كيف تخوض الولايات المتحدة الحرب على المحاكم والصحافة والولايات

كيف تخوض الولايات المتحدة الحرب على المحاكم والصحافة والولايات

ومع وجود الجمهوريين في الكونجرس الذين يمثلون الأغلبية في الكونجرس وعدم رغبتهم في عبور دونالد ترامب ، فإن مهمة احتواء الطغيان الأولي لترامب تقع على ثلاثة مراكز من السلطة المستقلة: محاكم البلاد ، وصحافتها ، وبعض حكومات الولايات.

هذا هو السبب في تصاعد ترامب لهجمات على كل ثلاثة.

القضاء

بعد أن بقي القاضي الفيدرالي جيمس روبارت - وهو من المعينين لجورج بوش - حظر سفر ترامب يوم الجمعة الماضي ، وجه ترامب هجوماً شخصياً على القاضي. "إن رأي هذا القاضي ما يسمى ، والتي تأخذ في جوهرها إنفاذ القانون بعيدا عن بلدنا ، أمر مثير للسخرية وسيتم نقض!" ترامب تغرد صباح السبت.

تبع ذلك آخر ، في وقت متأخر من مساء الأحد: "لا يمكن تصديق أن القاضي سيضع بلدنا في هذا الخطر. إذا كان هناك شيء ما يحدث اللوم عليه ونظام المحاكم ".

فبالنسبة لرئيس يهاجم شخصيًا قاضٍ فيدرالي لا يتفق معه هو تجاوز خطير للسلطة الرئاسية.

وكما كتب ألكسندر هاملتون بشكل مشهور في القانون الاتحادي رقم 78 ، فإن السلطة القضائية هي فرع الحكومة "الأقل خطورة" لأنه "ليس له نفوذ على السيف أو المال". إنه يعتمد على قوته وشرعيته على الكونجرس والرئيس. .

حاول مايك بنس الدفاع عن ترامب ، قائلاً: "يحق لرئيس الولايات المتحدة أن ينتقد فرعي الحكومة الآخرين. ولدينا تقاليد عريقة في هذا البلد ".


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


خطأ. في حين أن رؤساء آخرين قد عارضوا علانية قرارات المحكمة ، لم يسبق لأي منهم أن ذهب قبل ترامب بعد قضاة فرديين ذوي طموحات شخصية. لم يحاول أي منهم ترهيب القضاة الأفراد. لم يشكك أحد في شرعية المحاكم.

ترامب في طريق الحرب ضد روبارت لأنه تحدّى ترامب.

الصحافة

وفي حديثه إلى القيادة المركزية الأمريكية يوم الاثنين ، رفض ترامب تصريحاته المعدة لتقديم ادعاء لافت: كانت وسائل الإعلام تعمد تغطية تقارير عن هجمات إرهابية.

وقال ترامب للضباط العسكريين المجتمعين: "لقد رأيت ما حدث في باريس ونيس". "لقد وصلت إلى نقطة لا يتم الإبلاغ عنها حتى. وفي العديد من الحالات ، لا تريد الصحافة غير الشريفة للغاية الإبلاغ عنها. لديهم أسبابهم ، وتفهمون ذلك ".

وبذلك رفع ترامب مرشده كيليان كونواي "مجزرة بولينج جرين" لتبرير حظر سفره - وهي مذبحة ادعت أنها أخفقت في تغطية الصحافة ، ولكنها لم تحدث في الواقع - إلى مستوى أعلى من التآمر.

ماذا يمكن أن يكون سبب الصحافة للتغطية على الهجمات الإرهابية ، في ذهن ترامب؟ ما الذي افترضه ترمب من أن الضباط العسكريين "فهموا؟"

الاستنتاج الوحيد الممكن هو أن ترامب يعتقد أن الصحافة - مثل القاضية روبارت - تسعى إلى تعريض وطننا للخطر ، لأنه لا يسحب البقرة إلى دونالد ترامب.

