لماذا لا يوجد سبب أخلاقي لعدم التصويت ما لم تنزل مع Covid-19 يوم الانتخابات

لماذا لا يوجد سبب أخلاقي لعدم التصويت ما لم تنزل مع Covid-19 يوم الانتخابات
التصويت ، الشيء الصحيح الذي ينبغي عمله؟
Andrew Caballero-Reynolds / AFP عبر Getty Images

يتم مناشدة الأمريكيين من قبل السياسيين من جميع المشارب أن يفعلوا ما يريدون واجب ديمقراطي في نوفمبر (3 نوفمبر 2020) والتصويت.

الاقتراع الحالي يشير إلى أن غالبية الذين يحق لهم الإدلاء بأصواتهم يعتزمون التصويت. لكن شريحة كبيرة من الناخبين لن تفعل ذلك في عام 2016 100 مليون ناخب محتمل قرروا ضد تسجيل تصويتهم.

تمنع العديد من العقبات المواطنين من التصويت ، مثل عدم اليقين بشأن كيفية التسجيل أو عدم القدرة على الوصول إلى صناديق الاقتراع. لكن هناك مجموعة فرعية من غير الناخبين يتخذون قرارًا واعيًا بعدم التصويت لأسباب أخلاقية.

ك فيلسوف يدرّس مساقات في الأخلاق والفلسفة السياسية، لقد قمت بالتحقيق في أخلاقيات عدم التصويت.

الأسباب الثلاثة الأكثر شيوعًا التي أسمعها هي: "ليس لدي معلومات كافية" ، "لا أحب أيًا من المرشحين" ، و "لا أريد إعطاء هذه الشرعية الانتخابية". يجدر بنا أن ندرس لماذا ، من وجهة نظري ، كل حجة معيبة ، وإذا كان هناك ، في ظل الظروف الفريدة لانتخابات هذا العام ، سبب أخلاقي واحد على الأقل لعدم التصويت.

1. نقص المعلومات

وفقا لأحدث دراسة من خلال مشروع 100 مليون، يزيد احتمال أن يقول غير الناخبين عن الناخبين النشطين إنهم لا يشعرون أن لديهم معلومات كافية عن المرشحين والقضايا لتحديد كيفية التصويت. قد تعتقد هذه المجموعة من غير الناخبين أنه من غير الأخلاقي التصويت لأنهم غير مطلعين. في "أخلاقيات التصويت، الفيلسوف السياسي جيسون برينان يجادل بأن المواطنين غير المطلعين عليهم التزام أخلاقي بعدم الإدلاء بأصواتهم ، لأن أصواتهم غير المطلعة يمكن أن تؤدي إلى نتائج تضر بنظامنا السياسي.

إن نزاهة هذه المجموعة من غير الناخبين جديرة بالثناء ، لا سيما بالمقارنة مع الناخبين الذين لديهم ثقة مفرطة والذين يعانون مما يسميه علماء النفس "تأثير دانينغ-كروجر"ويعتقدون خطأ أنهم على دراية أفضل منهم.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


لكن يمكن للناخب غير المطلع أن يصلح هذه المشكلة ، ويزيل المعضلة الأخلاقية - وبأقل وقت وجهد. أصبح الوصول إلى المعلومات حول النظام الأساسي لكل مرشح أكثر سهولة من أي وقت مضى. يمكن العثور عليها عبر الإنترنت ، مطبوعة ومن خلال المحادثة. المشكلة اليوم هي بدلاً من ذلك كيفية العثور على معلومات موثوقة وغير حزبية. واحدة من الفوائد الواضحة لـ التصويت عبر البريد هو أنه يمنح الناخبين مزيدًا من الوقت لملء بطاقة الاقتراع بعناية دون الشعور بالاندفاع. أثناء الانتهاء من الاقتراع في المنزل ، يمكنهم تثقيف أنفسهم حول كل من المرشحين والقضايا.

