المرأة الجمهورية هي مجرد غرامة مع كونه جمهوري

المرأة الجمهورية هي مجرد غرامة مع كونه جمهوري

واجهت النساء الجمهوريات لغزًا مرارًا وتكرارًا في العامين الماضيين.

في قضايا دونالد ترامب وروي مور وبريت كافانوه ، كان السؤال الذي يواجههم هو ما إذا كان يجب دعم زعيم جمهوري من الذكور متهم بالاعتداء الجنسي - أو للضغط من أجل المحاسبة الذكورية.

وكان ذلك واضحًا في الآونة الأخيرة عندما تحدثت سوزان كولينز ، السيناتور الجمهوري عن ولاية مين ، عن دقائق 45 في قاعة مجلس الشيوخ في وقت سابق من هذا الشهر. كولنز وأوضح لماذا صوت للتأكيد Kavanaugh إلى المحكمة العليا على الرغم من مزاعم متعددة من الاعتداء الجنسي ضده.

ويعكس طولها وتفاصيلها مأزقها. إذا صوتت لا ، فإنها ستخيب زملائها الجمهوريين. إذا صوتت بنعم ، قد ترى النساء خائنة جنسيا ، وهو شخص لم يفعل ذلك ، كما وصف هاشتاج شهير ، #BelieveSurvivors.

ومن المرجح أن يؤدي التعاقب السريع لمثل هذه الحالات إلى التساؤل حول ما إذا كان بإمكان أي شخص أن يكون جمهوريا ويصر على حقوق المرأة. حتى أن أ.ب. ستودارد ، كاتب العمود ، سأل:كم عدد النساء اللاتي يرغب الحزب الجمهوري في خسارتهن؟؟ "

البحث عن كتابنا ، "المرأة سيئة وسوء hombres: الجنس والعرق في 2016 الانتخابات الرئاسية الأمريكية ،" يقودنا إلى الاعتقاد ، مع ذلك ، أن العديد من النساء الجمهوريات لا يسألن ما إذا كان عليهن مغادرة الحزب.

الجمهوري والقوي

عدد النساء اللواتي عرفن باسم الجمهوري قد انخفض على مدى العامين الماضيين من 27 بالمائة في 2016 إلى 25 في المائة في 2017. لكننا نعتقد أنه سيكون من الخطأ توقع ، في هذه اللحظة السياسية ، نزوح جماعي للنساء من الحزب الجمهوري.

في الواقع، 52 في المئة من النساء البيض في 2016 يدلي بصوته لصالح دونالد ترامب. كان ذلك على الرغم من ادعاءات 22 بسوء السلوك الجنسي ضده. روي مور 63 في المئة من صوت النساء البيض في سباق مجلس الشيوخ في ولاية ألاباما 2017 ، على الرغم من مزاعم سوء السلوك الجنسي ضده. وكانت النساء الجمهوريات فقط الديموغرافية التي زادت دعمها لقاضية المحكمة العليا بريت Kavanaugh خلال جلسات استماع الادعاءات الاعتداء الجنسي خلال عملية تأكيده في أكتوبر.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


قادنا بحثنا إلى استنتاج أن النساء الجمهوريات سيقفن بشكل أساسي في انتماءاتهن الحزبية. إنهم موالون للحزب ، حتى لو كان المعتدلون السياسيون وأولئك الذين يعرّفون باسم اليسار التقدمي قد خلصوا إلى أن الحزب الجمهوري لا يحترم أصوات النساء وأجسادهن.

لكن هل يعني ذلك أن النساء الجمهوريات يقبلن عن وعي بوضع الطبقة الثانية عندما يقفن لحزبهن؟

صحيح أن الجمهوريين لا يميلون إلى تحديد "النسويات". وقد أظهر استطلاع أجراه مركز بيو للأبحاث في سبتمبر وأكتوبر أن 14 في المئة من الجمهوريين قال أن مصطلح "نسوي" يصفها بشكل جيد ، مقارنة بـنسبة 60 من الديمقراطيين.

ومع ذلك ، وجدنا أن الجمهورية تشمل رؤى مختلفة من الأنوثة التي تسمح للمرأة أن تشعر أنها يمكن أن تكون جمهورية والجماعات أيضا قوية.