الولايات

تفرض حكومات الولايات خط دفاع ثالث ضد ترامب. وقد اتخذ العديد من وكلاء النيابة العامة حظر سفر ترامب للمحاكمة ، وتحديت دولة ديمقراطية كبيرة - كاليفورنيا على وجه الخصوص - بشأن الهجرة والبيئة. إذن ، وجه ترامب غضبه ضد هذه الدول أيضًا.

في مقابلة تلفزيونية يوم الأحد ، هدد ترامب بأخذ الدولار الفيدرالي بعيدا عن ولاية كاليفورنيا. "نحن نعطي كميات هائلة من الأموال إلى كاليفورنيا ... كاليفورنيا من نواح كثيرة هي خارج نطاق السيطرة ... قد نضطر إلى [دافع عن ولاية كاليفورنيا]. "من المؤكد أن هذا سيكون سلاحًا" ، قال لبيل أوريلي ،

سلاح لماذا؟ ما الذي كان يتحدث عنه ترامب؟ لا تقدم الحكومة الفيدرالية مبالغ هائلة من المال إلى كاليفورنيا ، على الأقل ليس صافي الدولارات. في الواقع ، يرسل سكان كاليفورنيا المزيد من الدولارات الضريبية إلى الحكومة الفيدرالية كل عام مما تعود عليه الدولة من الحكومة الفيدرالية.

من الناحية المالية ، كاليفورنيا ليست "خارج السيطرة". منذ 2013 ، عملت الدولة مع فائض في الميزانية. هذا أكثر مما يمكن قوله للحكومة الفيدرالية. أو للأعمال التجارية الخاصة ترامب ، لهذا الأمر.

لحم البقر الحقيقي ترامب هو كاليفورنيا مستقلة عنه. لقد تحدت ترامب بمعاييرها البيئية العالية ومدن "الملاذ". والأسوأ من ذلك ، من وجهة نظره ، صوت مواطنوه ضده في انتخابات 2016 من قِبل 2 إلى 1 ، مقابل ما يزيد عن 4 مليون صوت. لا يبدو أنه يخرج هذا من عقله.

لقد أوضح ترامب مرارًا وتكرارًا أن ملايين هذه الأصوات كانت مزورة. في الأسبوع الماضي ، وصف المتحدث باسم ترامب شون سبايسر كاليفورنيا بأنها واحدة من "الولايات الأكبر" التي تستحق تحقيقًا فدراليًا في التزوير الانتخابي ، مضيفًا: "هذا هو المكان الذي أعتقد أننا سنراه".

لكن ترامب ليس لديه دليل على تزوير الناخبين في كاليفورنيا ، أو أي دولة أخرى في هذا الشأن.

بالنسبة إلى ترامب ، فإن الأدلة ليست ذات صلة. تحتاج كاليفورنيا إلى تعلم درس - تماماً كما يفعل القاضي روبارت وغيره من أعضاء السلطة القضائية الفيدرالية الذين يتحدونه ، تماماً مثل الصحفيين ووسائل الإعلام التي تنتقده. وما هو هذا الدرس؟ انهم لا يجرؤون على عبور ترامب.

تمثل السلطة القضائية والصحافة وكاليفورنيا مراكز رئيسية للمقاومة لترامب ، لأنها مستقلة عنه. لذا فهو يصعد هجماته عليهم.

لا يريد ترامب أي مقاومة. يريد السيطرة الكاملة.

عن المؤلف

روبرت رايخوكان روبرت ب. REICH، أستاذ المستشار للسياسة العامة في جامعة كاليفورنيا في بيركلي، وزير العمل في إدارة كلينتون. أطلقت مجلة تايم منه واحدا من أمناء مجلس الوزراء 10 الأكثر فعالية من القرن الماضي. وقد كتب الكتب ثلاثة عشر، بما في ذلك الكتب مبيعا "هزة ارتدادية"و"الذي تضطلع به الأمم". وأحدث مؤلفاته"ما بعد الغضب، "هو الآن في غلاف عادي، وهو أيضا محرر مؤسس في مجلة بروسبكت الأمريكية ورئيس قضية مشتركة.

