الصراع على السلطة التاريخية بين ترامب والكونغرس ستراجعه المحكمة العليا

الصراع على السلطة التاريخية بين ترامب والكونغرس ستراجعه المحكمة العليا سيستمع قضاة المحكمة العليا إلى قضية حاسمة بشأن حدود السلطة الرئاسية. غيتي / سول لوب / وكالة الصحافة الفرنسية

ستستمع المحكمة العليا إلى حجة في قضيتين تتعلقان بمطالب الكونجرس ، والمعروفة باسم مذكرات الاستدعاء ، بشأن المواد التي يدعي الرئيس دونالد ترامب أنها تدخلات في شؤونه الخاصة وليست استخدامات مشروعة لسلطة الكونغرس.

حالة أخرى يمكن أن تجادل في نفس الوقت تنطوي على استدعاء من محامي مقاطعة مانهاتن للسجلات من أعمال ترامب كجزء من التحقيق في انتهاكات قانون ضريبة الدولة. ترامب يحارب هذا أيضًا.

ليس منذ مذكرات استدعاء "Red Scare" من الخمسينيات إلى الستينيات ، حيث أجرى الكونجرس جلسات استماع دعاها العديد من المطاردة الساحرات السياسية ضد الشيوعيين المزعومين ، وعصر ووترغيت في السبعينيات ، عندما ادعى الرئيس نيكسون من خلال محاميه أنه كان "بنفس القوة ملك مثل لويس الرابع عشر ، أربع سنوات فقط في كل مرة ، ولا يخضع لعمليات أي محكمة في الأرض باستثناء محكمة العزل ، "لقد تناولت المحكمة العليا مثل هذه الأسئلة بعيدة المدى حول قدرة الكونغرس على الإشراف والتحقق من سلطة الرئيس.

إما أن يتمكن الكونجرس من الحفاظ على دوره التاريخي المتمثل في الإشراف على الرئيس والفرع التنفيذي ، فسيكون الرئيس قادرًا على الحفاظ على سرية المعلومات بغض النظر عن أي شيء - أو ستحكم المحكمة وسيظل فرعي الحكومة مقفولين في نزاع.

الصراع على السلطة التاريخية بين ترامب والكونغرس ستراجعه المحكمة العليا يحارب ترامب مطالب الكونغرس للحصول على السجلات المالية. جيتي / جيم واتسون / وكالة الصحافة الفرنسية

من الأخلاق إلى المكافآت

الكونجرس يحقق سواء استخدم ترامب سلطته كرئيس للاستفادة من أعماله، إذا كان أفاد بدقة أمواله كما هو مطلوب من جميع الموظفين الحكوميين القيام به ، وما إذا كان يقبل الهدايا من الحكومات الأجنبية دون إذن من الكونغرس ، وهذا هو يحظرها الدستور. يعكس هذا الحظر قلق واضعي القانون من عدم تعرض أي مسؤول لمؤامرة أو تأثير أجنبي من أي نوع - وهي ممارسة شائعة في ذلك الوقت بين الملوك الأجانب.

الحالة الأولى ، ترامب ضد مازارز، تتعلق بتلك التحقيقات. يحاول ترامب منع المحاسبين والمصرف الذي يتعامل معه من تقديم معلومات تم استدعاءها من قبل لجنتين من مجلس النواب - الرقابة والاستخبارات.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


اعترض ترامب على هذه الاستدعاءات على أساس أنهم يفتقرون إلى غرض تشريعي وأن هدفهم الحقيقي هو الحصول على معلومات شخصية لمنفعة سياسية.

رفضت محكمة الاستئناف هذه الحجة. ووجدت أن السجلات التي أرادتها لجان الكونغرس كانت ذات صلة بالواجبات التشريعية للكونغرس ، وبالتالي فإن مذكرات الاستدعاء مشروعة.