2. كراهية المرشحين

سبب شائع آخر لعدم التصويت هو كراهية المرشحين. في الواقع ، وجدت دراسة بيو للأبحاث أن 25٪ من غير الناخبين المسجلين لم يصوت في انتخابات 2016 بسبب "كراهية المرشحين أو قضايا الحملة". واستنادًا إلى كرههم لكلا المرشحين ، وجدوا أنفسهم غير قادرين على التصويت لأي منهما بضمير حي.

لكن ما يتركه هذا مفتوحًا هو السؤال عن مصدر "الكراهية" هذه. من المحتمل جدًا أن يكون نتاج الحملات الانتخابية السلبية ، التي تعزز المواقف السلبية تجاه المرشح المعارض. إذا كنت بالفعل لا تحب مرشح حزب واحد ، تشجع الإعلانات السلبية شعورًا سلبيًا مماثلًا تجاه مرشح الطرف الآخر. يشير هذا إلى أن الإعلان السلبي للحملة ينفذ استراتيجية لـ خفض نسبة المشاركة الإجمالية للناخبين بجعل الناخبين يكرهون كلا المرشحين.

لكن الكراهية ليست سببًا كافيًا للامتناع عن التصويت. الخطأ هنا ، في اعتقادي ، هو أن الاختيارات لا تكون دائمًا بين الإيجابي والسلبي ، الجيد والسيئ. غالبًا ما يتعين على الناخبين الاختيار بين خيارين جيدين أو خيارين سيئين. تجدر الإشارة أيضًا إلى أنه بالإضافة إلى الجزء العلوي من التذكرة ، هناك غالبًا منافسات الدولة والمحلية الهامة على ورقة الاقتراع. إن العثور على مرشح واحد فقط أو اقتراح سياسة تدعمه حقًا يمكن أن يجعل الجهد المبذول للتصويت مفيدًا. أحيانًا تكون الأجناس المحلية والمحلية متقاربة جدًا ، لذا يمكن أن يكون لكل صوت معنى حقًا.

3. المساهمة في الفساد

هناك سببان شائعان لعدم التصويت هما المواقف القائلة بأن "أصواتهم لا تهم" وأن "النظام السياسي فاسد" ، ويشكلان معًا حوالي 20٪ من السكان غير المصوتين ، وفقًا لـ مسح مشروع 100 مليون لغير الناخبين. غالبًا ما يكون إقبال الناخبين يُفسر على أنه علامة على الدعم الشعبي الذي يؤسس للشرعية السياسية. من خلال الامتناع عن التصويت ، قد يرى بعض غير الناخبين أنفسهم على أنهم انسحبوا من نظام فاسد ينتج عنه نتائج غير مشروعة.

قد تكون طريقة التفكير هذه مبررة في نظام استبدادي ، على سبيل المثال ، يجري أحيانًا انتخابات مزيفة لإظهار الدعم الشعبي. في مثل هذا المجتمع ، قد يؤدي الامتناع عن التصويت إلى نقطة مشروعة حول عدم وجود انتخابات مفتوحة ونزيهة. لكن تقرير 2019 تصنف الولايات المتحدة على أنها الدولة الخامسة والعشرون الأكثر ديمقراطية، ويصنفها على أنها "ديمقراطية معيبة" لكنها ديمقراطية مع ذلك. إذا كانت الانتخابات الديمقراطية مشروعة وتم احترام نتائجها ، فإن امتناع الناخبين في الولايات المتحدة عن التصويت ليس له أي تأثير عملي يميزها عن اللامبالاة مع الناخبين.

جميع الحجج الثلاثة المذكورة أعلاه تفشل ، في رأيي ، لأنها تقيس قيمة التصويت في المقام الأول من حيث نتائجه. قد يؤدي التصويت أو لا يؤدي إلى النتيجة التي يريدها الأفراد ، ولكن بدونها ، لا يوجد مجتمع ديمقراطي.

4. ومع ذلك ...

