تمامًا مثل ترامب ، يضع بولسونارو البرازيلي الاقتصاد قبل شعبه خلال فيروس كورونا

تمامًا مثل ترامب ، يضع بولسونارو البرازيلي الاقتصاد قبل شعبه خلال فيروس كورونا الرئيس البرازيلي جاير بولسونارو يرتدي قناعا خلال مؤتمر صحفي في مارس حول وباء الفيروس التاجي. (AP Photo / أندريه بورخيس)

أصاب الفيروس التاجي COVID-19 أكثر من مليوني شخص وقتل أكثر من 150,000،200 في ما يقرب من XNUMX دولة - الأرقام التي ستكون قديمة عند قراءة هذا المقال. لقد استجابت بلدان مختلفة للأزمة من خلال فرض استراتيجيات وطنية تشمل إغلاق الأماكن غير الضرورية ، والحبس في المنزل والإبعاد الجسدي.

نحن نعلم الآن أن العديد من البلدان تأخرت في فرض تدابير إبعاد اجتماعي ، غالبًا بسبب فشل قادة تلك الدول في الاعتراف خطورة المشكلة. تعرضت الصين والولايات المتحدة لانتقادات بسبب ردهما المتساهل. كما يجب أن تصنف البرازيل في نفس الفئة.

أظهرت الأرقام الرسمية من وزارة الصحة البرازيلية عددًا صغيرًا نسبيًا من الوفيات بسبب COVID-19 - قُتل حوالي 2,000 شخص بسبب المرض في بلد يبلغ عدد سكانه أكثر من 200 مليون نسمة. لكن الباحثين أظهروا أن البرازيل لا تبلغ عن إصابات ووفيات COVID-19 ، وذلك من المحتمل أن يكون لدى البلاد 12 ضعفًا من حالات الإصابة بالفيروس التاجي مقارنة بالأرقام الرسمية.

ومثلما فعل قادة الصين والولايات المتحدة في المراحل الأولى من تفشي المرض ، قلل الرئيس البرازيلي جاير بولسونارو من مخاطر الفيروس التاجي. جادل في أواخر مارس: "يجب أن تستمر الحياة ، يجب الحفاظ على الوظائف ، يجب الحفاظ على دخل الناس ، لذلك يجب على جميع البرازيليين العودة إلى طبيعتهم". وقال إن المسنين هم الأكثر عرضة للإصابة ، لذا "لماذا يجب إغلاق المدارس؟ "

تم طرد وزير الصحة

عارض بولسونارو سياسات وزارة الصحة الخاصة به فيما يتعلق بالعزلة الاجتماعية - لدرجة أن ذلك أقال وزير الصحة لويز هنريكي مانديتا في 16 أبريل. جاءت القشة الأخيرة بعد أن انتقد مانديتا بولسونارو عندما زار الرئيس مستشفى بالقرب من برازيليا ، ولكن بعد ذلك خرج ، وسار بين حشد بدون قناعه ، وصافح توقيعه وتوقيعه.

تمامًا مثل ترامب ، يضع بولسونارو البرازيلي الاقتصاد قبل شعبه خلال فيروس كورونا كتابات على الجدران لرئيس البرازيل جاير بولسونارو يرتدي قناع واقية في ريو دي جانيرو. (AP Photo / سيلفيا إيزكويردو)

قال بولسونارو ، 65 سنة ، إنه إذا أصيب ، فلن يشعر بأي شيء ، أو سيشعر بأعراض مشابهة لـ "القليل من الانفلونزا.لقد استغل حقيقة أن الأشخاص الذين تقل أعمارهم عن 40 عامًا هم أقل عرضة للوفاة من COVID-19 ، حيث أخبر Brailizians أن 90 بالمائة من "منا" لن تظهر عليهم أي أعراض حتى لو أصيبنا "نحن".


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


واعترف بأن البرازيليين يجب أن يكونوا حريصين على عدم نشر الفيروس إلى آبائنا وأجدادنا. إذا مات بعض الناس ، مثل والدته ، التي تبلغ من العمر أكثر من 90 عامًا ، فسيقول:أنا آسف ... هذه هي الحياة".

