كيف نفهم أحدث نظرية مؤامرة ترامب Obamagate

كيف نفهم أحدث نظرية مؤامرة ترامب Obamagate أندرو كلاين / شاترستوك

Obamagate هي أحدث نظرية مؤامرة يدفع بها الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترامب. بدأ في صباح يوم 10 مايو ، عندما كان ترامب إعادة تغريد كلمة "OBAMAGATE!" بحلول اليوم التالي ، هاشتاق Obamagate تراكمت لديها أكثر من مليوني تغريدة وأربعة ملايين أخرى بنهاية الأسبوع. أعاد ترامب استخدام شعاره مرارًا وتكرارًا على خلاصته على تويتر منذ ذلك الحين ، وقد تم الترويج له من قبل المؤثرين اليمنيين بما في ذلك غلين بيك, شون هانيتي وغيرها الكثير.

أنت لست وحدك إذا كنت مرتبكًا بما هو Obamagate في الواقع أو لماذا يغرد ترامب بذلك. عندما طلب مراسل من واشنطن بوست من الرئيس شرح ذلك في مؤتمر صحفي ، رد:

امض! لقد استمر لفترة طويلة. لقد استمر الأمر حتى قبل أن يتم انتخابي ... حدثت بعض الأشياء الفظيعة ، ولا يجب السماح لها بحدوث ذلك في بلدنا مرة أخرى ... وأتمنى أن تكتب بصراحة عن ذلك ولكن للأسف اخترت عدم القيام بذلك.

عندما سئل عن التفاصيل ، أضاف ترامب: "إن الجريمة واضحة جدًا للجميع ، كل ما عليك فعله هو قراءة الصحف ، باستثناء صحفك".

Obamagate هي نظرية مؤامرة نصف مخبوزة ، ولهذا السبب يبدو تفسير ترامب غامضًا وغير مترابط. باتهام إدارة أوباما بتستر غامض ، يتعلق بالتحقيق في التواطؤ مع روسيا الذي طارد رئاسة ترامب ، فإنه يستحضر شبح مؤامرة واسعة دون تقديم الكثير من التفسير. ومع ذلك ، فإن غموضها هو جزء مما يجعلها جذابة لأولئك من بين قاعدة المعجبين بترامب الذين يرون أنفسهم باحثون يبحثون عن الحقيقة.

روابط QAnon

يرتبط Obamagate بشدة بنظرية مؤامرة QAnon - على تويتر ، يتم استخدام علامات التصنيف هذه كثيرًا جنبًا إلى جنب. QAnon هي نظرية مؤامرة راسخة في الدولة عميقة تتمحور حول شخصية غامضة "Q" بمعرفة حكومية داخلية مفترضة. تقوم Q بنشر مشاركات مجهولة (ومن ثم QAnon) في منتديات الإنترنت اليمينية المتطرفة ، مما يثير فكرة أن عصابة عالمية عميقة من النخب العالمية مسؤولة عن كل الشرور في العالم. يرى المتابعون ترامب على أنه الأمل الوحيد في العالم في إسقاط هذه العصابة ويزعمون أن كيو طلب ترامب النشر أول تغريدة #Obamagate.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


مع أصولها على مواقع الرسائل القصيرة مثل 4chan ، نظرية المؤامرة QAnon لديها ذهب التيار بشكل متزايد فى السنوات الاخيرة. في الواقع ، أصبحت شائعة جدًا لدرجة أنها تبدو حاليًا وكأنها تتخذ شكل حركة دينية جديدة بين مساعديها ، بعضهم الآن حتى عقد مجموعات العبادة.

كيف نفهم أحدث نظرية مؤامرة ترامب Obamagate أتباع QAnon يدعمون دونالد ترامب. إريك روزنوالد / شاترستوك

مثل الكثير من نظريات المؤامرة ، يخدم QAnon غرضًا سياسيًا. وقد ظهرت في وقت التحقيق الرسمي في التواطؤ الروسي المزعوم في حملة ترامب الرئاسية ، بقيادة المستشار الخاص السابق روبرت مولر. وبالمثل ، فإن لأوباماغات أجندة سياسية واضحة. وتتهم إدارة أوباما بتدبير التحقيق الروسي لتشويه رئاسة ترامب منذ البداية. والأهم من ذلك ، أنه يحول الانتباه بعيدًا عن أزمة الفيروسات التاجية الحالية ، مما يشير إلى أن ترامب هو ضحية مؤامرة بعيدة المدى لتقويض سلطته.

