النظام العالمي للسلام: الأكل بوصفه قانونًا سياسيًا واجتماعيًا وروحيًا

الأكل كقانون سياسي واجتماعي وروحي: النظام العالمي للسلاميعتبر الانتقال إلى نظام غذائي نباتي أحد أهم الأمور التي يمكننا القيام بها لوقف تغير المناخ. صورة وليام فيلكر / Unsplash

يجب أن نصدق أننا قادرون على خلق "مكان للحب والمساعدة المتبادلة والتفاهم". هذه هي الطريقة صاحب البصيرة تيم بيرنرز-لي وصف اليوتوبيان جون بيري بارلو في وقت وفاته ، مضيفا: "لا أعتقد أنه كان ساذجًا."

إن أزمة تغير المناخ الحالية لدينا تتطلب هذا النوع من العمل الجريء والملهم والتحويلي. الكتاب سحب ، أكثر خطة شاملة لعكس الاحترار العالمي، اخرج من قبل مشروع تراجعويوضح والخرائط والقياسات والنماذج الحلول الموجودة بالفعل.

يحدث "السحب" عندما ننجح في تقليل تركيز غازات الدفيئة في الغلاف الجوي على أساس سنوي. هذا ليس احلام اليقظة. نحن نحقق هذا حاليا على نطاق صغير. إذا قمنا بزيادة هذه الجهود ، يمكننا ذلك عكس الاحترار العالمي.

تصعيد تغير المناخ لا يجب أن نكون محتومين مثل مدة الحرارة الشديدة هذا الصيف. إنها ليست شاسعة أو صلبة أو معقدة للغاية بالنسبة لنا للتعامل معها. إنه أهم هدف تتعهد به الإنسانية في هذا الوقت.

ثمانية من الإجراءات 25 العلوي لتحقيق هذا الانعكاس تشمل الغذاء. يمكن لكل واحد منا إعادة النظر في المواد الغذائية التي ننتجها ، وتناول الطعام والهزال. ويمكننا أن ندعو لمزيد من الإجراءات الحكومية والصناعية لدعم أنظمة الغذاء المستدامة.

الاكل السياسي 2 1لا شيء أكثر قوة وتأثيرا يؤثر على الحياة اليومية للجميع من طعامنا. الكسندر بودفاليني / Unsplash

النظام العالمي للسلام يقدم طريقة واحدة. هذا النظام الغذائي يشجع على الأكل. يقول المناصرون أن العديد من الأكلين الذين يعتمدون على الحيوانات يصبحون إلى حد كبير بسبب الضغوط الثقافية والاجتماعية والعائلية. يجادلون أنه ليس من الضروري الاستمرار في هذه التقاليد غير المفحوصة والتي عفا عليها الزمن.

الغذاء يؤثر على كل شيء

الأكل هو شخصي ، عام وسياسي ويؤثر على جميع جوانب الحياة البشرية. لا شيء أكثر قوة وتأثيرا يؤثر على الحياة اليومية لكل فرد من غذائنا وخياراتنا الغذائية والنظم الغذائية. الغذاء هو أداة لتغذية الحياة ولكن أيضا لاتخاذ إجراءات سياسية ولتجنب مخاطر تغير المناخ ومنع الضرر غير الضروري.

إذا تحولنا إلى نظام غذائي نباتي وحياة غنية بالنباتات ، سيتم استخدام مياهنا وأرضنا ووقودنا بشكل أكثر كفاءة وأخلاقًا. عندما نقوم بتوصيل الحبوب والبقوليات إلى الحيوانات وبعيدًا عن الاستهلاك البشري ، فإننا نجعلها تحدياً أكبر أمام صغار المنتجين للتنافس في سلسلة الإمداد العالمية ولحصول الفقراء على الغذاء الكافي.

مجموعة من تنشأ مشاكل من الزراعة الحيوانية - الأمراض المرتبطة بالنظام الغذائي ، انعدام الأمن الغذائي وعدم المساواةوالجوع والسمنة ، وتكاليف الرعاية الصحية المتصاعدة ، والسلع الحيوانية ، إلى جانب تلوث المياه والهواء ، وفقدان التنوع البيولوجي وتدهور التربة وتدهور الأراضي.

