الكتابة النسائية منذ فترة طويلة تم شوكة في جانب مؤسسة الذكور الأدبية

الكتابة النسائية منذ فترة طويلة تم شوكة في جانب مؤسسة الذكور الأدبية
ويكيميديا

لطالما كانت كتابة المرأة شوكة في جانب المؤسسة الأدبية الذكورية. من الخوف في أواخر القرن 18th أن قراءة الروايات - التي كتبتها النساء على وجه الخصوص - ستكون خطرة عاطفية وجسدية بالنسبة للنساء ، إلى الأخوات برونتين التي تنشر في البداية تحت أسماء مستعارة ذكورية ، إلى فصل هذا النوع من الروايات الرومانسية إلى ما هو أبعد من الشاحب الحرج ، كانت هناك ثقافة مهيمنة تجد رابطة النساء والكتابة خطرة. لقد كان لفترة طويلة يتم التحكم فيها وإدارتها ورفضها.

إحدى الطرق التي يستخدمها الناشرون ومبيعو الكتب والنقاد في "إدارة" الأدب هي من خلال مفهوم النوع: تصنيف كتاب باسم "الخيال المباحث" يصبح وسيلة سهلة لتحديد مجاملات معينة في رواية. هذه التسميات مفيدة بشكل خاص للناشرين وبائعي الكتب ، حيث يعمل المنطق بشيء من هذا القبيل: يستطيع القارئ الدخول إلى أي محل لبيع الكتب ، في أي مكان ، والذهاب إلى قسم الروايات البوليسية والعثور على كتاب للقراءة ، لأنه قد قرأ المخبر الخيال قبل والاستمتاع بها.

ما يعقد هذا هو من يتخذ القرار بشأن أي الأنواع التي تعتبر مناسبة ، وأي الكتب توضع في أي فئة. النوع أيضا معقدة بفكرة الكتابة النسائية. هل يمكن أن يكون لدينا نوع محدد فقط بجنس المؤلف؟ ماذا لو حولنا هذا الأمر ، وليس نوعًا ما ، كانت كتابة النساء مصطلحًا اعتدنا عليه ببساطة للاحتفال بالكتابة عن النساء؟

فيما يلي خمس روايات للنساء - وحول النساء - من جميع أنحاء القرن 20th. كل هذه الروايات تتصارع ، بطرق مختلفة ، مع النساء والاستقلال.

أغاثا كريستي ، ذا مان إن ذا براون سويت (1924)

آنا بيدنغفيلد ، وهي بطلة تهزأ نفسها بنفسها ، تدرك تمامًا اتفاقيات الجنس والنوع ، تشتري تذكرة إلى جنوب إفريقيا بتهور لأن ثمن القارب هو المبلغ الذي تركته في العالم. إنها في نهاية المطاف إنهاء نقابة الجريمة الدولية مع ثقة بالنفس.

لوسي مود مونتغمري ، القلعة الزرقاء (1926)

Doss هي المرأة الأكبر سنا غير المتزوجة المستهلكة في رواية الفيكتوري. ولكن في هذه القصة ، تخرج من عائلتها غير المهتمة إلى حد كبير للانتقال إلى مقصورة في جزيرة مع رجل قابلته لفترة وجيزة فقط. كان الرواية خيالا من البرية الكندية ، وكانت واحدة من روايات مونتغمري القليلة للبالغين.

ماري ستيوارت ، تسعة مدربين في انتظار (1958)

إعادة كتابة جين آيرتحتوي الرواية على كل المغنيات الرومانسية القوطية - قلعة ، سر أسري ، جريمة قتل - لكن هذه الطعن تحدها واحدة من أرقى أبطال ستيوارت ، ليندا مارتن. يتم توظيف مارتن كمربية من قبل عائلة أرستقراطية ، لكنها ترفض زخارف الرومانسية لحماية شحنتها ، ونزاهتها.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


أوكتافيا بتلر ، كيندريد (1979)

تستيقظ إيدانا فرانكلين في المستشفى بقطع ذراعيها وتقوم الشرطة باستجواب زوجها. وقد تم الكشف عن أنها كانت في رحلة العودة إلى 1815 ، حيث تأتي في الاتصال المتكرر والنزاع مع روفوس ، أحد أسلافها الذين يملكون العبيد. رواية تثير أسئلة مهمة حول الرجولة والسلطة والعنف.

شيلي جاكسون ، فتاة خليط (1995)

واحدة من أقدم القطع من الخيال الإلكتروني ، هذه رواية شيللي فرانكشتاين (1818) و Baum الفتاة المرقعة (1913) يضع السرد في يد القارئ ، الذي يجمع القصة من خلال الرسوم التوضيحية لأجزاء من جسد الأنثى.

غالباً ما تكون للروايات الشعبية من قبل النساء قوس سردي مرئي منذ البداية: سوف تجد الشخصيات الرئيسية شريكاً رومانسياً في النهاية. في بعض الكتب المذكورة أعلاه ، تقوم بعض النساء ، وبعضهن لا يجدن شريكًا رومانسيًا. بالنسبة لأولئك الذين يفعلون ذلك ، الرومانسية هي قصة ثانوية للعمل الذي يقومون به ، والخيارات التي يقدمونها عن حياتهم الخاصة.

