في إنجلترا في العصور الوسطى ، كان السحر عبارة عن صناعة خدمات يستخدمها ريتش أند بورز على حد سواء

في إنجلترا في العصور الوسطى ، كان السحر عبارة عن صناعة خدمات يستخدمها ريتش أند بورز على حد سواء
فيرا بتروك عبر شترستوك

الاحتمالات هي أنه عندما تسمع عبارة "سحر العصور الوسطى" ، فإن صورة الساحرة سوف تتبادر إلى الذهن: هناك أصدقاء محبوبون قديمون متمركزون على مرجل يحتوي على مكونات لا توصف مثل عين نيوت. أو ربما تفكر في أشخاص يحاكمون بوحشية على أيدي قساوسة مفرطين في الحماس. لكن هذه الصورة غير دقيقة.

بادئ ذي بدء ، كان الخوف من السحر - بيع روح الفرد إلى الشياطين لإلحاق الأذى بالآخرين - أكثر من ظاهرة حديثة مبكرة من ظاهرة من العصور الوسطى ، حيث بدأت فقط في التمسك بأوروبا في نهاية القرن السابع عشر. هذه الرؤية تغيم أيضًا من عرض الممارسات السحرية الأخرى في إنجلترا قبل العصر الحديث.

السحر هو ظاهرة عالمية. كل مجتمع في كل عصر وقد حمل بعض نظام الإيمان وفي كل مجتمع كان هناك أولئك الذين يدعون القدرة على تسخير أو التلاعب بالقوى الخارقة للطبيعة وراء ذلك. حتى اليوم ، يتخلل السحر بمهارة حياتنا - البعض منا لديه سحر نلبسه للامتحانات أو المقابلات وغيرها إيماءة في وحيد العقعق لدرء سوء الحظ. أيسلندا لديها الحكومة - قزم همس، الذي يدعي القدرة على رؤية ، والتحدث ، والتفاوض مع المخلوقات الخارقة للطبيعة لا يزال يعتقد أن يعيش في المشهد في أيسلندا.

في حين أننا قد نشطب هذا اليوم كخيال مفرط النشاط أو أشياء من الخيال ، في فترة العصور الوسطى كان السحر مقبولاً على نطاق واسع ليكون حقيقيًا للغاية. التعويذة أو السحر يمكن أن يغير حياة الشخص: في بعض الأحيان إلى الأسوأ ، كما هو الحال مع الشتائم - ولكن على قدم المساواة ، إن لم يكن في أكثر الأحيان ، نحو الأفضل

كان من المفهوم أن السحر قادر على القيام بمجموعة من الأشياء ، من الرائع إلى المثير للدهشة. في النهاية الدنيوية ، كانت التعاويذ السحرية أكثر بكثير من مجرد أداة. كانوا يستخدمون للعثور على الأشياء المفقودة ، وإلهام الحب ، والتنبؤ بالمستقبل ، وشفاء الأمراض واكتشاف الكنز المدفون. وبهذه الطريقة ، قدم السحر حلولًا للمشاكل اليومية ، خاصة المشكلات التي لا يمكن حلها من خلال وسائل أخرى.

في إنجلترا في العصور الوسطى ، كان السحر عبارة عن صناعة خدمات يستخدمها ريتش أند بورز على حد سواء
ضاعف ضاعف حتى تقع بمصيبة. Shaiith عبر Shutterstock.

جريمة الاستحضار

قد يبدو كل هذا بعيد المنال: السحر كان ضد القانون - وبالتأكيد لن يتسامح معظم الناس معه أو يؤمنون به؟ الجواب هو لا في كلتا الحالتين. السحر لم يصبح جريمة علمانية حتى العمل ضد السحر والإحباط في 1542. قبل ذلك ، كان يتم اعتبارها مجرد جنحة أخلاقية وتمت مراقبتها من قبل الكنيسة. وما لم يستخدم السحر لإحداث الأذى - على سبيل المثال ، محاولة القتل (انظر أدناه) - لم تكن الكنيسة مهتمة بشكل خاص. في كثير من الأحيان كان يعامل ببساطة كشكل من أشكال الخرافات. نظرًا لأن الكنيسة لم تكن لديها سلطة فرض العقوبات الجسدية ، كان يعاقب السحر عادةً بالغرامات أو ، في الحالات القصوى ، التكفير عن الذنب وقضاء فترة في الدعامة.

قد يبدو هذا شموليًا اليوم ، لكن هذه العقوبات كانت أخف بكثير من تلك التي تمارسها المحاكم العلمانية ، حيث كان التشويه والإعدام خيارًا حتى بالنسبة للجرائم البسيطة. ماجيك ، إذن ، تم احتلاله في قائمة الأولويات لمنفذي القانون ، مما يعني أنه يمكن ممارستها بحرية نسبية - ولو بدرجة من الحذر.

