Ein Einblick in die wahren Tröster von True Trumps

Ein Einblick in die wahren Tröster von True Trumps

Als Donald Trump gab die Anfangsadresse an der Liberty University diesen Frühling sagte er den Absolventen, dass "Amerika immer das Land der Träume gewesen ist, weil Amerika eine Nation von wahren Gläubigen ist." Trump argumentierte, dass in Amerika "wir keine Regierung anbeten; wir beten Gott an. "

Ich vermute, der Präsident war sich nicht bewusst, dass der Begriff "wahrer Gläubiger" vor mehr als 65 Jahren in Eric Hoffers 1951 Buch berühmt wurde. "Der wahre Gläubige: Gedanken über die Natur der Massenbewegungen. "Hoffer hatte keine akademische Ausbildung, er arbeitete hauptsächlich als Hafenarbeiter. Er schrieb "The True Believer" als Reaktion auf den Aufstieg von Faschismus, Nationalsozialismus und Kommunismus. Allen Widrigkeiten zum Trotz wurde das Buch Ein Bestseller.

Hoffer analysierte geschickt die Kräfte, die nationalistische und totalitäre Bewegungen auslösen. Die Ironie von Trumps "wahrer Gläubigen" -Ausstellung entging wahrscheinlich sowohl dem Präsidenten als auch seinem Publikum.

Als Psychiater interessiert mich, wie verletzbare Gruppen durch irreführende Rhetorik manipuliert werden können. Ich glaube, es gibt auffallende Parallelen zwischen Trumps Rhetorik und den Faktoren, die Hoffer erforschte.

Den wahren Gläubigen ansprechen

Hoffer schrieb: "Damit Männer sich in ein Unternehmen mit großem Wandel stürzen können, müssen sie äußerst unzufrieden, aber nicht mittellos sein." Sie müssen auch "eine extravagante Vorstellung von den Aussichten und Möglichkeiten der Zukunft" haben und "völlig unwissend sein Schwierigkeiten bei ihrem gewaltigen Unterfangen. Erfahrung ist ein Handicap. "

Ein Großteil von Trumps Kampagne beruhte auf Versprechungen großer Veränderungen, wie der sofortigen Aufhebung von Obamacare. Diese Versprechungen haben die großen Schwierigkeiten des Umbruchs nie berücksichtigt. In der Tat Ende Februar 2017, Trump bestätigt"Niemand wusste, dass die Gesundheitsversorgung so kompliziert sein könnte." Und natürlich hatte Trump keine politischen oder öffentlichen Erfahrungen, um seine umstrittensten Entscheidungen zu treffen. Doch meisterte er dieses Manko meisterhaft die Tugend, ein "Außenseiter" zu sein gegen ein etabliertes Washingtoner Establishment kämpfen.

Hoffer sah "wahre Gläubige" als Verlangen nach "einem neuen Leben - einer Wiedergeburt - oder, in Ermangelung dessen, einer Chance, durch eine Identifikation mit einer heiligen Sache neue Elemente von Stolz, Vertrauen, Hoffnung, Sinn und Wert zu erlangen." Trumps Das wiederholte Versprechen, "Amerika wieder groß zu machen", sprach zu solch einer Sehnsucht unter unzufriedenen Wählern. Diese Botschaft wurde oft mit Appellen an evangelikale Christen verschmolzen. In der Tat, in der Neuen Republik zu schreiben, Sarah Posner beobachtet dass "Trump effektiv zu den eigenen Wurzeln der religiösen Rechten in der weißen Vorherrschaft gespielt hat."


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


Hoffer hat verstanden, dass der wahre Gläubige sich selten mit Fakten beschäftigt. Er schrieb: "Es ist zwecklos, die Lebensfähigkeit einer neuen Bewegung durch die Wahrheit ihrer Lehre und die Durchführbarkeit ihrer Versprechen zu beurteilen."

Trumps Rhetorik basierte auf dem, was Senior Adviser Kellyanne Conway bekanntlich "alternative Fakten. "Und Trump machte wiederholt Versprechungen, die die meisten Experten in Betracht zogen alles andere als machbar. He proklamiertenZum Beispiel: "Ich werde eine große Mauer bauen ... an unserer südlichen Grenze, und ich werde Mexiko für diese Mauer bezahlen lassen. Merk dir meine Worte."

Hoffer erkannte, dass "Massenbewegungen ohne Glauben an einen Gott aufsteigen und sich ausbreiten können, aber niemals ohne Glauben an einen Teufel." Außerdem "ist der ideale Teufel ein Fremder ... [und] ein innerer Feind muss eine ausländische Herkunft bekommen".

Wie immer formulierte Trumps Wahlkampfrhetorik wiederholt gegen Einwanderer gerichtete Themen, die oft Muslime verunglimpften Mexikaner. Trumpf berühmt Richter Gonzalo Curiel als "Hasser" und "Mexikaner", als Curiel die Prozesse gegen die Trump University leitete - trotz der Tatsache, dass Curiel in Indiana geboren wurde.

