لماذا من السهل أن تصبح عدوًا للناس عند التحدث بالحقيقة

لماذا من السهل أن تصبح عدوًا للناس عند التحدث بالحقيقة دكتور أنتوني فوسي ، مدير المعهد الوطني للحساسية والأمراض المعدية ، يستمع بينما يتحدث الرئيس دونالد ترامب عن الفيروس التاجي في البيت الأبيض ، 15 مايو ، 2020. (AP Photo / Alex Brandon)

طبيب يتحدث عن الأحداث التي يعتقد أنها ستعرض الصحة العامة للخطر. بدلاً من الرد بامتنان ، يسعى المسؤولون السياسيون إلى إسكات الطبيب وتشويه سمعته. هل هذا في الصين أو الولايات المتحدة أو كندا أو بلدة نرويجية صغيرة في هنريك إبسن لعب 1882 عدو الشعب?

هذه أوقات استثنائية تتطلب منا أن نخرج بطرق جديدة لفهم ومعالجة الأزمات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والصحية. ولكن يمكننا أيضًا أن ننظر إلى نصوص أدبية لمساعدتنا على الانخراط حرجة مع التحديات الاجتماعية المعقدة وتوجيه تفكيرنا.

تعتبر مسرحية إبسن مثالًا واضحًا على كيفية إعادة النظر في الأدب الكلاسيكي في تقديم رؤى مقنعة في الوقت المناسب وواضحة ومقنعة للقيمة الدائمة. في المسرحية ، تظهر شخصية الدكتور ستوكمان للعامة بعد أن اكتشف أن الحمامات المربحة ملوثة ببكتيريا خطيرة. غضب مسؤولي المدينة ورجال الأعمال سريع وشديد.

إسكات الخبراء

في ديسمبر 2019 ، كان الدكتور لي ون ليانغ الصيني وزملاؤه من بين الأوائل التعرف على فيروس جديد خطير. تم اعتقال لي واستجوابه من قبل المسؤولين المحليين لمشاركة أخبار الفيروس عبر وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي وتوفي بشكل مأساوي من الفيروس التاجي يوم 7 فبراير.

أصبح لي رمزًا عالميًا لكيفية إسكات الخبرة غير المريحة ، على الرغم من تبرئته بعد وفاته. عينته السلطات الوطنية شهيد - أعلى لقب رسمي يمكن تعيينه لمواطن في الصين يمنح حياته في خدمة البلاد.

في الآونة الأخيرة ، على هذا الجانب من المحيط الهادئ ، ظهرت أنماط مماثلة ، باستثناء الشهادة.

في الولايات المتحدة ، كان الدكتور ريك برايت ، مدير هيئة تطوير البحوث الطبية الحيوية المتقدمة (BARDA) ، يرأس تطوير لقاح COVID-19 وكان "إعادة تعيين".


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


قدم برايت شكوى المبلغين ضد إدارة ترامب ، مدعيا أن القادة في وزارة الصحة والخدمات الإنسانية تجاهلوا تحذيراته COVID-19 المبكرة. وقال أيضا أنه تم فصله لأنه قاوم تعزيز هيدروكسي كلوروكين والكلوروكين كعلاج.

لماذا من السهل أن تصبح عدوًا للناس عند التحدث بالحقيقة يصل الدكتور ريك برايت ، المدير السابق لهيئة البحث والتطوير الطبي الطبي المتقدم ، إلى جلسة استماع للجنة الفرعية للطاقة والتجارة التابعة لمجلس النواب الأمريكي حول الصحة لمناقشة حماية السلامة العلمية استجابة لتفشي فيروسات التاجية في مايو 2020 في واشنطن. (جريج ناش / بول عبر AP)

وصف برايت للثقافة السياسية التي تفضل "السياسة والمحسوبيةحول العلم هو أحدث دليل على أن الخبراء والسلطات الأمريكية ليست معزولة عن المدى المبتذلة والمبتذلة لإدارة ترامب. ومن هنا تقدم كلاسيكيات إبسن أوضح تناظرية لهذه اللحظة التاريخية.

مصير صائدي الحقيقة

برايت هي سلطة طبية محترمة في منتصف العمر المهني لها تأثير واسع على سياسة الصحة العامة الأمريكية ، بطريقة مماثلة لما يفعله ستوكمان في بلدة إبسن النرويجية الخيالية. يختلف سلوك برايت اللطيف عن ستوكمان لهجة أكثر كشطلكنهما يشتركان في الالتزام بالنزاهة المهنية والمساءلة والصالح العام مما يضعهما في خلاف مع القادة السياسيين الذين يعطيون الأولوية للأرباح على صحة الإنسان وسلامته.

