هل النظام الانتخابي الأمريكي مزور حقا؟

تكهن الكثيرون كيف سيؤثر فوز ترامب على الولايات المتحدة ، لكن القليل منهم فكر في عواقب خسارة ترامب. بعد تتخلف هيلاري كلينتون في استطلاعات الرأي ، وضعت دونالد ترامب بالفعل سردًا لمخرجه: لقد تم تزوير الانتخابات.

إذن ما مدى احتمالية التصويت المزور؟

مطالبات كاملة الحنجرة

الأسبوع الماضي وقال ترامب لشبكة فوكس نيوز: "أنا أقول لك - نوفمبر 8 ، من الأفضل أن نكون حذرين لأنه سيتم تزوير تلك الانتخابات. وآمل أن يراقب الجمهوريون عن كثب أو سيؤخذ منا ".

هذا ليس مجرد بيان منعزل أو غير رسمي. ترامب المقرب روجر ستون في الآونة الأخيرة وأشار: "أعتقد أن لدينا احتيالًا واسع النطاق للناخبين ، ولكن أول ما يتعين على ترامب فعله هو البدء في الحديث عنه باستمرار".

مدير حملة ترامب بول مانافورت وأشار: "بصراحة نحن نعتقد أن الوضع في البلاد ، تمامًا كما هو الحال في الانتخابات التمهيدية لمراكز الانتخابات الوطنية ، هو وضع إذا كنت تعتمد على وزارة العدل لضمان أمن الانتخابات ، يجب أن نكون قلقين".

ذلك الرئيس أوباما رفض هذه الادعاءات بأنها سخيفة لن تفعل الكثير لتطمين أنصار ترامب.

دور الخاسرين الجيدين

هذه الاتهامات والهجمات المضادة هي أكثر من مجرد خطاب للحملة. إنها تثير قضية مركزية للديمقراطية: استعداد الخاسرين للامتثال لقرار يتم التوصل إليه عن طريق انتخابات حرة ونزيهة.

لقد حدد علماء السياسة هذه الرغبة منذ فترة طويلة باعتبارها عنصرا حاسما في الديمقراطية الأمريكية. المثال الأبرز في الذاكرة الحديثة هو رفض آل غور للطعن في قرار المحكمة العليا بمنح الأصوات الانتخابية في ولاية فلوريدا لجورج دبليو بوش ، مما أدى إلى فوزه بفعالية في 2000. كان من الممكن أن يثير جور أزمة دستورية بسهولة من خلال تحدي النتائج.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


من المثير للاهتمام ، فإن ادعاءات مؤيدي ترامب صدى بحثي على التخريب الانتخابي في النظم غير الديمقراطية.

في جورجيا في 2003 ، أوكرانيا في 2004 وروسيا في 2011 ، تحدى "الخاسرون" شرعية الانتخابات التي أجريت في ظل ظروف غير مثالية. ادعى "المنتصرون" أن منافسيهم كانوا مجرد خاسرين مؤلمين. ثم خرج الخاسرون إلى الشوارع وأجبروا على مواجهة الحكومة. في أوكرانيا وجورجيا أدت الاحتجاجات إلى ديمقراطية أكبر ، على الأقل في المدى القصير. في روسيا ، أسفرت عن حكومة أكثر استبدادية. هذه الديناميكيات لا تقتصر على الدول السوفيتية السابقة. انظر إلى العنف الواسع النطاق الذي اندلع في إثيوبيا في 2005 ، كينيا في 2007 وزيمبابوي في 2008.

بالطبع ، ليست كل حالات الاحتيال الانتخابي تقود إلى الاحتجاج وأزمة شرعية ، لكن بحث يقترح جوشوا تاكر من جامعة نيويورك وأندرو ليتل من جامعة كورنيل أن مزاعم تزوير الناخبين هي أداة قوية لحشد الاحتجاجات. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، وجدوا الذي يدعو للاحتجاج من المرجح بشكل خاص في الانتخابات القريبة حيث يعتقد الناخبون أن الاحتيال ربما كان قد أثر في النتيجة.

يمكن للمرء أن يجادل بأن ترامب لديه نقطة. إن الانتخابات في الولايات المتحدة "مزورة" بمعنى أنها تتطلب من المرشحين جمع مبالغ ضخمة من المال وجعل المرشحين يعتمدون على المانحين.

بيع صعب

لكن من الأصعب بكثير القول إن الانتخابات الأمريكية يمكن أن تُسرق في صناديق الاقتراع. على حسابهم العظيم ، انتخابات في الولايات المتحدة هي بشكل جيد بشكل جيد. تزوير تحديد هوية الناخب هو جدا نادر. دراسة واحدة وجدت أن التقارير الفردية عن تزوير الأصوات كانت أقل احتمالا من تقارير اختطاف الأجانب. آخر وجدت أنه في محاكمات 2005 للانتهاكات الطيور المهاجرة كانت أكثر تواترا من حالات الاحتيال الانتخابي. كمرشح ، أفضّل أن أغتنم فرصتي أمام شاغل الوظيفة في الولايات المتحدة أكثر من العديد من البلدان الأخرى حيث تعد صناديق الاقتراع في صناديق الاقتراع ، وتخويف الناخبين ، وحظر المعارضين السياسيين هي القاعدة.

ومع ذلك ، هناك الكثير من التشكك في إجراء الانتخابات في بعض جيوب الباحثين الأمريكيين من جامعة ييل وجدت أن نسبة 36 من المشاركين في عينة وطنية في 2010 يعتقدون أن بطاقاتهم لم تكن سرية. مسح 2012 من ولاية ويسكونسن وجدت أنه تحت نسبة 40 في المئة من المستطلعين يعتقدون أن "بضعة آلاف" من الأصوات المزورة تم الإدلاء بها في كل انتخابات.

