Mexikaner migrieren gerade jenseits der US-Grenze

Mexikaner migrieren gerade jenseits der US-Grenze

Oaxacan-Verkäufer, der Waren verkauft. Jeffrey Cohen, Autor zur Verfügung gestellt

Mexikanische Migration in die USA ist im Niedergangdem „Vermischten Geschmack“. Seine Pew Hispanic Forschungszentrum hat festgestellt, dass seit 2009 mehr als eine Million gebürtiger Mexikaner, die in den USA leben, nach Mexiko zurückgekehrt sind. Aber viele andere Mexikaner haben die mexikanische Grenze nie überschritten.

Warum entscheiden sich einige mexikanische Migranten, zu Hause zu bleiben? Was bedeutet das für die US-Grenze zu Mexiko?

Der Rückgang der Migration in die USA ist nicht einfach mit dem Aufbau von mehr verbunden Barrieren an der Grenze. Veränderung der Demografie, der Wirtschaft, der Schwierigkeiten, in den USA zu leben und eines wachsenden Gefühls von Gelegenheit zu Hause, neben vielen anderen Faktoren, sind Verlagerung der mexikanischen Migration in die USA

Jedes Jahr reisen Millionen von Mexikanern von ihren Heimatstädten in andere Teile des Landes, um dort Arbeit, Bildung und persönliche Freiheiten zu finden, die das häusliche Leben und die traditionellen Erwartungen oft einschränken. Migranten, die sich entschließen, in mexikanische Städte, Touristenorte wie Cancun, Fabriken und Farmen zu reisen, verdienen möglicherweise nicht die Löhne, die direkt über der Grenze liegen. Sie vermeiden aber auch die Schwierigkeiten, die mit der Anpassung an die USA einhergehen

Die interne Migration ist nicht neu und bewegt sich innerhalb Mexikos hat eine reiche Geschichte. Es ist etwas, das ländliche Leute seit Generationen getan haben, während die Migration in die USA nur in den 1980s und 1990s gewachsen ist.

Beyogen auf unsere Forschung Im Internatio- nal Journal of Sociology wird argumentiert, dass Binnenmigration eine wichtige und praktikable Alternative für Menschen darstellt, die auf der Suche nach Sicherheit und Chancen sind und die US-Grenze nicht überqueren können oder wollen.


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


Oaxacanische Migranten in Mexiko

Wir verbrachten Zeit mit Familien in ländlichen Dörfern im südlichen mexikanischen Bundesstaat Oaxacaund erfuhr, dass die interne Migration in der Region eine lange Geschichte hat. Bis Mitte des X. Jahrhunderts fanden Oaxacans Gelegenheiten als Wanderverkäufer, die durch die Region reisten und während der Erntezeit an Küstenplantagen arbeiteten.

Don Betto, der in der Sierra Madre del Sur lebt, erzählte uns von seinen Reisen nach Südmexiko in die 1950 und 1960. (Unsere Studie sollte sicherstellen, dass unsere Probanden anonym blieben, daher ist Don Betto nicht sein richtiger Name. Alle Namen der Probanden wurden geändert.) Nach der Pflanzsaison trug er Kochgeschirr auf seinem Rücken und verkaufte von Tür zu Tür das Geld, auf das seine Familie im Laufe des Jahres zählen konnte.

In der zweiten Hälfte des X. Jahrhunderts wagten sich viele Oaxacaner ein Stück weiter von zu Hause weg und ließen sich in Mexiko-Stadt nieder. Sie fanden Jobs, Möglichkeiten für Bildung und, zumindest für ein paar Männer, Bräute. Durch die 20s und in das 1990st Jahrhundert, Oaxacans weiterhin migrieren. Und während viele Oaxacans nach Möglichkeiten in den USA suchten, blieb eine Minderheit in Mexiko und ließ sich in Touristenstädten wie Cancun oder den landwirtschaftlichen Gebieten von Baja California nieder.

