كيف نقوم بهيكلة الأسواق بدلاً من قبولها؟

كيف نقوم بهيكلة الأسواق بدلاً من قبولها؟

يودنا أن نعتقد أن عدم المساواة التي نراها في الولايات المتحدة ، وبشكل متزايد في بلدان أخرى ، هي نتيجة طبيعية لعمليات السوق. للأسف ، يبدو أن الكثير من اليسار يتبادلون وجهة النظر هذه إلى حد كبير ، بشرط أن يودوا أن تغير الحكومة نتائج السوق ، إما مع سياسة الضرائب والنقل ، أو بالتدخلات مثل الحد الأدنى للأجور.

في حين أن سياسات إعادة التوزيع والضرائب القابلة لإعادة التوزيع مرغوبة ، شأنها شأن الحد الأدنى من الأجور اللائق ، فإن من الخطأ الفادح ألا نعترف بأن إعادة التوزيع المتصاعد في العقود الأربعة الماضية قد تم تحقيقها من خلال سياسة واعية ، وليس أي نوع من العمليات الطبيعية للعولمة والتكنولوجيا. . عدم الاعتراف بهذه الحقيقة هو خطأ كبير من وجهة نظر السياسة والسياسة.

من وجهة نظر السياسة ، نتخلى عن مبلغ ضخم من خلال عدم فحص السياسات التي تسببت في إعادة توزيع الدخل قبل الضرائب إلى أعلى. من الناحية العملية ، من الأسهل بكثير منع جميع الأموال من الوصول إلى القمة في المقام الأول من محاولة فرض ضرائب عليها مرة أخرى بعد حدوثها.

على الجانب السياسي ، لا ينبغي أن يكون لدينا حجة بأن المشكلة الكبرى هي أن بيل غيتس كان ناجحًا جدًا. والمشكلة الكبرى هي أننا وضعنا قواعد السوق بشكل سيء بحيث أعطينا بيل غيتس الكثير من المال. مع قواعد مختلفة ، لن يكون واحدا من أغنى الناس في العالم حتى لو كان قد عمل بجد.

بما أننا في موضوع بيل غيتس ، فإن قواعد البراءات وحقوق النشر هي مكان جيد للبدء. لسبب ما ، من الصعب إقناع الناس بقبول حقيقة واضحة: فهناك كمية ضخمة من المال على المحك مع هذه القواعد. عن طريقي الحساباتيمكن للاحتكارات وحقوق البراءات وحقوق الطبع والنشر توجيه أكثر من $ 1 تريليون دولار سنويًا ، وهو مبلغ يزيد عن نسبة 60 من أرباح الشركات بعد خصم الضرائب.

المكان الأكثر وضوحا حيث يكون لهذه الاحتكارات الممنوحة من قبل الحكومة تأثير كبير على العقاقير التي تستلزم وصفة طبية. سنقضي ما يقرب من $ 440 مليار (2.2 percent of GDP) هذا العام على العقاقير الطبية. إذا تم بيع هذه الأدوية في سوق حرة بدون براءات اختراع أو حماية ذات صلة ، فمن المرجح أن تبيعها مقابل أقل من $ 80 مليار. يبلغ الفرق في مبلغ $ 360 مليار ما يقرب من خمسة أضعاف الإنفاق السنوي على SNAP.

القصة الأساسية هنا هي أن الأدوية تكاد تكون رخيصة الصنع. مثل الأسبرين ، ستبيع الغالبية العظمى من الأدوية مقابل 10 أو $ 15 لكل وصفة طبية. يعود ذلك فقط إلى أن الحكومة تمنح شركات الادوية احتكارات براءات الاختراع بأن المخدرات باهظة الثمن. لدينا الآن نقاش سخيف حول الأشخاص الذين يريدون إحضارهم إلى أسفل تتهم أسعار الأدوية بالتدخل في السوق. هذا هو 180 درجة في خلاف مع الواقع. يريد الأشخاص الذين يرغبون في إبقاء الأسعار مرتفعة أن يزيدوا قيمة احتكاراتهم الحكومية.

في هذه الحالة ، من السهل رؤية تأثير التغييرات في السياسة. في 1980 ، أقر الكونغرس قانون Bayh-Dole الذي أتاح للشركات الحصول على حقوق براءات الاختراع في الأبحاث التي ترعاها الحكومة. ونتيجة لذلك ، بدأ الإنفاق على الأدوية ، التي كانت تحوم بالقرب من نسبة 0.4 في المائة من إجمالي الناتج المحلي لعقدين من الزمن ، في الانفجار.