كتب روبرت رايش

إنقاذ الرأسمالية: للكثيرين وليس القليل - بواسطة الرايخ روبرت ب.

0345806220لقد تم الاحتفاء بأميركا من قبل وتعرفها من قبل الطبقة الوسطى الكبيرة والمزدهرة. الآن ، هذه الطبقة الوسطى تتقلص ، الأوليغارشية الجديدة آخذة في الارتفاع ، وتواجه البلاد أكبر تفاوت في ثرواتها في ثمانين سنة. لماذا يخسرنا النظام الاقتصادي الذي جعل أميركا قوية فجأة ، وكيف يمكن إصلاحها؟

انقر هنا للمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.

ما بعد الغضب: قد ذهب ما الخطأ في اقتصادنا وديمقراطيتنا، وكيفية اصلاحها -- بواسطة الرايخ روبرت ب.

ما بعد الغضبفي هذا الكتاب في الوقت المناسب، روبرت ب. رايخ يقول أن لا شيء جيد يحدث في واشنطن ما لم يتم تنشيط المنظمة والمواطنين للتأكد من أفعال واشنطن في الصالح العام. الخطوة الأولى هي أن نرى الصورة الكبيرة. ما بعد الغضب يربط بين النقاط، والتي تبين لماذا حصة متزايدة من الدخل والثروة الذهاب إلى الأعلى قد اعاقه فرص العمل والنمو لشخص آخر، مما يقوض ديمقراطيتنا؛ تسبب الأميركيين أن تصبح ساخرة على نحو متزايد بشأن الحياة العامة، وتحول كثير من الأمريكيين ضد بعضها البعض. وهو ما يفسر أيضا لماذا مقترحات "الحق رجعية" على خطأ القتلى ويشكل خريطة طريق واضحة لما يجب القيام به بدلا من ذلك. وهنا خطة للعمل لكل من يهتم بمستقبل الأمريكية.

انقر هنا للمزيد من المعلومات أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

How The US Is Waging War On The Courts, The Press, And The States

How The US Is Waging War On The Courts, The Press, And The States

With congressional Republicans in the majority in Congress and unwilling to cross Donald Trump, the job of containing Trump’s incipient tyranny falls to three centers of independent power: the nation’s courts, its press, and a few state governments.

Which is why Trump is escalating attacks on all three.

The judiciary

After federal Judge James Robart – an appointee of George W. Bush – stayed Trump’s travel ban last Friday, Trump leveled a personal attack on the judge. “The opinion of this so-called judge, which essentially takes law-enforcement away from our country, is ridiculous and will be overturned!” Trump tweeted Saturday morning.

This was followed by another, late Sunday night: “Just cannot believe a judge would put our country in such peril. If something happens blame him and court system.”

For a President to personally attack a federal judge who disagrees with him is a dangerous overstepping of presidential power.

As Alexander Hamilton famously wrote in the Federalist No. 78, the judiciary is the “least dangerous” branch of government because it has “no influence over either the sword or the purse.” It depends for its power and legitimacy on congress and the president.  

Mike Pence tried to defend Trump, saying “the president of the United States has every right to criticize the other two branches of government. And we have a long tradition of that in this country.”


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Wrong. While other presidents have publicly disagreed with court decisions, none before Trump has gone after individual judges with personal invective. None has tried to intimidate individual judges. None has questioned the legitimacy of the courts.

Trump is on the warpath against Robart because he defied Trump. 

The press

Speaking to the U.S. Central Command on Monday, Trump veered off his prepared remarks to make a remarkable claim: The media was intentionally covering up reports of terrorist attacks.

“You’ve seen what happened in Paris, and Nice,” Trump told the assembled military officers. “It’s gotten to a point where it’s not even being reported. And in many cases the very, very dishonest press doesn’t want to report it. They have their reasons, and you understand that.”

