يوتوبيا ليست مجرد خيال مثالي - إنها تلهم الناس لتغيير العالم

يوتوبيا ليست مجرد خيال مثالي - إنها تلهم الناس لتغيير العالم أفق مدينة سنغافورة. May_Lana / شترستوك

انهيار المناخ, الانقراض الجماعيو عدم المساواة القصوى تهدد نسيج الأرض الثري للحياة وتترك مصيرنا غير مؤكد على نحو متزايد. في وقت يشهد هذا الاضطراب الاجتماعي والسياسي والبيئي ، من الطبيعي أن نحلم بعالم طوباوي لم تعد فيه هذه المشاكل - في الواقع ، كان الناس يفعلون ذلك من أجل قرون.

غالبًا ما يتم رفض مثل هذه الرؤى باعتبارها أكثر من رحلات خيالية من الهوى ، تتوق إلى مجتمعات مثالية مستحيلة. لكن هذه الافتراضات غير صحيحة إلى حد كبير. إن الطوباوية هي شريان الحياة للتغيير الاجتماعي ، وقد ألهمت بالفعل عددًا لا يحصى من الأفراد والحركات لتغيير العالم نحو الأفضل.

يوتوبيا ليست كذلك جذور أصلانية اليونانية أقترح ، "لا مكان". قد يكون الاسم مشتقًا من أعمال توماس مور الكلاسيكية التي تعود إلى القرن 16th ، المدينة الفاضلة، لكنه لا يقتصر على أدب تصور بعيد أو عوالم مثالية خيالية.

إن الطوباوية هي في الواقع فلسفة تشمل مجموعة متنوعة من طرق التفكير أو محاولة إنشاء مجتمع أفضل. يبدأ بالإعلان الذي يبدو بسيطًا ولكنه قوي بأن الحاضر غير كافٍ الأمور يمكن أن تكون على خلاف ذلك. حاضر في المجتمعات ، والحركات الاجتماعية ، والخطاب السياسي ، ينتقد المجتمع والمشاريع الإبداعية خلاقة خالية من الخانقات في ذلك الوقت. ببساطة ، إنه يجسد دافعًا بشريًا طويل الأمد نحو تحسين الذات.

يوتوبيا ليست مجرد خيال مثالي - إنها تلهم الناس لتغيير العالم 'انا عندى حلم..' Emijrp / مكتب الشؤون العامة

إن اليوتوبيا واضحة في أمثلة تاريخية لا حصر لها من أولئك الذين تجرأوا على تحدي الوضع الراهن ويؤكدون أن الأشياء يمكن ـ بل ويجب ـ أن تتغير. يأخذ مارتن لوثر كينج أحلم بعالم خالٍ من الفصل العنصري على سبيل المثال ، أو كفاح المطالبات بحق اقتراع المرأة للمساواة بين الجنسين.

يوتوبيا البيئية

الآن ، تعد علاقتنا بالعالم الطبيعي تحديًا واضحًا للبشرية - وقد تحولت الأفكار الفاضلة لمواجهتها. إن تطلعات "Ecotopian" أصبحت بالفعل في مرأى ومسمع في شبكات المجتمع التي تحاول خلقها طرق أكثر وعيًا للحياة مثل شبكة الانتقالالحركات الاجتماعية مثل تمرد الانقراض، ومقترحات السياسة الجريئة مثل الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية صفقة جديدة خضراء. والأكثر من ذلك ، أن العديد من الأفكار التي طرحتها هذه المشاريع كانت منذ فترة طويلة متخيلة في الأعمال الأدبية الإيكولوجية البارزة.

في عوالم مثالية رسمت في إرنست Callenbach Ecotopia وكيم ستانلي روبنسون حافة المحيط الهادئ على سبيل المثال ، المصادر متجددة ومملوكة ملكية مشتركة. تتوفر الرعاية الصحية والتعليم والعمالة الهادفة للجميع. تم القضاء على تباينات الثروة الشديدة من خلال الحد الأقصى للدخل وخطط الحد الأدنى للأرباح. تنعكس هذه الأفكار في العديد من جوانب "الصفقة الجديدة الخضراء" ، والتي تهدف إلى تحويل الولايات المتحدة نحو الملكية المشتركة لأنظمة الطاقة ونظام الطاقة المتجددة 100٪ بواسطة 2030، وكذلك المنصوص عليها في القانون حقوق للرعاية الصحية لشخص واحد ، وضمان العمل بأجر معيشي ، وسكن ميسور التكلفة ، وتعليم جامعي مجاني.