يمكننا أن نجادل في مزايا قانون Bayh-Dole. من المؤكد أنه أدى إلى زيادة الإنفاق الخاص على الأبحاث وأدى إلى تطوير عقاقير جديدة ، ولكن حقيقة أننا نعطي المزيد من الأموال لشركات الأدوية لان من هذا التدخل في السوق ليست قابلة للنقاش. هذا مبلغ ضخم من المال ، مع عواقب وخيمة على الصحة العامة ، فضلاً عن توزيع الدخل ، ولكن لم يثر أي من الاقتصاديين على الإطلاق هذا الموضوع.

تنطبق نفس القصة على براءة الاختراع وحقوق الطبع والنشر بشكل عام. ما هو مقدار الربح الذي يمكن أن تقوم به شركة Microsoft في حال تمكن أي شخص في أي مكان في العالم من إنشاء عشرات الملايين من أجهزة الكمبيوتر باستخدام برامج Windows وعدم إرسالها حتى إلى رسالة شكر؟ كم من المال سوف يصنعه ديزني إذا كان يمكن نقل جميع أفلامه على الفور عبر الويب وعرضها في كل مكان دون حصولهم على قرش؟

يمكننا أن نخبر نفس القصة عن المعدات الطبية. تخيل أحدث جهاز مسح طبي يبيع لعشرات الآلاف من الدولارات بدلاً من الملايين. الشركات التي تصنع الأسمدة والمبيدات الحشرية والبذور المعدلة وراثياً ، تعتمد جميعها بشكل أساسي على احتكار براءات الاختراع الذي تمنحه الحكومة.

تخدم احتكارات البراءات وحق المؤلف غرض توفير الحوافز للابتكار والعمل الإبداعي. ولكن هناك آليات أخرى ممكنة للتمويل ، ومبلغ الـ 37 مليار دولار الذي تقدمه الحكومة للمعاهد الوطنية للصحة هو مثال واضح (انظر مزور، الفصل 5 لإجراء مناقشة أكمل [مجاني]). وحتى إذا قررنا أن احتكارات البراءات وحق المؤلف هي أفضل آلية ، فيمكننا دائمًا أن نجعلها أقصر وأضعف ، بحيث نقلب مسارًا أطول وأقوى مما تابعناه خلال العقود الأربعة الماضية.

هذه النقطة البسيطة التي لا يمكن إنكارها (يمكننا تغيير قواعد البراءات وحقوق النشر) غائبة تماماً تقريباً عن المناقشات حول عدم المساواة ، مع استثناءات قليلة جداً. (جو ستيغليتز يثير هذه القضية كثيرا ، انظر أيضا الاقتصاد المحتجزبقلم برينك ليندسي وستيف تيلز. إن هذه القواعد هي في صميم إعادة التوزيع المتصاعدة للعقود الأربعة الأخيرة.

ليس فقط بيل غيتس وغيرهم من المليارديرات التقنيين الذين يدينون بثروتهم الهائلة لهذه الاحتكارات الممنوحة من قبل الحكومة ، ففكرة الاقتصاد التي تفرض طلبًا كبيرًا على الكمبيوتر والرياضيات والمهارات الفنية الأخرى تعتمد على قواعدنا المتعلقة بالبراءات و حقوق التأليف والنشر. بوجود قواعد أضعف ، سيكون الطلب على علماء الكمبيوتر والهندسة الحيوية أقل بكثير ، شأنه شأن رواتبهم.

من غير المعقول أن يتمكن العديد من الاقتصاديين وأنواع السياسات ممن يعملون على عدم المساواة من تجنب مناقشة قواعد الملكية الفكرية. يمكننا التكهن بأسباب هذا الإهمال.

في بعض الحالات ، يدين المموّلون الليبراليون بثروتهم إلى هذه الاحتكارات الممنوحة من قبل الحكومة ولا يهتمون بتشكيكها. لقد كان لدينا في الماضي موظف برنامج في مؤسسة غيتس يخبرنا بشكل لا لبس فيه أنهم لا يتحدثون عن براءات اختراع بسبب مصدر ثروة مموليهم.

