Всемирная диета мира: еда как политический, социальный, духовный акт

Питание как политический, социальный, духовный акт: Всемирная диета мираПереход на растительную диету - одна из главных вещей, которую мы можем сделать, чтобы остановить изменение климата. Фото Уильяма Фелкера / Unsplash

Мы должны верить, что мы способны создать «место любви, взаимопомощи и понимания». Вот как провидец Тим Бернерс-Ли описал утописта Джона Перри Барлоу во время его смерти, добавив: «Я не думаю, что он был наивен».

Наш нынешний кризис изменения климата требует такого рода смелых, вдохновляющих и преобразующих действий. Книга Просадка, самый всеобъемлющий план по борьбе с глобальным потеплением, потушить Проект Просадка, объясняет, карты, меры и модели решений, которые уже существуют.

«Сброс» происходит, когда нам удается снизить концентрацию парниковых газов в атмосфере на ежегодной основе. Это не мечта. В настоящее время мы достигаем этого в небольшом масштабе. Если мы расширим эти усилия, мы сможем обратное глобальное потепление.

Эскалация изменения климата не должно быть неизбежным, как продолжительность экстремальной жары этим летом, Это не слишком обширно, не слишком сложно и не слишком сложно для нас. Это самая важная цель для человечества в настоящее время.

Восемь из главных действий 25 по достижению этой цели связаны с едой. Каждый из нас может переосмыслить пищу, которую мы производим, едим и тратим. И мы можем призвать к более активным действиям правительства и промышленности для поддержки устойчивых продовольственных систем.

политическая еда2 1 4Ничто так полно и сильно не влияет на повседневную жизнь каждого, как наша еда. Александр Подвальный / Unsplash

Всемирная диета мира предлагает один путь. Эта диета поощряет осознанное питание. Защитники говорят, что многие пожиратели животных становятся такими в значительной степени из-за культурного, социального и семейного давления. Они утверждают, что нет необходимости продолжать эти неисследованные и устаревшие традиции.

Пища влияет на все

Питание является личным, общественным и политическим и влияет на все аспекты человеческой жизни. Ничто так полно и мощно не влияет на повседневную жизнь каждого, как наша еда, выбор продуктов питания и системы питания. Еда - это инструмент для питания жизни, а также для принятия политических мер и предотвращения опасности изменения климата и предотвращения ненужного вреда.

Если мы перейдем к растительным диетам и богатой растениями жизни, наша вода, земля и топливо будут использоваться более эффективно и этично. Когда мы направляем зерно и бобовые на животных и избегаем потребления человеком, мы делаем это более трудным для мелких производителей конкурировать в глобальной цепочке поставок, а для бедных получить адекватное питание.

Массив проблемы возникают из животноводства - заболевания, связанные с диетой, отсутствие продовольственной безопасности и неравенствоголод, а также ожирение, растущие расходы на здравоохранение, коммодификация животных, а также загрязнение воды и воздуха, утрата биоразнообразия, ухудшение состояния почвы и деградация земель.

Поскольку для производства одинакового количества пищи через продукты животного происхождения требуется много раз, Употребление в пищу большего количества растений и меньше мяса, молочных продуктов и яиц обеспечит более справедливое распределение продовольствия и ресурсов в мире.

Многие исследователи и активисты призыв к более устойчивым глобальным продовольственным системам.

Доклад Продовольственной и сельскохозяйственной организации Объединенных Наций (ФАО) о «длинной тени домашнего скота» показывает, что животноводство - производство и потребление мяса - разогревает и загрязняет ресурсы планеты.

Исследователь устойчивого развития Марко Спрингманн и его команда, с Проект Future of Food и British Heart Foundation предсказать, что глобальное принятие вегетарианской диеты приведет к 7.3 на миллион меньше смертей в год. Массивные колебания к веганской диете, эксперты говорят, что приведет к дополнительной профилактике ожирения, гипертонии, диабета типа 2 и сердечно-сосудистой смертности.

Конференция по профилактике заболеваний на основе растений, Проводит мероприятия по просвещению общественности о том, что растительные диеты могут предотвращать заболевания. А также Джин Баур Фарм Святилище, политическое, социальное и духовное движение бросает нам вызов, говоря: «Если мы можем жить хорошо, не причиняя ненужного вреда, почему бы нам не сделать этого?»

