2000 الانتخابات: ما هو التعلم؟

كنت أريد عندما كنت في سن المراهقة، لارتداء شعري أطول والدي يريد مني أن يكون خفض طاقم قصيرة جدا. خلال هذه الحجج كررت النشيد في سن المراهقة، واضاف "هذا ليس عدلا". فإنها تكرر الرد الأوراق المالية الآباء والأمهات، "سيئة للغاية، والحياة ليست عادلة". أنا فاز في نهاية المطاف أن هذه الحجة، ولكنها أخذت مني عدة سنوات من المواجهة المستمرة. صحيح، قد لا تكون الحياة عادلة، ولكن في 55 أشعر، تماما كما فعلت في 14، وينبغي أن تكون الحياة عادلة وأنه يجب علينا دائما مواجهة استمرار تلك التي لن تكون عادلة.

لكن المواجهة يجب أن تأخذ في كثير من الأحيان شكل آخر من مجرد تبادل شفهي أو مكتوب، لمشادة مع شخص ما هدفها هو شيء آخر غير الإنصاف، ليس أكثر من تمرين في العبث. في هذا، أو أي من الانتخابات، إلى القول ما إذا كان يجب احتساب كل صوت وروى حتى يعرف النتيجة هي واحدة لا جدوى من هذا القبيل.

MSNBC كريس ماثيوز من استدعاء أعقاب هذه الانتخابات أفضل من السياسة المكيافيلية لعبت بها في الانفتاح في المجتمع الأميركي. أنا، من ناحية أخرى، وأنا واجهت وانتقلت من صور:

  • الناخبين اليهود يبكون صراحة، عندما علم أنها قد صوت عن طريق الخطأ لبات بوكانان بدلا من جو ليبرمان.

  • وعضو الكونجرس جورجيا بارز في اشارة الى الناخبين اليهود والسود في مقاطعة بالم بيتش، فلوريدا، وغبي وجاهل وليس جديرا لهم صوت معدود.

  • يتم دفعها السيدات القديمة احتجاجا على الحرب، للتخويف، وصاح بنسبة "الذكور البيض" غاضب.

  • غاضب "الذكور البيض" اقتحام وتعطيل المكاتب الانتخابية في مقاطعة ميامي ديد في ولاية فلوريدا.

  • وحيد مسؤول الانتخابات الإناث في مقاطعة ميامي ديد يبحث أشبه ما تكون "زوجة يتعرضن للضرب" من موظف عام.

  • نفاق الخطب الانتخابية والإجراءات في انتخابات آخر.

ما من شأنه فقط وكانت عادلة في انتخابات فلوريدا نظرا للحقائق من مرشحي الأحزاب الثالثة والنتائج معروفة بعد وقوعها؟ أن من السهل حقا. ببساطة يد عد "جميع" الاصوات سواء المدلى بها من قبل ورقة، آلة، أو أصوات ناخبي معيبة مع نية الناخب في الاعتبار كما ينص عليها القانون ولاية فلوريدا. لماذا لم يحدث ذلك؟ لأنه لم الزعماء الجمهوريين لا يريدون عد كل الأصوات. دراسة وثيقة لمقاطعة إحصائيات التصويت مقاطعة ومنطقة من قبل دائرة إنتخابية يدل على أن آل غور هو الفائز على الأرجح من قبل ل10 الآلاف من الأصوات. كان يجب أن يحسب كل الأصوات؟ بالطبع - كان يمكن أن يكون عادلا.

في هذه الانتخابات، وتراجع الإنصاف من قبضتنا ومكانه وقصفت نحن من سال لعابه الحزبية خدم حتى بالنسبة لنا هو متوقع من قبل السياسيين، ولكن أكثر إثارة للانزعاج من قبل مذيعي الأخبار، والهتاف واضح لهذا الجانب أو ذاك. بوضوح، من الغبار الذي يستقر، بعض التغييرات يجب القيام بها قبل 2002 و2004.