في السياق الحالي للوباء ، هناك سبب أخلاقي صحيح لعدم التصويت ، على الأقل ليس شخصيًا. في يوم الانتخابات ، إذا تم تشخيص إصابتك بـ COVID-19 أو لديك أعراض مشابهة أو تم عزلك ، فعليك بالتأكيد عدم الحضور إلى صناديق الاقتراع. ستفوق مصلحة تصويتك الضرر المحتمل لتعريض الناخبين الآخرين للفيروس. بالطبع ، كأفراد لا يمكننا أن نعرف الآن ما إذا كنا سنجد أنفسنا في هذا الموقف يوم الانتخابات. ولكن كمجتمع يمكننا أن نتوقع أن نسبة كبيرة من السكان سيجدون أنفسهم بالضبط في هذا الموقف في ذلك الوقت.

مع العلم أن هذا سيحدث ، يحتاج الناخبون إلى تبني ما يسميه علماء الأخلاقمبدأ الاحتراز. " ينص هذا المبدأ على أنه يجب على الأشخاص اتخاذ خطوات لتجنب أو تقليل الأضرار التي تلحق بالآخرين ، مثل المخاطرة بحياتهم أو صحتهم.

استنادًا إلى المبدأ الوقائي ، يمكن أن يجادل أحد علماء الأخلاق بأنه يجب على الأفراد طلب الاقتراع الغيابي ، إذا توفر الدولة هذا الخيار. وفي المقابل ، يتطلب المبدأ الاحترازي أن تتيح كل ولاية بطاقات الاقتراع الغيابي أو بالبريد لجميع الناخبين المسجلين. يجب علينا حماية أنفسنا وجميع المواطنين الآخرين من الاضطرار إلى الاختيار بين صحتهم وحقوقهم في التصويت.المحادثة

عن المؤلف

سكوت ديفيدسون ، أستاذ الفلسفة ، جامعة وست فرجينيا

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

دعم وظيفة جيدة!

الأكثر قراءة

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 18 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نحن نعيش هذه الأيام في فقاعات صغيرة ... في منازلنا وفي العمل وفي الأماكن العامة ، وربما في أذهاننا ومع مشاعرنا. ومع ذلك ، نعيش في فقاعة ، أو نشعر وكأننا ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 11 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الحياة رحلة ، وكما هو الحال في معظم الرحلات ، تأتي مع تقلباتها. ومثلما يتبع النهار دائمًا الليل ، تنتقل تجاربنا الشخصية اليومية من الظلام إلى النور ، ذهابًا وإيابًا. ومع ذلك،…
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 4 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
مهما كان ما نمر به ، فرديًا وجماعيًا ، يجب أن نتذكر أننا لسنا ضحايا لا حول لهم ولا قوة. يمكننا استعادة قوتنا لنحت طريقنا وشفاء حياتنا روحياً ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 27 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
إحدى أعظم قوة الجنس البشري هي قدرتنا على أن نكون مرنين ، وأن نكون مبدعين ، وأن نفكر خارج الصندوق. أن نكون شخصًا آخر غير ما كنا عليه بالأمس أو في اليوم السابق. يمكننا ان نغير...…
ما يصلح لي: "لأعلى خير"
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
السبب في أنني أشارك "ما يناسبني" هو أنه قد يعمل معك أيضًا. إذا لم تكن الطريقة التي أفعل بها ذلك بالضبط ، نظرًا لأننا جميعًا فريدون ، فقد يكون بعض التباين في الموقف أو الطريقة أمرًا جيدًا ...

Why There Is No Ethical Reason Not To Vote Unless You Come Down With Covid-19 On Election Day

Why There Is No Ethical Reason Not To Vote Unless You Come Down With Covid-19 On Election Day
Voting, the right thing to do?
Andrew Caballero-Reynolds/AFP via Getty Images

Americans are being implored by politicians of all stripes to do their democratic duty in November (November 3, 2020) and vote.

Current polling suggests that the majority of those eligible to cast a ballot intend to vote. But a chunk of the electorate won’t – in 2016, around 100 million potential voters decided against registering their vote.

Many obstacles prevent citizens from voting, such as uncertainty about how to register or inability to get to the polls. But there is a subset of nonvoters who make a conscious choice not to vote for ethical reasons.

