3 دروس قيادة الأزمات من ابراهام لنكولن

3 دروس قيادة الأزمات من ابراهام لنكولن لقاء الرئيس ابراهام لنكولن وحكومته. أرشيف كتاب الإنترنت / فليكر

في مارس 1861 ، عندما تم تنصيب أبراهام لينكولن كرئيس ، واجهت الولايات المتحدة أكبر أزمة لها: حلها المفاجئ وغير المتوقع. وقد صوتت سبع ولايات من أصل 31 ولاية بالفعل للانفصال من الاتحاد.

ما فعله في الأشهر والسنوات التالية أحدث فرقًا كبيرًا في التاريخ لدرجة أن ديفيد بوتر ، المؤرخ البارز في الجنوب ، خلص قبل سنوات إلى أنه إذا كان لينكولن والرئيس الكونفدرالي جيفرسون ديفيس قد تبديل الوظائف بطريقة أو بأخرى، كانت الكونفدرالية ستضمن استقلالها.

لم يكن الانتصار العسكري للاتحاد في الحرب الأهلية أمراً محتوماً. زعيم آخر أقل قد يكون وافق على حل وسط مع الجنوب. كما أناقش في كتابي "الطموحات الضخمة: التخطيط الكونفدرالي لعالم ما بعد الحرب الأهلية، "حاول الكونفدراليون طوال الصراع التفاوض على تعايش سلمي بين جمهورية العبيد المستقلة والولايات المتحدة.

في مواجهة هذا الجهد والمثابرة ضد عدو عسكري مصمم ، ترك لينكولن ثلاثة دروس جديرة بالملاحظة حول القيادة: عند محاربة عدو مميت على أرض الوطن ، تمكن من إدارة كبار السياسيين بخبرة. يرتبط بشكل جيد مع الناس ؛ وتعاملوا بوضوح مع الجيش كقائد عام.

التعامل مع الحلفاء السياسيين والأعداء

قام لينكولن ببناء وقيادة خزانة ذات قوة كبيرة من خلال استيعاب المعارضة. وشمل الرجلان اللذان كانا خصمين لترشيح الحزب الجمهوري للرئاسة عام 1860 ، ويليام هـ. سيوارد وإدوارد بيتس. سعى المشورة بشأن المسائل العسكرية ، مع إحاطات يومية من قائدهوينفيلد سكوت. كما طلب تقديم مدخلات حول القضايا السياسية - بما في ذلك تلك التي لا تقل أهمية عن صياغة ونشر إعلان تحرير العبيد.

وبينما رحب باختلافات في الرأي ، لم يتنصل من المسؤولية. في 1 أبريل 1861 ، اقترح سيوارد إعلان الحرب على القوى الأوروبية المختلفة كمحاولة لإعادة توحيد البلاد. تضمن جزء من الفكرة وضع سيوارد مسؤولًا عن الحرب ، ورفع الرئيس بشكل فعال ليكون رئيسًا احتفاليًا فوق الشجار.

كان رد الرئيس صارخًا: إذا كانت هناك حرب ، فسيقودها:ألاحظ أنه إذا كان يجب القيام بذلك، يجب أن افعلها."


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


تعامل لينكولن أيضًا ببراعة مع النزاعات التي قدمها الزملاء المهمون ذاتيًا. عندما وزير الخزانة سمك السلمون P. تشيس, تم التخطيط للطعن في ترشيح لينكولن لإعادة انتخابه في عام 1864 ، الرئيس بأناقة معين منافسه ليكون رئيس القضاة في الولايات المتحدة ، وإبعاده عن المنافسات السياسية.

3 دروس قيادة الأزمات من ابراهام لنكولن كوخ الرئيس لينكولن في حديقة روك كريك ، الآن على أرض منزل الجنود بالعاصمة واشنطن. رون كوجسويل / ويكيميديا ​​كومنز, CC BY

التواصل مع الناس

كان لينكولن بارعًا بنفس القدر فيما يتعلق بالجمهور ، بعد أن طور نظامًا دقيقًا بعناية على مدار 30 عامًا من عمله في الحملات السياسية في إلينوي. وشمل ذلك تنمية سمعة الوصول إليها. كما شاهد مشاهدو الفيلم في فيلم "لينكولن" لعام 2012 لستيفن سبيلبرغ ، كان منزله الأبيض مفتوحًا لجميع الزوار ومقدمي الالتماسات.

