القوميون البيض 'الحل المدقع لنهاية العالم البيئية القادمة

القوميون البيض 'الحل المدقع لنهاية العالم البيئية القادمةالقوميون البيض في جميع أنحاء العالم يستوعبون لغة البيئة.

القومي الابيض الذين ذبحوا 22 الناس في إل باسو في أوائل أغسطس نشر سكريد من أربع صفحات على غرفة الدردشة 8chan. في ذلك ، يلقي مطلق النار باللوم في هجومه على "الغزو الإسباني لتكساس" و "الاستبدال الثقافي والإثني" الوشيك للبيض في أمريكا.

يشير مطلق النار أيضًا مباشرةً إلى البيان المطول الذي كتبه الرجل الذي زعم أنه قتل 52 في مارس في هجمات بدافع من الإسلاموفوبيا على المساجد في كرايستشيرش ، نيوزيلندا.

أطلق مطلق النار في كرايستشيرش نفسه على أنه "ناشط بيئي" يعتقد أنه لا يوجد "القومية دون حماية البيئة". أطلق مطلق النار على El Paso عنوانه "الحقيقة المزعجة" ، على ما يبدو في إشارة إلى فيلم Gore's 2006 الوثائقي تحذير حول مخاطر تغير المناخ. كما أشاد "ووراكسقصة دكتور سوس الكلاسيكية حول إزالة الغابات وجشع الشركات.

إن بروز الموضوعات البيئية في هذه البيانات ليست غريبة. بدلا من ذلك ، فإنه يشير إلى صعود الفاشية البيئية باعتبارها إيديولوجية جوهرية للقومية البيضاء المعاصرة، وهو اتجاه اكتشفته عند إجراء بحث لكتابي الأخير ، "فخور بنين و Ethnostate الأبيض: كيف البديل هو تزييف الخيال الأمريكي".

جذور الفاشية البيئية

يجمع الباحثون عن البيئة بين القلق بشأن التغيرات الديموغرافية التي يصفونها بأنها "انقراض أبيض" مع تخيلات من الأراضي البكر خالية من غير البيض وخالية من التلوث.

تعود جذور الفاشية البيئية إلى أوائل 1900s أخذت المفاهيم الرومانسية بالتواصل مع الأرض في ألمانيا. وجدت هذه الأفكار التعبير في مفهوم "lebensraum" أو مساحات المعيشة ، وفي محاولات لخلق الأبوة الآرية الحصرية التي "الدم والتربة" القومية العنصرية حكم العليا. مفهوم lebensraum كان جزءا لا يتجزأ من سياسات التوسعية والإبادة الجماعية للرايخ الثالث.

هناك خيط طويل يربط كراهية الأجانب بالبيئة اليمينية. في الولايات المتحدة ، ظهرت سلالات من الفاشية البيئية في الحركة البيئية الأولية ، التي تبناها العنصريون مثل ماديسون جرانت، الذي دافع في 1920s عن الحفاظ على النباتات المحلية بما في ذلك أشجار الخشب الأحمر في كاليفورنيا ، بينما شيطنة المهاجرين غير البيض.

بعد الحرب العالمية الثانية ، باسم حماية الغابات والأنهار ، المنظمات الناشطة ضد القادمين من دول غير أوروبية أذكى المخاوف من الاكتظاظ السكاني والهجرة المتفشية.

وهناك ميم شعبية على الإنترنت بين اليمين المتطرف والبيوفيكيين هو "انقاذ الأشجار ، وليس اللاجئين". في كثير من الأحيان الميمات ecofascist تأخذ شكل الرموز التعبيرية مثل رون النورس الشعبي المعروف باسم الجيز ، أو رون "الحياة". هذه الرونية ، التي يفضلها هاينريش هيملر و SS ، هي واحدة من العديد من الرموز البديلة للالصليب المعقوف التي تنتشر عبر الإنترنت لخداع الولاءات النازية الجديدة.

البيئة العميقة

ينجذب العديد من الناشطين في مجال البيئة اليوم "البيئة العميقة" الفلسفة التي طورتها النرويجية آرني نايس في أوائل 1970s. أراد نايس التمييز بين "الإيكولوجيا العميقة" ، التي وصفها بأنها تقديس لجميع الكائنات الحية ، مما اعتبرها "إيكولوجيا ضحلة".

بالتخلي عن إيمان نايس بقيمة التنوع البيولوجي ، قام المفكرون اليمينيون المتطرفون بإفساد البيئة العميقة ، متخيلين أن العالم غير متكافئ في جوهره وأن التسلسلات الهرمية العرقية والجنسانية جزء من تصميم الطبيعة.

