Почему Берни верит, что есть надежда в эпоху козыря

Почему Берни верит, что есть надежда в эпоху козыря

Когда Берни Сандерс вышла на сцену на фестивале Hay Festival в этом году, это было в зале ура и хлопания. Сенатор США, возможно, не был назначен кандидатом от демократов, но его международное влияние и поддержка, безусловно, не исчезли в течение года с тех пор его борьба за Белый дом закончилась.

Хотя разговор был «якобы» возможностью продвинуть свою новую книгу - по истории кампании первичных выборов 2016, его общая идея заключалась в поддержке новых видов прогрессивного правительства, которые некоторые считают, что мир хочет и / или нуждается. Он сказал:

Страны не согласятся друг с другом, спорят друг с другом, но мы не должны уходить в наши собственные миры. Мы не должны быть первой в Америке, или сначала в Великобритании, или во Франции, у всех нас есть свои интересы, но мы должны быть международным сообществом.

Более остро, Сандерс определил четыре основные динамики, которые возглавляет президент Трамп, который, по его мнению, переводит США в сторону более авторитарного общества. Во-первых, Trump дискредитирует и подрывает основные средства массовой информации и позиционирует себя, главным образом через Twitter, как единственный источник правды - опасный миф, распространенный в последнее время Представитель Ламар Смит из Техаса, Председатель комитета по науке дома.

Трамп также подрывает судебную систему своими твитами о «Так называемый» судья который заблокировал свой запрет на поездки. Более того, заявления президента о мошенничестве с избирателями также не были случайными, но были сигналом для республиканских губернаторов активизировать свои и без того агрессивные усилия по ограничению избирательных прав.

Наконец, Трамп проявляет большое уважение и укрепляет связи с авторитарными лидерами, такими как Эрдоган, Путин, Duterte и Саудовская королевская семья, в то время как в то же время лекции (и напряженные отношения с) европейские союзники.

Но есть еще проблеск надежды, по крайней мере, по словам Сандерса.

Экономическое неравенство

Как и в праймерах 2016, Сандерс в своих лучших проявлениях, когда он выделяет ошеломляющие цифры, касающиеся финансового и экономического неравенства. По его словам, самая фундаментальная истина в отношении США сегодня заключается в том, что «мы движемся к олигархической форме общества».

В США 0.1% имеет столько же богатства, сколько нижний 90%, Семья Уолтона, наследники состояния Walmart, имеет больше богатства, чем нижний 40% американского общества.

Но эта проблема не ограничивается только США: верхний 1% глобально имеет больше богатства, чем снизу 99%, Восемь богатейших людей планеты больше богатства, чем нижний 50%, Это, как правильно заметил Сандерс, является не только финансовой проблемой, но и политической. Большие деньги играет все более заметную роль на выборах.

Первоначально кампания Сандерса считал шутку средствами массовой информации, Но это была кампания - и это, возможно, самое гордое достижение Сандерса - это привлекло миллионы долларов от мелких доноров со средним пожертвование $ 27 (хотя эта цифра доказанным).

Кампания началась с восходящего; он смог охватить молодых людей, рабочих людей и забытых общин. Он выиграл 46% от объявленных голосов демократов, и выиграл молодежный голос (под 40) часто оползнем.

Сандерс по-прежнему остается сторонником Демократической партии. Он крайне критично относится к тому, как он забыл людей рабочего класса и как, открыв дверь Трампу, предстает как человек народа. Партия потеряла Белый дом и почти 1,000 законодательные места в государственных столицах по всей Америке на выборах 2016.

По этому поводу Сандерс признал в своем выступлении, что, хотя Америка добилась значительных успехов в секторе гражданских прав, экономические права не продвигались одинаково. Вызов Штат Союза Рузвельта 1944 адрес, Сандерс - как он это делал в своем 2016 - призвал к «экономическому законопроекту о правах».

Экономические права - как достойная работа, образование, хорошее здравоохранение и хорошее жилье, - подчеркнул Сандерс, - это права человека и, что еще важнее, предпосылки для использования прав, защищаемых Конституцией и Биллом о правах. Он утверждал, что целью наших обществ является обеспечение каждого человека на планете минимальным уровнем жизни, и Сандерс уверен, это цель, которую мы можем достичь.

Будущая прогрессия

Несмотря на это, будущее США в глазах Сандерса является прогрессивным. Перед выборами Демократическая партия принял большую часть платформы за кампанией Сандерса. Сегодня Сандерс утверждает, что законодатели в Конгрессе выдвигают многие меры, включенные в его платформу.

Признавая проблемы, Сандерс обладает огромной уверенностью в силе людей, чтобы все произошло. Например, в Верховном суде он говорит, что он «не живет на Марсе», и если люди совершаются, даже консервативный суд может принять прогрессивные изменения, как в случай равенства брака.