في رحلات الرئيس اليومية من وإلى منتجعه الصيفي المفضل في واشنطن ، الكوخ في روك كريكواجتاز مستشفيات الجنود والمخيمات المهربة ، حيث تجمع اللاجئون الأمريكيون من أصل أفريقي من الجنوب. شهد الشاعر والممرضة في زمن الحرب والت ويتمان "عيني لينكولن ، دائمًا لي بحزن عميق كامن في التعبير" إسقاط وعيه بخطورة الأزمةوصدقه وتواضعه.

في طمأنة لينكولن للشعب ، أرسل رسالة أوسع حول الغرض من الحرب: في عالم منتصف القرن التاسع عشر تهيمن عليه الأرستقراطيات والملكيات ، فقط في الولايات المتحدة كان من الممكن لرجل من هذه الخلفية المتواضعة أن ترتفع لتكون رئيس الدولة. من وجهة نظره ، فإن تمرد أصحاب العبيد يعرض للخطر بقاء تلك التجربة في الديمقراطية والحراك الاجتماعي.

لذلك ، في خطاباته العظيمة ، استخدم كلمات وعبارات مألوفة من شكسبير والكتاب المقدس لتقديم القتال في الحرب على أنه مهمة مقدسة ، لتحقيق أهداف الله ، وضرورية أيديولوجية عالمية: لإنقاذ الحكم الذاتي الجمهوري من أجل العالمية. التحرر من شأنه أن يعزز هذا الهدف: في ختام جيتيسبيرغ العنوانكان لينكولن يأمل "أن تولد هذه الأمة ، تحت الله ، ولادة جديدة للحرية - وأن لا تهلك حكومة الشعب ، من قبل الشعب ، من أجل الشعب ، من الأرض."

3 دروس قيادة الأزمات من ابراهام لنكولن التقى الرئيس لينكولن وكبار القادة العسكريين بالقرب من ساحة معركة أنتيتام في عام 1862. ألكسندر جاردنر / ويكيميديا ​​كومنز

إدارة الجيش

اعتمد نجاح لينكولن النهائي كقائد خلال الحرب الأهلية على علاقته بالجيش ، وخاصة مع قادته.

كانت الحرب الأمريكية السابقة ، الحرب المكسيكية 1846-1848 ، قد انزعجت من قبل عدم ثقة الرئيس جيمس بولك من الطموحات السياسية لكبار جنرالاته. سعى لينكولن لتجنب هذا الصراع من خلال التحلي بالصبر والتركيز في تعاملاته مع القادة العسكريين.

أدرك لينكولن أنه هو وجنرالاته كانوا يتعاملون مع ظروف أبعد بكثير من أي شيء أعدهم تدريبهم وخبرتهم له. معظم مهن الجنرالات السابقة كانت تحارب الأمريكيين الأصليين. حتى في الحرب المكسيكية - التي خدم فيها جنرالاته في الرتب الأدنى - كان عدد الجنود في أي قيادة واحدة ، على الأكثر ، بضعة آلاف. في نفس الوقت عرف لينكولن الكونفدراليين أيضًا عملت تحت نفس العيوب.

الآن أصبح هؤلاء القادة مسؤولين فجأة عن مناورة جيوش تضم أكثر من 100,000 رجل ضد عدو مختلف تمامًا. في هذا السياق المحير ، كانت رسالة لينكولن إلى قادته بسيطة: ركز على الهدف العسكري لتدمير جيوش الكونفدرالية ، والسماح له بالعمل على السياسة.

تجاوز لينكولن الجنرالات الذين ضلوا في السياسة. في يوليو 1862 ، رد جورج ب. ماكليلان على هزيمته في معارك الأيام السبعة خارج ريتشموند من خلال إخبار الرئيس بالتوقف بل وعكس التحركات نحو التحرر ، قائلاً:لا ينبغي السماح للقوة العسكرية التدخل في علاقات العبودية ". كان رد لينكولن ذا شقين: أرسل رسالة مقتضبة وقال للجنرال أن يعود إلى الهجوم ، وأبلغ مجلس الوزراء أنه سيصدر إعلان التحرر الأولي.

بمجرد أن وجد الرئيس جنرالًا ملتزمًا بهدفه هزيمة الجيوش الكونفدرالية - يوليسيس غرانت - رشحه لرئاسة جميع جيوش الاتحاد ثم ترك التخطيط القتالي له.

"تفاصيل خططك لا أعرفها أو أسعى إلى معرفتها، "اعترف لينكولن بغرانت في منتصف عام 1864 ، عشية حملة حاسمة ضد جيش روبرت إي لي في شمال فيرجينيا والتي من المرجح أن تقرر الحرب - وربما فرص لينكولن الخاصة لإعادة انتخابه أيضًا.