إن التفكير في الكيفية التي أدت بها السياسة إلى إعادة التوزيع الصعودي يمكن أن يكون مزعجًا للعديد من نظر الليبراليين. ينظر الكثيرون إلى أنفسهم على أنهم أناس أبلى بلاءً حسناً في اقتصاد السوق ولكنهم يشعرون أنه ينبغي عليهم أن يشاركوا بعض ما كسبوه مع الأقل حظًا. الحجة القائلة بأنهم لم يكتفوا بالقيام بعمل جيد ، ولكن كانت لديهم فائدة من سياسة الحكومة المصممة لمنحهم المال (ولأخذه من الأقل حظًا) ، تغير الصورة جوهريًا جدًا.

وبغض النظر عن هذه الدوافع ، هناك الحقيقة الواضحة في أن الجمود في قوة قوية بشكل لا يصدق في المناقشات السياسية. وكما يقول المثل ، فإن المثقفين يواجهون صعوبة في التعامل مع الأفكار الجديدة.

على أي حال ، يفتقد التقدميون جزءًا كبيرًا من قصة إعادة التوزيع التصاعدية عندما يفشلون في مناقشة القواعد المتعلقة بالملكية الفكرية. ومن شبه المؤكد أن تزداد أهمية هذه القواعد في السنوات القادمة. الاقتصاديون وأنواع السياسات التي تتجاهلهم لا يقومون بعملهم. أعلم أنني استمر في الضرب على هذه النقطة ، ولكن من المهم. سيكون لدي المزيد من القطع في الأسابيع المقبلة على طرق أخرى تقوم الحكومة بهيكلة السوق لتسليم المزيد من المال للأثرياء ، ولكن احتكارات البراءات وحق المؤلف تكون كبيرة جدًا وواضحًا لدرجة أنه لا يصدق أنها ليست مركزًا لمناقشات عدم المساواة .

عن المؤلف

خباز عميددين بيكر هو المدير المشارك لمركز البحوث الاقتصادية والسياسة في واشنطن العاصمة. وكثيرا ما يستشهد في التقارير الاقتصاد في وسائل الإعلام الرئيسية، بما في ذلك نيويورك تايمز, واشنطن بوستو CNN و CNBC و National Public Radio. يكتب عمود أسبوعي لل الجارديان غير محدود (المملكة المتحدة)، و هافينغتون بوست, TruthOutوبلوق، فاز الصحافةميزات التعليق على التقارير الاقتصادية. وقد ظهرت تحليلاته في العديد من المنشورات الرئيسية ، بما في ذلك الأطلسي شهري، ال واشنطن بوست، ال لندن فاينانشال تايمز، و ال نيويورك ديلي نيوز. حصل على درجة الدكتوراه في الاقتصاد من جامعة ميتشيغان.


كتب موصى بها

العودة إلى التوظيف الكامل: صفقة أفضل للعاملين
من قبل جاريد بيرنشتاين ودين بيكر.

B00GOJ9GWOهذا الكتاب هو متابعة لكتاب كتبه قبل عقد من الزمن مؤلفو كتاب "فوائد التوظيف الكامل" (معهد السياسة الاقتصادية ، 2003). وهو يعتمد على الأدلة المقدمة في هذا الكتاب ، والتي تبين أن النمو الحقيقي للأجور للعمال في النصف السفلي من مقياس الدخل يعتمد بشكل كبير على معدل البطالة الإجمالي. في أواخر 1990s ، عندما شهدت الولايات المتحدة أول فترة مستمرة من انخفاض معدل البطالة في أكثر من ربع قرن ، تمكن العمال في منتصف وتوزيع الأجور من الحصول على مكاسب كبيرة في الأجور الحقيقية.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.

نهاية الخاسر الليبرالية: جعل الأسواق تقدمية
من قبل دين بيكر.

0615533639التقدميين في حاجة إلى نهج جديد جذريا في السياسة. لقد تم فقدان ليس فقط لأن المحافظين يكون أكثر من ذلك بكثير المال والسلطة، ولكن أيضا لأنها قبلت تأطير المحافظين من المناقشات السياسية. قبلت لديهم تأطير حيث يريد المحافظون نتائج السوق في حين الليبراليين يريدون من الحكومة أن تتدخل لتحقيق النتائج التي يعتبرونها عادلة. هذا يضع الليبراليين في موقف يبدو أنها تريد فرض ضرائب على الفائزين لمساعدة الخاسرين. هذه "الليبرالية الخاسر" هي سياسة سيئة والسياسة الرهيبة. أن التقدميين أن معارك أفضل حالا القتال على هيكل الأسواق بحيث لا إعادة توزيع الدخل الأعلى. يصف هذا الكتاب بعض المجالات الرئيسية حيث يمكن التقدميين تركز جهودها في إعادة هيكلة السوق بحيث يتدفق المزيد من الدخل على الجزء الأكبر من السكان القادرين على العمل بدلا من مجرد نخبة صغيرة.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.

