الدماغ الأنثوي: لماذا تستمر الأساطير الضارة حول النساء والعلوم في العودة بأشكال جديدة

الدماغ الأنثوي: لماذا تستمر الأساطير الضارة حول النساء والعلوم في العودة بأشكال جديدة
لا تزال هناك وجهات نظر متحيزة ضد جنس المرأة.
دميتري ناتاشين / شاترستوك

في عام 1879 ، الموسوعي الفرنسي كتب غوستاف لوبون أنه حتى في "الأجناس الأكثر ذكاءً" هناك "عدد كبير من النساء تكون أدمغته أقرب إلى غوريلا من أدمغة الذكور الأكثر تطورًا". وتابع اهانته قائلاً: "هذا النقص واضح جدًا لدرجة أنه لا يمكن لأحد أن يعارضه للحظة. شهادتها فقط تستحق المناقشة ".

اليوم انتقلنا ، أليس كذلك؟ ولكن كلما حاولنا تفسير التمثيل الناقص للمرأة في العلوم ، يبدو أن الأساطير المضحكة تتسلل مرة أخرى إلى النقاش بأشكال مختلفة - بغض النظر عن عدد المرات التي يتم فيها تحديها. بعد قرن من ولادة روزاليند فرانكلين ، أحد مؤسسي بنية الحمض النووي ، حان الوقت للأسف مرة أخرى إلقاء الضوء على الأحكام المسبقة عن أدمغة النساء وقدراتهن.

اتخذت وجهة النظر القائلة بأن المرأة أدنى من الرجل أشكالاً مختلفة على مر السنين. في القرن التاسع عشر ، ظهر قلق أبوي من أن التعرض لمتطلبات التعليم العلمي سيضر بالبيولوجيا الضعيفة للمرأة. في عام 19 ، وليام ويذرز مور ، ثم رئيس الجمعية الطبية البريطانية ، حذر من الأخطار من الإفراط في تعليم النساء لأنها يمكن أن تتطور إلى اضطراب أطلق عليه "فقدان الشهية المدرسي" ، مما جعل النساء غير أخلاقيات ومجنونات ولاجنسي.

عالمة القرن العشرين روزاليند فرانكلين.عالمة القرن العشرين روزاليند فرانكلين. أرشيف الوقائع اليهودية / صور التراث

في القرن العشرين ، ركزت التفسيرات بشكل أكبر على عجز الإناث في مجموعات مهارات معينة يُزعم أنها مطلوبة للعلم - مثل الإدراك المكاني. شوهدت أدمغة الذكور التي تغذي التستوستيرون بشق الأنفس من أجل السعي وراء العلم. كانت الرسالة واضحة: لا تفعل النساء العلم لأنهن لا يستطعن.

لكن هناك أدلة قوية متزايدة على أن الإناث غالبا ما يتفوق الذكور في العديد من مجالات العلوم ، دحضًا أسطورة أن النساء يفتقرن إلى القدرة المعرفية للقيام بالعلوم. حتى مهارات الرجال "المتفوقة" في الإدراك المكاني قد تبين أنها تتناقص بمرور الوقت - حتى مع تفوق النساء على الرجال في ثقافات معينة.

أسطورة الإختيار

ومع ذلك ، تستمر الأسطورة في الظهور ، مثل whac-a-mole ، في شكل حجة "الاختيار الأنثوي". وقد تميز هذا ب مذكرة جوجل سيئة السمعة حيث أكد مهندس جوجل جيمس دامور أن التفضيلات المحددة بيولوجيًا للنساء تعني أن التوزيع المتساوي بين الجنسين في التكنولوجيا غير محتمل. وجادل بأن النساء يفضلن "الناس" على "الأشياء".


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


لكن العلماء تحدى هذه الفكرة. فقط لأن النساء أكثر عرضة للممرضات من الرجال ، والرجال أكثر عرضة للسائقين في الحافلات من النساء ، لا يعني ذلك بالضرورة أنهم يفضلون الأشخاص أو الأشياء. يتم تشجيع النساء والرجال على القيام بوظائف مختلفة من قبل المجتمع منذ سن مبكرة. وتم منع النساء طويلا من العمل ، مثل قيادة الحافلات في لندن.

ومع ذلك ، لا يزال اختيار النساء يُستخدم لتفسير الفجوات بين الجنسين في العلوم. في عام 2018 ، اثنان من علماء النفس من المملكة المتحدة نشرت ورقة بعنوان "مفارقة المساواة بين الجنسين في تعليم العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات". تشير المفارقة إلى حقيقة أنه من المرجح أن تكون المرأة ممثلة تمثيلا ناقصا في العلوم في البلدان التي لديها أعلى مستويات المساواة بين الجنسين.

وقد تم شرح تفسير المؤلفين لذلك على مرحلتين. أحدهما أنه في أقل البلدان مساواة بين الجنسين ، كانت وظائف العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات (STEM) مدفوعة الأجر بشكل أفضل ، وبالتالي دفعت الضرورة الاقتصادية خيارات كلا الجنسين. الجزء الثاني من التفسير ، مدعومًا ببعض العلماء الآخرين ، هو أنه في البلدان ذات الظروف الاجتماعية والاقتصادية الأفضل ، "التعبير الطبيعي" عن "الاختلافات الفطرية" يمكن أن تظهر.

