لماذا يحدد حدود سرعة منخفضة للغاية يؤدي إلى حوادث قاتلة

إصلاح

لماذا يحدد حدود سرعة منخفضة للغاية يؤدي إلى حوادث قاتلة

وضع حدود للسرعة على بعد خمسة أميال فقط في الساعة أقل من التوصيات الهندسية ينتج عنه انخفاض معتد به إحصائيًا في إجمالي الحوادث المميتة والإصابات وحوادث الأعطال في الممتلكات فقط ، وفقًا للباحثين.

يقول فيكاش غايا ، الأستاذ المساعد في الهندسة المدنية في جامعة ولاية بنسلفانيا: "إذا قمت (مع ذلك) بتخفيض حد السرعة بواسطة 10 أو 15 أو 25 miles في الساعة أو أكثر ، يتوقف السائقون عن الاهتمام". "لقد وجدنا أن هناك زيادة في حالات الإصابة القاتلة والإصابات في المواقع التي بها حدود للسرعة المنشورة التي تحدد 10 من الأميال في الساعة أو أكثر دون التوصيات الهندسية".

يتم تعيين حدود السرعة عادةً استنادًا إلى نتائج الدراسات الهندسية التي تجمع بيانات حركة التدفق الحر ثم تختار سرعة مناسبة باستخدام نموذج إحصائي. ومع ذلك ، فإن عوامل مثل مناطق المدارس ، ومواطن أو ضغوط سياسية ، وقضايا السلامة المتصورة تسهم في ممارسة شائعة إلى حد ما لخفض حدود السرعة أسفل الإرشادات الهندسية ، حسبما ذكر الباحثون في تحليل الحوادث والوقاية منها.

يقول غايا: "عند إجراء بحث سريع ، نبحث عن سرعات التدفق الحر - السرعة التي يحددها السائقون استنادًا إلى الظروف الجوية والظروف الجوية السائدة".

قام فريق من الباحثين بجمع بيانات السرعة في ثلاث مناسبات مختلفة من شرائح الطريق 12 في مونتانا ، وهي الولاية التي تضع حدود للسرعة أقل مما ينصح به المهندسون. تم تغيير حدود السرعة في ثمانية من مواقع 12 دون توصيات الهندسة سواء بواسطة 5 mph أو 10 mph أو 15 mph أو 25 mph. وقد نشرت المواقع الأربعة الأخرى حدود للسرعة تتساوى مع التوصيات الهندسية وخدمت كمواقع للمقارنة.

تعتبر كل فترة من جمع البيانات إما وجود أي إنفاذ القانون ، وإنفاذ القانون الخفيف ، أو إنفاذ القانون الثقيلة.

تم جمع بيانات السرعة في ساعات النهار وفي ظروف الطقس المعتدل باستخدام مستشعرات الرصيف الخفية. تم استبعاد المركبات الكبيرة ، مثل الشاحنات والسيارات التي تسير بالقرب من بعضها البعض. تم أيضًا استبعاد السيارات التي تقل عن 10 mph للسرعة المنشورة أو أكبر من 20 mph لحد السرعة المنشورة ، والمعروفة باسم القيم الخارجة عن السرعة. بيانات التحطم من فترة أربع سنوات قبل وبعد تغيير حدود السرعة كانت أيضا جزء من التحليل.

ووجد الباحثون أن المركبات كانت أكثر عرضة للإطاعة بحد أقصى للسرعة في المواقع التي لها حدود سرعة أعلى محددة في 50 mph أو 55 mph مقارنة بالحالة الأساسية التي تقل عن 50 ميل في الساعة ، وأربعة أضعاف احتمال إطاعتها عند نشرها كان الحد الأقصى للسرعة بين 60 و 70 mph.

أظهر وجود إنفاذ القانون الثقيلة في المناطق ذات حدود السرعة المنخفضة انخفاض متوسط ​​سرعة انخفاض 4 mph وامتثال الحد الأقصى للسرعة.

تقول غايا: "إن ممارسة تحديد حدود للسرعة أقل مما هو موصى به من دراسة هندسية لا بأس بها إذا كان ذلك بقليل فقط - بمقدار خمسة أميال في الساعة".

وأظهر هذا الاختلاف زيادة في الامتثال للحد الأقصى للسرعة ، وانخفاض في ضرر الممتلكات فقط ، وإصابة كاملة ، مميتة ، وإصابة. يبدو أن الاختلافات الكبيرة بين قيم حدود السرعة المنشورة والهندسة الموصى بها تزيد من عدد مرات التعطل وتقليل الامتثال للحد الأقصى للسرعة.

دعمت وزارة النقل في مونتانا والإدارة الفيدرالية للطرق السريعة هذا العمل.