Когда молодой член аудитории Hay Festival спросил, что она может сделать для смены, страстный Сандерс ответил:

Переосмыслите свою роль в демократическом обществе ... Встаньте и отбивайтесь, и вы будете удивлены тем изменениям, которые вы можете достичь.

БеседаЕсть надежда, даже в эпоху Трампа.

Об авторе

Лука Трента, преподаватель международных отношений, Университет Суонси

Эта статья изначально была опубликована в Беседа, Прочтите оригинал статьи.

Книги по этой теме

{amazonWS: searchindex = Книги; ключевые слова = Берни Сандерс; maxresults = 3}

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

Why Bernie Believes There's Hope In The Age Of Trump

Why Bernie Believes There's Hope In The Age Of Trump

When Bernie Sanders took to the stage at this year’s Hay Festival, it was to a room of cheers and clapping. The US senator may not have been nominated as the Democrat candidate, but his international influence and support has certainly not disappeared in the year since his fight for the White House ended.

Though the talk was “ostensibly” an opportunity to promote his new book – on the story of the 2016 primaries campaign – his overall message was to support the new kinds of progressive government some believe the world wants and/or needs. He said:

Countries will disagree with each other, argue with each other but we must not withdraw into our own worlds. We must not be America first, or UK first, or France first, we all have our own interests but we’ve got to be an international community.

More poignantly, Sanders identified four main dynamics driven by President Trump that he believes are moving the US towards a more authoritarian society. First, Trump has been discrediting and undermining the mainstream media and has positioned himself, mostly via Twitter, as the only source of truth – a dangerous myth spread most recently by Representative Lamar Smith of Texas, Chair of the House Science Committee.

Trump has also been undermining the judiciary with his tweets about the “so-called” judge who blocked his travel ban. Furthermore, the President’s claims of voter fraud have not been random either, but have been a signal to Republican governors to step up their already aggressive efforts to restrict voting rights.

Finally, Trump shows great esteem for and has reinforced connections with authoritarian leaders like Erdogan, Putin, Duterte and the Saudi royal family, while at the same time lecturing (and straining relations with) European allies.

But there is still a glimmer of hope, at least according to Sanders.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Economic inequality

As in the 2016 primaries, Sanders is at his best when he highlights staggering numbers relating to financial and economic inequality. As he put it, the most fundamental truth about the US today is that “we are moving towards a oligarchic form of society.”

In the US, the 0.1% has as much wealth as the bottom 90%. The Walton family, heirs to the Walmart fortune, has more wealth than the bottom 40% of US society.

But this problem is not just restricted to the US: the top 1% globally have more wealth than bottom 99%. The eight wealthiest people on the planet, have more wealth than the bottom 50%. This, as Sanders correctly noted, is not only a financial problem, but also a political one. Big money is playing a more and more prominent role in elections.

Sanders’ campaign was initially considered a joke by the media. But it was a campaign – and this is perhaps Sanders’s proudest achievement – that raised millions of dollars from small donors, with an average donation of $27 (although that figure is contested).

The campaign came from the bottom-up; it was able to reach young people, working-class people and forgotten communities. It won 46% of Democrats’ pledged votes, and won the youth vote (under 40) often by landslide.

Sanders is still a Democratic Party outsider. He is extremely critical of how it has forgotten working class people and how, by doing so, it opened the door for Trump to present himself as the man of the people. The party lost the White House and almost 1,000 legislative seats in State capitols all over America in the 2016 election.

On this score, Sanders acknowledged in his speech that while America has made much progress in the civil rights sector, economic rights have not progressed at the same pace. Invoking Roosevelt’s 1944 State of the Union address, Sanders – as he did in his 2016 – called for an “economic bill of rights”.

Economic rights – like a decent job, education, good health care and good housing – Sanders stressed, are human rights and, even more importantly, preconditions for enjoying the rights protected by the Constitution and the Bill of Rights. It should be the objective of our societies, he argued, to provide every human being on the planet with a minimum standard of living and, Sanders is confident, this is an objective we can achieve.

Future progression

Trump notwithstanding, the future of the US in Sanders’s eyes is a progressive one. Before the elections, the Democratic Party accepted much of the platform behind Sanders’s campaign. Today, Sanders argues, legislators in Congress are pushing many of the measures included in his platform.

While acknowledging problems, Sanders has massive confidence in the power of the people to make things happen. On the Supreme Court, for example, he quips that it “does not live on Mars” and if the people are committed, even a conservative court can accept progressive change, as in the case of marriage equality.

When a young member of the Hay Festival audience asked what she can do for change, a passionate Sanders replied:

Rethink your role in a democratic society … Stand up and fight back and you will be surprised at the amount of change you can achieve.

The ConversationThere is hope, even in the age of Trump.

About The Author

Luca Trenta, Lecturer in International Relations, Swansea University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=Bernie Sanders;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…