ما إذا كانت قصة "التلاعب في الانتخابات" ستعاني في نوفمبر / تشرين الثاني ستعتمد على العديد من العوامل ، بما في ذلك هامش الفوز ، ورد فعل الجمهوريين المؤسسين على تهم تزوير الأصوات ، وجودة الأدلة لدعم المطالبة والعوامل السياقية الأخرى. على سبيل المثال ، من السهل تخيل ويكيليكس نشر رسائل البريد الإلكتروني المحررة بشكل انتقائي للتشكيك في نتائج الانتخابات. فالنقد غير العادي وندوات العنف في الجو في هذه الانتخابات لن تؤدي إلا إلى تضخيم هذه الشكوك.

ربما سيفوز دونالد ترامب ، وسوف تتنازل هيلاري كلينتون وستكون القصة الانتخابية المزورة موضع نقاش. ربما هذا كله خدعة وسوف يذهب دونالد ترامب بهدوء في الليل ، ولكن هذا لا يبدو مرجحا.

مهما كانت النتيجة في نوفمبر ، فمن غير المحتمل أن يتم تحديدها من خلال تزوير الأصوات.

نبذة عن الكاتب

تيموثي فري ، أستاذ العلوم السياسية ، جامعة كولومبيا

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = 161628384X، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Is The US Electoral System Really Rigged?

Many have speculated how a Trump victory would affect the U.S., but few have thought about the consequences of a Trump loss. After falling behind Hillary Clinton in the polls, Donald Trump has already developed a narrative for his exit: The election was rigged.

So how likely is a rigged vote?

Full-throated claims

Last week Trump told Fox News: “I’m telling you – Nov. 8, we’d better be careful because that election is going to be rigged. And I hope the Republicans are watching closely or it is going to be taken away from us.”

This is not just an isolated or off-the-cuff statement. Trump confidant Roger Stone recently noted: “I think that we have widespread voter fraud, but the first thing that Trump needs to do is begin talking about it constantly.”

Trump’s campaign manager Paul Manafort noted: “Frankly we think that the situation in the country, just like with the DNC’s primaries, is a situation where if you rely on the Justice Department to ensure the security of elections, we have to be worried.”

That President Obama has dismissed these claims as ridiculous will do little to reassure Trump supporters.

The role of good losers

These charges and countercharges are more than just campaign rhetoric. They raise a central issue for democracy: the willingness of losers to comply with a decision reached via free and fair elections.

Political scientists have long identified this willingness as a critical component of American democracy. The most prominent example in recent memory is Al Gore’s refusal to contest the decision of the Supreme Court awarding Florida’s electoral votes to George W. Bush, effectively handing him victory in 2000. Gore could have easily provoked a constitutional crisis by challenging the results.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Interestingly, the claims of Trump supporters echo my research on electoral subversion in nondemocracies.

In Georgia in 2003, Ukraine in 2004 and Russia in 2011, the “losers” challenged the legitimacy of elections held under less than ideal conditions. The “victors” claimed that their rivals were merely sore losers. The losers then took to the streets and forced a showdown with the government. In Ukraine and Georgia the protests led to greater democracy, at least in the short run. In Russia, they resulted in a more autocratic government. These dynamics are not limited to former Soviet states. Look at the large-scale violence that erupted in Ethiopia in 2005, Kenya in 2007 and Zimbabwe in 2008.

Of course, not all cases of electoral fraud lead to protest and a crisis of legitimacy, but research by Joshua Tucker of New York University and Andrew Little of Cornell University suggests that claims of voter fraud are a powerful tool for rallying protest. In addition, they find that calls to protest are especially likely in close elections where voters believe that fraud may have swayed the outcome.

One could argue that Trump has a point. Elections in the U.S. are “rigged” in the sense that they require candidates to raise enormous sums of money and make candidates dependent on donors.

A tough sell

But it is much harder to argue that American elections can be stolen at the ballot box. For all their great expense, elections in the U.S. are remarkably well-run. Voter identification fraud is extremely rare. One study found that individual reports of vote fraud were less likely than reports of alien abduction. Another found that in 2005 prosecutions for migratory bird violations were more frequent than cases of electoral fraud. As a candidate, I’d far prefer to take my chances against an incumbent in the U.S. than in many other countries where ballot box-stuffing, voter intimidation and the banning of political opponents are the rule.

That said, there is much skepticism toward the conduct of elections in some pockets of the U.S. Researchers from Yale University found that 36 percent of respondents in a national sample in 2010 believed that their ballot was not secret. A 2012 survey from Wisconsin found that just under 40 percent of respondents believed that “a few thousand” fraudulent votes were cast in each election.

Whether the “rigged election” narrative will have bite in November will depend on many factors, including the margin of victory, the reaction of establishment Republicans to charges of vote-rigging, the quality of evidence to support the claim and other contextual factors. For example, it is easy to imagine Wikileaks publishing selectively edited emails to discredit the election results. The extraordinary vitriol and whiffs of violence in the air in this election will only amplify this skepticism.

Maybe Donald Trump will win, Hillary Clinton will concede and the rigged election narrative will be moot. Maybe this is all a bluff and Donald Trump will go quietly in the night, but that doesn’t seem likely.

Whatever the result in November, it is not likely to be determined by vote-rigging.

About The Author

Timothy Frye, Professor of Political Science, Columbia University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=161628384X;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…