des Rechts, die Überstundenarbeit verweigern zu müssen.

Keine Zeit wie die Gegenwart

Trotz dieser Argumente sind die derzeitigen Aussichten, weniger Stunden zu arbeiten, ohne Lohnkürzung zu erwarten, unwahrscheinlich. Die Löhne sind statisch. Der Druck der Arbeitgeber ist, wenn überhaupt, mehr Stunden zu erwarten.

In Australien war 35 vor Jahren der letzte große Erfolg bei der Verkürzung der Arbeitszeit, in 1983, als die australische Vereinigungs- und Schlichtungskommission eine 38-Wochenarbeitszeit billigte. Die Reduzierung der Arbeitszeit steht jetzt nicht mehr auf der Agenda einer Gewerkschaftsbewegung, die durch jahrzehntelange Mitgliederrückgänge geschwächt ist.

Das 20. Jahrhundert begann jedoch auch nicht mit einer starken Gewerkschaftsbewegung. Es gab viele Entschuldigungen, um die Arbeitszeit nicht zu reduzieren, einschließlich der Weltwirtschaftskrise und der wirtschaftlichen Benachteiligung zweier Weltkriege.

Nur wenige Arbeitgeber unterstützten reduzierte Arbeitszeiten. Zum größten Teil widersetzten sie sich Gewerkschaftskampagnen zunächst zehn Stunden und dann acht Stunden (und fünf Tage).

Zu den wenigen Ausnahmen gehörten William Hesketh Lever (Mitbegründer von Lever Brothers, später Unilever) und Henry Ford, der das Potenzial für eine Produktivitätssteigerung durch eine weniger ermüdete Belegschaft erkannte. Das zeigen jetzt Länder wie Deutschland und Dänemark weniger Stunden arbeiten ist durchaus kompatibel mit wirtschaftlichem Wohlstand.

In diesem Monat feiert die Allgemeine Erklärung der Menschenrechte das 70. Jubiläum. In Artikel 24 der Erklärung heißt es: "Jeder hat das Recht auf Erholung und Freizeit, einschließlich einer angemessenen Begrenzung der Arbeitszeit und periodischer bezahlter Urlaubstage." Alle Mitglieder der Vereinten Nationen, die die Erklärung formell gebilligt haben, haben unter anderem Freizeit als gebilligt ein Menschenrecht

Vor nicht allzu langer Zeit war der Wunsch nach mehr Freizeit und weniger Arbeit ein wesentlicher Bestandteil der industriellen und sozialen Agenda. Sind wir jetzt zufrieden, uns über Zeitmangel zu beklagen? Oder sollten wir etwas dagegen unternehmen?Das Gespräch

Über den Autor

Anthony Veal, außerordentlicher Professor, Business School, Technische Universität Sydney

Dieser Artikel wird erneut veröffentlicht Das Gespräch unter einer Creative Commons-Lizenz. Lies das Original Artikel.

Bücher zum Thema

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books; Keywords = 15-Wochenarbeitszeit; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Is It Time To Put The 15 Hour Work Week Back On The Agenda

economy

 Is It Time To Put The 15 Hour Work Week Back On The AgendaIn 1930, John Maynard Keynes predicted a 15-hour work week – working three hours a day – within a few generations. Shutterstock

A strange thing happened on the way to the leisure society.

It was once widely anticipated that the process which saw the standard working week fall from 60 to 40 hours in wealthy nations over the first half of the 20th century would continue.

As we now know, this did not happen. The official working week has not fallen significantly in several decades. Average working hours per household have increased. The effect is that many feel that life is now less leisured than in the past.

But why should it be?

Working fewer hours was once seen as an essential indicator of economic and social progress. I explore this history in my book Whatever Happened to the Leisure Society?

It’s time to put reduced working hours back on the political and industrial agenda.

There are strong arguments for working fewer hours. Some are economic. Others are about environmental sustainability. Yet others have to do with equity and equality.

Economists on board

In 1930 the economist John Maynard Keynes speculated that technological change and productivity improvements would make a 15-hour work week an economic possibility within a couple of generations.

A biographer of Keynes, the economic historian Robert Skidelsky, revisited those predictions in his 2012 book How Much Is Enough? He proposed legislating maximum hours of work in most occupations, without any reduction in output or wages, as a way to to achieve a more sustainable economy.

He is not alone. According to a report by the New Economics Foundation, a London-based think-tank, making the normal working week 21 hours could help to address a range of interlinked problems: “These include overwork, unemployment, over-consumption, high carbon emissions, low well-being, entrenched inequalities and the lack of time to live sustainably, to care for each other, and simply to enjoy life.”

More recently, Belgian historian Rutger Bregman has argued in his best-selling 2017 book Utopia for Realists that a 15-hour work week is achievable by 2030, the centenary of Keynes’ prediction.

Broader motivations

Second and third-wave feminism tended to concentrate on women’s access to the labour market, equal pay for equal work, child care services, parental leave and flexibility, and men doing a greater share of unpaid domestic work.

More recently, writers such as Nichole Marie Shippen, Cynthia Negrey and Kathi Weeks have argued that the quality of life would be generally improved if working hours were reduced for all.

British ecologist Jonathon Porritt described the leisure society as a “mega-fantasy” in his 1984 book Seeing Green. Many environmentalists agreed. As Andrew Dobson noted in his 1990 book Green Political Thought, they looked at the consumer-orientated, environmentally damaging, industrialised nature of the leisure industry and saw a future anathema to the green ideal of self-reliant and sustainable production.

