ما معنى من مجتمع لائق؟

ما معنى من مجتمع لائق؟

الجمعة، فبراير شنومكس، شنومكس

الحد الأدنى للأجور، مسدسات، والرعاية الصحية، ومعنى مجتمع اللائق

يجب رفع الحد الأدنى للأجور من $ 7.25 دولار 9 يكون عدم التفكير. يقول الجمهوريون ذلك سيكون سببا لإلقاء أرباب العمل وظائف، ولكن هذا هراء. وأرباب العمل الاستعانة بمصادر خارجية لا وظائف في الخارج أو استبدال آلات بالنسبة لهم لأن فرص العمل الحالية في هذا المستوى المتدني من الأجور كلها في قطاع الخدمات الشخصية المحلية (التجزئة و الفنادق و المطاعم، وهلم جرا)، حيث تمر على أي أرباب العمل برفع الأجور الصغيرة إلى العملاء والبنسات أكثر على فواتيرهم. الدول التي لديها الحد الأدنى للأجور أقرب إلى الحد الأدنى من $ 9 الاتحادية الحالية ليس لديهم معدلات أعلى من البطالة من القيام تظل الدول في الحد الأدنى الاتحادية.

A $ مجرد 9 ساعة يترجم إلى حوالي $ 18,000 في السنة - لا يزال تحت خط الفقر. عند إضافة في ضريبة الدخل المكتسب الائتمان وطوابع الغذاء فإنه من الممكن أن يرتفع بالكاد فوق الفقر في هذه الأجور، ولكن حتى خط الفقر من حوالي $ 23,000 يقلل التكلفة الحقيقية للمعيشة في معظم مناطق البلاد.

الى جانب ذلك، فإن الزيادة المقترحة وضع المزيد من المال في أيدي العائلات التي في أمس الحاجة إليها، والسماح لهم لشراء أكثر قليلا والحفاظ بالتالي غيرهم من العاملين.

ما هو الحشمة على علاقة ذلك؟ كل شيء!

ما معنى من مجتمع لائق؟وينبغي أن يكون المجتمع ائق تفعل ولا أقل.

ويقول بعض المحافظين "الآداب" ليس لديها ما تفعله حيال ذلك. الذي لديه الحق في أن يقرر ما هو لائق؟ يجب أن ندع "السوق" تقرر ما تدفع الناس.

هذا هو واحد من أقدم الكنائس المحافظة الموجودة ، استنادًا إلى الادعاء الخاطئ بأن هناك شيئًا يسمى "السوق" موجودًا بشكل منفصل عن المجتمع. لكن لا يوجد "سوق" في حالة الطبيعة ، بل البقاء للأصلح.

A يحدد المجتمع بالضرورة كيف "السوق" هو ​​تنظيم. معايير الأخلاق واللياقة تلعب دورا كبيرا في تلك القرارات.

وضعناها المعايير الدنيا لسلامة العمال وحماية المستهلك. قررنا الأطفال الصغار لا ينبغي أن يكون في قوة العمل.

نحن نبذل قصارى جهدنا لمنع بعض الأمور من يتم شراؤها وبيعها - مثل العبيد والمخدرات الخطيرة والرضع، تصويتات، ممارسة الجنس مع الأطفال والمدافع الرشاشة والمواد النووية.

قررنا المواطنين لا ينبغي أن يكون لشراء بعض الأشياء التي يجب أن تكون متاحة للجميع بدلا مجانا (تدفع في الواقع من قبل كل واحد منا من خلال ضرائبنا) - مثل مياه الشرب النظيفة والمدارس K-12 والجسور الآمنة، والحماية من العنف والحدائق العامة.

ماذا طلب الحشمة؟

قد تختلف الآراء حول ما يتطلب اللياقة، ونحن التجزئة بها في ظل نظام ديمقراطي. قد نقرر بعض المعايير الدنيا مكلفة جدا أو غير فعالة، أو لا يمكن أن تنفذ، أو فرض قيود لا مبرر لها على حرياتنا.

