لماذا بيرني يعتقد أن هناك أمل في عصر ترامب

لماذا بيرني يعتقد أن هناك أمل في عصر ترامب

عندما استلم بيرني ساندرز المسرح في مهرجان هاي لهذا العام ، كان ذلك في غرفة من الهتافات والتصفيق. ربما لم يتم ترشيح السناتور الأمريكي كمرشح ديمقراطي ، لكن نفوذه الدولي ودعمه لم يختفوا بالتأكيد في العام انتهت كفاحه من أجل البيت الأبيض.

على الرغم من أن الحديث كان "ظاهريًا" فرصة للترويج لكتابه الجديد - حول قصة حملة 2016 الأولية - كانت رسالته الشاملة هي دعم أنواع جديدة من الحكومة التقدمية التي يعتقد البعض أن العالم يريدها و / أو يحتاجها. هو قال:

ستختلف الدول مع بعضها البعض ، وتتجادل مع بعضها البعض ، لكن يجب ألا ننسحب إلى عوالمنا. يجب ألا نكون أمريكا أولاً ، أو المملكة المتحدة أولاً ، أو فرنسا أولاً ، كلنا لدينا مصالحنا الخاصة ولكن يجب أن نكون مجتمعًا دوليًا.

وبشكل أكثر حدة ، حدد ساندرز أربعة ديناميكيات رئيسية يقودها الرئيس ترامب ، وهو يعتقد أنه يدفع الولايات المتحدة نحو مجتمع أكثر استبدادية. أولاً ، كان ترامب يشوه سمعة وسائل الإعلام السائدة ويقوضها ، وقد وضع نفسه ، غالباً عبر تويتر ، كمصدر وحيد للحقيقة - أسطورة خطيرة انتشرت مؤخراً الممثل لامار سميث من تكساسرئيس لجنة العلوم في مجلس النواب.

كما كان ترامب يقوض القضاء بتغريداته حول "ما يسمى" القاضي الذي منع حظر سفره. علاوة على ذلك، ادعاءات الرئيس بتزوير الناخبين لم تكن عشوائية كذلك ، ولكن كانت إشارة إلى حكام الجمهوريين لتصعيد جهودهم العدوانية بالفعل لتقييد حقوق التصويت.

وأخيرًا ، يُظهر ترامب تقديرًا كبيرًا للعلاقات مع الزعماء الاستبداديين مثل أردوغان. بوتين, Duterte و ال العائلة المالكة السعودية، بينما في الوقت نفسه محاضرة (وتوتر العلاقات مع) الحلفاء الأوروبيين.

لكن لا يزال هناك بصيص من الأمل ، على الأقل وفقا لساندرز.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


عدم المساواة الاقتصادية

كما هو الحال في الانتخابات التمهيدية لـ 2016 ، فإن Sanders في أفضل حالاته عندما يسلط الضوء على أرقام مذهلة تتعلق بعدم المساواة المالية والاقتصادية. وكما يقول ، فإن الحقيقة الأكثر جوهرية حول الولايات المتحدة اليوم هي أننا "نتحرك نحو شكل من أشكال الحكم القلة في المجتمع."

في الولايات المتحدة ، لدى 0.1٪ قدر ثروة مثل 90 السفلي. ال عائلة والتون، الورثة إلى ثروة Walmart ، لديها ثروة أكثر من 40٪ من المجتمع الأمريكي.

لكن هذه المشكلة ليست مقتصرة على الولايات المتحدة فقط: فأكبر 1٪ على مستوى العالم المزيد من الثروة من أسفل 99 ٪. ثمانية أغنى الناس على هذا الكوكب ، لديهم المزيد من الثروة من أسفل 50 ٪. هذا ، كما لاحظ ساندرز بشكل صحيح ، ليس فقط مشكلة مالية ، ولكن أيضا مشكلة سياسية. المال الكبير تلعب دورا أكثر وأكثر وضوحا في الانتخابات.

