Pourquoi Washington Insiders snub leurs nez au public américain

Pourquoi Washington Insiders snub leurs nez au public américain

Washington ne pense pas très bien au peuple américain, conclut une étude de 850 fonctionnaires non élus et d'autres travaillant dans la capitale nationale.

Ces initiés de Beltway, qui établissent des politiques ou règlements ou des lois sur l'artisanat dans les agences fédérales, sur Capitol Hill et dans d'autres emplois à Washington, ont tendance à penser que les Américains sont mal informés.

(Crédit: Greg Stanley / Johns Hopkins)(Crédit: Greg Stanley / Johns Hopkins)Les résultats apparaissent dans un nouveau livre, Ce que Washington fait de mal: les fonctionnaires non élus qui dirigent le gouvernement et leurs idées fausses sur le peuple américain (Prometheus Books, 2016), par Jennifer Bachner et Benjamin Ginsberg, politicologues à l'Université Johns Hopkins.

"Washington officiel est plus riche, plus blanc et mieux éduqué que les citoyens ordinaires. Il vit dans sa propre bulle à l'intérieur de la ceinture. "

"Ce mépris pour le public résulte du large fossé entre les expériences de vie des Américains ordinaires et les habitants du Washington officiel", affirment les auteurs. "Washington officiel est plus riche, plus blanc et mieux éduqué que les citoyens ordinaires. Il vit dans sa propre bulle à l'intérieur de la Beltway, où les Washingtoniens dialoguent entre eux et interagissent rarement sur le plan intellectuel avec les Américains en général.

Dans un sondage 2013, les auteurs ont trouvé que les gens qui travaillent au gouvernement ou directement avec lui ont non seulement très peu de choses en commun avec les autres Américains, mais ont également une opinion dérangeante à leur sujet.

Ils ont trouvé 73 pour cent des fonctionnaires du gouvernement pensent que le public sait peu ou rien sur les programmes visant à aider les pauvres, 71% pensent que le public sait peu ou rien sur la politique scientifique et technologique, et 61 pensent que le public ne sait presque rien sur les soins aux enfants.

En fait, lorsqu'il s'agissait de domaines politiques fondamentaux comme la sécurité sociale, les écoles publiques, la criminalité, la défense et l'environnement, il était difficile de trouver des responsables gouvernementaux qui pensaient que le public en savait «beaucoup».

Ayant conclu que les Américains de la rue Main en savent si peu, les responsables du gouvernement ont tendance à utiliser leur propre jugement plutôt que celui des personnes réelles lorsqu'ils prennent des décisions politiques, écrivent les auteurs. Sur les questions de science et de défense, plus de la moitié des fonctionnaires pensent qu'ils devraient "toujours" ou "surtout" tenir compte de leurs propres opinions. Avec le crime, le bien-être et l'environnement, au moins 42 pour cent des fonctionnaires ressentent la même chose.

Les représentants du gouvernement avaient tendance à croire que leurs propres opinions divergeaient davantage de celles des Américains ordinaires qu'elles ne le faisaient réellement. Par exemple, 76 pour cent des fonctionnaires pensent qu'ils sont en désaccord avec les Américains moyens dans la moitié des domaines politiques étudiés, mais seulement 12% d'entre eux le font vraiment. Les données sur les «Américains moyens» proviennent en grande partie de l'étude nationale américaine sur les élections 2012.

"Ce sentiment de" fausseté unique "reflète un sentiment de supériorité culturelle ou intellectuelle", écrivent les auteurs. "Les fonctionnaires ont tendance à voir les citoyens avec beaucoup de dédain."

autres résultats

  • 91 pour cent de ceux qui travaillent pour les agences fédérales sont blancs, contre 78 pour cent du public.
  • Dans 2012, l'indemnisation des travailleurs fédéraux en moyenne 81,704 $, ou 48 pour cent de plus que la moyenne du secteur privé de 54,995 $, selon le US Bureau of Economic Analysis. Cela place les travailleurs fédéraux dans le top 10 pour cent des salariés américains.
  • Washingtonians lire les nouvelles au moins cinq jours par semaine, comparativement à environ trois jours par semaine pour le reste du pays.

Bachner est directeur du programme Master of Science in Government Analytics. Ginsberg est un professeur de science politique.

La source: Johns Hopkins University

Livres connexes:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = gouvernement fantôme; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

Why Washington Insiders Snub Their Noses At The US Public

Why Washington Insiders Snub Their Noses At The US Public

Washington doesn’t think very highly of the American people, a study of 850 non-elected officials and others working in the nation’s capital concludes.

These Beltway insiders, who make policy or regulations or craft legislation in federal agencies, on Capitol Hill and in other Washington jobs, tend to think Americans are uninformed, know “very little” about key issues, and have opinions that can be ignored.

(Credit: Greg Stanley/Johns Hopkins)(Credit: Greg Stanley/Johns Hopkins)The findings appear in a new book, What Washington Gets Wrong: The Unelected Officials Who Actually Run the Government and Their Misconceptions about the American People (Prometheus Books, 2016), by Jennifer Bachner and Benjamin Ginsberg, political scientists at Johns Hopkins University.

“Official Washington is wealthier, whiter, and better educated than ordinary citizens. It lives in its own inside-the-Beltway bubble.”

“This disdain for the public results from the wide gulf between the life experiences of ordinary Americans and the denizens of official Washington,” the authors say. “Official Washington is wealthier, whiter, and better educated than ordinary citizens. It lives in its own inside-the-Beltway bubble, where Washingtonians converse with one another and rarely interact on an intellectual plane with Americans at large.”

In a 2013 survey, the authors found people who either work in government or directly with it not only have very little in common with other Americans, but also have a disturbingly low opinion of them.

They found 73 percent of government officials think the public knows little or nothing about programs aimed at helping the poor, 71 percent think the public knows little or nothing about science and technology policy, and 61 percent think the public knows almost nothing about childcare.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


In fact, when it comes to fundamental policy areas like social security, public schools, crime, defense, and the environment, it was hard to find government officials who thought the public knew “a great deal.”

Having concluded that Main Street Americans know so little, government officials tend to use their own judgment rather than real people’s when making policy decisions, the authors write. On issues of science and defense, more than half of officials think they should “always” or “mostly” heed their own opinions. With crime, welfare, and the environment, at least 42 percent of officials feel the same way.

Government officials actually tended to believe their own views diverged more from those of ordinary Americans than they actually did. For example, 76 percent of officials believe they disagree with average Americans on half of the policy areas surveyed, but only 12 percent of them really do. The data on “average Americans” is largely drawn from the 2012 American National Election Study.

“This sense of “false uniqueness” reflects a sense of cultural or intellectual superiority,” the authors write. “The officials tend to view the citizenry with a considerable amount of disdain.”

Other findings

  • 91 percent of those who work for federal agencies are white, versus 78 percent of the public.
  • In 2012, federal workers compensation averaged $81,704, or 48 percent more than the private sector average of $54,995, according to the US Bureau of Economic Analysis. That puts federal workers in the top 10 percent of American earners.
  • Washingtonians read the news at least five days a week compared with about three days a week for the rest of the country.

Bachner is director of the Master of Science in Government Analytics program. Ginsberg is a professor of political science.

Source: Johns Hopkins University

Related Books:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=shadow government;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…