  1. وينبغي إيلاء اهتمام الناخبين إلى انتخاب من هم على النحو الرسمية في التصويت المحلية. في كثير من الأحيان هذا السباق يذهب دون أن يلاحظها أحد، ويتم انتخاب الرئيس الحالي عاما بعد عام، بغض النظر عن العمر والكفاءة. قد يكون هذا هو صوت واحد أهم مواطن يلقي.

  2. النظام الحالي للكلية الانتخابية غير عادلة ولكن ذلك هو تصويت مباشر غير عادلة وغير عملي. ومن شأن اتباع نهج عادل يكون لإعادة النظر في الكلية الانتخابية لانتخاب أعضاء 2 لكل دولة في الناخبين كما نفعل حاليا، ولكن بعد ذلك أيضا أن ينتخب عضو واحد عن كل دائرة انتخابية على أساس المرشح المفضل في تلك المنطقة حتى ان "جميع الفائز اتخاذ" منقسمون في ولاية وفقا للتصويت.

  3. وينبغي أن لجنة الانتخابات الاتحادية بحث واتخاذ قرار بشأن نظام موحد التصويت على الصعيد الوطني. ويتعين على الكونغرس ثم إنشاء "دون شروط" منح للسماح للولايات والمقاطعات لشراء اختياريا نظام موحد. هذا من شأنه أن يكلف أقل من واحد B-1 مهاجما. معدات حديثة وفعالة الانتخابات ترفا غير أننا نستحق بالتأكيد.

  4. وينبغي أن تجبر المواطنين دولهم لكتابة أو إعادة كتابة القوانين الانتخابية الخاصة بهم بحيث تكون واضحة وموجزة، ومتناقضة لا. النظام الأساسي الانتخابات في ولاية فلوريدا ليست غير عادية، لأكثر من تماثيل ولاية فلوريدا، وتلك من دول أخرى كثيرة غامضة ومتناقضة، وإنفاذها على أهواء السلطة التنفيذية للحكومة.

  5. وينبغي أن انتهاكات قوانين الانتخابات وتضارب المصالح التحقيق بانتظام ومعاقبتهم بما يستحقونه من شدة، عن هذه الانتهاكات هي حقا "جرائم ضد الشعب".

  6. وطني يوم الانتخابات يجب أن يكون عيدا وطنيا مع النزهات، والعصابات من النحاس الأصفر، والناس الرياضية بفخر "لقد صوتت" الملصقات. بالتأكيد هذه لديها اكثر جدارة من "يوم كولومبوس" معيبة من الناحية التاريخية، وأنا متأكد من المكرمين "يوم الرؤساء" ستوافق.

والعديد من استدعاء النظام الأميركي ديمقراطي أفضل لاعب في العالم، وربما كان الأمر كذلك، ولكن في النهاية أنها لا تزال معيبة وغير عادلة. يمكننا أن نفعل ما هو أفضل. ربما بيان روبرت كنيدي متحرك يتحدث إلى أفضل ما لدينا في المستقبل يجب أن يكون.

"بعض الرجال يرون الأمور كما هي ويقولون لماذا؟
أحلم بأشياء لم تحدث بعد وأقول لماذا لا؟ "

عن المؤلف

جينينغزروبرت جننغز ناشر مشارك في InnerSelf.com مع زوجته ماري تي راسل. يكرس InnerSelf لتبادل المعلومات التي تسمح للناس بإجراء اختيارات متعمقة وثاقبة في حياتهم الشخصية ، من أجل خير المشاعات ، ورفاهية الكوكب. مجلة InnerSelf في عام 30 + من النشر في أي من المطبوعات (1984-1995) أو عبر الإنترنت باسم InnerSelf.com. يرجى دعم عملنا.

المشاع الإبداعي 3.0

تم ترخيص هذا المقال بموجب ترخيص Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0. صف المؤلف روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com. رابط العودة إلى المادة ظهر هذا المقال أصلا على InnerSelf.com

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ما يصلح لي: 1 ، 2 ، 3 ... عشرات
ما يصلح لي: 1 ، 2 ، 3 ... عشرات
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف

Election 2000: What's to learn?