كما يتطلب الأمر عدة مرات موارد لإنتاج نفس الكمية من الطعام من خلال المنتجات الحيوانية ، إن تناول المزيد من النباتات وأقل اللحوم ومنتجات الألبان والبيض سيمكن من التوزيع العادل لأغذية وموارد العالم.

العديد من الباحثين والناشطين الدعوة إلى نظم غذائية عالمية أكثر استدامة.

تقرير من منظمة الأمم المتحدة للأغذية والزراعة (الفاو) عن "الظل الطويل للثروة الحيوانية" يظهر أن الزراعة الحيوانية - إنتاج اللحوم واستهلاكها - تسخن وتلوث موارد الكوكب.

الباحث الاستدامة ماركو سبرينجمان وفريقه ، مع مشروع مستقبل الغذاء و ال مؤسسة القلب البريطانية توقع أن التبني العالمي لنظام غذائي نباتي قد ينتج عنه 7.3 مليون حالة وفاة أقل كل عام. تأرجح هائل لنظام غذائي نباتي يقول الخبراء ، من شأنه أن يؤدي إلى الوقاية إضافية من السمنة وارتفاع ضغط الدم ونوع السكري 2 وفيات القلب والأوعية الدموية.

الـ مؤتمر الوقاية من الأمراض النباتية ، تستضيف الأحداث لتثقيف الجمهور بأن الحمية النباتية يمكن أن تمنع الأمراض. و جين باور أوف فارم سانكتواري ، تتحدانا حركة سياسية واجتماعية وروحية عندما نقول: "إذا استطعنا العيش بشكل جيد دون التسبب في ضرر غير ضروري ، فلماذا لا نفعل ذلك؟"

يتخيل قادة مثل هذه المنظمات عالماً يتم فيه تغذية جميع الكائنات والمحبة والرعاية. يبدو أن مثل هذه التصورات تقدم عوائد جيدة. سنستفيد جميعًا من نتائج هذا النوع من تغيير النظام الغذائي: سيكون الناس أكثر صحة ، سيكون هناك عدد أقل من الموت المبكر والإعاقة ، و يمكن أن توفر ميزانيات المحافظات بعض الموارد لحضور أولويات إضافية خارج نطاق الرعاية الصحية.

الحياة النباتية الغنية ، وتناول الطعام في الاعتبار

وتعاني الحيوانات وتفقد حياتها في النظام الغذائي ، لكن العمال في المسالخ يواجهون وظائف غير مستقرة ومتطلبة نفسياً ومنخفضة الأجر.

وكما يشير الكاتب جوناثان سافران فوير ، فإن هذا النظام غالباً ما يعامل "الحيوانات الحية مثل الحيوانات الميتة." العاملون في المجال الإنساني يتحسنون بشكل طفيف فقط. العمل في المسلخ هو مطالب جسدية ومضبوطة سلالة عقلية وعاطفية كبيرة.

الأكل كقانون سياسي واجتماعي وروحي: النظام العالمي للسلامالحد من استهلاك اللحوم هو أفضل بالنسبة لكوكب الأرض ، وكذلك أكثر أخلاقيًا لأن الحيوانات لا تتعرض للأذى. سام كارتر / Unsplash

ربما لا يكون جهلنا مفاجئًا. إن الطبيعة المبهمة لأنظمتنا الغذائية - بما في ذلك عمليات تغذية الحيوانات المركزة (CAFOs) - هي حسب التصميم. قوانين Ag-Gag موجودة في "كل دولة مهمة تنتج الثروة الحيوانية". تجعل هذه القوانين "جريمة لأي شخص ، بما في ذلك موظفي CAFOs ، لالتقاط الصور التي توثق إساءة معاملة الحيوانات أو الانتهاكات البيئية."