البيئة العميقة تحتفل اتصال شبه الروحي للأرض. كما أوضح في كتابي ، في نسخته القومية البيضاء ، لا يمكن إلا للرجال - الرجال البيض أو الأوروبيين - التواصل حقًا مع الطبيعة بطريقة هادفة ومتجاوزة. يعمل هذا المسعى الكوني على تغذية رغبتهم في الحفاظ على الأراضي النقية بالقوة ، إذا لزم الأمر ، للناس البيض.

يتطلع القوميون البيض اليوم إلى الناشطة البيئية في فنلندا ، بنتي لينكولا ، التي تدعو إلى فرض قيود صارمة على الهجرة ، "العودة إلى طرق ما قبل الصناعة ، والتدابير الاستبدادية للحفاظ على حياة الإنسان ضمن حدود صارمة."

بالتفكير في أفكار Linkola ، فإن موقع الويب القومي القومي المضاد للتيارات يدفع الرجال البيض إلى اتخاذ إجراءات من أجل حماية البيئة ، قائلين إن من واجبهم "حماية قدسية الأرض".

لماذا لا تنطبق التسميات الحزبية

تساعد هذه الخلفية في توضيح سبب تسمية مطلق النار في كرايستشيرش بنفسه "ناشط بيئي" و ناقش القضايا البيئية في ذراعه الممله.

عرض مطلق النار El Paso أمثلة أكثر تحديدًا. بالإضافة إلى ذكر "The Lorax" ، فقد انتقد الأمريكيين لفشلهم في إعادة التدوير والنفايات الوحشية للمواد البلاستيكية ذات الاستخدام الواحد.

حملاتهم الصليبية لإنقاذ البيض من المحو من خلال التعددية الثقافية والهجرة تعكس حملتهم الصليبية للحفاظ على الطبيعة من التدمير البيئي والإكتظاظ السكاني.

الحكمة التقليدية في الجمهور هي ذلك البيئة هي مقاطعة الليبراليين، إن لم يكن من اليسار ، مع التزاماتها بالعدالة البيئية وحياد الكربون.

ومع ذلك ، فإن انتشار المخاوف البيئية بين القوميين البيض يدل على أن الفروق بين الليبراليين والمحافظين ليست بالضرورة وثيقة الصلة عند تقييم أيديولوجيات اليمين المتطرف اليوم.

إذا استمرت الاتجاهات الحالية ، فسيكون المستقبل أحد أنماط الاحترار العالمي المكثفة وأنماط الطقس القاسية. ستكون هناك زيادة في لاجئي المناخ ، وغالبًا ما يبحثون عن راحة في الشمال العالمي. في هذا السياق ، أعتقد أن القوميين البيض سوف يستعدون لدمج احتمالات الكوارث المناخية مع قلقهم من الانقراض الأبيض.

تشير توقعات التعداد إلى أن الولايات المتحدة ستصبح حول 2050 غالبية البلاد غير البيضاء. بالنسبة للقوميين البيض ، تدق هذه الساعة الديموغرافية بصوت أعلى كل يوم. كل من كرايستشيرش وإل باسو الرماة استدعاء نظرية "الاستبدال العظيم"أو الفكرة المشوهة بأن البيض يفوق عددهم ديموغرافيا ، إلى حد الانقراض ، من قبل المهاجرين وغيرهم من العرقيين.

بالنظر إلى الأنماط التي أراها آخذة في الظهور ، أعتقد أن الجمهور بحاجة إلى الاعتراف بالفاشية الإيكولوجية على أنها تجمع سحابة خطير في الأفق.

نبذة عن الكاتب

ألكسندرا مينا ستيرن ، أستاذة الثقافة الأمريكية والتاريخ ودراسات المرأة ، جامعة ميشيغان

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

White Nationalists' Extreme Solution To The Coming Environmental Apocalypse

White Nationalists' Extreme Solution To The Coming Environmental ApocalypseWhite nationalists around the world are appropriating the language of environmentalism.

The white nationalist who allegedly massacred 22 people in El Paso in early August posted a four-page screed on the chatroom 8chan. In it, the shooter blames his attack on the “Hispanic invasion of Texas” and the impending “cultural and ethnic replacement” of whites in America.

The shooter also refers directly to the lengthy manifesto written by the man who allegedly murdered 52 in March in attacks motivated by Islamophobia on mosques in Christchurch, New Zealand.