من بين مئات حالات الاستخدام السحري المحفوظة في سجلات المحكمة الكنسية في إنجلترا ، هناك عدد من الشهادات التي تزعم أن التعويذات كانت فعالة. في 1375 ، الساحر جون تشيستر تفاخر بأنه استعاد 15 جنيه استرليني لرجل من "Garlickhithe" (موقع غير معروف - ربما شارع في لندن الخارجي).

في إنجلترا في العصور الوسطى ، كان السحر عبارة عن صناعة خدمات يستخدمها ريتش أند بورز على حد سواء الدائرة السحرية ، من مخطوطة من القرن 15th. ريتشارد كيكهيفر (1989). السحر في العصور الوسطى. كامبريدج: مطبعة جامعة كامبريدج.

في غضون أغنيس هانكوك زعمت أنها يمكن أن تشفي الناس بمباركة ملابسهم أو ، إذا كان مريضها طفلاً ، فتستشير الجنيات (لا تشرح سبب ميل الجنيات إلى مساعدة الأطفال). على الرغم من رفض المحاكم - فقد أمرت بوقف تعويذاتها أو المخاطرة بتوجيه تهم بالبدعة ، والتي كانت جريمة يعاقب عليها بالإعدام - تبين شهادة أغنيس أن مرضاها كانوا راضين عادة. على حد علمنا ، لم تظهر أمام المحاكم مرة أخرى.

السحر براءة الاختراع الملكية

صغارا وكبارا ، الأغنياء والفقراء على حد سواء تستخدم السحر. بعيدا عن كونه الحفاظ على الطبقات الدنيا ، تم تكليف من قبل بعض الناس الأقوياء جدا: في بعض الأحيان حتى من قبل العائلة المالكة. في قضية تشهير من 1390 ، يتم تسجيل Duke Edmund de Langley - ابن Edward III وعمه لريتشارد II - دفع ساحر لمساعدته على تحديد بعض الأطباق الفضية المسروقة.

في هذه الأثناء، أليس بيررز - عشيقة لإدوارد الثالث في أواخر القرن 14th - كانت شائعات على نطاق واسع أنه قد استخدم رهباء ليلقي نوبات الحب على الملك. على الرغم من أن أليس كانت شخصية مثيرة للانقسام ، إلا أن استخدام سحر الحب - مثل استخدامه للعثور على البضائع المسروقة - لم يكن مفاجئًا على الأرجح. اليانور كوبهام، دوقة غلوستر ، التي اشتهرت أيضًا بعمل امرأة ماكرة للقيام بسحر الحب في 1440-41 ، في هذه الحالة ، للمساعدة في حمل طفل. استخدام اليانور للسحر خرج عن السيطرة عندما اتهمت أيضا باستخدامه للتخطيط لموت هنري السادس.

من نواح كثيرة ، كان السحر مجرد جزء من الحياة اليومية: ربما ليس شيئًا يعترف به المرء علانية لاستخدامه - بعد كل شيء ، كان يُنظر إليه رسميًا على أنه غير أخلاقي - ولكن لا يزال يُعامل على أنه شيء من السر المفتوح. يشبه السحر إلى حد كبير تعاطي المخدرات اليوم ، كان السحر شائعًا بما يكفي للناس لمعرفة مكان العثور عليه ، وتم التعرف على استخدامه بصمت على الرغم من استيائه.

بالنسبة للأشخاص الذين باعوا السحر - غالبًا ما يطلق عليهم "قوم الماكرة"، على الرغم من أنني أفضل" السحرة الخدمة "- تعاملوا مع معارفهم ومهاراتهم كسلعة. لقد أدركوا قيمته ، وفهموا توقعات عملائهم ، وسكنوا مساحة هامشية بين التسامح بدافع الضرورة وتجاهلهم لما يبيعونه.

مع تلاشي فترة العصور الوسطى إلى العصر الحديث ، نما الإيمان بالسحر الشيطاني واتخذ خطًا أقوى ضد السحر - سواء في المحاكم أو في الثقافة المعاصرة. ظل استخدامه واسع الانتشار ، ولا يزال قائماً في المجتمع اليوم.المحادثة

عن المؤلف

تابيثا ستانمورباحث دكتوراه ، الدراسات الحديثة المبكرة ، قسم التاريخ ، جامعة بريستول

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

In Medieval England Magic Was A Service Industry Used By Rich and Poor Alike

In Medieval England Magic Was A Service Industry Used By Rich And Poor Alike
Vera Petruk via Shutterstock 

Chances are that when you hear the words “medieval magic”, the image of a witch will spring to mind: wizened old crones huddled over a cauldron containing unspeakable ingredients such as eye of newt. Or you might think of people brutally prosecuted by overzealous priests. But this picture is inaccurate.

