حزن ما بعد الانتخابات حقيقي: إليك 5 استراتيجيات للتكيف

حزن ما بعد الانتخابات حقيقي: إليك 5 استراتيجيات للتكيف
الصورة عن طريق جون هاين 

بعد فترة وجيزة من انتخاب أبراهام لنكولن في 6 نوفمبر 1860 ، وثقت امرأة من ولاية ألاباما ، سارة إسبي ، مخاوفها في يومياتها. هي كتب أنها شعرت "بالحزن" وشرحت السبب. "لأنه يعتقد الآن أنه من المؤكد أن لينكولن ... وأن الولايات الجنوبية ستنسحب من الاتحاد. إذا كان الأمر كذلك ، فهذه بداية الويل ".

في حين أن المخاوف الخاصة تتغير ، فإن كل انتخابات تثير قلق بعض الناس. كان هذا صحيحًا بالتأكيد بالنسبة للانتخابات الرئاسية السابقة: العديد من الأمريكيين كانوا مستائين للغاية بعد انتصارات باراك أوباما في عام 2008 و دونالد ترامب في 2016.

أعراض الاكتئاب - الحزن والوحدة والتعب - تبدو لتكون ردود فعل مشتركة على الخسارة الانتخابية. قد تكون هذه ظاهرة منتشرة بشكل خاص في أعقاب انتخابات 2020 ، بالنظر إلى حالة الأمة الانقسام السياسي الخلافي.

لا يتحدث الناس عادة عن السياسة في نفس الجملة مثل الحزن والويل ، لكن الاثنين مرتبطان ارتباطًا وثيقًا أكثر مما قد ندرك. أنا عالم سياسي من يدرس كيف تشكل الصحة النفسية طريقة تفكير المواطنين والتعامل مع السياسة. في عملي كعالم سياسي ، وجدت أن المواطنين الذين يعانون من الاكتئاب هم أقل انخراطًا في السياسة. أقوم حاليًا باستكشاف كيفية تأثير السياسة على الصحة العقلية للمواطنين ، خاصة في أعقاب الانتخابات.

سياسة الاكتئاب

لطالما أدرك علماء النفس الاكتئاب باعتباره استجابة متكررة للخسارة. إليزابيث كوبلير روس اشتهرت بأنها إحدى مراحل الحزن الخمس ، إلى جانب الإنكار والغضب والمساومة والقبول في النهاية. منذ ذلك الحين بحث آخر شكك في مفهوم المراحل هذا، بدلا من إيجاد بعض الناس تجربة واحدة أو اثنتين فقط من هذه المشاعر.

بينما كتب العلماء عنه غضب و إنكار فيما يتعلق بالسياسة ، نحن نعرف القليل عن الاكتئاب. تشير الأدلة التي جمعتها إلى أنها شائعة نسبيًا.

على سبيل المثال ، 2004 مركز بيو للأبحاث مسح وجدت أن 29 ٪ من مؤيدي كيري شعروا بالاكتئاب في أعقاب إعادة انتخاب جورج بوش وعام 2008 أسوشيتد برس في. وجد 25 ٪ من الجمهوريين مستاءين بعد انتخاب باراك أوباما. تكشف بيانات استطلاعات الرأي من 2010 و 2012 و 2016 عن نتائج مماثلة.


 الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


تلتقط هذه البيانات حدة الانفعالات التي نشعر بها من خسارة الانتخابات. الموقع PsychCentral أشاروا إلى أن حركة المرور إلى صفحة "5 مراحل من الحزن والخسارة" ارتفعت بنسبة 210٪ في اليوم التالي لخسارة هيلاري كلينتون في الانتخابات في عام 2016 - وكان المقال الأكثر شهرة "الشفاء بعد الانتخابات. " وبالمثل ، اتجاهات جوجل ارتفعت البيانات المتعلقة بعمليات البحث المتعلقة بالحزن بعد انتخابات 2008 و 2016.

ارتفعت عمليات البحث المتعلقة بالحزن على Google بعد الانتخابات الرئاسية الأمريكية لعامي 2008 و 2016. (حزن ما بعد الانتخابات حقيقي وهنا 5 استراتيجيات للتكيف)
ارتفعت عمليات البحث المتعلقة بالحزن على Google بعد الانتخابات الرئاسية الأمريكية لعامي 2008 و 2016.
اتجاهات جوجل, مؤلف المنصوص

الدليل واضح: كثير من الأمريكيين يشعرون بالاكتئاب بعد الانتخابات.

التعامل مع كآبة ما بعد الانتخابات

لا توجد طريقة سهلة لإخفاء الاكتئاب ، ولكن هناك إجراءات يمكننا اتخاذها للتكيف.

  1. سيساعدك التركيز على الحياة الصحية على استعادة طاقتك. امنح نفسك فترات راحة من الأخبار - والسياسة. احصل على قسط كافٍ من النوم وتناول الطعام جيدًا ومارس بعض التمارين الرياضية.