عندما يتعلق الأمر بخيارات الأغذية ، فنحن نشجع على عدم دراسة العلاقات الاستغلالية مع الحيوانات أو الأشخاص الآخرين. لقد أصبح البشر 'ترشيد ، على استعداد ل تجاهل العلم والأخلاق ورفاهيتنا ، حتى نتمكن من ذبح واستهلاك الحيوانات.

من خلال الحد من الزراعة الحيوانية ، يمكننا أيضا تحسين الصحة ، وتحقيق الاستقرار في أسعار الحبوب ، وتعزيز الأمن الغذائي ومنع الأضرار والعنف غير الضروري. سوف توتل ، مؤلف النظام العالمي للسلام يقول:

"الغذاء مصدر ومجاز للحياة ، الحب ، الكرم ، الاحتفال ، المتعة ، الطمأنة ، الاستملاك والاستهلاك. في الوقت نفسه ، يمكن أن يكون مجازًا للمراقبة والهيمنة والقسوة والموت. الأكل يمكن أن يكون عملاً حميماً وهادئاً ، ونظام رعاية وحب ذاتي ، ورسالة سياسية قوية. "في الكلمات الحكيمة من لوراكس من قبل الدكتور سيوس ،" ما لم يكن شخص مثلك يهتم بكثرة كبيرة ، لا شيء سوف يتحسن. ليست كذلك."

يمكننا اختيار نمط حياة غير عنيف. يمكننا اختيار عدم أخذ حياة للأكل. يمكننا تناول مجموعة من المكسرات والبذور والبقوليات والفواكه والخضروات لتلبية متطلباتنا الغذائية دون التخلي عن الذوق أو الرضا.

لم يتم إطلاق فيلم المخرج جيمس كاميرون أكبر منشأة لإنتاج البروتين البازلاء في كندا لأنه يعتقد أنها ستكون فكرة ستتلاشى. هذا هو الطريق إلى الأمام.

يتم تحميل البازلاء مع مفيدة الفيتامينات مثل K التي تقوي صحة العظام. أنها توفر الألياف عالية ، ودهون منخفضة ومصدر قوي للبروتين النباتي. وعندما تكون طازجة فإنها تذوق مثل الصيف في فمك.

يمكن أن يساعد اختيار البازلاء على بناء مكان الحب والمساعدة المتبادلة والتفاهم الذي تصوره جون بيري بارلو. يمكن أن يكون الغذاء أعظم وسيلة لدينا للحصول على مزيد من العيش السلمي والواضح والمستدام.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

كاثلين كيفاني ، أستاذ مشارك في نظم الأغذية المستدامة ، مدير مركز البحوث الريفية ، جامعة دالهوزي

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = 1590565274. maxresults = 1}

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = food foodism؛ maxresults = 2}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

The World Peace Diet: Eating As A Political, Social, Spiritual Act

activism

Eating As A Political, Social, Spiritual Act: The World Peace DietMoving to a plant-based diet is one of the top things we can do to stop climate change. Photo by William Felker/Unsplash

We must believe that we are capable of creating “a place of love and mutual assistance and understanding.” This is how visionary Tim Berners-Lee described the utopianist John Perry Barlow at the time of his death, adding: “I don’t think he was naïve.”

Our current climate change crisis calls for this type of bold, inspiring and transformative action. The book Drawdown, The Most Comprehensive Plan to Reverse Global Warming, put out by Project Drawdown, explains, maps, measures and models solutions that are already in place.

“Drawing down” occurs when we succeed in reducing the concentration of greenhouse gases in the atmosphere on a year-to-year basis. This is not a daydream. We are currently achieving this on a small scale. If we scale up these efforts we can reverse global warming.

Escalating climate change need not be inevitable like the duration of this summer’s extreme heat. It is not too vast or too hard or too complex for us to tackle. It is the most important goal for humanity to undertake at this time.

Eight of the top 25 actions to achieve this reversal involve food. Each one of us can rethink the food we are producing, eating and wasting. And we can call for more government and industry action to support sustainable food systems.

political eating2 1 4Nothing more fully and powerfully influences the daily lives of everyone than our food. Alexandr Podvalny/Unsplash

The World Peace Diet offers one way. This diet encourages mindful eating. Advocates say that many animal-based eaters become so largely because of cultural, social and familial pressures. They argue that it is not necessary to carry on these unexamined and outmoded traditions.

