كيف تتنوع لغة الجندر بالطريقة التي نرى بها العالم

كيف تتنوع لغة الجندر بالطريقة التي نرى بها العالم

لكن رأ 'رجل النهر ،
وقال jes "يبقى رولين" على طول!

هل ذكر الماء أم أنثى - وهل هو مهم حقا؟ على عكس اللغات مثل الفرنسية والإسبانية والألمانية ، لا تخصص اللغة الإنجليزية الجنس للكلمات. على الرغم من أن بعض الأشياء والسفن والدول على سبيل المثال ، غالباً ما تكون لها جمعيات نسائية ، لا توجد قواعد نحوية لجعل أي شيء إما ذكراً أو أنثى.

اقترح البحث المعرفي أن اللغة والطريقة التي يستخدمها الناس لها تأثير عميق على كيفية رؤيتنا للعالم. الماء ، على سبيل المثال ، غالباً ما يكون أكثر ارتباطاً بمفاهيم الأنوثة - نهر الغانج (غانغا) معروف بشكل جيد الرمز المقدس المؤنث من الثقافة الهندية بالإضافة إلى كونها مصدرًا أساسيًا للبقاء - ولكن في أغنية هامرشتاين وكيرن الشهيرة ، نهر أول مان ، يتم تصوير نهر المسيسيبي كرجل.

يرمز نهر الجانج الأنثوي الإيمان والأمل والثقافة والعقل - ومنذ بداية الوقت ، كانت "هي" مصدرًا للمعيشة لملايين الأشخاص. على النقيض من ذلك ، يعتبر تدفق "الرجل العجوز" الذي لا نهاية له "ميسيسيبي" استعارة للنضالات والمصاعب من الرجال يجبرون على العمل على ذلك.

{يوتيوب}} https://youtu.be/eh9WayN7R-s/youtube

جعل العالم مع الكلمات

قد لا يكون تخصيص جنس محدد لجسم أو سمة من سمات المشهد الطبيعي نتيجة لذلك التصنيف المفاهيمي ويدعم هذا من خلال دراسة الطبقات الاسمية و "التحولات بين الجنسين" عبر النظم النحوية المختلفة. هل السيارة الفرنسية (أنثى) مختلفة بأي شكل من الأشكال لسيارة إسبانية (ذكر) أم أنها مجرد مسألة قواعد دون دلالة أو علم دلالة؟

قد يكون من المطمئن معرفة أن فئات الجنس قد فعلت ذلك مرة واحدة موجودة في اللغة الإنجليزية (من حول 750AD) ، ولكن على الرغم من أن اللغويين لا يعرفون السبب ، بدأت هذه الفروق بين الجنسين تختفي ببطء ، أولاً في شمال إنجلترا ، وبحلول الوقت الذي كان فيه تشوسر يكتب في الإنجليزية الوسطى ، أصبحت قواعد اللغة الإنجليزية مبسطة.

لعبت قوة اللغة وأهمية الحياد بين الجنسين في اللغة الإنجليزية دورا مهيمنا في منتصف نقاش القرن النسوي 20th مستوحاة من اللغويين الهيكلين الفرنسيين (الذكور) مثل اللغوي السويسري فرديناند دي سوسورالتي ركزت أعمالها على أنماط ووظائف اللغة كنظام من علامات ، وما بعد البنيويين مثل ميشيل فوكو, جان بودريار و رولان بارتالذين خصصوا أهمية المعنى المنقولة داخل العلامات والرموز واعتقدوا أن حقائقنا يتم إنشاؤها بواسطة اللغات التي نستخدمها.

من خلال عملهم ، اكتسبت نظرية حياد النوع الاجتماعي اهتماما أكبر - إلى جانب فكرة أن التغييرات الواعية في اللغة قد تدعم المساواة بين الجنسين. التحليل النسوي من اللغة الإنجليزية أدى إلى فكرة أن اللغة لديها القدرة على إنشاء وتطبيق الحتمية بين الجنسين وتهميش المؤنث.