Лидеры таких организаций представляют мир, в котором все существа накормлены, любимы и воспитаны. Кажется, такие фантазии предлагают довольно хорошие доходы. Мы все выиграем от результатов такого изменения диеты: люди будут здоровее, будет меньше преждевременной смерти и инвалидности, бюджеты провинций могут сэкономить некоторые ресурсы для решения дополнительных приоритетных задач, помимо здравоохранения.

Жизнь, богатая растениями, осознанная еда

Животные страдают и гибнут в продовольственной системе, но работники скотобоен также сталкиваются с нестабильной, психологически сложной и низкооплачиваемой работой.

Как предполагает писатель Джонатан Сафран Фоер, эта система часто относится к «Живые животные, как мертвые». Человеческие работники живут чуть лучше. Работа бойни физически трудна и требовательна значительное умственное и эмоциональное напряжение.

Питание как политический, социальный, духовный акт: Всемирная диета мираСокращение потребления мяса лучше для планеты, а также более этично, поскольку никто из животных не пострадал. Сэм Картер / Unsplash

Может быть, наше невежество не так удивительно. Непрозрачный характер наших пищевых систем - включая концентрированные кормовые операции (CAFO) - является собственно дизайном. Законы Ag-Gag присутствуют «практически в каждом значительном штате животноводства». Эти законы делают «преступлением для всех, в том числе сотрудников CAFO, фотографировать, которые документируют жестокое обращение с животными или экологические нарушения».

Когда дело доходит до выбора продуктов питания, нам рекомендуется не изучать эксплуататорские отношения с животными или другими людьми. Люди стали рационализировать, готовы игнорировать науку, мораль и наше благополучие, чтобы мы могли убивать и потреблять животных.

Сокращая животноводство, мы также могли бы улучшить здоровье, стабилизировать цены на зерно, повысить продовольственную безопасность и предотвратить ненужный вред и насилие. Уилл Таттл, Автор Всемирная диета мира говорит:

«Еда - это источник и метафора жизни, любви, щедрости, праздника, удовольствия, уверенности, приобретения и потребления. Одновременно это может быть метафора контроля, господства, жестокости и смерти. Еда может быть целеустремленным, интимным актом, режимом заботы о себе и любви, а также мощным политическим посланием ». В мудрых словах« Лоракса »доктора Сьюза:« Если кто-то, как вы, не очень заботится о вас, Ничто не собирается стать лучше. Это не."

Мы можем выбрать ненасильственный образ жизни. Мы могли бы не есть жизнь. Мы могли бы есть множество орехов, семян, бобовых, фруктов и овощей, чтобы удовлетворить наши потребности в питании, не отказываясь от вкуса или удовлетворения.

Режиссер фильма Джеймс Кэмерон не запускает самое большое производство горохового белка в Канаде потому что он думает, что это будет идея, которая исчезнет. Это путь вперед.

Горох загружен полезным витамины, такие как К, которые укрепляют здоровье костей. Они обеспечивают высоким содержанием клетчатки, низким содержанием жира и мощный источник растительного белка. А когда они свежие, они на вкус как лето во рту.

Выбор гороха может помочь построить место любви и взаимопомощи и понимания, которое предполагал Джон Перри Барлоу. Еда может быть нашим лучшим средством для более спокойной, внимательной и устойчивой жизни.Беседа

Об авторе

Кэтлин Кевани, доцент устойчивых пищевых систем, директор Сельского исследовательского центра, Университет Далхаузи

Эта статья переиздана из Беседа под лицензией Creative Commons. Прочтите оригинал статьи.

Книги по этой теме

{amazonWS: searchindex = Книги; ключевые слова = 1590565274; maxresults = 1}

{amazonWS: searchindex = Книги; ключевые слова = продовольственный активизм; maxresults = 2}

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

Ice on Fire: официальный трейлер и интервью HBO
by Роберт Дженнингс, InnerSelf.com
Страх и фобии: как противостоять им и рассеивать их
Страх и фобии: как противостоять им и рассеивать их
by Роберт Т. Лондон, доктор медицины

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

Страх и фобии: как противостоять им и рассеивать их
Страх и фобии: как противостоять им и рассеивать их
by Роберт Т. Лондон, доктор медицины

The World Peace Diet: Eating As A Political, Social, Spiritual Act

activism

Eating As A Political, Social, Spiritual Act: The World Peace DietMoving to a plant-based diet is one of the top things we can do to stop climate change. Photo by William Felker/Unsplash

We must believe that we are capable of creating “a place of love and mutual assistance and understanding.” This is how visionary Tim Berners-Lee described the utopianist John Perry Barlow at the time of his death, adding: “I don’t think he was naïve.”