في المسرحية ، يكتب ستوكمان مقالًا لصحيفة البلدة يكشف عن حالة الحمامات للجمهور. عندما يتلقى عمدة المدينة كلمة عن الكشف العام المقبل ، يواجه فورتمان ستوكمان ويطلب منه إعادة النظر. يخطر رئيس البلدية الطبيب على الفور بأن إصلاحات الحمامات ستكون لها تكاليف معيقة ، وتستغرق عامين لإكمال وتدمير اقتصاد المدينة. يقدم رئيس البلدية يائساً أن الوضع ربما ليس "بالسوء الذي تمثله ..."

لدى ستوكمان رد مقلق:

"أقول لك إن الوضع أسوأ - أو في جميع الأحداث سيكون في الصيف ، عندما يأتي الطقس الدافئ."

يستخدم رئيس البلدية في النهاية روابطه ونفوذه لإيقاف نشر المقال. في ذروة المسرحية ، يختار ستوكمان الكشف عن الحقيقة في دار البلدية. تلقى الجمهور رسالته بشكل ضعيف وتم فصله على الفور ووصفه بأنه "عدو الشعب".

يستهدفها اليمين

وبالمثل ، حذرت شهادة برايت الأخيرة في الكونغرس من أن أمريكا تواجه "أحلك شتاء في تاريخ البشرية الحديث. " أحد الاختلافات الرئيسية هو أن وسائل الإعلام لم تسكت صوت برايت. وبينما فقد برايت وظيفته ، تلقى شهادته بشكل إيجابي من قبل الجمهور الأمريكي.

في الوقت نفسه ، جعله تسييس الوباء هدفا للحروب الثقافية لليمين ، مثل الجدل حول الإغلاق الاقتصادي ، تهم الموت و الأن يرتدي القناع يكثف.

وبالمثل، وقد رفض حق مؤخرا الدكتور أنتوني فوسي كعامل تدمير اقتصادي. اجتذبت توبيخات فوسي الضمنية والصريحة لخطط ترامب لإعادة فتحها غضب اليمين الرجعي ولل الرئيس نفسه.

بشكل حاسم ، كان ترامب مرارا وتكرارا استخدم عبارة "عدو الشعب" إلى مهاجمة الصحافة الناقدة؛ الآن تم سماع نفس العبارة في احتجاج ضد الإغلاق.

شبكات اليمين و جماعات الدعوة كما أنهم يدعمون احتجاجات "فتح الاقتصاد". بعض المتظاهرين اتهموا السلطات الحكومية أو المستشفيات اختلاق الأزمة والعاملين في مجال الرعاية الصحية لأن يكونوا فاعلين مستقلين. إن مثل هذه التكتيكات شبيهة بإثارة الناس في الخدمة العامة باعتبارهم "أعداء الشعب".

تعابير عنصرية

في كندا ، النائب المحافظ اعتداء ديريك سلون العنصري على د. تيريزا تام ، مديرة الصحة العامة الكندية، يقدم مثالاً آخر على التخريب السياسي للخبرة التي هي في صميم مسرحية إبسن.

تحديات عنصرية للخبراء وإعادة فتح احتجاجات الاقتصاد يسيطر عليها البيض الذين يحملون السلاح ويحملون الرموز العنصرية على وشك إعادة التأكيد استعلاء البيض والدفاع عن الوضع القائم غير المنصف وغير العادل.

لماذا من السهل أن تصبح عدوًا للناس عند التحدث بالحقيقة رئيسة الصحة العامة الدكتورة تيريزا تام تتحدث خلال مؤتمر صحفي في ويست بلوك في برلمان هيل في أوتاوا ، في 1 يونيو 2020. (الصحافة الكندية / جاستن تانغ)

دروس للمضي قدما

إذن ، ما الذي يمكن أن نتعلمه من مسرحية القرن التاسع عشر حول كيفية المضي قدمًا؟

في نهاية المسرحية ، أعاد ستوكمان تكريس نفسه للتعليم على أمل الفوز في المعارك المستقبلية من أجل الصالح العام. يعلن لعائلته أنه سيبدأ مدرسة تقدمية في موقع تحطيمه العام - قاعة المدينة - لتعليم الجيل القادم رفض التفكير البلدي الصغير والفساد.

هذا جدير بالملاحظة. قام كل من Li و Bright و Fauci و Tam بتعليم الجمهور من خلال تعليقاتهم العامة أو شهاداتهم أو أفعالهم ، بالإضافة إلى توفير الخبرة العلمية. على سبيل المثال ، تلتزم Fauci علنا ​​بارتداء قناع الوجه السلوك المسؤول النموذجي وقد تم بصبر تام شرح المبادئ التوجيهية المتطورة في كندا بشأن ارتداء الأقنعة.

