لماذا بعض الناس يحبون القادة الذين يخالفون القواعد

لماذا بعض الناس يحبون القادة الذين يخالفون القواعد

يبدو أن العديد من السياسيين الحاليين يستجيبون للحاجة الإنسانية الأساسية للسلامة ، ويعرضون إصداراتهم من القيادة القوية كأفضل أمل للنظام والسلامة في عالم خائف من عدم الاستقرار المتزايد والمخاطر. كثير دليل يؤكد أن هذا النداء هو بالتأكيد عامل مهم في المشهد السياسي.

لكن إلى جانب هذا ، هناك ديناميات نفسية أخرى مؤثرة حاليًا في عدد من الديمقراطيات الغربية - خاصة في جذب الناس لدعم القادة الشعبويين وبرامجهم.

أحد هذه الأمور - التي لها صلة خاصة بمحاكمة الرئيس الأمريكي ، دونالد ترامب - المساءلة - تتعلق بالسعادة والإثارة التي يبدو أن بعض المواطنين يجدونها في زعيم يخالف القواعد ويتجاهل المحرمات. يمكن أن تأتي هذه التجاوزات في أشكال مختلفة ، مثل التصريحات المثيرة للجدل أو أساليب الحياة غير التقليدية أو النهج غير الاحترازية للعملية السياسية. لكن يمكنهم أيضًا توسيع نطاق الأنشطة غير الصحيحة وإساءة استخدام السلطة - مثل تلك المفصلة في التهم الموجهة ضد ترامب - أو النشاط المناهض للديمقراطية و عنف.

قواطع القاعدة

أقترح أن يُفهم دعم هذا النوع من القادة على أنه "تماهي مع المخالف". هذه فكرة على غرار مفهوم "الارتباط مع المعتدي" ، وهو مصطلح صاغه المحلل النفسي آنا فرويد في عام 1936. منذ ذلك الحين ، استخدم علماء النفس لفهم مجموعة من السلوكيات ، بما في ذلك التسامح لدينا أو التواطؤ مع الفتوات.

يمكن أن أنواع مختلفة من زعيم التعدي نداء إلى أجزاء التعدي من أنفسنا. مثله مثل الآخرين قبله ، لاحظ المحلل النفسي سيغموند فرويد ، والد آنا ، أن هناك قدرًا من الاستياء تجاه السلطة والتوق إلى التخلي عن القواعد ، سمة عالمية من النفس البشرية. في تطوره منذ فرويد ، درس التقليد النفسي كيف أن هذا الشوق هو إرث من العملية المؤلمة للتطور العاطفي التي نمر بها كل واحد في وقت مبكر جدًا من الحياة حيث نتقبل الحدود الموضوعة علينا كما متطلبات عضوية المجتمع البشري.

عندما تكون هناك أسباب وجيهة للاعتقاد بأن العمليات السياسية العادية تفشل ، يمكن أن يشعر الكثير من الناس بزيادة الامتنان تجاه قائد يقطع بعض الاتفاقيات بهدف تحقيق المزيد من النزاهة والشرعية في الحياة السياسية. كان ليخ وايسا في بولندا وفاكلاف هافيل في تشيكوسلوفاكيا ، وغيرهم ممن قادوا الطريق للخروج من الشمولية بالنسبة لبلدان الكتلة الشيوعية ، من المؤكد أنهم تجاوزوا العالم السياسي الذي واجهوه. قد يكونوا تم تحديدها كقوة للخير في نظام فاسد أو تصلب.

لكن نظرًا لتناقضنا الداخلي نحو السلطة والقواعد ، يمكننا أيضًا أن نتعاطف مع الزعماء السياسيين الذين تتعدى مخالفاتهم جزئيًا على الأقل مزيدًا من الدوافع المدمرة. بينما يعد هؤلاء القادة بأنصارهم بعالم أفضل ، فإنهم يستخدمون الخطاب الذي يركز على الحاجة الملحة لمهاجمة السلطات الحالية وتدمير الترتيبات القائمة ، مع القليل من الاهتمام الحقيقي بكيفية استبدالها.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


أحد الأمثلة على ذلك هو قائد الانقلاب الذي لم يكن لديه خطة تذكر لتحسين حالته بمجرد وصوله إلى السلطة. في أسوأ الأحوال ، يكون القائد خاليًا من القيود الأخلاقية ، إن لم يكن كلها ، الذي يحترم معايير السلوك الدولية ، ولا يهتم بالتكاليف الإنسانية لسلوكه.

