الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية المتحدة الجزء 3: يوم الحساب هو الآن

الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية المتحدة الجزء 3: يوم الحساب هو الآن

الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية المتحدة الجزء 1: الطريق إلى الأمام

الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية المتحدة الجزء 2: العاصفة قبل العاصفة

يبدو أن كل انتخابات هي الأكثر أهمية. لماذا ا؟ لأن كل انتخابات كانت. لماذا ا؟ الديمقراطية هي شكل شاب من الحكم. يسعى أولئك الذين يسعون إلى السلطة إلى تفكيكها.

بمجرد أن تكون الولايات المتحدة مثالاً للتشريعات الجيدة المشتركة بالنسبة لبقية العالم لتتبعها ، إلا أنها كانت على خطوة 1 إلى الأسفل وخطوة 2 إلى الخلف منذ 1968.

كانت إدارة جونسون هي الإدارة الأخيرة التي نجحت بالفعل تمرير تشريعات كبيرة التي روجت لرفاهية جميع الأمريكيين. بعض التشريعات الهامة التي تم تمريرها كانت قانون الحقوق المدنية ل 1964، ال قانون حقوق التصويت ل 1965، و ال تعديلات الضمان الاجتماعي من 1965 التي أنشأت Medicare و Medicaid.

بينما كان هناك بعض التقدم في عهد الرئيسين نيكسون وفورد وكارتر ، إلا أن كل ذلك قد تحطم مع رونالد ريغان.

قد لا نعرف أبداً ماذا كان نية ريغان لأنه كان أكثر تعويذة جمهورياً من كونها سياسة رابحة. لكننا نعرف نتيجة سنوات 40 تقريبا التي بشر بها في الحكم المحافظ والجمهوري. تركت الهجمات الجمهورية على العمالة الأجور مسطحة بينما ارتفعت الإنتاجية.

الأجور مقابل الإنتاجية 10 4


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


مرة واحدة في المجتمع حيث يمكن لأحد أفراد الأسرة كسب لقمة العيش بما فيه الكفاية لتربية عائلة ويعيش "الحلم الأمريكي" ، في سنوات 40 قصيرة فقط يمكن أن يستغرق الآن 2 وأحيانا 3 أو 4 وظائف لتدوس الماء فقط.

مرة واحدة كانت أمريكا مدينة مشرقة على التل لكنها الآن يتحدى الطبقة 2nd من البلدان في عدم وجود الحركة الصعودية.

ذات مرة كانت أمريكا منارة الديمقراطية. ولكن الآن هو مجرد قشرة من الذات السابقة. محفورة في السجل التاريخي من قبل باول ميمو في 1971 والكلمة التي ألقاها Paul Weyrich في 1980 هي أن زواله المقصود كان مقصودًا.

الآن مجرد ظل لنفوذها الديمقراطي ، رجل واحد صوت واحد لم يعد القاعدة. إن أحد المجالات التي نجح الجمهوريون في تحقيقها بحزم هو تثبيت قضاة يمينين متشددين من الجناح اليميني إلى حد كبير في جميع أنحاء النظام القانوني.

أحد هذه الأحكام ، المواطنون المتحدة انتهت حقبة لا يمكن فيها للشركات والكيانات الأجنبية المساهمة في الحملات السياسية الأمريكية. لقد أدى ذلك ببساطة إلى حدوث انفجار في حملات الحركة الدائمة والإنفاق. في حكم الزلزال ، المحكمة العليا في الولايات المتحدة حكمت ضد جزء من قانون حقوق التصويت الأسطوري لـ 1965.

قبل أن يجف الحبر ، كانت الدول التي يسيطر عليها الجمهوريون والتي منعها القانون من أكثر أساليب قمع الناخبين الخسيسة هي التي أطلقت العنان للتشريعات والبرامج التي تقيد مناصري الحزب الديمقراطي العاديين من التصويت. ما تبقى من حق التصويت في بعض الجمهوريات الآن هو مجرد مزحة.