* هذه الكتب متوفرة أيضًا بتنسيق رقمي لـ "مجانًا" على موقع دين بيكر ، فاز الصحافة. نعم!

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = dake baker؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

How Do We Structure Markets, Instead of Accepting Them as Given?

economy

How Do We Structure Markets, Instead of Accepting Them as Given?

The right would like us to believe that the inequality we see in the United States, and increasingly in other countries, is a natural outcome of market processes. Unfortunately, many on the left seem to largely share this view, with the proviso that they would like the government to alter market outcomes, either with tax and transfer policy, or with interventions like a higher minimum wage.

While redistributive tax and transfer policies are desirable, as is a decent minimum wage, it is an incredible mistake to not recognize that the upward redistribution of the last four decades was brought about by conscious policy, not any sort of natural process of globalization and technology. Not recognizing this fact is an enormous mistake from both the standpoint of policy and politics. 

From the policy standpoint, we give up a huge amount by not examining the policies that have caused before-tax income to be redistributed upward. As a practical matter, it is much easier to prevent all the money from going to the top in the first place than trying to tax it back after the fact.

On the political side, we should never have our argument be that somehow the big problem is that the Bill Gates of the world were too successful. The big problem is that we have badly structured the rules of the market so that we gave Bill Gates too much money. With different rules, he would not be one of the world’s richest people even if he had worked just as hard.

Since we’re on the topic of Bill Gates, patent and copyright rules are a good place to start. For some reason, it is difficult to get people to accept an obvious truth: there is a huge amount of money at stake with these rules. By my calculations, patent and copyright monopolies could well direct more than $1 trillion a year, a sum that is more than 60 percent of after-tax corporate profits.   

The most visible place where these government-granted monopolies have a large effect is with prescription drugs. We will spend close to $440 billion (2.2 percent of GDP) this year on prescription drugs. If these drugs were sold in a free market without patents or related protections they would likely sell for less than $80 billion. The difference of $360 billion is roughly five times annual spending on SNAP.

The basic story here is that drugs are almost invariably cheap to manufacture. Like aspirin, the vast majority of drugs would sell for $10 or $15 per prescription. It is only because the government gives drug companies patent monopolies that drugs are expensive. We now have an absurd debate where the people who want to bring down drug prices are accused of interfering in the market. That is 180 degrees at odds with reality. The people who want to keep prices high want to maximize the value of their government-granted monopolies. 

In this case, the effect of changes in policy is easy to see. In 1980, Congress passed the Bayh–Dole Act which made it possible for companies to get patent rights to government-sponsored research. As a result, spending on prescription drugs, which had hovered near 0.4 percent of GDP for two decades, began to explode. 

We can argue the merits of the Bayh–Dole Act. Surely it did increase private spending on research and led to the development of new drugs, but the fact that we give more money to drug companies because of this intervention in the market is not debatable. This is a huge amount of money, with enormous consequences for public health, as well as income distribution, but almost no economists ever raise the issue. 

The same story applies to patent and copyrights more generally. How much profit would Microsoft make if anyone anywhere in the world could make tens of millions of computers with Windows software and not even send them a thank you note? How much money would Disney make if all its movies could be instantly transmitted over the web and shown everywhere without them getting a penny? 

We could tell the same story about medical equipment. Imagine the latest medical scanning device selling for tens of thousands of dollars instead of millions. Companies that make fertilizers, pesticides, and genetically modified seeds, all depend in a very fundamental way on their government-granted patent monopolies. 

Patent and copyright monopolies do serve the purpose of providing incentives to innovate and do creative work. But there are other possible mechanisms for funding, the $37 billion a year the government gives to the National Institutes of Health is one obvious example (see Rigged, Chapter 5 for a fuller discussion [it’s free]). Even if we do decide that patent and copyright monopolies are the best mechanism, we can always make them shorter and weaker, reversing the course of longer and stronger that we have pursued over the last four decades.