اتباع الزعيم

تميل النساء من جميع الخلفيات إلى التصويت بالتناغم مع أزواجهن. إليكم كيف يحدث ذلك أمام النساء الجمهوريات:

1) "النساء يكسبن باستمرار أموالاً أقل ويحتفظن بسلطة أقل ، مما يعزز اعتماد المرأة اقتصادياً على الرجال" ، وفقاً دراسة 2017 نشرت في مجلة الأبحاث السياسية الفصلية. "وهكذا ، فإنه من مصلحة المرأة المتزوجة دعم السياسات والسياسيين الذين يحمون أزواجهن ويحسنون وضعهم".

الرجال البيض يتكئون على الجمهوريين بشكل كبير ومن المرجح أن تتزوج النساء البيض أكثر من النساء السود واللاتينيين لا يزال في معظم الأحيان الزواج من الرجال البيض. هذا في جزء حسابات ل المرأة البيضاء أكبر احتمال التصويت الجمهوري.

2) بالنسبة لهؤلاء النسوة البيض ، الجمهوريات ، فإن اهتمامهن برفاهية أزواجهن وأبنائهن قد يدفعهن إلى البقاء مع حزب يضع قادته الأولوية للمصالح الاقتصادية لهؤلاء الرجال.

وعدت حملة دونالد ترامب بوظائف ذات رواتب جيدة في قطاعات ذكورية تقليدية من الاقتصاد - التعدين ، التصنيع ، الشرطة والجيش. كان من شأن هذا الوعد أن يستأنف الرجال والنساء الذين يحبونه ويدعمونه.

3) شجعت النماذج الثقافية القائمة منذ فترة طويلة النساء على ترسيخ قيمهن الذاتية من خلال رعاية أسرهن. مفهوم الأبوية الخيري يسمح للنساء المحافظات بأن يشعرن أنه إذا استلمن إرادة زوجهن ، فيمكنهن الاستفادة من حماية زوجهن والرعاية الاقتصادية. هذا قد يؤثر على خياراتهم السياسية كذلك.

ك المساهمة في كتابنا ، مارك وارد ، كتب الكنائس المسيحية الإنجيلية منذ فترة طويلة تشجع الزوجات على احتضان دور المساعد والأم في الأسرة الأبوية. تلاحظ وارد أن هيلاري كلينتون وجدت نفسها إلى الجانب الخطأ من الناخبين المسيحيين الإنجيليين بعد ملاحظات 1992 التي أوضحت فيها: "أفترض أنه كان بإمكاني البقاء في المنزل ومخبوزات الكوكيز" ، لكنها اختارت مواصلة مهنتها بدلاً من ذلك. تم تفسير هذه التعليقات على أنها رفض للدور التقليدي لربة المنزل والأم.

إصدارات جديدة من الأنوثة

لقد تغير الكثير بالنسبة للنساء منذ ملف تعريف الارتباط لـ 1992 من كلينتون ، وليس فقط حقيقة أن الحكومة الفيدرالية ذكرت أنه في 2017 ، "تشارك 70 في المائة من الأمهات اللواتي لديهن أطفال تحت 18 في القوى العاملة".

أنتجت الثقافة الشعبية موجة من الشخصيات النسائية القوية التي تدافع عن نفسها والآخرين. يبدو أن النساء الأقل عددًا يرغبن في التعرف على أنفسهن كخباز كوكي.

ومع انتخاب عدد أكبر من النساء في مناصبهم ، طوروا صورًا جديدة للأنوثة يمكن أن تشمل الأمومة والقيادة النسائية في المجال السياسي التقليدي للذكور. تعد هذه الصور الجديدة للأنوثة سبيلاً آخر يمكن من خلاله النساء الجمهوريات ، مثل السناتور في ولاية أيوا ، جوني إيرنست ، ونيويورك ريب ، وكلوديا تيني ، ومينيل باتشمان ، عضو مجلس الشيوخ السابق في ولاية مينيسوتا ، وكارلي فيورينا ، المرشحة الرئاسية السابقة في شركة Hewlett-Packard ، أن يظلوا صادقين مع حزبهم. تأكيد قوتهم الخاصة.

