Warum Washington Insider ihre Nase in den USA Public Snub

Warum Washington Insider ihre Nase in den USA Public Snub

Washington hält das amerikanische Volk nicht für sehr hoch, so eine Studie von 850-Vertretern, die in der Hauptstadt des Landes arbeiten.

Diese Beltway-Insider, die in Bundesbehörden, auf dem Capitol Hill und in anderen Jobs in Washington Richtlinien oder Vorschriften erlassen, neigen dazu zu denken, dass Amerikaner nicht informiert sind, "sehr wenig" über Schlüsselthemen wissen und Meinungen haben, die ignoriert werden können.

(Kredit: Greg Stanley / Johns Hopkins)(Kredit: Greg Stanley / Johns Hopkins)Die Ergebnisse erscheinen in einem neuen Buch, Was Washington falsch macht: Die unausgewählten Beamten, die die Regierung und ihre Missverständnisse über das amerikanische Volk tatsächlich regieren (Prometheus Books, 2016), von Jennifer Bachner und Benjamin Ginsberg, Politikwissenschaftler an der Johns Hopkins University.

"Das offizielle Washington ist wohlhabender, weißer und besser erzogen als gewöhnliche Bürger. Es lebt in seiner eigenen Blase innerhalb des Beltway. "

"Diese Verachtung für die Öffentlichkeit ergibt sich aus der großen Kluft zwischen den Lebenserfahrungen der gewöhnlichen Amerikaner und den Bewohnern des offiziellen Washington", sagen die Autoren. "Das offizielle Washington ist wohlhabender, weißer und besser erzogen als gewöhnliche Bürger. Es lebt in seiner eigenen Blase innerhalb des Beltway, wo sich die Washingtoner miteinander unterhalten und selten auf einer intellektuellen Ebene mit den Amerikanern interagieren. "

In einer 2013-Umfrage fanden die Autoren heraus, dass Menschen, die entweder in der Regierung oder direkt damit arbeiten, nicht nur sehr wenig mit anderen Amerikanern gemeinsam haben, sondern auch eine beunruhigend niedrige Meinung von ihnen haben.

Sie fanden 73 Prozent der Regierungsbeamten denken, dass die Öffentlichkeit wenig oder nichts über Programme zur Unterstützung der Armen weiß, 71 Prozent denken, dass die Öffentlichkeit wenig oder nichts über Wissenschaft und Technologiepolitik weiß, und 61 Prozent denken, dass die Öffentlichkeit fast nichts über Kinderbetreuung weiß.


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


In der Tat, wenn es um grundlegende Politikbereiche wie soziale Sicherheit, öffentliche Schulen, Kriminalität, Verteidigung und Umwelt geht, war es schwierig, Regierungsbeamte zu finden, die dachten, dass die Öffentlichkeit "eine Menge" wusste.

Mit der Schlussfolgerung, dass Main Street-Amerikaner so wenig wissen, tendieren Regierungsbeamte eher dazu, ihr eigenes Urteil zu verwenden, als das der richtigen Leute, wenn sie politische Entscheidungen treffen, schreiben die Autoren. In Fragen der Wissenschaft und der Verteidigung sind mehr als die Hälfte der Beamten der Meinung, dass sie "immer" oder "meistens" ihre eigene Meinung hören sollten. Mit Kriminalität, Wohlfahrt und Umwelt fühlen sich mindestens 42 Prozent der Beamten gleich.

Regierungsbeamte neigten tatsächlich dazu zu glauben, dass ihre eigenen Ansichten mehr von denen der gewöhnlichen Amerikaner abwichen, als sie es tatsächlich taten. Zum Beispiel glauben 76 Prozent der Beamten, dass sie mit durchschnittlichen Amerikanern in der Hälfte der untersuchten Politikbereiche nicht übereinstimmen, aber nur 12 Prozent von ihnen wirklich. Die Daten zu "durchschnittlichen Amerikanern" stammen größtenteils aus der 2012 American National Election Study.

"Dieses Gefühl der" falschen Einzigartigkeit "spiegelt ein Gefühl kultureller oder intellektueller Überlegenheit wider", schreiben die Autoren. "Die Beamten neigen dazu, die Bürger mit einer beträchtlichen Verachtung zu betrachten."