في المقابل ، يتعين علينا جميعًا أن نعيد التزامنا بالتعليم الرسمي وغير الرسمي الذي يؤكد على المواطنة المسؤولة ، وقيمة المعرفة الشاملة ولكن الدقيقة وأهمية التعاون - وفي بعض الأحيان ، التضحية الشخصية لصالح الصالح العام.

إن مثل هذه الخطوات ضرورية لمقاومة آفة النفعية الاقتصادية النيوليبرالية والفردية التنافسية التي تعرض العديد من جوانب حياتنا الاجتماعية والبيئية للخطر. وربما يكون الآن أيضًا وقتًا مثاليًا لقراءة وتعليم المزيد من إبسن.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

جون درو ، دكتوراه مرشح ، التعليم ، الجامعة الغربية

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ما الذي تريده؟
ما الذي تريده؟
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لماذا النوم مهم جدا لفقدان الوزن
لماذا النوم مهم جدا لفقدان الوزن
by إيما سويني وإيان والش
رؤية والدينا وأقاربنا في ضوء جديد
رؤية والدينا وأقاربنا في ضوء جديد
by جين رولاند وشانتيديفي
هل تجاهل المكالمات الآلية يجعلها تتوقف؟
هل تجاهل المكالمات الآلية يجعلها تتوقف؟
by ساثفيك براساد وبرادلي ريفز

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 20 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
يمكن تلخيص موضوع النشرة الإخبارية هذا الأسبوع على أنه "يمكنك فعل ذلك" أو بشكل أكثر تحديدًا "يمكننا القيام بذلك!". هذه طريقة أخرى للقول "أنت / لدينا القدرة على إجراء تغيير". صورة ...
ما الذي يناسبني: "يمكنني فعل ذلك!"
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
السبب في أنني أشارك "ما يناسبني" هو أنه قد يعمل معك أيضًا. إذا لم تكن الطريقة التي أفعل بها ذلك بالضبط ، نظرًا لأننا جميعًا فريدون ، فقد يكون بعض التباين في الموقف أو الطريقة أمرًا جيدًا ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 6 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نرى الحياة من خلال عدسات إدراكنا. كتب ستيفن آر كوفي: "نحن نرى العالم ، ليس كما هو ، ولكن كما نحن ، أو كما نحن مشروطون برؤيته". لذلك هذا الأسبوع ، نلقي نظرة على بعض ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 30 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الطرق التي نسلكها هذه الأيام قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها جديدة بالنسبة لنا. التجارب التي نمر بها قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها أيضًا جديدة بالنسبة لنا. الشيء نفسه ينطبق على ...
عندما تكون الحقيقة فظيعة للغاية ومؤلمة ، اتخذ إجراءً
by ماري T. راسل، InnerSelf.com
وسط كل الأهوال التي تحدث هذه الأيام ، ألهمني شعاع الأمل الذي يسطع من خلاله. الناس العاديون يدافعون عن الصواب (وضد ما هو خطأ). لاعبي البيسبول،…

Why It's Easy To Become An Enemy Of The People When Speaking Truth

Why It's Easy To Become An Enemy Of The People When Speaking Truth Dr. Anthony Fauci, director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, listens as President Donald Trump speaks about the coronavirus at the White House, May 15, 2020. (AP Photo/Alex Brandon)

A doctor speaks about events they think will put public health at risk. Instead of responding with gratitude, political officials seek to silence and discredit the doctor. Is this in China, the United States, Canada or a small Norwegian town in Henrik Ibsen’s 1882 play An Enemy of the People?

These are extraordinary times that require us to come up with new ways to understand and tackle social, economic and health crises. But we can also look to literary texts to help us engage critically with complex social challenges and guide our thinking.

Ibsen’s play is a telling example of how revisiting classic literature can offer timely, prescient and compelling insights of enduring value. In the play, the character Dr. Stockmann goes public after he discovers that lucrative baths are polluted with a dangerous bacterium. The wrath of town officials and businessmen is swift and fierce.

Silencing the experts

In December 2019, China’s Dr. Li Wenliang and his colleagues were among the first to recognize a dangerous new virus. Li was detained and interrogated by local officials for sharing news of the virus through social media and tragically died from the coronavirus on Feb. 7.

Li became a global symbol for how inconvenient expertise may be silenced, although he was posthumously exonerated. National authorities designated him as a martyr — the highest official title that can be assigned to a citizen in China who gives their life in the service of the country.

Recently, on this side of the Pacific Ocean, similar patterns have emerged, minus the martyrdom.

In the U.S., Dr. Rick Bright, director of the Biomedical Advanced Research Development Authority (BARDA), had been presiding over the development of a COVID-19 vaccine and was “re-assigned.”