جميع مذكرات الاستدعاء والتحقيقات من قبل الكونغرس يجب أن يكون لها غرض تشريعي. بموجب القانون ، يتمتع الكونغرس بالسلطة لمتابعة أي "الموضوع الذي يمكن أن يكون التشريعوكذلك الاستفسارات حول الاحتيال والتبديد وسوء المعاملة في البرامج الحكومية. المعيار العريض لدعم تلك السلطة الاستقصائية مؤكد في حكم المحكمة العليا في ماكجرين ضد داوجيرتي في عام 1927 ، التي أثبتت أن "قوة التحقيق - مع عملية لفرضها - هي جانب أساسي وملائم" لكيفية قيام الكونغرس بوظيفته التشريعية.

تصرف الكونغرس بشكل مناسب

وتتعلق الحالة الثانية باستدعاءات لجنة مجلس النواب للسجلات المصرفية لشركات ترامب من دويتشه بنك وكابيتال ون. كما هو الحال مع قضية مازارز ، حاول ترامب منع البنوك من تسليم الوثائق.

وتتعلق أوامر الاستدعاء هذه بمراجعات لجنة الخدمات المالية بمجلس النواب ولجنة الاستخبارات لحركة الأموال غير المشروعة من خلال النظام المالي العالمي وغسل الأموال. البنك الألماني، الذي أقرض مبالغ كبيرة من المال لشركات ترامب، بالفعل تم تغريمه 10 مليارات دولار لخطة غسيل أموال لا علاقة لها بترامب.

رفضت محكمة الاستئناف حجة ترامب وقال إن للكونغرس الحق في السعي للحصول على السجلات والحصول عليها.

وكتبوا أن تركيز اللجان على غسيل الأموال غير القانوني لم يكن على أي سوء سلوك مزعوم من قبل ترامب ولكن بدلاً من ذلك حول ما إذا كان مثل هذا النشاط حدث في الصناعة المصرفية ، وكفاية التنظيم المصرفي والحاجة إلى تشريع لحل أي مشاكل - كل أهداف الرقابة المشروعة .

الصراع على السلطة التاريخية بين ترامب والكونغرس ستراجعه المحكمة العليا حارب الرئيس بيل كلينتون ضد خلعه في دعوى التمييز الجنسي بولا جونز ؛ خسر واضطر إلى الامتثال. غيتي / وكالة الصحافة الفرنسية

نيكسون ، كلينتون السوابق

لا تشمل أي من هذه الحالات الرئيس مطالبة امتياز تنفيذي - العقيدة التي تحافظ على سرية العديد من الاتصالات بين الرئيس وأقرب مستشاريه. ولا تنطوي القضايا على أي اعتراض على أداء واجباته الرسمية.

كلاهما يتعلق فقط بأنشطته التجارية الخاصة قبل توليه منصبه. السجلات من قبل أن كان رئيسًا ذات صلة لأنه رفض التخلي عن أعماله ، مما أثار القلق ما إذا كانت أفعاله الرسمية بمجرد تعارضه مع المصالح التجارية الحالية أو تبدو أنها تتعارض معها.

إن قضيتين سابقتين من المحكمة العليا ستؤثران بشكل كبير في قراراتها في هذه القضايا.

واحد هو الولايات المتحدة ضد نيكسون، التي وقعت خلال فضيحة ووترغيت ، متى وقد استدعى المدعي الخاص ليون جاورسكي تسجيلات الشريط من المحادثات بين الرئيس وأربعة من مستشاريه الذين وجهت إليهم لوائح اتهام. حاول الرئيس ريتشارد نيكسون المطالبة بامتياز تنفيذي ، قائلاً إن تسجيلات المحادثات بينه وبين مستشاريه كانت سرية ولا ينبغي إعطاؤها للمدعي الخاص.

