السياسة الاقتصادية الميتة والدائمة أساطير 2014

السياسة الاقتصادية الميتة والدائمة أساطير 2014

Wإيث موسم العطلات علينا، وقت نهاية القوائم السنة-يقترب بسرعة. للتغلب على الاندفاع، اليوم أعطي قائمتي من أكبر الخرافات الميتة ودائمة من 2014.

والخبر السار هو أن خرافتين تسببتا في حالة من الارتباك الشديد على مدى السنوات العديدة الماضية ، تتجهان الآن إلى سلة المهملات للتاريخ. في حين أن العديد من النقاد البارزين قد لا يزالون يكررونها لإثبات أن النقاد البارزين لا يهتمون حقيقة بالواقع ، فإن كل شخص في المجتمع القائم على الواقع يعرف الآن أنه هراء.

الأول هو أسطورة إينفينسبلس الشباب وObamacare. كانت القصة أن نجاح Obamacare اعتمادا على الحصول على الأشخاص الأصحاء الصغار على التوقيع. من المفترض أن كنا بحاجة إلى young'uns صحية لدعم بقية السكان.

هذا أدى إلى قصص لا نهاية لها حول ما إذا كان الشباب يقومون بالتسجيل للحصول على التأمين. قامت إدارة أوباما ببذل جهود خاصة للتوعية للشباب. في محاولة لتقويض البرنامج ، ومجموعة الجناح اليميني أعمال الحرية حتى برعاية Obamacare حرق بطاقات المسيرات (لا توجد بطاقات Obamacare ، لذلك كان عليهم إنشاء لهم) من أجل تثبيط الشباب من الحصول على التأمين.

تكمن المشكلة في القصة في أننا لم نكن بحاجة إلى الدعم من الشباب الصحي لجعل البرنامج ناجحًا. في حين أن الشباب الأصحاء يقدمون دعماً أقل صحة للأشخاص في البرنامج ، فإن كبار السن الأصحاء يدعمونهم أكثر. نسبة أقساط الأشخاص في الفئة العمرية الأقدم (55-64) إلى الأصغر سنا هي تقريبا ثلاثة إلى واحد. والكثير من كبار السن ، مثلهم مثل الشباب ، يتمتعون بصحة جيدة ولديهم فواتير طبية منخفضة.

وهذا يعني أنه إذا كان التوزيع العمري للالمسجلات منحرفة نحو كبار السن، فعلت حقا لا يهم كثيرا، كما أظهرت مؤسسة أسرة كايسر في دراسة قصيرة. انه يجعل هناك فارقا أكبر بكثير إذا كان هناك انحراف نحو الناس في حالة صحية سيئة.

كانت الخرافة الكبرى الأخرى التي قُتلت في 2014 هي أننا كنا في حاجة إلى الخوف من الانكماش. لم يكن هذا الأمر سخيفًا فقط - مع الأسف ، لا يوجد سحر لعبور الصفر - كان له تداعيات مهمة على السياسة. لقد اشتملت قصة الخوف من الانكماش على أنه طالما كان التضخم إيجابيًا ، فلا داعي للقلق.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


في الواقع ، فإن مشكلة انخفاض معدل التضخم تجعل من الصعب تعزيز الاقتصاد من خلال السياسة النقدية لأن البنوك المركزية لا تملك معدلات فائدة اسمية سلبية. كما أنه يجعل من الصعب على الأجور الحقيقية أن تتكيف ، حيث أن العمال نادرا ما يحصلون على تخفيضات في الأجر الاسمي. هذا صحيح حتى في انخفاض معدلات التضخم الإيجابي. تزداد المشكلة سوءًا إذا تحول التضخم إلى سالب ، ولكن ذلك يرجع إلى أن معدل التضخم قد انخفض ، وليس لأن هناك أي أهمية خاصة للصفر.

البعض منا كان يحاول اجعل هذه النقطة منذ الأيام الأولى للانكماش الاقتصادي ، لكن الخبراء والكثير من الاقتصاديين الذين يجب أن يعرفوا بشكل أفضل ما زالوا يعبرون عن مخاوفهم بشأن الانكماش. كان الخبر السار في 2014 هو أن صندوق النقد الدولي يوزن للإشارة إلى أن المشكلة هي "انخفاض التضخم" ، وهو معدل تضخم منخفض للغاية.