As a philosopher who teaches courses in ethics and political philosophy, I have investigated the ethics of not voting.

The three most common reasons I hear are: “I don’t have enough information,” “I don’t like any of the candidates,” and “I don’t want to give this election legitimacy.” It is worth examining why, in my view, each argument is flawed, and if, given the unique circumstances of this year’s election, there is at least one ethical reason not to vote.

1. Lack of information

According to a recent study by the 100 Million Project, nonvoters are twice as likely as active voters to say they do not feel they have enough information about candidates and issues to decide how to vote. This group of nonvoters might believe that it is unethical to vote because they are uninformed. In “The Ethics of Voting,” political philosopher Jason Brennan argues that uninformed citizens have an ethical obligation not to cast votes, because their uninformed votes can produce results that damage our political system.

The honesty of this group of nonvoters is praiseworthy, especially in comparison with overconfident voters who suffer from what psychologists call the “Dunning-Kruger effect” and wrongly believe that they are better informed than they are.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

But an uninformed voter can fix that problem, and remove the ethical dilemma – and with minimal time and effort. Information about each candidate’s platform is more accessible than ever. It can be found online, in print and through conversation. The problem today is instead how to find reliable, nonpartisan information. One of the clear benefits of mail-in voting is that it gives voters more time to fill out their ballot carefully without feeling rushed. While completing the ballot at home, they can educate themselves about each of the candidates and issues.

2. Dislike of the candidates

Another common reason for not voting is dislike of the candidates. In fact, a Pew Research study found that 25% of registered nonvoters did not vote in the 2016 election because of a “dislike of the candidates or campaign issues.” Based on their dislike of both candidates, they found themselves unable to vote for either one in good conscience.

What this leaves open, however, is the question of where this “dislike” comes from. It is quite possibly the product of negative campaigning, which promotes negative attitudes toward the opposing candidate. If you already dislike one party’s candidate, negative ads encourage an equally negative feeling toward the other party’s candidate. This suggests that negative campaign advertising carries out a strategy to depress overall voter turnout by making voters dislike both candidates.

But dislike is not a sufficient reason for abstaining. The mistake here, I believe, is that choices are not always between a positive and negative, a good and a bad. Voters often have to choose between two good or two bad options. It’s also worth noting that, in addition to the top of the ticket, there are often important state and local contests on the ballot. Finding just one candidate or policy proposal that you truly support can make the effort to vote worthwhile. State and local races are sometimes very close, so each vote really can be meaningful.

3. Contributing to a corrupt system

Two common reasons given for not voting are the attitudes that “their vote does not matter” and that “the political system is corrupt,” which together account for about 20% of the nonvoting population, according to the 100 Million Project’s survey of nonvoters. Voter turnout is often interpreted as a sign of public support that establishes political legitimacy. By abstaining, some nonvoters might see themselves as opting out from a corrupt system that produces illegitimate results.

This way of thinking might be justified in an authoritarian regime, for example, which occasionally holds fake elections to demonstrate popular support. In such a society, abstaining from voting might make a legitimate point about the absence of open and fair elections. But a 2019 report ranks the U.S. as the 25th most democratic country, classifying it as a “flawed democracy” but a democracy nonetheless. If democratic elections are legitimate and their results are respected, voter abstention in the U.S. has no practical impact that would distinguish it from voter apathy.

All three of the above arguments fail, in my opinion, because they measure the worth of voting primarily in terms of its results. Voting may or may not yield the outcome individuals want, but without it, there is no democratic society.

4. However …

In the current context of the pandemic, there is one valid ethical reason for not voting, at least not in person. On Election Day, if you are diagnosed with COVID-19 or have similar symptoms or are quarantined, then you should certainly not show up to the polls. The good of your vote will be outweighed by the potential harm of exposing other voters to the virus. Of course, as individuals we cannot know now whether we will find ourselves in that position on Election Day. But as a society we can predict that a significant percentage of the population will find themselves precisely in that situation at that time.