Our current climate change crisis calls for this type of bold, inspiring and transformative action. The book Drawdown, The Most Comprehensive Plan to Reverse Global Warming, put out by Project Drawdown, explains, maps, measures and models solutions that are already in place.

“Drawing down” occurs when we succeed in reducing the concentration of greenhouse gases in the atmosphere on a year-to-year basis. This is not a daydream. We are currently achieving this on a small scale. If we scale up these efforts we can reverse global warming.

Escalating climate change need not be inevitable like the duration of this summer’s extreme heat. It is not too vast or too hard or too complex for us to tackle. It is the most important goal for humanity to undertake at this time.

Eight of the top 25 actions to achieve this reversal involve food. Each one of us can rethink the food we are producing, eating and wasting. And we can call for more government and industry action to support sustainable food systems.

political eating2 1 4Nothing more fully and powerfully influences the daily lives of everyone than our food. Alexandr Podvalny/Unsplash

The World Peace Diet offers one way. This diet encourages mindful eating. Advocates say that many animal-based eaters become so largely because of cultural, social and familial pressures. They argue that it is not necessary to carry on these unexamined and outmoded traditions.

Food impacts everything

Eating is personal, public and political and impacts all aspects of human life. Nothing more fully and powerfully influences the daily lives of everyone than our food, food choices and food systems. Food is a tool to nourish life but also for taking political action and for averting the dangers of climate change and preventing unnecessary harm.

If we shift to plant-based diets and plant-rich living, our water, land and fuel will be used more efficiently and ethically. When we channel grains and legumes to animals and away from human consumption we make it more challenging for small producers to compete in the global supply chain and for the poor to obtain adequate nourishment.

An array of problems arise from animal agriculture — diet-related diseases, food insecurity and inequality, hunger as well as obesity, escalating health-care costs, animal commodification, along with water and air pollution, biodiversity loss and soil deterioration and land degradation.

As it takes many times the resources to produce the same amount of food through animal products, eating more plants and less meat, dairy and eggs would enable a fairer distribution of the world’s food and resources.

Many researchers and activists are calling for more sustainable global food systems.

A report from the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organisation (FAO) on “livestock’s long shadow” shows that animal agriculture — meat production and consumption — is heating up and polluting the planet’s resources.

Sustainability researcher Marco Springmann and his team, with the Future of Food project and the British Heart Foundation predict that the global adoption of a vegetarian diet would result in 7.3 million less deaths per year. A massive swing to a vegan diet, experts say, would result in additional prevention of obesity, hypertension, Type 2 diabetes and cardiovascular mortality.

The Plant-based Prevention Of Disease conference, hosts events to educate the public that plant-based diets can prevent diseases. And Gene Baur of Farm Sanctuary, a political, social and spiritual movement challenges us when saying, “If we can live well without causing unnecessary harm, why wouldn’t we?”

Leaders of such organisations imagine a world where all beings are fed, loved and nurtured. It seems such imaginings offer pretty good returns. We will all benefit from the outcomes of this type of diet change: people will be healthier, there will be less premature death and disability, and provincial budgets could save some resources to attend to additional priorities beyond health care.

Plant-rich living, mindful eating

Animals suffer and lose their lives to the food system, but workers in slaughterhouses also face precarious, psychologically demanding, low-paying jobs.

As writer Jonathan Safran Foer suggests, this system often treats “living animals like dead ones.” Human workers fare only slightly better. Slaughterhouse work is physically demanding and exacts significant mental and emotional strain.

Eating As A Political, Social, Spiritual Act: The World Peace DietReducing meat consumption is better for the planet and also more ethical as no animals are harmed. Sam Carter/Unsplash

Maybe our ignorance is not so surprising. The opaque nature of our food systems - including concentrated animal feeding operations (CAFOs) - is by design. Ag-Gag laws, are present in “virtually every significant livestock producing state.” These laws make it a “crime for anyone, including employees of CAFOs, to take pictures that document animal abuse or environmental violations.”

When it comes to food choices, we are encouraged not to examine exploitative relationships with animals or other people. Humans have become ‘rationalizing, ready to disregard science, morals and our well-being, so we can slaughter and consume animals.

By reducing animal agriculture, we also could improve health, stabilize grain prices, enhance food security and prevent unnecessary harm and violence. Will Tuttle, author of The World Peace Diet says:

“Food is a source and metaphor of life, love, generosity, celebration, pleasure, reassurance, acquisition and consumption. While concurrently, it can be a metaphor of control, domination, cruelty, and death. Eating can be a purposeful, intimate act, a regime of self-care and love, and a powerful political message.” In the wise words of the Lorax by Dr. Seuss, “Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, Nothing is going to get better. It’s not.”