لذلك الآن هو رسمي. يجب أن نكون جميعًا قلقين بشأن معدلات التضخم المنخفضة في منطقة اليورو واليابان والولايات المتحدة وأماكن أخرى. إذا انخفض معدل التضخم أكثر ، فهذه أخبار أسوأ ، لكن الأمور لا تصبح سيئة فقط عندما يتحول معدل التضخم إلى سالب.

لسوء الحظ ، لقد نجت العديد من أساطيرنا الوطنية العظيمة من 2014. لا تزال لدينا قصة أن الأزمة المالية تسببت في الركود العظيم ، في مقابل انهيار فقاعة الإسكان. يجب أن تكون النقطة هنا مباشرة. القطاع المالي يعمل مرة أخرى ، لكننا ما زلنا بعيدين عن التعافي. ذلك لأننا لا نملك شيئًا لاستبدال الطلب الذي نتج عن فقاعة الإسكان.

هذا أمر مهم لفهم سياسة المضي قدما وإلقاء اللوم أيضا. يمكن أن تتعقد الأزمات المالية. كانت فقاعة الإسكان بسيطة جدًا ، وكثيرًا من الاقتصاديين فجروها.

على نفس المنوال ، نستمر في رؤية أسطورة الكساد الكبير الثانية. هذا أمر مهم للغاية بالنسبة لأولئك الذين يشغلون مناصب سياسية لأنه يسمح لهم بالقول أنه بغض النظر عن مدى سوء الأمور ، فعلى الأقل تجنبنا الكساد الكبير الثاني.

آسف الناس ، نعرف كيف نخرج من الكآبة. إنه يُدعى "إنفاق المال". حتى لو سُمِح للديموزينات بالهبوط ، وانهارت جميع بنوك وول ستريت ، ما زال بإمكاننا أن نلتقط القطع ونفادى الكساد. وسوف يتم تحريرنا من طيور القطرس في القطاع المالي المتضخم.

ثم لدينا الأساطير التوأم سر انتعاش ضعيف والنمو البطيء للأجور. كل أسبوع أو أسبوعين وسوف نحصل على في قصة عمق في منفذ الأخبار الرئيسية يسأل لماذا ما زلنا لم تعافى من الركود أو لماذا الأجور لا تنمو.

هذا واحد يعود مباشرة إلى فقاعة الإسكان المنهارة. نحن بحاجة إلى بعض مصادر الطلب لتحل محل 1 تريليون دولار أو نحو ذلك في الطلب على الإنشاءات والاستهلاك التي فقدناها عندما انفجرت فقاعة 8 تريليون دولار.

الطلب لا يأتي من السماء. انها تأتي من الاستهلاك ، الاستثمار ، الإنفاق الحكومي أو الصادرات الصافية. لا أحد لديه قصة لماذا نتوقع أن يكون أي من مكونات الطلب هذه أعلى مما هي عليه حاليًا. ومن ثم فإن الغموض الوحيد هو لماذا يعتقد أي شخص أن هناك لغزا.

والقصة بنمو الأجور غير متساوية على حد سواء. ستبدأ الأجور في النمو عندما تصبح سوق العمل أكثر شدة مما هي عليه الآن ، بالنظر إلى أننا ما زلنا قريبين من 7 مليون وظيفة دون الاتجاه.

ينبغي أن نكون سعداء بأننا نفذ فيهم حكم الاعدام اثنين من الخرافات سخيفة جدا بشأن الاقتصاد والسياسة الاقتصادية في 2014. دعونا نرى ما اذا كنا نستطيع قتل هؤلاء الأربعة الأوهام الأخرى في 2015.

ظهر هذا المقال أصلا على TruthOut

عن المؤلف

خباز عميددين بيكر هو المدير المشارك لمركز البحوث الاقتصادية والسياسة في واشنطن العاصمة. وكثيرا ما يستشهد في التقارير الاقتصاد في وسائل الإعلام الرئيسية، بما في ذلك نيويورك تايمز, واشنطن بوستو CNN و CNBC و National Public Radio. يكتب عمود أسبوعي لل الجارديان غير محدود (المملكة المتحدة)، و هافينغتون بوست, TruthOutوبلوق، فاز الصحافةميزات التعليق على التقارير الاقتصادية. وقد ظهرت تحليلاته في العديد من المنشورات الرئيسية ، بما في ذلك الأطلسي شهري، ال واشنطن بوست، ال لندن فاينانشال تايمز، و ال نيويورك ديلي نيوز. حصل على درجة الدكتوراه في الاقتصاد من جامعة ميتشيغان.