لعب الدعاية

Obamagate هو مثال لما أطلق عليه علماء السياسة اسم "التآمر بدون نظرية" نانسي روزنبلوم وروسيل مويرهيد. إنه يجعل معرفة الإيماءات تجاه فكرة نظرية المؤامرة دون تطوير أو الالتزام بتفسير حقيقي كامل. هذه تقنية بلاغية استخدمها ترامب لفترة طويلة لإحداث تأثير كبير ، على حد سواء صافرة الكلب يناشد ل المحافظون الأمريكيون ومحاولة لصرف الانتباه عن أخطاءه الكثيرة. في هذه الحالة ، إنها إدارته سوء إدارة أزمة الفيروسات التاجية.

كعالم جيسون ستانلي أشاريقدم هذا الشكل من الخطاب السياسي "تفسيرات بسيطة لمشاعر غير عقلانية ، مثل الاستياء أو الخوف من كره الأجانب في مواجهة التهديدات المتصورة".

Obamagate هي حالة كلاسيكية من الدعاية من حيث أنها تهدف إلى خلق هالة من التلميحات من أجل إعادة صياغة السرد. إنها محاولة لصرف الانتباه عن التعامل الكارثي لإدارة ترامب لوباء الفيروس التاجي من خلال جعل ترامب هو الضحية. بطريقة مماثلة لكيفية Pizzagate شوهت التوقعات الانتخابية لهيلاري كلينتون في عام 2016يعد Obamagate جزءًا من استراتيجية حملة ترامب لهزيمة المرشح الديمقراطي جو بايدن في الانتخابات الرئاسية المقبلة.

لكن الفرق من Pizzagate هو أن ترامب هذه المرة قد تخلى عن التظاهر بإبقاء نظرية المؤامرة على طول ذراعه. يائسة لإعادة تعيين السرد ، ألقي في الكثير مع بعض العناصر الأكثر تطرفًا وهامشًا في قاعدته. في الماضي ، كان مشجعو ترامب على 4chan يشيرون إليه غالبًا على أنه إله الإمبراطور ترامب. بعد Obamagate ، يبدو الآن أن الإمبراطور المثل ليس لديه ملابس.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

مارك توترس ، قسم الإعلام والثقافة ، كلية العلوم الإنسانية ، جامعة أمستردام وبيتر نايت ، أستاذ الدراسات الأمريكية ، جامعة مانشستر

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

من المحررين

لماذا يمكن أن يكون دونالد ترامب أكبر الخاسرين في التاريخ
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
تحديث 2 يوليو ، 20020 - يكلف جائحة فيروس كورونا هذا ثروة ، ربما 2 أو 3 أو 4 ثروات ، كلها ذات حجم غير معروف. أوه نعم ، ومئات الآلاف ، وربما مليون شخص سيموتون ...
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: كيف يتم تدريس العنصرية
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في حلقة أوبرا شو عام 1992 ، علّمت الناشطة والمناهضة للعنصرية جين إيليوت الحائزة على جوائز الجمهور درساً قاسياً حول العنصرية من خلال إظهار مدى سهولة تعلم التحيز.
تغير سوف يأتي...
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
(30 مايو 2020) بينما أشاهد الأخبار عن الأحداث في فيلادلفيا والمدن الأخرى في البلاد ، فإن قلبي يتألم لما يحدث. أعلم أن هذا جزء من التغيير الأكبر الذي يحدث ...
أغنية يمكن أن ترفع القلب والروح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لدي العديد من الطرق التي أستخدمها لمسح الظلام من ذهني عندما أجد أنه تسلل إلى الداخل. أحدهما هو البستنة ، أو قضاء الوقت في الطبيعة. والآخر هو الصمت. طريقة أخرى هي القراءة. وواحد ...
التميمة للوباء والأغنية موضوع للتمييز الاجتماعي والعزلة
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لقد صادفت أغنية مؤخرًا ، وبينما كنت أستمع إلى كلمات الأغاني ، اعتقدت أنها ستكون أغنية مثالية كـ "أغنية موضوعية" في أوقات العزلة الاجتماعية هذه. (كلمات تحت الفيديو.)