We can choose a non-violent lifestyle. We could choose not to take a life to eat. We could eat an array of nuts, seeds, legumes, fruits and vegetables to meet our nutritional requirements without giving up on taste or satisfaction.

Movie director, James Cameron isn’t launching the biggest pea protein production facility in Canada because he thinks it will be an idea that will fade. This is the way forward.

Peas are loaded with helpful vitamins like K that strengthens bone health. They provide high fiber, low fat and a powerful source of vegetable protein. And when fresh they taste like summer in your mouth.

Choosing peas can help to build the place of love and mutual assistance and understanding that John Perry Barlow envisioned. Food could be our greatest vehicle for more peaceful, mindful and sustainable living.The Conversation

About The Author

Kathleen Kevany, Associate Professor Sustainable Food Systems, Director of Rural Research Centre, Dalhousie University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

The World Peace Diet: Eating for Spiritual Health and Social Harmony

activismAuthor: Will Tuttle
Binding: Paperback
Studio: Lantern Books
Label: Lantern Books
Publisher: Lantern Books
Manufacturer: Lantern Books

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

New Tenth Anniversary Edition

What is so simple as eating an apple? And yet, what could be more sacred or profound? Food is our most intimate and telling connection both with the natural order and with our cultural heritage. But it is increasingly clear that the choices we make about food today are leading to environmental degradation, enormous human health problems, and unimaginable cruelty toward our fellow creatures.

The World Peace Diet presents the outlines of a more empowering understanding of our world, based on comprehending the far-reaching implications of our food choices. Incorporating systems theory, teachings from mythology and religions, and the human sciences, Will Tuttle offers a set of universal principles for all people of conscience, from any religious tradition, that show how we as a species can move our consciousness forward―allowing us to become more free, more intelligent, more loving, and happier in the choices we make.

Since it was published in 2005, The World Peace Diet and author Will Tuttle have reached hundreds of thousands of people around the globe and created a whole new movement of people making a conscious connection with a healthful diet and cruelty-free living, and committing spiritually, psychologically, and socially to nonviolence and genuine sustainability. This tenth anniversary edition contains a new foreword, new resources (including recipes), and a study guide.





Food Activism: Agency, Democracy and Economy

activismBinding: Paperback
Features:
  • Bloomsbury Academic

Brand: imusti
Creator(s):
  • Carole Counihan
  • Valeria Siniscalchi

Studio: Bloomsbury Academic
Label: Bloomsbury Academic
Publisher: Bloomsbury Academic
Manufacturer: Bloomsbury Academic

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

Across the globe, people are challenging the agro-industrial food system and its exploitation of people and resources, reduction of local food varieties, and negative health consequences. In this collection leading international anthropologists explore food activism across the globe to show how people speak to, negotiate, or cope with power through food.

Who are the actors of food activism and what forms of agency do they enact? What kinds of economy, exchanges, and market relations do they practice and promote? How are they organized and what are their scales of political action and power relations? Each chapter explores why and how people choose food as a means of forging social and economic justice, covering diverse forms of food activism from individual acts by consumers or producers to organized social groups or movements. The case studies embrace a wide geographical spectrum including Cuba, Sri Lanka, Egypt, Mexico, Italy, Canada, France, Colombia, Japan, and the USA.

This is the first book to examine food activism in diverse local, national, and transnational settings, making it essential reading for students and scholars in anthropology and other fields interested in food, economy, politics and social change.





The New Food Activism: Opposition, Cooperation, and Collective Action

activismBinding: Paperback
Features:
  • University Press Group Ltd

Brand: University Press Group Ltd
Creator(s):
  • Alison Hope Alkon

Studio: University of California Press
Label: University of California Press
Publisher: University of California Press
Manufacturer: University of California Press

Buy Now
Editorial Review:
The New Food Activism explores how food activism can be pushed toward deeper and more complex engagement with social, racial, and economic justice and toward advocating for broader and more transformational shifts in the food system. Topics examined include struggles against pesticides and GMOs, efforts to improve workers’ pay and conditions throughout the food system, and ways to push food activism beyond its typical reliance on individualism, consumerism, and private property. The authors challenge and advance existing discourse on consumer trends, food movements, and the intersection of food with racial and economic inequalities.




activism
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}