بعد الاعتراف بعدم وجود اختلافات في الأداء في مواضيع العلوم بين الذكور والإناث ، ظهر شكل مختلف من أسطورة "القدرات المعرفية" في العامين الماضيين. الإناث أفضل في القراءة بشكل عام ، لذلك من المرجح أن يحققن إحساسًا بالرضا عن طريق اختيار الموضوعات والوظائف غير العلمية.

كما يحدث ، نقاش حاد مستعرة الآن في الأوساط العلمية حول المفارقة ، لا سيما حول دقة تدابير المساواة بين الجنسين المستخدمة والتفسير السببي للارتباطات الموجودة. وقد أجبر هذا مؤلفي ورقة مفارقة المساواة بين الجنسين على إصدار تصحيح لتحليل بياناتهم الأصلي - اتضح أنهم استخدموا طريقة غير عادية لحساب الاختلافات بين الجنسين في خريجي STEM. وقال فريق من العلماء عند استخدام أساليب أكثر القياسية ، مثل النظر في الفرق بين النسبة المئوية لخريجي STEM من الإناث أو الذكور ، لا يمكن تكرار النتائج.

يجادل العديد من العلماء بأنه لا يزال هناك تحيز وتمييز ضد النساء في البلدان المتكافئة بين الجنسين ، وربما يكون هذا هو سبب انسحابهن من مهن العلوم. يظهر التاريخ أن المرأة لعبت دورًا كبيرًا في تطوير التخصصات العلمية المختلفة. ولكن ، عندما أصبح العلم أكثر احترافًا ، تم استبعاد النساء عمدا من المؤسسات العلمية ، مبنية صراحة على عجزها الفطري.

يود المرء أن يعتقد أننا وضعنا كل ذلك وراءنا. لكن السرد الأساسي لا يزال ينبثق بأشكال مختلفة ، على الأرجح تأجيل النساء. هناك أدلة على اعتقادات قوية بأن العلماء العظماء يولدون ولا يصنعون - وبشكل خاص ، يولدون من الذكور.

هذا على الرغم من أن الأبحاث أظهرت أن مفهوم دماغ "الذكر" و "الأنثى" معيب. يمكن أن تغير التجارب التي لديك بالفعل الدماغ ، بما في ذلك الصور النمطية التي تواجهها. إذا تم تشجيعك على القراءة ، فإن عقلك يتحسن في القراءة. ما هو أكثر من ذلك ، فقد تبين أنه عندما يكون لدى الناس أفكار سلبية حول مدى نجاحهم في أداء مهمة ما ، يتجنبونه في الواقع ويؤديون بشكل أسوأ.

كما تظهر العديد من العوامل المتعلقة بالنجاح في العلوم ، بما في ذلك التوظيف والترقية ، أدلة واضحة على التحيز ضد المرأة ضد المرأة. في دراسة كبيرة للتقارير البحثية في الكيمياء ، الأوراق التي تقودها الإناث كانوا أكثر عرضة للرفض عن طريق المجلات ، وأقل احتمالاً للذكر.

كان على فرانكلين بلا شك أن تتعامل مع الكثير من التحيز ، مع دورها في اكتشاف بنية الحمض النووي غير المعترف بها لفترة طويلة. من المفجع أن الرسالة القائلة بأن العلم ليس للنساء لا تزال قوية بعد قرن من ولادتها.المحادثة

عن المؤلف

جينا ريبون ، الأستاذ الفخري للإدراك العصبي الإدراكي ، جامعة أستون

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 30 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الطرق التي نسلكها هذه الأيام قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها جديدة بالنسبة لنا. التجارب التي نمر بها قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها أيضًا جديدة بالنسبة لنا. الشيء نفسه ينطبق على ...
عندما تكون الحقيقة فظيعة للغاية ومؤلمة ، اتخذ إجراءً
by ماري T. راسل، InnerSelf.com
وسط كل الأهوال التي تحدث هذه الأيام ، ألهمني شعاع الأمل الذي يسطع من خلاله. الناس العاديون يدافعون عن الصواب (وضد ما هو خطأ). لاعبي البيسبول،…
عندما يكون ظهرك مقابل الحائط
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
احب الانترنت. الآن أعرف أن الكثير من الناس لديهم الكثير من الأشياء السيئة ليقولوها عن ذلك ، لكني أحب ذلك. مثلما أحب الناس في حياتي - فهم ليسوا مثاليين ، لكني أحبهم على أي حال.
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 23 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
ربما يتفق الجميع على أننا نعيش في أوقات غريبة ... تجارب جديدة ، مواقف جديدة ، تحديات جديدة. ولكن يمكن أن نشجع على تذكر أن كل شيء في حالة تغير مستمر ، ...
تنهض النساء: كن مرئيًا ، كن مسموعًا ، وافعل
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
سميت هذا المقال "قوميات النساء: كن مرئيًا ، كن مسموعًا ، واتخذ إجراءً" ، وبينما أشير إلى النساء اللواتي تم إبرازهن في مقاطع الفيديو أدناه ، أتحدث أيضًا عن كل واحد منا. وليس فقط من هؤلاء ...