المجتمعات المختلفة التوصل إلى إجابات مختلفة. ويحظر المسدسات في معظم الدول المتقدمة الأخرى، على سبيل المثال. عمال الحصول على مزيد من الحماية مما هي عليه في الولايات المتحدة. الحد الأدنى للأجور أعلى. الضرائب على الأثرياء أعلى. الرعاية الصحية عالميا هو أكثر المتاحة.

يجب على كل مجتمع أن تقرر لنفسها ما بالضرورة يتطلب اللياقة. هذا هو معنى جدا من "المجتمع".

من هو "السوق" وأنها لا أعلم؟

لا تدخل لتأكيد أن الطائش "أسواق" أعلم. الأسواق إبداعات الإنسان، الأمر الذي يتطلب البشر أن تقرر كيفية هيكلة أنها والمحافظة عليها.

الأسئلة التي نواجهها - سواء لرفع الحد الأدنى للأجور، وتقييد توافر البنادق، وتوسيع التغطية الصحية، وعدد لا يحصى من القرارات الأخرى - تحتاج حتما لنا لتعريف ما نعنيه مجتمع لائقة.

(* الترجمة من قبل وأضاف INNERSELF)

عن المؤلف

روبرت رايخوكان روبرت ب. REICH، أستاذ المستشار للسياسة العامة في جامعة كاليفورنيا في بيركلي، وزير العمل في إدارة كلينتون. أطلقت مجلة تايم منه واحدا من أمناء مجلس الوزراء 10 الأكثر فعالية من القرن الماضي. وقد كتب الكتب ثلاثة عشر، بما في ذلك الكتب مبيعا "هزة ارتدادية"و"الذي تضطلع به الأمم". وأحدث مؤلفاته"ما بعد الغضب، "هو الآن في غلاف عادي، وهو أيضا محرر مؤسس في مجلة بروسبكت الأمريكية ورئيس قضية مشتركة.

كتب روبرت رايش

إنقاذ الرأسمالية: للكثيرين وليس القليل - بواسطة الرايخ روبرت ب.

0345806220لقد تم الاحتفاء بأميركا من قبل وتعرفها من قبل الطبقة الوسطى الكبيرة والمزدهرة. الآن ، هذه الطبقة الوسطى تتقلص ، الأوليغارشية الجديدة آخذة في الارتفاع ، وتواجه البلاد أكبر تفاوت في ثرواتها في ثمانين سنة. لماذا يخسرنا النظام الاقتصادي الذي جعل أميركا قوية فجأة ، وكيف يمكن إصلاحها؟

انقر هنا للمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.

ما بعد الغضب: قد ذهب ما الخطأ في اقتصادنا وديمقراطيتنا، وكيفية اصلاحها -- بواسطة الرايخ روبرت ب.

ما بعد الغضبفي هذا الكتاب في الوقت المناسب، روبرت ب. رايخ يقول أن لا شيء جيد يحدث في واشنطن ما لم يتم تنشيط المنظمة والمواطنين للتأكد من أفعال واشنطن في الصالح العام. الخطوة الأولى هي أن نرى الصورة الكبيرة. ما بعد الغضب يربط بين النقاط، والتي تبين لماذا حصة متزايدة من الدخل والثروة الذهاب إلى الأعلى قد اعاقه فرص العمل والنمو لشخص آخر، مما يقوض ديمقراطيتنا؛ تسبب الأميركيين أن تصبح ساخرة على نحو متزايد بشأن الحياة العامة، وتحول كثير من الأمريكيين ضد بعضها البعض. وهو ما يفسر أيضا لماذا مقترحات "الحق رجعية" على خطأ القتلى ويشكل خريطة طريق واضحة لما يجب القيام به بدلا من ذلك. وهنا خطة للعمل لكل من يهتم بمستقبل الأمريكية.

انقر هنا للمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

أصوات INNERSELF

What is the Meaning of a Decent Society?

What is the Meaning of a Decent Society?