  2. حد الوقت وسائل الاعلام الاجتماعية، أو الأفضل من ذلك ، قم بتسجيل الخروج تمامًا لبضعة أيام. في حين أنها وسيلة للتواصل مع أشخاص آخرين ومشاركة المعلومات ، فهي أيضًا مصدر رئيسي للمعلومات السياسية المضللة وترديد صدى محادثات الغرفة والتفكير المستقطب. بشكل عام ، الكثير من الوقت على Facebook أو Twitter يمكن أن يزيد من حدة القلق والاكتئاب.

  3. اطلب الدعم الاجتماعي. تحدث إلى أحد أفراد الأسرة الموثوق بهم ، أو الأصدقاء ، أو قائد المجتمع - أو ابحث عن مجموعة دعم اجتماعي في منطقتك. في حين أن هذا قد يكون أكثر تحديًا في حالة الوباء ، مع الحاجة إلى التباعد الاجتماعي ، لا يزال من الممكن التقاط الهاتف أو إجراء مكالمة عبر FaceTime أو تحديد موعد افتراضي مع أخصائي الصحة العقلية. لكن تذكر أيضًا حكم المعتدل: العزلة الاجتماعية تزيد من حدة المشاعر السلبية ، وكذلك قضاء الكثير من الوقت في الحديث عن المشاكل.

  4. التأكيد على قيمة الديمقراطية. الخسارة الانتخابية مخيفة لأنها تعني الاضطرار إلى التعامل مع سياسات غير مرغوب فيها أو غير مرغوب فيها - ويمكن أن تخلق استقطابًا شديدًا. لكن قبول الخسارة جزء لا يتجزأ من الديمقراطية. طريق واحد الى جسر الخلافات السياسية هو الانضمام إلى مجموعة ، مثل بناء الجسور، والتي تجمع بين المواطنين ذوي الآراء السياسية المتنوعة للمشاركة في محادثات منظمة.

  5. بمجرد قبول النتيجة ، انخرط في السياسة. الانتخابات هي مجرد بداية لما هو عملية معقدة لصنع السياسات. مشاركة هو التمكين ويمكن أن يساعد في تخفيف الضغط النفسي. هناك العديد من الطرق للمساهمة ، من الاتصال بالمسؤولين المنتخبين أو الاحتجاج أو الترشح لمنصب محلي أو التبرع بالمال للانضمام إلى منظمات المناصرة أو بدء مجموعة مناقشة سياسية.

في نهاية المطاف ، تختار المجتمعات الديمقراطية القادة من خلال التصويت ، ولكن أحد الأجزاء البغيضة من العملية هو أن العديد من المواطنين لا يحصلون على خيارهم المفضل.

قد يؤدي التواجد في الجانب الخاسر من الانتخابات إلى عدم الثقة في النظام وعدم الرضا عن الديمقراطية. يظهر بحثي أنه يضربنا عاطفياً أيضًا. لكن بدلًا من السماح للأذى بإبعادك عن السياسة ، استخدمها لتغذية العاطفة التي شعرت بها قبل الانتخابات.

عن المؤلف

كريستوفر أوجيدا، أستاذ مساعد للعلوم السياسية ، جامعة تينيسي

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

دعم وظيفة جيدة!

الأكثر قراءة

hnob2t7o
لماذا يجب أن أتجاهل COVID-19 ولماذا لا أفعل
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com

من المحررين

لماذا يجب أن أتجاهل COVID-19 ولماذا لا أفعل
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
أنا وزوجتي ماري زوجان مختلطان. هي كندية وأنا أميركية. على مدار الخمسة عشر عامًا الماضية ، أمضينا فصول الشتاء في فلوريدا وصيفنا في نوفا سكوشا.
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: نوفمبر 15 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
هذا الأسبوع ، نفكر في السؤال: "إلى أين نتجه من هنا؟" تمامًا كما هو الحال مع أي طقوس مرور ، سواء كان التخرج ، أو الزواج ، أو ولادة طفل ، أو انتخابات محورية ، أو فقدان (أو اكتشاف) ...
أمريكا: توصيل عربتنا بالعالم والنجوم
by ماري تي راسل وروبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
حسنًا ، أصبحت الانتخابات الرئاسية الأمريكية وراءنا الآن وحان وقت التقييم. يجب أن نجد أرضية مشتركة بين الشباب والكبار ، الديموقراطيين والجمهوريين ، الليبراليين والمحافظين لنجعل ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 25 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
إن "الشعار" أو العنوان الفرعي لموقع InnerSelf على الويب هو "اتجاهات جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة" ، وهذا هو بالضبط موضوع النشرة الإخبارية لهذا الأسبوع. الغرض من مقالاتنا ومؤلفينا هو ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 18 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نحن نعيش هذه الأيام في فقاعات صغيرة ... في منازلنا وفي العمل وفي الأماكن العامة ، وربما في أذهاننا ومع مشاعرنا. ومع ذلك ، نعيش في فقاعة ، أو نشعر وكأننا ...

Post-Election Grief Is Real: Here Are 5 Coping Strategies

Post-Election Grief Is Real: Here Are 5 Coping Strategies
Image by John Hain 

Shortly after Abraham Lincoln was elected on Nov. 6, 1860, a woman from Alabama, Sarah Espy, documented her concerns in her diary. She wrote that she felt “grieved,” and explained why. “For it is thought now to be certainty that Lincoln…and that the Southern States are going to withdraw from the Union. If so, it is the beginning of woe.”