Food impacts everything

Eating is personal, public and political and impacts all aspects of human life. Nothing more fully and powerfully influences the daily lives of everyone than our food, food choices and food systems. Food is a tool to nourish life but also for taking political action and for averting the dangers of climate change and preventing unnecessary harm.

If we shift to plant-based diets and plant-rich living, our water, land and fuel will be used more efficiently and ethically. When we channel grains and legumes to animals and away from human consumption we make it more challenging for small producers to compete in the global supply chain and for the poor to obtain adequate nourishment.

An array of problems arise from animal agriculture — diet-related diseases, food insecurity and inequality, hunger as well as obesity, escalating health-care costs, animal commodification, along with water and air pollution, biodiversity loss and soil deterioration and land degradation.

As it takes many times the resources to produce the same amount of food through animal products, eating more plants and less meat, dairy and eggs would enable a fairer distribution of the world’s food and resources.

Many researchers and activists are calling for more sustainable global food systems.

A report from the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organisation (FAO) on “livestock’s long shadow” shows that animal agriculture — meat production and consumption — is heating up and polluting the planet’s resources.

Sustainability researcher Marco Springmann and his team, with the Future of Food project and the British Heart Foundation predict that the global adoption of a vegetarian diet would result in 7.3 million less deaths per year. A massive swing to a vegan diet, experts say, would result in additional prevention of obesity, hypertension, Type 2 diabetes and cardiovascular mortality.

The Plant-based Prevention Of Disease conference, hosts events to educate the public that plant-based diets can prevent diseases. And Gene Baur of Farm Sanctuary, a political, social and spiritual movement challenges us when saying, “If we can live well without causing unnecessary harm, why wouldn’t we?”

Leaders of such organisations imagine a world where all beings are fed, loved and nurtured. It seems such imaginings offer pretty good returns. We will all benefit from the outcomes of this type of diet change: people will be healthier, there will be less premature death and disability, and provincial budgets could save some resources to attend to additional priorities beyond health care.

Plant-rich living, mindful eating

Animals suffer and lose their lives to the food system, but workers in slaughterhouses also face precarious, psychologically demanding, low-paying jobs.

As writer Jonathan Safran Foer suggests, this system often treats “living animals like dead ones.” Human workers fare only slightly better. Slaughterhouse work is physically demanding and exacts significant mental and emotional strain.

Eating As A Political, Social, Spiritual Act: The World Peace DietReducing meat consumption is better for the planet and also more ethical as no animals are harmed. Sam Carter/Unsplash

Maybe our ignorance is not so surprising. The opaque nature of our food systems - including concentrated animal feeding operations (CAFOs) - is by design. Ag-Gag laws, are present in “virtually every significant livestock producing state.” These laws make it a “crime for anyone, including employees of CAFOs, to take pictures that document animal abuse or environmental violations.”

When it comes to food choices, we are encouraged not to examine exploitative relationships with animals or other people. Humans have become ‘rationalizing, ready to disregard science, morals and our well-being, so we can slaughter and consume animals.

By reducing animal agriculture, we also could improve health, stabilize grain prices, enhance food security and prevent unnecessary harm and violence. Will Tuttle, author of The World Peace Diet says:

“Food is a source and metaphor of life, love, generosity, celebration, pleasure, reassurance, acquisition and consumption. While concurrently, it can be a metaphor of control, domination, cruelty, and death. Eating can be a purposeful, intimate act, a regime of self-care and love, and a powerful political message.” In the wise words of the Lorax by Dr. Seuss, “Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, Nothing is going to get better. It’s not.”

We can choose a non-violent lifestyle. We could choose not to take a life to eat. We could eat an array of nuts, seeds, legumes, fruits and vegetables to meet our nutritional requirements without giving up on taste or satisfaction.