حملة ساندرز كانت في البداية يعتبر مزحة من قبل وسائل الإعلام. لكنها كانت حملة - وربما كان هذا أكبر إنجاز لفخر ساندرز - الذي جمع ملايين الدولارات من مانحين صغار ، بمتوسط التبرع بـ $ 27 (على الرغم من هذا الرقم هو المتنازع عليها).

جاءت الحملة من الأسفل إلى الأعلى. تمكنت من الوصول إلى الشباب والطبقة العاملة والمجتمعات المنسية. فاز 46٪ من أصوات الديمقراطيين، وفاز في تصويت الشباب (تحت 40) في كثير من الأحيان عن طريق الانهيار الأرضي.

ساندرز لا يزال من خارج الحزب الديمقراطي. إنه ينتقد بشدة الطريقة التي نسي بها الناس من الطبقة العاملة وكيف أن ذلك فتح الباب أمام ترامب ليقدم نفسه على أنه رجل الشعب. الحزب خسر البيت الابيض و تقريبا مقاعد 1,000 التشريعية في كابيتول الدولة في جميع أنحاء أمريكا في انتخابات 2016.

في هذا الصدد ، أقر ساندرز في كلمته أنه في الوقت الذي أحرزت فيه أمريكا الكثير من التقدم في قطاع الحقوق المدنية ، إلا أن الحقوق الاقتصادية لم تتقدم بنفس الوتيرة. استدعاء روزفلت في 1944 حالة الاتحاد عنوان ، ساندرز - كما فعل في 2016 له - دعا إلى "فاتورة الحقوق الاقتصادية".

الحقوق الاقتصادية - مثل وظيفة محترمة ، والتعليم ، والرعاية الصحية الجيدة والإسكان الجيد - شدد ساندرز على أن حقوق الإنسان ، والأهم من ذلك ، هي شروط مسبقة للتمتع بالحقوق التي يحميها الدستور ووثيقة الحقوق. وقال إنه ينبغي أن يكون هدف مجتمعاتنا هو توفير كل كائن بشري على كوكب الأرض بمستوى معيشي أدنى ، وهو واثق من أن هذا هدف يمكننا تحقيقه.

التقدم في المستقبل

على الرغم من ترامب ، فإن مستقبل الولايات المتحدة في نظر ساندرز هو أمر تقدمي. قبل الانتخابات ، الحزب الديمقراطي قبلت الكثير من المنصة وراء حملة ساندرز. يقول ساندرز إن المشرعين في الكونجرس يدفعون اليوم بالكثير من الإجراءات المتضمنة في برنامجه.

في الوقت الذي يعترف فيه ساندرز بالمشاكل ، لديه ثقة كبيرة في قوة الناس لجعل الأمور تحدث. ففي المحكمة العليا ، على سبيل المثال ، قال إنه "لا يعيش على كوكب المريخ" وإذا ما ارتكب الناس ، فحتى المحكمة المحافظة يمكن أن تقبل التغيير التدريجي ، كما هو الحال في حالة المساواة الزوجية.

عندما سأل أحد الشباب من جمهور مهرجان Hay ما يمكن أن تفعله من أجل التغيير ، أجاب ساندرز الشغوف:

إعادة التفكير في دورك في مجتمع ديمقراطي ... قف واقفاً وسوف تفاجئ بحجم التغيير الذي يمكنك تحقيقه.

المحادثةهناك أمل ، حتى في عصر ترامب.

نبذة عن الكاتب

لوكا ترينتا ، محاضر في العلاقات الدولية ، جامعة سوانسي

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = Bernie Sanders؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

أصوات INNERSELF

الأكثر قراءة

البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
by فرانك باسكيوتي ، دكتوراه
كيف تتحدث مع أطفالك عن الطلاق؟
كيف تتحدث مع أطفالك عن الطلاق؟
by مونتيل ويليامز وجيفري غارديري ، دكتوراه

Why Bernie Believes There's Hope In The Age Of Trump

Why Bernie Believes There's Hope In The Age Of Trump

When Bernie Sanders took to the stage at this year’s Hay Festival, it was to a room of cheers and clapping. The US senator may not have been nominated as the Democrat candidate, but his international influence and support has certainly not disappeared in the year since his fight for the White House ended.