Das GesprächSchließlich beschrieb Hoffer den "wahren Gläubigen" als jemanden, der bereit sei, für "die Sache" zu sterben. Es ist nicht klar, wie viele von Trumps Unterstützern zu dieser Beschreibung passen würden. Aber Trump selbst mag seine eifrigsten Anhänger charakterisiert haben als er sagte,"Ich könnte mitten auf der Fifth Avenue stehen und jemanden erschießen und ich würde keine Wähler verlieren." Eric Hoffer hätte diese Wähler Trumps "wahre Gläubige" wohl auch genannt.

Über den Autor

Ronald W. Pies, Professor für Psychiatrie, Dozent für Bioethik und Geisteswissenschaften an der SUNY Upstate Medical University; und klinischer Professor für Psychiatrie, Tufts University School of Medicine, Tufts University

Dieser Artikel wurde ursprünglich veröffentlicht am Das Gespräch.. Lies das Original Artikel.

Bücher zum Thema:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books; Schlüsselwörter = Autoritarismus; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

A Look Inside The Minds Of Trump’s True Believers

A Look Inside The Minds Of Trump’s True Believers

When Donald Trump gave the commencement address at Liberty University this spring, he told the graduates that “America has always been the land of dreams because America is a nation of true believers.” Trump argued that, in America, “we don’t worship government; we worship God.”

I suspect the president was unaware that the term “true believer” was made famous more than 65 years ago in Eric Hoffer’s 1951 book, “The True Believer: Thoughts on the Nature of Mass Movements.” Hoffer had no academic training, having worked mainly as a longshoreman. He wrote “The True Believer” in reaction to the rise of fascism, Nazism and communism. Against all odds, the book became a best-seller.

Hoffer shrewdly analyzed the forces that spark nationalist and totalitarian movements. The irony of Trump’s “true believers” remark probably escaped both the president and his audience.

As a psychiatrist, I’m interested in how vulnerable groups can be manipulated by misleading rhetoric. I believe there are striking parallels between Trump’s rhetoric and the factors Hoffer explored.

Targeting the true believer

Hoffer wrote, “For men to plunge headlong into an undertaking of vast change, they must be intensely discontented yet not destitute.” They must also have “an extravagant conception of the prospects and potentialities of the future” and “be wholly ignorant of the difficulties involved in their vast undertaking. Experience is a handicap.”

Much of Trump’s campaign was based on promises of vast change, such as the immediate repeal of Obamacare. These promises never took into account the great difficulties of radical change. Indeed, in late February 2017, Trump acknowledged, “Nobody knew health care could be so complicated.” And, of course, Trump had no political or public sector experience to inform his most controversial decisions. Yet he masterfully parlayed this shortcoming into the virtue of being an “outsider” battling an entrenched Washington establishment.

Hoffer viewed “true believers” as craving “a new life – a rebirth – or, failing this, a chance to acquire new elements of pride, confidence, hope, a sense of purpose and worth by an identification with a holy cause.” Trump’s repeated promise to “make America great again” spoke to such a longing among disaffected voters. This message was often fused with appeals to evangelical Christians. Indeed, writing in The New Republic, Sarah Posner observed that “Trump effectively played to the religious right’s own roots in white supremacy.”


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Hoffer understood that the true believer is rarely concerned with facts. He wrote, “It is futile to judge the viability of a new movement by the truth of its doctrine and the feasibility of its promises.”

Trump’s rhetoric was based on what Senior Adviser Kellyanne Conway famously called “alternative facts.” And Trump repeatedly made promises that most experts considered anything but feasible. He proclaimed, for example, “I will build a great wall … on our southern border, and I will make Mexico pay for that wall. Mark my words.”

Hoffer recognized that “Mass movements can rise and spread without belief in a God, but never without belief in a devil.” Furthermore, “the ideal devil is a foreigner…[and] a domestic enemy must be given a foreign ancestry.”

True to form, Trump’s campaign rhetoric repeatedly invoked anti-immigrant themes, often disparaging Muslims and Mexicans. Trump famously characterized Judge Gonzalo Curiel as a “hater” and a “Mexican” when Curiel was presiding over lawsuits against Trump University – despite the fact that Curiel was born in Indiana.

The ConversationFinally, Hoffer described the “true believer” as someone willing to die for “the cause.” It’s not clear how many of Trump’s supporters would fit that description. But Trump himself may have characterized his most fervid followers when he said, “I could stand in the middle of Fifth Avenue and shoot somebody and I wouldn’t lose voters.” Eric Hoffer might well have called those voters Trump’s “true believers.”

About The Author

Ronald W. Pies, Professor of Psychiatry, Lecturer on Bioethics & Humanities at SUNY Upstate Medical University; and Clinical Professor of Psychiatry, Tufts University School of Medicine, Tufts University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=authoritarianism;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…