حتى مع خطورة الأزمة التي تواجه الولايات المتحدة ، أراد لينكولن أن ينقل ثقته المطلقة بالرجل الذي روج له ليكون أول ملازم أول منذ جورج واشنطن. وأكد لغرانت: "أنت متيقظ واعتمادي على الذات ، ورضي عن ذلك ، وأتمنى ألا أخل بأي قيود أو قيود عليك."

في نهاية المطاف ، نجح لينكولن في تجنيد المنافسين السياسيين والجنرالات والشعب لدعم قضية الاتحاد وكسب الحرب الأهلية. من أجل إنجاز هذه المهمة العظيمة ، كان على الرئيس أن يلهم في الوقت نفسه ويفوض ويحدد خطوط سلطة واضحة لمن حوله.

نبذة عن الكاتب

أدريان بريتل ، محاضر في التاريخ ، جامعة ولاية أريزونا

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

ما الذي تريده؟
ما الذي تريده؟
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لماذا الأقنعة مسألة دينية
لماذا الأقنعة مسألة دينية
by ليزلي دوروف سميث
هل يجب أن أتوقف عن الجري إذا كانت ركبتي تؤلمني؟
هل يجب أن أتوقف عن الجري إذا كانت ركبتي تؤلمني؟
by إيوا إم روس وكريستيان بارتون
لماذا النوم مهم جدا لفقدان الوزن
لماذا النوم مهم جدا لفقدان الوزن
by إيما سويني وإيان والش

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 6 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نرى الحياة من خلال عدسات إدراكنا. كتب ستيفن آر كوفي: "نحن نرى العالم ، ليس كما هو ، ولكن كما نحن ، أو كما نحن مشروطون برؤيته". لذلك هذا الأسبوع ، نلقي نظرة على بعض ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 30 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الطرق التي نسلكها هذه الأيام قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها جديدة بالنسبة لنا. التجارب التي نمر بها قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها أيضًا جديدة بالنسبة لنا. الشيء نفسه ينطبق على ...
عندما تكون الحقيقة فظيعة للغاية ومؤلمة ، اتخذ إجراءً
by ماري T. راسل، InnerSelf.com
وسط كل الأهوال التي تحدث هذه الأيام ، ألهمني شعاع الأمل الذي يسطع من خلاله. الناس العاديون يدافعون عن الصواب (وضد ما هو خطأ). لاعبي البيسبول،…
عندما يكون ظهرك مقابل الحائط
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
احب الانترنت. الآن أعرف أن الكثير من الناس لديهم الكثير من الأشياء السيئة ليقولوها عن ذلك ، لكني أحب ذلك. مثلما أحب الناس في حياتي - فهم ليسوا مثاليين ، لكني أحبهم على أي حال.
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 23 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
ربما يتفق الجميع على أننا نعيش في أوقات غريبة ... تجارب جديدة ، مواقف جديدة ، تحديات جديدة. ولكن يمكن أن نشجع على تذكر أن كل شيء في حالة تغير مستمر ، ...

3 Crisis Leadership Lessons From Abraham Lincoln

3 Crisis Leadership Lessons From Abraham Lincoln A meeting of President Abraham Lincoln and his Cabinet. Internet Book Archive/Flickr

In March 1861, as Abraham Lincoln was inaugurated as president, the United States faced its greatest crisis: its sudden and unexpected dissolution. Seven of the then 31 states had already voted to secede from the Union.

What he did in the following months and years made such a massive difference in history that David M. Potter, an eminent historian of the South, concluded years ago that if Lincoln and the Confederate president Jefferson Davis had somehow swapped jobs, the Confederacy would have secured its independence.

The Union’s military victory in the Civil War was not inevitable; another, lesser leader may well have accepted a compromise with the South. As I discuss in my book “Colossal Ambitions: Confederate Planning for a Post–Civil War World,” Confederates attempted throughout the conflict to negotiate a peaceful coexistence between an independent slaveholders’ republic and the United States.

In withstanding this effort and persevering against a determined military enemy, Lincoln left three noteworthy lessons about leadership: When fighting a lethal foe on home soil, he expertly managed top politicians; related well with the people; and dealt clearly with the military as commander-in-chief.

Handling political allies – and foes

Lincoln built and led a Cabinet of great strength by accommodating dissent. He included the two men who had been his rivals for the Republican Party’s presidential nomination in 1860, William H. Seward and Edward Bates. He sought advice on military matters, with daily briefings from his commanding general, Winfield Scott. He also asked for input on political issues – including those as important as the drafting and publication of the Emancipation Proclamation.

While he welcomed differences of opinion, he did not shirk responsibility. On April 1, 1861, Seward proposed declaring war on various European powers as an attempt to reunite the country. Part of the idea involved putting Seward in charge of the war, effectively elevating the president to be a ceremonial figurehead above the fray.