ليس من الواضح ما إذا كانت ألكساندرو أوكاسيو كورتيز ، الشخصية القيادية للحزمة السياسية الكبرى ، مستوحاة مباشرة من هذه الأعمال. لكن انطلاقًا من الطريقة التي كانت تروج بها لـ "الصفقة الخضراء الجديدة" ، فإنها بالتأكيد ترى القيمة في رسم رؤى اليوتوبيا. على سبيل المثال ، فيديوها الفيروسي ، بعنوان "رسالة من المستقبل"، يتخيل خلاقًا مجتمعًا أكثر مرونة اجتماعيًا وإيكولوجيًا بعد بضعة عقود فقط من الآن - وبشكل حاسم ، يساعدنا على الاعتقاد بأن ذلك ممكن.

ك اللامركزية حركة عالمية تعطي أعضائها استقلالاً وتطالب السياسة فيها يؤدي المواطنون, تمرد الانقراض أيضا أصداء المثل العليا من روايات ecotopian. في Ecotopia والعديد من الأعمال المماثلة الأخرى ، فإن معظم جوانب الحياة لا مركزية ، من الزراعة على نطاق صغير إلى الرعاية الصحية الخاصة بأحياء معينة. في باسيفيك إيدج ، العلامة التجارية المباشرة لسياسة دعاة الانقراض المتمرد هي عنصر أساسي في الرفاهية الاجتماعية والبيئية.

التمرد الانقراض يحث على جهود نسبة زمن الحرب لإزالة الكربون عن طريق 2025 - هدف طوباوي تم تحقيقه شكوكية في بعض الأوساط. ولكن سواء كان ذلك قابلاً للتحقيق أم لا ، فإن هذا الطلب كان حاسمًا في إبراز أن ما يُعتبر ممكنًا سياسيًا في الوقت الحالي هو غير كافية لوقف انهيار المناخ الكارثي.

رؤاهم الراديكالية قد حولت المناخ والأزمات البيئية إلى طليعة الأجندة السياسية. وبشكل حاسم ، لديهم تحولت الملايين إلى فكرة أن التحولات الأساسية في الطريقة التي ننظم بها مجتمعاتنا وقوتها ممكنة.

بالنسبة للبعض ، قد تبدو المقترحات السياسية الجادة التي حددها "انقراض التمرد" وفي "الصفقة الجديدة الخضراء" كما هي غير واقعية كما الأعمال الأدبية التي تتخيل تحقيقها. لكن الأمثلة الحية لخيال ecotopian يمكن أن توجد بالفعل في العالم الذي نعيش فيه.

آلاف المجتمعات المتعمدة في جميع أنحاء العالم يخلقون بالفعل مساحات مع العدالة الاجتماعية والبيئية في صميمها. كثير من هذه المجتمعات البيئية كانت مستوحاة مباشرة من المجتمعات المتخيلة في روايات ecotopian. على سبيل المثال ، تم إنشاء المئات من القرى البيئية في منطقة البلطيق وفقًا للمفهوم المنصوص عليه في فلاديمير ميجر أرز روسيا الطنين.

يوتوبيا ليست مجرد خيال مثالي - إنها تلهم الناس لتغيير العالم إيكولوجية لاتفية قائمة على أرز الرنين في روسيا. سانتا زمباها / ويكيميديا ​​كومنز, CC BY-SA

بعض الحركات ، مثل شبكة الانتقال - الذي يصف المؤسس المشارك نفسه بأنه "حصادة الرؤية"- حتى تعمل على تحويل المستوطنات القائمة في جميع أنحاء العالم ، مع نجاح كبير. كمثال واحد فقط بين المبادرات في مدن وبلدات 1,000 تقريبًا ، Transition Marlborough's النحلة Roadzz المشروع في جنوب غرب إنجلترا قد جمعت بين السكان المحليين والشركات والمنظمات لربط الموائل ومكافحة انخفاض سريع النحل والملقحات الأخرى.

في تحطيم صلابة المتصورة في الوقت الحاضر ، تمهد الطوباوية الطريق للتغيير. قد لا تكون العوالم المثالية قابلة للتحقيق أو حتى مرغوبة ، لكن هذا لا يعني أننا يجب أن نتجنب التخيل والسعي من أجل مستقبل أفضل. إن المجتمعات التي تفتقر إلى اللامساواة الشديدة والتدهور البيئي تقع بالتأكيد ضمن حدود هذا الاحتمال. سواء في شكل رواية إبداعية أو حركة اجتماعية أو اقتراح سياسي ، يمكن أن يساعدنا الحلم في الوصول إلى هناك.

نبذة عن الكاتب

هيذر ألبرو ، محاضر مشارك / دكتوراه في علم البيئة السياسية ، جامعة نوتنغهام ترينت

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Utopia Isn't Just Idealistic Fantasy – It Inspires People To Change The World

Utopia Isn't Just Idealistic Fantasy – It Inspires People To Change The World Singapore City’s skyline. May_Lana/Shutterstock

Climate breakdown, mass extinctions, and extreme inequality threaten the earth’s rich tapestry of life and leave our own fate increasingly uncertain. At a time of such social, political and ecological upheaval, it’s natural to dream of a utopian world in which these problems are no more – in fact, people have been doing it for centuries.