لماذا بعض الناس يحبون القادة الذين يخالفون القواعد ترامب انطلق لكسر قواعد السياسة الأمريكية. بواسطة oleskalashnik / Shutterstock

التأثير على الناخبين

لذلك ، هناك سؤال نفسي معلق على إجراءات المساءلة في الولايات المتحدة وهو إلى أي مدى ستحكم عليه قاعدة دعم ترامب سلبًا على الأحداث في مركز محاكمة الإقالة. عندما يتوجه الأمريكيون إلى صناديق الاقتراع في نوفمبر (تشرين الثاني) عام 2020 ، ما عدد الذين سوف يميلون إلى التمتع بإقالة ترامب الصارمة من أي نقد ، وقدرته على التفاقم؟

تذكر أن الدليل على السلوك الأخلاقي المشكوك فيه لترامب كان متاحًا للناخبين في الولايات المتحدة في عام 2016. بعد الإصدار قبل انتخاب شريط فيديو وقال 91 ٪ من أولئك الذين يحتمل أن يصوتوا لترامب في أ استطلاع CBS / YouGov أن الشريط لم يغير نظرتهم إليه. وانتخب ترامب.

إن رفض العديد من الناخبين للرقابة على ترامب بسبب تجاوزاته له أساس نفسي قوي في الرغبة في التحرر من السلطة. يمكن أيضًا الاستمتاع بهذا دون الشعور بالذنب الذي يصاحبه ، في معظم الأحيان ، اعتداء على القيم المعتادة على نطاق واسع.

ذلك لأن زعيمًا مثل ترامب يوفر فرصة للجمع بين المتعة المتعدية والأسباب الأخلاقية العالية. يتم تقديم هذه الحزمة العاطفية لأولئك الذين يتعاطفون مع عرض ترامب الذاتي (الخاطئ إلى حد ما) على أنه مزيج من المتمردين الباحثين عن المتعة والمنقذ البصري ، مما يؤدي إلى تمرد ضد السلطات الفاسدة - "المستنقع".

و eulogistic كتاب عن ترامب بقلم المعلّقة المحافظة آن كولتر هي واحدة من المظاهرات العديدة حول مدى تنشيط مؤيديه من خلال الرغبة في مهاجمة "المؤسسة" بسبب تجاوزاتهم المزعومة.

يمكن لهذا الهجوم الشعبي على النخبة الراسخة أن يمكّن مؤيدي القائد المخادع من الشعور بأنهم في حملة صليبية أخلاقية ، وكذلك هناك لركلة من دواعي سروري. يمكن أن يكون هذا مساعدة قوية لترامب في الانتخابات المقبلة. يجب أن نتوقع أن تستمر شخصية المخالفين هذه في اجتذاب تحديد ودعم قويين ، ما لم يتم الطعن من قِبل زعيم يمكنه بطريقة ما تعطيل العلاقة النفسية للمخالف مع قاعدة الدعم الخاصة به.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

باري ريتشاردز ، أستاذ علم النفس السياسي ، جامعة بورنموث

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.


تذكر مستقبلك
في الثالث من نوفمبر

أسلوب العم سام Smokey Bear Only You.jpg

تعرف على القضايا وما هو على المحك في الانتخابات الرئاسية الأمريكية في 3 نوفمبر 2020.

قريبا جدا؟ لا تراهن على ذلك. القوى تتحد لمنعك من أن يكون لك رأي في مستقبلك.

هذا هو الكبير وهذه الانتخابات قد تكون لجميع الرخام. الابتعاد في خطر الخاص بك.

يمكنك فقط منع سرقة "المستقبل"

اتبع InnerSelf.com
"تذكر مستقبلك" تغطية


enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

من المحررين

أغنية يمكن أن ترفع القلب والروح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لدي العديد من الطرق التي أستخدمها لمسح الظلام من ذهني عندما أجد أنه تسلل إلى الداخل. أحدهما هو البستنة ، أو قضاء الوقت في الطبيعة. والآخر هو الصمت. طريقة أخرى هي القراءة. وواحد ...
لماذا يمكن أن يكون دونالد ترامب أكبر الخاسرين في التاريخ
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
يكلف جائحة الفيروس التاجي بأكمله ثروة ، ربما 2 أو 3 أو 4 ثروة ، كلها ذات حجم غير معروف. أوه نعم ، ومئات الآلاف ، وربما مليون شخص سيموتون قبل الأوان بشكل مباشر ...
التميمة للوباء والأغنية موضوع للتمييز الاجتماعي والعزلة
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لقد صادفت أغنية مؤخرًا ، وبينما كنت أستمع إلى كلمات الأغاني ، اعتقدت أنها ستكون أغنية مثالية كـ "أغنية موضوعية" في أوقات العزلة الاجتماعية هذه. (كلمات تحت الفيديو.)
ترك راندي قمع غضبي
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
(تم التحديث في 4-26) لم أتمكن من كتابة شيء أرغب في نشره في الشهر الماضي ، ترى أنني غاضب. انا فقط اريد انتقاد.
إعلان خدمة بلوتو
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
(تم التحديث في 4/15/2020) الآن بما أن كل شخص لديه الوقت الكافي للإبداع ، لا يوجد ما يقوله عن الترفيه عن نفسك الداخلية.

Why Some People Like Leaders Who Break The Rules

Why Some People Like Leaders Who Break The Rules

Many of today’s politicians appear to appeal to the basic human need for safety, presenting their versions of strong leadership as the best hope for order and safety in a fearful world of growing instability and risk. Much evidence confirms that this appeal is certainly an important factor in the political landscape.