على سبيل المثال ، في 2008 ، وضعت سارة بالين ، المرشحة لمنصب نائب الرئيس ، مثالاً على المرأة الجمهورية القوية التي يمكن أن تجمع خمسة أطفال ، وتحافظ على مهنة محترفة ، وتمسك بزمامها في عالم السياسة القتالي. ودعت نفسها "أم الهوكي" . "ماما غريزلي" الذين يحمون صغارها بأي ثمن.

خلال جلسات الاستماع لتأكيد كافانو ، قدم دونالد ترامب "خارج" مقبول ثقافيا على طول هذه الخطوط للنساء المحافظات الذين أرادوا دعم القاضي الجمهوري لكنهم قلقون من أن القيام بذلك قد ينظر إليه على أنه خيانة للناجيات من النساء من الاعتداء الجنسي.

على الرغم من حقيقة أن الدراسات التي أجريت في الماضي 12 سنوات تشير إلى أن الإبلاغ كاذبة عن الجرائم الجنسية نادرلقد بنى ترامب خيارًا خياليًا ، وحث الأمريكيين على حماية أبنائهم من "الاتهامات الزائفة" التي ترتكبها النساء. متظاهر بأنه ابن متهم بالخطأ على وشك فقدان وظيفته ، قال بصراحة ، "أمي ، ماذا أفعل؟ ماذا أفعل؟"

يمكن للنساء الجمهوريات اللواتي يرغبن في دعم كافانو أن يظلا ثابتا في أدوارهن كأمهات ، وكما هو الحال مع "ماما غريزلي" من بالين ، تحمي بشدة أشبالهم (الأبناء) ، في هذه الحالة ضد "الاتهامات الباطلة".

ينتشر هذا الخط من الحجة بسرعة. في واشنطن بوست-شهار مدرسة الاستطلاع هذا الشهر ، أعربت نسبة 76 من الجمهوريين - مقارنة بـ 34 في المائة من الديمقراطيين - عن مخاوفهم من أن الرجال المقربين منهم "قد يكونون متهمين بشكل غير عادل بالاعتداء الجنسي".

فكر فيما حدث في داكوتا الشمالية. على الرغم من أن هايدي هيتكامب من داكوتا الشمالية هي أكثر أعضاء مجلس الشيوخ الديمقراطيين عرضة لإعادة الانتخاب في 2018 ، فقد صوتت "لا" على Kavanaugh ، والتي من المرجح أن تكلفها في الدولة التي صوتت لصالح ترامب في 2016.

وقال منافس هيتكامب ، كيفين كرامر ، إنه كان سيصوت لصالح كافانوه ، وحاول استخدام منصبه لصالحه مع النساء ، قائلاً إن زوجته وبناته تنبذن بـ "متيو" على أنه "حركة نحو الإيذاء".

ونشطاء #MeToo - وفقا لعائلة كريمر - ليست "قاسية" مثل شمال داكوتان "رواد من البراري." هذه اللغة تعني أنه حتى لو تعرضت النساء لاعتداءات جنسية ، يجب أن يتحملن تحتها.

في الانتخابات النصفية المقبلة ، يمكن للنساء الجمهوريات اللواتي يرغبن في رؤية أنفسهن قويات ، بينما يدعمن حزبًا أعفى من الاعتداء الجنسي الذكري ، أن يضيفن رؤية "المرأة المرجانية" للنسوية إلى هوية "ماما غريزلي" للمرأة القوية.

وبقيامها بذلك ، تبني النساء الجمهوريات نسختهن الخاصة من الأنوثة التي لا تتفوق - أو تحتجز - الوضع المهيمن للرجال في حياتهم.

في هذه الرؤية ، يمكن للمرأة أن تحتفظ بنفسها - ضد النسويات على اليسار وكذلك المفترسات الجنسية الذكور. يظهر هذا النموذج من أنوثة "المرأة المرجانية" أن هناك تنوعًا في مدى تأثير المرأة القوية. وفي الوقت نفسه ، فإنه يحول دون التضامن القائم على النوع الاجتماعي عن طريق رفض أي تنسيق محتمل مع النسويات في اليسار الذي يحمل الرجال المسيئين للحساب ، ويطالب بالتغيير داخل ثقافة تقلل من خبرة النساء بشكل عام.المحادثة