المصدر: أندريا بوروديفتش ل ولاية بنسلفانيا

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = keywords limitges؛ maxresults = 3}

إصلاح
enafarزكية-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Why Setting Speed Limits Too Low Increases Fatal Crashes

Why Setting Speed Limits Too Low Increases Fatal Crashes

Setting speed limits just five miles per hour below engineering recommendations produces a statistically significant decrease in total, fatal, and injury crashes, and property-damage-only crashes, according to researchers.

“If (however) you lower the speed limit by 10, 15, 25 miles per hour, or more, drivers stop paying attention,” says Vikash Gayah, assistant professor of civil engineering at Penn State. “We found there was an increase in fatal and injury crashes at locations with posted speed limits set 10 miles per hour or more below engineering recommendations.”

Speed limits are normally set based on results from engineering studies that collect free-flow traffic data and then select an appropriate speed using a statistical model. However, factors such as school zones, citizen or political pressure, and perceived safety issues contribute to the fairly common practice of lowering speed limits below engineering guidelines, the researchers report in Accident Analysis and Prevention.

“When doing speed research, we are looking at free-flow speeds—the speed that drivers select based on geometric and prevailing weather conditions,” says Gayah.

The team of researchers collected speed data on three different occasions from 12 roadway segments in Montana, a state that posts speed limits lower than engineers advise. Eight of the 12 sites had posted speed limits changed below engineering recommendations either by 5 mph, 10 mph, 15 mph, or 25 mph. The other four sites had posted speed limits set equal to engineering recommendations and served as comparison locations.

Each period of data collection considered either the presence of no law enforcement, light law enforcement, or heavy law enforcement.

Speed data was collected in daylight hours and in fair weather conditions using hidden pavement sensors. Large vehicles, such as trucks, and cars traveling too close together were excluded. Cars traveling less than 10 mph of the posted speed or greater than 20 mph of the posted speed limit, known as speed outliers, were also excluded. Crash history data from a four-year period before and after speed limits changed was also part of the analysis.

The researchers found that vehicles were two times more likely to obey the speed limit at locations with higher posted speed limits set at 50 mph or 55 mph compared to the base case of less than 50 mph, and four times more likely to obey when the posted speed limit was between 60 and 70 mph.

The presence of heavy law enforcement in zones with low posted speed limits showed an average reduced speed of 4 mph and greater speed-limit compliance.

“The practice of setting speed limits lower than what would be recommended from an engineering study is okay if it’s only by a little—by five miles per hour,” says Gayah.

Such a difference showed an increase in speed-limit compliance, a decrease in property damage only, and total, fatal, and injury crashes. Larger differences between the posted and engineering-recommended speed-limit values appear to increase crash frequency and reduce speed limit compliance.

The Montana Department of Transportation and the Federal Highway Administration supported this work.

Source: Andrea Borodevyc for Penn State

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=speed limits;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

CULTURE WARS

what is populism 2 7

What Actually Is This Thing Called Populism?

Octavia Bryant and Benjamin Moffitt
No doubt thanks to Donald Trump, Brexit, and a string of anti-establishment leaders and parties in Europe, Latin America and Asia, everyone seems to be talking about populism

DEMOCRACY

Compassionate Actions and Ripples of Change

Compassionate Actions and Ripples of Change

Jalaja Bonheim, PhD.
I believe there is. When we speak of activism, we usually think of organized activities. Yet beyond that, we all have opportunities to act in ways that reflect our desire for social justice and peace. Whether or not we’re “official” activists, we’re always…

ECONOMY

How Electric Cars Could Make America's Crumbling Roads Even Worse

How Electric Cars Could Make America's Crumbling Roads Even Worse

Jay L. Zagorsky
U.S. roads and bridges are in abysmal shape – and that was before the recent winter storms made things even worse.

ENVIRONMENT & CLIMATE

Could Climate Change Spark A Global Financial Crisis?

Could Climate Change Spark A Global Financial Crisis?

Korey Pasch
The dire climate change situation continues to make headlines and inspire actions like the Sunrise Movement.

HOSTILITES

Attaining Peace Must Be The Cause of Every Individual

Attaining Peace Must Be The Cause of Every Individual

Rick Munoz
When I was 4 years old, my grandfather died. The preacher said "por fin el a alcanzado la paz" which means (in Spanish) that he has finally reached peace. As I listened to him I began to think that peace was really important if grandfather had to go away to…

JUSTICE & CIVIL LIBERTY

Most People Don't Realize What Companies Can Predict From Their Data

Most People Don't Realize What Companies Can Predict From Their Data

Emilee Rader
Sixty-seven percent of smartphone users rely on Google Maps to help them get to where they are going quickly and efficiently.