وقضت المحكمة بالإجماع بأن الحاجة إلى الأشرطة في محاكمة المساعدين القادمة تفوق ادعاء الرئيس بالسرية. وعلى الرغم من عدم وجود قضية تطبيق قضية نيكسون السابقة على استدعاء الكونجرس وصلت إلى المحكمة العليا ، فإن ضمنا مستمدة من القضية هو أنه إذا كان من الممكن تجاوز امتيازه بواسطة أمر استدعاء لإجراء محادثات مع أقرب مساعديه ، فإن سجلات الأعمال التي تم إنشاؤها قبل وصول الرئيس إلى منصبه يمكن أن يستدعيها الكونغرس بشكل مشروع.

"رفض الحكم ما أسماه مفهوم" الامتياز الرئاسي المطلق وغير المشروط للحصانة من الإجراءات القضائية في جميع الظروف "، مما يؤثر بشكل واضح على أي رئيس في حالة اشتباه خطير ، مثل الرئيس ترامب ،" كتب المؤرخ الرئاسي مايكل بيشلوس لمراسل واشنطن بوست في 2018.

والقضية الأخرى ذات الصلة بهذه القرارات كلينتون ضد جونز. نشأت القضية من دعوى تحرش جنسي ضد كلينتون بشأن سلوكه قبل رئاسته. ورفضت كلينتون إعطاء إفادة في القضية ، وأصرت على أنها ستكون إلهاء عن واجباته كرئيس ودعوة للمتقاضين لمضايقة أي رئيس أثناء توليه منصبه مع دعاوى قضائية.

ظهر مشروب وصف القضية على موقع المحكمة العليا يسأل ، "هل الرئيس الحالي ... له الحق في الحصانة المطلقة من الدعاوى المدنية الناشئة عن الأحداث التي حدثت قبل توليه منصبه؟"

رد المحكمة: لا.

هل ستحكم المحكمة؟

أنشأ هذان القراران سوابق يبدو أنها تنذر بالهزيمة للرئيس ترامب في جلسة الاستماع المقبلة.

إذا قامت المحكمة العليا بالتحقق من صحة موقف ترامب في أي من الحالتين ، أو رفضت البت في القضايا ، فإنها ستعيق الكونغرس وتجبره على السعي إلى الإنفاذ من خلال القبض على أولئك الذين رفضوا احترام مذكرات الاستدعاء. هذه هي الطريقة التي فرض بها مجلس الشيوخ أمر الاستدعاء في قضية ماكغرين وكيف عمل الكونجرس بشكل متكرر في القرن التاسع عشر.

طلبت المحكمة إحاطة إضافية من الطرفين حول ما إذا كانت القضايا غير مناسبة للقرار القضائي باعتبارها "أسئلة سياسية". يقول هذا المذهب القانوني يتم شحن بعض الحالات سياسيًا جدًا أن نظام المحاكم الفدرالية يجب ألا يأخذها بعين الاعتبار - يجب حلها من قبل اللاعبين السياسيين.

وقد أثار هذا تكهنات بأن المحكمة قد تقرر عدم الحكم في النزاع باستخدام العقيدة السياسية كما فعلت في حالات أخرى تتعلق بنزاعات بين الكونغرس والرئيس بشأن سلطات الحرب أو التصرف في قناة بنما.

لا شيء من هذا يشير إلى كيف ستقرر المحكمة في القضايا ، فقط أن كل ما تقرر أنه سيكون بالغ الأهمية في سجلات منازعات الكونغرس مع الرئيس.