أولئك الذين يقولون إن تصويتكم لا يهم يجب أن يتذكروا أن الانتخابات في 1968 و 1980 كانت قريبة بما فيه الكفاية نيكسون . ريغان كانت الحملة قد ارتكبت خيانة للفوز. كانت قريبة بما فيه الكفاية أن الجمهوريين كان لسرقة 2000 انتخابات من خلال إلقاء الأمريكيين السود بطريقة غير قانونية على قوائم الناخبين في فلوريدا. ومرة أخرى في انتخابات 2004 يزعمون اختطفت التصويت في ولاية أوهايو وربما حولت جدولة التصويت من خلال خادم كمبيوتر جمهوري في ولاية تينيسي. تم تنصيب ترامب في الرئاسة من قبل الجمهوريين الذين منعوا إعادة فرز الأصوات في الولايات الثلاث (ويسكونسن ، ميشيغان وبنسلفانيا) التي حددت النتيجة بأقل من أصوات 2 في كل دائرة. كان هناك ما يكفي من المخالفات التي لن نعرف أبدا من الذي فاز بها.

ما هو صحيح أننا قد لا نعرف أبدا. لكن ما نعرفه هو أن المخالفات هي أنهم يخرجون من الاستطلاعات أو أن الانتخابات التي لم يتم التحقق منها تكون دائما في صالح الجمهوريين. والحقيقة هي أن الجمهوريين كانوا فعالين للغاية في قمع تصويت الديمقراطيين. يقدر البعض أن الديمقراطيين يجب أن يتحولوا إلى نسبة 10٪ أكثر مما يكون ضروريًا عادةً للفوز. لذا ، قد يكون كل تصويت مهمًا للغاية ويحتاج إلى ذلك.

يقول البعض أنه لا يوجد شيء مختلف بين الديموقراطيين والجمهوريين. لا شيء يمكن أن يكون أبعد من الحقيقة. يحتاج الحزب الديمقراطي إلى إصلاح ، صحيح ، لكن الحزب الجمهوري يحتاج إلى طرد الأرواح الشريرة. التصويت لأول مرة للديمقراطيين الآن ومن ثم التصويت للإصلاح في المرة القادمة. أما أولئك الذين لا يصوتون عادة فيجب أن يصوتوا بدلاً من الأصوات التي تصوت عادة ولكن تم حظرها.

من هذا ، أنا متأكد من التصويت الآن أو قد لا تحصل على فرصة أخرى ذات مغزى.

الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية المتحدة الجزء 3: يوم الحساب هو الآن

عن المؤلف

جينينغزروبرت جننغز ناشر مشارك في InnerSelf.com مع زوجته ماري تي راسل. يكرس InnerSelf لتبادل المعلومات التي تسمح للناس بإجراء اختيارات متعمقة وثاقبة في حياتهم الشخصية ، من أجل خير المشاعات ، ورفاهية الكوكب. مجلة InnerSelf في عام 30 + من النشر في أي من المطبوعات (1984-1995) أو عبر الإنترنت باسم InnerSelf.com. يرجى دعم عملنا.

المشاع الإبداعي 3.0

تم ترخيص هذا المقال بموجب ترخيص Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0. صف المؤلف روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com. رابط العودة إلى المادة ظهر هذا المقال أصلا على InnerSelf.com

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = 1101980974. maxresults = 1}

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = 0307947904. maxresults = 1}

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = 0451493249. maxresults = 1}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

The Un-united States Of America Part 3: The Day Of Reckoning Is Now

democracy

The Un-united States Of America Part 3: The Day Of Reckoning Is Now

The Un-united States Of America Part 1: A Way Forward

The Un-united States Of America Part 2: The Storm Before The Storm

It seems every election is the most important. Why? Because every election has been. Why? Democracy is a very young form of governance.  Those that seek power also seek to dismantle it.

Once the United States was the common-good legislation example for the rest of the world to follow but it has been on a downward 1 step forward and 2 steps back trajectory since 1968.

The Johnson Administration was the last administration that was truly successful in passing substantial legislation that promoted the welfare of all Americans. Some important legislation passed was the Civil Rights Act Of 1964, the Voting Rights Act of 1965, and The Social Security Amendments of 1965 that created Medicare and Medicaid.