عن المؤلفين

كريستين أ. كراي ، أستاذ مشارك في الأنثروبولوجيا ، معهد روتشستر للتكنولوجيا. هندا مانديل ، أستاذ مشارك ، معهد روتشستر للتكنولوجيا، وتامار كارول ، أستاذ مشارك في التاريخ ، معهد روتشستر للتكنولوجيا

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = حقوق المرأة ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
by فرانك باسكيوتي ، دكتوراه
كيف تتحدث مع أطفالك عن الطلاق؟
كيف تتحدث مع أطفالك عن الطلاق؟
by مونتيل ويليامز وجيفري غارديري ، دكتوراه

Republican Women Are Just Fine With Being Republican

elections

Republican Women Are Just Fine With Being Republican

Republican women have faced a conundrum repeatedly in the last two years.

In the cases of Donald Trump, Roy Moore and Brett Kavanaugh, the question facing them has been whether to support a male Republican leader accused of sexual assault – or to press for male accountability.

That was evident most recently when Susan Collins, the Republican senator from Maine, spoke for 45 minutes on the Senate floor earlier this month. Collins explained why she voted to confirm Kavanaugh to the Supreme Court despite multiple allegations of sexual assault against him.

The length and detail of her speech reflected her quandary. If she voted no, she would disappoint her fellow Republicans. If she voted yes, women might see her as a gender traitor, one who did not, as a popular hashtag describes, #BelieveSurvivors.

The rapid succession of such cases has likely led some to question whether someone can both be Republican and insist upon women’s rights. Columnist A. B. Stoddard even asked, “How many women does the GOP want to lose?”

Research for our book, “Nasty Women and Bad Hombres: Gender and Race in the 2016 US Presidential Election,” leads us to believe, however, that many Republican women aren’t asking whether they should leave the party.

Republican and strong

The number of women who identify as Republican has declined over the last two years from 27 percent in 2016 to 25 percent in 2017. But we believe it would be wrong to expect, in this political moment, a mass exodus of women from the GOP.

In fact, 52 percent of white women in 2016 cast their vote for Donald Trump. That was despite the 22 allegations of sexual misconduct against him. Roy Moore got 63 percent of the white women’s vote in the 2017 Alabama Senate race, despite the sexual misconduct allegations against him. And Republican women were the only demographic that increased its support for Supreme Court Justice Brett Kavanaugh during the hearings of sexual assault allegations during his confirmation process in October.

Our research led us to conclude that Republican women will mainly stand firm in their party affiliation. They are loyal to the party, even if political moderates and those who identify as the progressive Left have concluded that the GOP does not respect women’s voices and bodies.

But does this mean that Republican women consciously accept second-class status when they stand up for their party?

It’s true that Republicans do not tend to identify as “feminists.” A Pew Research Center poll conducted in September and October found that only 14 percent of Republicans said that the term “feminist” describes them well, compared to 60 percent of Democrats.

However, we have found that Republicanism encompasses different visions of womanhood that allow women to feel that they can be Republican and also strong women.

Follow the leader

Women of all backgrounds tend to vote in concert with their husbands. Here’s how that plays out for Republican women:

1) “Women consistently earn less money and hold less power, which fosters women’s economic dependency on men,” according to a 2017 study published in Political Research Quarterly. “Thus, it is within married women’s interests to support policies and politicians who protect their husbands and improve their status.”

White men lean heavily Republican and white women are more likely to be married than black and Latino women and still most often marry white men. This in part accounts for white women’s greater likelihood to vote Republican.

2) For these white women Republicans, their concern for their husbands’ and sons’ welfare may lead them to stay with a party whose leaders prioritize the economic interests of those men.

Donald Trump’s campaign promised good-paying jobs in traditionally male sectors of the economy – mining, manufacturing, policing and the military. That promise would have appealed both to men and to the women who love and support them.

3) Longstanding cultural models have encouraged women to establish their self-worth through care for their family. The notion of benevolent patriarchy allows conservative women to feel that if they submit to their husband’s wills, they can benefit through their husband’s protection and economic care. This may influence their political choices as well.