نبذة عن الكاتب

ستانلي م. براند ، زميل متميز في القانون والحكومة ، جامعة ولاية بنسلفانيا

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

من المحررين

Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: كيف يتم تدريس العنصرية
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في حلقة أوبرا شو عام 1992 ، علّمت الناشطة والمناهضة للعنصرية جين إيليوت الحائزة على جوائز الجمهور درساً قاسياً حول العنصرية من خلال إظهار مدى سهولة تعلم التحيز.
تغير سوف يأتي...
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
(30 مايو 2020) بينما أشاهد الأخبار عن الأحداث في فيلادلفيا والمدن الأخرى في البلاد ، فإن قلبي يتألم لما يحدث. أعلم أن هذا جزء من التغيير الأكبر الذي يحدث ...
أغنية يمكن أن ترفع القلب والروح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لدي العديد من الطرق التي أستخدمها لمسح الظلام من ذهني عندما أجد أنه تسلل إلى الداخل. أحدهما هو البستنة ، أو قضاء الوقت في الطبيعة. والآخر هو الصمت. طريقة أخرى هي القراءة. وواحد ...
لماذا يمكن أن يكون دونالد ترامب أكبر الخاسرين في التاريخ
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
يكلف جائحة الفيروس التاجي بأكمله ثروة ، ربما 2 أو 3 أو 4 ثروة ، كلها ذات حجم غير معروف. أوه نعم ، ومئات الآلاف ، وربما مليون شخص سيموتون قبل الأوان بشكل مباشر ...
التميمة للوباء والأغنية موضوع للتمييز الاجتماعي والعزلة
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لقد صادفت أغنية مؤخرًا ، وبينما كنت أستمع إلى كلمات الأغاني ، اعتقدت أنها ستكون أغنية مثالية كـ "أغنية موضوعية" في أوقات العزلة الاجتماعية هذه. (كلمات تحت الفيديو.)

Historic Power Struggle Between Trump And Congress To Be Reviewed By Supreme Court

Historic Power Struggle Between Trump And Congress To Be Reviewed By Supreme Court Justices of the Supreme Court will hear a crucial case on the limits of presidential power. Getty/Saul Loeb/AFP

The Supreme Court will hear argument in two cases concerning congressional demands, known as subpoenas, for materials that President Donald Trump claims are intrusions into his private affairs and are not legitimate uses of congressional power.

One other case to be argued at the same time involves the Manhattan district attorney’s subpoena of records from Trump’s businesses as part of an investigation of state tax law violations. Trump is fighting that one, too.

Not since the “Red Scare” subpoena cases from the 1950s-1960s, where Congress conducted hearings that many called political witch hunts against alleged communists, and the Watergate era in the 1970s, when President Nixon claimed through his attorney that he was “as powerful a monarch as Louis XIV, only four years at a time, and is not subject to the processes of any court in the land except the court of impeachment,” has the Supreme Court taken up such far-reaching questions about the ability of Congress to oversee and check the president’s power.

Either Congress will be able to maintain its historic role of conducting oversight of the president and the executive branch, the president will be able to keep information secret no matter what – or the court will punt and the two branches of government will remain locked in the conflict.

Historic Power Struggle Between Trump And Congress To Be Reviewed By Supreme Court Trump is fighting congressional demands for financial records. Getty/Jim Watson/AFP

From ethics to emoluments

Congress is investigating whether Trump used his power as president to profit his business, whether he accurately reported his finances as all government employees are required to do, and whether he accepted gifts from foreign governments without permission from Congress, which is banned by the Constitution. This ban reflected the Framers’ concern that no official be subject to foreign intrigue or influence of any kind — a common practice at the time among foreign sovereigns.

The first case, Trump v. Mazars, relates to those investigations. Trump is trying to stop his accountants and the bank he deals with from providing information subpoenaed by two House committees – oversight and intelligence.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Trump objected to these subpoenas on the grounds that they lack a legislative purpose and that their true aim is to obtain personal information for political advantage.

The Court of Appeals rejected this argument. It found that the records the congressional committees wanted were relevant to Congress’s legislative duties, and thus the subpoenas were legitimate.

All subpoenas from, and investigations by, Congress must have a legislative purpose. By law, Congress has the authority to pursue any “subject on which legislation can be had” as well as inquiries into fraud, waste and abuse in government programs. The broad standard for upholding that investigative power is affirmed in the Supreme Court’s ruling in McGrain v. Daugherty in 1927, which established that “the power of inquiry – with process to enforce it – is an essential and appropriate” aspect of how Congress carries out its legislative function.

