كيف تقوم النساء على 2018 الاقتراع هي تخطي تصورات الأمومة والقيادة

كيف تقوم النساء على 2018 الاقتراع هي تخطي تصورات الأمومة والقيادة
كريش Vignarajah ، المرشحة الديمقراطية لحاكم ولاية ماريلاند ، مع ابنتها ألانا. AP Photo / Patrick Semansky

تحتل الأمومة مركز الصدارة في السياسة الأمريكية.

السناتور تامي داكويرث ، أول عضو في مجلس الشيوخ عن الولايات المتحدة تلد أثناء وجودها في المكتب شوهدت في كابيتول هيل معها حديثي الولادة تقع في حضنها.

تقدم مرشحان حاكمان ديمقراطيان ، هما كريش فيجناراجا من ولاية ماريلاند وكيلدا رويسز من ولاية ويسكونسن ، بإعلانات الحملة ، بالإضافة إلى إظهار قدراتهما كقادة ، رعاية أطفالهم.

مرشح ديمقراطي في الكونجرس في نيويورك ، ليوبا Grechen شيرليتم منحها إذن من لجنة الانتخابات الفيدرالية لاستخدام أموال الحملة لتغطية تكاليف رعاية الأطفال أثناء ترشحها لمنصبها.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، ترشح النساء للمناصب بأعداد قياسية هذا العام. من بين تجاربهم وأدوارهم وهوياتهم العديدة ، يشدد الكثيرون على كونهم أم.

ماذا يخبرنا هذا الاعتراف بالأمومة عن السياسة الأمريكية اليوم؟ كما ناقشت في عملي باعتباره عالم الجندر والسياسةفالنساء اللواتي يترشحن لشغل المنصب لم يقمن تقليديًا بكون الأمومة مركزية في ترشحهن.

هذا هو السبب في أن هذا يبدو أنه يتغير.

أمهات الأطفال الصغار

في الماضي ، لم يكن لدى النساء اللواتي ترشحن للوظائف عادة أطفال صغار. تظهر الأبحاث أن النساء اللواتي مهنياً أفضل وضع للتشغيل من أجل المكتب تقل احتمالية أن يكون لديها أطفال أكثر من الرجال ، وأن أصحاب المناصب النسائية أكثر عرضة من نظرائهم الذكور ليس لدي أطفال.

إذا كان للمرشحين الإناث أطفال ، فغالبا ما يكونون أطفالا بالغين - مما يجعل دورهم أم أقل كثافة وأقل أهمية في سردهم الشخصي في وقت ترشيحهم. العلماء أظهرت أن النساء اللواتي يشغلن مناصب حكومية على مستويات مختلفة من الحكومة يميلون إلى القيام بذلك عندما يكبر أطفالهم.

دخول هيلاري كلينتون ، الذي ترشحه للرئاسة الرائدة جعل الأمومة المركزية لنداءاتها السياسية وأجندتها السياسية. في حين أن كلينتون تتلاءم مع القالب التقليدي للمرأة عن طريق الركض عندما كان ابنها بالغًا ، فقد جعلت الأمومة موضوعًا رئيسيًا في حملتها. تحدثت عن تجربتها الخاصة لتربية طفل. هي رفعت أصوات الأمهات الأخريات ولفت الانتباه إلى مخاوفهم.

واعتمدت على ابنتها ، تشيلسي كلينتون - التي أنجبت طفلها الثاني قبل أسابيع قليلة من المؤتمر الوطني الديموقراطي 2016 - كبديل رئيسي لها في الحملة الانتخابية. من خلال التركيز على الأمومة بطرق كثيرة ، فمن الممكن أن يكون لها الترشيح التاريخي قد مكنت المزيد من النساء مع الأطفال الصغار للترشح للمناصب.

فيديو "بناتنا - كيلدا رويس للحاكم". كيلدا للحاكم 2018

{} يوتيوبhttps://youtu.be/F45LpHwczJ0{/youtube}

الأمومة التفاوضية

في السابق ، كان على المرشحات اللواتي لديهن أطفال أن يتفاوضن بذكاء حول دورهن كأم ، بدلاً من احتضانهن بالكامل. في حين أن كونها أمًا تلبي توقعات مجتمعية قوية مرتبطة بالأنوثة ، فقد وجد علماء النفس الاجتماعي ذلك الأمومة قد تكون على خلاف مع تصورات عامة حول ماذا قيادة قوية وكفؤة يشبه.