How To Understand Trump's Latest Conspiracy Theory Obamagate

How To Understand Trump's Latest Conspiracy Theory Obamagate Andrew Cline / Shutterstock

Obamagate is the latest conspiracy theory to be pushed by US president, Donald Trump. It started on the morning of May 10, when Trump retweeted the word “OBAMAGATE!” By the next day, the Obamagate hashtag had accrued over two million tweets and another four million by the end of the week. Trump has repeatedly reused the slogan on his Twitter feed since and it has been promoted by right-wing influencers including Glenn Beck, Sean Hannity and many others.

You are not alone if you’re confused by what Obamagate actually is or why Trump is tweeting about it. When a reporter from the Washington Post asked the president to explain it in a press briefing, he replied:

Obamagate! It’s been going on for a long time. It’s been going on since before I even got elected … Some terrible things happened, and it should never be allowed to happen in our country again … and I wish you’d write honestly about it but unfortunately you choose not to do so.

When asked for specifics, Trump added: “The crime is very obvious to everybody, all you have to do is read the newspapers, except yours.”

Obamagate is a half-baked conspiracy theory, which is why Trump’s explanation seems cryptic and incoherent. Accusing the Obama administration of a vague cover-up, relating to the investigation into collusion with Russia that has dogged Trump’s presidency, it conjures up the spectre of a vast conspiracy without providing much explanation. Its very vagueness, however, is part of what makes it attractive to those among Trump’s fan base who see themselves as researchers in search of the truth.

QAnon links

Obamagate is strongly linked to the QAnon conspiracy theory – on Twitter, these hashtags are frequently used alongside each other. QAnon is a well-established deep state conspiracy theory centred around a shadowy figure “Q” with supposed insider government knowledge. Q posts anonymously (hence QAnon) in far-right online forums, stoking up the idea that a deep state cabal of global elites is responsible for all the evil in the world. Followers see Trump as the world’s only hope in bringing down this cabal and claim that Q requested Trump to post the first #Obamagate tweet.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


With its origins on fringe messageboard websites such 4chan, the QAnon conspiracy theory has gone increasingly mainstream in recent years. Indeed, it has become so popular that it currently appears to be taking the shape of a new religious movement among its acolytes, some of whom now even convene worship groups.

How To Understand Trump's Latest Conspiracy Theory Obamagate QAnon followers back Donald Trump. Eric Rosenwald / Shutterstock

Like a lot of conspiracy theories, QAnon serves a political purpose. It emerged at the time of the official investigation into alleged Russian collusion in the Trump presidential campaign, led by former special counsel Robert Mueller. Similarly, Obamagate has a clear political agenda. It accuses the Obama administration of masterminding the Russia investigation to tarnish Trump’s presidency from the outset. More importantly, it diverts attention away from the current coronavirus crisis, suggesting that Trump is the victim of a far-reaching plot to undermine his authority.

Propaganda play

Obamagate is an example of what has been called “conspiracy without theory” by the political scientists Nancy Rosenblum and Russell Muirhead. It makes knowing gestures towards the idea of a conspiracy theory without developing or committing to an actual full-blown explanation. This is a rhetorical technique that Trump has long used to great effect, both as a dog-whistle appeal to American conservatives and an attempt to deflect attention from his many blunders. In this case, it’s his administration’s mismanagement of the coronavirus crisis.

As the scholar Jason Stanley has pointed out, this form of political speech offers “simple explanations for otherwise irrational emotions, such as resentment or xenophobic fear in the face of perceived threats”.

Obamagate is a classic case of propaganda in that it is intended to create an aura of innuendo in order to reframe the narrative. It is an attempt to deflect attention away from the Trump administration’s disastrous handling of the coronavirus pandemic by making Trump out to be the victim. In a similar manner to how Pizzagate tarnished Hillary Clinton’s electoral prospects in 2016, Obamagate is part of Trump’s campaign strategy to defeat the democratic nominee Joe Biden in the upcoming presidential election.

The difference from Pizzagate, however, is that this time Trump has abandoned the pretence of keeping the conspiracy theory at arm’s length. Desperate to reset the narrative, he has thrown in his lot with some of the most extreme and fringe elements of his base. In the past, Trump’s fans on 4chan often referred to him as God Emperor Trump. After Obamagate, it would now seem that the proverbial emperor has no clothes.The Conversation

About The Author

Marc Tuters, Department of Media & Culture, Faculty of Humanities, University of Amsterdam and Peter Knight, Professor of American Studies, University of Manchester

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)