بينما في الفرنسية ، باسم الشمولية ، هناك حاليا الابتعاد عن استخدام المذكر كما الافتراضي للأسماءيحدث العكس باللغة الإنجليزية من أجل توفير كلمات وعلامات محايدة جنسانية.

ستكون جان مورو "une actrice" و Vanessa Redgrave "ممثل". في كلتا الحالتين ، هذه خطوات رئيسية نحو شمولية الجندر. في كلتا اللغتين ، فإن الكلمات والجنس الدلالي تمكن الكاتب أو المتكلم الذي يستخدمها. ولكن هل تؤثر لغة الجندر على تصوراتنا للعالم - وإحساسنا بالذات والثقافة؟

إعصار اللسان

إذا كانت اللغة التي نستخدمها والطريقة التي نستخدمها بها تشكل طريقة تفكيرنا ، فإن أطفال المدارس الذين يتساءلون عقولهم لا ينبغي أبداً أن يتم انتقادهم لسؤالهم لماذا لم تكن هناك نساء في كتب التاريخ المليئة بمآثر "الإنسان". يتم تشكيل أنماط الخطاب الجندري في مرحلة الطفولة وهذا لديه وغالبا ما استشهد كمصدر لسوء التواصل بين الجنسين.

نظرًا لأن الأسماء والملصقات التي نستخدمها تشكل نظرتنا للعالم من حولنا ، فقد كانت فئات النوع الاجتماعي النحوية: الذكوريّة والأنثويّة والمحايدة مصدرًا للإحباط لدى اللغويين منذ إنشائها من قبل Protagoras في القرن الخامس. لم يكن هناك فقط انقسام بين اللغات مع فصول من الأسماء الجندرية والأخرى بدونها ، لكن المعتقدات حول الجنسانية هي التي أبلغت هذا القرار.

بالنسبة الى نظريات تشومسكي حول اللغة، الشائعة في 1960s و 1970s ، هناك قواعد عالمية - ولا تختلف اللغات بشكل كبير عن بعضها البعض. غير أن هذا لا يدرس كيف يمكن استخدام اللغة كمؤشر أو مؤشر للهوية الثقافية للمتحدث الذي يمكن توقعه وتشكيله باستخدام استعارة جنسية وكلمات جنسانية.

لكن ماذا عن النهر؟ تتمتع المياه بنوعية سحرية تمكنها من استيعاب تصوراتنا وتوقعاتنا - المتغير المثالي للسائل الجنساني. إن فهمنا وخبرتنا للمياه أمرًا شخصيًا للغاية - ولهذا السبب ، غالبًا ما يتم تساويها بسهولة مع الروحانية ، والجنس ، والتصوف ، والروح. كقوة جسدية ، يمكن للمياه تعكس وتعزز عدم المساواة بين الجنسين: من حيث الاقتصاد والعمل والتفاعل الروحي والاجتماعي ، غالباً ما تكون علاقة النساء والرجال والأنشطة المائية حولهم مختلفة جداً.

المحادثةيوضح التناقض بين نهر الغانج والميسيسيبي هذا إلى حد ما ويظهر أننا نعرض إحساسنا بالخبرة الذاتية والتجربة الشخصية بالطريقة التي نتواصل بها ونستخدم كلمات جنسانية للقيام بذلك. وكلغة متطورة بشكل طبيعي ، توفر اللغة الإنجليزية حرية التعبير بما يتجاوز حدود قواعد النوع الاجتماعي - ليس فقط كوسيلة للتواصل ، ولكن أيضًا كتمثيل للهوية الثقافية.

نبذة عن الكاتب

إيلا تينانت ، مديرة برنامج التمثيل في الفنون الليبرالية ، جامعة كيل

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = books children neutral books؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

How Gendered Language Shapes The Way We See The World

How Gendered Language Shapes The Way We See The World

But ol’ man river,
He jes’ keeps rollin’ along!

Is water male or female – and does it really matter? Unlike languages such as French, Spanish and German, English does not allocate gender to words. Although some things, ships and countries for example, often have feminine associations, there are no grammatical rules to make something either male or female.