السبب الرئيسي الذي يجعل بولسونارو يعتقد أن كبار السن والأشخاص الذين يعانون من ظروف عالية المخاطر يمكن التضحية بهم من أجل الاقتصاد هو أن البرازيل لا تستطيع تحمل زيادة البطالة والفقر والجوع.

إن القلق المفاجئ بشأن الفقراء والعاطلين عن العمل في البرازيل أمر جديد بالنسبة للرئيس الشعبوي النيوليبرالي. لقد كان أكثر قلقا بشأن المحافظين الذين يدعمون حكومته - بما في ذلك الكاثوليك المحافظين والإنجيليين. ووعد بولسونارو بزيادة الناتج المحلي الإجمالي للبرازيل ، لكنه دعم أيضًا السياسات التي تفضلها قاعدة المحافظين ، مثل معارضة الاعتراف بالجنس وإضفاء الشرعية على الإجهاض.

لماذا يعتبر البعض القابل للتصرف؟

إذا اتبعنا الأساس المنطقي لبولسونارو ، فيجب اعتبار بعض المجموعات قابلة للتخلص منها ، لا سيما كبار السن وغير الصحيين الذين يعانون من ظروف عالية المخاطر. لكن هذه النظرة إلى تحسين النسل هي عبثية: تظهر البيانات الناشئة من البلدان المتضررة ذلك لا يسلم COVID-19 الأصحاء من الشباب ومتوسطي العمر، والعديد في نهاية المطاف في العناية المركزة. بينما يعارض بولسونارو بشدة الإجهاض ، يبدو أن وفيات المسنين بسبب COVID-19 مقبولة تمامًا.

تمامًا مثل ترامب ، يضع بولسونارو البرازيلي الاقتصاد قبل شعبه خلال فيروس كورونا يتناول بولسونارو العشاء مع الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترامب في مار ألاغو في مارس 2020. وعلم لاحقًا أن ترامب تعرض لـ COVID-19 خلال هذا الاجتماع لأن مسؤولًا في حاشية بولسونارو كان مصابًا بالمرض. (AP Photo / Alex Brandon)

كان بولسونارو ، قائد الجيش السابق ، كذلك انتخب في عام 2018 بأغلبية قوية بعد حملته كمدافع عن الحرية. كثيرا ما وصف بأنه نسخة أمريكا الجنوبية من دونالد ترامب، لكن هذا وجهات نظر معادية للديمقراطية جعلته منبوذاً سياسياً. في خضم أزمة COVID-19 ، ظهر في مسيرة عامة حيث كان المتظاهرون اليمينيون يطالبون بإنهاء أوامر البقاء في المنزل والعودة إلى الحكم العسكري للبلاد التي كانت ديكتاتورية عسكرية من 1964-85.

نظريات مناهضة للصين

لقد استرشد بولسونارو بنظريات ترامب المناهضة للصين حول الفيروس التاجي ، المقدمة في واشنطن العاصمة ومار لاغو ، حيث التقى الرئيسان في مارس. توترت العلاقات بين الصين والبرازيل - خاصة بعد ذلك قال أحد وزراء بولسونارو في تغريدة كان جائحة الفيروس التاجي جزءًا من "خطة بكين للسيطرة على العالم".

وقد تم التشكيك في آراء بولسونارو المتناقضة بشأن الوباء من قبل حكام البرازيل وقادة البلديات ، وكذلك الأطباء وغيرهم من الخبراء. لقد اتبعت الغالبية العظمى من البرازيليين توصيات منظمة الصحة العالمية بشأن الابتعاد الجسدي - حتى المنظمات الإجرامية في الأحياء الفقيرة.

تم تشكيل تحالف ضد بولسونارو ، يتألف من وزراء ومحافظين وقضاة وكبار موظفي الخدمة المدنية وخبراء وصحفيين ومواطنين. يشير إظهار التضامن هذا إلى أن معظم البرازيليين على استعداد لدفع ثمن اجتماعي واقتصادي باهظ لحماية حياة الناس.