While there was some progress under Presidents Nixon, Ford, and Carter, it all came crashing down with Ronald Reagan.

We may never know what was Reagan's intent as he was more a Republican mascot than a policy wonk. But we do know the result of the nearly 40 years he ushered in of conservative and Republican rule. Republican attacks on labor has left wages flat while productivity has soared.

wages vs productivity 10 4

Once a society where one member of the family could earn a living substantial enough to raise a family and live the "American Dream", in just 40 short years it now can take 2 and sometimes 3 or 4 jobs to just tread water.

Once America was a shining city on the hill but it now challenges the 2nd tier of countries in lack of upward mobility.

Once America was the beacon of democracy. But now it is only a shell of its former self.  Engraved in the historical record by the Powell Memo in 1971 and the speech in 1980 by Paul Weyrich is that its intended demise was intentional.

Now just a shadow of its democratic self, one man one vote is no longer the rule. One area in which Republicans have firmly succeeded is by installing radical corporatist right-wing judges substantially throughout the legal system.

One such ruling, Citizens United ended the era where corporations and foreign entities could not contribute to American political campaigns. It simply ushered in an explosion in perpetual motion campaigns and spending. In an earthquake ruling, the US Supreme Court ruled against a portion of the legendary Voting Rights Act of 1965.

Before the ink was even dry Republican controlled states that had been prevented by law from the most dastardly of voter suppression techniques unleashed legislation and programs to restrict normal Democratic party supporters from voting. What remains of the right to vote in some Republican States now is a mere joke.

Those of you that say your vote doesn't matter must remember that the elections in 1968 and 1980 were close enough that the Nixon and Reagan campaign had allegedly committed treason to win. It was close enough that Republicans had to steal the 2000 election by illegally throwing black Americans off the voter rolls in Florida. And again in the 2004 election they allegedly hijacked the vote in Ohio and may have diverted the vote tabulation through a republican computer server in Tennessee. Trump was installed in the Presidency by Republicans who blocked the recounts in the three states (Wisconsin, Michigan and Pennsylvania) that determined the outcome by less than 2 votes per precinct. There was enough irregularities that we will never know who actually won.

What is true we may never know. But what we do know is that the irregularities be they exit polling or elections blocked unverified are always in the Republicans favor.The fact is Republicans have been extremely effective in suppressing voting by Democrats. Some estimate that Democrats must turn out as much as 10% more than would be normally necessary to win. So every vote may very well be very important and needed.

Some say there is nothing different between Democrats and Republicans. Nothing could be further than the truth. The Democratic Party needs reforming, true, but the Republican Party needs exorcism. Vote first for Democrats now and then vote for reform next time. Those that don't usually vote must go vote in place of those that usually do vote but have been blocked.

Of this I am sure, vote now or you may not get another meaningful chance.

The Un-united States Of America Part 3: The Day Of Reckoning Is Now

About the Author

jenningsRobert Jennings is co-publisher of InnerSelf.com with his wife Marie T Russell. InnerSelf is dedicated to sharing information that allows people to make educated and insightful choices in their personal life, for the good of the commons, and for the well-being of the planet. InnerSelf Magazine is in its 30+year of publication in either print (1984-1995) or online as InnerSelf.com. Please support our work.

 Creative Commons 3.0

This article is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 License. Attribute the author Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com. Link back to the article This article originally appeared on InnerSelf.com

Related Books

Democracy in Chains: The Deep History of the Radical Right's Stealth Plan for America
democracyAuthor: Nancy MacLean
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Penguin Books
List Price: $18.00

Buy Now

Dark Money: The Hidden History of the Billionaires Behind the Rise of the Radical Right
democracyAuthor: Jane Mayer
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Anchor
List Price: $17.00

Buy Now

Winners Take All: The Elite Charade of Changing the World
democracyAuthor: Anand Giridharadas
Binding: Hardcover
Format: Deckle Edge
Publisher: Knopf
List Price: $26.95

Buy Now

democracy
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}