قابل الفيلسوف الذي كتب مخطّط الاستبداد الجديد

قابل الفيلسوف الذي كتب مخطّط الاستبداد الجديد

دونالد ترامب ، ورودريغو دوتير ، وفيكتور أوربان ، وفلاديمير بوتين - من مانيلا إلى موسكو ، ومن واشنطن إلى بودابست ، والسلطوية الشعبوية هي طبيعية جديدة.

في هنغاريا ، يهدف رئيس الوزراء ، أوربان ، إلى بناء "ديمقراطية غير ليبرالية" بينما في روسيا ، سحق بوتين منذ فترة طويلة الصحافة المستقلة والمعارضة السياسية. يرأس رجب طيب أردوغان من تركيا حملة قمع وحشية على الإعلام والمجتمع المدني. في الفلبين ، Rodrigo "The Punisher" Duterte وعدت بإسقاط جثث 100,000 يشتبه في عصابات في خليج مانيلا ، وتهدد بإغلاق المؤتمر إذا عارضته.

وفي الولايات المتحدة ، دفع ترامب في الترشح للرئاسة إلى التعليق الجمهوري أندرو سوليفان للتحذير من خطر الاستبداد.

هناك العديد من الاختلافات بين هؤلاء القادة. لكننا نعترف بشكل غريزي ببعض أوجه التشابه: البهجة والتبجح ، والقدرة على التعبير عن غضب شعبي تجاه النخب القائمة ، والشعور بأننا من الخارج ، والوعد الذي لا يكل على الدوام "لإنجاز الأمور" وجعل بلادهم "رائعة من جديد". .

بينما نكافح من أجل فهم صعود هذه السياسة الجديدة ، قانون غودوين - الذي يجادل بأن أي مناقشات ساخنة لوسائل الإعلام الاجتماعية ستنتهي حتمًا بمقارنات مع هتلر أو النازيين - ستدخل حتمًا في حيز التنفيذ. هذه المقارنات عادة ما تكون خادعة - ولكن هناك مفكر ألماني واحد من 1930s الذي يساعد على تفسير صعود "المستبدين الجدد".

كارل شميتوهو رجل قانون وفيلسوف سياسي بارز ، وكلاهما تنبأ بانهيار جمهورية فايمار ، وكان لفترة قصيرة مدافعاً عاطفياً عن نظام هتلر. اختلف مع الحزب النازي في 1936 ، لكنه قضى بقية حياته كتابة انتقادات قوية من السياسة الليبرالية. بعد سنوات في البرية ، أعماله تجذب الانتباه مرة أخرى. تلقي ثلاثة من أفكاره الكبيرة ، على وجه الخصوص ، بعض الضوء على الطريقة التي يفكر بها المستبدون الجدد في السياسة.

"الزعيم السيادي"

يجادل شميت بأن الدول الفعالة تحتاج إلى زعيم ذي سيادة حقاً غير مقيّد بالدساتير والقوانين والمعاهدات. رئيس حقيقي حقا سيقطع الروتين وسيتخذ أي إجراء ضروري.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


هذه هي سيادة السيادة التي سمحت لبوتين المرفق القرم في 2014 دون الالتفات إلى القانون الدولي. إنه أسلوب صنع القرار المتضمن في إعلان ترامب أنه سوف "بناء جدار عظيم عظيم"على طول الحدود بين الولايات المتحدة والمكسيك ، أو زعمه أنه لا يمكنك الفوز على الدولة الإسلامية من خلال" اللعب بالقواعد ". وهذا بالضبط هو النهج الذي تتذرع به دوتير في حملته على الجريمة ، متجاوزًا المحاكم و "جعل المجرمين يخرجون عن الشوارع".

إن سيادة القانون هي عقبة يجب التغلب عليها - وليس مبدأ يجب تبنيه. ويتفق العديد من الناخبين: ​​إنهم يريدون قادة سياسيين يحصلون على نتائج ، ولا يتحدثون إلى المحامين.