Knowing this will happen, voters need to adopt what ethicists call “the precautionary principle.” This principle says people should take steps to avoid or reduce harms to others, such as risking their life or health.

Based on the precautionary principle, an ethicist could argue that individuals ought to request absentee ballots, if their state provides this option. And in turn, the precautionary principle requires that each state should make absentee or mail-in ballots available to all registered voters. We should protect ourselves and all other citizens from having to choose between their health and their voting rights.The Conversation

About the Author

Scott Davidson, Professor of Philosophy, West Virginia University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Marie T. Russell's Daily Inspiration

INNERSELF VOICES

Becoming Parents: A Path to Transformation
Becoming Parents: A Path to Transformation
by Barry and Joyce Vissell
For almost every couple, the thought of bringing a child into this world triggers a whole range of…
I Was Born during the late Eastern Han Dynasty...
I Was Born during the late Eastern Han Dynasty...
by Dena Merriam
I was born during the late Eastern Han Dynasty (25 CE-220 CE) into a family of ardent Daoists who…
Healing Otherness: Your Changes, Reflected in Community
Healing Otherness: Your Changes, Reflected in Community
by Stacee L. Reicherzer PhD
Seeking out a community of healing, being exploited in it, perhaps assuming the shame and…
Horoscope Week: June 14 - 20, 2021
Horoscope Current Week: June 14 - 20, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…
Being A Better Person
Being A Better Person
by Marie T. Russell
"He makes me want to be a better person." As I reflected on this statement later, I realized that…
Modeling Behavior is the Best Teacher: Respect Must Be Mutual
Modeling Behavior is the Best Teacher: Respect Must Be Mutual
by Carmen Viktoria Gamper
Socially respected behavior is learned behavior and some of it (for instance, table manners) varies…
Separation and Isolation vs. Community and Compassion
Separation and Isolation vs. Community and Compassion
by Lawrence Doochin
When we are in community, we automatically fall into service to those in need because we know them…
The Only Easy Day Was Yesterday
The Only Easy Day Was Yesterday
by Jason Redman
Ambushes don’t just happen in combat. In business and life, an ambush is a catastrophic event that…

MOST READ

Becoming Parents: A Path to Transformation
Becoming Parents: A Path to Transformation
by Barry and Joyce Vissell
For almost every couple, the thought of bringing a child into this world triggers a whole range of…
How to Build New Bone... Naturally
How to Build New Bone... Naturally
by Maryon Stewart
Many women assume that when their menopause symptoms stop, they are on safe ground. Sadly, we face…
image
IRS hitting you with a fine or late fee? Don't fret – a consumer tax advocate says you still have options
by Rita W. Green, Instructor of Accountancy, University of Memphis
Tax Day has come and gone, and you think you filed your return in the nick of time. But several…
How Well Your Immune System Works Can Depend On The Time Of Day
How Well Your Immune System Works Can Depend On The Time Of Day
by Annie Curtis, RCSI University of Medicine and Health Sciences
When microorganisms – such as bacteria or viruses – infect us, our immune system jumps into action.…
A teen reads her phone with a confused look on her face
Why teens have a hard time finding truth online
by Stanford
A new national study shows a woeful inability by high schoolers to detect fake news on the internet.
From deadly enemy to covidiots: Words matter when talking about COVID-19
Words matter when talking about COVID-19
by Ruth Derksen, PhD, Philosophy of Language, Faculty of Applied Science, Emeritus, University of British Columbia
So much has been said and written about the COVID-19 pandemic. We’ve been flooded with metaphors,…
Planning the Burial: Anticipating Possible Problems and Blessings
Planning the Burial: Anticipating Possible Problems and Blessings
by Elizabeth Fournier
In addition to the emotional and spiritual aspects of funerals, there are always logistical and…
image
The mystery of long COVID: up to 1 in 3 people who catch the virus suffer for months. Here's what we know so far
by Vanessa Bryant, Laboratory Head, Immunology Division, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute
Most people who get COVID suffer the common symptoms of fever, cough and breathing problems, and…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.