Die Einkommen von Migranten, die in Mexiko bleiben, konkurrieren nicht mit den Löhnen, die in den USA bezahlt werden. Dennoch sind viele Mexikaner ziemlich klar, warum sie lieber in der Nähe von zu Hause bleiben. Don Alejandro, ein junger Oaxacan aus der zentralen Tälerregion des Staates, beschrieb, warum er reiste, um in dem Ferienort Cabo San Lucas in Baja California Arbeit zu finden, statt in die USA zu gehen:

"Im Norden arbeitest du, bezahlst dann Rechnungen, arbeitest dann mehr, um mehr Rechnungen zu bezahlen ... es ist okay hier; es ist nicht viel, aber es gehört mir. "

Don Maurico, ein älterer Holzschnitzer aus dem Dorf San Miguel, war noch klarer und balancierte seine Kritik mit ein wenig Sarkasmus aus:

"Schau, wenn ich dorthin gehe [die USA], werde ich eine Menge Geld verdienen, aber es ist so teuer. Wenn ich hier bleibe, ist das okay. Warum sollte ich gehen und Hunderte von Dollar für einen Toaster bezahlen müssen? Ich bin glücklich, ein bisschen hier zu verdienen. "

Migrieren ohne Zuhause zu verlassen

Die Oaxacans, mit denen wir während unserer Forschung gearbeitet haben, sind einige der vielen Mexikaner, die innerhalb nationaler Grenzen wandern. Das Nationale Institut für Statistik, Geographie und Information Schätzungen Diese Migranten sind 4 bis 5 Prozent der Gesamtbevölkerung des Landes von etwa 130 Millionen Menschen. Mit anderen Worten bewegen sich etwa sechs Millionen Mexikaner innerhalb der Landesgrenzen. Und während einige dieser Migranten in Zukunft vielleicht in die USA ausweichen werden, ist dies angesichts der rechtlichen Herausforderungen des Grenzübergangs und was auch immer, unwahrscheinlich Alana Semuels The Atlantic beschreibt als ein einsames Leben für Einwanderer. Mexikaner reisen innerhalb der Grenzen ihrer Nation, um Gelegenheit zu finden und den Stress der Überfahrt in die USA auf Distanz zu halten.

In Mexiko werden sie nicht über den Status ihrer Staatsbürgerschaft befragt. Sie teilen eine gemeinsame Sprache, Kultur und Geschichte. Der Aufenthalt in Mexiko führt nicht zu Reichtum, aber wie Don Valeriano seine Situation beschrieb, "kann er zu Hause ein Anführer sein" und voll am zivilen Leben seines Dorfes teilnehmen.

MigrantInnen gleichen Risiken und Chancen aus, wenn sie sich entscheiden, umzuziehen. Die Förderung des weiteren Wachstums dieser Möglichkeiten in Mexiko und die weitere Stärkung der mexikanischen Wirtschaft können dazu beitragen, eine Zukunft aufzubauen, ohne eine wall.

Das Gespräch

Über den Autor

Jeffrey H. Cohen, Professor für Anthropologie, Die Ohio State University und Bernardo Ramirez Rios, Professor für Anthropologie, Skidmore College

Dieser Artikel wurde ursprünglich veröffentlicht am Das Gespräch.. Lies das Original Artikel.

Bücher zum Thema:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books; Keywords = mexikanische Einwanderung; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Mexicans Are Migrating, Just Not Across The US Border

Mexicans Are Migrating, Just Not Across The US Border

Oaxacan vendor selling wares. Jeffrey Cohen, Author provided

Mexican migration to the U.S. is in decline. The Pew Hispanic Research Center has found that since 2009, more than one million native-born Mexicans living in the U.S. returned to Mexico. But many other Mexicans never crossed the U.S.-Mexican border in the first place.

Why are some Mexican migrants choosing to stay home? What does it mean for the U.S. border with Mexico?

The decline in migration to the U.S. is not simply linked to building more barriers at the border. Changing demography, economy, the difficulties of living in the U.S. and a growing sense of opportunity at home, among many other factors, are shifting Mexican migration to the U.S.

