Ist das US-Wahlsystem wirklich manipuliert?

Viele haben spekuliert, wie ein Trump-Sieg die USA beeinflussen würde, aber nur wenige haben über die Folgen eines Trump-Verlustes nachgedacht. Nach zurückfallen Hillary Clinton in den Umfragen, Donald Trump hat bereits eine Erzählung für seinen Ausgang entwickelt: Die Wahl wurde manipuliert.

Wie wahrscheinlich ist eine manipulierte Abstimmung?

Vollkehlen-Ansprüche

Letzte Woche Trump sagte Fox News: "Ich sage dir - Nov. 8, wir sollten besser aufpassen, weil diese Wahl gefälscht wird. Und ich hoffe, die Republikaner beobachten genau, oder es wird uns weggenommen. "

Dies ist nicht nur eine isolierte oder unkonventionelle Aussage. Trump Vertraute Roger Stone vor kurzem bekannt"Ich denke, dass wir einen weit verbreiteten Wahlbetrug haben, aber das erste, was Trump tun muss, ist, ständig darüber zu reden."

Trumps Kampagnenmanager Paul Manafort bekannt"Ehrlich gesagt denken wir, dass die Situation im Land, genau wie bei den Vorwahlen der DNC, eine Situation ist, in der man sich Sorgen machen muss, wenn man sich auf das Justizministerium verlässt, um die Sicherheit der Wahlen zu gewährleisten."

Das hat Präsident Obama entlassen Diese Behauptungen als lächerlich werden wenig tun, um Trump-Unterstützer zu beruhigen.

Die Rolle von guten Verlierern

Diese Gebühren und Gegenklagen sind mehr als nur Kampagnenrhetorik. Sie werfen ein zentrales Problem für die Demokratie auf: die Bereitschaft der Verlierer, einer Entscheidung durch freie und faire Wahlen nachzukommen.

Politikwissenschaftler haben diese Bereitschaft lange als eine kritische Komponente der amerikanischen Demokratie identifiziert. Das prominenteste Beispiel in letzter Zeit ist die Weigerung von Al Gore, die Entscheidung des Obersten Gerichtshofs, die Wahlstimmen von Florida an George W. Bush zu vergeben, zu bestreiten und ihm den Sieg in 2000 zu verleihen. Gore hätte leicht eine Verfassungskrise provozieren können, indem er die Ergebnisse in Frage stellte.

Interessanterweise widerspiegeln die Behauptungen der Trump-Anhänger meine Forschungsergebnisse Wahlsubversion in Nichtdemokratien.

In Georgien in 2003, der Ukraine in 2004 und Russland in 2011 stellten die "Verlierer" die Legitimität von Wahlen in Frage, die unter nicht idealen Bedingungen stattfanden. Die "Sieger" behaupteten, dass ihre Rivalen nur schlechte Verlierer seien. Die Verlierer gingen dann auf die Straße und erzwangen einen Machtkampf mit der Regierung. In der Ukraine und in Georgien führten die Proteste zumindest auf kurze Sicht zu mehr Demokratie. In Russland führten sie zu einer autokratischeren Regierung. Diese Dynamik ist nicht auf ehemalige Sowjetstaaten beschränkt. Schau dir die Gewalt an, die in Äthiopien in 2005, Kenia in 2007 und Simbabwe in 2008 ausgebrochen ist.

Natürlich führen nicht alle Fälle von Wahlbetrug zu Protest und Legitimitätskrise, sondern Forschung von Joshua Tucker von der New York University und Andrew Little von der Cornell University schlägt vor, dass Behauptungen über Wahlbetrug ein mächtiges Werkzeug sind, um Protest zu sammeln. Darüber hinaus finden sie das ruft zum Protest auf Besonders wahrscheinlich sind sie in engen Wahlen, wo Wähler glauben, dass Betrug das Ergebnis beeinflusst haben könnte.

Man könnte argumentieren, dass Trump einen Punkt hat. Die Wahlen in den USA werden in dem Sinne "manipuliert", dass die Kandidaten enorme Geldsummen aufbringen und die Kandidaten von den Gebern abhängig machen müssen.

Ein harter Verkauf

Aber es ist viel schwieriger zu argumentieren, dass amerikanische Wahlen an der Wahlurne gestohlen werden können. Für all ihre großen Kosten, Wahlen in den USA sind bemerkenswert gut geführt. Wähleridentifikationsbetrug ist äußerst Selten. Eine Studie gefunden Einzelberichte über Wahlbetrug waren weniger wahrscheinlich als Berichte über Entführungen durch Ausländer. Ein weiterer gefunden dass in 2005 Strafverfolgungsmaßnahmen wegen Verstößen gegen die Zugvogelregelungen häufiger vorkamen als Fälle von Wahlbetrug. Als Kandidat würde ich lieber gegen einen Amtsinhaber in den USA vorgehen als in vielen anderen Ländern, wo Wahlurnen, Einschüchterung von Wählern und das Verbot politischer Gegner die Regel sind.

Allerdings gibt es viel Skepsis gegenüber der Durchführung von Wahlen in einigen Taschen der US-Forscher von der Yale University gefunden dass 36 Prozent der Befragten in einer nationalen Stichprobe in 2010 glaubten, dass ihre Wahl nicht geheim sei. Eine 2012-Umfrage aus Wisconsin gefunden dass knapp unter 40 Prozent der Befragten der Meinung waren, dass bei jeder Wahl "ein paar tausend" betrügerische Stimmen abgegeben wurden.