علاوة على ذلك ، فإن النساء اللواتي يبرزن أطفالهن في الحملات قد يفتحن أنفسهن أمام المزيد من التدقيق. المصوتون قد يتساءل"من الذي يعتني بأطفالك أثناء حكمك؟"

هذه هي أنواع الأسئلة التي الجمهوريان جين سويفت وسارة بالين واجه خلال حياتهم السياسية. هذه هي الأسئلة التي لا يتلقاها المرشحون الذكور.

ومن المفارقات ، اليوم ، قد تواجه النساء دون أطفال أعلى عقبة. هناك بعض الأدلة التي تشير إلى أن النساء اللواتي ترشحن لمنصب في المكتب ليس لدي اطفال هي الحكم أشد قسوة من قبل الناخبين المحتملين لأن المرشحات اللواتي لا يملكن أطفال ينتهكون التوقعات التقليدية للنساء.

الجري كامرأة

وتوضح المنح الدراسية التي تركز على القضايا التي تبرزها المرشحات وأنواع الناخبين الذين تصل إليهن ، أن جعل الأمومة والوسط قد يكون استراتيجية ذكية. ووجد الباحثون أنه في بعض السياقات الانتخابية ، ترشح المرشحات جنسهن ويستهدفن الناخبات الإناث يمكن بناء ميزة استراتيجية.

على سبيل المثال ، باعتبارها المرأة الوحيدة التي تعمل في الديمقراطية التمهيدية لميريلاند وقد يميز كريش فيجناراجا مقعد حكامها عن منافسيها الذكور الستة عندما تبرز دورها كأم. وتشير الأبحاث إلى أنها قد تبني ميزة إذا تحدثت أكثر عن القضايا التي تؤثر على النساء وتنفق المزيد من الطاقة على النساء الناخبات في الانتخابات التمهيدية ، لأن هذه الأساليب نفسها قد تكون أقل فعالية بالنسبة إلى منافسيها الذكور.

المخاطر والمكافآت

التركيز الحالي على الأمومة في السياسة الأمريكية هو حقيبة مختلطة.

إن تشغيل "كأم" قد يفتح بعض المرشحات حتى يصل إلى التأثير السلبي للقوالب النمطية الجنسانية. من ناحية أخرى ، تشير بعض الأبحاث الحديثة إلى أن القوالب النمطية الجنسانية قد لم تعد تعوق المرأة في الطرق التي لديهم سابقا. يقول علماء آخرون إنه في الوقت الذي تصوغ فيه القوالب النمطية الجنسانية تصورات المرشحات ، فإن العديد من الناخبين يدلون بأصواتهم في نهاية المطاف لمرشح حزبهم المفضل ، مما يجعل الجنس والنماذج النمطية أقل تبعية.

المرشحين الذين يسلطون الضوء على خطر الأمومة تبسيط الدوافع المعقدة الخاصة بهم. قد ينتهي بهم الأمر إلى إدامة الأسطورة القائلة بأن المرأة - ربما بسبب الأمومة - هي الأفضل للتشريع في القضايا المتعلقة بالحياة الأسرية ، وبالتالي إبقائها مقيدة بالمنزل والموقد.

وعلاوة على ذلك ، فإن صور الأمومة التي تُرى في السياسة الانتخابية غالباً ما تعكس شكلاً واحداً فقط من أشكال الأمومة. فهي لا تحتضن العديد من الأشكال الأخرى للأمومة والأمومة عبر مجموعات الهوية العرقية والإثنية وغيرها.

المحادثةمن ناحية أخرى ، عندما نتجاهل الأمومة تماماً ، فإننا نلحق الضرر بجميع النساء. والأهم من ذلك ، أننا قد نديم الأسطورة التي لا يمكن للمرأة أو لا ينبغي لها ، لإعادة صياغة النائب باتريشيا شرودر، "لديك الدماغ والرحم ، واستخدامهما على حد سواء".

نبذة عن الكاتب

جيل س. جرينلي ، أستاذ مشارك في السياسة ، جامعة برانديز

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتاب من هذا المؤلف

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = 0472036270. maxresults = 1}

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = women in politics؛ maxresults = 2}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

اتبع InnerSelf على

جوجل زائد رمزالفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

How Women On The 2018 Ballot Are Busting Perceptions Of Motherhood And Leadership

How Women On The 2018 Ballot Are Busting Perceptions Of Motherhood And Leadership
Krish Vignarajah, Democratic candidate for Maryland governor, with her daughter Alana. AP Photo/Patrick Semansky

Motherhood is taking center stage in U.S. politics.

Sen. Tammy Duckworth, the first United States senator to give birth while in office has been seen on Capitol Hill with her newborn nestled in her lap.

Two Democratic gubernatorial candidates, Maryland’s Krish Vignarajah and Wisconsin’s Kelda Roys, made waves with campaign ads that, in addition to touting their capabilities as leaders, also show them nursing their babies.