Cognitive research has suggested that language and the way people use it has a profound influence on how we see the world. Water, for example, is often more associated with concepts of femininity – the river Ganges (Ganga) is well-known as a feminine sacred symbol of Indian culture in addition to being a central source of survival – but in the famed Hammerstein and Kern song, Ol’ Man River, the river Mississippi is portrayed as a man.

The feminine Ganges symbolises faith, hope, culture and sanity – and, since the beginning of time, “she” has been as a source of livelihood for millions of people. By contrast, the endless, uncaring flow of the “old man” Mississippi is seen as a metaphor for the struggles and hardships of the men forced to work on it.

{youtube}https://youtu.be/eh9WayN7R-s/youtube}

Making the world with words

The allocation of a specific gender to an object or feature of our landscape might not be a result of conceptual categorisation and this is supported by an examination of noun classes and “gender shifts” across different grammatical systems. Is a French car (female) different in any way to a Spanish (male) car or is it just a question of grammar without connotation or semantics?

It might be reassuring to learn that gender categories did once exist in English (from around 750AD), but although linguists do not know why, these gender distinctions began to slowly disappear, first in the north of England and, by the time that Chaucer was writing in Middle English, English grammar had become simplified.

The power of language and the importance of gender neutrality in English played a dominant role in mid-20th century feminist discussion which was inspired by French structural linguists (male) such as the Swiss linguist Ferdinand de Saussure, whose work focused on the patterns and functions of language as a system of signs, and post-structuralists such as Michel Foucault, Jean Baudrillard and Roland Barthes, who allocated importance to the meaning conveyed within the signs and symbols and believed that our realities are created by the languages we use.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Through their work, the theory of gender neutrality gained wider attention – along with the idea that conscious changes to language might support gender equality. Feminist analysis of the English language led to the idea that language has the power to create and enforce gender determinism and the marginalisation of the feminine.

While in French, in the name of inclusivity, there is currently a move away from the use of the masculine as the default for nouns, the reverse is occurring in English in order to provide gender neutral words and labels.

Jeanne Moreau will be “une actrice” and Vanessa Redgrave “an actor”. In both cases, these are major steps towards gender inclusivity. In both languages, the words and the semantic gender empower the writer or speaker who uses them. But does gendered language affect our perceptions of the world – and our sense of selves and culture?

Tongue twister

If the language we use and the way in which we use it shapes how we think, school children with inquiring minds should never have been castigated for asking why there were no women in history books filled with the exploits of “man”. Gendered discourse patterns are shaped in childhood and this has often been cited as the source of miscommunication between the sexes.

As the names and labels we use form our perception of the world around us, grammatical gender categories: masculine, feminine and neutral, have been a source of frustration for linguists since their creation by Protagoras in the fifth century. Not only was there a division between languages with gendered noun classes and those without, but beliefs about sexuality informed this decision.

According to Chomsky’s theories on language, popular in the 1960s and 1970s, there is a universal grammar – and languages do not significantly differ from one another. This does not, however, consider how language may be used as a marker or indicator of the speaker’s cultural identity which can be projected and shaped with sexual metaphor and gendered words.

But what of the river? Water possesses a magical quality which enables it to absorb our imaginings and projections – the perfect gender fluid shapeshifter. Our understanding and experience of water is deeply personal – and for this reason it is often easily equated with spirituality, sexuality, mysticism and the soul. As a physical force, water can reflect and reinforce gender inequality: in terms of economics, work and spiritual and social interaction, women’s and men’s relationship with and activities around water are often very different.

The ConversationThe contrast between the Ganges and the Mississippi demonstrates this to some extent and shows that we do project our sense of self and personal experience on to the way we communicate and that we use gendered words to do this. As a naturally evolving language, English provides freedom for expression beyond the confines of gender rules – not only as a means of communication, but also as a representation of cultural identity.

About The Author

Ella Tennant, Acting Programme Director for Liberal Arts, Keele University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=gender neutral children's books;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…