لكن ثمن هذه السيادة الشميطية مرتفع: فهو يحتاج إلى السلطة التنفيذية للسيطرة على الهيئة التشريعية والمحاكم وغالباً وسائل الإعلام. في روسياوأصبح البرلمان بمثابة ختم مطاطي ، والمحاكم هي حلفاء من الكرملين مطمئنين ، والإعلام يخضع إلى حد كبير لسيطرة الدولة. في تركيا ، أهدى أردوغان المحاكم والبلاد حبس عشرات من الصحفيين. في فبراير 2016 قال إنه سيفعل لا تحترم حكم محكمة دستورية التي أدت إلى إطلاق سراح اثنين من الصحفيين - كان الزوجان سجن لاحقا بعد محاكمة أخرى. قد يكون النظام الديمقراطي في الولايات المتحدة مرنًا بشكل ملحوظ ، ولكن من الممكن أن يخمن أي شخص ما قد يفعله الرئيس ترامب إذا منعت المحاكم أو الكونغرس أفكاره الأكثر تطرفًا.

نحن وهم

الفكرة الكبيرة الثانية التي وضعها شميت هي أن السياسة تتعلق أساسًا بالتمييز بين الأصدقاء والأعداء. إن الديمقراطيات الليبرالية منافقة ، كما يقول شميت. لديهم دساتير وقوانين تتظاهر بأنها تتعامل مع الجميع بالتساوي ، لكن هذا أمر شائن. تستند جميع الولايات على التمييز بين "هم" و "نحن" ، بين "صديق" و "عدو". يجب على الأمة أن تذكر نفسها باستمرار بأعدائها لضمان بقائها.

يتبنى المستبدون الجدد تمييز شميت بين الصديق والعدو بحماس. ورقة رابحة لديه مجموعة من المعارضين - المكسيكيون ، المسلمون ، الصينيون - الذين يسعون إلى تقويض أمريكا. في روسيا ، هي الولايات المتحدة التي تخدم عدو الجمهور رقم واحد. في المجر، المهاجرين من الشرق الأوسط املأ الدور.

لكن - كما أثبتت خبرة شميت في ألمانيا النازية بشكل جيد للغاية - فإن الأمة المحددة من حيث الأعداء الخارجيين تجد بسرعة خصومًا داخليين أيضًا. في روسيا، حذر بوتين ضد "العمود الخامس" من "الخونة الوطنيين". في تركيا ، تمت مقاضاة أكثر من 2,000 منذ أبريل 2014 بتهمة "إهانة" أردوغان - يتعرض الأكاديميون والصحفيون والخصوم السياسيون للهجوم كأعداء للدولة التركية. بالنسبة إلى ترامب ، أيضًا ، هناك الكثير من الأعداء الداخليين ، وليس أقلها "المراسلين مثير للاشمئزازفي "وسائل الإعلام الليبرالية" المكروه بشدة.

صعود الاستبداد

فكرة شميت الراديكالية الثالثة هي إعادة تعريف الديمقراطية. من وجهة نظر شميت ، الديمقراطية ليست منافسة بين الأحزاب السياسية المختلفة ، ولكن خلق علاقة شبه صوفية بين القائد والجماهير. القائد يعبر عن المشاعر الداخلية للحشد. لهذا السبب لا يزال بوتين يتمتع بها تصنيفات الموافقة في نطاق 70-80٪، على الرغم من المشاكل الاقتصادية في روسيا. ولهذا السبب سيزدهر ترامب مع أنصاره بغض النظر عن النعال.

عندما يدعي ترامب أنه يستطيع اطلاق النار على شخص ما في الجادة الخامسة وعدم فقدان أي أصوات، إنه يوجه شميت

كان تألق شميت يكمن في تحليله غير المتشدد وغير المفوه لمفاهيم السياسة الأساسية. كان يعرف جيدا قوة كره الأجانب والكراهية لحشد الدعم الجماهيري. لقد رأى بنفسه انجذاب القائد الذي يمكنه أن يقطع مستنقعات سياسية أو دستورية "لإنقاذ" الأمة. حتى عندما كان فقيهًا ، شعر بالاندفاع العاطفي في حشد من الناس عندما عبّر أحد القادة عن أعمق مخاوفه ورغباته.

