كان الاقتصاد أزعج لا شيء جديد حتى في القرن 18th

كان الاقتصاد أزعج لا شيء جديد حتى في القرن 18th
تجمع اوبر من القرن 18th. جيمس بولارد / مشروع Google الفني

تقرير تايلور ، الحكومة البريطانية الأخيرة استعراض كبير من العمل الحديث، إيلاء اهتمام خاص ل "أزعج الاقتصاد". هذه هي الفكرة القائلة بأن نموذج العمل التقليدي - حيث يكون الناس في كثير من الأحيان لديهم تقدم وظيفي واضح ووظيفة من أجل الحياة - قد تم تعديله. وهو يشمل "السائقين العاملين لحسابهم الخاص" من "أوبر" لمستخدمي مطوري البرامج على شبكة الإنترنت ، ويتيح للعاملين المزيد من الحرية - ولكنهم أيضًا يحرمهم من المزايا والقيود الوقائية.

وبينما قد يبدو أن طرق العمل الراسخة قد تعطلت ، فإن التاريخ يبين لنا أن الشخص الوحيد ، وهو نموذج مهني واحد ، هو ظاهرة حديثة نسبيا. قبل التصنيع في القرن 19th ، معظم الناس يعملون في وظائف متعددة لتجميع المعيشة. كشف الماضي يكشف عن بعض التحديات والفوائد والنتائج المترتبة على الاقتصاد أزعج.

يوميات ثلاثة رجال في بريطانيا القرن 18th التي وجدت وجدت تعطي فكرة رائعة حول كيفية الناس الطبقة الوسطى - المستفيدين المفترضين من اقتصاد أزعج اليوم - عمل متعدد الوظائف. ادموند هارولد، وكان أحد سكان مانشستر في أوائل 18th القرن حلاق من خلال التدريب والعنوان. قام بتأجير متجر صغير ، ورؤساء العملاء محلوق ، واشترى الشعر وبيعه ، وصنع شعر مستعار. في الساعات التي لم يشغلها هذا ، عمل كموزع كتب ، وفي النهاية كمزاد ، يبيع العديد من الأشياء في البيوت داخل مانشستر وفي البلدات البعيدة. أقرض المال عندما كان لديه ، كسب الفائدة 10 ٪ على مقتنياته.

كان ثوماس بارسونز من المتحمسين الآخرين للاقتصاد أزعج ، وكان يعمل بمثابة كارتر حجري في مدينة باث في 1769 ، وكذلك عالما للهواة - وهو عمل قد نعتبره عادة في أوقات الفراغ. في غرب البلاد ، جون كانون تولى العمل كعامل زراعي ، رجل مكرس ، فاشل مالستر ، ومعلم.

مثل الناس الذين يكسبون المال من خلال الاقتصاد أزعج اليوم ، ألقي الرجال الثلاثة في عالم من الهشاشة. كان لديهم استقلال ولكنهم غالباً ما يشعرون بالقلق من امتلاك المال الكافي لدفع الفواتير ، ويخشون من احتمال الفشل. عانى بارسونز من قدرته على سداد ديونه ، مشيرا إلى دخول واحد:

أنا في الديون ولا أعرف كيفية الدفع. هذا يعطيني عدم ارتياح كبير - ما هي المخاوف المتعددة التي أستخدمها للتعاطي مع أفكاري!

في أحد المداخلات ، شكر هارولد الله على "الأعمال المسموح بها" وأشار إلى أنه عاش بشكل مريح للغاية. وبحلول الشهر التالي ، كان يكتب أنه "مضبوط على المال" ، وأنه لم يكن لديه سوى القليل من العمل ، ووصف بأنه "في حالة استنفاد كبير ما يجب فعله".


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


حصل جميع المدرّبين الثلاثة على راحة ، رغم كونهم متواضعين لوقت طويل من التجار في ذلك الوقت ، حيث تراوح ما بين £ 50 و 70 في السنة ، مما جعلهم جزءًا من الطبقة المتوسطة المتنامية من حيث الدخل. ولكن في اقتصاد وظائف متعددة ، كان دخلهم محفوفة بالمخاطر ، وكان لذلك تأثير كبير على حياتهم. وصف Cannon نفسه بأنه "كرة التنس من ثروة".

أكثر من المال

كان المال مصدر قلق ، لكن المذكرات توضح أنه مثل اليوم ، كان العمل أكثر من مجرد الأجور. تبين تجارب هؤلاء الرجال الثلاثة أن الناس اختاروا عملهم لأن الوظائف المختلفة تقدم أشكالاً مختلفة من الإشباع. بعض المهام كسبت المال ، ولكن أدوار أخرى أعطت لهم وضعًا اجتماعيًا. في بعض الحالات ، حتى حكموا الوفاء والمكانة هذه الوظائف أعطتهم عالية مثل المكسب المادي.