This simple and undeniable point (we can alter the rules on patents and copyrights) is almost completely absent from debates on inequality, with very few exceptions. (Joe Stiglitz raises this issue frequently, see also The Captured Economy, by Brink Lindsey and Steve Teles.) These rules are very much at the heart of the upward redistribution of the last four decades.

It is not only the Bill Gates and other tech billionaires who owe their enormous wealth to these government-granted monopolies, the whole idea of an economy that places a high demand on computer, math, and other technical skills depends on our rules on patents and copyrights. With weaker rules, the demand for computer scientists and bioengineers would be much less, as would their pay.   

It is incredible that so many economists and policy-types who work on inequality could somehow manage to avoid discussing intellectual property rules. We can speculate on the reasons for this neglect.

In some cases, liberal funders owe their wealth to these government-granted monopolies and are not interested in calling them into question. We once had a program officer at the Gates Foundation tell us unambiguously that they don’t talk about patents because of the source of wealth of their funder.

Thinking about how policy led to upward redistribution can also be upsetting to many liberals’ worldview. Many view themselves as people who have done well in the market economy but feel that they should share some of what they have earned with the less fortunate. The argument that they didn’t just happen to do well, but had the benefit of government policy designed to give them money (and to take it from the less fortunate), very fundamentally changes the picture. 

Apart from these motives, there is the obvious truth that inertia in an incredibly powerful force in policy debates. As the saying goes, intellectuals have a hard time dealing with new ideas.

In any case, progressives miss a huge part of the story of upward redistribution when they fail to discuss rules on intellectual property. The importance of these rules is virtually certain to increase in coming years. Economists and policy-types who ignore them are not doing their jobs. I know I keep beating on this point, but it’s important. I will have more pieces in future weeks on other ways the government structures the market to hand more money to the rich, but patent and copyright monopolies are so big and so obvious, that it is incredible that they are not the center of discussions of inequality.

About the Author

baker deanDean Baker is co-director of the Center for Economic and Policy Research in Washington, DC. He is frequently cited in economics reporting in major media outlets, including the New York Times, Washington Post, CNN, CNBC, and National Public Radio. He writes a weekly column for the Guardian Unlimited (UK), the Huffington Post, TruthOut, and his blog, Beat the Press, features commentary on economic reporting. His analyses have appeared in many major publications, including the Atlantic Monthly, the Washington Post, the London Financial Times, and the New York Daily News. He received his Ph.D in economics from the University of Michigan.


Recommended Books

Getting Back to Full Employment: A Better Bargain for Working People
by Jared Bernstein and Dean Baker.

B00GOJ9GWOThis book is a follow-up to a book written a decade ago by the authors, The Benefits of Full Employment (Economic Policy Institute, 2003). It builds on the evidence presented in that book, showing that real wage growth for workers in the bottom half of the income scale is highly dependent on the overall rate of unemployment. In the late 1990s, when the United States saw its first sustained period of low unemployment in more than a quarter century, workers at the middle and bottom of the wage distribution were able to secure substantial gains in real wages.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

The End of Loser Liberalism: Making Markets Progressive
by Dean Baker.

0615533639Progressives need a fundamentally new approach to politics. They have been losing not just because conservatives have so much more money and power, but also because they have accepted the conservatives' framing of political debates. They have accepted a framing where conservatives want market outcomes whereas liberals want the government to intervene to bring about outcomes that they consider fair. This puts liberals in the position of seeming to want to tax the winners to help the losers. This "loser liberalism" is bad policy and horrible politics. Progressives would be better off fighting battles over the structure of markets so that they don't redistribute income upward. This book describes some of the key areas where progressives can focus their efforts in restructuring the market so that more income flows to the bulk of the working population rather than just a small elite.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

*These books are also available in digital format for "free" on Dean Baker's website, Beat the Press. Yea!

Related Books

Rigged: How Globalization and the Rules of the Modern Economy Were Structured to Make the Rich Richer
economyAuthor: Dean Baker
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Center for Economic and Policy Research
List Price: $9.99

Buy Now

The United States Since 1980
economyAuthor: Dean Baker
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
List Price: $28.95

Buy Now

The Conservative Nanny State: How the Wealthy Use the Government to Stay Rich and Get Richer
economyAuthor: Dean Baker
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: LULU
List Price: $7.90

Buy Now

economy
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}