But alongside this, other psychological dynamics are currently influential in a number of Western democracies – particularly in attracting people to support populist leaders and their agendas.

One of these – which is of particular relevance to the impeachment trial of the US president, Donald Trump – concerns the pleasure and excitement that some citizens appear to find in a leader who breaks rules and ignores taboos. These transgressions can come in various forms, such as controversial statements, unconventional lifestyles or disrespectful approaches to the political process. But they can also extend to improper activities and abuse of power – such as those detailed in the impeachment charges against Trump – or anti-democratic activity and violence.

Rule breakers

I suggest that support for this kind of leader can be understood as “identification with the transgressor”. This is an idea modelled on the concept of “identification with the aggressor”, a term coined by the psychoanalyst Anna Freud in 1936. Since then, psychologists have used it to understand a range of behaviours, including our tolerance of or collusion with bullies.

Different types of transgressive leader can appeal to transgressive parts of ourselves. Like others before him, the psychoanalyst Sigmund Freud, Anna’s father, observed that some measure of resentment towards authority and of a longing to cast aside the rules, is a universal feature of the human psyche. In its development since Freud, the psychoanalytic tradition has examined how this longing is a legacy of the painful process of emotional development we each undergo very early in life as we come to accept the limits placed on us as requirements for membership of human society.

Where there are good reasons to think that normal political processes are failing, many people can feel a surge of gratitude towards a leader who breaks with some conventions with the aim of bringing more integrity and legitimacy to political life. Lech Wałęsa in Poland and Vaclav Havel in Czechoslovakia, and others who led the way out of totalitarianism for countries in the Communist bloc, were certainly transgressors within the political worlds they confronted. They could be identified as a force for good in a corrupt or sclerotic system.

But given our built-in ambivalence towards authority and rules, we can also identify with political leaders whose transgressions are driven at least in part by more destructive impulses. While promising their supporters a better world, these leaders use rhetoric that focuses on the urgent need to attack existing authorities and destroy existing arrangements, with little real attention paid to how to replace them.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


One example is a coup leader who, once in power, has little plan for bettering their country. At worst is the leader free of most if not all moral constraint, who is contemptuous of international standards of conduct, and unconcerned by the human costs of his or her own conduct.

Why Some People Like Leaders Who Break The Rules Trump set out to break the rules of American politics. By oleskalashnik/Shutterstock

Impact on voters

Therefore, one psychological question hanging over the US impeachment proceedings is the extent to which Trump’s support base will judge him negatively over the events at the centre of the impeachment trial. When Americans head to the polls in November 2020, how many will be inclined to enjoy Trump’s truculent dismissal of any criticism, and his capacity to brazen it out?

Remember, evidence of Trump’s questionable moral conduct was available to the US electorate in 2016. Following the release before the election of a videotape in which he boasted about groping women without their consent, 91% of those likely to vote for Trump said in a CBS/YouGov poll that the tape didn’t change their view of him. And Trump was elected.

The refusal by many voters to censure Trump for his transgressions has a powerful psychological basis to it in the wish to break free of authority. This can also be enjoyed without the guilt that would, for most people, usually accompany an assault on widely held values.

That’s because a leader like Trump offers an opportunity to combine transgressive pleasure with the moral high ground. This emotional package is offered to those who identify with Trump’s (somewhat erratic) self-presentation as a fusion of pleasure-seeking rebel and visionary saviour, leading an insurrection against the corrupt authorities – “the swamp”.

The eulogistic book on Trump by Conservative commentator Ann Coulter is one of many demonstrations of how much his supporters are energised by the wish to attack the “establishment” for their own alleged transgressions.

This populist attack on the established elite can enable the supporters of the transgressive leader to feel that they are on a moral crusade, as well there for a pleasure kick. This could be a powerful aid to Trump in the coming election. We should expect such a transgressor figure to continue attracting strong identification and support, unless challenged by a leader who can somehow disrupt the transgressor’s psychological relationship with their support base.The Conversation

About The Author

Barry Richards, Professor of Political Psychology, Bournemouth University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.


Remember Your Future
on the 3rd of November

Uncle Sam style Smokey Bear Only You.jpg

Learn about the issues and what's at stake in the November 3, 2020 US Presidential election.

Too soon? Don't bet on it. Forces are conniving to stop you from having a say in your future.

This is the big one and this election may be for ALL the marbles. Turn away at your peril.

Only You Can Prevent 'Future' Theft

Follow InnerSelf.com's
"Remember Your Future" coverage


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…
When Your Back Is Against The Wall
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I love the internet. Now I know a lot of people have a lot of bad things to say about it, but I love it. Just like I love the people in my life -- they are not perfect, but I love them anyway.
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 23, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Everyone probably can agree that we are living in strange times... new experiences, new attitudes, new challenges. But we can be encouraged in remembering that everything is always in flux,…