Every year millions of Mexicans travel from their hometowns to other parts of the country for work, education and personal freedoms that domestic life and traditional expectations often limit. Migrants who decide to travel to Mexican cities, tourist sites like Cancun, factories and farms may not earn the wages that lie just across the border. Yet, they also avoid the difficulties that often come with adapting to the U.S.

Internal migration is not new, and moving within Mexico has a rich history. It is something that rural folks have done for generations, while migration to the U.S. grew only in the 1980s and 1990s.

Based on our research published in the International Journal of Sociology, we argue that internal migration is an important and viable alternative for people who are in search of security and opportunity and will not or cannot cross the U.S. border.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Oaxacan migrants in Mexico

We spent time with families in rural villages in the southern Mexican state of Oaxaca, and learned that internal migration has a long history in the region. Through the mid-20th century, Oaxacans found opportunities as itinerant vendors traveling throughout the region and working on coastal plantations during the harvest season.

Don Betto, who lives in the Sierra Madre del Sur, told us about his trips to southern Mexico in the 1950s and 1960s. (Our study was designed to ensure our subjects remained anonymous, so Don Betto is not his real name. All subjects’ names have been changed.) Following the planting season, he carried cookware on his back, selling door-to-door to earn the cash that his family could count on during the year.

By the later half of the 20th century, many Oaxacans ventured a bit farther from home and settled in Mexico City. They found jobs, opportunities for education and, for at least a few men, brides. Through the 1990s and into the 21st century, Oaxacans continued to migrate. And while many Oaxacans sought opportunities in the U.S., a minority stayed in Mexico and settled in tourists cities like Cancun, or the agricultural fields of Baja California.

The incomes earned by migrants who stay in Mexico do not compete with the wages paid in the U.S. Nevertheless, many Mexicans are quite clear as to why they prefer to stay close to home. Don Alejandro, a young Oaxacan from the state’s central valleys region, described why he traveled to find work in the resort town of Cabo San Lucas in Baja California rather than crossing into the U.S.:

“Up north you work then pay bills, then work more to pay more bills… it’s okay here; it’s not much but it’s mine.”

Don Maurico, an older wood carver from the village of San Miguel, was even clearer, balancing his critique with a bit of sarcasm:

“Look, if I go over there [the U.S.] I’ll make a lot of money, but it is so expensive. If I stay here, well that’s okay. Why would I want to go and have to pay hundreds of dollars for a toaster? I’m happy earning a little right here.”

Migrating without leaving home

The Oaxacans we worked with during our research are a few of the many Mexicans who migrate within national boundaries. The National Institute for Statistics, Geography and Information estimates these migrants are 4 to 5 percent of the nation’s total population of about 130 million people. In other words, about six million Mexicans are moving within the nation’s borders. And while some of these migrants might elect to cross into the U.S. in the future, it’s unlikely given the legal challenges of border crossing, as well as what Alana Semuels of The Atlantic describes as a lonely life for immigrants. Mexicans travel within the boundaries of their nation to find opportunity and to keep the stresses of crossing into the U.S. at arm’s length.

In Mexico, they are not questioned over the status of their citizenship. They share a common language, culture and history. Staying within Mexico does not lead to riches, but as Don Valeriano described his situation, “he can be a leader at home” and participate fully in the civil life of his village.

Migrants balance risk and opportunity as they decide to move. Fostering the continued growth of those possibilities within Mexico, and the continued strengthening of the Mexican economy can help build a future without building a wall.

The Conversation

About The Author

Jeffrey H. Cohen, Professor of Anthropology, The Ohio State University and Bernardo Ramirez Rios, Professor of Anthropology, Skidmore College

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=mexican immigration;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 27, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
One of the great strength of the human race is our ability to be flexible, to be creative, and to think outside the box. To be someone other than we were yesterday or the day before. We can change...…
What Works For Me: "For The Highest Good"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
Were You Part Of The Problem Last Time? Will You Be Part Of The Solution This Time?
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Have you registered to vote? Have you voted? If you are not going to vote, you will be part of the problem.
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…