Congress acted appropriately

The second case involves House committee subpoenas for Trump companies’ bank records from Deutsche Bank and Capital One. As with the Mazars case, Trump has tried to stop the banks from handing over the documents.

Those subpoenas are related to reviews by the House Financial Services Committee and the Intelligence Committee of the movement of illicit funds through the global financial system and money laundering. Deutsche Bank, which has loaned large amounts of money to Trump businesses, has already been fined $10 billion for a money laundering scheme unrelated to Trump.

The Court of Appeals rejected Trump’s argument and said Congress was legitimately entitled to pursue and get the records.

They wrote that the committees’ focus on illegal money laundering was not on any purported misconduct by Trump but instead on whether such activity occurred in the banking industry, the adequacy of banking regulation and the need for legislation to fix any problems — all legitimate oversight goals.

Historic Power Struggle Between Trump And Congress To Be Reviewed By Supreme Court President Bill Clinton fought against being deposed in the Paula Jones sexual discrimination suit; he lost and had to comply. Getty/AFP

Nixon, Clinton precedents

Neither of these cases involves the president claiming executive privilege – the doctrine that keeps confidential many of the communications between the president and his closest advisers. Nor do the cases involve any challenge to the performance of his official duties.

Both concern only his private business activities before he assumed office. The records from before he was president are relevant because he refused to divest from his businesses, raising the concern whether his official actions once in office conflict with, or appear to conflict with, his existing business interests.

Two previous Supreme Court cases will in all likelihood weigh significantly in its decisions in these cases.

One is United States v. Nixon, which took place during the Watergate scandal, when Special Prosecutor Leon Jaworski subpoenaed the tape recordings of conversations between the president and four of his advisers who had been indicted. President Richard Nixon tried to claim executive privilege, saying the recordings of conversations between him and his advisers were confidential and should not be given to the special prosecutor.

The court ruled unanimously that the need for the tapes in the aides’ upcoming trial outweighed the president’s claim of confidentiality. And although no case applying the Nixon case precedent to a congressional subpoena has reached the Supreme Court, the implication drawn from the case is that if his privilege can be overcome by a subpoena for conversations with his closest aides, business records generated before a president came to office can legitimately be subpoenaed by Congress.

“The ruling rejected what it called the notion of ‘absolute, unqualified Presidential privilege of immunity from judicial process under all circumstances,’ which has an obvious impact on any president under serious suspicion, such as President Trump,” wrote presidential historian Michael Beschloss to a Washington Post reporter in 2018.

The other case relevant to these decisions is Clinton v. Jones. The case stemmed from a sexual harassment suit against Clinton concerning his conduct before his presidency. Clinton had refused to give a deposition in the case, insisting that it would be a distraction from his duties as president and an invitation to litigants to harass any president while in office with lawsuits.

The case description on the Supreme Court website asks, “Is a serving President … entitled to absolute immunity from civil litigation arising out of events which transpired prior to his taking office?”

The court’s answer: No.

Will the court rule?

These two decisions established precedents that seem to portend defeat for President Trump in the upcoming hearing.

Were the Supreme Court to validate Trump’s position in either case, or decline to decide the cases, it would stymie Congress and force it to seek enforcement by arresting those who refused to honor their subpoenas. That’s the way the Senate enforced its subpoena in the McGrain case and how Congress frequently operated in the 19th century.

The court has asked for additional briefing from the parties on whether the cases are not suitable for judicial decision as “political questions.” That legal doctrine says some cases are so politically freighted that the federal court system should not consider them – they should be resolved by the political players.

This has fueled speculation that the court may decide not to referee the dispute using the political doctrine as it has done in other cases involving disputes between Congress and the president over war powers or the disposition of the Panama Canal.

None of this indicates how the court will decide in the cases, only that whatever it decides will be momentous in the annals of congressional disputes with the president.

About The Author

Stanley M. Brand, Distinguished Fellow in Law and Government, Pennsylvania State University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…