ولكن عندما تنتهي هذه اللحظة ، ماذا سيفعل البرازيليون؟ دعمه أكثر من 55 في المائة من الناخبين في عام 2018 ، لكن له كانت الشعبية تنخفض حتى قبل تفشي الفيروس التاجي. هل سيوافقون على مثال بولسونارو لمحاولة إجراء "العمل كالمعتاد" أثناء الوباء من أجل الاقتصاد ، أم ستظهر حركة جديدة تحاول معالجة عدم المساواة المدقع في البلاد؟ قد تكون الأزمة التي تواجه البرازيل هي الوقت المثالي لإعادة التفكير في البلد وإعادة بنائه.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

برونو دوبيرون ، أستاذ ، كلية جونسون شوياما العليا للسياسة العامة ، جامعة ريجينا وكاتارينا سيغاتو ، الأستاذة الزائرة ، الجامعة الفيدرالية تفعل ABC

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

لماذا الأقنعة مسألة دينية
لماذا الأقنعة مسألة دينية
by ليزلي دوروف سميث
ما الذي تريده؟
ما الذي تريده؟
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 6 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نرى الحياة من خلال عدسات إدراكنا. كتب ستيفن آر كوفي: "نحن نرى العالم ، ليس كما هو ، ولكن كما نحن ، أو كما نحن مشروطون برؤيته". لذلك هذا الأسبوع ، نلقي نظرة على بعض ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 30 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الطرق التي نسلكها هذه الأيام قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها جديدة بالنسبة لنا. التجارب التي نمر بها قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها أيضًا جديدة بالنسبة لنا. الشيء نفسه ينطبق على ...
عندما تكون الحقيقة فظيعة للغاية ومؤلمة ، اتخذ إجراءً
by ماري T. راسل، InnerSelf.com
وسط كل الأهوال التي تحدث هذه الأيام ، ألهمني شعاع الأمل الذي يسطع من خلاله. الناس العاديون يدافعون عن الصواب (وضد ما هو خطأ). لاعبي البيسبول،…
عندما يكون ظهرك مقابل الحائط
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
احب الانترنت. الآن أعرف أن الكثير من الناس لديهم الكثير من الأشياء السيئة ليقولوها عن ذلك ، لكني أحب ذلك. مثلما أحب الناس في حياتي - فهم ليسوا مثاليين ، لكني أحبهم على أي حال.
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 23 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
ربما يتفق الجميع على أننا نعيش في أوقات غريبة ... تجارب جديدة ، مواقف جديدة ، تحديات جديدة. ولكن يمكن أن نشجع على تذكر أن كل شيء في حالة تغير مستمر ، ...

Just Like Trump, Brazil's Bolsonaro Puts The Economy Ahead Of His People During Coronavirus

Just Like Trump, Brazil's Bolsonaro Puts The Economy Ahead Of His People During Coronavirus Brazil’s President Jair Bolsonaro puts on a mask during a March news conference about the coronavirus pandemic. (AP Photo/Andre Borges)

The COVID-19 coronavirus has infected more than two million people and killed more than 150,000 in almost 200 countries — figures that will be outdated by the time you read this article. Different countries have responded to the crisis by imposing national strategies that include the shutdown of non-essential places, home confinement and physical distancing.

We now know that many countries were late in imposing social distancing measures, often because the leaders of those countries failed to acknowledge the seriousness of the problem. China and the United States have been criticized for their lax response. Brazil should also be lumped into the same category.

Official figures from the Brazilian health ministry have shown a relatively small number of deaths from COVID-19 — about 2,000 people killed by the disease in a country with a population of more than 200 million. But researchers have shown Brazil is under-reporting COVID-19 infections and deaths, and that the country likely has 12 times more coronavirus cases than the official numbers.

Like the leaders of China and the United States did in the early stages of the outbreak, Brazilian President Jair Bolsonaro has downplayed the risks of the coronavirus. In late March, he argued: “Life must go on, employments should be kept, people’s income should be preserved, so all Brazilians should go back to normal.” The elderly were the most susceptible to infection, he said, so “why should schools be closed?”

Health minister was fired

Bolsonaro has opposed his own Ministry of Health’s policies regarding social isolation — so much so that he fired Minister of Health Luiz Henrique Mandetta on April 16. The final straw came after Mandetta criticized Bolsonaro when the president visited a hospital near Brasilia, but then went outside, walked among a crowd without his mask, shook hands and signed autographs.