As a contributor to our book, Mark Ward, writes, evangelical Christian churches have long encouraged wives to embrace the role of helpmate and mother within a patriarchal household. Ward notes that Hillary Clinton forever found herself on the wrong side of evangelical Christian voters after her 1992 remarks in which she explained that, “I suppose I could have stayed at home and baked cookies,” but she chose to pursue her profession instead. These comments were interpreted as dismissive of the traditional role of the housewife and mother.

New versions of femininity

A lot has changed for women since Clinton’s 1992 cookie gaffe, and not just the fact that the federal government reported that in 2017, “70 percent of mothers with children under 18 participate in the labor force.”

Popular culture has generated a spate of strong female characters who defend themselves and others. Fewer women, it seems, want to identify themselves as genteel cookie bakers.

As more women have been elected to office, they have evolved new images of femininity that could encompass motherhood and also female leadership in the traditionally male realm of politics. These new images of femininity are another avenue through which Republican women like Iowa Sen. Joni Ernst, New York Rep. Claudia Tenney, former Minnesota Rep. Michele Bachmann and former Hewlett-Packard CEO and presidential candidate Carly Fiorina can stay true to their party while asserting their own power.

For instance, in 2008, vice presidential candidate Sarah Palin set the example of the strong Republican woman who could raise five children, maintain a professional career, and hold her own in the combative world of politics. She called herself a “hockey mom” and “Mama Grizzly” who would protect her cubs at any cost.

During the Kavanaugh confirmation hearings, Donald Trump provided a culturally acceptable “out” along these lines for conservative women who wanted to support the Republican judge but worried that doing so might be seen as a betrayal of female survivors of sexual assault.

Despite the fact that studies conducted in the past 12 years indicate that false reporting for sexual crimes is rare, Trump constructed an imaginary choice, urging Americans to protect their sons against “false accusations” by women. Pretending to be a wrongly accused son about to lose his job, he said, plaintively, “Mom, what do I do? What do I do?”

Republican women who wanted to support Kavanaugh could stand firm in their roles as mothers and, just like Palin’s “Mama Grizzly,” fiercely protect their cubs (sons), in this case against “false accusations.”

This line of argument spread quickly. In a Washington Post-Schar School poll conducted this month, 76 percent of Republicans – compared to 34 percent of Democrats – expressed fear that men close to them “might be unfairly accused of sexual assault.”

Consider what happened in North Dakota. Although Heidi Heitkamp of North Dakota is the most vulnerable Democratic senator up for re-election in 2018, she voted “no” on Kavanaugh, which was likely to cost her in a state that had voted for Trump in 2016.

Heitkamp’s opponent, Kevin Cramer, said he would have voted for Kavanaugh and tried to use his position to his advantage with women, saying that his wife and daughters decry #MeToo as a “movement toward victimization.”

And #MeToo activists – according to Cramer’s family – are not as “tough” as the North Dakotan “pioneers of the prairie.” This language implies that, even if women are sexually assaulted, they should bear up under it.

In the upcoming midterm elections, Republican women who want to see themselves as strong, while supporting a party that has excused male sexual assault, can add the “Prairie Woman” vision of feminism to the “Mama Grizzly” identity of strong women.

In so doing, Republican women are constructing their own version of womanhood that does not eclipse – or hold to account – the dominant position of men in their lives.

In this vision, women can hold their own – against feminists on the Left as well as male sexual predators. This model of “prairie woman” femininity shows there is diversity in how strong women act. At the same time, it precludes gender-based solidarity by rejecting any possible alignment with feminists on the Left who hold offending men to account, and who demand change within a culture that devalues women’s experiences overall.The Conversation

About The Authors

Christine A. Kray, Associate Professor of Anthropology, Rochester Institute of Technology; Hinda Mandell, Associate Professor, Rochester Institute of Technology, and Tamar Carroll, Associate Professor of History, Rochester Institute of Technology

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Bold & Brave: Ten Heroes Who Won Women the Right to Vote
electionsAuthor: Kirsten Gillibrand
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
List Price: $18.99

Buy Now

A Vindication of the Rights of Woman (AmazonClassics Edition)
electionsAuthor: Mary Wollstonecraft
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Publisher: AmazonClassics

Buy Now

With Courage and Cloth: Winning the Fight for a Woman's Right to Vote
electionsAuthor: Ann Bausum
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: National Geographic Children's Books
List Price: $21.95

Buy Now

elections
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}