يمكن أن تكون فرصة الربط الشبكي وبناء السمعة والسلطة بنفس الأهمية مثل النقد المكتسب. في الواقع ، يمكن أن يكون لقيمة العمل من حيث الوضع والدخل علاقة عكسية. جعل بارسونز معظم أمواله من أعماله الحصرية بدلا من مساعيه الفكرية ، ولكن كان تجربته العلمية التي منحت معظم الوضع. هذا الوضع ، بدوره ، ساعده في الحصول على عقود.

تذكرنا الروايات التاريخية عن اقتصاد أزعج أننا نحتاج إلى التفكير في العمل على أنه أكثر من شكل من أشكال الأجور ، ولكن كشيء حيوي لحياةنا الاجتماعية والثقافية. نحن نعرف أنفسنا وفقا للوظائف التي نقوم بها. على الرغم من أن مراجعة تايلور التي تم إصدارها مؤخرًا عن اقتصاد أزعج في بريطانيا تركز على الأجور والفوائد والتنظيم ، إلا أنها تقر بوضوح أيضًا بالعمل كخبرة. يتخلل التقرير كلمات مثل "السعادة" و "الطموح".

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، قد نلاحظ أن العمل - حتى العمل بالأفعى - يعتمد على الحالة. واليوم ، يعتمد العمال الذين يعتمدون على منصات العمل عبر الإنترنت على تصنيف المستخدمين. الوضع والعمل يسيران جنبا إلى جنب. وتؤدي الأنشطة التي تساعد الشخص على بناء الوضع إلى حجب التفرقة بين العمل والترفيه ، أو العمل غير المدفوع أو المدفوع. كان العمل ، بالنسبة لرجال مثل بارسونز وهارولد وكانون ، ممارسة اجتماعية. لم يكن فقط نشاطًا إنتاجيًا لإعالة أنفسهم ، بل كان بالأحرى مشروعًا أرسى المهارة والاستقلالية والقيمة الذاتية.

ما الذي يعول على العمل؟

إن اقتصاد أزعج في سياق تاريخي يتحدىنا من أجل تحديد فئة بسيطة من "العمل". هل ينبغي لنا أن نحدد العمل كمهام مأجورة من أجل الأجر؟ أم ينبغي لنا أن نشمل عمالة منتجة لا يتم دفعها؟

كان هارولد هو المعيل الاسمي لعائلته ، ولكن الأسرة المعيشية اعتمدت أيضا على عائلته عمل الزوجة. استأجرت سارة غرفة في منزلها إلى النزل ، وبيع الملابس المستعملة وغسل ملابس الآخرين. لهذه المهام ، كسبت المال. ولكن مثل العديد من النساء في القرن 18th (و اليوم) ، كان الكثير من العمل سارة غير المسددة. كانت تهتم بالأطفال والخبز المخبوز والبيرة المخمرة. وقد أدت هذه المهام إلى إعالة الأسرة وتكاثرها ، ولكن لأنها لم تُدفع ، فإنها تظل غير معترف بها كعمل. على الرغم من أنها أمضت أيامها في العمل ، لكانت سارة قد أدرجت على أنها ليست مهنة في السجلات الرسمية للضرائب أو التعدادات.

في اقتصاد اليوم أزعج ، أصبحت المزيد والمزيد من المهام المنزلية غير الرسمية أشكالا من العمل المدفوع الأجر. هل يساعدنا تفسير هذه الأمور على التعرف بشكل أفضل على العمل غير المرئي الذي يحدث في الأسرة؟

المحادثةمن المؤكد أن الاقتصاد أزعج يشكل تحديات لرفاهية العمال. ومع ذلك ، فإن الاضطراب الذي يجلبه يوفر فرصة لتقديم تفسير أفضل للتنوع في أنواع العمل المختلفة التي تحدث في المجتمع ، وللتعرف على الأشخاص الذين يؤدونها.

عن المؤلف

تاوني بول ، محاضر أول في التاريخ الاقتصادي والاجتماعي ، جامعة إكستر

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = gig economy؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

The Gig Economy Was Nothing New Even In The 18th Century

The Gig Economy Was Nothing New Even In The 18th Century
The uber pool of the 18th century. James Pollard / Google Art Project

The Taylor Report, the UK government’s recent major review of modern work, paid particular attention to the “gig economy”. This is the idea that the traditional model of work – where people often have a clear career progression and a job for life – has been upended. It encompasses “self-employed” Uber drivers to the web developer freelancers and it allows workers more freedom – but also denies them benefits and protective regulation.