Movie director, James Cameron isn’t launching the biggest pea protein production facility in Canada because he thinks it will be an idea that will fade. This is the way forward.

Peas are loaded with helpful vitamins like K that strengthens bone health. They provide high fiber, low fat and a powerful source of vegetable protein. And when fresh they taste like summer in your mouth.

Choosing peas can help to build the place of love and mutual assistance and understanding that John Perry Barlow envisioned. Food could be our greatest vehicle for more peaceful, mindful and sustainable living.The Conversation

About The Author

Kathleen Kevany, Associate Professor Sustainable Food Systems, Director of Rural Research Centre, Dalhousie University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

The World Peace Diet: Eating for Spiritual Health and Social Harmony

activismAuthor: Will Tuttle
Binding: Paperback
Studio: Lantern Books
Label: Lantern Books
Publisher: Lantern Books
Manufacturer: Lantern Books

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

New Tenth Anniversary Edition

What is so simple as eating an apple? And yet, what could be more sacred or profound? Food is our most intimate and telling connection both with the natural order and with our cultural heritage. But it is increasingly clear that the choices we make about food today are leading to environmental degradation, enormous human health problems, and unimaginable cruelty toward our fellow creatures.

The World Peace Diet presents the outlines of a more empowering understanding of our world, based on comprehending the far-reaching implications of our food choices. Incorporating systems theory, teachings from mythology and religions, and the human sciences, Will Tuttle offers a set of universal principles for all people of conscience, from any religious tradition, that show how we as a species can move our consciousness forward―allowing us to become more free, more intelligent, more loving, and happier in the choices we make.

Since it was published in 2005, The World Peace Diet and author Will Tuttle have reached hundreds of thousands of people around the globe and created a whole new movement of people making a conscious connection with a healthful diet and cruelty-free living, and committing spiritually, psychologically, and socially to nonviolence and genuine sustainability. This tenth anniversary edition contains a new foreword, new resources (including recipes), and a study guide.





Food Activism: Agency, Democracy and Economy

activismBinding: Paperback
Features:
  • Bloomsbury Academic

Brand: imusti
Creator(s):
  • Carole Counihan
  • Valeria Siniscalchi

Studio: Bloomsbury Academic
Label: Bloomsbury Academic
Publisher: Bloomsbury Academic
Manufacturer: Bloomsbury Academic

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

Across the globe, people are challenging the agro-industrial food system and its exploitation of people and resources, reduction of local food varieties, and negative health consequences. In this collection leading international anthropologists explore food activism across the globe to show how people speak to, negotiate, or cope with power through food.

Who are the actors of food activism and what forms of agency do they enact? What kinds of economy, exchanges, and market relations do they practice and promote? How are they organized and what are their scales of political action and power relations? Each chapter explores why and how people choose food as a means of forging social and economic justice, covering diverse forms of food activism from individual acts by consumers or producers to organized social groups or movements. The case studies embrace a wide geographical spectrum including Cuba, Sri Lanka, Egypt, Mexico, Italy, Canada, France, Colombia, Japan, and the USA.

This is the first book to examine food activism in diverse local, national, and transnational settings, making it essential reading for students and scholars in anthropology and other fields interested in food, economy, politics and social change.





The New Food Activism: Opposition, Cooperation, and Collective Action

activismBinding: Paperback
Features:
  • University Press Group Ltd

Brand: University Press Group Ltd
Creator(s):
  • Alison Hope Alkon

Studio: University of California Press
Label: University of California Press
Publisher: University of California Press
Manufacturer: University of California Press

Buy Now
Editorial Review:
The New Food Activism explores how food activism can be pushed toward deeper and more complex engagement with social, racial, and economic justice and toward advocating for broader and more transformational shifts in the food system. Topics examined include struggles against pesticides and GMOs, efforts to improve workers’ pay and conditions throughout the food system, and ways to push food activism beyond its typical reliance on individualism, consumerism, and private property. The authors challenge and advance existing discourse on consumer trends, food movements, and the intersection of food with racial and economic inequalities.




activism
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}