A Democratic congressional candidate in New York, Liuba Grechen Shirley, was just granted permission from the Federal Election Commission to use campaign funds to cover the cost of child care while she runs for office.

Plus, women are running for office in record numbers this year. Among their many experiences, roles and identities, many are emphasizing being a mom.

What does this acknowledgment of motherhood tell us about U.S. politics today? As I have discussed in my work as a scholar of gender and politics, women running for office have not traditionally made motherhood central to their candidacies.

Here’s why that appears to be changing.

Mothers of young children

In the past, women who ran for office typically did not have young children. Research shows that women who are professionally best positioned to run for office are less likely to have children than men, and that female officeholders are more likely than their male counterparts to not have children.

If female candidates did have children, they were often adult children – making their role as a mother less intensive and less central to their personal narrative at the time of their candidacy. Scholars have shown that women who hold office at various levels of government tend to do so when their children are older.

Enter Hillary Clinton, whose groundbreaking presidential candidacy made motherhood central to her political appeals and policy agenda. While Clinton fit the traditional mold of a woman by running when her child was an adult, she made motherhood a major theme in her campaign. She spoke about her own experience of raising a child. She elevated the voices of other mothers and drew attention to their concerns.

And she relied on her own daughter, Chelsea Clinton – who gave birth to her second child just weeks before the 2016 Democratic National Convention – as a key surrogate for her on the campaign trail. By focusing on motherhood in so many ways, it’s possible that her historic nomination may have empowered more women with young children to run for office.

‘Our Girls - Kelda Roys for Governor’ video. Kelda for Governor 2018

{youtube}https://youtu.be/F45LpHwczJ0{/youtube}

Negotiating motherhood

Previously, female candidates with children had to deftly negotiate their role as a mother, rather than fully embrace it. While being a mother fulfills a strong societal expectation associated with womanhood, social psychologists have found that motherhood may be at odds with public perceptions of what strong, competent leadership looks like.

Moreover, women who highlight their children in campaigns may open themselves up to greater scrutiny. Voters may wonder, “Who is caring for your children while you are governing?”

These are the types of questions that Republicans Jane Swift and Sarah Palin faced during their political careers. These are questions that similarly situated male candidates do not receive.

Ironically, today, women without children may face the highest hurdle. There is some evidence that women running for office who do not have children are judged most harshly by would-be voters because childless female candidates violate traditional expectations of women.

Running as a woman

Scholarship, that focuses on the issues that female candidates highlight and the types of voters they reach out to, suggests that making motherhood front and center may be a smart strategy. Scholars have found that in some electoral contexts, female candidates who highlight their gender and target female voters can build a strategic advantage.

For example, as the only woman running in the Democratic primary for the Maryland gubernatorial seat, Krish Vignarajah may distinguish herself from her six male competitors when she highlights her role as a mother. Research suggests she might build an advantage if she talks more about issues that affect women and spends more energy courting women primary voters, because these same approaches may be less effective for her male competitors.

Risks and rewards

The current focus on motherhood in U.S. politics is a mixed bag.

Running “as a mom” may open some female candidates up to the negative impact of gender stereotypes. On the other hand, some recent research suggests that gender stereotypes may no longer hinder women in the ways that they previously have. Other scholars argue that while gender stereotypes shape perceptions of female candidates, many voters ultimately cast their votes for the candidate of their preferred party, making gender and its stereotypes less consequential.

Candidates who highlight motherhood risk oversimplifying their own complex motivations. They may end up perpetuating the myth that women – perhaps because of motherhood – are best at legislating on issues related to family life, thereby keeping them tethered to the home and hearth.

Moreover, images of motherhood seen in electoral politics often reflect just one form of mothering. They do not embrace many other forms of motherhood and mothering across racial, ethnic and other identity groups.

The ConversationOn the other hand, when we ignore motherhood altogether, we do a disservice to all women. And, importantly, we may perpetuate the myth that women cannot or should not, to paraphrase Rep. Patricia Schroeder, “have a brain and a uterus, and use them both.”

About The Author

Jill S. Greenlee, Associate Professor of Politics, Brandeis University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Book by this Author

The Political Consequences of Motherhood (The CAWP Series in Gender and American Politics)
electionsAuthor: Jill Greenlee
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: University of Michigan Press
List Price: $45.95

Buy Now

Related Books

Women and Politics: Paths to Power and Political Influence
electionsAuthor: Julie Dolan Professor
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers
List Price: $51.00

Buy Now

Nasty Women: Feminism, Resistance, and Revolution in Trump's America
electionsAuthor: Samhita Mukhopadhyay
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Picador
List Price: $16.00

Buy Now

enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}