Trump thereby elevated his advisor Kellyanne Conway’s “Bowling Green massacre” justification for his travel ban – a massacre that she claimed the press had failed to cover, but which in fact never occurred – to a higher and vaster level of conspiracy. 

What could be the press’s reason for covering up terrorist attacks, in Trump’s mind? What is it that Trump assumed the military officers “understood?”

The only possible inference is Trump believes that the press – like Judge Robart – seeks to imperil our nation, because it doesn’t cow tow to Donald Trump. 

The states

State governments pose a third line of defense against Trump. Several state attorneys general have taken Trump’s travel ban to court, and one particularly large Democratic state – California – has defied him on immigration and the environment. So Trump is directed his ire against these states as well.

In a televised interview Sunday, Trump threatened to take federal dollars away from California. “We give tremendous amounts of money to California … California in many ways is out of control …. We may have to [defund California]. Certainly that would be a weapon,” he told Fox News’s Bill O’Reilly,

A weapon for what? What could Trump have been talking about? The federal government doesn’t give tremendous amounts of money to California, at least not net dollars. In fact, Californians send more tax dollars to the federal government each year than the state gets back from the federal government.

Fiscally, California isn’t “out of control.” Since 2013, the state has operated with a budget surplus. That’s more than can be said for the federal government. Or for Trump’s own business, for that matter.

Trump’s real beef is California is independent of him. It has defied Trump with its high environmental standards and “sanctuary” cities. Even worse, from his standpoint, its citizens voted against him in the 2016 election by 2 to 1, for a total of over 4 million votes. He can’t seem to get this out of his mind. 

Trump has repeatedly suggested that millions of those votes were fraudulent. Last week, Trump spokesman Sean Spicer identified California as one of the “bigger states” that merit a federal probe into election fraud, adding, “That’s where I think we’re gonna look.”

But Trump has no evidence of voter fraud in California, or any other state for that matter.

For Trump, evidence is irrelevant. California needs to be taught a lesson – just as do Judge Robart and other members of the federal judiciary who defy him, just as do journalists and media outlets that criticize him. And what is that lesson? That they dare not cross Trump.

The judiciary, the press, and California are major centers of resistance to Trump, because they are independent of him. So he’s escalating his attacks on them. 

Trump doesn’t want any resistance. He wants total control.

About the Author

Robert ReichROBERT B. REICH, Chancellor’s Professor of Public Policy at the University of California at Berkeley, was Secretary of Labor in the Clinton administration. Time Magazine named him one of the ten most effective cabinet secretaries of the last century. He has written thirteen books, including the best sellers “Aftershock" and “The Work of Nations." His latest, "Beyond Outrage," is now out in paperback. He is also a founding editor of the American Prospect magazine and chairman of Common Cause.

Books by Robert Reich

Saving Capitalism: For the Many, Not the Few -- by Robert B. Reich

0345806220America was once celebrated for and defined by its large and prosperous middle class. Now, this middle class is shrinking, a new oligarchy is rising, and the country faces its greatest wealth disparity in eighty years. Why is the economic system that made America strong suddenly failing us, and how can it be fixed?

Click here for more info or to order this book on Amazon.

 

Beyond Outrage: What has gone wrong with our economy and our democracy, and how to fix it -- by Robert B. Reich

Beyond OutrageIn this timely book, Robert B. Reich argues that nothing good happens in Washington unless citizens are energized and organized to make sure Washington acts in the public good. The first step is to see the big picture. Beyond Outrage connects the dots, showing why the increasing share of income and wealth going to the top has hobbled jobs and growth for everyone else, undermining our democracy; caused Americans to become increasingly cynical about public life; and turned many Americans against one another. He also explains why the proposals of the “regressive right” are dead wrong and provides a clear roadmap of what must be done instead. Here’s a plan for action for everyone who cares about the future of America.

Click here for more info or to order this book on Amazon.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}