كتب موصى بها

العودة إلى التوظيف الكامل: صفقة أفضل للعاملين
من قبل جاريد بيرنشتاين ودين بيكر.

B00GOJ9GWOهذا الكتاب هو متابعة لكتاب كتبه قبل عقد من الزمن مؤلفو كتاب "فوائد التوظيف الكامل" (معهد السياسة الاقتصادية ، 2003). وهو يعتمد على الأدلة المقدمة في هذا الكتاب ، والتي تبين أن النمو الحقيقي للأجور للعمال في النصف السفلي من مقياس الدخل يعتمد بشكل كبير على معدل البطالة الإجمالي. في أواخر 1990s ، عندما شهدت الولايات المتحدة أول فترة مستمرة من انخفاض معدل البطالة في أكثر من ربع قرن ، تمكن العمال في منتصف وتوزيع الأجور من الحصول على مكاسب كبيرة في الأجور الحقيقية.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.

نهاية الخاسر الليبرالية: جعل الأسواق تقدمية
من قبل دين بيكر.

0615533639التقدميين في حاجة إلى نهج جديد جذريا في السياسة. لقد تم فقدان ليس فقط لأن المحافظين يكون أكثر من ذلك بكثير المال والسلطة، ولكن أيضا لأنها قبلت تأطير المحافظين من المناقشات السياسية. قبلت لديهم تأطير حيث يريد المحافظون نتائج السوق في حين الليبراليين يريدون من الحكومة أن تتدخل لتحقيق النتائج التي يعتبرونها عادلة. هذا يضع الليبراليين في موقف يبدو أنها تريد فرض ضرائب على الفائزين لمساعدة الخاسرين. هذه "الليبرالية الخاسر" هي سياسة سيئة والسياسة الرهيبة. أن التقدميين أن معارك أفضل حالا القتال على هيكل الأسواق بحيث لا إعادة توزيع الدخل الأعلى. يصف هذا الكتاب بعض المجالات الرئيسية حيث يمكن التقدميين تركز جهودها في إعادة هيكلة السوق بحيث يتدفق المزيد من الدخل على الجزء الأكبر من السكان القادرين على العمل بدلا من مجرد نخبة صغيرة.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.

* هذه الكتب متوفرة أيضًا بتنسيق رقمي لـ "مجانًا" على موقع دين بيكر ، فاز الصحافة. نعم!

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Dead and Enduring Economic Policy Myths of 2014

Dead and Enduring Economic Policy Myths of 2014

With the holiday season upon us, the time for end of year lists is fast-approaching. To beat the rush, today I give my list of the top dead and enduring myths of 2014.

The good news is that two myths that caused great confusion over the last several years are now headed to the trash bin of history. While many prominent pundits may still repeat them to demonstrate that prominent pundits really don’t have to care about reality, everyone in the reality based community now knows them to be nonsense.

The first is the myth of the young invincibles and Obamacare. The story was that the success of Obamacare depending on getting young healthy people to sign up. Supposedly we needed the healthy young'uns to subsidize the rest of the population.

This led to endless stories about whether young people were signing up for insurance. The Obama administration made special outreach efforts to the young. In an effort to undermine the program, the right-wing group Freedom Works even sponsored Obamacare card burning rallies (there are no Obamacare cards, so they had to create them) in order to discourage young people from getting insurance.

The problem with the story is that we really didn’t need the subsidy from health young people to make the program work. While healthy young people subsidize less healthy people in the program, healthy older people subsidize them even more. The ratio of premiums of the people in the oldest age group (55-64) to the youngest is roughly three to one. And plenty of older people, just like younger people, are in good health and have low medical bills.

This means that if the age distribution of the enrollees skewed toward older people, it really didn’t matter much, as the Kaiser Family Foundation showed in a short study. It makes a much bigger difference if there is a skewing towards people in bad health.

The other big myth that got killed in 2014 was that we needed to fear deflation. This was not only silly - sorry folks there is no magic to crossing zero - it had important policy implications. The deflation scare story implied that as long as inflation was positive we didn’t have to worry.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


In fact, the problem of low inflation makes it difficult to boost the economy through monetary policy since central banks can’t have negative nominal interest rates. It also makes it harder for real wages to adjust, since workers rarely get cuts in nominal pay. This is true even at low positive inflation rates. The problem gets worse if the inflation turns negative, but that is because the inflation rate has gotten lower, not because there is any special importance to zero.