While it might seem that long-established ways of working are being disrupted, history shows us that the one person, one career model is a relatively recent phenomenon. Prior to industrialisation in the 19th century, most people worked multiple jobs to piece together a living. Looking to the past uncovers some of the challenges, benefits and consequences of a gig economy.

The diaries of three men in 18th-century Britain that I have found give a fascinating insight into how middle class people – the supposed beneficiaries of today’s gig economy – made multiple employments work. Edmund Harrold, a resident of Manchester in the early 18th century was a barber by training and title. He rented a small shop, shaved customers’ heads, bought and sold hair, and crafted wigs. In the hours unfilled by this he worked as a book dealer, and eventually as an auctioneer, selling various items in alehouses within Manchester and in outlying towns. He lent out money when he had it, earning 10% interest on his holdings.

Another enthusiastic embracer of the gig economy was Thomas Parsons, working as a stone carver in the city of Bath in 1769, as well as an amateur scientist – work that we might normally classify as leisure. In the West Country, John Cannon took jobs as an agricultural labourer, excise man, failed maltster, and teacher.

Like people earning money through the gig economy today, the three men were thrown into a world of precariousness. They had independence but fretted frequently about having enough money to pay bills, and feared the potential for failure. Parsons agonised about his ability to pay his debts, noting in one entry:

Am in debt and know not how to pay. This gives me great uneasiness – what a multiplicity of concerns have I to employ my thoughts!

In one entry, Harrold thanked God for “tolerable business” and noted that he lived very comfortably. By the next month, he would write that he was “ill set for money”, that he had very little work, and described being “in great straite what to do”.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


All three diarists earned a comfortable, though modest subsistence for tradesmen of the time, earning between £50 and £70 a year, which made them part of the growing middle class in terms of income. But in an economy of multiple jobs, their income was precarious, and this had a big impact on their lives. Cannon described himself as the “tennis ball of fortune”.

More than the money

Money was a concern, but the diaries make clear that, like today, work was also about more than pay. The experiences of these three men show that people chose their work because different jobs offered different forms of fulfilment. Some tasks earned them money, but other roles gave them social status. In some cases, they even judged fulfilment and the status these jobs gave them as highly as material gain.

The opportunity for networking, building reputations and power could be equally as important as the cash earned. In fact, the value of work in terms of status and income could have an inverse relationship. Parsons made most of his money from his stone-cutting business rather than his intellectual pursuits, but it was his scientific experimentation that conferred the most status. That status, in turn, helped him get contracts.

Historical accounts of the gig economy remind us that we need to think about work as more than a form of wage earning, but as something crucial to our social and cultural lives. We define ourselves according to the jobs that we do. Though the recently-released Taylor review of Britain’s gig economy focuses on wages, benefits, and regulation, it also clearly recognises work as an experience. The report is peppered with words like “happiness” and “aspiration”.

Plus, we might notice that work – even gig work – depends upon status. Today, workers relying on online platforms for work depend upon their user rating. Status and employment go hand-in-hand. And activities that help a person build status blur the distinctions between work and leisure, or unpaid and paid work. Work, for men like Parsons, Harrold and Cannon, was a social practice. It was not only a productive activity to support themselves, but was rather an undertaking that established skill, independence and self-worth.

What counts as work?

The gig economy considered in a historical context challenges us to better define the simple category of “work”. Should we define work as tasks undertaken for pay? Or should we include productive labour that is not paid?

Harrold was the nominal breadwinner of his family, but the household also depended upon his wife’s work. Sarah rented a room in their house to lodgers, sold secondhand clothing and washed other people’s clothes. For these tasks, she earned money. But like many women in the 18th century (and today), much of Sarah’s work was unpaid. She cared for children, baked bread, and brewed ale. These tasks sustained the household and its reproduction, but because they were unpaid, they remain unrecognised as work. Even though she spent her days working, Sarah would have been listed as having no occupation in formal tax or census records.

In today’s gig economy, more and more informal domestic tasks are becoming forms of paid work. Will accounting for these help us to better recognise the invisible work that takes place in the household?

The ConversationThe gig economy certainly poses challenges to the well-being of workers. The disruption that it brings, however, offers an opportunity to better account for the diversity of different kinds of work that take place in society, and to recognise the people who perform it.

About the Author

Tawny Paul, Senior Lecturer in Economic and Social History, University of Exeter

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=gig economy;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…