Such visions are often dismissed as nothing more than pointless flights of fancy, yearnings for impossibly perfect societies. But these assumptions are largely incorrect. Utopianism is the lifeblood of social change, and has already inspired countless individuals and movements to change the world for the better.

Utopia is not, as its Greek etymological roots suggest, a “no-place”. The name may derive from Thomas More’s classic 16th-century fictional work, Utopia, but it is not confined to literature depicting distant or fantastical ideal worlds.

Utopianism is in fact a philosophy that encompasses a variety of ways of thinking about or attempting to create a better society. It begins with the seemingly simple yet powerful declaration that the present is inadequate and that things can be otherwise. Present in communities, social movements, and political discourse, it critiques society and creatively projects futures free of the strangleholds of the time. Put simply, it embodies a longstanding human impulse towards self-improvement.

Utopia Isn't Just Idealistic Fantasy – It Inspires People To Change The World ‘I have a dream..’ Emijrp/Bureau of Public Affairs

Utopianism is manifest in countless historical examples of those that have dared to challenge the status quo and assert that things can – and indeed, must – change. Take Martin Luther-King’s dream of a world free of racial segregation for example, or the strivings of the suffragettes for gender equality.

Ecological utopia

Now, our relationship with the natural world is humanity’s defining challenge – and utopian ideas have shifted to meet it. “Ecotopian” aspirations are already in full view in community networks attempting to create more conscious ways of living such as the Transition Network, social movements such as Extinction Rebellion, and bold policy proposals such as the USA’s Green New Deal. What’s more, many of the ideas put forth by these projects were long since imagined in prominent ecotopian literary works.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


In the ideal worlds sketched in Ernst Callenbach’s Ecotopia and Kim Stanley Robinson’s Pacific Edge for example, resources are renewably sourced and communally owned. Healthcare, education, and meaningful employment are available to all. Extreme wealth disparities have been eradicated through income caps and minimum earnings schemes. These ideas are reflected in many aspects of the Green New Deal, which aims to transition the USA towards communal ownership of energy systems and a 100% renewable energy system by 2030, as well as enshrine into law rights to single-payer healthcare, guaranteed work at a living wage, affordable housing, and free university education.

It’s not clear whether Alexandro Ocasio-Cortez, the leading figurehead for the grand policy package, was directly inspired by these works. But judging from the way she has been promoting the Green New Deal, she certainly sees the value in painting visions of utopia. For example, her viral video, titled “A Message from the Future”, creatively imagines a more socially and ecologically resilient society just a few decades on from now – and, crucially, helps us to believe that it is possible.

As a decentralised global movement that gives its members autonomy and demands politics in which citizens lead, Extinction Rebellion also echoes ideals from ecotopian novels. In Ecotopia and many other similar works, most aspects of life are decentralised, from small-scale agriculture to neighborhood-specific healthcare. In Pacific Edge, the direct brand of politics Extinction Rebellion advocates is central to social and ecological wellbeing.

Extinction Rebellion urges efforts of wartime proportion to decarbonise by 2025 – a utopian target that has been met with scepticism in some quarters. But whether or not it is achievable, such a demand has been crucial in highlighting that what is presently deemed politically possible is not sufficient to stop catastrophic climate breakdown.

Their radical visions have shifted the climate and ecological crises to the forefront of the political agenda. And, crucially, they have switched millions on to the idea that fundamental transformations in the way we organise and power our societies are possible.

To some, the serious political proposals outlined by Extinction Rebellion and in the Green New Deal might seem as unrealistic as the literary works that imagine their realisation. But living examples of ecotopian imagination can already be found in the world we live in.

Thousands of intentional communities across the globe are already creating spaces with social and ecological justice at their heart. Many of these eco-communities have been directly inspired by the communities imagined in ecotopian novels. For example, hundreds of eco-villages in the Baltic region were set up according to the concept laid out in Vladimir Megre’s The Ringing Cedars of Russia.

Utopia Isn't Just Idealistic Fantasy – It Inspires People To Change The World A Latvian ecovillage based on The Ringing Cedars of Russia. Santa Zembaha/Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA

Some movements, such as the Transition Network – whose co-founder describes himself as a “vision harvester” – are even working to transform existing settlements across the world, with great success. As just one example among initiatives in nearly 1,000 towns and cities, Transition Marlborough’s Bee Roadzz project in south-west England has drawn together local residents, businesses and organisations to link habitats and combat the rapid decline of bees and other pollinators.

In shattering the perceived rigidity of the present, utopianism paves the way for change. Perfect worlds may not be realisable or even desirable, but that doesn’t mean we should shy away from imagining and striving for a better future. Societies without extreme inequality and environmental degradation are surely within the bounds of possibility. Whether in the form of a creative novel, a social movement, or a political proposal, dreaming can help us get there.

About The Author

Heather Alberro, Associate Lecturer/PhD Candidate in Political Ecology, Nottingham Trent University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}