Though the talk was “ostensibly” an opportunity to promote his new book – on the story of the 2016 primaries campaign – his overall message was to support the new kinds of progressive government some believe the world wants and/or needs. He said:

Countries will disagree with each other, argue with each other but we must not withdraw into our own worlds. We must not be America first, or UK first, or France first, we all have our own interests but we’ve got to be an international community.

More poignantly, Sanders identified four main dynamics driven by President Trump that he believes are moving the US towards a more authoritarian society. First, Trump has been discrediting and undermining the mainstream media and has positioned himself, mostly via Twitter, as the only source of truth – a dangerous myth spread most recently by Representative Lamar Smith of Texas, Chair of the House Science Committee.

Trump has also been undermining the judiciary with his tweets about the “so-called” judge who blocked his travel ban. Furthermore, the President’s claims of voter fraud have not been random either, but have been a signal to Republican governors to step up their already aggressive efforts to restrict voting rights.

Finally, Trump shows great esteem for and has reinforced connections with authoritarian leaders like Erdogan, Putin, Duterte and the Saudi royal family, while at the same time lecturing (and straining relations with) European allies.

But there is still a glimmer of hope, at least according to Sanders.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Economic inequality

As in the 2016 primaries, Sanders is at his best when he highlights staggering numbers relating to financial and economic inequality. As he put it, the most fundamental truth about the US today is that “we are moving towards a oligarchic form of society.”

In the US, the 0.1% has as much wealth as the bottom 90%. The Walton family, heirs to the Walmart fortune, has more wealth than the bottom 40% of US society.

But this problem is not just restricted to the US: the top 1% globally have more wealth than bottom 99%. The eight wealthiest people on the planet, have more wealth than the bottom 50%. This, as Sanders correctly noted, is not only a financial problem, but also a political one. Big money is playing a more and more prominent role in elections.

Sanders’ campaign was initially considered a joke by the media. But it was a campaign – and this is perhaps Sanders’s proudest achievement – that raised millions of dollars from small donors, with an average donation of $27 (although that figure is contested).

The campaign came from the bottom-up; it was able to reach young people, working-class people and forgotten communities. It won 46% of Democrats’ pledged votes, and won the youth vote (under 40) often by landslide.

Sanders is still a Democratic Party outsider. He is extremely critical of how it has forgotten working class people and how, by doing so, it opened the door for Trump to present himself as the man of the people. The party lost the White House and almost 1,000 legislative seats in State capitols all over America in the 2016 election.

On this score, Sanders acknowledged in his speech that while America has made much progress in the civil rights sector, economic rights have not progressed at the same pace. Invoking Roosevelt’s 1944 State of the Union address, Sanders – as he did in his 2016 – called for an “economic bill of rights”.

Economic rights – like a decent job, education, good health care and good housing – Sanders stressed, are human rights and, even more importantly, preconditions for enjoying the rights protected by the Constitution and the Bill of Rights. It should be the objective of our societies, he argued, to provide every human being on the planet with a minimum standard of living and, Sanders is confident, this is an objective we can achieve.

Future progression

Trump notwithstanding, the future of the US in Sanders’s eyes is a progressive one. Before the elections, the Democratic Party accepted much of the platform behind Sanders’s campaign. Today, Sanders argues, legislators in Congress are pushing many of the measures included in his platform.

While acknowledging problems, Sanders has massive confidence in the power of the people to make things happen. On the Supreme Court, for example, he quips that it “does not live on Mars” and if the people are committed, even a conservative court can accept progressive change, as in the case of marriage equality.

When a young member of the Hay Festival audience asked what she can do for change, a passionate Sanders replied:

Rethink your role in a democratic society … Stand up and fight back and you will be surprised at the amount of change you can achieve.

The ConversationThere is hope, even in the age of Trump.

About The Author

Luca Trenta, Lecturer in International Relations, Swansea University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=Bernie Sanders;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…