سوف يقاطع الليبراليون ضد دوترت ، حملة "لوقف ترامب" ، ويدعون إلى فرض مزيد من العقوبات ضد روسيا بوتين. لكن صعود سياسة شميتية هو علامة مؤكدة على توعك عميق في الديمقراطية العالمية. لقد فشل انتشار الأفكار الليبرالية في جميع أنحاء العالم في التصدي للاختلال الاجتماعي والتهميش الاقتصادي للمجموعات الضخمة في المجتمع. بدلاً من ذلك ، أنتجت نخبة عالمية مشحونة بالشحن التوربيني ، يبدو أنها غير خاضعة للمساءلة إلى المجتمعات التي ينتزع منها ثروتها.

ستفشل الحلول الاستبدادية السريعة في نهاية المطاف ، لكنها يمكن أن تكون مدمرة للغاية. يمكن تعريف النصف الثاني من القرن 20th بأنه صراع بين سياسات Schmittian - الاستبدادية من اليسار واليمين - وبديل ليبرالي عملي.

بعد 1945 ، رفض الألمان قبول افتراضات عالم Schmittian ، من مجتمع مقسم إلى أصدقاء وأعداء. وبدلاً من ذلك قاموا بتشكيل دستور يرسخ سيادة القانون والحريات الليبرالية. كان احتضان الديمقراطية الليبرالية درسًا صعبًا. إن صعود الدكتاتوريين الجدد حول العالم يجبرنا على تعلم ذلك من جديد.

نبذة عن الكاتب

لويس ديفيزديفيد لويس ، محاضر أول ، السياسة ، جامعة إكستر. اهتماماته البحثية في دراسات الأمن الدولي والنزاعات. من الناحية الإقليمية ، استكشفت معظم الأبحاث التي أجريتها سياسات ما بعد السوفييتية ، لا سيما في روسيا وآسيا الوسطى والقوقاز. كما أنه يحتفظ باهتمام قوي بسياسة سريلانكا ويهتم بشكل خاص بتأثير "القوى الصاعدة" على قضايا السلام والصراع في الشؤون الدولية.

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = السلطوية، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Meet The Philosopher Who Wrote The Blueprint For The New Authoritarianism

Meet The Philosopher Who Wrote The Blueprint For The New Authoritarianism

Donald Trump, Rodrigo Duterte, Viktor Orban, Vladimir Putin – from Manila to Moscow, Washington to Budapest, populist authoritarians are the new normal.

In Hungary, Orban, the prime minister, aims to build an “illiberal democracy” while in Russia, Putin long ago crushed independent journalism and political opposition. Turkey’s Recep Tayyip Erdoğan presides over a brutal crackdown on media and civil society. In the Phillipines, Rodrigo “the Punisher” Duterte promised to drop the corpses of 100,000 suspected gangsters in Manila Bay, threatening to close down congress if it opposes him.

And in the US, Trump’s run for the presidency prompted Republican commentator Andrew Sullivan to warn of the threat of tyranny.

There are many differences among these leaders. But instinctively we recognise some similarities: the bluster and the bravado, the ability to articulate a popular anger at existing elites, the sense of being an outsider and the ever-alluring promise to “get things done” and make their countries “great again”.

As we struggle to understand the rise of this new politics, Godwin’s Law – which argues that any heated social media discussion inevitably ends up with comparisons to Hitler or the Nazis – inevitably comes into effect. Such comparisons are usually specious – but there is one German thinker from the 1930s who does help to explain the rise of the “new authoritarians”.

Carl Schmidt, a brilliant jurist and political philosopher, both predicted the collapse of the Weimar Republic, and was – for a short time – a passionate defender of Hitler’s regime. He fell out with the Nazi party in 1936, but spent the rest of his life writing powerful critiques of liberal politics. After years in the wilderness, his works are again attracting attention. Three of his big ideas, in particular, shed some light on the way the new authoritarians think about politics.

The ‘sovereign leader’

Schmitt argues that effective states need a truly sovereign leader who is not shackled by constitutions, laws and treaties. A truly sovereign president who will cut through red tape and take whatever action is necessary.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


This is the über-sovereignty that allowed Putin to annex Crimea in 2014 without paying attention to international law. It’s the mode of decision-making implied by Trump’s announcement that he will “build a great, great wall” along the US-Mexican border, or his claim that you can’t beat Islamic State by “playing by the rules”. And it’s exactly this approach that Duterte invokes in his clampdown on crime, bypassing the courts and “getting criminals off the streets”.

The rule of law is an obstacle to be overcome – not a principle to be embraced. And many voters agree: they want political leaders who are getting results, not talking to lawyers.