Weitere Ergebnisse

  • 91 Prozent derjenigen, die für Bundesbehörden arbeiten, sind weiß, gegenüber 78 Prozent der Öffentlichkeit.
  • In 2012 betrug die Vergütung der Bundesbediensteten durchschnittlich $ 81,704 oder 48 Prozent mehr als der Durchschnitt des privaten Sektors von $ 54,995, so das US Bureau of Economic Analysis. Das bedeutet, dass die Bundesbediensteten in den obersten 10-Prozent der amerikanischen Verdiener sind.
  • Die Einwohner Washingtons lesen die Nachrichten mindestens fünf Tage pro Woche, im Vergleich zu etwa drei Tagen pro Woche für den Rest des Landes.

Bachner ist Direktor des Master of Science im Bereich Government Analytics. Ginsberg ist Professor für Politikwissenschaft.

Quelle: Johns Hopkins University

Bücher zum Thema:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Schlüsselwörter = Schattenregierung; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Why Washington Insiders Snub Their Noses At The US Public

Why Washington Insiders Snub Their Noses At The US Public

Washington doesn’t think very highly of the American people, a study of 850 non-elected officials and others working in the nation’s capital concludes.

These Beltway insiders, who make policy or regulations or craft legislation in federal agencies, on Capitol Hill and in other Washington jobs, tend to think Americans are uninformed, know “very little” about key issues, and have opinions that can be ignored.

(Credit: Greg Stanley/Johns Hopkins)(Credit: Greg Stanley/Johns Hopkins)The findings appear in a new book, What Washington Gets Wrong: The Unelected Officials Who Actually Run the Government and Their Misconceptions about the American People (Prometheus Books, 2016), by Jennifer Bachner and Benjamin Ginsberg, political scientists at Johns Hopkins University.

“Official Washington is wealthier, whiter, and better educated than ordinary citizens. It lives in its own inside-the-Beltway bubble.”

“This disdain for the public results from the wide gulf between the life experiences of ordinary Americans and the denizens of official Washington,” the authors say. “Official Washington is wealthier, whiter, and better educated than ordinary citizens. It lives in its own inside-the-Beltway bubble, where Washingtonians converse with one another and rarely interact on an intellectual plane with Americans at large.”

In a 2013 survey, the authors found people who either work in government or directly with it not only have very little in common with other Americans, but also have a disturbingly low opinion of them.

They found 73 percent of government officials think the public knows little or nothing about programs aimed at helping the poor, 71 percent think the public knows little or nothing about science and technology policy, and 61 percent think the public knows almost nothing about childcare.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


In fact, when it comes to fundamental policy areas like social security, public schools, crime, defense, and the environment, it was hard to find government officials who thought the public knew “a great deal.”

Having concluded that Main Street Americans know so little, government officials tend to use their own judgment rather than real people’s when making policy decisions, the authors write. On issues of science and defense, more than half of officials think they should “always” or “mostly” heed their own opinions. With crime, welfare, and the environment, at least 42 percent of officials feel the same way.

Government officials actually tended to believe their own views diverged more from those of ordinary Americans than they actually did. For example, 76 percent of officials believe they disagree with average Americans on half of the policy areas surveyed, but only 12 percent of them really do. The data on “average Americans” is largely drawn from the 2012 American National Election Study.

“This sense of “false uniqueness” reflects a sense of cultural or intellectual superiority,” the authors write. “The officials tend to view the citizenry with a considerable amount of disdain.”

Other findings

  • 91 percent of those who work for federal agencies are white, versus 78 percent of the public.
  • In 2012, federal workers compensation averaged $81,704, or 48 percent more than the private sector average of $54,995, according to the US Bureau of Economic Analysis. That puts federal workers in the top 10 percent of American earners.
  • Washingtonians read the news at least five days a week compared with about three days a week for the rest of the country.

Bachner is director of the Master of Science in Government Analytics program. Ginsberg is a professor of political science.

Source: Johns Hopkins University

Related Books:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=shadow government;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…