The Female Brain: Why Damaging Myths About Women And Science Keep Coming Back In New Forms

The Female Brain: Why Damaging Myths About Women And Science Keep Coming Back In New Forms
There are still sexist views of women’s brains.
Dmitry Natashin/Shutterstock

In 1879, French polymath Gustave Le Bon wrote that even in “the most intelligent races” there “are a large number of women whose brains are closer in size to those of gorillas than to the most developed male brains”. He continued his insult with: “This inferiority is so obvious that no one can contest it for a moment; only its degree is worth discussion.”

Today we have moved on, right? But whenever we attempt to explain the under-representation of women in science, debunked myths seem to sneak back into the debate in different guises – no matter how often they are challenged. A century after the birth of Rosalind Franklin, co-discoverer of the structure of DNA, it’s sadly time to once again shed light on the prejudices about women’s brains and abilities.

The view that women are inferior to men has taken many different forms over the years. In the 19th century, a patriarchal anxiety emerged that exposure to the demands of scientific education would damage women’s vulnerable biology. In 1886, William Withers Moore, then president of the British Medical Association, warned of the dangers of overeducating women as they could develop a disorder he called “anorexia scholastica”, which made women immoral, insane and asexual.

20th-century scientist Rosalind Franklin.20th-century scientist Rosalind Franklin. Jewish Chronicle Archive/Heritage-Images

In the 20th century, explanations focused more on female deficits in specific skill sets allegedly required for science – such as spatial cognition. Testosterone-fuelled male brains were seen to be hard-wired for the pursuit of science. The message was clear: women don’t do science because they can’t.

But there is increasingly strong evidence that females often outperform males in many spheres of science, neatly disproving the myth that women lack the cognitive capacity to do science. Even men’s “superior” skills in spatial cognition have been shown to be diminishing over time – with women even outperforming men in certain cultures.

The choosiness myth

Yet the myth keeps popping up, like whac-a-mole, in the form of a “female choosiness” argument. This was characterised by the notorious Google memo in which Google engineer James Damore asserted that the biologically determined preferences of women meant that a gender equal distribution in technology was unlikely. Women, he argued, prefer “people” to “things”.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


But scientists have challenged this idea. Just because women are more likely to be nurses than men, and men are more likely to be bus drivers than women, doesn’t necessarily mean that it is because they prefer either people or things. Women and men are encouraged to do different jobs by society from an early age. And women were long barred from jobs, such as bus driving in London.

Yet female choosiness continues to be used as an explanation for gender gaps in science. In 2018, two psychologists from the UK published a paper called “The Gender-Equality Paradox in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics Education”. The paradox refers to the fact that women are more likely to be underrepresented in the sciences in countries that have the highest levels of gender equality.

The authors’ explanation for this was couched in two stages. One was that in the least gender equal countries, STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) jobs were better paid and so economic necessity drove the choices of both sexes. The second part of the explanation, backed up by some other scientists, was that in countries with better social and economic conditions, the “natural expression” of “innate differences” could emerge.

Having to acknowledge that there were no differences in performance on science subjects between males and females, a different form of the “cognitive capacity” myth has emerged in the last couple of years. Females are universally better at reading, so they are more likely to achieve a sense of gratification by choosing non-scientific subjects and careers.

As it happens, a fierce debate is now raging in scientific circles about the paradox, particularly about the accuracy of the gender-equality measures used and the causal interpretation of the correlations found. This has forced the authors of the gender-equality paradox paper to issue a correction of their original data analysis – it turned out they had used a rather unusual way to calculate sex differences in STEM graduates. When using more standard approaches, such as looking at the difference between the percentage of STEM graduates who are female or male, one team of scientists said they couldn’t replicate the results.

Many scientists argue that there’s still bias and discrimination against women in gender-equal countries, and that may be why they opt out of science careers. History shows that women played a large part in the development of different scientific disciplines. But, as science became more professionalised, women were deliberately excluded from scientific institutions, explicitly based on their innate deficits.

One would like to think that we have put all of that behind us. But the underlying narrative still pops up in various forms, most likely putting women off. There is evidence of powerful beliefs that great scientists are born and not made – and, more particularly, are born male.

This is despite the fact that research has shown that the concept of a “male” and “female” brain is flawed. The experiences you have can actually change the brain, including the stereotyping you face. If you are encouraged to read, your brain gets better at reading. What’s more, it has been shown that when people have negative thoughts about how well they will do on a task, they actually avoid it and perform worse.

Many factors related to success in science, including hiring and promotion, also show clear evidence of gender bias against women. In a large study of research reports in chemistry, female-led papers were more likely to be rejected by journals, and less likely to be cited.

Franklin no doubt had to deal with a lot of prejudice, with her role in discovering the structure of DNA going unacknowledged for a long time. It is heartbreaking that the message that science is not for women remains a powerful a century after her birth.The Conversation

About the Author

Gina Rippon, Professor Emeritus of Cognitive NeuroImaging, Aston University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…