Ob der "manipulierte Wahl" -Bericht im November einen Biss haben wird, hängt von vielen Faktoren ab, einschließlich der Marge des Sieges, der Reaktion der Establishment-Republikaner auf Vorwürfe der Wahlmanipulation, der Qualität der Beweise, um die Behauptung zu stützen und anderer kontextueller Faktoren. Zum Beispiel ist es leicht vorstellbar, dass Wikileaks selektiv editierte E-Mails veröffentlicht, um die Wahlergebnisse zu diskreditieren. Die außerordentliche Gereiztheit und der Hauch von Gewalt in der Luft bei dieser Wahl werden diese Skepsis nur verstärken.

Vielleicht wird Donald Trump gewinnen, Hillary Clinton wird einräumen und die gefälschte Wahlerzählung wird strittig sein. Vielleicht ist das alles ein Bluff und Donald Trump wird ruhig in der Nacht gehen, aber das scheint nicht wahrscheinlich.

Was auch immer das Ergebnis im November sein wird, wird wahrscheinlich nicht durch Wahlmanipulation bestimmt werden.

Über den Autor

Timothy Frye, Professor für Politikwissenschaft, Columbia University

Dieser Artikel wurde ursprünglich veröffentlicht am Das Gespräch.. Lies das Original Artikel.

Bücher zum Thema

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Schlüsselwörter = 161628384X; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Is The US Electoral System Really Rigged?

Many have speculated how a Trump victory would affect the U.S., but few have thought about the consequences of a Trump loss. After falling behind Hillary Clinton in the polls, Donald Trump has already developed a narrative for his exit: The election was rigged.

So how likely is a rigged vote?

Full-throated claims

Last week Trump told Fox News: “I’m telling you – Nov. 8, we’d better be careful because that election is going to be rigged. And I hope the Republicans are watching closely or it is going to be taken away from us.”

This is not just an isolated or off-the-cuff statement. Trump confidant Roger Stone recently noted: “I think that we have widespread voter fraud, but the first thing that Trump needs to do is begin talking about it constantly.”

Trump’s campaign manager Paul Manafort noted: “Frankly we think that the situation in the country, just like with the DNC’s primaries, is a situation where if you rely on the Justice Department to ensure the security of elections, we have to be worried.”

That President Obama has dismissed these claims as ridiculous will do little to reassure Trump supporters.

The role of good losers

These charges and countercharges are more than just campaign rhetoric. They raise a central issue for democracy: the willingness of losers to comply with a decision reached via free and fair elections.

Political scientists have long identified this willingness as a critical component of American democracy. The most prominent example in recent memory is Al Gore’s refusal to contest the decision of the Supreme Court awarding Florida’s electoral votes to George W. Bush, effectively handing him victory in 2000. Gore could have easily provoked a constitutional crisis by challenging the results.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Interestingly, the claims of Trump supporters echo my research on electoral subversion in nondemocracies.

In Georgia in 2003, Ukraine in 2004 and Russia in 2011, the “losers” challenged the legitimacy of elections held under less than ideal conditions. The “victors” claimed that their rivals were merely sore losers. The losers then took to the streets and forced a showdown with the government. In Ukraine and Georgia the protests led to greater democracy, at least in the short run. In Russia, they resulted in a more autocratic government. These dynamics are not limited to former Soviet states. Look at the large-scale violence that erupted in Ethiopia in 2005, Kenya in 2007 and Zimbabwe in 2008.

Of course, not all cases of electoral fraud lead to protest and a crisis of legitimacy, but research by Joshua Tucker of New York University and Andrew Little of Cornell University suggests that claims of voter fraud are a powerful tool for rallying protest. In addition, they find that calls to protest are especially likely in close elections where voters believe that fraud may have swayed the outcome.

One could argue that Trump has a point. Elections in the U.S. are “rigged” in the sense that they require candidates to raise enormous sums of money and make candidates dependent on donors.

A tough sell

But it is much harder to argue that American elections can be stolen at the ballot box. For all their great expense, elections in the U.S. are remarkably well-run. Voter identification fraud is extremely rare. One study found that individual reports of vote fraud were less likely than reports of alien abduction. Another found that in 2005 prosecutions for migratory bird violations were more frequent than cases of electoral fraud. As a candidate, I’d far prefer to take my chances against an incumbent in the U.S. than in many other countries where ballot box-stuffing, voter intimidation and the banning of political opponents are the rule.

That said, there is much skepticism toward the conduct of elections in some pockets of the U.S. Researchers from Yale University found that 36 percent of respondents in a national sample in 2010 believed that their ballot was not secret. A 2012 survey from Wisconsin found that just under 40 percent of respondents believed that “a few thousand” fraudulent votes were cast in each election.

Whether the “rigged election” narrative will have bite in November will depend on many factors, including the margin of victory, the reaction of establishment Republicans to charges of vote-rigging, the quality of evidence to support the claim and other contextual factors. For example, it is easy to imagine Wikileaks publishing selectively edited emails to discredit the election results. The extraordinary vitriol and whiffs of violence in the air in this election will only amplify this skepticism.

Maybe Donald Trump will win, Hillary Clinton will concede and the rigged election narrative will be moot. Maybe this is all a bluff and Donald Trump will go quietly in the night, but that doesn’t seem likely.

Whatever the result in November, it is not likely to be determined by vote-rigging.

About The Author

Timothy Frye, Professor of Political Science, Columbia University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=161628384X;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…