كيف الضغط يضعف عمل المناخ

كيف الضغط يضعف عمل المناخ

دراسة جديدة تحدد آثار الضغط السياسي على احتمال سن سياسة المناخ.

ذكر بعض الباحثين أن عددًا قليلًا من السياسات المحلية المقلقة بشأن تغير المناخ قد تم إقرارها حول العالم حتى الآن. هذا على الرغم من كل الأدلة على أن فوائد تخفيض غازات الدفيئة تفوق تكاليف التنظيم.

يقول كايل مينج ، الأستاذ بجامعة كاليفورنيا ، كلية سانتا باربرا للعلوم البيئية وعلوم البيئة: "هناك انفصال ملفت للنظر بين ما هو ضروري لتجنب تغير المناخ الخطير وبين ما تم فعله حتى الآن". الإدارة وقسم الاقتصاد. ويضيف أن أحد التفسيرات الشائعة لهذا الانفصال هو أن السلطات القضائية تحجم عن تبني سياسة المناخ عندما تستطيع ببساطة الاستفادة من التخفيضات التي تنفذها ولايات قضائية أخرى.

ومع ذلك ، يقول منغ والمؤلف المشارك آشوين رودي ، وهو طالب سابق في درجة الدكتوراه في جامعة كاليفورنيا في باربرا الآن في جامعة شيكاغو ، إن العملية السياسية التي تؤدي إلى تنظيم تغير المناخ يمكن أن تشكل عائقًا أمام تشريعها.

يقول منغ ، وهو أيضًا مدير في مختبر حلول السوق البيئية ومقره برين (EmLab): "هناك قلق متزايد من أن هذا الافتقار إلى العمل المناخي قد يكون بسبب التأثيرات السياسية". يمكن أن يؤدي الضغط بين مجموعات المصالح الخاصة والمشرعين الذين تستهدفهم إلى تقليل فرص تطبيق هذه السياسات.

مشروع قانون واكسمان ماركي

لتوضيح ذلك ، درس الباحثون دور الضغط السياسي في القطاع الخاص حول مشروع قانون 2009-2010 Waxman-Markey (WM). كان مشروع قانون الطاقة المعروف أيضًا باسم قانون الطاقة النظيفة والأمن في الولايات المتحدة ، هو فاتورة المناخ الأمريكية الأبرز والواعدة حتى الآن. وما زال فشلها منذ ما يقرب من عقد من الزمان يشكّل سياسات المناخ اليوم ، بما في ذلك حالة عدم اليقين الحالية المحيطة بمفاوضات المناخ العالمي المستقبلية.

ويوضح منغ قائلاً: "في الأساس ، من دون سياسة مناخ ملزمة للولايات المتحدة ، لا يوجد ضغط كبير على الدول في جميع أنحاء العالم لتكثيف وتبني خططها الجادة لتخفيف المناخ".

في الوقت الذي تم فيه اقتراح مشروع القانون ، وفقًا للباحثين ، أطلق على جماعات الضغط حول WM "مجموع كل جماعات الضغط". وإجمالًا ، أنفقت الشركات أكثر من 700 مليون دولار للضغط على الفاتورة. حوالي 14 في المئة من ذلك تم إنفاقه بين 2009 و 2010. مع الأخذ في الاعتبار البيانات المستمدة من سجلات الضغط الأمريكية الشاملة والجمع بينها وبين طريقة تجريبية للتنبؤ بتأثير السياسة على قيمة الشركات المدرجة في البورصة ، تمكن الباحثون من تقدير كيفية تغير قيم الأسهم لهذه الشركات في حالة تنفيذ WM.

نهجهم ، ذكرت في طبيعة تغير المناخ، كما سمح لهم بتحديد الشركات التي كان من المتوقع أن تربح أو تخسر القيمة من السياسة. إن معرفة من هم الفائزون والخاسرون من شأنه أن يسمح للباحثين بتحديد ما إذا كانوا فعالين تفاضليًا في التأثير على فرص السياسة. وفقًا للتحليلات الإحصائية التي أجراها مينج ورود ، فإن الضغط من جانب الشركات التي تتوقع الخسائر كان أكثر فعالية من الضغط من جانب الشركات التي تتوقع المكاسب.

أخيرًا ، قلل إجمالي الضغط من جانب هذه الشركات من فرص مشروع القانون بمقدار 13 نقاط مئوية ، من 55 بالمائة إلى 42 بالمائة ، مما يمثل 60 مليار دولار (2018 دولار) في الأضرار المناخية المتوقعة بسبب انخفاض فرصة سن سياسة المناخ الأمريكية.