Just Like Trump, Brazil's Bolsonaro Puts The Economy Ahead Of His People During Coronavirus A graffiti of Brazil’s President Jair Bolsonaro wearing a protective mask in Rio de Janeiro. (AP Photo/Silvia Izquierdo)

Bolsonaro, 65, said if he were infected, he would not feel anything, or he would feel symptoms similar to “a little flu.” He has played up the fact that people under the age 40 are less likely to die from COVID-19, telling Brailizians that 90 per cent of “us” would not have any symptoms even if “we” were infected.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Brazilians should be careful not to spread the virus to “our” parents and grandparents, he conceded. If some people die, such as his mother, who is more than 90 years old, then he would say: “I’m sorry … that’s life.”

The main reason why Bolsonaro thinks the elderly and people with high-risk conditions can be sacrificed for the sake of the economy is that Brazil cannot afford an increase in unemployment, poverty and hunger.

Being suddenly concerned about Brazilians’ poor and unemployed is something new for the neoliberal populist president. He has been more concerned about the conservatives who support his government — including conservative Catholics and evangelicals. Bolsonaro has promised to increase Brazil’s GDP, but has also backed policies favoured by his conservatives base, such as opposing gender recognition and the legalization of abortion.

Why are some considered disposable?

If we follow Bolsonaro’s rationale, some groups should be considered disposable, particularly the very old and unhealthy people with high-risk conditions. But this eugenic view is absurd: emerging data from affected countries show that healthy young and middle-aged people are not spared by COVID-19, and many end up in intensive care. While Bolsonaro strongly opposes abortion, old people’s deaths from COVID-19 seem to be quite acceptable.

Just Like Trump, Brazil's Bolsonaro Puts The Economy Ahead Of His People During Coronavirus Bolsonaro dines with U.S. President Donald Trump at Mar-a-Lago in March 2020. It was later learned that Trump was exposed to COVID-19 during this meeting because an official in Bolsonaro’s entourage had the disease. (AP Photo/Alex Brandon)

Bolsonaro, a former army captain, was elected in 2018 with a strong majority after campaigning as a “defender of freedom.” He has often been described as the South American version of Donald Trump, but his anti-democracy views have made him a political outcast. In the midst of the COVID-19 crisis, he appeared at a public rally where right-wing protesters were calling for an end to stay-at-home orders and a return to military rule for the country that was a military dictatorship from 1964-85.

Anti-China theories

Bolsonaro has been guided by Trump’s anti-China theories about the coronavirus, presented in Washington, D.C., and Mar-a-Lago, where the two presidents met in March. Relations between China and Brazil have been strained — especially after one of Bolsonaro’s cabinet ministers said in a tweet the coronavirus pandemic was part of Beijing’s “plan for world domination.”

Bolsonaro’s contrarian views about the pandemic have been questioned by Brazil’s governors and municipal leaders, as well as physicians and other experts. The vast majority of Brazilians have been following the World Health Organization’s recommendations of physical distancing — even criminal organizations in favelas.

A coalition against Bolsonaro has been coming together, made up of ministers, governors, judges, senior civil servants, experts, journalists and citizens. This show of solidarity indicates most Brazilians are willing to pay a heavy socio-economic price for the protection of people’s lives.

But when this moment ends, what will Brazilians do? More than 55 per cent of voters backed him in 2018, but his popularity was dropping even before the coronavirus outbreak. Will they approve of Bolsonaro’s example of trying to conduct “business as usual” during the pandemic for the sake of the economy, or will a new movement emerge that tries to address the country’s abject inequality? The crisis facing Brazil may be the perfect time to rethink and rebuild the country.The Conversation

About The Author

Bruno Dupeyron, Professor, Johnson Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy, University of Regina and Catarina Segatto, Visiting Professor, Universidade Federal do ABC

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die prematurely as a direct…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)
Letting Randy Funnel My Furiousness
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
(Updated 4-26) I have not been able to right-write a thing I am willing to publish this last month, You see I am furious. I just want to lash out.