To begin with, fear of witchcraft – selling one’s soul to demons to inflict harm on others – was more of an early modern phenomenon than a medieval one, only beginning to take hold in Europe at the tail end of the 15th century. This vision also clouds from view the other magical practices in pre-modern England.

Magic is a universal phenomenon. Every society in every age has carried some system of belief and in every society there have been those who claim the ability to harness or manipulate the supernatural powers behind it. Even today, magic subtly pervades our lives – some of us have charms we wear to exams or interviews and others nod at lone magpies to ward off bad luck. Iceland has a government-recognised elf-whisperer, who claims the ability to see, speak to, and negotiate with the supernatural creatures still believed to live in Iceland’s landscape.

While today we might write this off as an overactive imagination or the stuff of fantasy, in the medieval period magic was widely accepted to be very real. A spell or charm could change a person’s life: sometimes for the worse, as with curses – but equally, if not more often, for the better.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Magic was understood to be capable of doing a range of things, from the marvellous to the surprisingly mundane. At the mundane end, magic spells were in many ways little more than a tool. They were used to find lost objects, inspire love, predict the future, heal illnesses and discover buried treasure. In this way, magic provided solutions to everyday problems, especially problems that could not be solved through other means.

In Medieval England Magic Was A Service Industry Used By Rich and Poor Alike
Double, double toil and trouble. Shaiith via Shutterstock.

Crime of conjuring

This all may sound far-fetched: magic was against the law – and surely most people would neither tolerate nor believe in it? The answer is no on both counts. Magic did not become a secular crime until the Act against Witchcraft and Conjurations in 1542. Before then it was only counted as a moral misdemeanour and was policed by the church. And, unless magic was used to cause harm – for example, attempted murder (see below) – the church was not especially concerned. Often it was simply treated as a form of superstition. As the church did not have the authority to mete out corporal punishments, magic was normally punished by fines or, in extreme cases, public penance and a stint in the pillory.

This might sound totalitarian today, but these punishments were far lighter than those wielded by secular courts, where maiming and execution were an option even for minor crimes. Magic, then, was placed low on the list of priorities for law enforcers, meaning that it could be practised relatively freely – if with a degree of caution.

Among the hundreds of cases of magic use preserved in England’s ecclesiastical court records, there are a number of testimonials claiming that the spells were effective. In 1375, the magician John Chestre boasted that he had recovered £15 for a man from “Garlickhithe” (an unknown location – possibly a street in outer London).

In Medieval England Magic Was A Service Industry Used By Rich and Poor Alike Magic circle, from a 15th-century manuscript. Kieckhefer, Richard (1989). Magic in the Middle Ages. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.

Meanwhile Agnes Hancock claimed she could heal people by blessing their clothes or, if her patient was a child, consulting with fairies (she does not explain why fairies would be more inclined to help children). Though the courts disapproved – she was ordered to stop her spells or risk being charged with heresy, which was a capital offence – Agnes’ testimony shows that her patients were normally satisfied. As far as we know, she did not appear before the courts again.

Magic by royal patent

Young and old, rich and poor alike used magic. Far from being the preserve of the lower classes, it was commissioned by some very powerful people: sometimes even by the royal family. In a defamation case from 1390, Duke Edmund de Langley – the son of Edward III and uncle to Richard II – is recorded as having paid a magician to help him locate some stolen silver dishes.

Meanwhile, Alice Perrers – mistress to Edward III in the late 14th century – was widely rumoured to have employed a friar to cast love spells on the king. Though Alice was a divisive character, the use of love magic – like using it to find stolen goods – was probably not surprising. Eleanor Cobham, duchess of Gloucester, also famously employed a cunning woman to perform love magic in 1440-41, in this case, to help conceive a child. Eleanor’s use of magic got out of hand, however, when she was accused of also using it to plot Henry VI’s death.

In many ways magic was just a part of everyday life: perhaps not something that one would openly admit to using – after all, it was officially seen as immoral – but still treated as something of an open secret. A bit like drug use today, magic was common enough for people to know where to find it, and its use was silently recognised despite being frowned upon.

As for the people who sold magic – often termed as “cunning folk”, though I prefer “service magicians” – they treated their knowledge and skill as a commodity. They knew its value, understood their clients’ expectations and inhabited a marginal space between being tolerated out of necessity and shunned for what they sold.

As the medieval period faded into the early modern, belief in diabolical witchcraft grew and a stronger line was taken against magic – both by the courts and in contemporary culture. Its use remained widespread, though, and still survives in society today.The Conversation

About the Author

Tabitha Stanmore, PhD Researcher, Early Modern Studies, Department of History, University of Bristol

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}