When I was teenager, I wanted to wear my hair longer and my parents wanted me to have a very short crew cut. During these arguments I repeated the teenage anthem, "That's not fair". They would repeat the Parents stock reply, "Too bad, life's not fair". I eventually won that argument, but it took me several years of persistent confrontation. True, life may not be fair, but at 55 I feel, just as I did at 14, that life should be fair and that we must always persistently confront those that would not be fair.

But confrontation often must take a form other than mere verbal or written exchange, for arguing with someone whose goal is something other than fairness is nothing more than an exercise in futility. In this, or any election, to argue whether every vote should be counted and recounted until the outcome is known is one such futility.

Chris Matthews of MSNBC call the aftermath of this election the best of Machiavellian politics played out in the openness of American society. I, on the other hand, am confronted and moved by images of:

  • Jewish voters openly weeping upon learning that they had mistakenly voted for Pat Buchanan rather than Joe Lieberman.

  • A prominent Georgia congressman referring to Jewish and black voters of Palm Beach County, Florida, as stupid and ignorant and not worthy of having their votes counted.


     Get The Latest From InnerSelf


  • Protesting old ladies being pushed, bullied, and shouted down by angry "white males".

  • Angry "white males" storming and disrupting election offices in Miami-Dade County in Florida.

  • The lone female election official in Miami-Dade County looking more like a "battered wife" than a public servant.

  • The hypocrisy of campaign speeches and actions in the post election.

Just what would have been fair in the Florida election given the facts of third party candidates and known results after the fact? That's really easy. Simply hand count "all" the votes whether cast by machine, paper, or flawed absentee ballots with voter intent in mind as provided by Florida law. Why didn't it happen? Because Republican leaders did not want to count all the votes. A close study of the voting statistics county by county and precinct by precinct shows that Al Gore was the likely winner by 10's of thousands of votes. Should all votes have been counted? Of course -- it would have been fair.

In this election, fairness slipped from our grasp and in its place we were bombarded by partisan dribble served up to us predictably by politicians, but more disturbingly by newscasters, clearly cheering for one side or the other. Clearly, from the dust that settles, some changes need to be made before 2002 and 2004.

  1. Voters should pay attention to who they are electing as their local voting official. Often this race goes unnoticed and the incumbent is elected year after year regardless of age and competency. This may be the single most important vote a citizen casts.

  2. The current electoral college system is unfair but so is a direct vote unfair and impractical. A fair approach would be to revise the electoral college to elect 2 members for each state in a "winner take all" as we currently do, but then also elect one member for each congressional district based on the candidate preferred in that district so that electors are split in a state according to the vote.

  3. The Federal Election Commission should research and decide on a nationwide uniform voting system. Congress should then create a "no strings attached" grant to allow the states and counties to optionally purchase the uniform system. This would cost less than one B-1 bomber. Modern and efficient election equipment is a non-luxury we certainly deserve.

  4. Citizens should compel their states to write or rewrite their election laws so they are clear, concise, and not contradictory. The election statutes in Florida are not unusual, for most of the Florida statues and those of many other states are ambiguous, contradictory, and enforced on the whim of the executive branch of government.

  5. Violations of election laws and conflict of interests should be regularly investigated and punished with the severity they deserve, for these violations are truly "crimes against the people".

  6. National election day should be a national holiday with picnics, brass bands, and people proudly sporting "I voted" stickers. Surely this has more merit than the historically flawed "Columbus Day" and I'm sure the honorees of "Presidents Day" would approve.

Many would call the American democratic system the best in the world and perhaps that is so, but in the end it still remains flawed and unfair. We can do better. Maybe Robert Kennedy's moving statement best speaks to what our future must be.

"Some men see things as they are and say why?
I dream things that never were and say why not?"

About the Author

jenningsRobert Jennings is co-publisher of InnerSelf.com with his wife Marie T Russell. InnerSelf is dedicated to sharing information that allows people to make educated and insightful choices in their personal life, for the good of the commons, and for the well-being of the planet. InnerSelf Magazine is in its 30+year of publication in either print (1984-1995) or online as InnerSelf.com. Please support our work.

 Creative Commons 3.0

This article is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 License. Attribute the author Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com. Link back to the article This article originally appeared on InnerSelf.com

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}