الضغط وسياسة المناخ

هذه هي الدراسة الأولى التي تحدد تأثيرات الضغط في تغيير احتمالية سن سياسة المناخ. بشكل عام ، أدى نقص البيانات إلى صعوبة دراسة من الذي ينفق مقدار التأثير على العملية ، وما هي البيانات الموجودة غالبًا ما لا تكشف عن من سيفوز أو يخسر ، أو بمقدار ذلك.

يقول منغ: "توفر نتائجنا أيضًا بصيصًا من الأمل من خلال تمهيد الطريق نحو سياسات مناخية أكثر قوة من الناحية السياسية".

أظهر المؤلفون أن القوى السياسية ذاتها التي قللت من فرص أسلحة الدمار الشامل كان يمكن الاستفادة منها للحد من المعارضة السياسية. على سبيل المثال ، كانت WM عبارة عن مشروع قانون الحد الأقصى للتجارة الذي أصدر عددًا "مُغطى" من تصاريح الانبعاثات التي يمكن أن تتداولها الشركات المنظمة من أجل الامتثال للسياسة. عادة ما يتم تخصيص بعض هذه التصاريح بحرية للشركات الخاضعة للتنظيم. إذا كانت هذه التصاريح المجانية موجهة بشكل أفضل نحو الشركات المعارضة ، فقد تؤدي بدورها إلى تقليل المعارضة السياسية ضد هذه السياسة.

يقول منغ: "التغييرات الطفيفة في التصميم على سياسات المناخ القائمة على السوق يمكن أن تخفف المعارضة السياسية وتزيد من فرص التبني".

مصدر: جامعة كاليفورنيا في سانتا باربارا

كتب ذات صلة

تنين المناخ: نظرية سياسية لمستقبلنا الكوكبي

بقلم جويل وينرايت وجيف مان
1786634295كيف سيؤثر تغير المناخ على نظريتنا السياسية - للأفضل والأسوأ. على الرغم من العلم ومؤتمرات القمة ، لم تحقق الدول الرأسمالية الرائدة أي شيء قريب من مستوى مناسب من التخفيف من الكربون. لا توجد الآن طريقة لمنع الكوكب من اختراق عتبة درجتين مئويتين حددتها الهيئة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بتغير المناخ. ما هي النتائج السياسية والاقتصادية المحتملة لهذا؟ أين يتجه العالم المحموم؟ متاح في أمازون

الانتفاضة: نقطة تحول بالنسبة للأمم في أزمة

بواسطة جاريد دياموند
0316409138إضافة بعدًا نفسيًا للتاريخ المتعمق والجغرافيا والبيولوجيا والأنثروبولوجيا التي تميز جميع كتب Diamond ، ثورة يكشف عن العوامل التي تؤثر على كيفية استجابة كل من الأمم والأفراد لمواجهة التحديات الكبيرة. والنتيجة هي ملحمة الكتاب في نطاقها ، ولكن أيضًا كتابه الأكثر شخصية حتى الآن. متاح في أمازون

العموم العالمي ، القرارات المحلية: السياسة المقارنة لتغير المناخ

بقلم كاثرين هاريسون وآخرون
0262514311دراسات حالة وتحليلات مقارنة لتأثير السياسة الداخلية على سياسات البلدان المتعلقة بتغير المناخ وقرارات التصديق على كيوتو. يمثل تغير المناخ "مأساة المشاعات" على نطاق عالمي ، وتتطلب تعاون الدول التي لا تضع بالضرورة رفاهية الأرض فوق مصالحها الوطنية. ومع ذلك ، فإن الجهود الدولية المبذولة لمواجهة الاحترار العالمي قد لقيت بعض النجاح. دخل بروتوكول كيوتو ، الذي التزمت فيه الدول الصناعية بخفض انبعاثاتها الجماعية ، حيز التنفيذ في 2005 (على الرغم من عدم مشاركة الولايات المتحدة). متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, و ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

How Lobbying Undercuts Climate Action

How Lobbying Undercuts Climate Action

A new study quantifies the effects of political lobbying on the likelihood of climate policy enactment.

Disturbingly few domestic climate change policies have been enacted around the world so far, report researchers. That’s despite all the evidence that the benefits of reducing greenhouse gases outweigh the costs of regulation.