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Bright filed a whistleblower complaint against the Trump administration, alleging that leaders at the Department of Health and Human Services ignored his COVID-19 early warnings. He also said he was fired because he resisted promoting hydroxychloroquine and chloroquine as cures.

Why It's Easy To Become An Enemy Of The People When Speaking Truth Dr. Rick Bright, former director of the Biomedical Advanced Research and Development Authority, arrives for a U.S. House Energy and Commerce Subcommittee on Health hearing to discuss protecting scientific integrity in response to the coronavirus outbreak in May 2020 in Washington. (Greg Nash/Pool via AP)

Bright’s description of a political culture that favours “politics and cronyism” over science is the latest evidence that American experts and authorities are not insulated from the vulgar and avaricious reach of the Trump administration. And it’s here that Ibsen’s classic presents the clearest analogue to this historical moment.

Fate of truth-tellers

Bright is a respected, mid-career medical authority who held wide influence over U.S. public health policy, in a similar way as Stockmann does in Ibsen’s fictional Norwegian town. Bright’s soft-spoken demeanour differs from Stockmann’s more abrasive tone, but the two share a commitment to professional integrity, accountability and the public good that put them at odds with political leaders who prioritize profits over human health and safety.

In the play, Stockmann writes an article for the town’s newspaper revealing the state of the baths to the public. When the town’s mayor gets word of the forthcoming public disclosure, he immediately confronts Stockmann and implores him to reconsider. The mayor promptly informs the doctor that repairs to the baths would have crippling costs, take two years to complete and destroy the town’s economy. The mayor desperately offers that perhaps the situation is not “as bad as you represent …”

Stockmann has a disquieting response:

“I tell you it is even worse — or at all events it will be in summer, when the warm weather comes.”

The mayor ultimately uses his connections and influence to stop the article’s publication. In the play’s climax, Stockmann opts to reveal the truth at a town hall. His message is received poorly by the audience and he is promptly fired and labelled an “enemy of the people.”

Targeted by the right

Similarly, Bright’s recent congressional testimony warned that America faces “the darkest winter in recent human history.” One key difference is that Bright’s voice was not silenced by the media. And while Bright lost his job, his testimony has been positively received by the American public.

At the same time, the politicization of the pandemic has rendered him a target of the right’s culture wars, as the debate over economic closures, death counts and now mask-wearing intensifies.

Similarly, the right has recently repudiated Dr. Anthony Fauci as an agent of economic destruction. Fauci’s implicit and explicit rebukes of Trump’s erratic reopening plans have attracted the ire of the reactionary right and of the president himself.

Crucially, Trump has repeatedly used the phrase “enemy of the people” to attack critical journalism; now the same phrase has been heard at an anti-lockdown protest.

Right-wing networks and advocacy groups are also supporting “open the economy” protests. Some protestors have accused government or hospital authorities of fabricating the crisis and health-care workers of being stand-in actors. Such tactics are akin to excoriating people in public service as “enemies of the people.”

Expressions of racism

In Canada, Conservative MP Derek Sloan’s racist attack on Dr. Theresa Tam, Canada’s Chief Public Health Officer, provides another example of the political subversion of expertise that is at the fulcrum of Ibsen’s play.

Racialized challenges to experts and reopening-the-economy protests dominated by white people who wield guns and hold racist symbols are about re-affirming white supremacy and defending an inequitable and unjust status quo.

Why It's Easy To Become An Enemy Of The People When Speaking Truth Chief Public Health Officer Dr. Theresa Tam speaks during a news conference in West Block on Parliament Hill in Ottawa, on June 1, 2020. (THE CANADIAN PRESS/Justin Tang)

Lessons in moving forward

So, what then can we learn from this 19th-century play about how to move forward?

At the end of the play, Stockmann rededicates himself to education in the hopes of winning future battles for the public good. He announces to his family he’ll start a progressive school at the site of his public debasement — the town hall — to teach the next generation to reject the town’s petty thinking and corruption.

This is noteworthy. Li, Bright, Fauci and Tam have educated the public through their public commentary, testimony or actions, in addition to providing scientific expertise. Fauci, for instance, has publicly committed to wearing a face mask to model responsible behaviour and Tam has patiently explained evolving guidelines in Canada on wearing masks.

In turn, we all ought to recommit ourselves to formal and informal education that emphasizes responsible citizenship, the value of inclusive but rigorous knowledge and the importance of collaboration — and, at times, personal sacrifice in the interest of the common good.

Such steps are essential to resisting the plague of neoliberal economic expediency and competitive individualism that endangers so many aspects of our social and environmental life. And perhaps now is also an ideal time to be reading and teaching more Ibsen.The Conversation

About The Author

John Drew, PhD Candidate, Education, Western University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…