But views have changed within environmental circles. Canadian Anders Hayden argued in his 1999 book Sharing the Work, Sparing the Planet that working less would mean lower resource consumption and therefore less pressure on the environment.

Some critical and neo-Marxist writers have viewed reduced working in the formal capitalist economy as a means of fundamentally changing it, even hastening its demise. The late French/Austrian sociologist André Gorz, first advanced the idea in the 1980s.

In The Brave New World of Work (2000), German sociologist Ulrich Beck calls on progressive movements to campaign for a “counter-model to the work society” in which work in the formal economy is reduced. In the Mythology of Work (2015), British sociologist Peter Fleming (now based in Australia) proposes a “post-labour strategy”, including a three-day work-week.

The Take Back Your Time organisation based in Seattle, argues the “epidemic of overwork, over-scheduling and time famine” threatens “our health, our relationships, our communities, and our environment”. It advocates for fewer annual working hours by promoting the importance of holiday times and other leave entitlements, including the right to refuse having to work overtime.

No time like the present

Despite these arguments, current prospects of working fewer hours without any reduction in wages seem unlikely. Wages are static. The pressure from employers is, if anything, to expect more hours.

In Australia the last great success in reducing working hours was 35 years ago, in 1983, when the Australia Conciliation and Arbitration Commission endorsed a 38-hour working week. Now reducing hours is not on the agenda of a union movement weakened by decades of declining membership.

But the 20th century did not begin with a strong union movement either. There were plenty of excuses not to reduce working hours, including the Great Depression and the economic deprivations of two world wars.

Few employers supported reduced working hours. For the most part they bitterly resisted union campaigns first for a ten-hour and then an eight-hour day (and five-day week).

Among the few exceptions were William Hesketh Lever (co-founder of Lever Brothers, later to become Unilever) and Henry Ford, who saw the potential for increasing productivity from a less fatigued workforce. Now countries such as Germany and Denmark demonstrate that working fewer hours is quite compatible with economic prosperity.

This month marks the 70th anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. Article 24 of the declaration states: “Everyone has the right to rest and leisure, including reasonable limitation of working hours and periodic holidays with pay.” All members of the United Nations that have formally endorsed the declaration have, inter alia, endorsed leisure as a human right.

Not so long ago the age-old desire for more leisure and less work was a key part of the industrial and social agenda. Are we now content just to complain about lack of time? Or should we be seeking to do something about it?The Conversation

About The Author

Anthony Veal, Adjunct Professor, Business School, University of Technology Sydney

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Utopia for Realists: The Case for a Universal Basic Income, Open Borders, and a 15-hour Workweek

economyAuthor: Rutger Bregman
Binding: Paperback
Creator(s):
  • Elizabeth Manton

Studio: The Correspondent
Label: The Correspondent
Publisher: The Correspondent
Manufacturer: The Correspondent

Buy Now
Editorial Review: From a universal basic income to a 15-hour workweek, from a world without borders to a world without poverty – it’s time to return to utopian thinking.

Rutger Bregman takes us on a journey through history, beyond the traditional left-right divides, as he introduces ideas whose time has come. Utopia for Realists is one of those rare books that takes you by surprise and challenges what you think you know. In the words of leading social theorist Zygmunt Bauman, it is “brilliant, truly enlightening, and eminently readable.” This original Dutch bestseller sparked a national movement for basic income experiments that soon made international headlines.




The 4-Hour Workweek: Escape 9-5, Live Anywhere, and Join the New Rich by Timothy Ferriss (2009-12-15)

economyAuthor: Timothy Ferriss
Binding: Hardcover
Studio: Harmony
Label: Harmony
Publisher: Harmony
Manufacturer: Harmony

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Will be shipped from US. Used books may not include companion materials, may have some shelf wear, may contain highlighting/notes, may not include CDs or access codes. 100% money back guarantee.




Resumen De "La Semana Laboral de 4 Horas (The 4-Hour Work Week) - De Timothy Ferriss" (Spanish Edition)

economyAuthor: Libros Para Cambiar de Vida
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Studio: Libros Para Cambiar de Vida
Label: Libros Para Cambiar de Vida
Publisher: Libros Para Cambiar de Vida
Manufacturer: Libros Para Cambiar de Vida

Buy Now
Editorial Review: Descripción del libro:
Olvídate de la jubilación y deja de aplazar tu vida: no hay ninguna necesidad de esperar y sí un montón de razones para no hacerlo, sobre todo en momentos económicamente imprevisibles. Si tu sueño es dejar de depender de un sueldo, viajar por el mundo a todo tren, ingresar más de 10.000 euros al mes, o simplemente vivir más y trabajar menos, este libro es la brújula que necesitas.

----
Sobre Libros Para Cambiar de Vida:
Libros Para Cambiar de Vida nació en el verano de 2017 como un blog de libros de no ficción. Tras un año y medio publicando reseñas y listas de libros de desarrollo personal, el blog da el salto a la publicación de resúmenes en profunidad.

Porque no a todo el mundo le gusta leer y porque los resúmenes son una forma de quedarse con los puntos importantes de cada libro. Reducimos los títulos y los presentamos de una forma sencilla y accesible.




economy
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

Support A Good Job!