“There is a striking disconnect between what is needed to avoid dangerous climate change and what has actually been done to date,” says Kyle Meng, a professor in the University of California, Santa Barbara’s Bren School of Environmental Science & Management and in the economics department. One common explanation for that disconnect, he adds, is that jurisdictions are reluctant to adopt climate policy when they can simply benefit from the reductions implemented by other jurisdictions.

However, say Meng and coauthor Ashwin Rode, a former UC Santa Barbara PhD student now at the University of Chicago, the political process that leads to climate change regulation can be a barrier to its own legislation.

“There is an increasing concern that this lack of climate action may be due to political influences,” says Meng, who is also a director at the Bren-based Environmental Market Solutions Lab (emLab). Lobbying between special interest groups and the legislators they target can decrease the chances of putting such policies into effect.

The Waxman-Markey Bill

To illustrate this, the researchers examined the role of political lobbying in the private sector around the 2009-2010 Waxman-Markey (WM) Bill. Also known as the American Clean Energy and Security Act, the energy bill was the most prominent—and promising—US climate bill to date. And its failure nearly a decade ago continues to shape climate policies today, including the current uncertainty surrounding future global climate negotiations.

“Basically, without a binding US climate policy, there is very little pressure for countries around the world to step up and adopt their own serious climate mitigation plans,” Meng explains.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


At the time the bill was proposed, according to the researchers, lobbying around WM was called “the sum of all lobbies.” In total, companies spent more than $700 million lobbying the bill; about 14 percent of that was spent between 2009 and 2010. Taking into account data from comprehensive US lobbying records and combining them with an empirical method for forecasting the policy’s effect on the value of publicly listed firms, the researchers were able to estimate how the stock values of these firms would change had WM been implemented.

Their approach, reported in Nature Climate Change, also allowed them to determine which firms were expected to gain or lose value from the policy. Knowing who the winners and losers were would allow the researchers to determine if they were differentially effective in influencing the policy’s chances. According to Meng and Rode’s statistical analyses, lobbying by firms expecting losses was more effective than lobbying by firms expecting gains.

All told, the total lobbying by these companies reduced the bill’s chances by 13 percentage points, from 55 percent to 42 percent, representing $60 billion (2018 dollars) in expected climate damages due to the lowered chance of enacting US climate policy.

Lobbying and climate policy

This is the first study to quantify the effects of lobbying in altering the likelihood of enacting climate policy. Generally, the lack of data has made it difficult to examine who is spending how much to influence the process, and what data there are often do not reveal who would win or lose, or by how much.

“Our findings also provide a glimmer of hope by paving a path toward more politically robust climate policies,” Meng says.

The authors show that the very political forces that lowered WM’s chances could have been leveraged to instead reduce political opposition. For instance, WM was a cap-and-trade bill that issued a “capped” number of emission permits that regulated companies could trade in order to comply with the policy. Some of these permits are typically allocated freely to regulated companies. If such free permits are better targeted toward oppositional firms, they may in turn reduce political opposition against the policy.

“Subtle design changes to market-based climate policies can alleviate political opposition and increase chances of adoption,” Meng says.

Source: UC Santa Barbara

Related Books

Climate Leviathan: A Political Theory of Our Planetary Future

by Joel Wainwright and Geoff Mann
1786634295How climate change will affect our political theory—for better and worse. Despite the science and the summits, leading capitalist states have not achieved anything close to an adequate level of carbon mitigation. There is now simply no way to prevent the planet breaching the threshold of two degrees Celsius set by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change. What are the likely political and economic outcomes of this? Where is the overheating world heading? Available On Amazon

Upheaval: Turning Points for Nations in Crisis

by Jared Diamond
0316409138Adding a psychological dimension to the in-depth history, geography, biology, and anthropology that mark all of Diamond's books, Upheaval reveals factors influencing how both whole nations and individual people can respond to big challenges. The result is a book epic in scope, but also his most personal book yet. Available On Amazon

Global Commons, Domestic Decisions: The Comparative Politics of Climate Change

by Kathryn Harrison et al
0262514311Comparative case studies and analyses of the influence of domestic politics on countries' climate change policies and Kyoto ratification decisions. Climate change represents a “tragedy of the commons” on a global scale, requiring the cooperation of nations that do not necessarily put the Earth's well-being above their own national interests. And yet international efforts to address global warming have met with some success; the Kyoto Protocol, in which industrialized countries committed to reducing their collective emissions, took effect in 2005 (although without the participation of the United States). Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}