While the particular concerns change, every election triggers distress for some people. That certainly held true for the previous two presidential elections: Many Americans were deeply upset following the victories of Barack Obama in 2008 and of Donald Trump in 2016.

Symptoms of depression – sadness, loneliness and fatigue – seem to be common responses to electoral loss. This may prove to be a particularly widespread phenomenon in the aftermath of the 2020 election, given the nation’s contentious political divide.

People don’t typically talk about politics in the same sentence as grief and woe, but the two are more closely connected than we might realize. I am a political scientist who studies how mental health shape the way citizens think and engage with politics. In my work as a political scientist, I’ve found that citizens who suffer from depression are less politically engaged. I’m currently exploring how politics impact citizens’ mental health, especially in the wake of an election.

The politics of depression

Psychologists have long recognized depression as a frequent response to loss. Elisabeth Kübler-Ross famously named it as one of the five stages of grief, along with denial, anger, bargaining and ultimately, acceptance. Other research has since questioned this concept of stages, finding instead that some people experience just one or two of these emotions.

While scholars have written about anger and denial in relation to politics, we know far less about depression. Evidence I’ve compiled suggests it’s relatively common.

For example, a 2004 Pew Research Center survey found that 29% of Kerry supporters felt depressed in the wake of George Bush’s reelection and a 2008 Associated Press poll found 25% of Republicans were upset following the election of Barack Obama. Polling data from 2010, 2012 and 2016 reveal similar results.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


This data captures the intensity of emotions we feel from electoral loss. The website PsychCentral noted that traffic to their “5 Stages of Grief & Loss” page was up by 210% the day after Hillary Clinton lost the election in 2016 – and their most popular article was “Healing after the Election.” Similarly, Google Trends data on grief-related searches spiked following the 2008 and 2016 elections.

Grief-related searches on Google spiked after the 2008 and 2016 U.S. presidential elections. (post election grief is real and here are 5 coping strategies)
Grief-related searches on Google spiked after the 2008 and 2016 U.S. presidential elections.
Google Trends, Author provided

The evidence is clear: Many Americans feel depressed after elections.

Coping with post-election blues

There is no easy way to make depression disappear, but there are actions we can take to cope.

  1. Focusing on healthy living will help restore your energy. Give yourself breaks from the news – and politics. Get enough sleep, eat well and get some exercise.

  2. Limit time on social media, or better yet, log off altogether for a few days. While it’s a way to connect with other people and share information, it’s also a key source of political misinformation, echo chamber conversations and polarized thinking. Overall, too much time on Facebook or Twitter can intensify anxiety and depression.

  3. Seek out social support. Talk to a trusted family member, friend, community leader – or find a social support group in your area. While that may be a bit more challenging in a pandemic, with the need for social distancing, it’s still possible to pick up the phone, get on a FaceTime call or set up a virtual appointment with a mental health professional. But also remember Goldilocks’ rule: Social isolation intensifies negative feelings, but so does spending too much time talking about problems.

  4. Affirm the value of democracy. Electoral loss is scary because it means having to contend with unwanted or disliked policies – and can create extreme polarization. But accepting loss is part and parcel of democracy. One way to bridge political differences is to join a group, such as Building Bridgers, which brings together citizens with diverse political views to engage in structured conversations.

  5. Once you’ve accepted the outcome, get involved with politics. Elections are just the start of what is a complex policymaking process. Participating is empowering and can help alleviate psychological distress. There are many ways to contribute, from contacting elected officials, protesting, running for local office or donating money to joining advocacy organizations or starting a political discussion group.

Ultimately, democratic societies select leaders through voting, but one unsavory part of the process is that many citizens don’t get their preferred choice.

Being on the losing side of an election may create distrust in the system and dissatisfaction with democracy. My research shows that it hits us emotionally, too. But instead of letting hurt sideline you from politics, use it to fuel the passion you felt before the election.

About the Author

Christopher Ojeda, Assistant Professor of Political Science, University of Tennessee

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: November 29, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
This week, we focus on seeing things differently... of looking from a different perspective, with an open mind and an open heart.
Why I Should Ignore COVID-19 and Why I Won't
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
My wife Marie and I are a mixed couple. She's Canadian and I am an American. For the past 15 years we have spent our winters in Florida and our summers in Nova Scotia.
InnerSelf Newsletter: November 15, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
This week, we reflect on the question: "where do we go from here?" Just as with any rite of passage, whether graduation, marriage, birth of a child, a pivotal election, or the loss (or finding) of a…
America: Hitching Our Wagon to the World and to the Stars
by Marie T Russell and Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Well, the US presidential election is now behind us and it's time to take stock. We must find common ground between young and old, Democrat and Republican, Liberal and Conservative to truly make…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 25, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The "slogan" or sub-title for the InnerSelf website is "New Attitudes---New Possibilities", and that is exactly the theme of this week's newsletter. The purpose of our articles and authors is to…