The president’s reply was stark: If there was going to be a war, he would lead it: “I remark that if this must be done, I must do it.”


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Lincoln also dealt deftly with conflicts presented by self-important colleagues. When Treasury Secretary Salmon P. Chase, plotted to contest Lincoln’s nomination for reelection in 1864, the president elegantly nominated his rival to be chief justice of the United States, removing him from political contests.

3 Crisis Leadership Lessons From Abraham Lincoln President Lincoln’s cottage in Rock Creek Park, now on the grounds of the Washington, D.C., Soldiers Home. Ron Cogswell/Wikimedia Commons, CC BY

Connecting with the people

Lincoln was equally deft at relating to the public, having developed a carefully crafted ordinariness over his 30-year career of political campaigning in Illinois. That included cultivating a reputation for accessibility. As movie viewers saw in Steven Spielberg’s 2012 film “Lincoln,” his White House was open to all visitors and petitioners.

On the president’s daily rides to and from his favorite summer retreat in Washington, the cottage in Rock Creek, he passed soldiers’ hospitals and contraband camps, where African American refugees from the South gathered. Poet and wartime nurse Walt Whitman witnessed Lincoln’s “eyes, always to me with a deep latent sadness in the expression,” projecting his awareness of the gravity of the crisis, and his honesty and humility.

In Lincoln’s reassurance of the people, he communicated a wider message about the purpose of the war: In a mid-19th-century world dominated by aristocracies and monarchies, only in the United States was it possible for a man of such a humble background to rise to be head of state. In his view, the insurrection of slaveholders jeopardized the survival of that experiment in democracy and social mobility.

Therefore, in his great speeches, he used familiar words and phrases from Shakespeare and the Bible to present fighting the war both as a sacred mission, to achieve God’s aims, and as a universal, ideological imperative: to save republican self-government for the world. Emancipation would further this aim: in the closing of the Gettysburg Address, Lincoln hoped “that this nation, under God, shall have a new birth of freedom – and that government of the people, by the people, for the people, shall not perish from the earth.”

3 Crisis Leadership Lessons From Abraham Lincoln President Lincoln and key military leaders met near the Antietam battlefield in 1862. Alexander Gardner/Wikimedia Commons

Managing the military

Lincoln’s ultimate success as a leader during the Civil War depended on his relationship with the Army, especially with its commanders.

The previous U.S. war, the Mexican War of 1846-1848, had been troubled by President James Polk’s distrust of the political ambitions of his top generals. Lincoln sought to avoid that conflict by being patient and focused in his dealings with military leaders.

Lincoln understood that he and his generals were all dealing with circumstances far beyond anything their training and experience had prepared them for. Most of the generals’ earlier careers had been fighting Native Americans. Even in the Mexican War – in which his generals had served in lower ranks – the numbers of soldiers in any one command had numbered, at most, a few thousand. At the same time Lincoln knew the Confederates also labored under the same disadvantages.

Now these commanders were suddenly responsible for maneuvering armies of over 100,000 men against an entirely different foe. In this bewildering context, Lincoln’s message to his commanders was simple: Focus on the military objective of destroying the armies of the Confederacy, and let him work out the politics.

Lincoln overruled generals who strayed into politics. In July 1862, George B. McClellan responded to his defeat in the Seven Days’ Battles outside Richmond by telling the president to cease and even reverse moves toward emancipation, stating: “Military power should not be allowed to interfere with the relations of servitude.” Lincoln’s response was twofold: He sent a terse message telling the general to go back on the offensive, and informed the Cabinet he would issue the Preliminary Emancipation Proclamation.

Once the president found a general committed to his aim of defeating the Confederate armies – Ulysses S. Grant – he nominated him to head all the Union’s armies and then left the combat planning to him.

The particulars of your plans I neither know, or seek to know,” Lincoln confessed to Grant in mid-1864, on the eve of a crucial campaign against Robert E. Lee’s Army of Northern Virginia that would likely decide the war – and perhaps Lincoln’s own reelection chances as well.

Even with the gravity of the crisis facing the United States, Lincoln wished to convey his absolute confidence in the man whom he had promoted to be the first lieutenant general since George Washington. “You are vigilant and self-reliant,” he assured Grant, “and pleased with this, I wish not to obtrude any constraints or restraints upon you.”

Ultimately, Lincoln successfully enlisted political rivals, generals and the people to support the Union cause and win the Civil War. In order to accomplish this great task, the president had to simultaneously inspire, delegate and establish clear lines of authority for those around him.

About The Author

Adrian Brettle, Lecturer in History, Arizona State University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…