Some of us had been trying to make this point since the early days of the downturn, but the pundits and many economists who should know better kept expressing concerns about deflation. The good news in 2014 was that the IMF weighed in to point out that the problem is “lowflation,” an inflation rate that is too low.

So now it is official. We all should be very worried about the low inflation rates in the euro zone, Japan, the United States, and elsewhere. If the inflation rate falls further, that is worse news, but things don’t just become bad when the inflation rate turns negative.

Unfortunately, many of our great national myths have survived 2014. We still have the story that the financial crisis caused the Great Recession, as opposed to the collapse of the housing bubble. The point here should be straightforward. The financial sector is working again, but yet we are still far from having recovered. That’s because we have nothing to replace the demand that had been generated by the housing bubble.

This matters both to understanding policy going forward and also assigning blame. Financial crises can get complicated. The housing bubble was pretty damn simple and almost all our economists blew it.

Along the same lines, we continue to see the Second Great Depression myth. This is very important for those in policy positions because it allows them to say that no matter how bad things are, at least we avoided a Second Great Depression.

Sorry folks, we know how to get out of a depression. It’s called, “spending money.” Even if the dominos had been allowed to fall, and all the Wall Street banks collapsed, we still could have picked up the pieces and avoided a depression. And, we would be freed of the albatross of a bloated financial sector.

Then we have the twin myths of the mystery of a weak recovery and slow wage growth. Every week or two we will get an in depth story in a major news outlet asking why we still haven’t recovered from the downturn or why wages aren’t growing.

This one goes right back to the collapsed housing bubble. We need some source of demand to replace the $1 trillion or so in construction and consumption demand that we lost when the $8 trillion bubble burst.

Demand doesn’t come from heaven. It comes from consumption, investment, government spending or net exports. No one has a story as to why we should expect any of these components of demand to be higher than they currently are. Hence the only mystery is why anyone thinks there is a mystery.

And the story with wage growth is equally unmysterious. Wages will start growing when the labor market gets an awful lot tighter than it is now, given that we are still close to 7 million jobs below trend.

We should be glad that we put to death two very silly myths about the economy and economic policy in 2014. Let’s see if we can kill these other four fantasies in 2015.

This article originally appeared on TruthOut

About the Author

baker deanDean Baker is co-director of the Center for Economic and Policy Research in Washington, DC. He is frequently cited in economics reporting in major media outlets, including the New York Times, Washington Post, CNN, CNBC, and National Public Radio. He writes a weekly column for the Guardian Unlimited (UK), the Huffington Post, TruthOut, and his blog, Beat the Press, features commentary on economic reporting. His analyses have appeared in many major publications, including the Atlantic Monthly, the Washington Post, the London Financial Times, and the New York Daily News. He received his Ph.D in economics from the University of Michigan.


Recommended Books

Getting Back to Full Employment: A Better Bargain for Working People
by Jared Bernstein and Dean Baker.

B00GOJ9GWOThis book is a follow-up to a book written a decade ago by the authors, The Benefits of Full Employment (Economic Policy Institute, 2003). It builds on the evidence presented in that book, showing that real wage growth for workers in the bottom half of the income scale is highly dependent on the overall rate of unemployment. In the late 1990s, when the United States saw its first sustained period of low unemployment in more than a quarter century, workers at the middle and bottom of the wage distribution were able to secure substantial gains in real wages.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

The End of Loser Liberalism: Making Markets Progressive
by Dean Baker.

0615533639Progressives need a fundamentally new approach to politics. They have been losing not just because conservatives have so much more money and power, but also because they have accepted the conservatives' framing of political debates. They have accepted a framing where conservatives want market outcomes whereas liberals want the government to intervene to bring about outcomes that they consider fair. This puts liberals in the position of seeming to want to tax the winners to help the losers. This "loser liberalism" is bad policy and horrible politics. Progressives would be better off fighting battles over the structure of markets so that they don't redistribute income upward. This book describes some of the key areas where progressives can focus their efforts in restructuring the market so that more income flows to the bulk of the working population rather than just a small elite.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

*These books are also available in digital format for "free" on Dean Baker's website, Beat the Press. Yea!

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}