Friday, February 15, 2013

The Minimum Wage, Guns, Healthcare, and the Meaning of a Decent Society

Raising the minimum wage from $7.25 to $9 should be a no-brainer. Republicans say it will cause employers to shed jobs, but that’s baloney. Employers won’t outsource the jobs abroad or substitute machines for them because jobs at this low level of pay are all in the local personal service sector (retail, restaurant, hotel, and so on), where employers pass on any small wage hikes to customers as pennies more on their bills. States that have a minimum wage closer to $9 than the current federal minimum don’t have higher rates of unemployment than do states still at the federal minimum.

A mere $9 an hour translates into about $18,000 a year — still under the poverty line. When you add in the Earned Income Tax Credit and food stamps it’s possible to barely rise above poverty at this wage, but even the poverty line of about $23,000 understates the true cost of living in most areas of the country.

Besides, the proposed increase would put more money into the hands of families that desperately need it, allowing them to buy a bit more and thereby keep others working.

What's Decency Got To Do With It? Everything!

What is the Meaning of a Decent Society?A decent society should do no less.

Some conservatives say “decency” has nothing to do with it. Who has the right to decide what’s decent? We should let the “market” decide what people are paid.

 This is one of the oldest conservative canards in existence, based on the false claim that there’s something called a “market” that exists separate from society. But there’s no “market” in a state of nature, just survival of the fittest.

A society necessarily determines how the “market” is to be organized. Standards of morality and decency play a large role in those decisions.

We set minimum standards for worker safety and consumer protection. We decide young children shouldn’t be in the labor force.

We do our best to prevent certain things from being bought and sold — such as slaves, dangerous narcotics, babies, votes, sex with children, machine guns, nuclear material.

We decide citizens shouldn’t have to buy certain things that should instead be available to everyone free of charge (paid in effect by all of us through our taxes) – such as clean drinking water, K-12 schools, safe bridges, protection from violence, public parks.

What Does Decency Require?

Opinions may differ about what decency requires, and we hash it out in a democracy. We might decide certain minimum standards are too costly or inefficient, or can’t be enforced, or impose unwarranted constraints on our freedoms.

Different societies come up with different answers. Handguns are banned in most other advanced nations, for example. Workers have more protections than they do in the United States. Minimum wages are higher. Taxes on the wealthy are higher. Healthcare is more universally available.

Every society must necessarily decide for itself what decency requires. That’s the very meaning of a “society.”

Who Is "The Market" and Does It Know Best?

Don’t fall for the mindless assertion that “markets” know best. Markets are human creations, requiring human beings to decide how they are structured and maintained.

The questions we face – whether to raise the minimum wage, restrict the availability of guns, expand healthcare coverage, and countless other decisions – inevitably require us to define what we mean by a decent society.

(*subtitles added by InnerSelf)

About the Author

Robert ReichROBERT B. REICH, Chancellor’s Professor of Public Policy at the University of California at Berkeley, was Secretary of Labor in the Clinton administration. Time Magazine named him one of the ten most effective cabinet secretaries of the last century. He has written thirteen books, including the best sellers “Aftershock" and “The Work of Nations." His latest, "Beyond Outrage," is now out in paperback. He is also a founding editor of the American Prospect magazine and chairman of Common Cause.

Books by Robert Reich

Saving Capitalism: For the Many, Not the Few -- by Robert B. Reich

0345806220America was once celebrated for and defined by its large and prosperous middle class. Now, this middle class is shrinking, a new oligarchy is rising, and the country faces its greatest wealth disparity in eighty years. Why is the economic system that made America strong suddenly failing us, and how can it be fixed?

Click here for more info or to order this book on Amazon.

 

Beyond Outrage: What has gone wrong with our economy and our democracy, and how to fix it -- by Robert B. Reich

Beyond OutrageIn this timely book, Robert B. Reich argues that nothing good happens in Washington unless citizens are energized and organized to make sure Washington acts in the public good. The first step is to see the big picture. Beyond Outrage connects the dots, showing why the increasing share of income and wealth going to the top has hobbled jobs and growth for everyone else, undermining our democracy; caused Americans to become increasingly cynical about public life; and turned many Americans against one another. He also explains why the proposals of the “regressive right” are dead wrong and provides a clear roadmap of what must be done instead. Here’s a plan for action for everyone who cares about the future of America.

Click here for more info or to order this book on Amazon.


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}