ما يوحد الروايات هو استكشاف الخيارات التي يتعين على بعض النساء القيام بها نتيجة لتجسيدهن الجنسي والجنساني ، سواء كان السفر إلى جنوب أفريقيا لمجرد نزوة ، أو ارتدادهم إلى مزرعة العبيد ، أو إجراء دعوة صريحة إلى القارئ (المرأة) لاتخاذ خيارات حول كيفية تطور القصة الإلكترونية.

المحادثةتقدم لنا الكتابة عن النساء (وغالبا عن طريق النساء) بعض الأمثلة عن كيفية تحدي الوضع الراهن ، ولو لفترة قصيرة فقط. ومع ذلك ، يقدم كل تحد مثالاً آخر عن كيفية إحداث تغيير في الثقافة الأبوية. إليكم الكتاب عن النساء اللاتي قامن بهذا - من جين أوستن إلى شيرلي جاكسون ، من فرانسيس بيرني إلى جوزفين تي ، ومن أنجيلا كارتر إلى فال ماكديرميد.

نبذة عن الكاتب

ستايسي جيليس ، محاضر في الأدب الحديث والمعاصر ، جامعة نيوكاسل

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

الكتب المطبوعة من قبل المؤلف:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = "Stacy Gillis"؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Women’s Writing Has Long Been A Thorn In The Side Of The Male Literary Establishment

culture wars

Women’s Writing Has Long Been A Thorn In The Side Of The Male Literary Establishment
Wikimedia

Women’s writing has long been a thorn in the side of the male literary establishment. From fears in the late 18th century that reading novels – particularly written by women – would be emotionally and physically dangerous for women, to the Brontë sisters publishing initially under male pseudonyms, to the dismissal of the genre of romance fiction as beyond the critical pale, there has been a dominant culture which finds the association of women and writing to be dangerous. It has long been something to be controlled, managed and dismissed.

One of the ways that publishers, booksellers and critics use to “manage” literature is through the notion of genre: labelling a book as “detective fiction” becomes an easy way to identify particular tropes in a novel. These genre designations are particularly helpful for publishers and booksellers, with the logic running something like this: a reader can walk into any bookstore, anywhere, and go to the detective fiction section and find a book to read, because s/he has read detective fiction before and enjoyed it.

What complicates this is who makes the decision of which genres are deemed to be appropriate, and which books are put into which category. Genre is also complicated by the idea of women’s writing. Can we have a genre that is designated solely by the sex of the author? What if we turned this around, and rather than a genre, women’s writing was a term we used to simply celebrate writing about women?

Here are five novels by women – and about women – from across the 20th century. These novels all grapple, in very different ways, with women and independence.

Agatha Christie, The Man in the Brown Suit (1924)

Anna Beddingfeld, a self-mocking heroine, who is very aware of the conventions of gender and genre, impulsively buys a ticket to South Africa because the boat fare is the exact amount she has left in the world. She ends up taking down an international crime syndicate with aplomb and panache.

Lucy Maud Montgomery, The Blue Castle (1926)

Doss is the expendable unmarried older woman in a Victorian novel. But in this story, she walks out on her largely uninterested family to move into a cabin on an island with a man she has met only briefly. A fantasy of the Canadian wilderness, the novel was one of Montgomery’s few novels for adults.

Mary Stewart, Nine Coaches Waiting (1958)

A rewriting of Jane Eyre, the novel contains all the tropes of the Gothic romance – a castle, a family secret, murder – but these are challenged by one of Stewart’s finest protagonists, Linda Martin. Martin is employed as a governess by an aristocratic family, but rejects the trappings of romance to protect her charge, and her own integrity.

Octavia Butler, Kindred (1979)

Edana Franklin wakes up in hospital with her arm amputated and the police questioning her husband. It is revealed that she has been travelling back to 1815, where she comes into repeated contact and conflict with Rufus, one of her slave-owning ancestors. A novel that raises important questions about masculinity, power and violence.

Shelley Jackson, Patchwork Girl (1995)

One of the earliest pieces of electronic fiction, this retelling of Shelley’s Frankenstein (1818) and Baum’s The Patchwork Girl (1913) places the narrative in the hands of the reader, who pieces together the story through illustrations of parts of a female body.

Often popular novels by women have a narrative arc that is visible from the outset: the protagonists will find a romantic partner in the end. In some of the above books, some of the women do, and some of them don’t, find a romantic partner. For those who do, the romance is secondary to the work they do, and the choices that they make about their own lives.

What unites the novels is an exploration of the choices that some women have to make as a result of their sexed and gendered embodiment, whether travelling to South Africa on a whim, being jolted unwillingly back onto a slave plantation, or making an explicit call to the (woman) reader to make choices about how the electronic story develops.

The ConversationWriting about women (and often by women) gives us some examples of how to challenge the status quo, if only for a little while. Each challenge, however, provides another example of how to effect change in a patriarchal culture. Here’s to the writers about women who have done this – from Jane Austen to Shirley Jackson, from Frances Burney to Josephine Tey, and from Angela Carter to Val McDermid.

About The Author

Stacy Gillis, Lecturer in Modern and Contemporary Literature, Newcastle University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Books by this Author:

The Matrix Trilogy: Cyberpunk Reloaded
culture warsBinding: Paperback
Publisher: Wallflower Press
List Price: $25.00

Buy Now

Third Wave Feminism: A Critical Exploration
culture warsBinding: Paperback
Publisher: Palgrave Macmillan
List Price: $74.99

Buy Now

Feminism, Domesticity and Popular Culture (Routledge Advances in Sociology)
culture warsBinding: Hardcover
Publisher: Routledge
List Price: $150.00

Buy Now

culture wars
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}