The Christchurch shooter called himself an “ecofascist” who believes there is no “nationalism without environmentalism.” The El Paso shooter titled his rant “An Inconvenient Truth,” apparently in reference to Al Gore’s 2006 documentary warning about the dangers of climate change. He also praised “The Lorax,” Dr. Seuss’ classic story about deforestation and corporate greed.

The prominence of environmental themes in these manifestos is not an oddity. Instead, it signals the rise of ecofascism as a core ideology of contemporary white nationalism, a trend I uncovered when conducting research for my recent book, “Proud Boys and the White Ethnostate: How the Alt-Right Is Warping the American Imagination.”

The roots of ecofascism

Ecofascists combine anxieties about the demographic changes they characterize as “white extinction” with fantasies of pristine lands free of nonwhites and free of pollution.

Ecofascism’s roots trace back to early 1900s when romantic notions of communion with the land took hold in Germany. These ideas found expression in the concept of “lebensraum” or living spaces, and in attempts to create an exclusive Aryan fatherhood in which “blood and soil” racial nationalism reigned supreme. The concept of lebensraum was integral to the expansionist and genocidal policies of the Third Reich.

There is a long thread that ties xenophobia to right-wing environmentalism. In the U.S., strains of ecofascism appeared in the incipient environmental movement, espoused by racialists like Madison Grant, who in the 1920s championed the preservation of native flora including California’s redwood trees, while demonizing nonwhite immigrants.

After World War II, in the name of protecting forests and rivers, nativist organizations opposed to arrivals from non-European countries stoked fears of overpopulation and rampant immigration.

A meme popular online among the far-right and ecofascists is “save trees, not refugees.” Often ecofascist memes take the form of emojis like the popular Norse rune known as Algiz, or the “life” rune. This rune, favored by Heinrich Himmler and the SS, is one of many alternative symbols to swastikas that circulate online to dog whistle neo-Nazism allegiances.

Deep ecology

Many ecofascists today gravitate toward “deep ecology,” the philosophy developed by the Norwegian Arne Naess in the early 1970s. Naess wanted to distinguish “deep ecology,” which he characterized as reverence for all living things, from what he viewed as faddish “shallow ecology.”

Jettisoning Naess’ belief in the value of biological diversity, far-right thinkers have perverted deep ecology, imagining that the world is intrinsically unequal and that racial and gender hierarchies are part of nature’s design.

Deep ecology celebrates a quasi-spiritual connection to the land. As I show in my book, in its white nationalist version only men – white or European men – can truly commune with nature in a meaningful, transcendent way. This cosmic quest fuels their desire to preserve, by force if necessary, pure lands for white people.

White nationalists today look to the Finnish ecofascist Pentti Linkola, who advocates for stringent immigration restriction, “the reversion to pre-industrial life ways, and authoritarian measures to keep human life within strict limits.”

Reflecting on Linkola’s ideas, the white nationalist webzine Counter-Currents impels white men to take ecofascist action, saying that it is their duty to “safeguard the sanctity of the Earth.”

Why partisan labels don’t apply

This background helps to explain why the Christchurch shooter called himself an “ecofascist” and discussed environmental issues in his rambling screed.

The El Paso shooter offered more specific examples. In addition to mentioning the “The Lorax,” he criticized Americans for failing to recycle and for wanton waste of single-use plastics.

Their crusade to save white people from erasure through multiculturalism and immigration mirrors their crusade to preserve nature from environmental destruction and overpopulation.

The conventional wisdom in the public is that environmentalism is the province of liberals, if not of the left, with its commitments to environmental justice and carbon neutrality.

Yet the ubiquity of environmental concerns among white nationalists shows that distinctions between liberal and conservative are not necessarily germane when assessing the ideologies of the far-right today.

If current trends continue, the future will be one of intensified global warming and extreme weather patterns. There will be an increase in climate refugees, often seeking respite in the global north. In this context, I think that white nationalists will be primed to merge the prospect of climate calamities with their anxieties about white extinction.

Census projections indicate that around 2050 the U.S. will become a majority nonwhite country. For white nationalists, this demographic clock ticks more loudly each day. Both the Christchurch and the El Paso shooters invoke the “Great Replacement” theory, or the distorted idea that whites are being demographically outnumbered, to the point of extinction, by immigrants and racial others.

Given the patterns I see emerging, I believe that the public needs to recognize ecofascism as a dangerous cloud gathering on the horizon.

About The Author

Alexandra Minna Stern, Professor of American Culture, History, and Women's Studies, University of Michigan

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}