But the price for this Schmittian sovereignty is high: it needs the executive to control the legislature, the courts and often the media. In Russia, parliament has become a rubber-stamp, the courts are dutiful allies of the Kremlin and the media is largely under state control. In Turkey, Erdoğan has subdued the country’s courts and locked up scores of journalists. In February 2016 he said he would not respect a constitutional court ruling that resulted in the release of two journalists – the pair were subsequently jailed after a further trial. The US democratic system may be remarkably resilient, but it’s anybody’s guess what a President Trump might do if courts or congress blocked his most radical ideas.

Us and them

Schmitt’s second big idea is that politics is fundamentally about the distinction between friends and enemies. Liberal democracies are hypocritical, says Schmitt. They have constitutions and laws that pretend to treat everybody equally, but this is a sham. All states are based on a distinction between “them” and “us”, between “friend” and “enemy”. A nation needs to constantly remind itself of its enemies to ensure its own survival.

The new authoritarians embrace Schmitt’s friend/enemy distinction with gusto. Trump has a litany of opponents – Mexicans, Muslims, the Chinese – that seek to undermine America. In Russia, it’s the US that serves as Public Enemy Number One. In Hungary, migrants from the Middle East fill the role.

But – as Schmitt’s experience of Nazi Germany proved only too well – a nation defined in terms of external enemies quickly finds internal foes too. In Russia, Putin warned against a “fifth column” of “national traitors”. In Turkey more than 2,000 people have been prosecuted since April 2014 on charges of “insulting” Erdoğan – and academics, journalists and political opponents are attacked as enemies of the Turkish state. For Trump, too, there are plenty of internal enemies, not least “disgusting reporters” in the much hated “liberal media”.

Rise of authoritarianism

Schmitt’s third radical idea is to redefine democracy. In Schmitt’s view, democracy is not a contest between different political parties, but the creation of an almost mystical connection between the leader and the masses. The leader articulates the internal emotions of the crowd. That’s why Putin still enjoys approval ratings in the 70-80% range, despite Russia’s economic woes. And it’s why Trump will flourish with his supporters regardless of policy flip-flops.

When Trump claims he can shoot somebody on Fifth Avenue and not lose any votes, he’s channelling Schmitt.

Schmitt’s brilliance lay in his unflinching, unsentimental analysis of the baser notions of politics. He knew only too well the power of xenophobia and hatred to mobilise mass support. He saw at first hand the attraction of a leader who could cut through political or constitutional quagmires to “save” the nation. Even as a jurist, he felt the rush of emotion in a crowd when a leader articulates their deepest fears and desires.

Liberals will rail against Duterte, campaign to “stop Trump”, and call for more sanctions against Putin’s Russia. But the rise of Schmittian politics is a sure sign of a deep malaise in global democracy. The spread of liberal ideas around the world has failed to address the social dislocation and economic marginalisation of huge groups in society. Instead it has produced a turbocharged global elite, apparently unaccountable to the societies from which they extract their wealth.

Quick-fix authoritarian solutions will ultimately fail, but they can also be highly destructive. The second half of the 20th century can be defined as a struggle between Schmittian politics – the authoritarianisms of the left and of the right – and a workable liberal alternative.

After 1945, Germans refused to accept the assumptions of a Schmittian world, of a society divided into friends and enemies. Instead they forged a constitution that embedded the rule of law and liberal freedoms. That embrace of liberal democracy was a hard-fought lesson. The rise of the new authoritarians around the world is forcing us to learn it all over again.

About The Author

lewis davidDavid Lewis, Senior Lecturer, Politics, University of Exeter. His research interests are in international security and conflict studies. In regional terms, most of my research has explored post-Soviet politics, notably in Russia, Central Asia and the Caucasus. He also retains a strong interest in the politics of Sri Lanka and is particularly interested in the impact of 'Rising Powers' on issues of peace and conflict in international affairs.

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=Authoritarianism;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…
When Your Back Is Against The Wall
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I love the internet. Now I know a lot of people have a lot of bad things to say about it, but I love it. Just like I love the people in my life -- they are not perfect, but I love them anyway.
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 23, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Everyone probably can agree that we are living in strange times... new experiences, new attitudes, new challenges. But we can be encouraged in remembering that everything is always in flux,…